to top 10 table

Best Fishing Reels Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 26, 2019

Now, fishing is not what it use to be. Hundreds of years ago, fisherman and fisherwoman had it hard. They did not have the technology and advancements that we fish gurus have today. There is one particular invention that completely transformed the way human beings hunt and capture fish: the fishing reel. Sometimes, the fisherman takes these handy pieces of innovation for granted. Today, we are here to show a little appreciation for fishing reels as we offer our in-depth research and insight into the best in the class of fishing reels in 2019. So, if you are looking for a new fishing reel or want to appreciate your fishing experiences in a new way, consider one of these award-worthy products.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Shimano STRADIC FK
99/100 our score
Materials
100
Durability
99
Ease of Use
99
Comfort
99
Value
98
Shimano STRADIC FK
Why is it better?

Quality designed fishing reel that is perfect for professionals.

Many quality features that one would expect from a fishing reel at this price.

Users have mentioned that this reel never jams.

Easy to clean.

Does not rust.

Aluminum spool for better durability.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Shimano STRADIC FK
Test Winner: Shimano STRADIC FK
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
14
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
13750
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Durability Ease of Use Comfort Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Materials
100 %
Durability
99 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Comfort
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$173.40
Cabelas
$199.99
See Deal
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Materials
99 %
Durability
98 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Comfort
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$48.65
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Materials
98 %
Durability
97 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Comfort
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.98
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Materials
96 %
Durability
97 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Comfort
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$98.98
Cabelas
$99.99
See Deal
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Materials
98 %
Durability
96 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$41.35
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Materials
96 %
Durability
95 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Comfort
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$28.96
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Materials
94 %
Durability
91 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Comfort
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$119.95
Cabelas
$149.99
See Deal
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Materials
93 %
Durability
90 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Comfort
90 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$41.70
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Materials
88 %
Durability
90 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Comfort
88 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$44.97
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Materials
85 %
Durability
88 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Comfort
85 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$18.99
Cabelas
$19.99
See Deal
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Shimano STRADIC FK Shimano STRADIC FK
  • Abu Garcia BMAX3 Abu Garcia BMAX3
  • KastKing Royale KastKing Royale
  • Penn Battle II Penn Battle II
  • Okuma Ceymar Okuma Ceymar
  • Sougayilang Baitcasting Sougayilang Baitcasting
  • Pflueger Supreme XT Pflueger Supreme XT
  • Daiwa Revros Daiwa Revros
  • Piscifun Fishing Line Winder Piscifun Fishing Line Winder
  • Zebco 33 Authentic Zebco 33 Authentic
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Shimano STRADIC FK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Shimano STRADIC FK
Amazon Link
Materials
100
Durability
99
Ease of Use
99
Comfort
99
Value
98
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$173.40
Cabelas
$199.99
See Deal
Pros:

Quality designed fishing reel that is perfect for professionals.

Many quality features that one would expect from a fishing reel at this price.

Users have mentioned that this reel never jams.

Easy to clean.

Does not rust.

Aluminum spool for better durability.

Cons:

This fishing reel can be considered incredibly pricey.

This fishing reel may be called the crème de la crème of the fishing industry. A fishing reel such as this can easily be seen as the most professional fishing reel an individual can use. The reason being is that this fishing reel comes from a manufacturer that is known for producing some of the best equipment and products in the industry today.

Read more

Smoothness and Design

The design of this particular fishing reel is one of the best in the industry. It includes different design elements that make it an easy to use and incredibly smooth premier reel. The casting is superb thanks to a Propulsion Line Management System that ensures better casting distance and avoids wind knots and accidental backlashes.

Manufacturing Process and Extensive Testing

Creating one of a kind quality product, a brand such as this focuses on the design and manufacturing process that also goes over extensive testing and research. With that, this brand has created some of the best body parts and design elements such as Grooved Power Roller II that keeps the line wrapped properly to diminish any possible twisting or looping.

Cost And Value

As we talk about the crème de la crème, an individual may think this will cost one Benjamin or so. Actually, if you are new to the fishing industry, you will discover that there can be certain pieces of equipment that can cost hundreds, this is one of them.

