to top 10 table

Best LED Grow Lights Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Jul 03, 2019

You know the saying, the grass is always greener on the other side? Yeah us too, but that doesn’t always have to be the case with LED grow lights. These lights make it super easy to grow grass, flowers or whatever you want in any environment. Pretty cool huh? Now you can use the power of plants to brighten up any space. You no longer have to worry about if the space will get enough sunlight or worry about cold weather because these LED grow light will make growing plants in any environment easy peasy. So we decided to put together our top 10 favorites LED grow lights. We researched them, rated them for quality and highlighted the benefits as well as their pros and cons so you can easily find LED grow lights that are perfect for you.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 39 hrs of research

icon
Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum
98/100 our score
Effectiveness
99
Size
98
Safety Hazards
98
Materials
97
Durability
98
Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum
Why is it better?

No UV bulbs, making it safe for humans

Aluminum backplate

Hanging kit

Light spectrum options

Excellent light reach

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum
Test Winner: Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
5
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10750
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
15000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
39
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Anna Marie
By Anna Marie:

This recent update has been done to highlight the benefits and quality of our favorite LED grow lights. This information has been updated and rewriter to make it easier to read and more digestible. If have any questions, please stop by put FAQ section at the bottom of the page. Happy shopping!

Sorting Options
Effectiveness Size Safety Hazards Materials Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Effectiveness
99 %
Size
98 %
Safety Hazards
98 %
Materials
97 %
Durability
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Effectiveness
97 %
Size
96 %
Safety Hazards
98 %
Materials
96 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$26.96
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Effectiveness
95 %
Size
94 %
Safety Hazards
97 %
Materials
96 %
Durability
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$31.59
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Effectiveness
96 %
Size
93 %
Safety Hazards
95 %
Materials
94 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Effectiveness
95 %
Size
92 %
Safety Hazards
96 %
Materials
93 %
Durability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$89.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Effectiveness
95 %
Size
90 %
Safety Hazards
92 %
Materials
94 %
Durability
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$229.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Effectiveness
92 %
Size
93 %
Safety Hazards
90 %
Materials
89 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$78.50
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Effectiveness
91 %
Size
90 %
Safety Hazards
92 %
Materials
88 %
Durability
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$92.85
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Effectiveness
88 %
Size
85 %
Safety Hazards
91 %
Materials
89 %
Durability
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Effectiveness
92 %
Size
82 %
Safety Hazards
85 %
Materials
87 %
Durability
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$65.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum
  • Moer Sky 3-Head Moer Sky 3-Head
  • Bozily Bozily
  • Sondiko Dimmable Sondiko Dimmable
  • Phlizon Newest 600W Phlizon Newest 600W
  • AeroGarden AeroGarden
  • Shengsite UFO 250 Shengsite UFO 250
  • Root Farm 45W Root Farm 45W
  • TaoTronics TaoTronics
  • VIVOSUN 300W LED VIVOSUN 300W LED
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Expert Interviews & Opinions
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Best LED Grow Lights

1. Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Toplanet 75w Full Spectrum
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
99
Size
98
Safety Hazards
98
Materials
97
Durability
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

No UV bulbs, making it safe for humans

Aluminum backplate

Hanging kit

Light spectrum options

Excellent light reach

Cons:

Some reports of long shipping wait times

One report of light going out after a couple months

Starting us off is one of the best LED grow lamps out there. Not only are there many options when it comes to grow lights, but there’s also many styles. This light lamp panel is a brilliant choice for folks who have a large spread of plants. It’s perfect for those indoor herb gardens, as well as patio growers who might want to give their flowers a little extra love.

Read more

Hanger Kit
One of the trickiest parts of LED Grow lights is the fact that often we need to hang them in order to get the full range of light for our plant friends. The higher the light, the bigger the span of reach. While this is great for those folks who are handy and equipped, it’s not ideal for those of us who are just looking for an easy lamp. This Toplanet light is a great middle ground as it comes with a hanger kit. This makes hanging the light easy, and doesn’t require a last-minute pick up for any extra hardware.

Let There Be Light Spectrums
Not all plants are the same. In the same way that people have different needs, so do plants. Some plants need warmer climates, while some need it cool and dark. One thing that surprised us about these plant grow lights was the fact that plants actually have different spectrums of light that help with their photosynthesis the best. Toplant’s LED grow light offers the ability to change the spectrum of light you’re using, matching whatever spectrum your little plant babies need to succeed.

