to top 10 table

Best Wood Burning Kits Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: May 28, 2019

The art of wood burning, or pyrography, harkens all the way back to the 17th century, though it really didn’t come into its own until the 19th century. In its more rudimentary form, wooden objects were burned with a fire poker, though there were folks using concentrated light from the sun through magnifying glasses as well.

Here in the 21st--what with the luxury of electricity and all--we no longer have to play with fire to play with fire. On this list, we feature some amazing wood burning tools that deliver the heat without the hassle.

The wood burning kits that we highlight have multi-function tools that work as well on leather as they do on wood. They also come loaded with tons of different art tips and design features that render your creative possibilities endless. And what makes these sets even better--they are absolute steals!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool
100/100 our score
Use
100
Features
100
Accessories
100
Materials
100
Value
100
Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool
Why is it better?

Adjustable temperature

11 different art points

Works on leather, wood, and craft paper

Carves and cuts wood

Solders

Comes with a stand

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool
Test Winner: Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
3k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Use Features Accessories Materials Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Use
100 %
Features
100 %
Accessories
100 %
Materials
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$19.31
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Use
96 %
Features
97 %
Accessories
99 %
Materials
95 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$59.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Use
98 %
Features
98 %
Accessories
94 %
Materials
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$59.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Use
95 %
Features
91 %
Accessories
98 %
Materials
90 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Use
90 %
Features
91 %
Accessories
90 %
Materials
97 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Use
89 %
Features
89 %
Accessories
94 %
Materials
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Use
89 %
Features
89 %
Accessories
85 %
Materials
91 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Use
88 %
Features
84 %
Accessories
91 %
Materials
91 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$28.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Use
88 %
Features
81 %
Accessories
86 %
Materials
88 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Use
86 %
Features
86 %
Accessories
81 %
Materials
83 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$25.99

10 Best Wood Burning Kits

1. Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool
Amazon Link
Use
100
Features
100
Accessories
100
Materials
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.31
Pros:

Adjustable temperature

11 different art points

Works on leather, wood, and craft paper

Carves and cuts wood

Solders

Comes with a stand

Cons:

Handle still gets hot

The Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool is the first to make our list because it comes with tons of accessories and features and because it can be used to carve, cut, solder, and wood burn--so it’s a one-stop tool for several of your crafting needs.

Adjustable Temperature
This product comes loaded with tons of cool features.
To start, it has a comfortable grip so that you won’t cramp up over long use periods. It also comes with a heat-shield which we are wild about. This helps to reflect and redirect the heat from the tip so you don’t burn your operating fingers or hand. Plus, you’ll enjoy the easy-prop stand that holds your tool while it’s not in use.

As we mentioned before, this product can fulfill multiple crafting functions. It can carve, cut, and solder on top of being able to burn wood. But it also works on leather and cardstock as well as wood. Simply adjust the adjustable temperature dial to your desired heat for each medium and get crafting!

11 Different Points that are Interchangeable
This product comes with 11 different crafting points that are interchangeable. The company suggests changing out points by using plyers to ensure that you don’t burn yourself on a hot end.

The points included: a universal point, a tapered point, a flow point, a calligraphy point, a transfer point, a shading point, 3 hot stamp points, a HotKnife point, and finally a solder point. You can use each of these to get unique effects on different materials.

Cost and Value
The Walnut Hollow Creative Versa Tool rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it’s a 4-in-1 tool that has tons of included points to achieve different looks and styles.

2. TRUArt Pyrography Pen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
TRUArt Pyrography Pen
Amazon Link
Use
96
Features
97
Accessories
99
Materials
95
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.95
Pros:

21 different points

Great user’s manual with suggestions/safety

Amazing product replacement for tips/pen

Stencil with alphabet/numbers/shapes

Heat-resistant handle/dual heating power

Cons:

Nibs bend over time

The TRUArt Wood and Leather Pyrography Pen is perhaps the most premium of any of the products on our list. With tons of different tips and dual heating options (one for wood and one for leather), your creative possibilities are endless. And it comes with a heck of a warranty to boot.

