to top 10 table

Best Raccoon Traps Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Feb 28, 2019

If there is one critter you are likely to face out there that will give you a world of trouble if you let it, it has to be raccoons. They very good at making humans ability to coexist with them rather difficult. So, you need to find a way to handle them if you have an infestation. So, if you’ve noticed that your home has taken in some unwanted house guests, and you would like to get rid of them as humanely, but as efficiently as possible, then one of these ten cages may be exactly what you’re looking for.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 18 hrs of research

icon
Tomahawk Original Rigid
97/100 our score
Effectiveness
98
Versatility
98
Durability
97
Value
95
Tomahawk Original Rigid
Why is it better?

Powerful

Rear Sliding door

Rust resistant

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Tomahawk Original Rigid
Test Winner: Tomahawk Original Rigid
Researched Sources
19
Researched Sources
Total Readers
12k
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
15k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Effectiveness Versatility Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Effectiveness
98%
Versatility
98%
Durability
97%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$86.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Effectiveness
98%
Versatility
98%
Durability
96%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$71.95
$149.99
See Deal
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Effectiveness
96%
Versatility
96%
Durability
96%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$14.99
See Deal
$17.69
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Effectiveness
95%
Versatility
95%
Durability
95%
Value
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$71.81
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Effectiveness
95%
Versatility
94%
Durability
95%
Value
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$24.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Effectiveness
94%
Versatility
95%
Durability
94%
Value
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$26.95
$49.99
See Deal
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Effectiveness
93%
Versatility
97%
Durability
95%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$43.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Effectiveness
93%
Versatility
94%
Durability
94%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$79.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Effectiveness
97%
Versatility
92%
Durability
90%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$60.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Effectiveness
88%
Versatility
89%
Durability
85%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$34.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Tomahawk Original Rigid
  • Duke Powder Coated
  • Bridger Dogproof
  • Havahart 1079
  • DakotaLine Snare
  • Duke 110 Body
  • Amagabeli Professional
  • Trapro Large Collapsible
  • Havahart Two-Door Cage
  • OxGord Live
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Raccoon Traps

1. Tomahawk Original Rigid

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Tomahawk Original Rigid
Effectiveness
98
Versatility
98
Durability
97
Value
95
best offer for today
$86.99
Pros:

Powerful

Rear Sliding door

Rust resistant

Cons:

The trigger is a bit sensitive

Kicking off our list with a classic, we have the Tomahawk Original Series Rigid . This is the kind you go for when you’re just looking for a way to get the job done, and there’s a good reason that the design of this product is considered the default. Which we shall now demonstrate.

Read more

Powerful and Rust Resistant
Of course, when you’re using something to catch a critter, you want to make sure that the cage in question is strong enough to handle it, and raccoons are stronger than they look. Which is why this option is made entirely of 12-gauge galvanized wire mesh. And as if that wasn’t enough, it’s coated in a material that makes it completely rust resistant. Which is definitely good for something intended to be left out in the elements for days on end.

Rear Sliding Door
When you catch the raccoon, the obvious next step is to find a safe place to release the creature, and then do so. And for that purpose, this product is built with an easy to operate the rear sliding door, which is inaccessible from the inside so that the raccoon doesn’t get out. But it’s incredibly easy for you to operate.

Cost and Value
Of course, such devices don’t come cheap, especially if you want high-quality models like this one. However, if you want the best performance on the market right now, the price is definitely worth it.

2. Duke Powder Coated

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Duke Powder Coated
Effectiveness
98
Versatility
98
Durability
96
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
$71.95
$149.99
See Deal
Pros:

Dog proof

Completely humane

Cheap

Cons:

Tigger tends to be sticky and may require some maintenance

Coming in second place, we have this option from Duke. Duke is a name you’ll be seeing a lot of if you decide to really get into critter catchingas a hobby. While they only have two entries on this list, this company really has set themselves apart from others on the market.

Read more

Dog Proof
When setting a cage up for a raccoon, there’s one little snag in the plan you have to account for: a lot of dogs are the same size and general shape of a raccoon, and most products are unable to tell the difference. If this is a major concern for you, then don’t worry, as this option is completely dog proof.

Completely Humane
Even compared to the human entries that make up this list, this product stands out as particularly safe for the critter you’re trying to catch. After all, the poor thing is just hungry, so you don’t want to actually kill it. This product will grab the raccoon’s leg once it goes for the bait you’ve set nearby. The only thing we recommend is to make sure to handle the critter promptly, as there’s no way of ensuring that the raccoon stop it from harming itself in a panic.

