to top 10 table

Best Collapsible Batons & Pointers Reviewed

last updated Apr 15, 2019

The baton is an incredibly versatile tool, and you don't really know you need one until you need one. Well trust us, we need one. So for the purposes of this article,  we'll be looking at a select group of batons that range from self-defense and protection to classroom teaching implements, along with a few other diverse examples in between.  All of these batons help make life just a bit easier and more functional by taking care of everyday mundane tasks freeing up some of your time, and in a few cases, easing the wear and tear on your body.  That being said, here's just a little taste:

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
 Silfrae Emergency Tool
95.2/100 our score
Features
96
Adjustability
95
Ease of Use
96
Materials
94
Safety Hazards
95
Silfrae Emergency Tool
Why is it better?

Foam grip for comfort

Steel construction

Three available colors

Several Uses

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Silfrae Emergency Tool
Test Winner: Silfrae Emergency Tool
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
14k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Features Adjustability Ease of Use Materials Safety Hazards By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Features
96 %
Adjustability
95 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Materials
94 %
Safety Hazards
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Features
94 %
Adjustability
95 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Materials
94 %
Safety Hazards
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$26.90
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Features
94 %
Adjustability
92 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Materials
91 %
Safety Hazards
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$16.14
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Features
90 %
Adjustability
89 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Materials
92 %
Safety Hazards
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$22.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Features
89 %
Adjustability
88 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Materials
89 %
Safety Hazards
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$7.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Features
85 %
Adjustability
86 %
Ease of Use
84 %
Materials
85 %
Safety Hazards
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$6.50
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Features
82 %
Adjustability
84 %
Ease of Use
83 %
Materials
82 %
Safety Hazards
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$7.79
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Features
80 %
Adjustability
81 %
Ease of Use
79 %
Materials
77 %
Safety Hazards
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$7.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.8
Features
77 %
Adjustability
75 %
Ease of Use
76 %
Materials
74 %
Safety Hazards
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$7.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.4
Features
72 %
Adjustability
73 %
Ease of Use
74 %
Materials
72 %
Safety Hazards
71 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$7.59
In Depth Review Top 10
  •  Silfrae Emergency Tool Silfrae Emergency Tool
  •  Guardian 26 Inch Guardian 26 Inch
  •  Mootech Tactical Pen Mootech Tactical Pen
  •  GMaxit Self Defense Tool GMaxit Self Defense Tool
  •  Honbay Retractable Pointer Honbay Retractable Pointer
  •  SE 8036TM SE 8036TM
  •  Oulii Hand Pointer Oulii Hand Pointer
  •  BonyTek Retractable BonyTek Retractable
  •  Bykes Magnetic Pointer Bykes Magnetic Pointer
  •  Tinksky Telescopic Pointer Tinksky Telescopic Pointer
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Expert Interviews & Opinions
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Bets Collapsible Batons

1. Silfrae Emergency Tool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
 Silfrae Emergency Tool
Amazon Link
Features
96
Adjustability
95
Ease of Use
96
Materials
94
Safety Hazards
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Foam grip for comfort

Steel construction

Three available colors

Several Uses

Cons:

Difficult to retract

Not overly sturdy

We start off with a sleek looking offering. This one boasts very good reach as far as retractable batons go, but the real draw is the wide array of uses this one has. Giving it a comfort grip and solid steel construction doesn’t hurt either, so you can feel secure knowing that this baton has got your back wherever you may be.

Read more

Your comfort in mind
A foam handle for comfort may seem superfluous, but really it is anything but. This is a hard, metal baton that when used with any frequency, could cause discomfort, if not for the ingenious inclusion of comfort.

So many uses
It’s meant for self-defense but is advertised for hiking, camping, and other outdoor activities, as well as a glass breaker in an emergency situation. That versatility puts it in a class of its own in my mind.

Cost and Value
For being made of steel, having a compression foam handle to provide comfort, and having the ability to be used for a variety of purposes, the Silfrae Three Sections Retractable Stick Emergency Escape Tool comes with a surprisingly reasonable price point.

2. Guardian 26 Inch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
 Guardian 26 Inch
Amazon Link
Features
94
Adjustability
95
Ease of Use
93
Materials
94
Safety Hazards
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.90
Pros:

Extremely durable

Extra long

Lightweight

Locks when open to prevent accidental retraction

Cons:

Hard to retract

Doesn’t feel sturdy

This baton was actually the first one I looked at while researching for this article, and I learned a lot about the product line in general. This one happens to be the prototypical example of what a baton should be, giving reliability combined with functionality. If you’re in the market for a top-notch collapsible baton, this is it.