Super Comfortable and Lightweight Feel
This pyrography pen is lightweight and has a comfortable grip which helps with precision in projects. The barrel is made of stainless steel and the handle is comprised of heat resistant rubber to keep your hand from burning up during long uses. And you’ll get a metal stand as well.

It features a dual power option. The high-power 30-watt selection is best used for wood burning and the lower power 15-watt selection is best intended for leather. Either way, the pen boasts incredible heat retention so you won’t spend your whole day waiting on the thing to heat up.

Detailed User’s Manual
This set comes with a whopping 21 different tips. You will get a calligraphy tip, a razor blade tip, a groove tip, a pattern transfer tip, a dot tip, a stripes tip, a branding tip, a solder point tip, a knife tip, and even more. You will also enjoy the inclusion of metal stencil that features letters, shapes, and numbers.

Plus, you will benefit from an amazing user’s manual. Not only will it show you the ropes of how everything works, but it will also give you crafting suggestions so you can learn which tips work best for which projects. You’ll also learn some key safety tips along the way.

Cost and Value
The TRUArt Pyrography Pen rings up at the very top of our price range but we love its value because TRUArt will replace the pen or tips as they soften and bend with heat exposure over time. That’s a value that you can count on.

3. Dremel 1550 T2 Versa Tip

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Dremel 1550 T2 Versa Tip
Amazon Link
Use
98
Features
98
Accessories
94
Materials
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.00
Pros:

Super hot--1,050 degrees Fahrenheit

5 heavy-duty tips

Stand and storage tube

Stay-cool, ergonomic grip

Cons:

Can’t personalize heat setting

The Dremel Multipurpose Tool Kit can be, as the name suggests, used for a variety of different crafting purposes including soldering and fusing ropes. It heats up super fast and delivers even, dark burning that is safe and consistent so it’s great for multiple different surfaces like foams, leathers, plastics, and wood.

Tip Gets to 1,050 Degrees Fahrenheit
The tip of this Dremel will reach up to 1,050 degrees Fahrenheit. Though you cannot personally adjust the temperature, it does heat up fast due to its high-efficiency core made from bronze--and it stays that way. It also features a stay-cool, ergonomic grip for those extra long crafting sessions.

The tool stand that comes with this set will help to prevent any unwanted marks on your crafting area and will also help to prevent burn injuries during the crafting process.

5 Heavy-Duty Tips
This set comes with 5 super heavy-duty tips that are interchangeable. These include a cutting tip, a calligraphy tip, and multiple point tips. Plus, you get a super handy storage tube to keep all of your tips safely together.

Cost and Value
The Dremel Multipurpose Tool Kit rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is one heavy duty sucker. It gets hot and stays that way and has the capacity to cut and solder multiple different materials.

4. Uolor 45 Pcs

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Uolor 45 Pcs
Amazon Link
Use
95
Features
91
Accessories
98
Materials
90
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Select temperature between 200-450 Celcius

45 pieces in the set

Heats up in 45 seconds

Stencils included

Cons:

Tips bend under heavy pressure

The Uolor set comes packed with so many amazing tools and fun features that it will blow your mind. With 45 pieces in this set, your design possibilities are endless. This is an ideal tool for burning wood and leather, as well as soldering.

Precise Temperature Gauge
The Uolor set comes with a tool that has some pretty amazing features. Not only is it lightweight and a handle that is ergonomically designed to function comfortably at multiple different angles, but it also has its own precise temperature control.

You are able to select the desired temperature from 200 degrees Celcius to 450 degrees Celcius, depending on your project needs. The ceramic inner-heated technology allows the device to heat up in about 45 seconds, which also serves to save energy.

45 Pieces in Set
With 45 pieces in this set, where do we even begin? To start, it comes with 11 different soldering and wood burning tips. You’ll also get 12 carving tips for wood and 5 embossing tips for wood. Add to that 2 hot knife holders with blades and a head replacement for the burning converter--just in case.

