to top 10 table

Best Car Alarms Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Mar 07, 2019

Think of it as a terrible coming-of-age movie. You’ve got all your worldly possessions shoved into the backseat of your first paid-for-it-yourself car. You’re moving across the state to go to school. It’s not far enough away to require a flight, and your dorm room is small. After arriving at the college’s dorms you think, “I’m so tired from driving. Maybe I’ll just take the essentials up to my 6th-floor walk-up dorm room and do the rest tomorrow.” Pulling up electronics, clothes, and the French press your mom bought you, you leave the rest of your stuff locked safely in the back. The next morning you are faced with a forced-open car door and the box of records you brought missing. We’ve got you covered. Here are the top 10 car alarms that can help give you peace of mind and more protection on your property.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
Wsdcam
97.8/100 our score
Battery Life
99
Ease of Use
98
Sound Quality
96
Features
98
Wsdcam
Why is it better?

Remote for easy turn-off

110 db alarm sound (very loud)

Affordable price

Long battery life

Peel-and-stick makes it usable everywhere

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Wsdcam
Test Winner: Wsdcam
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
8
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
10
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
30
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Battery Life Ease of Use Sound Quality Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Battery Life
99 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Sound Quality
96 %
Features
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Battery Life
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Sound Quality
97 %
Features
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
$82.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Battery Life
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Sound Quality
95 %
Features
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Battery Life
93 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Sound Quality
91 %
Features
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
$129.52
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Battery Life
88 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Sound Quality
85 %
Features
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Battery Life
89 %
Ease of Use
82 %
Sound Quality
87 %
Features
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
$58.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Battery Life
85 %
Ease of Use
83 %
Sound Quality
80 %
Features
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
$386.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Battery Life
80 %
Ease of Use
77 %
Sound Quality
81 %
Features
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Battery Life
81 %
Ease of Use
78 %
Sound Quality
81 %
Features
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.8
Battery Life
78 %
Ease of Use
74 %
Sound Quality
76 %
Features
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.01.20)
Amazon Link
$143.00

10 Best Car Alarms

1. Wsdcam

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Wsdcam
Amazon Link
Battery Life
99
Ease of Use
98
Sound Quality
96
Features
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Remote for easy turn-off

110 db alarm sound (very loud)

Affordable price

Long battery life

Peel-and-stick makes it usable everywhere

Cons:

Adjust sensitivity correctly or else it’s too sensitive

Alarm doesn’t sound for very long

Our first alarm choice is one of the best on the market right now. While there are plenty of different brands and products out there, wsdCam is one of the top makers of car alarm technology. This is also one of the most highly rated products that has a thoroughly decent number of reviews, making us confident in our recommendation of the product. Not only that, but this is one car alarm that has an incredibly loud sound. There’s definitely no question that you’ll be able to hear it a mile away.

If only it was this easy to adjust our emotional sensitivity. Many alarms are manufactured with the idea that any sort of pressure, push, squeeze, or jiggle is someone trying to break into your car. While that’s great for those that are hyper security-minded, it’s not great for most of our day-to-day lives. This alarm (which can also be used for windows, doors, and bikes) has adjustable sensitivity levels. You can set it to detect a yank rather than a nudge, or a lean rather than a brush. What a great feature!

Car alarms are only effective if they have the battery life to last. Some more intense alarms might be wired into your system, but for the young 20-something taking their Grandparents’ old car away to school for the first time, you likely don’t have the luxury of wiring a car alarm in. That’s where peel-and-stick alarms are so handy, like this one. All you need to do is set it on standby and trust that the alarm will do the work. And do the work it will! You’ll only need to re-juice it once every year.

Thinking about the fact that a new car with a built-in alarm system is ridiculously out of our budget, the low price of this alarm is a steal. Or rather, it will keep your stuff from being stolen for a great, low price! Not only are we happy to report that this product lasts for a long time, but it’s also compatible with many different placements, cars, and other pieces of property you might own. Due to the longevity, the variety of uses, and the sheer effectiveness of this alarm, we believe that it’s well deserving of the top spot on our list.