Cost and Value
This averagely priced plant light is an excellent example of a high quality product for a low price. This is an excellent product for the price it is, and we know that anyone would be happy with the results they get from this LED grow light. Plus, it’s energy-saving, meaning it won’t hike up your electric bill either.

2. Moer Sky 3-Head

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Moer Sky 3-Head
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
97
Size
96
Safety Hazards
98
Materials
96
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.96
Pros:

Three different heads

Adjustable necks

Affordable price

Automatic timer

Long heads provide an excellent spread of light

Cons:

One review said no instruction booklet was included

Buttons can stick/be tricky to press

This grow light is coming in second, but it could easily have been picked for our top spot. Depending on the needs your plants present this option could be one of the best ones. Grow lights are a tricky subject for many, as it can feel like a lot of work to remember to turn on and off the light in accordance with your plant’s personal schedule. Moer Sky’s grow light is the best solution to scheduling problems, and is the perfect set-and-forget light for your indoor or outdoor greenhouse station.

Read more

Timer
Sometimes timers are tricky, needing to be set and reset every day. Don’t even get us started on time changes as well, as then we need to go back in and update our timers every time a clock jumps forward or backwards. And that, simply put, is no way to live. This timer isn’t clock-based, which means you don’t need to remember to do a thing. The timer can be set for 3, 6, and 12 hour increments, making it an amazing choice for anyone looking to get their unruly plants on a strict schedule.

Adjustable Heads
In the same way that your favorite reading lamp has an adjustable head to hit just the right reading position, this LED grow light has three adjustable heads. You could face them all together or you could turn them in totally different directions. You could even curve them around, creating a glowing plant circle. However you need to place them, these lights have a complete range of mobility.

Cost and Value
Pennies more than our top choice, this is another excellent option for those looking for high quality with a lower price. This grow light itself boasts a whole lot of benefits, making it easy to see why anyone would want to invest in this growing option. Your plants will be pleased as well as you; especially since there’s no need to worry after setting the timers.

3. Bozily

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Bozily
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
95
Size
94
Safety Hazards
97
Materials
96
Durability
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.59
Pros:

Thin and light

High wattage

Waterproof

Large light span

Simple design

Cons:

Does not come with plug

Reports of missing pieces

This last option is certainly not the least. The Bozily LED plant grow light is a fine option for those looking for the “cheap and cheerful” choice. While there’s been a few issues surrounding shipping, the product itself seems to be a standard LED grow light. We like the fact that it’s basically no-frills, even if some might be more inclined to purchase a lamp that comes with a plug.

Read more

Waterproof
Waterproofing is important in a garden. The plants might like the rain just fine, but grow lights are another story. Getting hooked up to an electrical outlet or generator can spell bad news for a light that’s not waterproofed and ready to live in the wet and cold weather. This light is all set, as the description lists it as being a “waterproof grade design”.

It’s A Light Light
It sounds silly, but we’re actually talking about two different types of light here. The light itself looks a little big and bulky in the product photos, but believe us when we say it’s actually quite slim and trim. Some might even say “light”. It doesn’t have a whole lot of weight or bulk to it, making this a very light light. Not to mention the fact that the cover is made of a light metal, making it easy to pick up and move around your garden.

Cost and Value
This isn’t the cheapest light, but that might not be an issue for some. It sits at a little bit higher than average, but cheaper than some of the other lights that fall into that category. We like the fact that the product is upfront about what it offers, but we don’t necessarily feel that it’s the most bang for your buck. If you think the thinner body is worth it aesthetically, go for it. If you’re on the fence about purchasing this product, we suggest striking it and looking at some of the other options.

4. Sondiko Dimmable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Sondiko Dimmable
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
96
Size
93
Safety Hazards
95
Materials
94
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

Compact design

Dimmable brightness

Two pack option

USB adaptable

Money back guarantee if it doesn’t meet its quality standards

Cons:

Does not come with stand

Some reports of loose wiring

This is a little bit of a different take on grow lights. Not only is there less of an emphasis on it being a lamp, but the Sondiko LED grow light is more compact than other lights. It’s very technically-minded, and is totally focused on its one true task of keeping your plants happy. Plus, it also has a 2-pack option!

Read more

Adhesive Options
If you were impressed by the hanging kit our first light came with, get ready to have your mind blown regarding this light’s hanging options too. While it might not come with brackets and braces like the first option we looked at, this light includes both magnets and adhesive pads. This makes hanging your light easy no matter what surface you’re trying to adhere it to.