The set also comes with 4 stencils that feature common shapes and images, as well as the alphabet and numbers. And as a bonus, you’ll get 2 wood marking pencils and a pen holder. If you can believe it, all of these items fit conveniently in a carrying case.

To top it all off, this set comes with a manual that will help to guide your creative process and give you safety tips as well as design tips along the way.

Cost and Value
The Uolor set rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it has tons of cool accessories that you won’t find in other sets and because you can personally adjust the temperature to your desired heat.

5. ETEPON 48 PCS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
ETEPON 48 PCS
Amazon Link
Use
90
Features
91
Accessories
90
Materials
97
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

48 items in set

Includes carbon paper for image transfers

Manually set the heat from 200-450 Celcius

Great heat distribution

Pen converter to easily change tips

Cons:

Not so great instructions

The ETEPON set literally does it all. With 48 pieces included with your purchase, you’ll never get bored with creating fresh new masterpieces. This set is good for soldering as well as cutting and burning wood and leather.

Ceramic Inner-Heated Tech
The ETEPON is another product on our list that lets you manually select your desired temperature between 200 degrees Celcius and 450 degrees Celcius. Your desired temperature will vary based on the project at hand. The pen heats up quickly thanks to its ceramic inner-heated technology and steel-pipe with 4 holes to ensure greater equal heat distribution.

The included converter at the end of the pen allows you to change between your different tips easily without the use of other tools.

48 Items In Set
This set is designed to solder, transfer images, cut stencils, cut leather, work with paper crafts, hot stamp, as well as fabric emboss. And with so many included items in this set, your imagination is the only limit.

You will receive 5 soldering tips, 10 tips for wood carving, 5 tips for wood embossing, 10 tips for wood burning, as well as 1 hot knife tip and blade. You will also get a set of stencils that include letters, numbers, and common symbols.

As a bonus, you’ll receive a pen holder, 3 colored pencils with a sharpener, 7 pieces of carbon paper for transferring images, as well as a handy tool bag to keep all of your items together.

Cost and Value
The ETEPON set rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it has even more included items than our last set and because it is so versatile.

6. Chandler Tool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Chandler Tool
Amazon Link
Use
89
Features
89
Accessories
94
Materials
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Solid brass tips

Lifetime, free-of-charge warranty

UL certified safety product

Works on a variety of materials

Heats up to 1,112 degrees Fahrenheit

Cons:

Can’t program your own desired temperature

The Chandler Tool set is a great option for those who are a bit more experienced and looking for a serious set, though anyone will enjoy it. It simply is more durable and made using premium quality materials in the United States. Plus, it comes with a killer warranty so you can feel nice and good about your purchase.

Heating Elements That Are Reliable
The Chandler tool features heating elements that are reliable. The pen heats up and stays that way. In fact, depending on the tip you’re using, the temperature can reach up to 1112 degrees Fahrenheit. This product is certified to be safe and reliable by UL.

Don’t worry about your grip getting too hot though. The ergonomic handle is insulated for your comfort. Plus, this product comes with an extra-long, 6-foot power cord so you won’t have to worry about accidentally pulling too hard and burning yourself.

Solid Brass Tips
The Chandler tool is great for projects with wood, wax, craft paper, leather, cork, fabric, or plastic. With this set, you will get 8 different tips for wood burning. These tips are made of solid brass and won’t break off in your work like other cheaper products out there. You’ll also get 1 hot knife attachment and 1 steel soldering tip. Plus, you’ll get a handy little storage container for your tips and a pen rest for your tool.

Cost and Value
The Chandler Tool set rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is made from high-quality materials and because it comes with a lifetime, free-of-charge warranty. Chandler doesn’t like buying or making junk, and they don’t think you should have to either.

7. drtulz 56PCS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
drtulz 56PCS
Amazon Link
Use
89
Features
89
Accessories
85
Materials
91
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

28 soldering and wood burning tips

Tips easy to remove and change

Wood stamps included

Tons of stencils

Adjust temperature between 200-450 Celcius

Cons:

Issues with plastic stencils

The drtulz set features more pieces than any other set on our list. While some of those aren’t precisely related to wood burning, they all work together to provide tons of creative gear that will keep you busy for hours. This set works for wood burning, stencil cutting, hot knife cutting, soldering, image transferring, hot stamping, and paper crafting.