Read more

Stay out
The Guardian 26 inch Retractable Stick does not support automatic recovery. Now, that may seem like a con, forcing you to have to retract it yourself. On the contrary, what it actually does is a guarantee that it won't accidentally retract on you in the middle of a situation.

Now get back in there
However, when all is said and done, and it's time to put your baton away, the Guardian 26 Inch Expandable Stick easily collapses with a bit of pressure on the tip. Simple and effective.

Cost and Value
A case of beer, or a personal protection device? Really that depends on your particular needs. What I'm getting at, though, is if you need to protect yourself, this is a very affordable option.

3. Mootech Tactical Pen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
 Mootech Tactical Pen
Amazon Link
Features
94
Adjustability
92
Ease of Use
93
Materials
91
Safety Hazards
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.14
Pros:

Incredibly strong

Tungsten steelhead can break glass

Comes with lanyard and case

Pen style makes it easy to carry

Cons:

Cap tends to pop off

Sticks at times when extending

Labeled as a simple tactical pen, this one nonetheless can be a literal lifesaver if it ever comes down to it. Yes, it is marketed as a tactical protection device disguised as a pen, which is ideal, because nobody ever wants to have to actively carry a personal protection device with them, and this helps to conceal the fact. When they need it, however, it's there.

Read more

But is it a pen?
It’s not, but you would be forgiven for mistaking it as one. With the clean profile of a ballpoint pen, the Moothech Tactical Pen can slip in just about anywhere without being a hindrance, ready to go when you need it.

Brick breaker
While you probably won’t need it for such a task, just knowing that this baton packs that much strength and striking power is enough to put your mind at ease and have you go through your day with confidence.

Cost and Value
When retracted, the Mootech Tactical Pen resembles one of those fancy ballpoint pens. As a happy coincidence, it’s also priced that way, not costing you much at all yet offering more bang for your buck than a pen.

4. GMaxit Self Defense Tool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
 GMaxit Self Defense Tool
Amazon Link
Features
90
Adjustability
89
Ease of Use
91
Materials
92
Safety Hazards
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.99
Pros:

Extra long to keep attackers at bay

Reinforced handle ideal for a close quarter use

Superior striking speed

Very easy to use

Cons:

Feels light and kind of cheap

Can be bendable

The makers of this baton knew exactly what they were going for when they decided to put it together, a rapidly deployed, non-lethal alternative to knives, stun guns, or firearms that would just as effectively put an attacker down. It doesn't hurt either that it also happens to be sturdy enough to hold up to any situation you may have unleashed it into.

Read more

Click
That's it. One word to describe it, and only one step to be able to use it. Flick your wrist once, it's out and ready to use. Flick your wrist again, this time in the direction of the aggressor, and, well, ouch. That's going to hurt.

Stay back
When retracted and put away, this baby only measures about nine inches in length. When the time comes for it to be put into action, this beast expands to over twenty-six inches, critical for keeping your opponent a good distance away from you, providing time to plan your next move.

Cost and Value
For what they are, and what they're meant it accomplish, collapsible batons are not complex machines and therefore aren't that expensive, to begin with (a definite plus), but this particular one just so happens to be especially reliable and well priced. You can't really go wrong with this one.

5. Honbay Retractable Pointer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
 Honbay Retractable Pointer
Amazon Link
Features
89
Adjustability
88
Ease of Use
87
Materials
89
Safety Hazards
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.99
Pros:

Easy to carry and store

Felt tip won’t damage whiteboards

Great reach

Ideal for presentations

Cons:

Not as versatile as some other batons

Somewhat cheap construction

Now for a change of pace, we’ll be moving away from the self-defense and outdoor activity batons, and looking at a few that are meant for simpler, yet equally important purposes, starting with the Honbay Retractable Telescopic Teacher Hand Pointer. Designed to be used in a classroom situation, the length functionality of this one makes it the perfect tool for getting your point across to a room of eager minds.

Read more

Way over there
So apparently, batons used for teaching have a much longer reach than those used for self-defense. Come to think of it, that does make sense since you need to be able to highlight information at any given time. At one meter in length, you’re free to highlight away.

Presenting.
Speaking of highlighting, the reach lends to the overall aesthetic that makes this baton the ideal tool for presenting to a large crowd in a less than intimate setting (i.e. boardroom) without having to move all across the room while doing it. Though this also lets you do that too if you want.

Cost and Value
This baton has a very specific use, and to that end, it accomplishes its task exceedingly well. Normally, such a specified tool can command a fairly large price, but this one is a very affordable teaching implement.

