to top 10 table

Best Yogurt Makers Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 15, 2019

Yogurt: Ice cream's healthier and more nutritious cousin that’s socially acceptable to eat at breakfast!Whether it comes in a tub or a tube, there are tons of yogurts on the market today--some geared at adults and others at children. You may think that only children’s yogurt comes loaded with sugar, but you’d be wrong. Even some yogurts intended for adults that claim to be “healthy and nutritious” come packed with the same amount of sugar as a scoop of your favorite ice cream. So instead of exhausting yourself by reading label after label and shelling out top dollar for yogurt that isn’t chock full of sweeteners and preservatives, buy one of the yogurt makers on this Ten Best List and start making yogurt that’s actually good for you--your way and right in your own home.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Instant Pot 7-in-1
100/100 our score
Capacity
100
Ease of Use
100
Features
100
Versatility
100
Value
100
Instant Pot 7-in-1
Why is it better?

Large, stainless steel 3-ply pot that is dishwasher safe

Comes in 3 sizes: 3, 6, and 8 quarts

Available custom made accessories

Mix and make with 1 click

Performs 13 other functions besides making yogurt

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Instant Pot 7-in-1
Test Winner: Instant Pot 7-in-1
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
21
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1400
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Capacity Ease of Use Features Versatility Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Capacity
100 %
Ease of Use
100 %
Features
100 %
Versatility
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$99.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Capacity
97 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Features
99 %
Versatility
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$27.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Capacity
96 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Features
98 %
Versatility
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$55.75
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Capacity
95 %
Ease of Use
100 %
Features
97 %
Versatility
97 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Capacity
90 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Features
94 %
Versatility
94 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$24.55
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Capacity
95 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Features
95 %
Versatility
98 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$199.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Capacity
90 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Features
93 %
Versatility
93 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Capacity
93 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Features
88 %
Versatility
90 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$26.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Capacity
100 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Features
86 %
Versatility
83 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Capacity
92 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Features
83 %
Versatility
86 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$78.95

10 Best Yogurt Makers

1. Instant Pot 7-in-1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Instant Pot 7-in-1
Amazon Link
Capacity
100
Ease of Use
100
Features
100
Versatility
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.95
Pros:

Large, stainless steel 3-ply pot that is dishwasher safe

Comes in 3 sizes: 3, 6, and 8 quarts

Available custom made accessories

Mix and make with 1 click

Performs 13 other functions besides making yogurt

Cons:

Some users report that the rubber paddings under the feet of the cooker aren’t sturdy or grippy enough to keep the pot from sliding on the counter.

The Instant Pot 7-in-1 Programmable Pressure Cooker is the first yogurt maker to make our list and boy does this baby do some stuff. In fact, making yogurt is only one of seven magical functions that the Instant Pot can perform. Instant Pot makes this 7-in-1 Programmable Pressure Cooker in 3 different sizes: 3 quarts (96 ounces), 6 quarts (192 ounces), and 8 quarts (256 ounces).

Read more

Features a 3-Ply Stainless Steel Pot
This yogurt maker features a stainless steel pot that has measurement markings on the inside to assist when mixing your yogurt mixture. The stainless steel pot is dishwasher safe to boot. The pressure cooker also comes with a spoon and measuring cup, as well as recipes to spark your inspiration. Though you can make yogurt in your Instant Pot without any additional accessories, you may choose to purchase the Bulk Greek Yogurt Maker set that allows you to ferment and store your yogurt in the same tubs while simplifying the straining process that your regular yogurt must undergo before becoming Greek yogurt.

Performs 7 Different Functions
The Instant Pot is insanely easy to use, no matter what you are trying to make. With 14 one-touch settings, an amazing concoction is just a click away. Simply combine all of your desired ingredients to the stainless steel pot (remembering to add any fruits after the incubation period), pop on the lid, and press the “Yogurt” button. It really is as easy as that. Plus, the Instant Pot comes with instructions and cooking time tables in Spanish, English, French, and Chinese. And don’t forget, this puppy not only has a one-touch “Yogurt” button, but it also boasts these other one-touch features: Soup Broth, Meat Stew, Bean Chili, Poultry, Rice, Multigrain, Porridge, Steam, Slow Cook, Saute, Pressure Cook, Keep Warm, and Delay Start. This product can literally replace 7 of the bulkiest appliances in your cabinets. So find the nearest 3-pronged outlet in your kitchen and get down to making something wonderfully delicious.