Cost and Value
The best part about this is its price. Being just a chain attached to a spring mechanism, this option is one of the cheapest on the entire list. So, if you want an excellent, humane product on a tight budget, this is the combination you’ve been looking for.

3. Bridger Dogproof

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Bridger Dogproof
Effectiveness
96
Versatility
96
Durability
96
Value
95
best offer for today
more shops
$17.69
$14.99
See Deal
Pros:

Strong springs

Stable

Cheap

Cons:

Arming is a bit more difficult

Finishing up our top three segment, we have the Bridger Dog Proof option. Like the previous entry, this one is meant to be staked into the ground, armed with a chain that wraps around the raccoon’s leg when it steps over the designated area. So, what sets it apart from its predecessor? Let’s find out.

Read more

Strong Springs
This is a spring based mechanism, and since it’s meant to catch and hold onto a live, wild, and after it is sprung, panicked critter, it needs to be made of some pretty tough stuff. So not only is this one of the most ruggedly constructed raccoon products on the list, but it’s also made with strong music wire springs to make sure there isn’t a malfunction of some kind when it’s time to spring it.

Stable
When you work with any device meant to be staked into the ground, the quality of that stake is paramount. After all, if the stake isn’t anything of quality, that raccoon is not going to have any trouble getting away. Which is why this option is made with an integrated stabilizer stake that keeps it stable and, in the ground, no matter how much the raccoon thrashes as long as, of course, you make sure to stake it into strong dirt.

Cost and Value
This product is a bit more expensive than the previous entry, but not by a lot, so it’s still pretty cheap.

4. Havahart 1079

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Havahart 1079
Effectiveness
95
Versatility
95
Durability
95
Value
97
best offer for today
$71.81
Pros:

Smooth interior

Versatile

Affordable

Cons:

Setting bait is a bit unorthodox compared to other similar options

Coming in the #4 spot, we have the Havahart 1079. Havahart is considered to be one of the leading manufacturers of humane cages, especially urban-based critters like raccoons. And this animal cage embodies that about as effectively as it possibly could.

Read more

Smooth Interior
At the end of the day, you’re still putting a raccoon in a small metal cage, and that can do some damage if it’s not made properly, as metal is a tad sharp. Fortunately, Havahart considered this and made sure that the interior of this cage was nice and smooth, so as to not cut or scrape the poor creature while it’s caught.

Versatile
The great thing about a cage like this is that it can handle a lot more than just raccoons. A lot of things are the same general size and shape of a raccoon, after all, especially pests. So, if you have a lot more problems than just raccoons, like say armadillos, stray cats, groundhogs, possums, and other critters, this product is exactly what you’ve been looking for.

Cost and Value
Despite being a very similar kind of cage as the first entry on this list, it’s actually a lot more affordable. While the lower price shows in the specifics of the product in comparison to its predecessor, we still heartily recommend it.

5. DakotaLine Snare

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
DakotaLine Snare
Effectiveness
95
Versatility
94
Durability
95
Value
96
best offer for today
$24.95
Pros:

Hard to see

Versatile

Affordable

Cons:

Snare styles are a more complicated tool than normal ones and require more experienced hands to set up effectively

For our 5th place entry, we chose the DakotaLine Hunting Snare . As the name suggests, this option is a set of snare wires that you set up to catch the critter you’re hunting mid-run. They get tangled up in the snare, and just like that, you’ve got them. So, let’s see what got this product on the list.

Read more

Hard to See
One of the main things in the way of a good snare is the fact that if you want a strong snare, you need that line to be thick which means sacrificing the all-important lack of visibility for added durability. Fortunately, this product found a way around that little hurdle, by dying this snare in such a way that makes it hard for critter to see, especially when they’re trying to outrun a hunter, and not focusing on the fine details of their surroundings.

Versatile
The biggest selling point on this option is its versatility in the kind of game it can catch. Sure, you could use it to catch all the raccoons you want, but if you have a hunting trip with your buddies coming up, you can bring this product with you to help catch everything from deer to coyotes.

Cost and Value
This costs a good bit less than the previous entry, but not enough for it to earn the moniker of being cheap.

