to top 10 table

Best Fog Machines Reviewed and Rated for Quality

last updated: Apr 18, 2019

Sometimes life just needs a little bit more drama, and when glitter and confetti just won’t cut it, a fog machine is definitely the way to go. There are tons of machines out there on the market, but making sure you get the right one for you is no easy task. While some industrial sized foggers can haze up a whole arena, some are small enough to cast a spook over a grave prop in your front yard on Halloween. So how do you choose?

The machines on this list can produce between 400 and 1,300 watts. The more watts, the more fog--makes sense, right? We’ve worked to illuminate what each product is best intended for so you don’t head into your shopping in a blind fog. A quick peek at this Ten Best List will no doubt help you find the fogger that’s right for the job.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
Chauvet Lighting DJ 700
99.4/100 our score
Size
100
Capacity
99
Ease of Use
100
Features
98
Value
100
Chauvet Lighting DJ 700
Why is it better?

Works right out of the box

Comes with a pint of fluid, water-based

Can produce 80 minutes of fog on one tank

1,500 cfms

471 watts

Comes with a remote control wired to the unit

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Chauvet Lighting DJ 700
Test Winner: Chauvet Lighting DJ 700
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1200
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Size Capacity Ease of Use Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Size
100 %
Capacity
99 %
Ease of Use
100 %
Features
98 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$39.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Size
99 %
Capacity
95 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Features
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Size
98 %
Capacity
99 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Features
99 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$42.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Size
96 %
Capacity
95 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Features
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Size
96 %
Capacity
95 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Features
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$967.70
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Size
95 %
Capacity
95 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Features
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Size
93 %
Capacity
92 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Features
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$138.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Size
91 %
Capacity
90 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Features
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Size
90 %
Capacity
90 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Features
88 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$69.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Size
88 %
Capacity
87 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Features
87 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.02.20)
Amazon Link
$39.99

10 Best Fog Machines

1. Chauvet Lighting DJ 700

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Chauvet Lighting DJ 700
Amazon Link
Size
100
Capacity
99
Ease of Use
100
Features
98
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

Works right out of the box

Comes with a pint of fluid, water-based

Can produce 80 minutes of fog on one tank

1,500 cfms

471 watts

Comes with a remote control wired to the unit

Cons:

Some reviewers don’t like that you can’t set this machine up with an external automated timer because it comes with a remote that’s wired to the unit.

The Chauvet Hurricane Fog Machine is small enough to take anywhere and powerful enough to add that extra umph to any occasion no matter how small. It weighs only 4 pounds and measures less than a foot in every dimension, making it the perfect size for small rooms or for spookifying small displays during your Halloween festivities.

Works Right Out of the Box
The Chauvet Hurricane Fog Machine is super easy to use and it’s all ready to go right out of the box. The Hurricane comes with a pint (about 475ml) of fluid that is water-based, so simply pull the machine out, load it up with fluid, and plug her in to start your show. It will take about two and a half minutes for the Hurricane to heat up and start producing fog. With the handy remote control provided that is wire connected to the unit, you can control the Hurricane from up to 6 feet away so you won’t need to be running on to the scene to stop and start the fog.

Pumps Out 1,500 CFM
The Chauvet Hurricane Fog Machine can pump out 1,500 cfm (or cubic feet per minute), making it great for smaller spaces. The fluid tank can hold 600ml of fluid at a time and the machine burns 7.5ml of fluid per minute of use which means you can get over an hour of use (about 80 minutes) from each tank. You can tell how powerful a machine will be by looking at its wattage. The Hurricane offers 471 watts making it less powerful than other more expensive, heavy-duty machines, and thus better for smaller areas.

Cost and Value
The Chauvet Hurricane Fog Machine is one of the most inexpensive units on our list and rings up at the bottom of our price range. We love its value because it’s a great little addition for any small space while still being able to put out some serious fog for extended periods of time. Chauvet supplies this unit with a one-year warranty.

2. Theefun 400-Watt

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Theefun 400-Watt
Amazon Link
Size
99
Capacity
95
Ease of Use
99
Features
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

2,000 cfms

400-watt

Made from aluminum which is great for heating and cooling

A 5-foot long power chord

Tank indicator

Heat indicator

Wire and wireless remote options

Cons:

Some reviewers report setting off fire alarms with this unit, so if using around industrial fire alarms (like in schools), be warned.

The Theefun 400-Watt is another little guy on our list that can get the job done. Measuring less than a foot in every dimension and weighing only 4 pounds, the Portable Party Fog is just what you need to spice up any small, indoor gathering with an output distance of about 10 feet.