Cost and Value
The Instant Pot 7-in-1 rings up in the middle of our price range and we are crazy for its value because it makes a ton of yogurt at once and it performs 13 other features on top of making yogurt. Plus, it has custom made accessories to ensure your yogurt making is a breeze.

2. Euro Cuisine YM80

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Euro Cuisine YM80
Amazon Link
Capacity
97
Ease of Use
98
Features
99
Versatility
99
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.99
Pros:

Comes with 7 individual glass yogurt jars

Makes 42 ounces of yogurt at once

Make 7 different flavors at once

Choose how thick you want your end product to be by adjusting the cook time

Watch the process take place through the clear lid

Small countertop footprint

Easy-to-read timer

Cons:

Some reviewers expressed a desire for the company to include one large pot with the set.

The Euro Cuisine YM80 Yogurt Maker may be compact and without frills, but she gets the job done. Even though it the YM80 has a small footprint, it can still make 42 ounces of yogurt at a time--and with a little twist.

Read more

Mix and Match Your Yogurts During One Batch
The Euro Cuisine YM80 Yogurt Maker comes with the machine and 7 individual glass yogurt jars that hold 6 ounces of yogurt a piece. That means you can make 7 different kinds of yogurt at one time during one batch. This is great for preparing yogurts for your child’s lunch, or for preparing different flavors for your picky eaters. If individual yogurt jars sound like a hassle to you, then you can purchase a 7-cup round dish (Pyrex makes one) to incubate your yogurt in.

Easy-to-Read Timer
The Euro Cuisine YM80 Yogurt Maker features a clear lid so that you can easily view the “cooking” process. It comes with an accompanying booklet to help guide you through your yogurt making process. Simply mix your yogurts in their jars or another container, pop on the lid, plug in the unit, and then turn the machine on. The easy-to-read timer on the side of the machine lets you know how much longer your yogurt will take before it’s ready to enjoy. You can choose to pull your yogurt between 6-10 hours depending on how thick you want your finished product to be. The longer you leave your yogurt in, the thicker the end product.

Cost and Value
The Euro Cuisine YM80 Yogurt Maker rings up at the bottom of our price range and that means we are drooling over its value. We love that it comes with individual cups to make variety a part of your everyday enjoyment.

3. Yogourmet 104

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Yogourmet 104
Amazon Link
Capacity
96
Ease of Use
95
Features
98
Versatility
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$55.75
Pros:

Makes 2 quarts of yogurt at a time

Available extra storage containers

The factory storage container is BPA and PVC free and comes with a seal-tight top

Yogurt lasts for up to 3 weeks with the seal-tight container

The unit can make cheese

Makes yogurt faster than other machines on the market

Cons:

Some users report being annoyed that the machine doesn’t heat up the milk and that you have to do that separately and then add it to the machine after.

The Yogourmet 104 Electric Yogurt Maker uses the science behind a double boiler to bring you a system that functions like a water bath while delivering you perfect yogurt every time. This unit comes with a 2-quart size inner container which can make 64 ounces of yogurt per go.

Read more

Comes with Simple Thermometer and Detailed Directions
The Yogourmet 104 Electric Yogurt Maker comes with a plug-in base and an inner container that is BPA and PVC free, machine washable, and that comes with a seal-tight top to keep your homemade yogurt fresh. Plus the kit comes with detailed instructions and a thermometer to help you to determine the exact time to add your cultures to the heated milk. And if you are a yogurt junky, you can purchase a set that comes with additional inner containers so that you can keep on churning out batches even when your current container is occupied (as yogurt you make can be stored for up to 3 weeks in the fridge). You also get a bonus cheese bag if you’re feeling especially adventurous and want to branch out to making your own cheese.

Uses Water Bath Technology
The Yogourmet 104 Electric Yogurt Maker uses water bath technology applied to melting chocolate to ensure that your yogurt gets equally applied heat to the entire container. This allows for an even and continuous process that takes far less time than other units on the market--we’re talking 4-5 hours! And if you’re not sure you can consume a whole 2 quarts of yogurt in 3 weeks time, the included instruction manual clearly outlines how to cut the recipe in half for a 1-quart portion. Don’t forget, you can make cheese with this machine as well!