2. Abu Garcia BMAX3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Abu Garcia BMAX3
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Durability
98
Ease of Use
98
Comfort
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$48.65
Pros:

A high-quality fishing reel that is priced accordingly.

No wobble, shake, and the line does not get caught.

Smooth reeling design and technology,

A trusted brand with plenty of years of experience.

Users tout the smoothness of the reel.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the drag is inconsistent.

This next reel is designed with an urban cool look and a low-profile design that users will enjoy. Other than that, the sleek design is lightweight and easy to carry so individuals can take it on the go easily and effortlessly. Let’s talk about the Abu Garcia BMAX3, a low-profile baitcasting fishing reel designed with quality in mind. Here are two cool features.

Read more

The Brake System

One incredibly important design element that even more novice fishing reels need to have is a properly design braking system. Without that individuals will not be able to thoroughly cast and reel. Therefore, this particular manufacturer uses the MagTrax brake system, a specifically formulated braking system that delivers magnificent castability and accommodates a different variety of lures.

Ergonomic Grip Design

Now, another incredibly important design element of a proper casting reel is the grip. Without a proper grip, an individual may not be able to reel in the fish properly. Well, this manufacturer created the grip to have a compact bent handle that includes a recessed reel foot that allows for a better grip experience. This type of design allows individuals to get a better handle on the reel and not let go of it, in the case that the fish they are reeling is putting up a fish.

Cost And Value

Let’s talk about cost and value for this particular fishing reel. This reel will run an individual about half the price of the last reel and it is designed for more novice individuals. With that said, novice individuals will trust the quality of the reel without worry that it may break, snap, or not reel properly. With a smooth design and easy to bring back reel system, we can say this is one of the best for fisherman starting out. We highly recommend it!

3. KastKing Royale

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
KastKing Royale
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Durability
97
Ease of Use
96
Comfort
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.98
Pros:

Quality fishing reel from a trusted company with plenty of positive reviews.

The dynamic design includes a two-color anodized spool that is aluminum forged and multi-ported.

The design quality is superb and users should expect it to last a while.

Smooth casting and return allow for maximum handling during fishing.

Users will never have to worry about quality.

Priced effectively.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that to clean the reel they cannot fully disassemble all the pieces.

When it comes to quality fishing reels, what does an individual look for? This and many more questions we are looking to answer with this reel and many more to come. As the first fishing lure on this list, we are eager to talk about the KastKing Royal Legend Low Profile Fishing Reel, a wonderful piece of craftsmanship according to many different individuals in the fishing industry. With that said, here are two benefits to this magnificent fishing reel.

Read more

The Performance

It goes without saying that a fishing reel needs to have many different quality elements that make it a one of a kind powerful performance machine. We can say that this fishing reel has many different wonderful performance benefits that users will enjoy.

For Novice and Professionals

One of the great benefits of this particular fishing reel is that it is designed with ease of use for the novice individual and professional mechanism for the more advanced fisherman reading this. The design itself has a dual-brake system.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular fishing reel, it is the design element and quality manufacturing that makes it a one of a kind fishing reel. Users can expect a quality fishing reel made from a trusted brand.

4. Penn Battle II

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Penn Battle II
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Durability
97
Ease of Use
96
Comfort
96
Value
96
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$98.98
Cabelas
$99.99
See Deal
Pros:

Quality and durable high range reel best suited for professionals.

A saltwater reel that will not rust easily.

Smooth cranking and reel design that will not jam.

Fiber drag design system allows for a powerful drag without sacrificing smoothness.

Many different choices to choose from.

Cons:

Novice fisherman may consider this a pricey product

This next reel is a quality reel designed to withstand the test of time. More so, this reel is designed to conquer the salty seas. Designed for individuals that want to catch big game fish, this reel is high quality and designed for durable endurance fishing. Let’s talk about the Penn Battle II Spinning Fishing Reel and why users consider it one of the best available reels today.

Read more

The Material Craftsmanship

What makes a wonderful fishing reel an expert machine is the materials that go into the creation process. With that, we can say that this fishing reel is designed for expert fisherman and the like. The materials involved in the design and creation process include a full metal body that can withstand wear and tear alongside a side plate and heavy-duty bail wire made out of aluminum. With that, this particular reel is designed for durability and longevity.