6. SE 8036TM

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
 SE 8036TM
Amazon Link
Features
85
Adjustability
86
Ease of Use
84
Materials
85
Safety Hazards
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.50
Pros:

Strong magnet

Perfect for a shop

Gets into hard to reach places

The shielded collar helps accuracy

Cons:

Can fall apart

Magnet cracks

This is the first magnetic “pickup” baton I’ll be mentioning, and I really like these ones. They perform a task that is absolutely critical to anybody, with back issues, mobility restrictions, or just really big hands. Often times, be it in a shop, a kitchen, under your couch, anywhere, really, you’ll be handling something that just seems to slip out of your hands and tries to hide. That’s exactly where this baton comes in.

Read more

When your hands are too big.
I’m going to be pretty specific here, though it applies to any situation. You’re in a shop or your garage, working on an intricate piece of equipment when an important washer drops to the ground and rolls under your workbench. There's only a few inches of clearance and there’s no way your hands are getting under there. Magnetic baton to the rescue!

Strong as you need it to be
I doubt you’d ever need to pick up fifteen pounds at a time with your baton, but I could be wrong, and it doesn’t hurt to have that option. I can picture a time when my back is less than one hundred percent and I drop a hammer or something. I’m not going to want to bend down, and I won’t have to.

Cost and Value
A very handy little device that, when you’re in need of its services is an indispensable life-saving tool. Good thing, then, that it is also not going to cost you that much money at all. The value of this one is huge.

7. Oulii Hand Pointer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
 Oulii Hand Pointer
Amazon Link
Features
82
Adjustability
84
Ease of Use
83
Materials
82
Safety Hazards
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.79
Pros:

Holds together well

Felt contact head is replaceable

Comfortable handle

Great length

Cons:

Lots of friction makes use difficult

Looks cheap

I like clean, simple design. This hand pointer is the epitome of that. It’s a very straightforward tool designed to perform a specific function without the need for superficial additions. It gets the job done, doesn’t ask questions, and is more than tough enough to be there whenever you need it, for a very long time. I think the word that best sums this one up is reliable.

Read more

Feels so good
This is all about the comfort handle again. A bunch of batons already have the same feature, but this hand pointer has a covering that is just a little bit spongier, which equals softer, and in the long run, that means more comfort and less chance of nasty hand cramps.

Won’t be broken
How can something so soft also be so hard? The Oulii Hand Pointer is easy on your hands, but at the same time, it was made tough and durable enough that you won’t have to worry about it breaking or falling apart.

Cost and Value
It’s actually pretty tough to say much about the value of this pointer. To be fair, the value is there, but it doesn’t exactly boast enough features to really warrant a huge paragraph. For the features it does have, it does them very well, and is very affordable.

8. BonyTek Retractable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
 BonyTek Retractable
Amazon Link
Features
80
Adjustability
81
Ease of Use
79
Materials
77
Safety Hazards
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.99
Pros:

Insane length

Stainless steel won’t rust

Extends easily

Extra pointer tip included

Cons:

Pointer comes off easily when pulled

Felt tip is almost too large

A professional whiteboard pointer at such a great cost, with a design centered around long-term use, this one by BonyTek is as close to being a workhorse as a pointer is going to get. Sure, most any pointer will do the job, but this one was built for professionals. An absolutely insane reach, removable felt tip, and no-nonsense handle give you everything you need to get the job done with class.

Read more

How far away?
You can use this particular pointer on a surface up to forty-seven inches away. Are you serious? That just goes to show you that they weren’t messing around when they put this one together.
Rust?

No thank you
It seems funny to me that not all batons are made of rustproof stainless steel, but I can understand that different uses call for different materials. For pointer sticks though, there is no excuse,

Cost and Value
As far as classroom pointers go, this is going to be one of the most expensive. That doesn’t mean it costs much, it’s just at the top end of its category for a price. It just so happens to be at the top of the list in quality, too, which more than makes up for it.

9. Bykes Magnetic Pointer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.8
 Bykes Magnetic Pointer
Amazon Link
Features
77
Adjustability
75
Ease of Use
76
Materials
74
Safety Hazards
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.99
Pros:

Very handy two pack

Nicely compact when retracted

Good length prevents back strain

Strong magnet holds up to fifteen pounds

Cons:

Magnetic head is a bit too large to get into small spaces

Shaft can bend when holding heavier objects

These things are a godsend as it is. I won’t stop bringing up their usefulness in sparing your body potential pain. Now, with this particular model, you get two in the package, meaning you no longer have an excuse to overexert yourself, or just not bother to pick up a dropped object altogether. What’s even handier, is if you happen to drop your magnetic pointer on the ground, just grab the other one and pick it up!

