to top 10 table

Best Yoga Mat Sprays Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Jun 16, 2019

But there is one aspect of using a yoga mat that a lot of people don’t like talking about: people sweat on them. A lot. And considering what materials these mats are made out of, you can’t just throw them in the washer. Luckily, we have a solution. So, let us set the record straight now: you need a yoga mat spray. At least one bottle should be on your person when you head off to class. Yoga mat sprays are pretty much your best bet for effectively washing your yoga mats because as we said it’s not a good idea to throw a yoga mat in the washing machine. And besides that, yoga mat sprays are almost all natural, are basically cleanser and washer in one, and works a lot faster than a washing machine. Which is why we’re counting down the top ten best, here today.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
 Asutra Natural
96.6/100 our score
Product Purity
98
Safety Hazards
97.9
Effectiveness
96
Application
95.8
Value
97.8
Asutra Natural
Why is it better?

Peaceful lavender scent

Natural purification

Cheap

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Asutra Natural
Test Winner: Asutra Natural
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Product Purity Safety Hazards Effectiveness Application Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Product Purity
98 %
Safety Hazards
97.9 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Application
95.8 %
Value
97.8 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Product Purity
97 %
Safety Hazards
95.4 %
Effectiveness
94.3 %
Application
92.7 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Product Purity
91 %
Safety Hazards
92.3 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Application
93.7 %
Value
90.2 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$10.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Product Purity
89.7 %
Safety Hazards
88.3 %
Effectiveness
86.9 %
Application
90.1 %
Value
89.4 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$10.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Product Purity
87.3 %
Safety Hazards
85.6 %
Effectiveness
87.9 %
Application
89 %
Value
84.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Product Purity
87 %
Safety Hazards
85 %
Effectiveness
86 %
Application
87 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Product Purity
81 %
Safety Hazards
85 %
Effectiveness
86 %
Application
82 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Product Purity
84 %
Safety Hazards
81.2 %
Effectiveness
80 %
Application
81.9 %
Value
79.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
Product Purity
79.3 %
Safety Hazards
78 %
Effectiveness
80 %
Application
76.7 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$14.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Product Purity
76 %
Safety Hazards
74 %
Effectiveness
72.9 %
Application
75 %
Value
74.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link

10 Best Yoga Mat Sprays

1. Asutra Natural

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
 Asutra Natural
Amazon Link
Product Purity
98
Safety Hazards
97.9
Effectiveness
96
Application
95.8
Value
97.8
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Peaceful lavender scent

Natural purification

Cheap

Cons:

Can make mat slippery if too much is applied

Kicking off our list, we have the Asutra Natural and Organic Yoga Mat Cleaner. When it comes to natural, organic cleansers, not just for yoga mats, Asutra is one of the most trusted names in the business. And their yoga mat cleaner spray is easily one of the best items in their entire lineup.

Peaceful lavender

That little name in purple on the front of the bottle isn’t just a marketing gimmick. You’re likely going to be smelling what you use to clean your yoga mat with while you’re using it. So, it’s best that it not only smells good but smell in such a way that puts you in the mood for yoga. This spray gives off a calming aroma of lavender.

Natural purification

This spray is one of the most efficient natural disinfectants on the yoga mat spray market. Simply coming into contact with this spray causes the majority of odor-causing bacteria to disappear within the first second alone. And once you start wiping it down with the microfiber cleaning towel that this bottle comes with, soon the mat will be completely germed free.

Cost and Value

The great thing about these sorts of mats is that they rarely cost anything very expensive. The price of this spray, you’ll find, is considered on the higher end of average when it comes to yoga mat sprays.

2. Clever

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
 Clever
Amazon Link
Product Purity
97
Safety Hazards
95.4
Effectiveness
94.3
Application
92.7
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Usable on all yoga gear

Completely non-toxic

Completely portable

Cons:

Might be a bit small for some people’s taste

Clever Yoga is a bit of an underdog in this department, which isn’t to say they’re unknown, per se, it’s just that they often get overlooked by bigger brands. Which is a real shame, because as we will soon see, this brand can knock it out of the park when the mood strikes them.