The Cranking Mechanism

Another part of a fishing reel that needs to be designed properly, otherwise it can severely hurt the chances of an individual catching the best fish or winning the big game is the crank. With that, they focused on developing a cranking mechanism that was fluid and includes a five-sealed stainless steel ball bearing.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, this is now the first fishing reel on the list that is in fact, the priciest. With that, the saying that the more expensive an item is, the better, is true for this particular reel. In fact, this reel is designed for big game fish and individuals will appreciate the ease of use of the reel.

5. Okuma Ceymar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Okuma Ceymar
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Durability
96
Ease of Use
95
Comfort
95
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.35
Pros:

Quality fishing reel with a multi-disc drag system.

A quick-set anti-reverse design is great to ensure smooth functionality.

High-quality design that we have come to know from this manufacturer.

Corrosion-resistant design and body materials.

1-year limited warranty.

Cons:

Warranty does not cover certain defects or accidents.

This next fishing reel is designed for expert anglers and individuals wanting a properly built spinning reel. The Okuma Ceyma Lightweight Spinning Reel is one of the most highly touted spinning reels and individuals appreciate the quality design that makes this one of the best fishing reels of today. With that said, let’s see what two of the best features of this particular fishing reel are and what users can expect from this reel. Let’s begin!

Read more

The Materials Used

One of the best elements of this particular fishing reel includes the materials that were used in creating this one of a kind fishing reel. In fact, users should expect a durable fishing reel that can easily withstand the test of time.

Great For Saltwater Fishing

It goes without saying that saltwater can be deadly to different materials. Without the proper coating, saltwater can corrode metal very quickly. Well, that is not a worry here because this particular fishing reel is formulated and designed for saltwater fishing.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, one of the most important aspects of this fishing reel is that it works effectively when needed. Users should not be fearful that it will jam or crank improperly. With that said, we believe that this is the perfect well-priced fishing reel for novice and professionals that fish occasionally.

6. Sougayilang Baitcasting

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Sougayilang Baitcasting
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Durability
95
Ease of Use
92
Comfort
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.96
Pros:

No slip design so individuals get a better grip.

Durable materials ensure a better fishing experience.

Graphite body that is easy to clean and easy to put together.

Quality brand with years of experience.

Corrosion resistant ball bearings.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that they’ve had brake issues.

We want to introduce a fishing reel that has been mentioned as one of the best reels in the industry for the price. More than that, this reel includes a powerful and smooth design that users appreciate. With that in mind, let’s begin the two features of the last reel on this list, the Sougayila Baitcasting Reel, a quality fishing reel for all fisherman.

Read more

The Design Quality

When it comes to fishing reels, this manufacturer understands that the purpose is to have a great cast that does not get caught when reeling in and ensures that a user can reel in their catch of the day properly. With that, this manufacturer has created different important design elements such as a magnetic brake system, a one-way clutch design, and a body design that can withstand almost any big fish. With that in mind, users can expect a quality reeling experience.

The Handle Knobs

Now, this is a new area of focus that we have not covered. This brand understands that the handle knobs of a fishing reel are as equally important as the fishing reel itself. The reason being is that the handle knobs is what ensures an individual can reel properly.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, we can say that this is one of the best entry-level low-use fishing reels out there. Users will appreciate the quality design that makes this brand one of the best. Everything from the ceramic insert to the smooth and durable brass gear design, this fishing reel is ideal for individuals starting out or the casual angler that wants to enjoy a day out on the sea.

7. Pflueger Supreme XT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Pflueger Supreme XT
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Durability
91
Ease of Use
95
Comfort
94
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$119.95
Cabelas
$149.99
See Deal
Pros:

A quality fishing reel that is easy to use.

The braid-ready spool is easy to use.

Rust free design that is perfect for everyday use.

Slow oscillating gear and lightweight handle design.

Perfect as a gift.

Cons:

Users may consider this fishing reel a bit expensive.

We know we may have shocked a couple of people with the last fishing reel. However, this one, although it is priced a lot less, is still considered one of the more professional and high-performance fishing reels. Let’s talk about the Pflueger Supreme XT Spinning Fishing Reel and what users can expect from this quality reel. Let’s begin!

