to top 10 table

Best 3D Archery Targets Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Jan 11, 2019

The practice and sport of archery is a dying one. But that doesn’t mean there are some extremely devout archers out there. A lot of people don’t want to practice on nature, whether it be trees, or living beings, which is where products like this come in handy. Take them with you when you head out to practice or set them up somewhere permanent. You’ll get the added benefit of having points for specific aim practice, consistency practice, and even animal replicas for hunting practice.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 320 hrs of research

icon
Block
96/100 our score
Accuracy
98
Value
90
Materials
99
Model
96
Stability
97
Block
Why is it better?

Super High Contract Design

4-Sided

Premium Quality

Extremely Durable

High Density Core

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Block
Test Winner: Block
Researched Sources
10
Researched Sources
Total Readers
11k
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
13k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
320
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Accuracy Value Materials Model Stability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Accuracy
98%
Value
90%
Materials
99%
Model
96%
Stability
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$79.99
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Accuracy
90%
Value
98%
Materials
99%
Model
97%
Stability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$149.99
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Accuracy
99%
Value
88%
Materials
99%
Model
98%
Stability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$220.52
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Accuracy
90%
Value
98%
Materials
96%
Model
86%
Stability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$44.99
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Accuracy
95%
Value
90%
Materials
88%
Model
100%
Stability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$100.00
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Accuracy
94%
Value
90%
Materials
90%
Model
98%
Stability
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$189.45
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Accuracy
90%
Value
98%
Materials
92%
Model
99%
Stability
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$79.42
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Accuracy
94%
Value
90%
Materials
90%
Model
96%
Stability
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$85.34
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Accuracy
88%
Value
98%
Materials
95%
Model
80%
Stability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$169.99
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Accuracy
90%
Value
97%
Materials
88%
Model
89%
Stability
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.01.19)
$69.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Block
  • GlenDel Buck
  • Delta 51490 Bloodline Buck
  • Morrell Yellow Jacket
  • Bleeding Zombie
  • Delta McKenzie 50495
  • Field Logic Hog
  • Delta Howling Coyote
  • Rinehart RhinoBlock
  • CW-X Delta McKenzie
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Archery Targets

1. Block

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Block
Accuracy
98
Value
90
Materials
99
Model
96
Stability
97
best offer for today
$79.99
Pros:

Super High Contract Design

4-Sided

Premium Quality

Extremely Durable

High Density Core

Cons:

Average in Size

Just a Block Shape

We’re about to get into a pretty complicated, and seemingly dizzying (looking at it from the outside in) marketplace, but there’s one safe place we can start, and something that no matter the use, should be atop your list. This particular one, is all you might ever need, and that’s precisely why it's sitting at the front of our pole position.

Read more

Tough
Something you absolutely must have when it comes to this type of product -- because you’re going to be shooting sharp things into it over and over again -- is toughness, and this product is almost like no other in terms of how tough it is. The high-density core is designed to stop all arrow and bolts, without a degradation of its structural integrity.

Hi Contrast
It’s pretty difficult to get better at precision if you cannot shoot your mark, and the best way to ensure that you’re always able to shoot them is to be able to see them. Luckily, that’s exactly what the folks at this company were thinking too when they designed the high-contrast and insanely high-viz options on their blocks. You can see them from so far away, making them easy to aim for, meaning you’ll be able to hit them easier.

Cost and Value
Though we have yet to establish any sort of median price range, we can safely say that the this product is one of the best values, and most well-made options we’ve come across in our time searching. They are impeccable in make and meticulously designed.

2. GlenDel Buck

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
GlenDel Buck
Accuracy
90
Value
98
Materials
99
Model
97
Stability
90
best offer for today
$149.99
Pros:

Replacement Parts

Life-Size Buck Replica

Impenetrable

Premium Quality

Polyfusion Technology

Cons:

Average Price

Legs Can Break

Well, that didn’t take long did it. Just two spots into this list and we’ve already got the mimic of animals on our archery list, and this is a common theme, in particular because most archers practice the craft for hunting. The name Field Logic will probably come up quite a few times throughout our quest to list the best options out there, and for good reason; they make great products.

Read more

LifeLike
Like we mentioned, there are a lot of archers out there that partake in the sport specifically to be able to hunt in silence. It has long since been humankind's most prized hunting tool, thanks to its relative ease-of-use, and practical tactics. Which is why companies like Field Logic make life-like animal-shaped. This one, takes the shape and size of a 200LB buck, and stands 34” tall at its shoulders.