2 Remote Options
The Theefun 400-Watt comes with 2 options for the remote. The wired remote that attaches directly to the machine is the less expensive option and will allow you to control the fog from about 10 feet away. The hand-held wireless remote is a touch more expensive (about 10 bucks more) and will allow you to control your fog from about 25 feet away. Simply plug in your device, add professional fog fluid (you will need to purchase this separately), and then wait about 3 minutes for the machine to heat up. You can always see how much fluid is in the tank by looking at the indicator provided. Once the machine is heated, a red light will appear indicating that you are good to go. Press the red button on the remote and get ready for 20 seconds of continuous fog. After that 20 seconds, wait about a minute before your next session is heated to go.

2,000 CFMs with Less Wattage
The Theefun 400-Watt produces a larger amount of CFMs--2,000 to be exact--than the last unit on our list but at a lesser wattage. That means it takes a little more time between fog production for the machine to heat up. However, because this unit is made from aluminum, it heats and cools more quickly which helps to keep your machine working for longer. The tank holds 300ml of fluid at a time and burns through about 7.5ml every minute. We love that this unit comes with a long power chord--about 5 feet.

Cost and Value
The Theefun 400-Watt rings up at the bottom of our price range--even if you decide to go with the more expensive wireless remote option. We love that it has a tank indicator and a heat sensor indicator even though it rings up at a low price point.

3. Yugee Professional

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Yugee Professional
Amazon Link
Size
98
Capacity
99
Ease of Use
97
Features
99
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$42.99
Pros:

Wireless, alarm remote

Built-in colored lights to add to the display

Fluid display

2,000 cfms

400-watt

Cons:

Some reviewers were annoyed that the lights only stay on when the fog is being produced.

The Yugee Professional combines a light show and fog effect into one handy device. Because it incorporates lights, it’s a bit bigger than the previous machines on our list at about 2 feet in length and 1 foot in height, though it still weighs only 4 pounds. So take this little party to any indoor that needs some extra razzle dazzle.

Remote Alarms When Ready
The Yugee Professional is super easy to operate right out of the box. Simply plug in your unit, load up the 600ml tank with professional, water-based fluid that you must purchase separately, and wait for about 4 minutes for the machine to heat up. We love that this unit comes with a wireless remote that alerts you when the machine is ready. Once you hear the alarm, press the button on the remote and enjoy your foggy light show. Before plugging in your unit, always make sure that there is enough fluid in it by checking the fluid display.

Energy Saving
The Yugee Professional is made of lightweight aluminum that is a great conductor of heat which means your unit will heat up and cool down more efficiently which saves on energy. This 400-watt device emits about 2,000 cmfs and can reach distances of about 10 feet making it a great option for livening up smaller gatherings that are inside. And as we mentioned before, we love the added lighting features. These will dazzle you every time you press the remote to produce more fog.

Cost and Value
The Yugee Professional rings up at the low middle end of our price range. We love it because it combines a light show with fog effects for an even great display value. And we love that it comes with a little alarm to alert you when the machine is ready to go.

4. Virhuck 500W

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Virhuck 500W
Amazon Link
Size
96
Capacity
95
Ease of Use
96
Features
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Long-range, 40-foot remote

2,000 cfms

500 watts

LED lights with multiple options

Super small

Can be used outdoors

Cons:

Again, some reviewers are annoyed that the LED lights on display themselves whilst fog is being produced.

The Virhuck 500W is literally tiny (less than 10 inches in every dimension and only 4 pounds), but don’t let that fool you. It is more powerful than the other units on our list so far and it can even be used outside.

40-Foot Remote Distance
The Virhuck 500W comes with an attached power chord, so all you have to do is pull the unit out of the box, fill the 350ml tank with professional grade water-based fluid, and plug it in. It will take about 5 minutes to warm up initially, and about 2-3 minutes to warm up every subsequent time during use. As the unit uses 7.5ml of fluid per minute, you can get a good 40 to 60 minutes of use out of each tank. With a super long-range remote, you to control the party from up to 40-feet away and produce 20-second bursts of fog every few minutes.

Can Be Used Outdoors
The Virhuck 500W is the first on our list that is okayed to use outdoors. This 500-watt unit produces 2,000 cfms and can reach distances up to 10 feet. Plus, it comes with some really amazing lighting options to boot. With 3 factory LED light colors (red, green, and blue), you can make up to 7 different color combinations and choose between 3 different light settings: flashing change, gradual change, and single color display.

Cost and Value
The Virhuck 500W rings up at the low middle end of our price range and we love its value because it comes with some seriously cool lighting options and a long-range remote that allows you to amplify and pump up your party from anywhere.

