to top 10 table

Best Hiking First Aid Kits Reviewed & Rated

last updated Sep 07, 2019

As everyone knows, accidents happen! Whether you’re hiking through the woods , or in your backyard mowing the lawn, you never know. A First Aid Kit is a collection of supplies and equipment that is used to give medical treatment. Not all kits have the same content. Some have more variety and quantity while others are more basic. The type of first aid kit you need will depend on where you will be using it and how much knowledge and experience you have. Do you need something for the home or car, or do you need something smaller and compact for easy portability? We’ve compiled a list of medical supply kits that meet a variety of different needs. 

In a Hurry? The test winner after 16 hrs of research

icon
 First Aid Only All-Purpose First Aid Kit
99.1/100 our score
Compatibility
99
Features
100
Value
98.3
First Aid Only All-Purpose First Aid Kit
Why is it better?

Easy to carry fabric zip pouch

Complies with OSHA regulations

Very comprehensive

Incredible value

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 First Aid Only All-Purpose First Aid Kit
Test Winner: First Aid Only All-Purpose First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
21
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
37
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
16
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
42
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Taylor Belmer
By Taylor Belmer:

Whether you're out for a short hike or a week-long hunting trip, you never know when an injury can happen. In order to ensure that it doesn't get worse, first aid will give you the proper supplies at hand. In our latest update, we added three new products to keep this list up to date.

Sorting Options
Compatibility Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.1
Compatibility
99 %
Features
100 %
Value
98.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.50
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Compatibility
98 %
Features
97.4 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$34.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Compatibility
95 %
Features
96 %
Value
95.8 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$11.97
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.9
Compatibility
93 %
Features
93.7 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$17.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Compatibility
90.7 %
Features
91.3 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Compatibility
88 %
Features
89 %
Value
88.2 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$29.97
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Compatibility
85 %
Features
86.6 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$12.58
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.9
Compatibility
82 %
Features
81.7 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$79.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.5
Compatibility
79 %
Features
78.4 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$65.78
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Compatibility
76 %
Features
77.5 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$79.99

10 Best Hiking First Aid Kits

1. First Aid Only All-Purpose First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.1
 First Aid Only All-Purpose First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Compatibility
99
Features
100
Value
98.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.50
Pros:

Easy to carry fabric zip pouch

Complies with OSHA regulations

Very comprehensive

Incredible value

Cons:

Doesn’t include all essential items

Only meant for minor injuries

I wanted to put in one more large first aid kit, for variety’s sake. While it's not meant for really big groups or prolonged outings, the First Aid Essentials kit is going to be able to support a smaller group quite nicely. It's nearly three hundred piece count will be able to handle all of the most common injuries with ease.

Read more

So much inside
I mention down below how it does not include every essential item usually found in first aid kits, but those are easily found for very cheap. This kit makes room to treat some less common, but no less urgent injuries.

Meets regulations
Meeting OSHA regulations is great and all, but what does that have to do with a hiking kit? Any first aid kit that would be accepted in an industrial work setting is going to be able to help anyone in their time of need.

Cost and Value
I couldn't believe what I was seeing when I noticed the cost of this kit. It is so well priced that having one is a no-brainer. Just be aware, you do get what you pay for, as this is not meant for serious injury.

2. Surviveware

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Surviveware
Amazon Link
Compatibility
98
Features
97.4
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.95
Pros:

Up to 100 tools are included

The bag has a lifetime guarantee attached to it

Cons:

No room to add on extra tools in or outside of the bag

Calling this a small first aid kit doesn’t really describe the many items available in the bag. It’s anything but small and may have the most comprehensive set of medical tools on the list.

Read more

Great Bag
The red 600D polyester kit is one of the strongest in its class. Customers won’t have to worry about the bag ripping over the years and it should hold up well.

Features and Specifications
Stainless steel scissors
Waterproof inner bag with laminate pouches

Cost and Value
Keeping with the tone of the rest of the list, the price is low. With such a high-quality bag, it is a bargain that should not be passed up. Customers have some really hard choices to make with all of the great kits on the list. At the very least, this first aid kit proves to be one of the leaders in the pack.

