to top 10 table

Best Tankinis Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Oct 17, 2019

When it comes to swimwear, there are different styles to choose from. Some like the coverage that comes with the one-piece variety. While others enjoy the freedom to flaunt that the bikini provides.  In the 1990s a new line of swimwear was designed to offer you the best of both worlds. You still get the coverage that the one-piece design has to offer, and a wider variety of style designs like the bikini has to offer. The tankinis received its name from the overall look of the suit, the top closely resembles a tank top, while the suite provides a sense of style you can't always get in a one-piece.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 7 hrs of research

icon
 Dokotoo
95/100 our score
Materials
96
Comfort
95
Weather Resistance
94
Style
96
Value
94
Dokotoo
Why is it better?

There are no underwires in the bra portion.

This can be used for many different occasions.

Offered in a large variety of both colors and patterns.

The straps are adjustable.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Dokotoo
Test Winner: Dokotoo
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
14
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
7
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Comfort Weather Resistance Style Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
96 %
Comfort
95 %
Weather Resistance
94 %
Style
96 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Materials
94 %
Comfort
93 %
Weather Resistance
92 %
Style
92 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Materials
91 %
Comfort
90 %
Weather Resistance
92 %
Style
90 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$28.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Materials
89 %
Comfort
90 %
Weather Resistance
88 %
Style
89 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$27.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Materials
88 %
Comfort
87 %
Weather Resistance
86 %
Style
85 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$27.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Materials
85 %
Comfort
84 %
Weather Resistance
83 %
Style
85 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$27.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Materials
82 %
Comfort
81 %
Weather Resistance
82 %
Style
82 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Materials
80 %
Comfort
79 %
Weather Resistance
81 %
Style
81 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$27.96
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
Materials
79 %
Comfort
78 %
Weather Resistance
78 %
Style
75 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Materials
75 %
Comfort
74 %
Weather Resistance
76 %
Style
77 %
Value
73 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (06.12.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99

10 Best Tankinis Rated & Reviewed for Quality

1. Dokotoo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
1. Dokotoo Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Comfort
95
Weather Resistance
94
Style
96
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

There are no underwires in the bra portion.

This can be used for many different occasions.

Offered in a large variety of both colors and patterns.

The straps are adjustable.

Cons:

Some have stated that the sizes for this do run big.

There are complaints that there is no bust support.

First up is an option that was cut to give you a flattering look and feel. This option can be used for many occasions as it pairs well with any ensemble.

Flattering
Not everyone has the confidence to sport a two-piece fashion. Here is a selection that offers you a similar look while providing you added coverage to the midsection. You essentially get to show off a little sense of style without exposing too much.

Versatile
This option does come as a set but the possibilities for creativity are endless. As the top can be paired with any pants type of your choice. Try it out with some leggings for a day at the gym or jeans for a more relaxed style.

Cost and Value
This can be valuable as a wardrobe addition, as it can be used for just about any occasion. You get the coverage you need to feel comfortable in your own skin, while still having the ability to strut your stuff a little.

2. Fiyote

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
2. Fiyote Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Comfort
93
Weather Resistance
92
Style
92
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

The neckline is a unique design feature.

The top comes with built-in support for your bust.

The straps for the top are adjustable.

This will come with a matching bottom.

Cons:

Some have stated that the top will flare out toward the bottom for a non-flattering look.

Next one on the list is of the stylish variety. Added to the style are some amazing features that will provide support in the areas you need it the most. You will definitely have the potential to turn some heads with this selection.

Stylish
Each top has a uniquely cut neckline, allowing you to show a style as unique as yourself. The material for the top will also have a fashionable design printed on it. Putting some flare into your apparel choice.

Support
Each top comes with a shelf style bra that will support you while your swimming at the pool or beach. The bra will have removable padding that you can choose to use or simply take it out. To control the level of support you can adjust the straps of the top to your liking.

Cost and Value
This is an option for those looking for a little more support from their swimwear without sacrificing in the fashion sense. You can choose from several colors and pattern designs all at an affordable cost.

3. ALove

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
3. ALove Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Comfort
90
Weather Resistance
92
Style
90
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.99
Pros:

The bra has a built-in underwire.