Usable on all yoga gear

Not only is this 4 oz. can of yoga spray easy to carry around and even easier to keep in any place close by for when you need it, but you can also use it on way more than just your yoga mat. Pretty much all of your yoga equipment can benefit from a quick spritz of this cleaner spray. From yoga blocks to yoga towels, nothing is immune to its cleansing effects.

Completely non-toxic

Considering one of the most popular yoga poses is a downward dog, which has you putting your face as close down to the mat as you possibly can if you’re going to spray anything on your yoga mat, it stands to reason to make sure that it’s non-toxic. Which is why Clever Yoga went the extra mile to only make this spray out of non-toxic materials that pose no threat to the body when inhaled.

Cost and Value

Like before, we have a very average price for a small bottle of yoga mat spray. And like before, when you consider the deal you’re getting out of it, the already small price becomes even more reasonable than it already was.

3. Aurorae

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
 Aurorae
Amazon Link
Product Purity
91
Safety Hazards
92.3
Effectiveness
95
Application
93.7
Value
90.2
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.00
Pros:

4 incredible scents

Prolongs mat life

Amazing deal

Cons:

The smell could be stronger for some people

Sporting four different bottles and thus four different scents in each bottle, this is one of the most versatile entries on this list, and definitely, one of the best deals you could ask for when it comes to a product like this.

4 incredible scents

We should start this off by elaborating on those 4 scents we talked about, huh? The four flavors that come in this set include cleansing original, energizing citrus, healing eucalyptus, and calming lavender. So, if one scent isn’t to your liking, but you still want a good cleansing spray, then at least one of these bottles is bound to do it for you.

Prolongs mat life

It may seem odd to consider since you likely don’t think of what you do on it to be all that is draining on the lifespan, but indeed, doing anything on top of a yoga mat does something to its lifespan, but that’s where this spray comes in. It doesn’t just clean and disinfects, it also restores and refreshes your cleaning spray.

Cost and Value

Of course, being a set of four different sprays plus the usual cleaning wipe, the price for this one is a wee bit higher than the previous two entries. However, you are more than getting your money’s worth out of it, so if that’s all you care about, then we see no reason you shouldn’t buy this one.

4. Mind over Lather Natural

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
 Mind over Lather Natural
Amazon Link
Product Purity
89.7
Safety Hazards
88.3
Effectiveness
86.9
Application
90.1
Value
89.4
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.00
Pros:

Made with natural scented oils

No leaks

No alcohol and thus no risk of drying

Cons:

Small bottle, not a lot of cleaners

Though the main problem with this spray bottle is obvious, what with its small size that some may find unreasonably so, that doesn’t change the fact that what is in there is one of the best yoga mat cleaning formulas on the market.

Made with natural essential oils

Not only does this cleaning formula include such natural products as witch hazel and distilled water, but it’s also made with essential oils such as eucalyptus and tea tree oils. And for good measure, this formula contains zero amounts of alcohol, so you don’t have to worry about prolonged exposure to this cleanser drying out your yoga mat and rendering it useless. So, if nothing else, this cleanser spares you that unfortunate bit of irony, at least.

No leaks

While the scent of these cleanser bottles is often lovely, you obviously don’t want too much of it all over the place. Which becomes a problem when the spray bottle isn’t secure enough, and cleanser starts leaking through the nozzle. Fortunately, unlike a surprising number of entries on this list, this one comes with a spray cap.

5. PLH Yoga Company

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
 PLH Yoga Company
Amazon Link
Product Purity
87.3
Safety Hazards
85.6
Effectiveness
87.9
Application
89
Value
84.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Usable with any style of yoga mat

Not too pungent

A generous quantity of formula, while still being compact enough to be as portable as the other entries on this list

Cons:

The smell doesn’t last as long as some would like

One spritz of this on your yoga mat, and a hearty scrub for good measure later, and you’ll find that this refreshing blend of antibacterial, completely natural oils will be all you ever need to cleanse your yoga mat from now on.

Can be used with any mat style

Of course, not all yoga mats are made out of the same materials, and what may be a real life-extending cleaner for one yoga mat, may be disastrous and permanently staining for another. Luckily, this cleaner doesn’t care what the mat is made out of, as it will thoroughly clean them all the same. So, forget the hesitation you feel with other yoga mat cleaners because this one will give you the cleaning you need, no matter what kind of mat you’re dealing with.