3. Tripworthy Travel Size First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Tripworthy Travel Size First Aid Kit
Tripworthy Travel Size First Aid Kit opened up to show contents inside
Tripworthy Travel Size First Aid Kit supplies that are included. One-hundred pieces total.
Amazon Link
Compatibility
95
Features
96
Value
95.8
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.97
Pros:

Equipped with 100-pieces of supplies

Well-designed bag

Perfect for hunting, camping or everyday use

Compact and portable design

Cons:

Since it is small, it only contains supplies to cover the basics - best for a short trip

This Tripworthy travel-sized first aid kit definitely makes our list. It is compact enough to fit into a day pack, into your car, in your gym bag or wherever for whenever you need first aid assistance.

Read more

Compact design
As we said in the intro to this product, this Tripworthy kit is a travel size version of other Tripworthy brand first aid kits out there. But that doesn't mean it won't serve you well! This kit comes with 100 pieces of supplies. So, whether you are out on a hike, camping, on a road trip or you're watching your little one from the sidelines, you can be prepared with this kit.

Well-made bag
What would a good first aid kit (or bag) be if it was filmy and spilling all of its contents everywhere? It wouldn't be this one, that's for sure. This Tripworthy kit comes in a durable, medical-grade nylon bag with a zipper so that your supplies stay contained and non-contaminated. And, because it is in a bag and not a hard plastic box, you can easily toss it in a bag, backpack or larger purse.

Cost And Value
For everything that you get out of this kit and in a completely portable bag, this one is hard to beat. Honestly, it's almost unreal how affordable it is for the 100 pieces of supplies that you get, and the ease it offers to have this essential first aid kit on hand wherever you are.

4. Northbound Train First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.9
Northbound Train First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Compatibility
93
Features
93.7
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.97
Pros:

Has enough materials to treat four people

Includes tools for tactical, hiking and travel style customers

Cons:

Requires some personalizing

The idea behind this Northbound Train creation is that first aid kits should be ready for any emergency. Balance once again comes into play as the company looked to provide as many tools as possible without compromising size.

Read more

Designed By A U.S. Marine
This holds weight in any industry and it’s easy to tell why when you consider some of the features included. Everything is professionally packed and made for an on the go user.

Stop buying multiple kits
This is the perfect first aid kit for users that don’t want to purchase multiple kits for different emergencies. With a little bit of time, you can create the perfect rescue bag for any type of emergency.

Cost and Value
With the way the kit needs to be rearranged to fit your lifestyle, this is the perfect jack of all trades value. The price is low and you’ll get a lot of use out of it no matter what your emergency.

5. DeftGet 163 Piece First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
DeftGet 163 Piece First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Compatibility
90.7
Features
91.3
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.95
Pros:

Comes with upgraded items

The case is lightweight and durable

Great for traveling

Includes 163 essentials

Cons:

Some complaints about the quality of band-aids

DefGet created a perfect traveling medical gear that is compact and lightweight. They’ve upgraded their kit with a better variety of items made from higher quality materials. The case is built to be durable and take a beating while safely storing all the valuable supplies you need in case of an emergency. The company is so confident with the quality of their product that they offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Read more

Upgraded Items
DeftGet understands that ensuring customer satisfaction means providing them with the newest and best medical supplies available. This set includes upgraded items including scissors, compass, and tweezers.

Compact Nylon Case
The compact nylon case is organized to make it easier for you to find what you need in case of an emergency. Even though it includes many items, this case is lightweight and perfect for traveling with.

Cost and Value
This medical supply kit comes in the lower price range but has a wide variety of important items. It can easily fit in your glove compartment box or in your backpack, making an important traveling accessory.

6. Adventure First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Adventure First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Compatibility
88
Features
89
Value
88.2
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.97
Pros:

Ultra-portable and can fit in a pocket

Lightest first aid kit on the list

Cons:

Contains only the bare essentials

Sometimes the tools need to be protected as much as the people that need them. Adventure Medical Kits goes the extra mile in protecting the same tools that could save your life.