6. Duke 110 Body

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Duke 110 Body
Effectiveness
94
Versatility
95
Durability
94
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
$26.95
$49.99
See Deal
Pros:

More humane than foothold types

Multiple in package

Great deal

Cons:

Takes a bit to trigger

Coming in at #6, we have another entry from the master craftsmen at Duke, with the Duke 110 Body. Now the title of this product may make you wince since it does sound a tad bit brutal. But in fact, this is probably one of the most humane raccoon catchers on the entire list. Allow us to explain.

Read more

More Humane Than Foothold Options
Foothold options get the job done, but they can be harmful due to their nature if the raccoon panics hard enough. The problem with only holding onto the foot of the raccoon is that the foot in question is now at risk of breaking when the critter inevitably panics. Which is why this product holds the entire body of the raccoon, preventing it from moving around too much.

Multiple in Package
Got more than one raccoon that you would prefer to handle all at once? No problem, because this comes in a set of 6 per box, which should be more than enough for the family of raccoons that have moved in.

Cost and Value
For a set of 6, we expected this product to cost a lot more than it ended up being. So, if you want one of the best sets on the market right now, look no further.

7. Amagabeli Professional

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Amagabeli Professional
Effectiveness
93
Versatility
97
Durability
95
Value
89
best offer for today
$43.99
Pros:

Super sensitive trigger

Coated wire mesh

Small openings in wire mesh to reduce clawing from captured critters

Cons:

No carrying handles

For our #7 spot, we have the Amagabeli Professional. You wouldn’t think the traditional trip cage design would be one of the most versatile designs out there, but you would be very wrong. There are myriad different ways to improve upon this base, which this entry explores further.

Read more

Super Sensitive Trigger
This is meant for a lot more than just raccoons, but that just means that it has to take into account that a trick that works for a raccoon may not work for a cat. Such as a pressure pad release trigger for the door, which a stray cat can easily step over. The solution that this option proposes is to have an integrated unique hook (not sharpened, don’t worry) that will trigger the cage immediately the minute the bait is so much as grazed.

Coated Wire Mesh
The wire mesh that makes up this raccoon cage is covered in a black coating that increases its resistance to the elements while outdoors. You can even use it inside, due to how easy to clean it is. Finally, this cage has a much smaller wire mesh than other raccoon catchers of its kind, which not only stop the raccoons from just getting the bait by reaching in from the outside but also keeps you from getting clawed at when you do manage to catch the raccoon.

Cost and Value
While still not as expensive as the first entry, this is a much pricier kind than the previous few entries. Not too expensive, but just enough to be labeled as such.

8. Trapro Large Collapsible

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Trapro Large Collapsible
Effectiveness
93
Versatility
94
Durability
94
Value
92
best offer for today
$79.99
Pros:

Collapsible

Escape-proof

Handle guard when carrying

Cons:

Mesh is thin, easy to chew through if the critter inside wants to bad enough

Kicking off our final three entries, we have the Trapro Large Collapsible Live Cage. If what you want from a live crittercage is efficiency, then you’re looking at one of the prime examples of that with this entry. What do we mean by this? Let’s find out.

Read more

Collapsible
In case you haven’t yet noticed, these cages are rather big and bulky. So, they can be hard to find storage for, because of their large size and cumbersome design. A problem that this navigates around expertly, by allowing the cage to be completely collapsed with relative ease. And yet just as strong as a non-collapsible cage when setting up.

Escape-proof
With other cages, there’s usually at least a half second where the door is about to close, where the creature in question can still get out. And if you’re trying to catch, say, a cat, then that half second is all it needs to escape your cage. Unless, of course, you use this product, which closes shut its single door in microseconds.

Cost and Value
This isn’t quite as pricey as the previous entry, but still not enough to be labeled as either cheap or even affordable. Still, though, if you want a highly efficient option, then this is what you need.

9. Havahart Two-Door Cage

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Havahart Two-Door Cage
Effectiveness
97
Versatility
92
Durability
90
Value
90
best offer for today
$60.98
Pros:

2 door design

Sensitive triggers

Smaller mesh openings

Cons:

Light construction

For our second to final entry for this list, we have the Havahart Two-Door Cage. Of all of the cages we’ve showcased on this list, this is one of the longest lasting of the bunch. What’s the secret behind this cage’s longevity? Let’s find out.

Read more

2 Door Design
It seems like an odd thing to showcase but think about it. How many cage plans have been foiled because the raccoon approached from the wrong side, figured out it was being conned, and then ran off? Or simply didn’t notice the door on the other side, and got frustrated with the fact that it can’t reach the bait inside? This is what makes the twin doors so effective because it gives the creature you’re trying to catch more ways in.

