to top 10 table

Best Yoga Wheels Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 10, 2019

Yoga is a spiritual and physical practice that originated in India around the 5th century BCE. There are many schools of yoga and they each follow different practices and take different forms.

The yoga that is most popular among the general public now is a form of Hatha yoga that features different “asanas” or postures. Depending on your physique and experience, some of these postures can prove especially tricky, so there are all sorts of tools and toys out there to help yogis deepen and extend their poses.
In this list, we feature the best Yoga Wheels on the market. They are designed to stretch and strengthen your spine, all while helping you gain more flexibility to assist in poses like backbends and scorpions. So whether you’re looking to reduce tension and pain, or you want to push your practice to the next level, we’ve got a wheel for you.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Nature's Integrity
100/100 our score
Size
100
Materials
100
Features
100
Capacity
100
Value
100
Nature's Integrity
Why is it better?

6mm thick padding for extra comfort

Can hold up to 1,000 pounds (3 times more than other leading wheels on the market)

Great for those looking to rehab back pain and those looking to extend their practice

13-inch diameter by 5 inches wide

Eco-friendly material that is anti-sweat, anti-slip, and anti-microbial

Comes with bonus E-Book with 18 suggested exercises

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Nature's Integrity
Test Winner: Nature's Integrity
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1300
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Size Materials Features Capacity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Size
100 %
Materials
100 %
Features
100 %
Capacity
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$28.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Size
99 %
Materials
99 %
Features
99 %
Capacity
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$49.97
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Size
98 %
Materials
98 %
Features
98 %
Capacity
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Size
97 %
Materials
97 %
Features
97 %
Capacity
97 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$29.87
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Size
97 %
Materials
96 %
Features
96 %
Capacity
97 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$39.49
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Size
95 %
Materials
96 %
Features
95 %
Capacity
97 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$30.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Size
95 %
Materials
96 %
Features
94 %
Capacity
97 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Size
94 %
Materials
94 %
Features
94 %
Capacity
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$23.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Size
93 %
Materials
93 %
Features
93 %
Capacity
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Size
92 %
Materials
92 %
Features
92 %
Capacity
92 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$25.98

10 Best Yoga Wheels

1. Nature's Integrity

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Nature's Integrity
Amazon Link
Size
100
Materials
100
Features
100
Capacity
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.95
Pros:

6mm thick padding for extra comfort

Can hold up to 1,000 pounds (3 times more than other leading wheels on the market)

Great for those looking to rehab back pain and those looking to extend their practice

13-inch diameter by 5 inches wide

Eco-friendly material that is anti-sweat, anti-slip, and anti-microbial

Comes with bonus E-Book with 18 suggested exercises

Cons:

Some reviewers note that you have to occasionally adjust the band back to center on the wheel.

The Nature's Integrity Yoga Wheel is number one our list because it boasts an incredible capacity, level of comfort, and warranty. This Yoga Wheel is 13 inches in diameter and 5 inches wide making it the perfect size for any yogi wanting to stretch and strengthen their practice.

Comes With Bonus E-Book
The Nature's Integrity Yoga Wheel is made from eco-friendly foam consisting of thermoplastic elastomers that are a unique mixture of plastic and rubber. This material won’t bend or warp when being used and it also reduces the sweat-puddling which means it is anti-microbial as well as anti-slip. That makes the Nature's Integrity Yoga Wheel extra safe for all users whether you are looking to alleviate back pain or to gain greater flexibility in your back. And no matter your intended use, the bonus E-Book that the wheel comes with offers 18 different uses and exercises so that you can be sure you’re getting the most out of it. The Nature's Integrity Yoga Wheel comes in two amazing colors: pink and teal.

Can Hold Up To 1,000 Pounds
The Nature's Integrity Yoga Wheel can hold nearly 3 times as much weight as other leading yoga wheels on the market. That’s right--this puppy can hold up to 1,000 pounds of weight without bending and folding underneath heavy use. And what makes this product even better is the extra thick 6mm padding that provides more comfort when stretching than competitors as well, making this wheel ideal for use in rehabbing or ramping up.

Cost and Value
The Nature's Integrity Yoga Wheel rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value not only because it is stronger than most other wheels on the market, but also because it is made of eco-friendly materials that won’t break down. Plus, Nature’s Integrity is so sure about the integrity of their product that it comes with a literal lifetime warranty--no questions asked.