Read more

Resistance To The Max
Not only is the kit itself water-resistant, but the tools are stored in an inner DryFlex bag with outer seam-sealed siliconized nylon. Once zipped up, each individual tool is fully protected from water and bacteria.

Size
The size of this one makes it one of the smallest on the list. With that said, this kit still packs a punch. The size allows you to carry this one basically without even knowing it.

Cost and Value
With a low price, it’s worth it if you need the lightest emergency kit available. Without taking up too much space it can be a real lifesaver. Even though it lacks some of the essential big items in a first aid kit, there is no other product on this list that takes less space. It’s a great emergency option that won’t add any bulk.

7. I Go First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
I Go First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Compatibility
85
Features
86.6
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.58
Pros:

Great variety in the bag

Good size that isn’t too bigger than the compact sizes

Cons:

Band-Aids in the kit are too small

Getting back to the big kits, this one from I Go finds a comfortable middle ground between all the kits. Having a mixture of both important and low-level tools, it seems to have struck an overall good balance.

Read more

The Right Amount Of Protection
There are 85 medical items included in the kit, all from a low level, mid and high in terms of importance. No major tools were left out, and it seems they took a lot of time balancing out the kit.

Essentials
This first aid kit does a good job with the basics without leaving out all of the important stuff. It may not be compact, but it provides all you need for an emergency situation.

Cost and Value
Even with the smallish Band-Aids, this low priced kit is well worth a purchase. The price is low, so you’ll get your money’s worth even if you buy separate Band-Aids.

8. Lightning X Value Compact Medic First Responder EMT/EMS First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.9
Lightning X Value Compact Medic First Responder EMT/EMS First Aid Kit with all of its supplies
Embroidered top view of Lightning X Value Compact Medic First Responder EMT/EMS First Aid Kit
Side view of Lightning X Value Compact Medic First Responder EMT/EMS First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Compatibility
82
Features
81.7
Value
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.99
Pros:

Comfortable shoulder pad on the strap

High-grade nylon material

Heavy-duty zippers

Lots of compartments and pockets

Fully equipped with supplies

Cons:

Over-stuffing the bag could break the zipper

Cardboard insert in the bottom might not be rigid enough

Okay yes, we admit it right away, this Lightning X First Responder kit might not be the most hiker-friendly option on our list. But hear us out with this one. This kit has it all and is equipped for whatever you're facing (given that it's not ER-serious or you're trained to take care of serious injury). Solution: Take this kit with you in the car, or on your next camping trip. Then, transfer some of the contents to a smaller bag for your day hike.

Read more

Ready for anything
Quite literally. Since this is a medical-grade, EMT/EMS medical kit bag, it is full of supplies to help take care of whatever wounds you might face while out on your hike or on a camping trip. We fell it goes without saying, but just in case, if the injury is severe, always get to a hospital if you are able. But, this kit is equipped to get you fixed up in the meantime.

Durable and spacious
This Lightning X medic kit comes in a heavy-duty bag with tons of compartments and pockets to help keep all of your supplies organized. When it comes time for an emergency, you don't have time waste looking for supplies scattered within a bag. This bag offers great storage and keeps everything organized so that you won't have to worry while under any pressure.

Cost And Value
This is a pricey kit, but we feel it goes without saying that the value is true. It comes with so many supplies and high-quality ones at that. With this kit around, you will be good to go if a crisis arises.

9. Lightning X First Responder First Aid Kit Backpack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.5
Lightning X First Responder First Aid Kit Backpack
Inside view of Lightning X First Responder First Aid Kit Backpack
Front view of Lightning X First Responder First Aid Kit Backpack
Back view and straps of Lightning X First Responder First Aid Kit Backpack
All of the supplies included with Lightning X First Responder First Aid Kit Backpack
Amazon Link
Compatibility
79
Features
78.4
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$65.78
Pros:

Perfect for many uses

Portable and easy to wear

Many storage options

Removable divider to make room

Waterproof and abrasion-proof materials

Reflective detail for full visibility

Cons:

Could use more storage on sides and back of the outside of the bag

Okay, this Lightning X First Responder first aid kit is another good one on our list. And, unlike the previous entry, is much more friendly for hikers out on a backpacking trip.