Heats Up in 15 Seconds
The pen in this kit features its own temperature adjustment knob so that you can get the just-right temperature for each project. You can select temperatures between 200 degrees Celcius and 450 degrees Celcius. The ceramic inner-heated technology allows this device to heat up in an amazing 15 seconds time.

The pen also features an ergonomic handle with protective casting which allows for comfort at different angles without getting cramped. It also protects from the handle overheating and you burning the sensitive palm of your hand.

User-Friendly Manual
This set comes with 28 soldering and wood burning tips that are interchangeable. You’ll also get a few wood stamps in the shape of a heart, and X, a star, a dolphin, and a square. Tips screw on easily and are a breeze to interchange--just remember to let them cool down first!

In addition to the tips in this set, you’ll get 12 plastic stencils. The stencils include the alphabet and numbers, as well as different holiday, season, and celebration themes. They throw some colored pencils in there too, because why not?
You’ll get a stand for your pen and a handy carry case to tie the setup. And you’ll also get to enjoy a handy user-friendly manual that gives you tons of how-tos and crafting ideas.

Cost and Value
The drtulz set rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it comes with tons of stencils and crafting ideas, as well as some pretty cool stamps which aren’t available in other sets. Plus, it comes with a 1-year warranty.

8. Holife 43PCS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Holife 43PCS
Amazon Link
Use
88
Features
84
Accessories
91
Materials
91
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.99
Pros:

Unique safety features, great for kids

Higher temperatures (220-480 degrees Celcius)

Carving, soldering, and embossing tools

Stencils

18-month warranty

Cons:

Needs better instructions for operating

The Holife set comes with everything you need all tied up neatly in a convenient little carrying case. This is a great gift idea and set for newcomers to the crafting game and provides hours of endless possibilities. You can design on different types of wood, emboss fabric, enjoy hot stamping and soldering, work with craft paper, and cut and carve on wood, cardstock, and leather.

Iron Head with Vents for Heat Dissipation
The Holife pen is designed to heat up quickly with its ceramic inner-heated core. This makes it an efficient product as well that maintains a stable temperature. The iron head features 4 heating vents that allow for heat dissipation for safety purposes.

This product also offers adjustable heating at higher temperatures than other products on our list. Choose your desired temperature between 220 degrees Celcius and 480 degrees Celcius. These temperatures will accommodate most soldering needs. An LED light lets you know when the heat is on as an added safety feature.

Tons of Useful Accessories
You will be busy for hours playing around with all of the useful accessories that come with this set. You’ll get a lead-free iron for soldering, 10 carving tips for wood, 13 soldering and wood burning tips, 5 wood embossing tools that include a heart, star, square, dolphin, and an X, as well as 1 knife chuck and blade.

If that wasn’t enough, you’ll also get two stencils with the alphabet, numbers, and common punctuation marks. Plus, enjoy a few colored pencils, a stand, a handy carrying case, and 5 pieces of carbon paper for transferring images.

Cost and Value
The Holife set rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it has some important safety features that aren’t present on other tools (like the heat dissipators and LED indicator light) and it also includes an 18-month warranty.

9. LuxxisCraft

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
LuxxisCraft
Amazon Link
Use
88
Features
81
Accessories
86
Materials
88
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

2 power settings for wood and leather

Safety features embedded

E-Book included with instructions/techniques

21 different interchangeable tips

1-year warranty

Cons:

Tips bend under heavy pressure

The LuxxisCraft set is a high-quality set that comes with some pretty cool bonuses. The included bonus e-book will teach you the ins and outs of the pyrographic arts and give you tons of tips and ideas about how to spread your creative wings. This set is great for novices and experienced users alike and will provide you with hours of endless fun.

Dual-Power Adjustable Mode
The pen from LuxxisCraft features a dual power mode that is adjustable. Move between 15-watt and 30-watt modes based on the project at hand. If you’re working with wood, go with the 30-watt power mode. If you’re working with leather, go with the 15-watt mode.