Long Life
It’s no surprise, or at least it shouldn’t be, that these products can take quite a beating over their use. They are designed to take high-velocity arrows with steel heads, or crossbow bolts shot at excessive speeds. Places like Field Logic make completely replaceable parts to their products, so that they can last a lifetime with a few replacements here and there.

Cost and Value
At only slightly more, in terms of cost, than something like our number one item, the Field Logic offers a whole lot of simulated hunting for a pretty standard cost. But laid gently atop the that slick design is a whole lot of love and care when it comes to the build, the quality, and the longevity of the product.

3. Delta 51490 Bloodline Buck

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Delta 51490 Bloodline Buck
Accuracy
99
Value
88
Materials
99
Model
98
Stability
90
best offer for today
$220.52
Pros:

Extra large

Very durable

Any kind of arrows

Premium Quality

Lifelike

Cons:

On the expensive side

Better for practical users

Snagging the third spot on our list is the Bloodline Buck in the extra large size. While some people are aiming to find a smaller, more compact option, the Bloodline Buck is crafted in a large size in order to help you get some real-world applicable practice in during the off season. Not only will this teach you and your grandkids how to actually aim on a buck, but it’s certainly not going to get lost in the forest or practice grounds!

Read more

Any Type of Arrow
Worried about aiming with light, weaker arrows? We don’t blame you. Practicing with anything that’s not the real deal can sometimes throw people off when they actually get to the archery competition. Luckily for us, this buck can take any type of arrow. There’s no need for Nerf arrows or anything magnetic. Any arrows is the right arrow with the Bloodline Buck.

The Large Size
As we mentioned before, the size is actually one of the big benefits on this buck. It’s true that a few people prefer to use a smaller option in order to practice their fine-tuned aiming. There are others out there, however, that prefer to practice on the full size. This buck will help them achieve what they want to achieve by giving them the full animal to aim at. It sounds a little questionable, but trust us: it’ll make a difference when you’re in the real situation.

Cost and Value
We believe that this was made with the more practical-minded folks as the intended audience. The extra large Bloodline Buck is a great addition to any archery practice pack, though we wouldn’t be surprised if there were those who would rather aim at a red and white option. The price is a little steep, but for those that are looking for a real challenge, this is an excellent choice. Plus, there’s no need to buy practice arrows; any arrows can be used on this buck!

4. Morrell Yellow Jacket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Morrell Yellow Jacket
Accuracy
90
Value
98
Materials
96
Model
86
Stability
95
best offer for today
$44.99
Pros:

Handle makes it portable

Great Storage Design

Extremely Durable

Budget friendly

Premium Quality

Cons:

Some reports of the bag weakening after 5000+ shots on each side

Heavy duty crossbows might go through

Was the deer just a little bit too visceral? We don’t blame you. Sometimes we just want to go and aim arrows at a harmless bag or pillow, rather than staring down the plastic eyes of a Bloodline Buck. That’s where the Morrell Yellow Jacket Supreme comes in. This is excellent for anyone from beginner to advanced. It’s a great option for the kids as well, as it’s a little easier to move. And stare at.

Read more

Storage Options
Tired of figuring out how to place a deer-shaped option into the Tetris that is your storage shed or garage? We don’t blame you. This actually solves the problem, though, as its easy square shape makes it simple to store. The bucks are usually too delicate to place heavy machinery on. While we wouldn’t recommend shoving this underneath your canoe or table saw, the squareness and the sturdiness mean it’s able to be more versatile in its storage options.

Easy
That’s not to say that it’s easy to hit. Rather, we mean that this is an easy to use option. The handle on top makes it possible to carry this bag from the shed to the car and out again, as well as being able to more easily lift and place it on the top shelf of a garage. Not to mention how durable it is! This thing won’t break, and it certainly won’t let arrows through. It isn’t difficult to get them out, though, making it very easy to use and reuse again and again.

Cost and Value
One of the cheaper options on our list, this bag is well suited to anyone who has archery as a hobby. While it might take some damage over time from the harder crossbows out there, we haven’t read any reviews that discuss wear or tear. In fact, all the reviews seem shocked at how durable this thing is. Due to this durability as well as the fact that it’s possible to relatively easily lift and transport the bag, we believe that this is an excellent value for your dollar.