Read more

Portable
This Lightning X backpack first aid kit is very portable and easy to take with you wherever you are. It's great for going on a hike since you can sling it over your back. Or, keep it in your car, take it camping, or keep it on the sidelines while you watch your kid play their favorite sport.

Pockets & compartments
Even though this kit is smaller than the previous one, it still has the signature compartments and organization as other Lightning X models. This backpack has many storage options to keep everything in its place.

Cost And Value
Because this kit comes with a lot of supplies, is easy to carry around, and has reflective details so that you remain visible day and night, it's got a lot of value. And, that is reflected in the price. Yes, this is the most expensive on our list, but for good reason.

10. MFASCO Trauma Bag First Aid Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
MFASCO Trauma Bag First Aid Kit
Amazon Link
Compatibility
76
Features
77.5
Value
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.99
Pros:

Includes 407 items

Large storage bag includes extra space

The bag material is reflective

Cons:

Some complaints about bag material

Ideal only for minor injuries

The MFASCO Trauma Bag was designed to handle a wide range of different injuries and medical emergencies in varying situations, including natural disasters such as tornados and earthquakes. The bag is reflective so you can quickly find it in low visibility and includes extra space for custom items. Whether you have a cut, burn, or need to treat low blood pressure, you’ll find everything you need here.

Read more

Lots of Storage Compartments
The heavy-duty bag is extremely spacious and includes a large compartment, 2 front pockets, and 2 zipped side pockets. Despite the fact that it contains 407 items, you still have enough room for extra supplies that meet your personal needs.

Great for Emergencies
If you need something for the home, cabin, or the trunk of the car, this is it. The kit includes many of the basics needed to treat minor emergencies, including eyewash, blood stop dressing, and gauze pads.

Cost and Value
This is a little pricier than most of the items on the list, but it also includes 407 medical and emergency supplies. It has all the basics and more, including an emergency blanket, blood pressure cuff, and a stethoscope.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Compatibility

Our evaluation starts by asking whether the people who put the first aid kit together understand that first aid kits should be equipped for a specific purpose. Basically, you could have a first aid kit suitable for adventure, an overnight trip, day trips, home, or for the car. The kind that we were looking for to include in this list was one for either overnight or day trip. To a large extent, this kit should be lightweight and portable. Included in these types of kits would be the basic medication you get over the counter, plaster, and other stuff such as blister treatment.

In terms of the day hiking trip, we looked mostly for a minimalistic kit which you could carry with you to treat small problems that are common on the trail. The kits we selected don’t necessarily have to treat trauma or medical problems. If it can take care of burns, everyday cuts, scrapes, and blisters, we certainly think that it's good enough to include on our list.

Features

After determining that the kit we had selected was the right one for hiking, we started looking specifically at what is inside the kit. When buying a first aid kit the most vital factor you want to ensure is the contents. We certainly think that there are items which are not negotiable; they simply should be there. Here we were looking for items as a pair of scissors, SAM splint, and tape. Even though these are vital items to have in a first aid kit, many people tend to overlook these when buying one.

We know that it’s easy to be hoodwinked by the number of components in a first aid kit to think that it's a good product. Since we are looking for hiking kits, in this case, we started by considering the types of injuries or conditions that may need to be treated when you are out hiking. Then we assessed if the kit contained the right variety of components to treat the typical hiker's injuries.

Value

In terms of value, you want to think about what you are getting in the kit for the amount of money you are going to spend. But value can also mean more than this to some. Another good thing to consider is the value in the kits use. Like for instance, are the supplies included be ones you will actually use? Think of the multi-sized box of bandaids are those tiny sized bandages actually useful. I know at my house they sit in the mostly empty box until someone gets sick of looking at them and tosses them.

The point in all this is to make sure the kit comes with components that you will actually need or use. It would be a shame to waste the money on a kit that you won't really use.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Compatibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
A tool for each condition

On the trail, there are occasional scrapes and cuts that happen. This is the reason for a range of bandages. Also in this class, there is a need for wipes fortified with an antiseptic solution. Antibiotic creams are used for soothing purposes while hydrogen peroxide is needed to wash open wounds and cuts. Quick attention to bites or cuts will stop the condition from getting aggravated.

