to top 10 table

Best Natural Cleaners Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Apr 04, 2019

We all know bacteria and germs are dangerous. That’s why the Household Cleaning Products Industry is a multi-billion dollar enterprise. But did you know that some of the products you can purchase to clean your home are comprised of chemicals and compounds that are even more dangerous to you and your family’s health than the germs they are intended to kill? That’s majorly concerning--especially if you have babies crawling on the floor or kids who like to put, well, everything in their mouths.

Luckily, there are some amazing companies out there who are committed to bringing you and your family truly safe cleaning products for all areas of your home. Their products are researched, plant-based, natural cleansers that actually work so you can feel good about using them anywhere and everywhere.
We’ve done the work and read the reviews. Here’s our Ten Best.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Puracy All Purpose Concentrate
99.4/100 our score
Materials
100
Effectiveness
99
Application
99
Safety Hazards
99
Value
100
Puracy All Purpose Concentrate
Why is it better?

Formulated by PhDs

All natural, all plant-based

Hypoallergenic

Gluten free

Vegan and cruelty-free

Concentrated so it won’t take up tons of space

High-power

Can clean all hard home surfaces

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Puracy All Purpose Concentrate
Test Winner: Puracy All Purpose Concentrate
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
20
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2200
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Effectiveness Application Safety Hazards Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Materials
100 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Application
99 %
Safety Hazards
99 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Materials
99 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Application
99 %
Safety Hazards
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$30.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Materials
98 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Application
95 %
Safety Hazards
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$11.19
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Materials
96 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Application
96 %
Safety Hazards
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$15.98
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Materials
97 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Application
96 %
Safety Hazards
97 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$11.70
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Materials
95 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Application
95 %
Safety Hazards
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$16.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Materials
95 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Application
90 %
Safety Hazards
95 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$23.92
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Materials
90 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Application
93 %
Safety Hazards
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Materials
93 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Application
93 %
Safety Hazards
90 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$14.82
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Materials
86 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Application
89 %
Safety Hazards
86 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link

10 Best Natural Cleaners

1. Puracy All Purpose Concentrate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Puracy All Purpose Concentrate
Amazon Link
Materials
100
Effectiveness
99
Application
99
Safety Hazards
99
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Formulated by PhDs

All natural, all plant-based

Hypoallergenic

Gluten free

Vegan and cruelty-free

Concentrated so it won’t take up tons of space

High-power

Can clean all hard home surfaces

Cons:

Some users report streaks left behind on stainless steel appliances.

Puracy brings the first product on our list--and for good reason. Not only are they committed to providing a cleaner, purer space for you and those around you to enjoy, but they are also bound by a mission to lower their use of plastics, prevent harmful chemicals from seeping into our earth, and making sure that all of their products are certified cruelty free. They also donate to charitable organizations on every purchase, spreading the love.
Their All Purpose Cleaner Concentrate reduces 90% of their plastic packaging as their 16-ounce bottle can make a gallon of cleaner, and we love the idea of purchasing a glass squirt bottle to mix your Puracy cleaner in.

Crafted by Doctors
The Puracy All Purpose Cleaner formula was crafted by a group of PhDs whos mission it was to harness the power of plants for a deep, natural clean. Made right here in the U.S.A and using only purified water and plant-based cleansers (Alcohol Ethoxylate, Decyl Glucoside, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, Benzisothiazolinone, Sodium Citrate, and Citric Acid) with no synthetic fragrances, Puracy’s All Purpose Cleaner is hypoallergenic, non-toxic, free of gluten, and biodegradable. And if that weren’t enough, it is also certified by PETA to be vegan and cruelty-free, meaning they never test their products on animals. That means it’s safe for the whole family--human babies and fur babies alike.

Cleans Any Surface that Can Get Wet
So Puracy has an impressive resume but does it actually work. You get it does! It’s extremely concentrated formula means less packaging and more power. Puracy suggests a 1:7 ratio of All Purpose Cleaner to water (best if purified or filtered). You can use this solution on literally any surface in your house that can get wet. That means counters, bathrooms, floors, cabinets, pretty much any hard surface that isn’t made of fabric. And it will remove even the toughest of life’s messes from lipstick to pet oopsies--all without leaving streaks behind.