2. UpCircleSeven

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
UpCircleSeven
Amazon Link
Size
99
Materials
99
Features
99
Capacity
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.97
Pros:

Super-thick 8mm padding

Anti-microbial, anti-sweat, anti-smell, anti-slip padding

Made from super durable and non flexible PVC

Can hold up to 550 pounds

12 inches in diameter and 5 inches wide

Comes with PDF E-Book

30-day warranty

Cons:

May be a bit too advanced for older users who are not in shape, or for those with arthritis or motion sickness, as it could cause some pain and dizziness.

The UpCircleSeven Yoga Wheel is designed to take the fear out of those hard-to-hit poses. It is made from premium materials and comes with a detailed guide to help deliver the relief, strength, and confidence that you need to move mentally and physically forward. It is 12 inches in diameter and 5 inches wide.

Comes with Yoga Guide to Strengthen Practice
The UpCircleSeven Yoga Wheel is made of PVC that is designed specifically to stay rigid and non-flexing under pressure. The thick foam top is great at wicking away moisture, preventing sweat from building up and eliminating slippery puddles that can be dangerous. Plus, it’s anti-microbial which means your wheel won’t be left smelling like a locker room, even after your most intense sessions. This product also comes with an E-Book in PDF that provides 18 different moves to help increase balance, mobility, flexibility, circulation, and core strength, all while helping to relieve back pain, neck pain, hip pain, and more.

Extra Thick Padding of 8mm
The UpCircleSeven Yoga Wheel can hold up to 550 pounds of weight, and its durable PVC design won’t bend and collapse underneath you when you are in compromising positions so you can feel totally safe when you’re using it. And you absolutely can’t beat the incredible, extra-thick padding of this wheel. Measuring at 8mm, the padding this product provides will deliver the most comfortable experience to you while you are gaining mobility and flexibility in inversions. Plus, we love the cool color selections. Pick up this product in cyan, black, cork, light blue, or pink.

Cost and Value
The UpCircleSeven Yoga Wheel rings up at the higher end of our price range, and we love its value because it is super durable and so, so, so comfortable to use. Plus, it comes with a 30-day, no-questions-asked, money-back guarantee if you aren’t totally satisfied. And it is back by hundreds of positive reviews from fellow yogis who have used this product to deepen their practice and build confidence in their poses.

3. Purity Wave

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Purity Wave
Amazon Link
Size
98
Materials
98
Features
98
Capacity
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

A whopping ½ thick of padding

Great looking cork design

Cork is a renewable and eco-friendly resource that resists microbes, sweat, and slipping

Can hold up to 550 pounds

Meant to last a lifetime (and comes with a lifetime warranty)

Measures at a 12.5 diameter and 5.1 inches thick

Cons:

Some reviewers note that the cork may need to be adjusted on occasion to match up with the base of the wheel.

The Purity Wave is perhaps the most luxurious, high-end product on our list. Not only does it look the part, but it provides serious padding and durability that will ensure that this baby lasts a lifetime. It has a 12.5-inch diameter and measures 5.1 inches wide.

Made from Super Eco-Conscious Cork
The Purity Wave is made from eco-conscious and renewable cork, making this product more environmentally friendly than those made out of plastics. Plus, this cork wicks away sweat puddles which help to eliminate slipping during super sweaty yoga sessions. And that also means it is anti-microbial and thus, anti-locker room smelling (always an added bonus). This wheel comes with an instructional PDF to guide you through your practice and to help give you the most variety out of its use. We know when you’re buying exercise gear, aesthetics aren’t your number one concern, but we are still in love with the sleek, beautiful, cork design of this wheel.

Provides a Whopping ½ Thick of Padding
The Purity Wave delivers more padding than any other wheel on our list--a whopping ½ thick of it, or almost 13mm (note the previous wheel on our list has 8mm of padding). That makes this the most comfortable wheel to use on our list, and the more comfortable your workouts, the more frequently you will use your wheel, and the faster you’ll see results. This product can also hold up to 550 pounds and is proven to hold up better to long-term use than PVC and plastic products because it is made out of cork.