Read more

Quality Design

Although not as much as the last reel, users can expect the same quality design that they have come to know from professional fishing reels. For example, this particular fishing reel includes a SMART Retrieve Technology design that ensures smooth operation so the line does not get stuck or have lag when retrieving. With that said, the manufacturer put an emphasis on designing a powerful drag that remains smooth by included a sealed carbon washer exerts.

Lightweight and Simple To Use

When it comes to a fishing reel the last thing an individual wants is to have a fishing reel that is complicated to set up and incredibly heavy. With that, this manufacturer focused on a fishing real that is made with a magnesium frame for a feather-light design that was smooth and easy to hold. With that said, this fishing reel had a smooth and reliable performance that allows individuals to use it effortlessly.

Cost And Value

As far as cost and value, an individual can expect for this particular fishing reel to be fairly priced around the low end of the last one on this list. However, the price is only a reflection of the quality that a user should expect from this fishing reel. What we can say is that as a gift, this may be one of the best fishing reels and the design is expertly created to resemble a very modern and easy to use a fishing reel. Users will appreciate the smooth design and ease of use.

8. Daiwa Revros

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Daiwa Revros
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Durability
90
Ease of Use
88
Comfort
90
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.70
Pros:

A high-quality fishing reel that is priced accordingly.

No wobble, shake, and the line does not get caught.

Smooth reeling design and technology,

A trusted brand with plenty of years of experience.

Users tout the smoothness of the reel.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the drag is inconsistent.

Let’s talk about another brand that is known for creating and developing some of the best fishing reels in the industry today. This next fishing reel is designed with a lightweight body style that allows for easy to use effectiveness. With that, users will trust being able to reel in the big fish and will trust the durability of the reel. With an easy to use cast design, the handle is also well designed for smooth reeling. Here is the Daiwa Revros Spinning Reel. Here are two notes worth mentioning.

Read more

Lightweight Body Design

One of the best benefits of this particular fishing reel is the lightweight body design. This fishing reel, in particular, includes a body design that is easy to carry, compact, and does not obstruct when in place or in use. More so, the design can withstand the test of time and does not rust or break easily. The ABS Aluminum spool is designed for high endurance and effective use.

The Body Style

The body style of this particular reel is made of a composite body, body cover, and rotor that can withstand the test of time and is very durable. With that said, users will appreciate the high-quality design of this spinning reel and will appreciate the quality that went in the design process.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular fishing reel, we cannot help but share that the quality of this fishing reel is really great and users highly tout it for its ease of use. Users can expect a quality fishing reel that can withstand the test of time and most importantly, handle any fish. With that said, this reel is about the standard price for a great fishing reel of today.

9. Piscifun Fishing Line Winder

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Piscifun Fishing Line Winder
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Durability
90
Ease of Use
92
Comfort
88
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.97
Pros:

High-quality fishing spooler tool that helps individuals easily attach a reel.

The line winder works great and is easy to use.

Quality built product.

Cons:

Does not come with the reel.

This next fishing reel is a wonderful piece of craftsmanship for the fisherman that is a novice to the fishing game and want to easily be able to cast and load their reel. The design is meant to help individuals easily tie a fish hook without tangles and slips. With that, we think this is a handy and beneficial tool for all novice fisherman out there. Let’s talk about the Piscifun Fishing Line Wonder Spooler Spinning Reel and what users can expect from this beneficial machine. Here are two important points to take into consideration.

Read more

Easy Way to Spool Fishing Line

Spooling a fishing line by yourself when starting it can be a difficult thing to do. With that, this is one of the easiest methods for individuals to be able to do that when out and about fishing alone. With a lightweight design, the individual can expect to easily be able to spool their fishing line with a reel. With that, it is compact and easy to store.

Durable Crafty Tool

This particular piece of craftsmanship, although not an actual fishing reel, it is part of the family that makes an ideal fishing pole. With that, users can expect a quality design that is known from this manufacturer. What users should expect is a quality fishing tool that easily connects to a fishing reel. With this in mind, it comes in handy for users that want a great and easy fishing experience.