Cost and Value
The Puracy All Purpose Cleaner is an incredible value because it is such a powerful, versatile, and responsible product. As it comes in a concentrate, it won’t fill up your storage space and it won’t break the bank. It is one of the more expensive items on our list, but it still has an insanely low cost per use, especially considering how safe it is for you and your family.

2. Young Living Thieves

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Young Living Thieves
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Effectiveness
99
Application
99
Safety Hazards
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.99
Pros:

Young Living uses therapeutic grade essential oils that they produce themselves

Super Concentrated

Can be used all around the home, and even on some fabrics

Wonderfully soothing fragrance

Streak-free windows

Cons:

Some reviewers, while loving the product, complain about the packaging and leaks upon delivery.

Young Living has been making and selling essential oils that are therapeutic grade quality for over 20 years. Their mission is to help you on your way to creating a natural and healthy lifestyle.
Their Thieves Household Cleaner is used in doctor’s offices and home alike and is made using Young Living’s proprietary blend of essential oils.

Made with Essential Oils
The Thieves Household Cleaner is comprised of Young Living’s proprietary blend of essential oils. The legend of Thieves essential oil claims that thieves would treat themselves with this oil to protect their health while robbing plague victims. Whether this is true or not, the oils in Thieves definitely have anti-microbial and anti-bacterial properties that you can feel good about. Comprised of Rosemary, Cinnamon, Eucalyptus, Lemon, and Clove, Thieves has a wonderful aroma and endless uses--medicinal and household alike (the oil by itself can be consumer--not the cleaner!). The Young Living Household Cleaner combines surfactants that are proven to be safe wetting agents and Thieves essential oil to deliver a killer clean to almost any area of your home.
The back of the bottle includes suggested dilutions for different surfaces and purposes. Remember to shake before using for best results.

Works Almost Anywhere
With different dilution suggestions for almost every surface in your home, you can be sure that you’re getting a tested clean. It even works incredibly on windows, leaving them streak free. Before using to clean fabrics, do a spot test on a rarely seen area to ensure that the fabric isn’t damaged by the Thieves Cleaner.

Cost and Value
Because Thieves Household Cleaner is comprised of essential oils which are expensive to produce (especially at this quality), Young Living’s cleaner is the priciest on our list. That being said, it’s super concentrated and the tiny 14-ounce bottle can be used for months and months of daily cleaning around the house--not to mention, it can replace almost every cleaner that you have in your house currently--so it has some amazing value.

3. Method Squirt + Mop

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Method Squirt + Mop
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Effectiveness
98
Application
95
Safety Hazards
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.19
Pros:

Cuts cleaning time in half

No waxy build up

Great for sealed hardwoods, laminates, vinyl, linoleum, and tiles

Intuitive shower spray design

Not tested on animals

Sold in recycled bottles

4 great scents to choose from

Cons:

The almond scent contains a formaldehyde producer that Method is working on removing. The other scents do not contain this component.

Method products are crafted with 2 things in mind: cleanliness and respect. Clean homes, water, and air, and respect for the earth and all of her living creatures. While Method makes tons of natural cleaners and soaps, today we’re featuring their Hardwood and Floor Cleaner. Not only is it safe (you could literally eat off these floors), but it also makes cleaning your floors an absolute breeze.

Comes in 4 Available Scents
The Method Squirt + Mop Hardwood Floor Cleaner comes available in 4 amazing scents: almond, ginger yuzu, lemon ginger, and spearmint sage. It is plant based and non-toxic and is totally biodegradable without any waxy buildup when you’re done. Plus, it’s packaged in recyclable plastic and is never, ever, ever tested on animals.

Intuitive Shower Nozzle Makes for Easy Application
Forget about pulling out that bulky mop bucket and spending your whole day on a multi-step clean--using Method’s Hardwood and Floor Cleaner will revolutionize the way you mop. First, sweep. This product can be used on hardwood floors that have been sealed or on laminates, linoleum, vinyl, and tiles. With theintuitively designed shower nozzle cap that sprays out over the floor to prevent puddling up in one place, you can easily apply the cleanser to your floors without having to dilute the solution in a mop bucket. So spray and mop and then you’re done! No need to go back over the floors for a water rinse once you’re done. That means cleaner, safer floors and more time for the things that really matter.