The pen also includes a stainless steel barrel that heats up quickly and evenly. But don’t worry about that grip. It’s coated with heat-resistant rubber to keep your hand safe and comfortable. And the overall lightweight quality of the pen makes fine details a breeze.

E-Book Included
With this set, you’ll get 21 tips that are interchangeable. Enjoy a universal tip, a groove tip, a tip for calligraphy, a tip for making dots, tips for transferring patterns, tips for making stripes, a tip for branding, as well as a hot knife tip. Plus, you’ll get a soldering tip as well. These tips are easy to change and fun to work with.

You’ll also get metal stencils for the alphabet, a pen holder for keeping your work area free from burns, and a handy case to keep all of your supplies together.

Sound like too much to handle? Never fear. With the e-book that’s included with your purchase, you’ll learn the ropes in no time. The book helps to guide you in which tools to use for which projects, as well as the different techniques you can begin to master.

Cost and Value
The LuxxisCraft set rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it is made from safe, premium materials. We also love that it comes with a handy e-book and a 1-year warranty on the product.

10. Intlmate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Intlmate
Amazon Link
Use
86
Features
86
Accessories
81
Materials
83
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.99
Pros:

27 different tips for wood/soldering

Wood embossing stamps

60-watt heats up fast

Adjustable temperature from 200-450 Celcius

Tons of amazing stencils

Cons:

Tips bend easily at higher temperatures

The Intlmate is another fully loaded set that won’t break the bank. With everything you need to get the artistic juices flowing right away, this set is bound to deliver hours of creative fun. This product is ideal for a variety of different projects and can be enjoyed by novices and expert users alike.

Fast Heating 60W
This 60-watt pen from Intlmate will heat up fast and stay that way. You are able to control your own temperature selection and can choose temperatures between 200 degrees Celcius and 450 degrees Celcius. The ceramic inner-heated tech of this pen allows it to heat up in about 45 seconds time.

The pen is incredibly lightweight and ergonomically designed so it is easy to maneuver. Enjoy working at different angles without wearing out your hand and wrist. Keep in mind there is no guard so you won’t be able to get super close to the pen tip.

16 Amazing Stencils for All Occasions and Crafts
With this set, you’ll get tons of fun tools to play around and experiment with. Among them, you’ll enjoy 27 assorted soldering tips, wood carving tips, and wood burning tips, and well as 5 wood embossing stamps with heart, X, square, star, and dolphin images, and 1 hot knife setting and knife.

But that’s not all! This baby comes loaded with 16 different stencil options that are fit for any occasion or craft purposes. With holiday themes, season themes, party themes, and subject themes, you’ll be able to create the perfect craft for every event.

This set is completed with a pen holder, and pencil and a sharpener, and a compact carrying case to store all of your goodies in.

Cost and Value
The Intlmate set rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it’s great for a wide array of crafts and because it can be enjoyed by users of all ability levels.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

When gathering the products for this Ten Best List, we took the use of each product into major consideration. Of course, all of the products are capable of burning wood, but the products that offer more versatility in action score higher in terms of use.
Products that work on other materials besides wood score highly in this category. Some of the other uses of these products include cutting and burning leather, embossing fabrics, cutting plastics, foam, and wax, and soldering metals. You can even cut and meld rope with a few of these products.

Features

The products on this list have some really cool features. The following are a few of our favorites.
We love products with more control over temperature. A few of the products on this list are simply plugged in and heat up to 1 uniform temperature. To really experience success working with different materials, you need to have great control over the final temperature.
That’s why we love the products with dual temperature options (15-watt for working with leather items, and 30-watt for working with wood items). We especially love those products that allow you to dial in precise temperatures between 200 degrees Celcius and 450 degrees Celcius. One of our products even ramps up to a whopping 480 degrees Celcius to accommodate temperatures for most soldering jobs.
In addition to selecting heat, we love the products that feature stainless steel rods with vents to allow for heat dissipation and proper distribution. We also love devices with ceramic inner-heating technology that rapidly allows the product to heat up and maintain a consistent temperature during crafting.
Pens that are lightweight and ergonomically designed also score highly on our list as they are easier to maneuver for fine details. However, some of these pens do not have guards which make getting close to the tip of the pen dangerous and impossible. Thus, a guard is a key feature for us as well.
And, as always, we love a good safety feature. Products with stands and LED lights to signal when the device is hot rank highly on our list as do those with certified safety seals.