Cost and Value
The Yogourmet 104 Electric Yogurt Maker rings up at the low middle end of our price range and we love its value because it is quick and energy efficient. Plus, you can make a ton of yogurt at once and enjoy for up to 3 weeks.

4. Cuisinart CYM-100

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Cuisinart CYM-100
Amazon Link
Capacity
95
Ease of Use
100
Features
97
Versatility
97
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

It’s a Cuisinart

Can make 50 ounces of yogurt at once

Heats up milk and cools down yogurt, taking multiple steps out of your process

Yogurt reaches 45 degrees after 10 hours of cooling

Easy-to-read LCD monitor lets you keep track of fermentation time

Ferment yogurt for up to 24 hours

Cons:

Some reviewers were annoyed that the yogurt yield was “less than advertised” after straining their yogurt to make Greek yogurt.

The Cuisinart CYM-100 Electronic Yogurt Maker is the mack daddy of yogurt makers--it does it all. From heating your milk to cooling your yogurt down to the perfect temperature, this Cuisinart doesn’t miss a bit. But we're not surprised...it’s a Cuisinart. This product can hold 1.5 liters of liquid which makes about 50 ounces of yogurt when all is said and done.

Read more

Easy-to-Store Container
The Cuisinart CYM-100 Electronic Yogurt Maker comes with a yogurt container and lid, a housing lid, and a handy scoop for easy measurements. Plus, it comes with super detailed instructions and recipe ideas for you to follow. Once your yogurt is done “cooking,” the machine will switch to cooling mode and your yogurt will reach 45-degrees Fahrenheit after about 10 hours. Of course, you can choose to remove your yogurt from the machine once it is done cooking and pop it straight into the fridge in its easy-to-store container for up to 8 days. Remember to let your yogurt cool for about 6 hours before adding any fruits or flavorings as these can interfere with the fermentation process.

Does Everything For You
The Cuisinart CYM-100 Electronic Yogurt Maker does everything for you--well, almost everything. All you must do is pour in your desired ingredients using either a milk or soy milk base and leave everything else to the Cuisinart. Simply set the desired batch time (the recipe you are using will provide suggested times--remembering of course that the more time you let your yogurt cook, the thicker and tangier it will be), and the LCD screen will clearly count down the hours and turn itself off and into cooling mode so that when you reach for your finished product, it will be the perfect chilled temperature for you to consume. And get this--the Cuisinart can ferment yogurts up to 24 hours! That’s longer than most other machines on our list and on the market.

Cost and Value
The Cuisinart CYM-100 Electronic Yogurt Maker rings up in the middle of our price range and we love it for one because it’s a Cuisinart and they are a leader in the cookware industry. We also love it because it makes a serious amount of yogurt in one go and it offers a cooling function that few other units on the market provide.

5. Dash Bulk Machine

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Dash Bulk Machine
Amazon Link
Capacity
90
Ease of Use
94
Features
94
Versatility
94
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.55
Pros:

Simple yet effective

Will ferment for 24 hours +

Lightweight and portable

Makes 32 ounces of yogurt in one go

Cons:

Some users complain that there isn’t a built-in timer, resulting in them overcooking or over-fermenting their yogurt.

The Dash Bulk Machine is a petite little thing weighing only 1 pound, but she can still make 1 quart or 32 ounces of Greek yogurt. Because the Dash is so compact, it’s a great option for those traveling or for dorm rooms.

Read more

Storage Bucket and Lid BPA Free
The Dash Bulk Machine comes complete with the plug-in maker, a storage bucket and lid that are both proudly BPA free, and a recipe book plus recipe database that will keep the tasty ideas flowing in your kitchen. There aren’t a ton of frills to speak of with this machine, but it does the job.

Simply Plug and Go
The Dash Bulk Machine takes care of the heavy lifting but does require that you complete a few steps along the way. You will have to heat your milk to 185 degrees Fahrenheit, let it cool to 110 degrees Fahrenheit, and then pour it into the bucket along with your cultures and flavorings before plugging the machine in. Once the machine is plugged in, it will keep your mixture between 110 and 120 degrees, but there is no timer. You will have to set a personal timer (use your phone!) to remind you to come back and check on the density of your yogurt. The machine will keep running for as long as it is plugged in.

Cost and Value
The Dash Bulk Machine rings up at the very bottom of our price range and while it doesn’t boast any fancy features, it does make yogurt. As long as you can boil milk and set a timer, you can use this product and it is a fraction of the cost of other products on our list and on the market.