5. CO-Z

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
CO-Z
Amazon Link
Size
96
Capacity
95
Ease of Use
96
Features
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$967.70
Pros:

Make from ABS safe materials

The design allows for up to 3 hours of use on one tank

400-watt

2,000 cfms

10-foot wired-in remote

Cons:

Some reviewers were disappointed that the remote doesn’t come with a built-in timer.

The CO-Z is the most compact unit on our list so far and weighs in at only 3.5 pounds. Even so, it can compete with larger models and is cleared to be used for smaller indoor purposes as it is able to produce fog up to 10 feet.

Long Wired-In Remote
The CO-Z is easy to use and is great for indoor use in small areas. The wired-in remote can reach up to 10 feet, allowing you to put space between yourself and the device. Once the machine takes about 5 minutes to heat up, simply hold down the remote button for 20 seconds to activate fog. The machine will clear itself every 30 minutes or so as long as it’s on. Though the device doesn’t come with a timer, users report placing heavy objects on the remote to produce continued fog, making sure to check in frequently on the fluid levels.

Made from Super Safe Materials
The CO-Z is made from ABS approved materials with safer wiring than other products on the market. Its 300ml tank burns through 7.5ml of fluid per minute, but because of its unique design, you can get as much as 3 hours worth of use from just one tank. This is a 400-watt machine.

Cost and Value
The CO-Z rings up at the super low end of our price range and we like its value because it is inexpensive but still made using quality materials that you can count on for safety.

6. GECKO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
GECKO
Amazon Link
Size
95
Capacity
95
Ease of Use
95
Features
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Lights stay on the entire time the machine is on

Compact

2 remote options

Super long-range remote reaching over 150 feet

Approved by multiple safety organizations

Cons:

Conversely here, some reviewers wish you could control the lights by turning them off when not wanted.

The GECKO may be small but it provides any small indoor area with a dazzling show. The unit weighs about 4.5 pounds and can reach distances of about 7 feet.

Wireless Remote Ranges Over 150 Feet
The GECKO can be used in a sinch right out of the box. Plug her in, fill up the 250ml fluid tank with non-toxic, professional fluid, and get ready to be dazzled. This unit comes with 2 different remote options: built-in (reaching 10 feet) and wireless (reaching over 150 feet). If you select the wireless model, you will have to attach the receiver to the back of the machine, but that is super easy to do. The company suggests that you turn off the unit for at least 15 minutes after 6 hours of use to ensure that your machine continues to function properly.

Lights Stay On
The GECKO is cool in that while other machines only display their built-in lights when fog is being produced, this unit displays its tri-colored lights at all times while the unit is on. This 400-watt machine can produce 1,000 cfms at up to about 7 feet or so, making it a good option for smaller indoor spaces. We love that this unit is made using a durable iron casing which prolongs its life and that it is FDA, FCC, and ROSH assured meaning that you can feel totally safe while using it.

Cost and Value
The GECKO rings up at the low middle end of our price range and we love its value because it is an approved product by numerous safety organizations, because its lights stay on all the time, and because the company backs it with a 1-year warranty and 30-day money-back guarantee.

7. AW 1500W

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
AW 1500W
Amazon Link
Size
93
Capacity
92
Ease of Use
93
Features
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$138.95
Pros:

Huge tank: 2,500ml

1,500 watt

20,000 cfms

Reaches up to 13 feet

DMX chord allows ultimate control over lighting

Cons:

Some reviewers wish that more detailed instructions were provided with the unit.

The AW 1500W is the most mack daddy of all of the smoke machines on our list. It has more capacity and power and is your go-to if you need some serious fogging action for your next big event. Even though it can reach distances up to 13 feet, it is still compact (less than 2 feet in every dimension) and only weighs about 17 pounds.

DMX Cable for Added Effects
The AW 1500W features a nice-and-long 8-foot power cord. Plug it in and fill the 2,500ml tank with professional grade fluid and prepared to be blown away. Because the tank on this unit is larger, it takes twice as long to heat up (about 10 minutes). The remote provided allows you to maintain control of the unit from super long distances. And we absolutely love that this high-power unit comes with an 8-foot DMX cable that you can hook up to any light board or computer to give you access to control over the 4 LED light centers. But if you don’t have a DMX center, don’t worry. The machine will dazzle you with its pre-settings. You may also choose to shut the LED lights off completely and use only the smoke function.

Boasts 20,000 CFMs
The AW 1500W is a 1,500-watt unit that can produce up to 20,000 cfms. That is 10 times more than any other machine on our list so far, meaning that this unit is great for larger areas. While there is no built-in timer, you can work with the DMX setting to trigger specified releases. And what’s even more, while this unit may take a long time to heat up, it only requires 10 seconds or so to recharge between bursts of fog (recall that other products on our list take 1-2 minutes to recharge between bursts).