Dimmable For Sweet Dreams
Unlike other lights, this Sondiko LED Grow Light Bar is able to have its light strength adjusted. While it’s partially because different plants might require a different strength of light, we believe that there’s also an element of comfort for the human involved. If your plants are on a 6 hour light timer, you don’t want to be woken up in the middle of the night by a bright grow light clicking on. By adjusting the nighttime brightness to 25% your plants will get what they need, while you get what you need: a good sleep!

Cost and Value
This is definitely a cheaper option, as even the two pack sells for less than one of our top two grow lights. While there have been a few reports of unhappy customers, on the whole the reviews are very positive. While it might not be as high a quality manufacturing-wise as our top choice, this is definitely a good option for someone who just wants to see if LED grow lights are actually worth the investment.

5. Phlizon Newest 600W

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Phlizon Newest 600W
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
95
Size
92
Safety Hazards
96
Materials
93
Durability
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.99
Pros:

Humidity monitor

Includes a temperature thermometer

Very high quality manufacturing

Different setting for different types of plants

2 year warranty

Cons:

Some reports of noise from the fans

Power cord is short

This is an LED grow light for those that are serious about building up their jungle. One of the most high-tech options out there, Phlizon is an innovator in the world of LED grow lights. This is a light that will absolutely make plants luscious and lovely, with many fancy accoutrements for those that are wanting a more sophisticated growing experience.

Read more

Double The Switches
We know what you’re thinking: why does the number of switches help when looking at growing plants? Going for an on/off set up seems great in theory, but what happens when that on/off is limiting your plant’s growing capabilities? We believe in giving young seedlings the opportunity to succeed. Just like children, plants are more likely to do well if they’re given the right tools, nutrients, and capabilities. Two switches means you’re able to choose if you want to engage “bloom” or “veg” mode. Both flowers and vegetables can be supported in the way they need to be now!

Safety Minded
Maybe this isn’t a priority for everyone, but safety is an important quality for those that truly care about their plant babies (or real, human babies). Safety is the name of the game for this company, which is focused on keeping your little green family safe. Phlizon, in their product description, mentions how light reflectors are not heat resistant. When a short circuit occurs, LED lights that utilize a reflector can melt, breakdown, or worse. This company doesn’t use any reflectors for their LEDs, making the chance of a meltdown little to none.

Cost and Value
For the high price, it’s hard to tell if you’re really getting a markedly better product. While the longevity reports have been good (and their two year warranty is a nice touch), it’s hard for us to be convinced that this is worth it for the casual gardener. If you’re someone who wants to take your growing plants seriously and scientifically, go for it. If you’re just hoping for a couple extra tomatoes this year, maybe try another light.

6. AeroGarden

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
AeroGarden
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
95
Size
90
Safety Hazards
92
Materials
94
Durability
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$229.99
Pros:

Height grows with the plants

Tilting lamp for great reach

Tabletop size

Great quality

Can be customized

Cons:

High price

Legs said to be a little wobbly

Landing solidly in the middle is the AeroGarden LED Grow Light Panel. This product is perfect for those little kitchen herb gardens, seedlings, or miniature jungles. This grow panel is basically an all-in-one plant growing kit; just add dirt, seeds, and water! We believe that AeroGarden has really found their niche with these things. They’re incredibly practical, and do just as much to help as other grow lights. And they take up a fraction of the space!

Read more

Height Adapting
“Gee, that’s really short,” you think, scrolling past the product and shaking your head. Don’t move on just yet, though. One of the things you might not get just from glancing at it is the fact that this product is actually adjustable. It can extend upwards in order to match the height of your plants as they grow. Not only that, but the panel itself can tip and tilt in order to get the perfect angle for your plants.

Tabletop Size
We never seem to have enough space in our lives. Emotionally, physically, even mentally it’s easy for us to run out of space. Patios seem to accumulate stuff easily, which is why it’s nice to be able to bring some of those crowded plants indoors. AeroGarden knows that we can only stand to lose so much counter space. By being able to stick the plants right underneath this grow light there’s a doubling up of space that makes efficiency seekers incredibly happy.

Cost and Value
This LED grow light is again one of the more expensive options. While we believe it’s worth it for those that do a lot of sprouting and tabletop gardening, it’s not going to be effective for the patio gardener. The small size makes it compact, easy to handle, and will get you excellent results. You might want to consider something bigger for a larger amount of plants, though.