2. XENA (XX10-SS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
XENA (XX10-SS
Amazon Link
Battery Life
94
Ease of Use
95
Sound Quality
97
Features
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$82.95
Pros:

Freeze-spray resistant

Lightweight, but durable

120 db alarm

Sensitive response

Is a lock

Cons:

Batteries run down fairly quickly

Very sensitive; cannot stay on the bike while riding

Yes, believe it or not, motorcycles can be broken into as well. Not only do riders tend to store non-essentials (and something essentials if they’re actually riding the bike) in the storage department tucked up on the back of the bike, but they can also have parts of their motorcycle stolen… Let alone the whole thing! All bikers will agree that there’s nothing more devastating than walking out with your helmet and finding a portion of your bike has been mangled or detached. Now you can protect your bike with help from XENA, warrior car alarm.

Manufacturing can be a make or break piece for a lot of these car alarm products. Not only do we end up disappointed if they break or cease working after a short amount of time, but often it undermines our trust in alarms as a whole. If anything were to happen, would the alarm actually go off? Would we be able to get the peace of mind we need? With the XENA brand crafting this alarm, you know it’s going to be high quality. In fact, this alarm is so well made that it can even resist a freeze-spray often used to break locks off of bikes. If that’s not sturdy, we don’t know what is.

On top of being an incredibly sturdy car alarm, it’s also a fantastic lock. Not only does the sturdiness help with that, but the fact that it fits over your disc is also a great aspect. The design features of this lock are fantastic, and that’s incredibly impressive for a product like this. Not only are we no longer worried about whether or not someone is stealing the bike, we know that they physically can’t! That’s even more effective than an alarm!

At one of the more expensive options on our list, this is a great choice for a serious biker who wants to keep their precious motorcycle safe. While we don’t know how effective it would be on two-wheeled cycling bikes or cars, we think it’s important that different modes of transport have different protective alarms. The quality and durability of this combination car alarm and lock make it well worth the money you’re putting out.

3. Favoto TPMS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Favoto TPMS
Amazon Link
Battery Life
94
Ease of Use
95
Sound Quality
95
Features
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Solar and USB powered

Individual sensors included

Many alarm settings/options

Easy install

Great customer service

Cons:

Screen hard to read

No security benefits

This highly rated system might actually be one of our personal favorites, solely due to the fact that it’s got so many cool bells and whistles on it. The installation is easy and is effective almost immediately. While the best products are the ones that we’re going to use, sometimes we don’t know how often we’re going to use something until we’re actually using it. This is a product that’s got that surprising sort of necessity. We actually love it a lot, even if we never thought it was important to know tire pressure before.

This is the first product we’ve seen that has the capacity to monitor and report tire pressure. If you’ve noticed your car is getting more difficult to drive, it could be a secret tire leak. It’s shocking but true. This feature allows you to monitor your tire pressure, ensuring that you’re getting a smooth drive every time. Not to mention all the other cool features it has as well! The cool stuff is endless on this product.

One of the coolest things about this alarm system over the other alarm systems on our list is the fact that it’s so easy to use! All you need to do is slide it onto your car dashboard, attach the sensors in the appropriate places, and wait. You don’t even need to change the batteries on anything. This is a product that’s both solar powered and USB powered, providing two sources of power for one awesome product. This keeps it working all year round, and lets you continue your normal use of the car’s USB charger.

While the product might not be exactly what you’re looking for in a car security product, we believe that it’s a unique alarm system that does serve a purpose in the grand scheme of this list. People want to be alerted of all sorts of things, including tire pressure. Keeping you safe on the road is a huge benefit and one that this car alarm and monitoring system has down pat. We love this product and know that you will too, especially for the average, fits-any-budget price. However, if you’re wanting more of a security system, you might want to look somewhere else.