6. Cuckoo 8 in 1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Cuckoo 8 in 1
Amazon Link
Capacity
95
Ease of Use
93
Features
95
Versatility
98
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.99
Pros:

Can replace 8 appliances in your home

Backed by 40 years of research

Can make 160 ounces of yogurt at once

2-ply aluminum and stainless steel pot cut down on cooking time

The machine can clean itself

Cons:

This machine is the most expensive on our list and cost 2 times as much as the former multi-cooker.

The Cuckoo 8 in 1 Multi-Pressure Cooker is backed by over 40 years of research and comes with 10 additional preprogrammed settings apart from yogurt making that makes it stand out among the pack. And with a 5-quart pot, this baby can make up to 160 ounces of yogurt at one time. Hope you’re hungry!

Read more

Auto-Steam Cleaning
The Cuckoo 8 in 1 Multi-Pressure Cooker features a 2-ply aluminum and stainless steel inner pot that guarantees even heat distribution and cooking (that means less energy is required for more heat). You don’t have to worry about any weird, chemical coatings here, but you do get to enjoy the thoughtful inner pot handles that are cool when touched despite the heat inside. And what’s more? The Cuckoo can clean itself. You heard us: ITSELF. We know handling cultures can seem a little dicey, but don’t worry! Simply click the auto-clean steam button and rest assured that any leftover messes are steamed away.

Voice Navigation and 14 Safety Features
The Cuckoo 8 in 1 Multi-Pressure Cooker is incredibly easy to use and even comes with voice navigation--hello to the future! Use voice navigation or the intuitive LCD monitor to easily select the setting that you desire. Though there is no built-in yogurt setting, you can easily program this cooker to the heat and time that you want. And if yogurt isn’t all you’re after, this puppy can steam, brown, slow cook, and pressure cook--all at different temperatures and time intervals. And as you well remember, it can clean itself too.

Cost and Value
The Cuckoo 8 in 1 Multi-Pressure Cooker rings up at the tippy top of our price range, but it is well-reviewed and offers tons of other features and functions that standard yogurt makers alone cannot. However, it cost over twice as much as the first multi-cooker on our list, so keep that in mind when making your selection.

7. Proctor Silex 86300

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Proctor Silex 86300
Amazon Link
Capacity
90
Ease of Use
93
Features
93
Versatility
93
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Inner doubles as a storage container with a snap seal lid

The storage container is BPA free and dishwasher safe

4 buttons control everything and make for simple use

Chirping alarm alerts you when your yogurt is ready

Deluxe features at an inexpensive price

Cons:

Some reviewers lament that you can’t purchase extra storage containers that fit this device specifically. Did you hear that, Proctor Silex?

The Proctor Silex 86300 Yogurt Maker is a digital daddy that is super easy to clean and sleek enough to keep on the counter. It can make 32 ounces of yogurt at once and can be stored in the same container.

Read more

Storage That’s Airtight
The Proctor Silex 86300 Yogurt Maker comes with a BPA free inner that doubles as a container and that is topped off with a snap seal (swoon) lid. That means your yogurt stays fresher for longer and you don’t have to worry about transferring containers after your yogurt is ready. And when you’re done eating all of your creamy, delicious, homemade yogurts, simply pop the inner into the dishwasher and voila! You’re all clean.

Easy Digital Controls
The Proctor Silex 86300 Yogurt Maker is beyond easy to use. It features a simple screen that counts down hours and 4 buttons that turn the machine off and on, and that allows you to increase and decrease time accordingly. Plus, there’s even a handy chirping alarm that alerts you when your yogurt is done and ready to be cooled in the fridge. And never fear. If you aren’t the creative type, the Proctor Silex comes with a lovely recipe book that is bound to inspire.

Cost and Value
The Proctor Silex 86300 Yogurt Maker rings up at the lower end of our price range and we love it because it provides features that other more expensive models do without breaking the bank. Plus, it is super easy to use and the storage container helps to keep your yogurt fresher for longer.

8. Flexzion

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Flexzion
Amazon Link
Capacity
93
Ease of Use
89
Features
88
Versatility
90
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.95
Pros:

Comes with 7 individual glass yogurt bottles and lids--that means 7 different flavors at once

Can make 49 ounces of yogurt at once

Small footprint

Super easy to use

Cons:

This product doesn’t come with a timer, so make sure to set one when you add your cooled milk and cultures to the machine.