7. Shengsite UFO 250

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Shengsite UFO 250
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
92
Size
93
Safety Hazards
90
Materials
89
Durability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$78.50
Pros:

Stays cool

Very bright

Adjustable height

Includes a timer

Plant growth directions included

Cons:

Cannot look into light without sunglasses

Some discrepancies of quality

This Shengsite LED grow light shows us that there’s more to life than staying in the box. This is one of the only circular grow lights we’ve found, making it much more aesthetically attractive than some of the bulky and boxy ones. This is also one of the brightest LED grow lights, which is great news for those that are looking for a strong light. They even recommend wearing sunglasses when gardening underneath it!

Read more

The Whole Bouquet
We figured that this was a good time to bring up the whole does-it-or-doesn’t-it issue. Some people are adamantly against the idea that grow lights actually help plants grow. They might believe that it helps them by keeping them warm, but not that the light itself actually does anything. We’re here to point out the hundreds of reviews that counteract that idea. Many people have noticed that this light has indeed helped their plants grow more lush. The light does actually help with keeping plants happy, especially those ones that are stuck indoors.

Height Directions
Rarely do these lights come with detailed instructions on how to use them. Unfortunately many of them are focused on how to technically hang and turn on the light; this is great, especially for folks who like to grow plants because working with technology is just too hard. Those are the ones that this set of instructions is for. Not only does this light come with tips on how to set it up and hang it, but it also breaks down the optimum hanging distance for optimum growing of your wee plants.

Cost and Value
Priced a little lower than some of the others on this list, we believe that you get excellent bang for your buck with this one. Not only is this light bright and big, but it’s also built to last. You won’t be disappointed in the quality of this light, even if you were thinking about purchasing a higher priced lamp. Sometimes more money doesn’t equal higher quality.

8. Root Farm 45W

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Root Farm 45W
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
91
Size
90
Safety Hazards
92
Materials
88
Durability
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$92.85
Pros:

Extendable legs

Comes with hanging kit option

High wattage

Tabletop size

Locking clamp on legs (for plant safety)

Cons:

No on/off switch (but can be placed on a timer system)

Expensive price

This grow light is marketed as a 365-day grow light, designed to grow your plants every single day of the year (yes, even bank holidays). While you might be wondering why it’s so different from other grow lights when it looks so similar. It’s actually one of the more versatile options, though, especially when considering the fact that it’s not only the size of plants we have to consider when growing-- it’s the kind of plants we’re wanting to sprout too. Root Farm makes it easy to grow a variety of plants, both varying in size and type.

Read more

Just Hanging Out
Oh hi plants. What are you doing there? Just hanging out, or trying to grow? While growing sounds like an awesome plan, how are you going to do it when that tabletop LED grow light’s extendable legs can only extend so far? Root Farm has a solution, and we think it’s a pretty genius one. Plants need to be able to grow big and tall, which means there needs to be an option for when the tabletop planter runs out of leg height. This is when the hanging kit comes in. Root Farm has included options for both short plants (i.e. the tabletop legs) as well as big ones (i.e. the hanging kit). This versatility means your plants will always be happy hanging out with this light.

Strong Light
Having a strong light is important, especially when producing sprouts. Seedlings require a little extra love and affection, just like babies do. Strong light in early germination makes for strong plants later on in their lives. We love this Root Farm LED grow light as it’s a high wattage compared to other lamps. The combination of bulbs makes for great growing too, making the light not only strong but also effective.

Cost and Value
This grow light is definitely one of the more expensive options. While we believe it could be worth it, we don’t know if there’s enough of a difference between this light and other lights of a similar style. The quality is certainly good, but the reviews all mention that it’s pretty comparable to other similar grow lights.

9. TaoTronics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
TaoTronics
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
88
Size
85
Safety Hazards
91
Materials
89
Durability
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Standard socket

Long lifespan

Budget price

Lifetime warranty

Able to put it into the lamp that you want

Cons:

Lights a small area

Low wattage

This is one of our most unique options on the list, as it’s not really a grow light. There’s nothing lamp-y about this, as it’s really just a light bulb. That being said, it is an incredibly versatile option for those that might have a desk lamp lying around. All you need to do is replace the lamp’s bulb with this bulb, and BAM! A ready-made LED grow light.

Read more

Long Lifespan
We all want a long life, but this LED grow light has found the secret for almost invincible longevity. The lifespan of this bulb is 50,000 hours. While it might not seem like us humans, it’s basically forever for a light bulb. Light bulbs usually don’t last more than a couple hundred or thousand hours. To have 50,000 hours is more than enough to bring your plants from seed to stem.