4. Viper 5606V

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Viper 5606V
Amazon Link
Battery Life
93
Ease of Use
91
Sound Quality
91
Features
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.52
Pros:

Wired right into the car

Remote controlled

2000 feet response range

6 tone siren alarm

Good price for the quality and longevity

Cons:

Needs to be electronically wired in; might need a professional

More expensive

Viper is a tried and true alarm system that will certainly set your mind at ease. Now you don’t need to worry about your small change-holder getting cleaned out while you’re at your 8 pm lecture. Viper appears a few times on our list, making it one of the best and brightest in the car alarm world. This make and model is a little different from some of the other ones we’ve included, and well deserves the last of our top three spots. This car alarm might be a little more high-tech, but it’s well worth it.

Remote controlled cars sound like they’re for kids, but this remote control for your car actually is a very grown-up purchase. The alarm itself comes with everything needed to protect your car for years to come. The remote control is a nice touch, as it allows us to control the alarm from far away. Like a FOB key but better, this remote has a range that’s listed as 2,000 feet. Maybe that sounds like a little too much but trust us: if you can see your car from your window to check when the alarm is going off, you don’t want to go outside every time it was a kid’s wayward basketball that set it off. The alarm means you can disarm it from the comfort of your office window.

Some alarms will sit on the side of your car door, only going off when someone has actively opened the car, and only if it still has the battery life left to make a loud beep. We believe that that’s not as effective as having an alarm that’s wired into your car, despite the fact that that’s a luxury that’s often only in newer or more expensive cars. This product means we’re able to get a wired car alarm into any car system. Now even Grandad’s old beater can have an in-car alarm system! And no worries about battery life!

This alarm might be a little more expensive right out the gate, but the cost it saves is absolutely priceless. It’s definitely one of the higher-end models, but we believe it’s well worth the price. Keep in mind that if you’re not an electronics person (and we mean wiring electronics, not all you Google Homeowners out there) that you’ll likely want to invest a little extra money into getting a professional to wire it up. That’s ultimately going to raise the price of this product, making it out of some people’s price range. If you tend to travel with a bunch of expensive things in your car, though, it’s worth the investment.

5. Uxcell

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Uxcell
Amazon Link
Battery Life
88
Ease of Use
88
Sound Quality
85
Features
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Silent protection

Remote controlled

Excellent price

Compatible with almost every car

Durable and great longevity

Cons:

Not technically an alarm

Might require a professional to help wire it properly

We’ve seen the benefits of a wired-in car alarm clearly outlined in the Viper models. But what happens when we don’t have a large amount of money to spend on what is essentially an electronics kit? Where there’s a will, there’s a way, and Amazon almost always has a lower-cost option out there. This is the product that’s hugely beneficial to anyone who’s wanting to pay a little extra for the installation rather than the product itself. While we haven’t heard as much about the Uxcell brand, it looks like a pretty snazzy way to keep your car safe.

If that sounds weird, it’s because it is. We’ll admit: there aren’t actually a whole lot of alarms out there on Amazon. The variety is good, up to a point. But then it becomes a little tricky trying to find options that are different but still reputable. This car system might be more of an automatic lock system, but we’re stretching the definition of “alarm” to include other kinds of protective devices. While you might not be able to hear it from half a mile away, you can certainly ensure that your locks are controlled electronically rather than by a key (or coat hanger lock-pick). Plus, no annoying accidental set-offs. Your neighbors will be so happy!

Oftentimes we find ourselves ordering clothing online. We read the size charts, look at the product, and purchase a shirt or pants that we’re really excited about. We wait and we wait, and when it finally does arrive… It doesn’t fit! That’s the most disappointing feeling in the world, isn’t it? This positive aspect of the car remote lock is the end result of our frustrations with online ordering. The fact that this mechanism can fit into any car is the best. Now there are no worries about ordering and having it not fit. Man, if only button-up shirts could be that way.