Cost and Value
The Method Squirt + Mop Hardwood Floor Cleaner rings up at the low end of our price range and is absolutely loaded with value. Not only is this product safe and clean, but it is also easy to use and cuts down cleaning time almost in half, and more time for your family is hard to put a price tag on.

4. Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Effectiveness
96
Application
96
Safety Hazards
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.98
Pros:

Aromatherapy built in with scents from the garden

Vegan and cruelty-free

Biodegradable

No phthalates or parabens

Concentrated for a small footprint and powerful potency

Can be used in every room of the house to replace multiple cleaners in your cabinet

Excellent value

Cons:

Some reviewers report that the lavender smell is quite potent, so following dilution instructions is advised and necessary.

Mrs. Meyer’s is inspired by plants and flowers from the garden that sooth as well as clean. The company is also committed to being good stewards in their community as well as to the earth, which is why they focus on community outreach and work to produce products that are made from renewable and responsibly sourced components.
The Clean Day Multi-Surface Concentrate can be used to freshen and clean every room of the house.

Combines Aromatherapy with Cleaning Power
Mrs. Meyer’s cleaners deliver a powerful clean while leaving behind a pleasantly fresh and soothing scent to enjoy, all inspired by and derived from the garden. Choose between lavender, basil, lemon verbena, geranium, and honeysuckle scents. This Multi-Surface Concentrate delivers a strong, yet gentle clean that won’t eat away at more delicate surfaces. It is biodegradable and made free from phthalates and parabens. Plus, it’s vegan and 100% cruelty-free as well. We also love that it’s concentrated, so it has a small footprint in your cabinet and so you can adjust the potency for the job at hand.

Use on All Non-Porous Surfaces
Mrs. Meyer’s Multi-Surface Concentrate can be used indoors and outdoors. So long as the surface is non-porous, you can use Mrs. Meyer’s in the bathroom, kitchen, and bedroom on any of their walls, countertops, and floors.

Cost and Value
We absolutely love Mrs. Meyer’s Multi-Surface Concentrate because it can replace almost every cleaner in your cabinet and its concentrated formula means that you can adjust it to your specific needs. Plus, the cost per use is just pennies and it saves space under your sink. And to top it off, the aromatic properties almost make cleaning your home therapeutic.

5. Better Life All-Purpose

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Better Life All-Purpose
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Effectiveness
92
Application
96
Safety Hazards
97
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.70
Pros:

100% Plant Based

Absolutely no harmful substances

Can literally be used all over the house, even on fabrics

Produced and packaged using renewable energy and recycled materials

Biodegradable and breaks down faster than other natural cleaners

Cons:

There are no added fragrances and some reviewers mention no enjoying the smell.

Better Life is a company started by 2 dads committed to spending less time on cleaning and more time on fun. By using products that are 100% plant based and safe, you can use the same product all over the house without having to think twice. And because these cleaners are so powerful, you won’t waste your afternoon scrubbing at the same stain. What will you do with all of that extra time?

Made Using 100% Plant Based Cleansers
While this is a list of natural cleaners, some of the products on this list still contain elements that are safe but that aren’t 100% plant-based. Well, not with Better Life’s products. Their cleansers are made 100% from plants are never include parabens, sulfates, dyes, synthetic fragrances, ethers, or alcohols--and boy do we love when the not included list is longer than the ingredients list! This All-Purpose Cleaner is biodegradable and breaks down faster than most other natural cleaners on the market. It is vegan and not tested on animals, and is packaged using solar energy and recycled plastics. In terms of natural products, Better Life is the real deal.

Use On Any Surface that Can Take Water--Including Fabrics
Not only were these dads seeking safety, but also simplicity. And what’s easier than only having one cleanser in the cabinet. This baby works literally all over the house and can bust through the toughest kitchen grease while also getting coffee out of your favorite puffy chair and stubborn scuffs off of the wall. Seriously. All you have to do is spray it and then wipe those nasties away.

Cost and Value
After reading all of that, you may be thinking that it comes attached to a hefty price tag--but you’d be wrong. It rings up at the low end of our price range and at the high end of everything else. Not only are we smitten with the ethical production of and 100% plant-based ingredients in this product, but we are also in love with the simplicity that comes attached to it.