Standard Socket
One thing that could be a drawback for many when it comes to buying specialty bulbs is the risk that comes with trying to fit a non-traditional bulb into a traditional socket. Sometimes it can feel like fitting a square peg into a round hole. Luckily with this bulb they’ve kept their socket totally traditional, making it easy to fit it into any light socket or desk lamp that you have available.

Cost and Value
In the sense that it’s a lightbulb, it is expensive. In the sense that it’s a grow light, it’s probably one of the cheapest varieties you’ll find. While you do need to provide your own socket or base, this is a light that will absolutely meet your LED grow light needs. Your plants will be happy, and your wallet will too!

10. VIVOSUN 300W LED

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
VIVOSUN 300W LED
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
92
Size
82
Safety Hazards
85
Materials
87
Durability
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$65.99
Pros:

Quiet fan

2 feet square light reach

3 year warranty

Estimated lifespan is 100,000 “on” hours

Affordable

Cons:

If using the growing tent, there are reports of light leakage

Cannot look at light or work under it (when it’s on)

This is one of the most elaborate and extravagant lights on our list, making it a must-have for any super serious greenhouse gardener. This is a product that’s able to stand up to even the toughest conditions in order to help support your plants. With everything you could ever ask for from an LED growing light, VIVOSUN has really crafted a product that’s second to none here. While it’s a little on the expensive side, it’s not bad.

Read more

Built In Cooling
The higher the wattage (and heavier duty the equipment) the more there’s a requirement for cooling. Think of it like a laptop: laptops get hot, because the materials inside of them are working hard. They need a fan to cool them down, and these LED grow lights are no different. Whatever bells and whistles are inside of this light all need calming down at some point. Luckily this light comes with a built-in cooling fan, so you never need to worry about how long the light has been on for. And the best part? The fan is basically silent.

What You See Is What You Get
A frustrating thing many reviewers have mentioned is the fact that some of the more higher wattage LED grow lights don’t actually emit the amount of light that they say they do. People have bought LUX meters and tried to identify the actual wattage. Guess what? What you see is what you get with this light, as it’s emitting exactly what the box says it’s emitting. Don’t be fooled by other brands that might try to serve you a lower wattage; trust the transparency of the VIVOSUN brand.

Cost and Value
This is the spot that’s usually reserved for the product that’s a little on the higher end, but that doesn’t always mean it breaks the budget. This LED grow light is actually a reasonable price, even if it is a little higher than some of our other options. You’re getting an incredibly high quality lamp with this price, even if it doesn’t come with a bunch of fancy settings and buttons. The basic lamp is just so good, we’re certain you won’t miss them.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

We’re always striving to bring you the best of the best. It doesn’t make sense to compare products that aren’t of a similar quality. All of these LED grow lights are made of strong, well-performing materials. They know that they’re high-quality, and that makes us more eager to share them with you.

A company that isn’t bragging about their quality probably doesn’t have anything to brag about. Good quality manufacturing is the difference between getting what you pay for versus ending up with a hole in your wallet and a broken machine on your hands. The latter is not a nice situation to be in. These companies all mentioned at least a note about their manufacturing and/or the build quality, which leads us to be confident recommending them to you.

Effectiveness

This is a fancy word that we’re basically using to mean how bright and how wide the light is. How much light do these things actually give off? LED grow lights will only help if they’re actually reaching the plants. They won’t be able to do much if their beams are too far away or not strong enough to land in the plant’s vicinity. This is part of the reason it’s important to look at the luminosity of the light.

Some people will be okay with hanging their light close to their plant, especially as their seedlings start to sprout. Some, however, want some room above their plants. These different needs require different light strengths. Especially if you’re trying to grow kitchen green beans! We’ve gone through and found lights that are adjustable, accessible, and easy to place anywhere that has access to power.

Value

The price is right for many of these lamps, but not for all of the ones that are out there. While we’re always concerned with bringing you the best quality and designs for products, one thing we need to look at as well is the price. Some manufacturers feel that they can hike up the prices just because they’ve added on a few fancy configurations. We want you to know that that’s not true.

Competitive pricing is one of the ways we decided which LED grow lights to include on our top ten list. These are the companies that understand the value of their product, and price it fairly. Some of them are even thinking competitively, pricing the lights a little lower despite the fact that they might have more qualities than other lights.