Sensitive Triggers
Every creature weighs differently, and that is going to affect how well the pressure pad in an critter cage is able to tell when to activate, no matter how sensitive it may be which is why this product is adjustable in its sensitivity, allowing you to target the specific size and weight of the creature you’re trying to capture.

Cost and Value
This cage sits somewhere between the previous two entries in terms of price, making it not quite affordable, but not quite pricey enough for us to label it as such either.

10. OxGord Live

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
OxGord Live
Effectiveness
88
Versatility
89
Durability
85
Value
89
best offer for today
$34.95
Pros:

Smooth internal edges

Durable

Affordable

Cons:

Pieces have been known to come off

For our final entry on this list, we have the OxGord Live cage. This is what we consider to be the basic concept of the live critter cage device broken down into its most essential elements. What do we mean by this? Well, let’s close out this list by finding out.

Read more

Smooth Internal Edges
Metal can be a sharp thing, in case you haven’t already noticed by now. Even mesh wire, which isn’t meant to be very sharp at all, can be murder on the sensitive paw pads of an creature like a raccoon. Which is why this product was specifically made to have as smooth an interior as possible under the circumstances of its construction. Meaning that you don’t have to worry about your humane cage proving harmful to the critter you’re trying to catch.

Durable
But of course, this is still mesh wire that this thing is made out of, and that stuff can be flimsy if not made correctly. Luckily, this cage understands that, and so constructs itself from high quality, rust-resistant mesh wire that will last a long time, as well as stay durable throughout that time.

Cost and Value
This is one of the cheapest entries on the entire list. Not nearly as cheap as the earlier entries, mind you, but still very affordable compared to the entries immediately preceding this one.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Versatility

Though the products on our list are all designed to catch raccoons, there is a bit of versatility here as many of them are able to catch other kinds of unwanted visitors to your home and garden as well. For a live critter cage, there are a number different creatures they can catch, such as raccoons, weasels, stray cats, and anything else of that relative size and shape. So, if raccoons aren’t your only trouble, this kind of cage can be a big help to you for getting rid of those other unwanted visitors, too.

Effectiveness

You should never underestimate the ability of a raccoon (or three) to mess with your life. While perfectly willing to coexist with humans, the common raccoon is tragically unable to understand how to actually do so without making the other half of that equation (i.e., us) not want to coexist with them. You name it; a raccoon can do it from harmless stuff like getting into your garbage, to outright chewing through your wires and messing with the electrical grid of your house as a result. Raccoons are adorable creatures when you don’t have to deal with them, but it’s funny how quickly that appeal can fade once you do. That's why the effectiveness of the options on our list was an important criterion we used when it came to judging the products. You don't want to mess with a raccoon, especially considering that they can carry rabies and be deadly.

Durability

You don't want to catch a raccoon to only have it escape moments later. Your cage will need to be durable enough to withstand a raccoon and be able to be re-used once you've relocated the first offender so you are able to use the product again in the future. Raccoons are smart and persistent little creatures so your product needs to be able to provide enough durability to withstand even the smartest critter.

Value

The last criteria we used to judge the entries for this list was the price of each entry. Funny enough, the most expensive entry on this entire list was our first entry, purely based on the materials used to make it. That combined with the type you’re looking at, the size, and the features it offers, all come together to determine the overall price of the product. However, due to the inconsistent nature of the prices of these entries, we decided to judge each entry by how well they justified the prices they had, rather than the prices themselves. After all, if the product has the features to back it up, you’re probably not as likely to get testy about a high price tag.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
You've Caught One!

So you've decided to purchase one of the options on our list and then subsequently catch your first raccoon. Now what? Approach the raccoon slowly and speak softly and gently to the critter. Take a sheet or large cloth and place it over top of the cage so the raccoon is not able to see. As you transport the cage, ensure you are holding it away from your body and that you are wearing some heavy duty gloves to protect your hands. If you plan on relocating the raccoon, take it at least five miles away from where you caught to to ensure it won't come back anytime soon.

Where To Take Them

The use of live traps allows the users to then simply move the caught raccoon to a new location. Once the raccoon has been relocated, it is then up to the homeowner to remove attractants like food and open garbage cans and repairing things like broken fences that can sometimes allow for visitors to come into their yards.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

When dealing with a raccoon infestation, the last thing you need to add to your already overflowing plate is a confusing cage that requires a lot of concentration and pages and pages of instruction to put together. When compiling our list of top ten products available, we made sure to only include options that were not only effective but easy for humans to set up and use as well.