6. Method All-Purpose

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Method All-Purpose
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Effectiveness
94
Application
95
Safety Hazards
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.99
Pros:

Works all over the house, even on glass

All natural and biodegradable

Vegan and cruelty-free certified

Made using recycled plastics

Great natural scents to choose from

Cons:

Reviewers love this product but some users mention that the packaging was damaged causing leaks upon arrival.

The second Method product to make our list is their All-Purpose Natural Surface Cleaner. Because it’s a Method product, you know you’re getting a cleanser that is totally comprised of natural components that can tear up messes without leaving harmful residues behind.

3 Delightful Natural Scents to Choose From
You can snag the Method All-purpose Natural Surface Cleaner in 3 amazing natural scents: pink grapefruit, cucumber, and clementine. All of the ingredients in this cleanser are natural and non-toxic as well as biodegradable. Plus, it is cruelty-free and vegan and packaged using 100% recycled plastics.

Even Works on Glass
The Method All-purpose Natural Surface Cleaner works on any surface that is non-porous. We’re talking floors, countertops, bathroom surfaces, and even windows. And because there aren’t any harmful substances in the mix, no nasty residues or streaks will be left behind.

Cost and Value
This Method product rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it’s a compact cleaner that is tough on dirt all over the house.

7. Seventh Generation

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Seventh Generation
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Effectiveness
93
Application
90
Safety Hazards
95
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.92
Pros:

No dyes or artificial scents

Fragranced with essential oils

Not caustic to skin

Cleans with minimal scrubbing

Septic tank safe

Biodegradable and cruelty-free

Packaged using recycled plastics

Cons:

Some reviewers wish the substance was thicker so it could cling to the walls of the toilet longer before scrubbing.

Seventh Generation has been making conscious consumer products for the past 30 years with two main concerns in mind--responsibility to the people and to the planet they live on. That means you get a product that is researched to be safe and to work, all without poisoning the environment or adding to plastic waste.
This product was made specifically for toilets and is an incredible evolution from the standard super toxic non-natural cleaners on the market.

Made Without Chlorine and Ammonia
The USDA has evaluated this product and determined that it is a 97% Biobased formula made from plant-based and biodegradable ingredients. This Toilet Bowl Cleaner is also vegan and cruelty-free as certified by the Leaping Bunny Organization. It doesn’t contain any dyes, synthetic fragrances, chlorine, or ammonia making it about a billion times less caustic than your toilet bowl cleaners of old. But just because it has no harsh smell doesn’t mean it’s not tough on toilet grime. It is naturally fragranced with essential oils.

Safe for Use in Septic Tanks
To use this wonderful product, simply squirt to apply to the rim on your toilet bowl. Don’t worry if you get some of this solution on your hands, as it won’t burn your skin like the toilet bowl cleaner your mom used to use. Allow the cleaner to run down, scrub with a toilet brush, and then flush all that grime away. And don’t worry! If you’re using a septic tank, this stuff is totally safe.

Cost and Value
The Seventh Generation Emerald Cypress and Fir Scent Toilet Bowl Cleaner rings up towards the top of our price range but it truly is some high powered stuff and can comfortably compete with other caustic, synthetic cleaners on the market. Though it is designed for toilet use only, it will cut your scrubbing time down.

8. Green Works Multi-Surface

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Green Works Multi-Surface
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Effectiveness
93
Application
93
Safety Hazards
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

A great company focused on empowering women in science

Tough dirt and stain fighter all over the house

Made from 95% naturally sourced ingredients

Never tested on animals

Packaged responsibly using recycled plastics

Cons:

As with a lot of the natural cleaners on our list that use recycled plastics, some reviewers report leaking bottles on arrival.

Green Works was created in 2008 by a Maria Ochomogo, a scientist working for Clorox. She was inspired to create the company by her environmental biologist daughter and has worked tirelessly to develop an entire line of cleaning products that are both great on grime and also super green as well. Plus, this branch of the Clorox company works closely with AAUM and STEM programs to empower and encourage girls and women to seek carriers and experiences in the sciences.
This specific Multi-Surface Cleaner is tried and tested to tackle tough messes all over the house.

Meets a 95% Natural Industry Standard
The Green Works Multi-Surface Cleaner harnesses the natural powers of plants and minerals to create a 95% naturally based green cleaner that can tackle dirt, grease, and stuck on stains. Because it’s natural and biodegradable, there are no toxic scents or residues left behind after cleaning. These Green Works products are never tested on animals and are also packaged from recycled plastic whenever possible.