Compared to the Viper mechanism that we looked at above, this product is a steal. The price is on the lower end of all of our options on this list, which isn’t bad if you end up needing to hire an electrical professional to put it into your car. We don’t particularly trust ourselves with rewiring the entire electrical circuitry of our car in order to put in this protective device, but at such a low cost it makes it fully accessible.

6. CarLock

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
CarLock
Amazon Link
Battery Life
89
Ease of Use
82
Sound Quality
87
Features
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$58.95
Pros:

Silent alarm; notifies you directly

Thorough tracking and monitoring

Fairly priced

Compatible with almost every car

Customer service helpful

Cons:

Ongoing fee (monthly)

Some reports of difficult setup

People, this is the future of car alarms. Maybe you laughed at all our talk about the “silent alarm” (AKA a regular old mechanized car lock) but that’s not the case anymore. Silent alarms are said to be more effective than the typical noisy alarms. At least, according to CarLock, a company that’s determined to give you the best in the world of car safety and security. The features of this program are endless. While it might not be in the vein of our typical screechy alarms, it’s certainly a great option for those who’d prefer the proof of their car’s security right in the palm of their hand.

We’re often confused by the technology that continues to come out today. Maybe we’re just getting old, but what’s so great about no-touch lights and “smart” screens that can babysit? If you ask us, technology can become more complicated than it needs to be more quickly than one would expect. This app, however, is something we can get behind. This car alarm works by syncing to your handheld device, making it possible for you to know the whereabouts of your car even if you’re not driving. Now you don’t need to listen carefully for the sound of an alarm that’s probably exactly like everyone else’s on the street. Now you’ll know by the click of a button if your car is safe or not.

It’s not just thieves and rascals that can jeopardize your car’s health. Low battery life and internal issues, as well as rowdy teens and slippery conditions, can all jeopardize your car. Regular car alarms can’t tell you when you should take your car in for a battery check. This one, however, can. It’s also set up to monitor where the car goes and when, and can store the vehicle history as well. Not to mention the fact that it can alert you when the car is accelerating past a safe speed, and when it’s taking sharp turns or other illegal maneuvers.

This is a unique product, which usually means we should expect the price to be a little bit higher. That is the case with this product, however, it’s not out of our budget. The fact that this alarm is also incredibly reliable, and doesn’t necessarily have to be dependent on batteries means you’re also paying for the peace of mind. More than anything we’re pleased with the fact that it’s such a thorough alarm product. While there is an ongoing upkeep fee for the app that the notifications run on, it’s almost negligible compared to the amount of value you’ll get out of it. Especially if you have one car split between the adults and teens in your home.

7. Viper 5906V

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Viper 5906V
Amazon Link
Battery Life
85
Ease of Use
83
Sound Quality
80
Features
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$386.99
Pros:

Alarm sounds in your pocket (FOB alarm option)

Works as a key as well as an alarm

Bright, easy-to-read screen

Quick recharge

Excellent quality

Cons:

The remote is large

The buttons are very sensitive; must enable “key lock” mode.

We’re back with another Viper product, and with good reason. Viper is an incredibly well-loved brand in the world of car alarms and security. While some companies might just have one or two variations on the same alarm, they have several. They know what we’re looking for and they’ve given it to us time and time again. If you’re not sure what kind of car alarm to get, but know that you want something reliable, check out this one.

So often we read about car alarm additions that are battery powered. Sure, it seems fine and dandy on the surface, but how many of us have battery powered things that we never use anymore because we keep forgetting to buy more batteries? This is a much better choice in the world of car alarms because it’s such minimal effort to keep it going. The alarm component itself is a USB charge, and one review said it only takes an hour to fully recharge it! The technology itself lasts for several weeks. Several weeks, one hour of no protection, and then several weeks of security? Sounds like zero effort for a huge amount of reward!