Cost And Value

As far as cost and value, this is one handy tool that comes in handy for individuals that want to easily spool their fishing rod. With that said, this manufacturer is known for quality products that can withstand the test of time and this one is no different.

10. Zebco 33 Authentic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Zebco 33 Authentic
Amazon Link
Materials
85
Durability
88
Ease of Use
90
Comfort
85
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$18.99
Cabelas
$19.99
See Deal
Pros:

Good quality starter reel.

This reel is durable and includes an easy to user-reversible handle.

This is a perfect lake fishing rod.

This fishing reel is designed for light use.

Inexpensive fishing reel.

Cons:

Not a professional fishing reel.

Not for ocean fishing.

This next fishing reel, in the industry of fishing reels, is considered one of the most inexpensive and easy to use fishing reels out there. Designed for novice fisherman that want to learn with a good size fishing reel, we think this is one of the better fishing reels out there. With that in mind, users can begin gaining confident fishing wisdom with this particular fishing reel since it is not as intimidating as other larger more professional reels. Let’s talk about the Zebco 33 Authentic Spincast Reel and what users can expect.

Read more

Easy To Use

This particular fishing reel has a very simple design that is common with most fishing reels. It does not have all of the bells and whistles of other fishing reels but it still is effective enough. The casting is easy and durable and the reel is easy to drag back and will not get jammed easily. With that, users should expect to get a quality fishing experience from this reel and learn easily and effectively the best way to cast and reverse.

Lightweight Design

Unlike many other fishing reels of today that are designed for professional use and include many other features that can cause it to be heavier, this particular fishing reel has a lightweight design that sits perfectly for kids learning how to fish.

Cost And Value

As we talk about cost and value for this particular fishing reel, we have to keep in mind that is practically has no bells and whistles. It is not specifically made with any durable coating or other technology to make it a more professional reel.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When it comes to picking out the best fishing reel, the most important piece of criteria is the build quality. The truth is, if you are not careful, you can find yourself purchasing an all plastic fishing reel and, you don’t want that. I mean, have you ever purchased a reel and, after casting one into the water, all the sudden you notice the entire reel shuts down? Perhaps the line gets all tangled or, the moment you hook a lunker, the reel snaps in half. Whatever the case may be, this is all the result of a cheap and poorly built fishing reel. With that being said, we carefully selected all of these products today based off of higher-quality builds and constructions. Now, to assess this, we carefully scanned each product and ensured that it was made from the best materials. Evidently, the best fishing reels are made from higher-end, resistant materials, including graphite, or even higher-grades of aluminium. Additionally, we also consulted with previous fishing customers to see what their thoughts were regarding the quality and build of the reel.

Durability

The last thing any fisherman wants is to purchase a reel that, after a few casts, it breaks. Durability is probably the second most important aspect that we all must take into consideration. Now, after our personal experiences with “less-than-decent” fishing reels, we made it our goal to find only the most durable products out there. To do this, we need to carefully read each product and do some external research. It was not enough for us to just believe a company’s claim regarding its longevity. Now, like the previous point, we also took the time to look at customer reviews to see if anyone complained about their product breaking. If that was the case, it was eliminated from contention.

Ease of Use

Now, a fishing reel is a fishing reel, right? Well, we wanted to think that before starting to write this buying guide; however, most professionals can attest that every single reel is different, ranging in both usability and difficult. In other words, each reel is created for specific uses can across a wide spectrum of fishing activities, whether saltwater, freshwater, lake fishing, or even stream fishing. In this, each reel also offers varying degrees of difficulty. Now, we know that our readers are not looking for an extensive reel that requires a manual in order to learn how to use it. So, when we were picking out the best products for your consideration, we really focused on products that could be used in any fishing environment while also boasting an easy-to-use system.

Comfort

As you might have already accumulated, there were many different aspects that we utilized to find the best products for you. In this, we know that, whether fishing on a canoe or boat, sometimes, it can get a bit rocky. Partner this with a large fish on the other end of the string and it’s important that your reel has a great comforting grip. Now, for us, what we did was looked at many different images of the fishing reel and studied what the manufacturer said on how the grip was made. We wanted to know the style and design of the grip, alongside the materials used and how comfortable it might be. Now, to judge the comfortability, we needed to take the extra step and look at more customer reviews to learn more about individual experiences with the reel. What we can say is that each product on our list has established their reputations on quality materials and comfortable fishing experience.