Cost and Value
The AW 1500W rings up at the very top of our price range, but it goes well beyond the function of any other product on our list. Not only does it have 5 times the tank capacity, but it has 10 times the cfms. Plus, it comes with a 90-day warranty.

8. Amzdeal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Amzdeal
Amazon Link
Size
91
Capacity
90
Ease of Use
92
Features
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Red, green, and blue lighting display

Comes with both remote options in the box

Super long-range wireless remote

400 watt

1,000 cfm

Great care instructions

2-year warranty

Cons:

Some reviewers report an unpleasant smell is produced with fogging.

The Amzdeal is great for any smaller space and will liven up any holiday or musical event. This unit is compact, weighing about 5 pounds and measuring less than a foot in every dimension, so you can take the party anywhere you go.

Comes With Both Remote Options
The Amzdeal stands out among others as it comes with both remote options in the box so you don’t have to choose! The wired-in remote reaches about 10 feet while the wireless remote has a range of over 150 feet. If you plan on using the wireless remote, do not plug in the wired-in remote. A little assembly is required with this product--but just a little. You will have to screw in the handle. The company advises you to use organic fluid and at a 20%/80% fluid to water ratio in the 250ml tank to ensure that your machine continues to function properly without any nasty buildup. The machine only takes about 3 minutes to heat up before it is ready for use.

Can Run for up to 40 Hours
The Amzdeal can run for an amazing 40 hours! After sustained use, remember to clean your unit using a 20% vinegar to 80% water solution. This is a 400-watt machine that produces 1,000 cfms and can reach about 7 feet. Plus, it comes with a fun red, green, and blue lighting display to add even more dazzle to your next event.

Cost and Value
The Amzdeal rings up at the low middle of our price range and we love its value because it comes with both remote options from the factory and because it has a 2-year warranty.

9. Rockville R720L

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Rockville R720L
Amazon Link
Size
90
Capacity
90
Ease of Use
89
Features
88
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.95
Pros:

Comes with both remote options

The wireless remote is one-click activated

30 seconds on continuous fog

3,000 cfms

440 watt

Bonus lighting bag

Cons:

Some reviewers mention that it may take some time to figure out all of the lighting configurations with the wireless remote.

The Rockville R720L is another heavy duty daddy on our list. It has a few really great features that sets it apart from other similar options on our list.

Comes with Bonus Bag and Fluid
The Rockville R720L comes with all sorts of nice bonuses that add to the ease of its use--and it comes with everything you need to get started right away. Simply plug the unit in, fill the 300ml tank with some of the 600mls of fluid that come with the unit, wait just 3.5 minutes and then watch the fun begin. This product also comes with both remote options in the box so you don’t have to choose. However, remember that if you intend on using the wireless remote feature (and you will need to do this to control the lights) that you shouldn’t also plug in the wired-in remote. What’s even better about the wireless remote? No need to hold the button down like with other products on the market. Simply press the activation button once and enjoy 30 seconds of continuous fog. Plus, this Rockville comes with a handy little padded bag to store other essential lighting elements so that you can keep all of your gear organized and together.

Rocks a Major 3,000 CFMs
The Rockville R720L is a 440-watt machine that produces 3,000 cfms. Each tank of fluid will last you about an hour. You can enjoy the different LED light features that come with the unit, or you can ramp up production by pairing the standard lighting features with others for a truly spectacular effect.

Cost and Value
The Rockville R720L rings up at the high middle end of our price range but it comes with some cool bonus gadgets and all that you need to get started, so we don’t mind shelling out a few extra for this guy.

10. Fansteck

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Fansteck
Amazon Link
Size
88
Capacity
87
Ease of Use
86
Features
87
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Crystal ball style lights that can be controlled independently of the fog

Compact

Heats up quickly

700 watts

2,500 cfms

Cons:

Some users wish that the lights could be controlled to be just one color.

The Fansteck is a high-power unit great for rounding off our list. The dazzling crystal ball lighting feature on the front of the unit predicts that your next party will be a blast with this baby. But even though it packs in more power, it’s still compact, measuring less than 1 foot in all dimensions and weighing just about 5 pounds.

One-Press 15 Meter Remote
The Fansteck comes with a wireless remote control that can control your device from about 50 feet away. After you’ve plugged in your device and filled the 600ml tank (making sure to always check the tank reader so that you don’t run out of fluid), simply wait 1-2 minutes before the machine is ready to go. You will have to purchase fluid in addition to this machine.