5. Bleeding Zombie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Bleeding Zombie
Accuracy
95
Value
90
Materials
88
Model
100
Stability
90
best offer for today
$100.00
Pros:

Fun, zombie style

Durable

Supposedly bleeds upon shooting

Budget Friendly

Two things to shoot at (one additional on box)

Cons:

“Actually bleeds when shooting” doesn’t always work

Some quality woes

We’re nearing the end of our list, but that doesn’t mean we’re letting the quality drop. Not at all. This 3D Bleeding Zombie is a unique take and one that horror movie lovers will find charming. Prepare yourself for the upcoming zombie apocalypse by aiming your arrows at a real, fake zombie! The blood makes for a nice aesthetic touch, while the size allows those with less specific aim the chance for success.

Read more

It’s fun!
Sometimes we have hobbies simply because we have fun with them. Chris, the 3D Bleeding Zombie, is proof that having fun should be everyone’s goal when it comes to archery. Obviously, we’re not actually worried about the zombie apocalypse; not seriously enough to start taking up practice. But archery is a hobby that brings joy to people. Why not have fun with it by aiming at a zombie? The whimsy is the greatest asset here.

Two-in-One
No, Chris doesn’t have a twin. Rather, the box that he comes in can be used to shoot at as well. The product description says that it’s possible to cut out the zombie silhouette that’s on the box to use it as another shooting object. Or you can just shoot the box. It might sound silly, but hey, it’s a good suggestion. It might not be two zombies for the price of one, but it’s still a two in one purchase!

Cost and Value
Surprisingly durable, whimsical, and in the average range of the price spectrum? Yes please! You can’t put a price on fun, but you can put a price on durability and reliability. This zombie checks all the boxes, while still giving us a little leftover pocket money to grab a bite to eat after. Is this the perfect product? Not necessarily, especially if one is looking for a more relevant hunting option. But it’s definitely a great choice.

6. Delta McKenzie 50495

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Delta McKenzie 50495
Accuracy
94
Value
90
Materials
90
Model
98
Stability
89
best offer for today
$189.45
Pros:

Visible vitals

Strong, close to lifesize

Replaceable parts

Portable

Average Price

Cons:

Some reports of ill fitting and weak joints

Not the most durable

The “Lethal Impact” sounds scary, but trust us when we say that this is a trusted and respected product that only lives to serve your respectful practice. Archery can be a very meditative practice. It pays to have a product that can support the focus we need when aiming and shooting. The Lethal Impact is for serious archery buffs only. This is a durable, high quality option that only feels a little like it’s staring into your soul

Read more

Replaceable parts
After years and years of firing at the same object, it only makes sense that we’re going to need to replace some bits. After all, even humans get hip replacements after a while. This product can withstand a whole lot of arrows into its hide. For those that do provide some more intense damage, it’s possible to replace parts of this buck with others. We assume that the removability makes it easy to store as well. Just take off all the bits and pack him up in one tight package.

Visible vitals
It might be easy to identify where the heart is when we’re listening to it in bed with our partner, but it’s a whole other ballgame when you’re out there with your bow and arrows in the forest. Having visible vitals is a nice touch on the design of this, as it allows the archer to really learn where to aim in order to hit different innards; especially the heart. If there’s a squeamish archer out there, they may want to skip this one.

Cost and Value
Maybe it’s the fact that the eyes are a little bit of an ominous red, but this is a buck that we wouldn’t necessarily want to meet in the middle of the night. It’s got an intense look to it, and the reviews mention even painting over the eyes to make him seem a little softer. The price is a little higher than some of the others on our list, and we’re not sure it’s entirely worth it. There are a few reports of weak spots in the joints of this product. However, if you’re just looking for a casual, realistic archery option? It could be the right one for you.

7. Field Logic Hog

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Field Logic Hog
Accuracy
90
Value
98
Materials
92
Model
99
Stability
80
best offer for today
$79.42
Pros:

Realistic

Premium Quality

Budget friendly

Very sturdy; ground stakes included

Great for practicing actually hitting hogs

Cons:

Gets damaged fairly quickly

Some reports of falling despite stakes

This little piggy went to market, while all the others stayed home. How else would this hog have ended up in your archery practice range, right? Some people might want to practice aiming at bucks, and others at bags. For those that are looking for something a little more slippery, though, there’s this option. This is a quality product from a great brand.