Great On Appliances and Household Surfaces
Simply spray and use this product on all sorts of surfaces around the house including stainless steel appliances, granite, and even chrome. You can basically replace all of your kitchen and bathroom cleaners with this bad boy and call it a day.

Cost and Value
The Green Works Multi-Surface Cleaner rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we love its value because of the emphasis it places on women in science, because it safe, and most of all because it works.

9. Biokleen All Purpose

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Biokleen All Purpose
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Effectiveness
88
Application
93
Safety Hazards
90
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.82
Pros:

Super Concentrated

Truly an all-purpose cleaner

Made in the USA with safe manufacturing methods from start to finish

Can even treat stains in clothes

Cons:

Some reviewers believe that the recommended dilution from the company may be too weak.

Biokleen is a family owned and operated company that has been producing green products of the highest quality since 1989. Now the second generation has taken leadership and they continue to consciously manufacture green cleaners from conception to completion.
This Biokleen All Purpose Cleaner delivers a safe and strong clean that you can count on for use all over your home.

Insanely Concentrated - ½ Gallon Makes 64 Gallons of Cleaner
This super concentrated formula is made using essence of orange and grapefruit seeds to harness all of nature’s mightly cleaning powers. There are no added artificial colors, fragrances, or preservatives in this cleaner, and each bottle is made right here in the USA in manufacturing plants that only handle clean, green products so absolutely no harmful substances find their way into your home. And you obviously know you should keep cleaners out of reach of children, but if one were to drink this, simply pound water to dilute the cleaner. That’s not something you can say about most cleaning products.

Great for Use Indoors as well as on RVs and Boats
Biokleen’s All Purpose Cleaner can be used indoors and outdoors alike, and is even tough enough to handle messes on boats and in RVs. Plus, this cleaner is even designed to treat stains in clothing and on upholstery, so it really earns its name as an all-purpose cleaner.

Cost and Value
We absolutely love the value packed into this product. A ½ gallon of the stuff can make 64 gallons of cleaner, and all at a super low cost. Plus, this family-owned business does things right from start to finish and that’s something we feel really good about.

10. TriNova Multi Surface

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
TriNova Multi Surface
Amazon Link
Materials
86
Effectiveness
88
Application
89
Safety Hazards
86
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Natural cleaner with a uniquely fresh smell

Can use all over the house, including in your oven and on quartz

Specific cleaning instructions for different surfaces

Comes with a microfiber towel

100% customer satisfaction guarantee and hassle-free returns

Cons:

Some reviewers report a streaky finish after many uses.

If you’re tired of buying natural cleaners that don’t work--look no further. TriNova not only puts an emphasis on green cleaners but also an emphasis on powerful cleaners as well. In short, this is the strong arm of the clean law that you need to tackle messes all over your home.

Unique Thyme and White Tea Scent
This natural cleaner has an ingredient list that is short and concise and you won’t find any artificial scents in this special formula--just a light and fresh smell that will brighten up your whole home. Seriously, people love the way this product smells.

Comes with a Micro-Fiber Towel
To use this product, simply spray, let sit (for up to 2 minutes on especially sticky, stuck on messes), and then wipe away with the micro-fiber towel that they so graciously provide with their cleaners or another terry cloth towel of your own. TriNova asks to refrain from using paper towels and other wipes that are intended for single use only. While this product will clean your stainless steel surfaces, it is a little streaky, so TriNova suggests following their instructions for reflective surfaces or purchasing their cleaner designed specifically for stainless steel.

Cost and Value
We love the honesty and commitment of TriNova, and we love all of their products because they are backed by a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee and hassle free returns if you aren’t 100% satisfied with their products.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

The whole purpose of purchasing products that are natural is to be able to welcome products into your home that you know are safe, and this all starts with the ingredient list. Not only are we looking to feature products that are made from all natural plants and minerals, but we’re also looking for cleaners without some key ingredients as well. We love products without added synthetic fragrances, preservatives, or dyes. We also love featuring products that are free of gluten and any animal products. Plus, we make sure that the products on our list are biodegradable and that they weren’t tested on animals.
But that’s not all. We also make sure that the products on our list are responsibly packaged. That’s why so many of these cleaners come in concentrated form to save on plastic and generate more cleans per bottle. Many of the companies we feature also make a true effort to use only recycled plastics in their packaging process and even work to package their cleaners in facilities where only green products are made so no cross-contamination takes place allowing harmful substances sneak their way into your home.