This list shows examples of LED grow lights at all price ranges: low, mid, and high price ranges. The products are all of a similar quality, though there are some distinct variations regarding what you get. Overall they’re all worth their prices. It all comes down to you and your budget now, as well as your commitment to your plant’s lives. Perhaps a more serious gardener will purchase the more expensive option, just due to the differences in manufacturing. Other gardeners might be happy with the mid-range models. Neither is wrong or bad; just different.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Why Use LED Grow Lights?

Having a green space in your house can improve the air quality, have a calming effect and make any space look beautiful. Who doesn’t want to live among stunning and fragrant plants? We are now living in a time of smart technology and quick-fix gadgets. Luckily we can use smart technology to help us grow plants anywhere. So if you want to grow plants in a less than hospitable environment, then LED grow lights are the answer. And the best part? Many of them are energy-saving and have excellent success rates.

We are seeing more and more people wanting to grown more plants in their house. And LED grow lights are the perfect solution. These lights will ensure happy and healthy plants all year round in any weather. So fret no more about dark or rainy weather. Our top LED grow light guide is meant to give you a more insight into the products, highlighting the benefits of each, making it easy for you to pick out the perfect lights for your plants. So we hope you’re feeling excited with your new LED grow light purchase.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

The size of the light spread is also important when thinking about how many plants you want to be able to fit underneath it. Lights that are strong and hangable naturally will have a farther reach with their growth-supporting beams. Lights that have a lower wattage tend to need to be kept closer to the plants.

When deciding how high of a luminosity you should get, ask yourself a couple questions: Will my plants be on a counter-top, or on the ground? Will they grow short and fluffy, or tall and lean? The shorter the plants are the more likely it is that you can get away with a lower luminosity and still get the same results.

Safety Hazards

Whether you realize it or not, the build quality does make a big difference; especially when it comes to electronics. These LED grow lights might seem like a fun little lamp to just plug in and let run, but the poorly made ones could have disastrous consequences. Electronics can short circuit, spark, and heat up so much that things start to smoke. All of these are gross consequences of poor manufacturing. Build quality needs to be on the minds of everyone at every stage of manufacturing. It’s not enough to just slap some wires together and call it a light!

All of these LED grow lights are safe. While there is a bit of a disparity between some of them (after all, it wouldn’t be a top ten list without some ranking higher than others) they’re all very well balanced when it comes to price and build quality. All of them are at the top of their ranges. Even the cheap lights are made of high quality build materials! There’s no need to be nervous about these lights. They’re all going to bring a whole lot of happiness to whatever plant babies you’re parenting.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are the benefit of using grow lamps?

a:

That’s an excellent question, and one that could be considered up to the gardener. Many people choose to use grow lamps because they want to accelerate the growth rates of their plants. Some choose to use grow lamps because they don’t live in places that get a lot of sun, or they have covered balconies that don’t get adequate light. Others want to use grow lights so they can cultivate a herb garden in their kitchen or on the dining room table. Grow lamps are designed to be a sun supplement/replacement, which is part of the reason there’s so much attention paid to the strength of the light. When you get right down to it though, the benefit to using grow lamps is to help your plant babies grow.

q: How does the light work?

a:

There are two answers to this question. Technically speaking, how the light works depends on the functionality of it. The light might have an on/off switch, or it might just be a timer. Some of them even have remote control capabilities. Some don’t even have an off switch! Ensure that you read the instruction manuals before working with the lights, as they can illuminate any confusing or tricky functions. Generally, though the lights will need to be plugged into a power source and set with a timer to turn on. The second answer to this question is in regards to how the lights themselves work. While we don’t want to get too deep into the science of this, we can give a bit of an overview of the process as an answer. The light that plants get from the sun is basically a spectrum. Plants use different parts of that spectrum for different things. Most grow lights will consist of red, blue, and white lights. Red assists with the growth of leaves, stems, and helps germination. Blue light helps with chlorophyll production. White light is the warming one, and doesn’t necessarily help with growth. These colors work together to stimulate growth in your plants, helping them grow big and bushy no matter how dark it is outside.

q: Are there different styles of light?

a:

Of course! We’ve done our best to find a plethora of styles to help you find the one that suits your life the best. The biggest and brightest grow light isn’t always going to be the one that you need. Greenhouses come in all shapes and sizes; some even live on our countertops! We’ve included lamps that are industrial, as well as lamps that are cool and contemporary enough to spice up any patio hideaway. There’s also the classic cheap and cheerful styles that will be enough to satisfy your plant’s thirst, without draining your budget.

Sources

  1. Unknown, Grow Lights, Information Website
  2. JIM HOLE, Garden Hits & Myths: Are LED grow lights worth the investment?, News Website