No, the car thief doesn’t have to be stealing your remote before the alarm will go off. While this product is more of a remote FOB which can unlock, lock, and start your car, it’s also a fantastic piece of technical engineering. Why put the alarm on the car when you might not even be within ear range to hear it? When we think about it, it really doesn’t make sense. That’s why the fact that you can set the alarm to go off on your remote (which will be wherever you are since it’s your new key) is so amazing! Now you’ll never miss an alert again.

This is far and away one of the most expensive options for our car alarm list, but the benefits just might be worth it. For those that have an expensive car, it’s a great choice. You can integrate this product in seamlessly with your already existing security system and will know that the peace of mind is sitting pretty in your pocket in the form of a FOB alarm. The value is huge. Is it worth breaking the budget for those of us who don’t necessarily have this much money to spend? Not really. We suggest checking out the cheaper options first.

8. X AUTOHAUX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
X AUTOHAUX
Amazon Link
Battery Life
80
Ease of Use
77
Sound Quality
81
Features
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Warning lights for car exiting

Well made (excellent quality, if installed correctly)

Car lock feature as well as alarm

Includes remote

Universal (fits almost every car)

Cons:

Requires professional installation

No manual, so no option for self-installation

We’ve seen so many different types of alarm and security systems it can feel overwhelming. We know. You might not be able to decide between the different types of security systems that are floating around out there. While we hope this list will help, we do recognize that it’s difficult. Especially when there are such great all-in-one options for car alarms out there, like this product. X AUTOHAUX has refined the craft of the car alarm to an alarming degree. It’s loud, it’s proud, and it’s ready to protect your car.

Technology is great, as long as it works. Some people might be okay replacing jeans and sweaters every couple of months, but your technology should have a much, much longer lifespan. That’s one of the things that we like about this product. The longevity is huge, especially if you get a professional to wire it into your car. This is a product for those looking for a long-term solution. Not a short-term one. It might even last longer than your car if you have a particularly old and beaten-up one!

This is a unique feature that we haven’t seen in any other products. Due to the fact that this is a product that’s wired into your car, it has the capacity to integrate with several features. Locks, alarms, and even the lights! This system provides warning lights when you’re parked. After parking, if you open any of the doors the appropriately-sided warning light will come on in order to let other drivers know “hey, a person is about to pop out.”

Sure, this product is a little more expensive than other peel and stick options for motion or vibration sensing alarms. This doesn’t mean that it’s ridiculous or out of the ordinary, however. The sheer usefulness of this product makes it absolutely possible to justify spending in the middle of the road. This budget-friendly option isn’t the cheapest, but it’s nowhere near the most expensive. And the value? Absolutely comparable to some of the more expensive options on this list.

9. Viper 5806V

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Viper 5806V
Amazon Link
Battery Life
81
Ease of Use
78
Sound Quality
81
Features
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Heavy duty system

Works with multiple vehicles

Wired into car

Comes with remote

Remote alerts when alarm is going off

Cons:

Some reports of battery draining fast

No warranty if bought on Amazon

We’re back with another Viper option, and for good reason. The car alarm systems we’ve seen so far have been great, and this Viper option just adds a little more variety into the mix. It’s a little bit more of a straightforward system, but the installation has been said to be anything but easy. This is a great option for a car super-enthusiast who is looking for a project and has a lot of experience with electronics. Anyone else, you’ll want to either take it to a professional or skip this one entirely.

So many of these alarm and lock systems only work with one car. That’s not the case with this purchase, as Viper knows that for many homes they’re looking at more than one motorized vehicle. This system supports both your vehicle and somebody else’s vehicle, making it easy to get the whole family involved in auto-security. Now that’s certainly a feature we haven’t seen before on this list!

This is a remarkably specific product feature that we just love when we heard about it. The “pit stop” mode is one that we didn’t know we needed. This is a feature that allows the car to stay running, but lets you lock your doors after exiting the car. This means you’re able to pop out to bring back those Tupperware Mom gave you at supper last week. It also means you can quickly run into the store to pay for something, or even pop out and grab that abandoned couch off the side of the road. The options are endless in Pit Stop mode.