Read more

Small
Remember how we mentioned that some people might want a smaller option? Those are the people who are going to want to purchase this pig. This is a small option, but a sturdy one. One review likens it to approximately a 50 lbs pig. The body is tight and on the tiny side, which can make for a more effective archery practice.

Ground Stakes included
There’s nothing more annoying than having your item fall over after each arrow. With the force that we can shoot these things, sometimes they end up tipping over. But if they end up falling every time, that’s a sign that something needs to change. With the included ground stakes this pig is going to be standing straight and tall for the entirety of your practice. No need to get down in the mud with it!

Cost and Value
Setting the fact of the size aside, this is a sturdy and durable option. The price is sitting on the low end of our middle spectrum, making it an excellent choice for those that are looking for a product that’s going to turbo charge their practice sessions. Outside of the smaller size, the quality is good. The ground stakes are a nice touch as well, as is the realistic design. Over all, we would say that this product is worth the quality.

8. Delta Howling Coyote

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Delta Howling Coyote
Accuracy
94
Value
90
Materials
90
Model
96
Stability
88
best offer for today
$85.34
Pros:

Strong Quality

Self-healing foam

Smaller size

Budget Friendly

Visible scoring lines

Cons:

Some reports of it not holding up to very strong arrows

Head can get damaged and lock in place

Some people like coyotes, and some people get freaked out by them. No matter which side of the camp you’re on, we can all agree that they make good products. At least, this fake, 3D model of a coyote makes a good option. Howling (but soundlessly, so we can still sleep afterwards), the realistic size of this makes it a strong contender as one of our favorite options.

Read more

Scoring Lines
The biggest benefit to this is the fact that the scoring lines are so easy to see. Sometimes the realistic ones decide not to include scoring lines, or keep them very faint. This can be an issue for those that like to shoot and score as they go, rather than trying to debrief on the general success after. The scoring lines are easy to see, making it possible to stay in one spot and see whether you hit the spot that you wanted to hit.

Closing foam
What’s the one reason most products like this give up over time? Repeated shooting with an arrow, yes, but more specifically it’s the fact that these get hole after hole building up in them over time. With the closing foam on this, the holes will heal after you’ve made them. This keeps them from getting worse and keeps the damage from compounding over time.

Cost and Value
Currently listed as being slightly on sale, this is a solid choice for anyone who’s looking for a more budget-friendly option. It’s not very big, but it is durable and well scored. The price normally is still in the average range, which is still fair for the quality of the product. Is this the best product on the list? Not necessarily in our opinion. But it’s definitely one that will get the job done, and will be well loved by certain archers.

9. Rinehart RhinoBlock

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Rinehart RhinoBlock
Accuracy
88
Value
98
Materials
95
Model
80
Stability
90
best offer for today
$169.99
Pros:

Extremely Durable

Six different sides, all with different features

Fair price

Rope handle makes it Portable

Self-healing foam

Cons:

Very small

Difficult to get arrows out sometimes

Rhinos might be endangered (or at least overly hunted), but they certainly aren’t going to be hurt by this block. The RhinoBlock option is a name that speaks to the durability of this product rather than anything actually rhino about it. We love the block, as it’s a solid and sturdy option for those that want a neutral item to practice on. Less dramatic than a buck, but just as durable as some hunting options, the Rinehart RhinoBlock is an excellent option.

Read more

Six sides
In this day and age of specific gadgets for specific purposes, we love a good multi-use product. This block is like the Swiss Army knife of this type of product. Every one of its six sides has a different goal on it. From tiny, detailed options for practicing aim to the side that has vitals onto it, there’s no such this as snake eyes on the RhinoBlock. Every side is a winner.

Self-Healing Foam
Sometimes we wish our hearts and minds were as good at self-healing as this foam is. Not only is the foam on this block able to take quite a beating, but they’ve also got this RhinoBlock available with an additional foam insert! We love the fact that the durability extends to the actual foamy part of this product as well. Too often do we find that soft options lose their life due to fibers being repeatedly ripped. This block is the exception, as any holes made in it won’t necessarily be there in the morning.

Cost and Value
Shifting back to the more expensive end of the spectrum, we honestly believe that this is one of the best options on our list. Not only is it high quality and durable, but the options it provides on each of its sides makes it perfect for the all-around talented hunter. The archer who wants to improve their all-around skills as well as aim will appreciate the variety inherent in this product. Is it worth it? Definitely.