Accessories

The products on this list come with tons of accessories--that’s actually sort of how they're defined.
We love products that come with tons of different tip options for cutting and burning wood and for soldering. We also love hot-knife options, as well as embossing stamps with different shapes. And those sets that feature high-quality materials in their tips score the highest.
We also love when kits include stencils. Our favorites are the themed stencil packs that cover holidays, party themes, and seasons. We especially love metal stencils as they stand up to heat for longer. A fully stocked tool kit is always the best.

Materials

When making this list we also considered the materials that each product is made out of. Products that are made from stainless steel and other strong metals score highly. As do those made of solid brass instead of compounds.
We love a rubber, heat-resistant grip that keeps the tender palm of your hand from getting burned and that help to maintain comfort during longer crafting periods.
We also love a long cord so you don’t accidentally yank on a short cord and send your pen flying--who knows where it might land!

Value

One of our favorite features of products on this list is their super low price point. These kits are affordable on almost any budget and deliver tons of fun. Many of them come with warranties and 1 set even features a lifetime warranty. There is an expected amount of wear and tear on tips that come with heat and pressure so remember to treat your set nicely and it will last.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Accessories
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Do Not Remove Tips While Hot

Tips (especially brass tips) become brittle when they are hot. For this reason, you should always wait to remove and replace tips until they have cooled down. Doing so will help to preserve your tips and keep them from breaking.
For obvious safety reasons, you should wait until the tips have cooled down as well before touching them. But just to be safe, many of the manufacturers suggest that you use gloves when changing your tips or that you use plyers to replace your tips.

Do Not Press Down With Extreme Pressure

For the same reason we mentioned in our last piece of advice, tips become brittle and malleable when they are exposed to super high temperatures. The longer they are exposed to these temperatures, the more vulnerable they become.
Keep this in mind when you are crafting. The harder you press down on a tip, the more likely you are to bend or break it. If you are having a hard time getting the desired result without pressing down with extreme pressure, you are likely using the wrong tip and the wrong temperature setting. A little bit of trial and error will do you well here.
And all of that being said, even if you do not apply tons of pressure, some of your tips might bend. That’s just part of the game. It’s a good idea to go with a company that is willing to replace bent tips as they understand how their products perform over time.

Other Factors to Consider

Versatility

When considering versatility, we looked at how many different materials each product could work on and how many different temperatures could be achieved. The more materials a product can work on, the highest it scores. The more temperatures achieved, the higher it scores as well.

Ease of Use

We worked to bring you products that are easy to use. Almost all of our products can be used by novices and kids all the way up to experts. Please do not allow kids to use these tools without the appropriate safety precautions and adult supervision.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I leave my pen plugged in when it’s not in use?

a:

In short, no. While some of the devices on our list have OFF switches, it’s best for myriad safety reasons to unplug your pen every time it’s not in use.

q: Can I interchange the tips for different surfaces?

a:

We know how tempting this may be to experiment with, but we suggest only using tips for their suggested purpose. This will help to prolong the life of your tips and your enjoyment of the product.

q: How do I know which temperature to use for which project?

a:

Many of the products on our list come with user’s manuals as well as crafting suggestions. If you are totally new to wood burning, go with a product that has a detailed user’s guide. But keep in mind that YouTube may be your new best friend as you begin to master these sets.

Sources

  1. Wikipedia Contributing Writers, Pyrography, Encyclopedia Article
  2. Jeremy Anderberg, A Beginner’s Guide to Pyrography, aka Woodburning, Article
  3. Jessica Stewart, How to Creatively Decorate Wood Using the Art of Pyrography, Article