For the amount of money that this product costs, we actually aren’t totally convinced that it’s worth it. While we love Viper, this product just seems a little too advanced for most car owners. While it’s great to have a more intense option out there for those that want it, we can’t recommend it to the average car owner. The quality might be great, but adding on a professional installation fee makes this product just way too much of a cost for the price.

10. Viper Responder 350

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.8
Viper Responder 350
Amazon Link
Battery Life
78
Ease of Use
74
Sound Quality
76
Features
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$143.00
Pros:

Keyless Entry Options

Two remotes

Build-your-own trigger options

Durable and high quality

Great range

Cons:

Replacement remotes are expensive (if you lose both)

Will likely need professional wiring.

Finishing off our list today is yet another Viper system. It only seemed right, considering the fact that they’ve dominated most of our list so far. While the Viper systems are effective, it’s not always the top choice. That’s why there’s a variety of car alarm options out there, though. We’re always able to find something we like. This Viper system is a classic, and we love that fact. The product is thorough, complete, and well equipped to handle any and all security concerns your car will ever have.

Does this seem a bit silly? If it does, you’re not thinking about all the implications two remotes can have! Not only do we not have to carry around a big, screen-laden remote control, but we can even share the responsibilities with our trusted co-pilots when going on road trips. Yes, the two remotes are different. However, they have very similar functions, and both are included in this well-established Viper product.

Anyone who’s done research into alarms will know that it’s seldom possible to find an alarm system that lets you program your own triggers. Most alarm systems will have a vibration or movement sensitivity that you can set. This means that you could set your car alarm to go off every time a bird lands on your car. Or you could set it so only aggressive door banging will make it go off. It doesn’t give much room for extenuating circumstances, however. The fact that you can build your own triggers into this alarm is a very nice feature, especially for those of us who live in a neighborhood where wayward basketballs or baseballs might hit the bumper every now and then.

Yes, the cost is higher than our budget options. Does that mean we should overlook it? Not necessarily. We like the smaller features on this product and know that it’s definitely going to be good quality if the Viper name is behind it. We personally feel that this product is an incredibly good value for its cost. It’s going to last for a very long time, and you never have to worry about a remote replacement cost. Losing one is likely, but losing two? No way! While it might be the last one on our list, we think it’s worth it.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Application

In many of the products we’ve looked at installation hasn’t been a huge issue. Even in the shelving units and dressers, things that typically require a little bit of hardware and elbow grease, haven’t had their installation methods looked at as closely as this product. You might think that that’s odd but trust us. There’s a very good reason for it and an even better reason to consider it as an integral part of purchasing.

The installation methods for car alarm systems vary from placing a sensor on a car to rewiring the dashboard. If you’re not a confident electronics person (and even if you are), any option that requires wiring will likely need to be taken to a professional. We know that we wouldn’t be confident rewiring a car ourselves. For the average reader, this means that there’s not only an additional time commitment that needs to go into setting up this car alarm but more money too.

Taking the installation methods into consideration was an important part of how we decided to rank these products. Amazon buyers are looking for reliable, effective, and fast. If you need to wait three weeks for an opening at your local garage, that’s neither effective nor fast. While it’s certainly reliable (and potentially more reliable than the battery powered car alarm options) it’s not ideal for the home car enthusiast.

Features

Features are some of the most exciting parts of technology. How many of us have chosen one cell phone over another just because it’s got cool buttons or a novel selfie button? How many of you choose a dress with pockets over a dress without? Inevitably we all get suckered in by the features. These neat little side qualities that add to the overall selling features of the smartphone, dress, or car alarm system.

The alarm systems are the best of the best in the world of security, which is why we couldn’t help but look at their extra features as an exciting way of determining who would take the top, and subsequent, spots. The features vary depending on the purpose of the car alarm system. Sometimes we focused on the basics, and sometimes we were really impressed by the extras. Things like tire pressure, vehicle tracking, and exit monitoring all were things that helped certain models in the judging process. While we have ensured the basic quality of the alarms is high, we couldn’t help but sneak a peek at some of the other options. After all, why get a regular old alarm when you can also get one that’s solar-powered?