Value

In our opinion, when it comes to picking out the best fishing reels, one of the best indicators of a quality product can be discovered from studying the cost and value. Now, out of the many different criteria, this is the most time consuming, which is probably why many people tend to avoid it. What we did for this buying guide is to scan the entire market for reels. In this, we took notes of all the different price points, including the most expensive, the cheapest, and what seemed to be the middle ground among the competition. Whether it’s fishing, hiking, camping, or even sunglasses for that matter – their tactic always works. From here, you evaluate each product, which is precisely what we did. We scanned each product and measured its value as far as what it offers consumers. In this, we were able to draw conclusions about what reel offered the most value to the fisherman, given its price point.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
How We Decided

Prior to conducting any formal research, we sat down and began to create a list of the most important criteria that would be utilized to measure and evaluate each product for consideration. By using this criterion, we were able to highlight the very best products for your consideration today. We highly suggest that, whether it’s fishing reels or not, through taking the time to evaluate each product as we did, you can ensure that whatever your buying is worth it.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

Okay, have you ever gone fishing with a pole that had a heavier reel? It is probably the most uncomfortable part of fishing – if standing for hours upon hours is not bothersome. The reason being, it becomes more of a burden to hold the rod, rather than finding the enjoyment in it. With that being said, we carefully picked out each product based on its size and weight. We wanted to ensure that each product was relatively lightweight, and made from lighter materials to promote a greater fishing experience. Now, this was easy for us. All we needed to do was consult the product specifications of the reel. In this, we compared it with what consumers mentioned in their reviews. Typically, this is one of the first aspects that fisherman would highlight.

Style

As much as consumers might not want to admit it, the design and appeal of a fishing reel are important. In our opinion, it does not hold equal value to that of the quality of the build and the durability; however, it can be a decision maker. With that being said, when we were picking out each product for our list, we really tried to highlight products that were visually appealing, slick, and modern.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do you know if a fishing reel is designed for fresh or saltwater?

a:

This is a great question. The truth is, not every single fishing reel is designed for the freshwater – and others are not designed for saltwater. With that being said, it’s our responsibility as consumers to know. Now, typically most manufacturers will share what type of environment their gear was designed for. So, start off by looking at the product description. You can even do a little research and study what market the company designs products for. Additionally, consult with previous customer reviews. Since this is probably the single most common question, you are bound to find a direct answer there regarding a specific product. Regardless, if you do decide to purchase a reel that is for both salt and fresh water, be sure to properly clean it after each use.

q: Should you clean your fishing reel?

a:

Yes! Yes! Yes! This is an understatement. Many fishermen do not realize the importance of cleaning their fishing reel after using it. The reason being, when you fish, water will splash up, including a wealth of bacterias and germs. These little pests can actually do incredible damage to your reel, preventing from operating properly. Have you ever had a reel that made funky noises after months of using it? Chances are, that’s the build-up of bacteria and other germs.

q: Do fishing reels come with fishing line?

a:

Traditionally, fishing reels do not come with fishing line. Now, that is not to say that you might not find a deal or a combination where a manufacturer will give you some fishing line with a purchase of their reel. However, in our research and experience, this is a rare feature.

q: How can a consumer ensure they get a right or left-handed fishing reel?

a:

When you are purchasing a fishing reel, it’s important that you pay close attention to the specifics mentioned in the product description. Here, manufacturers will share the details as to whether or not the product is for left-handed or right-hander fisherman. Now, if you notice that a product is initially made for left-handed fisherman and that’s not you, have no fear. Typically, in these situations, the manufacturer makes another version specifically for you. This may be found on the same page, or information can be found there. Should you have any uncertainty, consult with customers in their reviews or contact the manufacturer directly.

Sources

  1. Marc Malkin, NC Coastal Fishing, Fishing Blog
  2. Editorial Team, Outdoor On, Outdoors Blog