Not too pungent

When we have something that smells nice and relaxing, there’s a temptation to share it with those around us. However, what does and doesn’t smell good is, more often than not, a matter of opinion, and some may not be as appreciative of the gesture. Which is why this spray holds back just enough on the pungency of the aroma. So, you can enjoy the smell to your heart’s content, without disturbing your yoga classmates.

Cost and Value

You’ll actually typically find this cleaner bottle for a little over the average price for these bottles, but like the previous entry but in reverse, this is mostly due to its larger size than your average spray bottle of yoga mat cleaner.

6. Saucha Natural

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
 Saucha Natural
Amazon Link
Product Purity
87
Safety Hazards
85
Effectiveness
86
Application
87
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Quick drying

Complete disinfectant

Comes in multiple sizes

Cons:

Doesn’t have much of a smell

Looking at this, you might swear you’ve seen this type of spray somewhere before. And indeed, you’ve likely seen it in a few higher class hotels with their own yoga rooms and saunas, as this is a much more popular brand of yoga mat spray than many of the others on this list.

Quick drying

Oh no, you’ve only now just remembered (mostly because of the smell) that you forgot to clean your yoga mat before class, and class is right about to start. But most other brands of yoga mat cleaners take too long to dry, which can quite literally trip you up. Well if you have this type of cleaner, don’t worry, as it’s one of the fastest drying entries on this entire list.

Complete disinfectant

Odor-causing's on this list handle odor-causing bacteria all well and good, but when it comes to most anything else, they tend to flounder. But not this cleaner, as it can not only handle odor-causing bacteria but pretty much any kind of bacteria, fungus or mildew that it comes into contact with. And if you got some sweat or dirt on the mat during your last class, don’t worry, as this cleaner will outright dissolve those materials in seconds.

Cost and Value

Unlike other entries, this one comes in different sizes based on how much cleaner you actually want. And like other items that have a size series, there is, of course, a price spectrum born out of it. However, this price spectrum shouldn’t give you any trouble, so you shouldn’t have to worry about it.

7. Gaiam

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
 Gaiam
Amazon Link
Product Purity
81
Safety Hazards
85
Effectiveness
86
Application
82
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Sweat and dirt remover

Works on any yoga mat material

Cheap

Cons:

Dries a bit too quickly, you have to spray on a lot to cover the whole mat

This is the kind of cleaner spray you go for when you want excellent quality and thorough cleaning from your yoga mat spray, but at a lower price than the average. So, what do we mean by this specifically? Well, let’s look closer and find out.

Sweat and dirt remover

While it doesn’t outright dissolve and destroy sweat and dirt and so forth, it’s still a lot more effective at removing those materials from a yoga mat than your run of the mill yoga mat. This spray, combined with a nice light scrub, will easily handle any dirt, sweat or grime that it comes into contact with on your yoga mat.

Works on any yoga mat material

The most commonly used materials to make yoga mats are typically PVC or polyurethane, sometimes both at once. And despite how easily combined those two materials are under the right circumstances, there are differences in how they react to different chemicals. Fortunately, the essential oils and other materials used to make this cleaner are suited to pretty much every type of material used to make yoga mat cleaners out there.

Cost and Value

The best part about this item is the price. While not drastically cheaper than the average price, it’s just drastically enough to be worthy of mention.

8. Oxyvibes All Natural

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
 Oxyvibes All Natural
Amazon Link
Product Purity
84
Safety Hazards
81.2
Effectiveness
80
Application
81.9
Value
79.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Safe for humans as well as the mats

BioPure technology

Cheap

Cons:

Practically no smell at all

Once again, we’re back to more professional grade yoga mat cleaner, and once more we have a cleaner that actually includes a cleaning rag as part of the package deal. However, that is not the only thing that Oxyvibes has to its name.

Safe for humans as well as mats

It’s one thing to make a chemical cleanser for the yoga mat, but one factor you need to keep in mind is that you are still putting most, sometimes all of your body down on these mats after you clean them. You need to make sure that the cleanser is safe for human skin to touch. This is an area that Oxyvibes’ entry succeeds with flying colors.