The Flexzion Yogurt Maker Machine is simple and streamlined but don’t let that fool you. She can make up to 49 ounces of yogurt at a time, and up to 7 different flavors!

Read more

7 Dishwasher Safe Containers
The Flexzion Yogurt Maker Machine comes with the stainless steel, plug-in base, and 7 individual yogurt jars so that you can mix and match flavors in every batch cycle. Each of the glass jars holds up to 7 ounces of liquid, and they are ideal for making separate servings for different tastes or for exact portions over the week. Of course, if you find this cumbersome, you can purchase a larger container (think the Pyrex 7-cup round) to make all 49 ounces in one container.

Just an On Switch and Off You Go
The Flexzion Yogurt Maker Machine is super simple to operate. First, you have to boil the milk to 185 degrees Fahrenheit on your own before letting it cool and then adding it with your cultures and flavorings to the Flexzion. After that, plug in the device and switch it on. The light will indicate when the machine is working. It does not come with a timer so you will have to set one on your phone or on another device. Please don’t fall into the, “Oh, I’ll remember,” trap!

Cost and Value
The Flexzion Yogurt Maker Machine rings up at the tippy bottom of our price range as well. We love it even though it doesn’t come with the bells and whistles of other makers because it still works. And again, as long as you can boil milk and then set a timer on your phone, you’ll be able to make yogurt with this product no problem.

9. ZENY

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
ZENY
Amazon Link
Capacity
100
Ease of Use
85
Features
86
Versatility
83
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Can replace up to 10 bulky appliances in your kitchen

Makes up to 200 ounces of yogurt at a time

No need to preheat milk and let it cool. Simply add all ingredients and press “Yogurt.”

Super affordable multi-cooker

24 hours in advance cooking setting

FDA approved machine

Cons:

Some reviewers found the instructions that come with the machine hard to follow.

The ZENY 1000W Electric Pressure Cooker comes with a whopping 6-quart cooking pot and will do so, so, so much more than make your yogurt for you. Plus, it is 100% FDA approved and will replace a ton of bulky products in your cabinets at a fraction of the cost.

Read more

Eco-Friendly Stainless Steel Lid and Inner Pot
The ZENY 1000W Electric Pressure Cooker comes with a stainless steel lid and 6-quart pot. That means quality you can rely on that is good to the environment, and no sticky messes that are hard to clean up later. And that also means almost 200 ounces of yogurt that you can make at a time. But the ZENY does a whole lot more than make yogurt for you. In fact, it has the capacity to replace up to 10 other home cooking appliances that are taking up way too much room in your cabinets.

Easy-Touch Control Panel
The ZENY 1000W Electric Pressure Cooker couldn’t be any more user-friendly. The easy-touch control panel allows you to simply add all of the desired ingredients to your pressure cooker and press the setting that you desire. As with some other yogurt makers, you are charged with heating and cooling your milk on its own before you add it to the maker. Here, you can just toss everything in at once and hit “Yogurt.” And another little cool bonus feature that we like about this product is that you can set it up to cook up to 24 hours in advance.

Cost and Value
The ZENY 1000W Electric Pressure Cooker rings up at the low middle end of our price range and we are crazy about its value because it can perform so many other cooking functions and replace a ton of bulky kitchen appliances in your cabinets. Plus it’s FDA approved, so you’re getting a product you can feel good about.

10. Luvele

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Luvele
Amazon Link
Capacity
92
Ease of Use
88
Features
83
Versatility
86
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$78.95
Pros:

Comes with 3 preset temperature settings

Comes with individual ceramic jars

Can make 50 ounces of yogurt at a time

Can order additional jars

Automatically shuts off

Cons:

Some reviewers wish you didn’t have to heat your yogurt before adding it to the maker considering the price.

The Luvele Pure Yogurt Maker is a deluxe product that is designed to give you just the yogurt you desire. With specific temperature settings and separate jars for different mixtures, this maker will ensure you are satisfied with the end result.

Read more

Four 400ml Jars that are Ceramic
The Luvele Pure Yogurt Maker comes with a sophisticated range of settings and four 400ml jars made from high-grade ceremic. We love these ceramic jars, and we also love that you can purchase additional 300ml jars if you wish. Using the 400ml jars, you can make up to 50 ounces of yogurt at a time.