Crystal Ball Lighting Feature
The Fansteck is a 700-watt unit that produces 2,500 cfms and can reach up to 15 feet. We love that the lights function separately than the fog and that they can be controlled with their own key switch. Plus, the crystal ball feature creates a wonderful effect.

Cost and Value
The Fansteck rings up in the mid to high range of our price range and we love it because it is compact yet powerful and comes with a unique lighting feature that allows the lights to be controlled independently of the fog.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

When planning your next big event, you want to make sure that the atmosphere is just right. To help you do this, we provide detailed information about the size of each of the units on our list. In summary, we note what size each product is and how much it weighs as well as what size job/room each product is designed for. Read about more specific information we considered below.
Home safe fog machines range in wattage from 400 to 1,300 watts. Most of the machines on our list are closer to 400 watts, though we do feature a few higher wattage devices. The higher the wattage, the higher the power of the machine. Higher power machines operate more successfully in larger areas and need less time to recharge between bursts.
Another consideration in size is the cubic feet per meter that each machine produces. The units on this list range from 1,000 cfms to 20,000 cfms. The higher the cfms, the more area a machine can fill with fog.

Capacity

When considering the capacity for fog machines, we look at how large the fuel tank is and how much fuel the tank uses per minute. The machines on this list feature tanks that span 250ml to 2,500ml. Obviously, the larger the tank, the longer the machine can operate without having to be refilled.
Most of the machines on our list use about 7.5ml of fluid per minute and can last about an hour without needing to be refilled.

Ease of Use

We looked to feature units on our list that are easy to use. We love products that can be pulled out of the box, plugged in, and loaded with fluid and boom--fog baby. Products that come with great instructions, as well as those that come with dual remote options rank highly on our list. And those products that require one click action rather than having to reset repeatedly also rank higher.

Features

As always, we love an added feature. Products on this list that come with bonus lighting features and options, especially those that can be independently operated apart from the fog feature, we rank highly. We also love those devices that are easy to pre-set or to hook up with timers.

Value

Products on this list are affordable and effective and are appropriately priced based on their output. Items on this list that come with bonus lighting features or additional products to accompany them, as well as those products that are delivered with fluid rank highly in terms of value. Plus, those products that come with great warranties rank highly as always.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Consider the Size of Your Space

Whether you’re looking to spook up a Halloween display or fog up a whole arena, there’s a fog machine for you. How big is your space? Most of the machines on our list are meant for smaller rooms or small displays, though a few are much more heavy duty and can function well in larger rooms or outside. Make sure to read the wattage and cfms of each product. The higher the wattage, the more powerful the unit. The more cfms a unit has, the faster it can fill up space and the bigger space it can fill up.

Don’t Forget to Buy the Right Fluid

All of the machines on our list use water-based fluids. These fluids are safer and non-toxic, and they won’t stain or leave behind yucky residues. Most of the machines on our list do not come with fluids so you will need to remember to purchase some so that you can get started with your machine right away. Also, make sure to pay attention to suggested ratios of fluid to water as they may be different per fluid and per machine.

Other Factors to Consider

Connectivity

An additional factor we looked at when making our list was how connected each machine could be. We feature machines that have wireless remotes that allow you to stay connected to your device even from a distance. There is also a machine on our list that can be connected to a light board for even greater control over the light and fog effects.

Portability

One of the sub-factors we looked at when considering size was portability. We give dimensions of each object as well as the weight to showcase how portable each product is. Most of the products on this list are under a foot in length and in every other dimension and most weigh 5 pounds or less.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I clean my fog machine?

a:

You can keep your fog machine clean and working properly by following all directions to the T, by using the correct type of fluid, and by cleaning it regularly after use. To clean your machine, prepare a mixture of 20% vinegar to 80% water. Fill your fog tank with this liquid and keep your machine running until all of the cleaning liquid is gone.

q: Is my fog machine waterproof?

a:

Most of the machines on our list are not waterproof. Though they are producing vapor, they are not intended to get wet and are therefore meant to be used indoors mainly and only outdoors in a dry area.

q: What if I lose my remote control?

a:

The remotes for these devices are small and definitely easy to lose. Most come on little keychains, so you may choose to keep it on your keychain or hanging with other keys. You may also choose to attach it to your machine when not in use. If you do lose your remote, it is easy enough to purchase another one online. However, you may find one of the household remotes that you have lying around will serve to function as a remote for your fog machine.

Sources

  1. Fog Machines Contributing Writers, How Do Fog Machines Work?, FAQ
  2. Wikipedia, Fog machine,
  3. Marshall Brian, How do fog machines work?,
  4. DJ Depot, Difference between Fog and Haze Machines,