Protection

Although we talk a lot about hunting creatures on our website, we don't necessarily condone the unnecessary killing of critters, even if we're talking about something that can be as destructive as a raccoon. The products on our list are considered to be live options which mean that the critter will be not be killed once getting caught, thus protecting the little critters from any painful deaths.

Fit

Although there may not be a way to tell how big the raccoons in your yard are unless you catch them in the act, all of the products on our top ten list should be big enough to fit even the most robust of raccoons. Some of the current options on the market may be too small for raccoons so always be sure you're checking out the dimensions of the product before you buy to ensure that that annoying critter getting into your garbage will actually fit into the cage you set for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What should I actually look for in a quality raccoon cage?
a:

The main things to look for are quality materials used for construction, few reported issues (and those that are reported are clear exceptions that prove the rule). You should also look for cages that can survive sometime in the field, as many can also be used for hunting. And while you may not use them for those purposes, that’s a great barometer to judge the longevity and overall quality of the product you’re looking at.

You should also look for any construction aspect that generally makes your life easier, such as multiple doors on a cage, or an easy release function for a snare option. Quality construction and user friendly design take top priority.

q: How do I know the one I’m using is humane?
a:

Well ideally, the customer reviews for the product will say as much. But the main thing you should look for is a lack of means to harm the raccoon. The options on this list are meant for relocation primarily, not hunting or harming the raccoon. If you catch a raccoon in one of these, then it’s expected of you to find a better home for it than where you’re currently at. So, the cage, if it is humane, will capture and subdue the raccoon, but in no way actually, harm the creature. Because really, who benefits from a small creature being in pain? No one, that’s who.

q: How long will it take me to set it up?
a:

Nowadays, if you make sure to get your hands on one of these products on this list, it shouldn’t take you very long at all. Even if the cage needs to be preassembled, it will typically come with an instruction guide that will walk you through the process, from assembly to arming the device. But most of the time it will be pretty easy to figure out on your own. Technology has advanced in such a way that it’s a surprise whenever something does have to be assembled from scratch, other than in the cases of shipping and so forth.

With things like live cages, most of the work is already done for you, so you don’t have to worry about learning how to set up a spring loaded door. You just need to learn how to arm the cage, which is never quite as hard as it seems, so no worries there.

q: Once I've caught the raccoon, how can I ensure it won't come back?
a:

There are a lot of strategies you can employ as a homeowner to try and keep these little critters at bay. Raccoons love the trash, so investing in a garbage can with a locking lid would help prevent raccoons from being able to access your bins. Keep your lawn mowed short and prune any overgrown shrubbery you have in your yard. You can try investing in some motion-detecting sprinklers to try and spook the raccoons from entering your yard. Another strategy you can try is to seal any holes around the foundation of your home or install an electric fence around your yard. This will also keep out other critters but it does require quite an investment so that's something to take into consideration as well.

q: How do I even know if I have a raccoon problem?
a:

There are plenty of signs that you might be having nightly visits from a raccoon. These little critters are exceptionally smart and able to open garbage cans and compost bins so if you find your compost or garbages bags strewn about your yard in the morning, you might have a raccoon. They'll make holes in your lawn and mulch. If you have an outdoor fountain with fish, they've been known to eat them. They'll help themselves to your bird or squirrel feeders as well as your garden if it's not covered. As for their droppings, if you find tubular-shaped poops on your firewood or near the bottom of your trees, chances are you have yourself a raccoon!

q: How do I clean it after it has caught something?
a:

After you've caught (and probably released) the offending raccoon, you should take some time to clean out the cage that you just caught it in. You can disinfect it with by creating a bleach and water solution of 1:9 and allowing it to sit on the cage for around 20 minutes or so. After it has sat in the bleach solution, make sure you rinse it thoroughly. Using this bleach and rinse system will help to prevent the spread of any disease that the raccoon might have been carrying. The critter may have urinated or defecated in the cage when it was caught so it's not advised to use it again until you have had a chance to clean it properly.

q: What kind of bait should I use?
a:

Raccoons are omnivores which means they'll eat just about anything so a huge variety of foods are likely to pique their interests. Wildlife trappers often use cat food or bread when trying to bait raccoons but if you don't have that hanging around your house, sweets like marshmallows, peanut butter or fruits should do the trick.

Sources