Cost and Value
The Purity Wave Cork Yoga Wheel is the most expensive wheel on our list but it is also the most padded, the most comfortable, and perhaps the best looking. Plus, it comes with a lifetime warranty and you just can’t beat that--especially when you’re shelling out the extra dough.

4. Pete's Choice

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Pete's Choice
Amazon Link
Size
97
Materials
97
Features
97
Capacity
97
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.87
Pros:

Comes with a bonus yoga strap for even deeper stretching

Comes with bonus booklet to guide your yoga sessions

Is made from ABS material which is super durable

Comes with a lifetime warranty

Can hold 350 pounds

Measures 12.6 inches in diameter and 5.1 inches wide

Cons:

Some users mention a creaking noise while working out with it.

The Pete's Choice is a complete yoga set that will get you well on your way to achieving confidence and security in some of yoga’s most challenging poses--both mentally and physically. It has a 12.6-inch diameter and is 5.1 inches wide.

Comes with a Bonus Yoga Strap and Booklet Guide
The Pete's Choice Ultimate Dharma Yoga Wheel Prop is made from ABS (acrylonitrile butadiene styrene) that is incredibly durable and can hold up to even your most intense yoga sessions. It is hypo-allergenic and great for those with sensitive skin, and it breathes easily so you won’t build up a ton of heat and sweat against it which helps a lot when it comes to slipping and safety. This set not only comes with a wheel but also with a yoga strap for even more intense stretches and poses. And to top it off, Pete’s Choice throws in a PDF book with 16 different poses to help take your workouts to the next level.

Durable Enough to Stand On
The Pete's Choice Ultimate Dharma Yoga Wheel Prop can hold up to 350 pounds of weight and is durable enough for users to stand on (note that we didn’t say bounce!). The padding on this wheel is ¼ of an inch thick, which is equivalent to about 6mm. Because this wheel has a little less padding, it is better intended for those with more experience in their yoga practice and in inversion poses.

Cost and Value
The Pete's Choice Ultimate Dharma Yoga Wheel Prop rings up at the middle to low end of our price range and we love its value because it comes with 2 bonus features (a PDF book and a yoga strap) as well as with a lifetime warranty which guarantees satisfaction with their product.

5. Clever Yoga

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Clever Yoga
Amazon Link
Size
97
Materials
96
Features
96
Capacity
97
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.49
Pros:

Comes with padding on the inside and outside

Made from super strong ABS

Can hold up to 660 pounds

Comes in 2 different sizes

Extra-wide 5.8 inches

Comes with a hard copy of exercises as well as youtube tutorials

Cons:

Outside padding may not as dense as necessary for comfort.

The Clever Yoga is a great product with some unique features that will deliver fast results. It comes in two sizes: a large round with a 15.75-inch diameter and a small round with a 12.6-inch diameter. Each of these sizes comes with a larger-than-standard width of 5.8 inches, like most other products on the market feature widths of 5.1 inches and lower.

ABS Frame is BPA Free
The Clever Yoga Stretching Yoga Wheel is made from super-sturdy ABS materials which are stronger than other PVC wheels, and not to mention, more environmentally friendly as well. The padding here helps to eliminate puddles of sweat which aids in avoiding slipping. Plus, this product comes with a hard copy instruction manual with several different pose suggestions so that you can get the most out of your wheel, as well as youtube video tutorials to follow along with.

Padding on the Outside and on the Inside
The Clever Yoga Stretching Yoga Wheel features unique ¼ an inch to ½ an inch padding on the inside and outside of the wheel, while most other competitors on the market only offer outside padding. The inside padding is great for adding security to your grip in a number of different tricky poses, and the outside padding provides needed comfort when rolling on your back or stomach. The wheel is made of ABS which is really strong and can hold weights up to 660 pounds.

Cost and Value
The Clever Yoga Stretching Yoga Wheel rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it comes with a few features that other wheels don’t like padding on the inside and outside of the wheel, as well as a hard copy of exercises and youtube tutorials. Clever Yoga will also send you a new wheel or refund your money if you aren’t 100% satisfied with your purchase.

6. BodyGood

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
BodyGood
Amazon Link
Size
95
Materials
96
Features
95
Capacity
97
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.99
Pros:

Made of cork that resists microbes and bacteria which helps to limit smells, mildew, and skin irritation

Cork is eco-friendly

Comes with instructional videos sent by email after purchase

ABS core is durable and can hold up to 500 pounds

Reviewers love the cushioning

Made in California

100% satisfaction guarantee

Cons:

Some reviewers mention a too-large gap between the seams of their cork on the outside of the wheel.