Pros and Con

If you look at every kit we have assembled on our best list, you will notice that we always look at the pros and cons of the product. This ensures that we give each product an objective evaluation. You will also realize that none of the products have more disadvantages than advantages. Once we see that a hiking first aid kit on the list has more disadvantages than advantages we remove it.

Other Factors to Consider

Brand

There are no best brands, but rather compatible products. Some of the kits contain a poncho and compass while others don’t. Rather than brand recognition, customers are more invested in the included tools. With the right setup, all minor and major injuries can be handled with the right kit.

There are some one-time use items and then there are multi-use items. For obvious reasons, the onetime use items shouldn’t be reused. They will usually be sealed away in a separate bag to protect them from germs. The same care to these items should be the same priority you give the entire bag. Keep dirt and germs away from it, and if something looks compromised, replace it immediately.

Use

Believe it or not, the multi-use kits are sometimes just as useful as the kits meant just for hiking- and it’s a prime reason they are included on the list. No one kit is going to have every single thing you need, so often buyers will purchase different ones or opt to get a kit that allows customization. If you tend to not know what you want (or need) these customizable kits can be a good alternative to purchasing multiple different kits. Either way, you’ll be in good hands.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I Reuse Onetime Tools?

a:

No, never do this. These tools were meant to be used once and then thrown away. You risk infecting all of the tools in the bag if you reintroduce them to a used tool.

q: Are There Any Benefits To Purchasing Different Kits?

a:

Yes, and it is recommended if you don’t want to purchase a kit that allows customization. First aid kits can be purchased for specific trips, travels or even specific areas of the house. Find the ones that fit their intended purpose and place them accordingly.

q: Are The Tools High Quality?

a:

All of the ones on the list are high quality, and that’s important. The last thing you would want from a tool that is piercing your skin is for it to break off inside of you. This can cause further complications and is the main reason why only premium tools are used in kits.

q: What Are Specific Items I Should List?

a:

Listing what you need is the first step to packing appropriately for your hike. Items to include should be:

*Your preferred Antiseptic wipes
*Medicated ointment (with antibacterial properties)
*Fabric-based adhesive bandages
*Wound closing adhesive strips
*Assorted Gauze pads
*Sterile pads (nonstick)

Water bottle
To remain energized, you need to have energy-packed foods that will fuel your body system. Just be sure to be on the lightweight slant, when packing these energy bars. Include dried fruits that can boost your energy supply on your list.

q: What Are the Necessities?

a:

It is absolute that you prepare to have some prized necessities as you get ready to hit the wild. There is no overlooking this important aspect of your preparation, as it could make the difference between staying alive or tethering on life’s edge.

You need to make a list that includes what you cannot overlook requiring during your field trip. You need soaps to start with. Take such as you need to avoid unnecessary baggage. Keep rolls of toilet paper in neat folds; without the cardboard centerfold, to save space.

Depending on where you are headed to, you can skip some items, and mail them to your desired destination. When you arrive at your destination, you can take delivery of what you need, having sent them through the expedited mail service.

q: Are You on Prescription Drugs?

a:

If you use prescription drugs, it is noteworthy that you include these in your backpack. There cannot be a guarantee that you won’t need these on the trail. Some persons need breathing aid when it gets stuffy, and this is also very important to note.

Breathing masks, inhalers, and drugs are all essential if you have bouts of short breaths after getting exerted. Exposure to the elements like dust, smoke, and pollen, also trigger breathing difficulties, and you should make room for this if you are pre-disposed to such reactions.

q: Do I Make My Kit?

a:

The first aid kit is necessary as you plan your hike. While some would ask if it is needed to go DIY here, others might think getting a ready pack is preferred. A DIY experience can be worth it if you know the basics you really need.

A first-time hiker should go along with the kits that are available out there and substitute items that might not be needed. With experience on the trail comes a benefit of hindsight, and this can aid your efforts when you decide to go DIY.