Effectiveness

A natural cleaner is useless if it doesn't actually clean. That’s why we feature products that are green and effective. We poured over thousands of reviews to get the real skinny on whether a clean product could cut the mustard against heavy duty (and every day) messes that families drum up. While there aren’t many claims of natural products cleaning better, we wanted to be sure that they could clean as well (as the “better” part comes with not leaving harmful toxins behind after they clean).
While some reviews that we read ended in customers wanting to return to their heavy duty chemical cleaners, most of our reviewers rave about how wonderful the cleaners on our list are and how relieved they were to finally find a product that worked for them.

Application

When a product claims to be an all-purpose cleaner, we want to ensure that this is actually the case. So the products that we love really do function all over the home and really can stand up to the day’s messes. We are especially crazy about products that tackle hard surface messes as well as stains on clothing and upholstered fabrics. Not only does this eliminate under-the-cabinet clutter, but it also simplifies cleaning time and nothing beats having more time to spend on what matters.

Safety Hazards

For this list, safely is king. Families with pets and curious little ones know there’s no telling what might end up in and around the mouth. That’s why we wanted to include only the safest products on our list. While we’re not telling you that this is a good idea, we wanted to include products that would allow you to eat off the floor after using them. There’s even a cleaner on our list the won’t poison you to death if swallowed. Try finding that assurance on any chemical, non-natural cleaner on the market.

Value

As always, we want to make sure your cleaning dollar is stretched as far as it can go. That’s why we love the products on this list. Most of these cleaners are concentrated and deliver months worth of cleaning power in a small bottle. That’s a price that’s hard to beat. Not to mention the fact that cleaning time is cut down when the same product can be used all over the house and when you don’t have to clean up behind your cleaner. And the price tag on more family time is actually priceless.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Consider Which Surfaces You Clean Most

If you are looking for an all over the house, standard surface cleaner, we've given you tons of options to choose from on our list. However, if you’re looking for something toilet, floor, or stainless steel specific, make sure you read the product details carefully. If you see a brand you like but not a product on this list, there’s a good chance they make a specialized product that you’re looking for.

Order Extras with Your Concentrates

If you are purchasing a product that is concentrated, go ahead an order a glass squirt bottle (no more plastic!) and micro-fiber cleaning rag (no more paper towels!) so that you’re totally set up to dilute and use when you receive your cleaner. And as most of the cleaners on our list were noted to be made from flimsier plastics because they are recycled, it’s not a bad idea to go ahead and order a glass squirt bottle to transfer cleaners into.

Other Factors to Consider

Potency

We looked at potency when considering value. For example, if you are looking at 2 difference products that are the same price and that each come in a 16-ounce bottle, but one bottle is concentrated and the other isn’t, the concentrated bottle gives you more bang for your buck. We also love when products provide different diffusion instructions for different messes, helping you to get the exact cleaning ratio that you need.

Flavors

Okay, maybe not flavors. But scents for sure. We love products that offer up a few different scent options as we know these preferences are highly personal.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why are natural products better than traditional products?

a:

We use cleaning products to clean. That’s why it doesn’t make a lot of sense to use products that leave behind more harmful substances than they pick up. Especially if you have pets or a crawling baby or toddler in your home, it’s important that the surfaces that they come in contact with are safe and clean--not just free of bacteria.

q: How can I tell if a product is natural?

a:

You can tell if a cleaning product is a natural cleaning product the same way that you can tell if food you’re buying is made from natural ingredients--read the label! As with food, the fewer ingredients that each label has and the easier they are to pronounce, the better. There are some exceptions with the pronunciations of green cleaning ingredients, but with a little research and by consulting our list, you can find whether a “natural” cleaner meets industry standards or not.

q: Why are some of these products concentrated?

a:

A major reason for concentrating a product is to save on packaging. As these companies are focused on creating natural, green products, they hold protecting the environment as an essential part of their company mission as well. Watering down and diluting a product on the company’s end means more plastic used and less cleaning accomplished per package.

Sources