The BodyGood Cork Yoga Wheel is a wonderful product made in California and crafted without waste all the while refusing to scrimp on quality. This is an amazingly affordable option that will deliver the same high-quality results as other pricer items on our list. It measures 13 inches in diameter and 5 inches in width.

Cork Resists Odors and Bacteria
The BodyGood Cork Yoga Wheel is covered with cork that provides cushioning and that naturally fights off nasty microbes and bacterias that cause skin irritation and unpleasant gym odors. And cork provides a nice, anti-slip grip that will provide security in poses that put the body in more vulnerable positions. Since cork is a renewable resource, it is more environmentally friendly than other plastics and synthetics on the market. The BodyGood comes with instructional videos and exercise ideas so that you can get the most out of your product. And it comes in two fun color options: cork on cork, and cork on cockatoo.

Can Hold up to 500 Pounds
The BodyGood Cork Yoga Wheel features an ABS plastic core that can support up to 500 pounds of weight at a time, so it’s even durable enough for you to stand on. Reviews rave about the cushioning and comfort of this product.

Cost and Value
The BodyGood Cork Yoga Wheel rings up towards the lower end of our price range and we love its value because it is made from high-quality materials without breaking the bank. Plus, it comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee which we can really get behind.

7. Risefit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Risefit
Amazon Link
Size
95
Materials
96
Features
94
Capacity
97
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Tons of fun colors

Great quality, non-toxic materials while still being super inexpensive

Can hold up to 1,000 pounds!

¼ inch thick of padding

3-year warranty

Cons:

Some reviewers wished for a detailed procedure guide and feared they might injure themselves without one.

The Risefit Yoga Wheel is made of super high-quality materials that can stand up to serious workouts without breaking the bank. With super fun designs, it’s one of our favorites. It measures 13 inches in diameter and 5 inches in width.

Eco-Friendly Comfortable Grip Design
The Risefit Yoga Wheel is made of the highest quality materials and can hold up to some serious use, no matter what your yoga routine demands. The non-toxic TPE won’t warp with sweat and provides plenty of grip to keep you feeling secure in tricky poses. But keep in mind that it isn’t totally waterproof, and you’ll need to spot clean it without drenching it down completely. We absolutely love the color styles of this wheel. You can choose between black and aqua, black and paint spatter, cork and green, black and pink, and black and wood.

ABS Tube Inner Can Hold 1,000 Pounds
The Risefit Yoga Wheel is comprised of an ABS tube inner that is incredibly lightweight and durable, and able to hold up to 1,000 pounds of weight at a time. Plus, the TPE padding is ¼ of an inch thick to provide a comfortable roll.

Cost and Value
The Risefit Yoga Wheel is one of the most inexpensive items on our list and we love its value because it is still made of super high-quality materials. It also comes with a 3-year warranty.

8. Reehut

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Reehut
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
94
Features
94
Capacity
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.99
Pros:

12.6-inch diameter by 5 inches wide

Hypo-allergenic and skin safe padding

6mm of padding

Durable ABS inner-tube

Ebook with exercises

Lightweight yet able to hold 330 pounds

2-year warranty

Cons:

Some reviewers report slipping and needing to use a yoga towel to prevent this.

The Reehut Strong Premium Yoga Wheel Roller is great for increasing balance, alignment, mobility, and strength across an array of different yoga practices. Plus, it’s lightweight enough to take on the go. This product measures 12.6 inches in diameter and 5 inches wide.

Hypo-Allergenic and Safe for Skin
The Reehut Strong Premium Yoga Wheel Roller is made from TPE foam that helps to wick away sweaty moisture which prevents dangerous slippage. It is naturally hypo-allergenic making it safe for the skin and helping to prevent irritation in contact areas. And to help deepen your practice, this product comes with an eBook that gives example exercises and poses. Plus, we love the fun color options that the Reehut comes in. Pick this guy up in black, pink, or purple.

ABS Inner-Tube that is Impact-Resistant
The Reehut Strong Premium Yoga Wheel Roller is made with an ABS inner-tube that is very durable as well as resistant to heavy impacts. It can sustain weights up to 330 pounds and features 6mm in padding to provide comfort in some of your more challenging poses.