Value

Price Range is always a tricky thing. Not only do we have a variety of budgets to consider, but there are always outliers that make it difficult to keep within a single range. While the price range of various car alarms is huge, we’ve tried to consider both budget options and higher price points. If you’re prepared to spend several hundred dollars on a car alarm, we certainly don’t want to stop you. As folks who are providing information, that’s what we’re going to do. We’re going to give you all the options and let you decide for yourself.

Many of these products, no matter what price range they’re at, are well worth the amount of money that’s going being put out for them. While sometimes we find similar products with wildly different prices, this is a type of product that has a value and specs that are typically balanced to its cost. Not only can you rest assured that you’re getting good quality products, but you know that the price you’re paying is fair. Even if it is pretty high.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Know What Your Car Needs

Before purchasing your car alarm you want to take a look at your car, and what it truly needs. The more advanced and up to date your is the more elaborate your alarm system should be. Therefore, you want to research and find a system that will give you peace of mind all-year-round.

Mount Your System Properly

When you're mounting your new system you want to make sure you read all the directions, and do it properly, if not you do risk not having the amount of security that is offered from the product you just purchased.

Other Factors to Consider

Sound Quality

When you’re buying an alarm system for your car, one of the very first things you want to pay attention to is the sound quality of it. Your alarm should have sound clear enough for you to hear it from anywhere in your home or area that you’re visiting. Additionally, you might want to consider having a system that offers you different sound volumes, so you have the ability to customize it to what best fits you. This is important if you tend to park your car a bit further away from your home during the evenings.

Durability

Whether you’re purchasing a well-known car alarm system or you’re simply searching for the right one for you, making sure its durable will be an excellent plus in the long run. Alarm systems are expensive; therefore, you want to purchase a product that will not only work at its maximum potential but will last you just as long. Having a durable product will ensure you will have a protected car for quite a while without much hassle or interference.

Advanced Features

Another important information to keep in mind is how many features you’re getting, as technology becomes more advanced most electronics come with added bonuses such as an app, customizable sounds, double battery and even live tracking. Keeping that in mind, you want to check what additional features you’re getting for the price of your product, finding an alarm that has added features will benefit you in multiple ways, including helping you have more control over how secure your car is when you’re away from it.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is this compatible with my car?

a:

Generally, yes. Most of these products are universal, which means that they’re able to integrate with a number of different car options. We love the fact that these car alarm systems exist. If you’re looking at this buying guide, you probably like the idea of them too. That’s no surprise. After all, car alarms are becoming increasingly necessary in this day and age. The variety of cars out there can mean general confusion when it comes to actually choose a car alarm, however. We recommend grabbing your car’s specs and reading the specific requirements included in the car alarm systems. That’s the best way to figure out if they’re compatible or not.

q: Does the alarm system monitor anything else?  

a:

Some of them can! A few of these alarm systems can monitor things like speed, location, driving habits, and even whether or not you’re about to get out of the car. While hypersensitive alarms are great, sometimes we want a little more subtlety. A few of these products are able to detect changes in tire pressure and car battery life as well, making it a must for those that have older beaters or second-hand cars. Generally, this is a great option for people that are looking to have a fully secured picture of their car. Sometimes there’s no need for all that, though, which is why there are a few options that only feature alarm systems.

q: How effective is it?

a:

Well, it depends on what sort of effectiveness you’re looking for. Yes, some of the products are incredibly effective. For those that live in a loud neighborhood with many car alarms, you might be disappointed in the effectiveness. It’s easy to become jaded about car alarms when you live with two or three going off every day. There are options out there for you, like the app-based security system. We also know that there are a few options that will send the alarm to your key rather than your car. While it might not scare a thief (unless you set it to both alert your remote and the car), you will know for sure that it’s your car the alarm is referring to.