10. CW-X Delta McKenzie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
CW-X Delta McKenzie
Accuracy
90
Value
97
Materials
88
Model
89
Stability
80
best offer for today
$69.99
Pros:

Foam based

Fairly durable

Realistic look

Easy arrow removal

Budget Price

Cons:

Easy to knock over

Not the most durable

The last option on our list is a good one since we wanted to send everyone off with a bullseye. This the perfect product for those archery hobbyists that tend to stick around and practice in their own backyards. While the practice isn’t for everyone, this fulfills that niche. Just don’t confuse it for an actual critter in the middle of the night!

Read more

Easy Arrow Release
When it comes to shooting arrows, half the battle is getting it into the product. We can aim and fire as much as we want, but at the end of the day all those arrows have to come back out of the deer, bag, cube, or raccoon you’ve shot them into. If half the battle is the shooting, then the other half of the battle is getting them out. This raccoon option makes that half of the battle the easy, shorter half. Its easy arrow release makes it possible to take out the arrows swiftly and quickly, giving you a little extra practice time.

Light and Foamy
Sometimes durable means heavy. It makes sense, since we’re firing strong and sharp arrows into the bags. In the case of this product, though, heavy isn’t necessarily an issue. The light and foamy nature of the raccoon makes it easy to drag out and put away, as well as allowing it to be used by pretty much anyone. Storage is a breeze as well, as there’s no back pain after lugging it up to the top shelf.

Cost and Value
As one of the cheapest options our list, this is a product that will fulfill a person’s need for backyard archery. There are a few reports of it being easy to knock over, which might be expected from a light and foam-based product. However, at the end of the day, it’s still a great option. Realistic in look and size, and easy to bring out and pack away? The benefits to this outweigh the negatives, we think.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Accuracy

One of the most commonly overlooked portions of the design when it comes to this type of product is how, or why it is presented to be seen, and aimed at. There are plenty of ways to look at accuracy dummies, or models, but stepping back (sometimes quite literally) and taking a look at how it presents its products could play a huge role in narrowing your search for the perfect one.

Depending on when or where you plan on using this product, you will probably want something with a large contrasted area or modular fronts. The former of the two is something that graphic designers use in order to assist the human eye in seeing its goal from short or great distances. It can be simple and easy as making cutouts or easily seen borders to areas, or contrasting colors.

The latter of the two, the modular options are great in instances where you want to change things up after getting comfortable, or just want to hone in your focus on something like a particular body part during your practice.

Companies do a whole lot to vary their actual locations -- almost as much care as they take in putting the entirety of the dummy together -- but it’s ultimately up to you what kind of accuracy practice you’re looking for, and how, when, or where you’re going to practice. Getting something that fits well within all of those boxes could make for far more efficient practice.

Model

Coming in at a fairly close second in terms of important criteria, the model of your new product is normally where most people start. You see, some folks -- like we’ve stated before -- take up archery for sport. For the simple act of hitting a circular one, at growing distances, or with increasing accuracy. Others, they use archery for their main source of protein. Hunters have used bows and arrows for thousands of years because they are reliable, easy to make, generally easy to operate (with some practice), and are practically dead silent.

These two disciplines in the archery world are exactly why there are two, very specific, types, 3D or 2D. There are the box options of the bunch. These cube products are fantastic options for those looking to sharpen their archery skills, and improve on their accuracy. The four flat vertical sides usually offer four different types to shoot at, all while at the core of the cube is a high-density foam core with the ability to withstand your shot, regardless of how strong you think your bow draw hand is.

For the hunters of the group, there are replicas. These are the animal shaped “dummies” that take the shape and look of a particular animal. Taking aim at your chosen prey is something that may greatly help your luck and skills once you get into the wild and the real thing is in your crosshairs. Animal replicas usually supply archers with two main bonuses, that make them far greater options for hunters over their box counterparts.

The first is that they represent a specific animal. This can help prepare oneself for actually hunting it. Most animal models will represent an average size, or weight of an animal, ensuring that there is no learning curve when going from a box to an animal.

The second is that they highlight the important bits to shoot at. There are two huge reasons humans have been hunting animals since we grew out of the sludge of a lake, and that is for food, or for clothing. Both of which can be greatly damaged if one doesn’t shoot accurate, or true. Most of the animal dummies will have specific circles or areas where the animals’ heart is, and that’s where you truly want to be aiming.