Cost and Value
The Reehut Strong Premium Yoga Wheel Roller rings up towards the top of our price range, but it is well reviewed and comes with a nice warranty: 30-day money-back guarantee and a 2-year limited warranty.

9. GreEco

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
GreEco
Amazon Link
Size
93
Materials
93
Features
93
Capacity
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Great for pilates and yoga

Great size for traveling with or taking to the gym

Comes in 2 fun colors

13 inches in diameter and 5.5 inches wide (wider than most other wheels)

Cons:

Some reviewers mention that the cork covering can unglue and shift and requires being readjusted.

The GreEco Yoga Wheel Pilates Roller is a go-to for making those trickier poses more accessible and for building your confidence when approaching them. Plus, it’s a great product for yoga and pilates alike as it really works to strengthen your core. This wheel measures 13 inches in diameter and 5.5 inches in width, making it wider than most other wheels on our list.

Lightweight and Great for Travel
The GreEco Yoga Wheel Pilates Roller is made of a soft material from TPE that is at once comfortable and durable. It provides a great grip and features anti-slip padding that will protect you in more vulnerable positions. And because this product is so lightweight and compact, it is a great option if you’re looking for something to easily travel with or take along to the gym with you. You can pick up this product in two snazzy color options: black and green, and purple and green.

Better than a Foam Roller
The GreEco Yoga Wheel Pilates Roller is constructed with a super strong ABS core inner-tube that can hold up to years of heavy use, unlike a foam roller that will break down rapidly over time. This product can hold up to 250 pounds of weight at a time.

Cost and Value
The GreEco Yoga Wheel Pilates Roller rings up towards the top of our price range. We like that it’s lightweight and portable and that it was designed to enhance both yoga and pilates practices.

10. Forbidden Road

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Forbidden Road
Amazon Link
Size
92
Materials
92
Features
92
Capacity
92
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.98
Pros:

Anti-slip hand grip around the wheel, as well as on the covering of the padding

Extra-thick TPE cushion

Strong PVC core

Can hold up to 250 pounds

Waterproof

Super low-cost

Cons:

Some reviewers, while loving the product, wish that the wheel were wider in diameter--especially those users with wider body frames.

The Forbidden Road Yoga Wheel is designed specifically to open your body and mind to more challenging and complex yoga poses. It measures 13 inches in diameter and 5 inches wide making it the ideal sized wheel for anyone between the heights of 5 feet and 6 feet 5 inches.

Textured Edge for Extra Grip
The Forbidden Road Yoga Wheel is made from non-toxic materials making it environmentally friendly. The padded covering features anti-slip qualities as it is waterproof and excellent at wicking away sweat. Plus, it is ridged to reduce slickness even more. And the textured round edges of the wheel provide extra hand grips which ensure more security in vulnerable poses. It comes in 3 fun color options: green and black, pink and black, and purple and black.

Extra-Thick TPE Cushion
The Forbidden Road Yoga Wheel features extra-thick TPE cushion that won’t punish your chest and back during full weight poses. The PVC frame is super durable and can hold weights up to 250 pounds.

Cost and Value
The Forbidden Road Yoga Wheel rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is made of eco-friendly materials while still being able to hold the same weight as more expensive products. And we love all of the anti-slip properties.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

When creating our list for the best yoga wheels, size was a main consideration. We looked at the diameter, width, and thickness of padding to rank each product.
All of the products on our list range between 12 inches and 15.5 inches in diameter, but the average diameter of products on our list is 13 inches. A 13-inch diameter wheel can work well for folks from 5 feet to over 6 feet tall. And the bigger the diameter, the bigger and deeper the stretch. So if you’re new to yoga or you have experienced serious problems with your back before, opt for a smaller-diameter yoga wheel.
Regarding width, the products on our list vary from 5 inches in width to 5.8 inches in width, with the majority of the products being 5 inches. According to reviewers, the wider a wheel, the more comfortable--though this is obviously a matter of opinion. It does seem that more inexperienced users and those suffering from extreme tightness in the back and chest as well as back injuries do better with wider wheels.
Finally, in terms of the thickness of padding, the products on our list range from 6mm thick to 13mm thick. Obviously, the thicker the padding, the more cushion there is provided in poses where you rest your entire weight on the wheel making them way more comfortable.