3 Precise Temperature Settings
The Luvele Pure Yogurt Maker comes with a waterproof and easy-to-read display screen. You can choose to set your yogurt to either 36, 38, or 40 degrees Celcius (corresponding to 96.8, 100.4, and 104 degrees Fahrenheit). The Luvele ensures consistent heating throughout and over time by employing water-bath technology. So once you have boiled your milk and let it cool, add it to the ceramic containers, select your desired temperature, and then set for the desired amount of time. Remember, the less time you let your yogurt ferment, the less tangy and thick it will be. We love that the Luvele comes with an easy-to-read timer and that it shuts off automatically so you don’t have to worry about forgetting your yogurt and over-fermenting.

Cost and Value
The Luvele Pure Yogurt Maker rings up at the high middle end of our price range and we love it because it was designed specifically with yogurt in mind. The different temperatures help ferment your yogurt in just the right way so that you can enjoy batch after batch of perfect yogurt.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Capacity

When compiling this Ten Best List, we looked at the capacity of each product on our list. Obviously, the more yogurt that you can make at once, the better--right? That being said, if you’re not making yogurt for a whole family, you might also enjoy the option of making yogurt in smaller portions.
So we highly rank yogurt makers that can make varying amounts of yogurt with high-end capacities. The makers on this list can make as much as 200 ounces of yogurt at a time or as little as 32 ounces. And many of the makers on this list comes with individual jars so that you make smaller amounts as you wish.

Ease of Use

Anything in the fermentation process can be tricky so that’s why we tried to provide a good mix of products that were super easy to use (and a bit more expensive) and products that were bare boned (and super inexpensive).
For those products that are super inexpensive on our list, you likely have to heat your milk up to 185 degrees Fahrenheit and then let it cool down all the way to 110 degrees Fahrenheit on your own before adding it along with your cultures to your yogurt maker. Some of these units also lack timers, making you responsible for that feature as well.
If this sounds like too much for you, we also feature several yogurt makers that simply require you to add all of your ingredients at once, click a button, and let the maker do all of the work.

Features

Features that we looked at when creating this list include timers, temperature settings, auto-shut-off, and heating and cooling. As mentioned before, some of the more inexpensive and simple machines on our list come without timers, auto-shut-off, and cooling options. The more expensive the device, the more gadgets it comes with, but we make sure to highlight those less expensive machines that still comes with fancier functions.

Versatility

We are excited to feature several machines on our list that are not solely yogurt makers, but that can perform many other kitchen tasks as well. These were more expensive, but they have the capacity to replace up to 10 bulky appliances filling up valuable space in your cabinets right now. We also loved the versatility of yogurt machines that come with separate containers for storage and variety when flavoring one batch.

Value

As always, we take a good hard look at value before adding products to our list. We love how inexpensive so many of the products on our list are, and how well they work. We also love that some of the machines on our list can perform multiple kitchen functions giving you super bang for your buck.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Are you an experienced yogurt maker?

If you are experienced and confident in making your own yogurt, go with one of the basic makers on our list. They cost next to nothing, and as long as you can boil milk and set a timer, these guys will do the trick at a fraction of the cost.

Do you need another kitchen appliance as well?

If you are also in the market for another kitchen appliance apart from a yogurt maker, take a look at some of the multi-cookers on our list to see if you can’t get a 2-for-1 (or 8-for-1!) deal.

Other Factors to Consider

Materials

We look for products to be approved by different safety organizations like the FDA. We also love products that are BPA free and that are made from stainless steel as these materials are safe, especially around food.

Accessories

We love when companies manufacture add-ons and accessories that are designed specifically for their products so that you can be sure you’re getting a good fit and something that is compatible with your machine.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why can’t I put the milk straight in with a simpler machine?

a:

In order to be ready for proper fermentation, the milk needs to be heated up to 185 degrees Fahrenheit and then allowed to cool to 110 degrees Fahrenheit. If this doesn’t happen, the cultures will not be activated properly with the milk. A simpler machine will not heat up to 185 degrees initially and thus the fermentation process won’t work.

q: Does my machine come with the cultures that I need?

a:

You will need to purchase any milk, flavorings, and cultures that you want in addition to buying the yogurt maker. Most devices do not come with cultures.

q: Why can’t I add fruit right away?

a:

Some fruits will interfere with the fermentation process and will interrupt the formation of thicker yogurt. It’s always better to add these flavorings after your yogurt has cooled.