BioPure Technology

Plenty of yoga mat sprays out there are non-toxic, but this is the only one that uses BioPure Technology in its formula. This is a type of chemical compound that helps to safely and effectively remove oil, sweat, and dirt from your yoga mat, and then clean the spots they leave behind. There’s a reason that this is the safe choice directly certified by the EPA.

Cost and Value

This one costs around the same price as the previous entry, if a few inconsequential cents higher or lower depending on the seller.

9. Black Diamond Stoneworks Yoga Mat Spray Cleaner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
 Black Diamond Stoneworks Yoga Mat Spray Cleaner
Amazon Link
Product Purity
79.3
Safety Hazards
78
Effectiveness
80
Application
76.7
Value
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.98
Pros:

Phosphate-free

Biodegradable spray

Hypoallergenic

Alcohol-free and gentle on your mat

Safe for kids and pets

Smells fresh

Affordable

Cons:

Depending on mat material, may feel damp after and need to lay out to dry

This yoga mat spray cleaner from Black Diamond helps keep your mat clean, doesn't destroy the material and is safe for you, kids and pets! If these are all of the boxes you want to be checked, then this is the spray for you.

Alcohol-free cleaner

This cleaning spray does not have any alcohol in it, which means that it's a more natural and gentle cleaner. Also, this means that it is a gentle cleaner and is less likely to destroy the material your mat is made out of.

Safe for skin contact

For the most part, you don’t have to worry about receiving any kind of injury or side effect from skin contact with this yoga mat spray. This spray is gentle and is also okay for kids and pets to be around.

Cost and Value

Depending on the size bottle you purchase, the price changes. However, they are all affordable prices.

10. Thrive on Wellness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Thrive on Wellness
Amazon Link
Product Purity
76
Safety Hazards
74
Effectiveness
72.9
Application
75
Value
74.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Versatile

Hypoallergenic

Safe to use around anyone

Cons:

Scent can turn some people off

Don’t think that just because it sits at the bottom of the list, means that it’s safe to overlook this one. We went through a lot of competition in deciding #10, and this one won out. So, let’s see why that is.

Versatile

Not only is this one of the most portable entries on this list (with one of the best nozzle caps as well), it’s also one of the most versatile. All it takes is 3, maybe 5 sprays on the mat before wiping it down, and that’s all you need. And if you take pilates classes as well, don’t worry about getting a different bottle, because this spray handles those too.

Hypoallergenic

One fear that some people have when using sprays like these, filled with natural ingredients and oils is that natural ingredients and oils can be very allergic. Which is why this formula was carefully constructed out of materials that, while still effective, were also completely hypoallergenic and safe for people to be around.

Cost and Value

You’ll usually find this entry costing a little bit above the average price of a yoga mat spray bottle, but the amount is so marginal it doesn’t really matter.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Product Purity

When it comes to the odor given off by the yoga mat sprays, we made sure that, if an entry did have an odor, that it was at least a pleasant one. Fortunately, this was not hard to come by. What became tricky was then trying to find the right balance of intensity of that odor. Because you may think the smell of bananas and cherries is the greatest scent to downward dog to in the history of mankind, but you have to remember, you’re doing this in a big, crowded classroom filled with people. Some of whom may have differing opinions on the matter, and then congratulations, you’ve broken their concentration. Which is to say nothing about your own concentration, since you’ll be face to face with the odor, and must deal with it throughout the lesson.

Safety Hazards

We mainly focused on natural ingredients for this list of sprays, but that introduced another issue all on its own. Natural ingredients are more likely to cause allergic reactions in some people. As such, one major criterion became the number of allergens that could potentially be in the formula for the spray. Since the nature of a yoga mat dictates that you are going to be as close to it as a person can be to an object, you need to make sure that you aren’t touching a substance that can endanger your life. Speaking of touching.

Effectiveness

Most yoga mat sprays stick to eliminating the harmless bacteria that create the pungent scent of sweat and workout and leave it at that, letting the actually harmful bacteria and viruses to run amok unnoticed. This is why a major criterion became the thoroughness by which the cleanser took care of the germs and bacteria left behind on the mats they were used on. Now, with modern technology and chemistry, this has gotten a lot easier for even the amateurs and the underfunded to achieve, but it’s still something we felt the need to judge each entry by, if only for professional courtesy.