Materials

As always, we consider the materials that go into each of our products. Common materials seen in this list are TPE cushions and cork cushions, and ABS inner-tubes and PVC inner-tubes.
Cork cushion padding is more eco-friendly than TPE cushion because it is a natural, easily renewable resource. Cork is also naturally anti-microbial, anti-bacterial, and moisture wicking which makes is less smelly, less likely to puddle, and therefore, less slick.
ABS inner-tubes are stronger than PVC inner-tubes and can, therefore, hold more weight and stand up to heavier use over time.

Features

In terms of features, we rank highly those products that come with bonus features to enhance their value. Some of the bonus features we highlight are the anti-bacterial, anti-microbial, and anti-slip properties of each product. We also love products that come with instructional materials ranging from eBooks to youtube videos. And of course, any product that comes with additional side prizes like yoga straps are welcome on our list.

Capacity

Whenever we feature exercise gear, we make sure to enumerate the capacity of each product. The products on our list can hold between 250 pounds and 1,000 pounds. Obviously, the products that can sustain 1,000 pounds are those that are the most durable and also those that can absorb some bounce as well. So if you’re an average size person who is simply looking for rolling and stretching, don’t worry about shelling out the extra dough for a heavier duty product. But if you are looking for a more versatile wheel that can handle some bounce, go ahead and grab a heavy-duty 1,000 pounder.

Value

One of the things we love most about the products on this list is that they are super affordable and they can open up so many options in your yoga and pilates practices. Plus, they aren’t just for extending your yoga practice, but they can also be used in rehabbing and stretching your back, neck, chest, and shoulders, so they’re truly a versatile tool that has a small footprint and is easy for you to take to the gym or keep around the house.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
How Sensitive are Your Back and Chest Areas?

If you have injuries in your back or chest, if you’re suffering from arthritis, or if these areas of your body are just super sensitive, make sure you go with a product that has more padding. Note that many of the poses that are suggested with these wheels are going to be uncomfortable at first, so choosing a product with more cushion will provide way more comfort to these sensitive areas and will encourage you to keep using your wheel. The Purity Wave Cork Yoga Wheel provides the most cushioning (13mm) of any wheel on our list.

Are You a Heavy Sweater?

Don’t be embarrassed! You don’t even have to answer out loud. If you are a heavy sweater, go with a product made from cork. Cork absorbs more moisture and is also anti-microbial and anti-bacterial. That means that even though it's wicking away your sweat, it won’t become super smelly and start to mildew, and that also means it will continue being kind and sensitive to your skin.

Other Factors to Consider

Comfort

We included this consideration in size, but we want to make sure we mention it here again so that you get the wheel that is most comfortable for you. The bigger the wheel, the bigger the stretch. A 13-inch wheel is great for anyone 5 feet to 6.5 feet tall. If you have mobility issues, go with a smaller wheel. And if you have a lot of sensitivity in your back, select a wheel with more cushion.

Flexibility

We looked for products that were not super flexible. In this case, it is important for the wheels on our list to maintain their shape under heavy weights without bending and folding underneath you during use. So that’s why we highlight the weight capacity for each.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What size wheel should I get for my height?

a:

A 13-inch diameter wheel is good for anyone from 5 feet to 6.5 feet tall. However, if you are super stiff in your back, you may want to go with a smaller-diameter wheel. There are wheels not featured on our list that go all the way down to 6 inches in diameter.

q: Is a yoga wheel portable?

a:

All of the wheels on our list weigh under 5 pounds and some are as light as 2 pounds. That makes them light enough to carry almost anywhere, though they aren’t collapsable so keep that in mind.

q: Is a yoga wheel like a foam roller?

a:

While both a foam roller and yoga wheel are round, they are not used for the same purposes. Foam rollers compress more easily and are mainly designed to roll out sour muscle groups and to enhance stretching. Yoga wheels provide a much deeper stretch and are not designed to compress under use.

Sources

  1. Kat Heagberg, New Prop on the Block: 5 Things to Know About the Yoga Wheel, Article
  2. Wikipedia Contributing Writers, Yoga, Encyclopedia
  3. Laura Williams, 7 Ways to Use a Yoga Wheel,