Read more

Great for my back
Another magnetic pointer. As I see more of them, the one feature that stands out to me the most is the relief they bring to back pain sufferers. I’m not that young anymore, and this allows me to stop being so reckless and start to take it easy a bit. Work smarter, not harder, right?

Am I seeing double?
You get two for virtually the price of one. That in and of itself is a great deal, but then you take into account the fact that you get two different pointers in here, meaning you can put each one to its own task, or maybe you just need to use pointers in multiple places. Either way, you’re covered.

Cost and Value
It’s rare to find pointers that come in a two pack, and it’s especially rare to find them at a price that is just a bit more than most singles packs. Add to that the fact that they are both different sizes for different needs, and the value just goes through the roof.

10. Tinksky Telescopic Pointer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.4
 Tinksky Telescopic Pointer
Amazon Link
Features
72
Adjustability
73
Ease of Use
74
Materials
72
Safety Hazards
71
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.59
Pros:

Multiple purposes

Nice and light

Won’t break

Works on computer screens without damaging them

Cons:

Felt tip slips off easily

Overly large

Last, but not least, is another teacher’s pointer, and a sharp looking one at that. When I first looked at collapsible batons, I always thought of them as a weapon. I had no idea how important they would become in the classroom. Almost more useful as a teaching implement than a self-defense tool, they become a must-have item for teachers everywhere. Tinksky just happens to make one of the better ones out there, combining looks, function, and price into a lightweight offering ideal for the teacher in your life.

Read more

Important aspect 1
Being light, in terms of batons, goes hand in hand with having a comfortable handle (which this also has). It all lends to your hands not cramping up into a painful claw. For anyone who uses their hands day in and day out, the relief offered by this feature is definitely welcome.

So useful
For all the pointers that I looked at, this was the first one I saw that just did more. They all work great for blackboard and smartboard presentations, but this one has been specifically mentioned for use on a computer screen and as a dog trainer. Talk about bang for your buck.

Cost and Value
If it was possible for a pointer to be considered good-looking, this would be it. It has a very professional look, yet is by far the most affordable pointer on the market, making it perfect for teachers of all types.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

First things first we're going to draw a distinction between safety batons and educational batons. They're definitely not the same thing, and it's fairly easy to tell the difference. So we're going to look not only for superior craftsmanship but also for some extra features that are going to push our products over the top and into our top ten.

Adjustability

This goes a bit with the territory as most of our batons are going to be adjustable., but we're looking for batons that will telescope easily and some that have some pretty cool features that you don't expect.

Ease of Use

If you're using a security baton the last thing you want is for it not to work when you need it. So we're keeping an eye on how well made these batons are and we're checking to see that they deploy easily and quickly. Not to be too dramatic but your life might depend on it.

Materials

What is your baton made of, we're looking for strength and lightness so our list is going to be full of strong but light metals for a baton that's not too heavy but won't break the first time you use it or wear out after repeated uses.

Safety Hazards

Some of these security batons are going to be able to do some damage but we want to make sure they only do damage when you want them to. So we're looking for some basic safety features on all of our batons that are going to keep them from deploying when you don't want them to and make sure that any add-on security features work like they're supposed to.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
When Does One Use A Baton

When you need one that's when. A good safety baton is going to be non-lethal, it's going to be easy to carry, it's going to be inconspicuous and it's going to do its job when you need it. For an educational baton you're going to want to go for sleek coolness and a laser pointer that works like a charm in even the brightest light. We admit that never the twain shall meet when we're talking our two types of batons but no matter which kind you need, you shall find it here.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How Do I Use a Security Baton

a:

As with all weapons, don't use it if you're not prepared to use it. That's the first and most important rule of any weapon. It's always worth it to keep in mind that if you're going to have a security baton and you're going to pull it on someone be prepared to use it. And don't think for a moment a glorified stick can't be deadly. So get some training.

q: Are Security Batons Legal?

a:

As with all things it depends on your state. So make sure and check with the seller before you buy anything and even after you've bought it, check in with the local authorities to make sure the baton you're using is legal.

q: Should I Get Training for My Baton?

a:

Absolutely you should, after all, this is a potentially deadly weapon. And like we said earlier you shouldn't be carrying a security baton if you're not prepared to use it, and we should add you shouldn't be carrying one if you don't know how to use it. So go online and google how to find baton training courses and you shouldn't have any trouble finding a class.