Application

If we haven’t made this perfectly clear enough yet, this is something that you are going to be spraying all over a surface that you are going to be directly physically touching with most of, if not your entire body. So, you need to make sure that it’s safe to actually do so. Whether it’s because of the allergens that may be in the ingredients, or perhaps because of the chemicals that might be found and how they interact with human flesh. Just because something is good for an inanimate object does not mean it is good for you. And you should always keep that in mind.

Value

For our final criteria, we looked at the price of each object. With other products, usually, we just judge each product by how they justify costing as much as they do. But with yoga mat sprays, that was not really an issue, because none of them cost all that much. The most expensive one we could find for this list only cost what it did (which wasn’t much) because it was a set of four different sprays. So instead, what is usually the most intense and scrutinous of the criteria became the laxer.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
A few things to think about in a yoga cleaning spray.

First of all, don't neglect your home yoga mat. Just because it's only you using it, keep it clean and give it a shot of one our the sprays on our list from time to time. Secondly, if you're going to tote your own spray along with you to class take some time to consider your other exerciser's. And that means go easy on the fragrance, chemical and smell allergies are definitely a thing for many people so go easy on the smells, or if lavender makes your day get one for home and one for the gym.

Other Factors to Consider

Versatility

Yoga mats are made from a variety of different materials, from PVC to polyurethane and a whole lot more than that. All of these materials have different preferences for what can and cannot be used on them. Some natural ingredients interact great with some materials while interacting not so great with others. The best kinds of yoga mat sprays, then, are the kinds that can be used for as large a number of different surface types as possible. And it is that versatility which helped judge a great deal about which entry got on the list and where.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why can’t I just clean a yoga mat with a hose and rag?

a:

Because a majority of the time, yoga mats are not made of materials that cooperate well with high amounts of soap and water. This can cause them to dry to the point of uselessness, or just absorb so much water that the mat is now permanently soggy and also useless. Yoga mat sprays would not be such a varied and long lasting business if the traditional methods of cleaning work.

q: Okay, so in that case, can I make my own yoga mat spray?

a:

Certainly! While we do recommend using the professional brands over making your own spray, anything that’s made from purely natural ingredients can definitely be made at home, so long as you have access to those materials. The materials you’ll need include a small spray bottle and nozzle, filled ¾ of the way with water (either distilled or spring) tea tree essential oil, lavender essential oil, and if you’re feeling experimental, a dash of witch hazel or white vinegar. The specifics of the recipe are all over the internet, so if you feel up to the challenge, have at it.

q: If I can make these sprays on my own, why do I need these entries?

a:

Because the ten entries are shown throughout this list have access to more facilities, better testing, superior resources, and a bunch of other factors that really do make a world of difference. While the ingredients we listed were the basics needed to make your run of the mill bottle of yoga mat spray, the ten entries we have here are anything but a run of the mill. They have special ingredients and technologies added to them to help them make their formulas as effective as possible.

q: How often should I use my spray on my yoga mat? And how will I know when I should?

a:

If you’re borrowing a yoga mat from the classroom every time you go to a yoga class, then you should sanitize the mat as much as you can before the class begins. A bunch of people have touched that mat before you, and that is a lot of germs that can make you very sick. In the case of yoga mats that you actually own, you should make sure to sanitize either before or after class. You shouldn’t have to do it more than once per use of the mat, but if you feel like you should, there’s no harm.

As for when you’ll know when to sanitize the mat, for that we recommend a classic judgment technique: lean down and take a whiff of the mat. If it stinks, scrub it down.

q: How will I know when I should stop sanitizing and how long will it take the spray to dry?

a:

You should generally stop once you’ve completely covered the entire area of the mat, both sides, in the spray, and given it a good scrubbing.

As for how long it will take to dry, that all depends on how you’re drying it, and what kind of spray. If this is a priority for you, then we recommend leaving the mat out in the sun for about an hour or two (not too long of course) and make sure to use a spray that lists “fast drying” as a key feature.

Sources

  1. Well N Good, How to really clean your yoga mat, Website
  2. Gaia, How to Clean a Yoga Mat, Website
  3. Yoga Outlet, How to Clean a Yoga Mat, Website