Choosing which version you need, will help you further down the road, when the options stack up like wild forests.

Materials

The actual make and materials of your chosen product is probably the area in which vetting and shopping can become the most complicated of all. There are far more than enough options, and almost every single one of them is worthy of your investigation time. There isn’t necessarily a need to narrow it down prior to setting out hunting for the right item, but it just might make the difference between finding something you need, and finding something you absolutely love.

The more expensive, and higher quality options will have some pretty complicated (surface level) material listings. Like our number two pick, the GlenDel 3D Buck from Field Logic. This product boasts an intelligently designed and manufactured Polyfusion Technology build. This particular make allows for easy retraction of your arrows after you’ve unleashed your entire quiver, and is intended to keep it usable for longer.

Most products, however, are made out of different qualities of foam core. This is a great material to use because it allows arrows to pierce easily, and to be removed with relative ease, all while not losing a whole lot of its form over the days, weeks, or months you use it for practice.

What we suggest, as it was something that we took into heavy consideration, that you inspect every product you vet for the materials they are made of, and do your best to ensure you’re getting a high quality, heavy density foam, perhaps something with a bit more technology and advancement used to improve them.

Value

As there isn’t an extremely wild range of prices, or even materials used in these, there isn’t a whole lot to go on when one wants to vet using the value of the products. But there are some options that might cost you a few bucks less, and yet still hold up to the same amount of punishment that the more premium versions will.

Something to try and spot is the additional strives for longevity from the products you’re considering. One such easy one to spot is the ability to replace parts of your items as you see fit. This can spell the difference between using the same product for a few seasons, and using the same base for the rest of your life. If that’s not value, we sure don’t know what is.

Other than that, you’re always pretty safe taking up a general consensus from the other consumers of these goods, and you can easily collect these opinions in the comment section, or review section of any of these products.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Model
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Accuracy
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Benefits of Practicing

There are plenty of benefits you can expect to reap as you begin to use these in your archery and bowhunting practice. You can practice with your item all year round. So even if it's not deer season, you can pull out your item and practice shooting something that mimics the real life thing. Practicing in the offseason can help you ensure that your equipment is fine-tuned and in good working condition. Having this kind of product to practice on will also help with your shooting confidence as well!

Other Factors to Consider

Stability

The stability is pretty important to the success of your training, but there truly isn’t a whole lot of love lost, if you have to go over and prop it back up every now and then. There are, however, some pretty historically sturdy options out there, and we’ve included some of them on our list. The animal dummies can be a bit trickier to judge because you’ve got to take into consideration that it is only standing on two or four stiff (usually plastic) legs. While box options shouldn’t ever fall over, unless they are not very deep, in which you should keep your eyes peeled for a stand.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Should I get a box or an animal one?
a:

As we explained in our Criteria section, and in the intro to this list at the top of the page, the type you should pick up will be directly determined by the type of archery you wish to partake in. There is, however, no harm in having both types if you’re just into having multiple options. If you’re looking to get into practice as a whole, then a box option, or flat one might be best for you. But, if you’re sharpening your bow and arrow skills in order to hunt, then there are many amazing animal replica out there for just that kind of practice.

q: How big is it?
a:

This came up a lot, regardless of how many types of measurements, or even scale size determination images brands put on their product pages. But, we’ll provide some insight. Most of the block or box options are just a single meter, by a single meter in size (or smaller). While the hunting options that replicate animals or certain breed will tend to be sized and weighed by their real-life counterparts to assist in accuracy, and comfort. This can span from a few inches, and a few pounds, to hundreds of inches, simulating animals of a few hundred pounds in weight.

q: What kind of scoring rings does it have?
a:

3D shooting is something a lot of people do for sport, and because of this there are scoring criteria, and standards set across the market. The two names to look out for are IBO and ASA, these signify which types of rings and targets are adorned on these products. Though the scoring rules only vary slightly, if you’re on the hunt (pun intended) for something with a specific scoring type in mind, you’re best bet is to find the product that fits your needs.

Sources

  1. Lancaster Archery, 3D Archery Explained,
  2. Outdoor Canada, A Beginner's Guide to Bow Hunting,
  3. Bow Hunter-ed, Why Hunt With a Bow,