This top is constructed to control the mid-section.

The straps can be adjusted to control the comfort.

Materials provide a quick-drying option.

Cons:

Customers have stated that this is not the best option for women with larger bust sizes.

This one isn't just about the style or fashion sense. With this design, you get some quality attributes that are needed for a day spent in the water. You will look and feel amazing in this selection.

Functional
The materials used to create this product will provide you with a suit that is functional. The material blend used for the top portion will allow the fabric to dry quickly when you get out of the water. Making you more comfortable for a day at the beach or poolside.

Comfortable
The top was designed to provide you with a comfort fit. The bra will feature an underwire for added support. While the straps can be adjusted to fit the top to your standards. One final feature that is quite popular, the top is designed to offer you support in the belly region.

Cost and Value
Here we have a functional and affordable selection for you to choose from. The materials will offer you a quick-drying option for those times you are in and out of the water. With a fit this comfortable you won't even realize you are wearing a suit.

4. Sociala

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
4. Sociala Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
89
Comfort
90
Weather Resistance
88
Style
89
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.99
Pros:

The fit can be adjusted by the straps.

Plenty of color and pattern choices.

Made from fabric that will dry quickly.

Thin padding in the cups of the bra.

Cons:

Some have stated that the material for the top seems to be thin.

A suitable selection for any trip to the beach or vacationing poolside. Here is a selection that will set you apart from the rest where fashion is concerned.

Fashionable
Here we have an option that will come in several choices for both color and pattern. Pair that with the design of the top and you will be the center of attention while on your vacation.

Adjustable
There is nothing worse than constantly having to reposition the top of your swimwear. This option can minimize that issue for you as the straps can be adjusted to your liking. This will help to keep the top positioned where you need it.

Cost and Value
Falling in line with the earlier selection on the list as far as cost goes. This selection will have you looking and feeling great while enjoying some time in the sun.

5. Luvamia

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
5. Luvamia Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Comfort
87
Weather Resistance
86
Style
85
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.99
Pros:

Has a zipper closure to adjust the fit.

The bottoms are a skirt.

This is offered in a range of sizes.

There is no underwire add to the bra portion.

Cons:

Some customers have stated that the zipper is of poor quality.

The sizing for this product does seem to run a tad small.

Now comes an option that has several different characteristics that we have not yet explored. Offering you more coverage than ever before, this one will give you a real sense of security.

Zip Closure
To control the amount of exposure that you're comfortable with, this top has a one of a kind feature. There is a zipper installed right at the neckline, which allows you to expose as little or as much skin as you are comfortable with.

The Bottoms
As a means of changing up the style a bit, this option comes with an entirely different designed bottom. Typically found in the shorts variety or even to resemble underwear. With these, you get a totally different look, as they come in the form of a skirt.

Cost and Value
With this choice, you can dare to be different than everyone else. For the more modest, this offers you a way to enjoy yourself without exposing more than you are comfortable with.

6. Happy Sailed

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
6. Happy Sailed Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
85
Comfort
84
Weather Resistance
83
Style
85
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.95
Pros:

Made to provide a loose fit.

There is an elastic band that prevents riding.

Plenty of colors and design patterns to choose from.

The bottom fits like a bikini bottom.

Cons:

The size options for these do run small.

Some customers have stated that the bra area offers little support.

Next comes a product that suits those who prefer a little more room in their apparel choices. This one will keep you covered no matter what activities you are participating in.

The Fit
Often times we find that clothing that clings to us can be annoying. It leads us astray when seeking some beach or pool apparel choices. With a fit like this one provides, you no longer need to worry about the cling factor. As this one is designed to be slightly roomier than some of the other options.

Elastic Band
At the bottom of the top is an elastic band that will keep this from riding up. When at the pool or beach there is no need to stop to fix the top of your suit.

Cost and Value
When seeking an option that provides you with a little freedom, as far as adjustments go this is the selection for you. For those who like a more comfortable feel, this selection has your back.

7. Sidefeel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
7. Sidefeel Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
82
Comfort
81
Weather Resistance
82
Style
82
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

The design of the top was made to be different.

The material blend used is to provide a quick drying time.

These come in several size options.

The strap choices offer a different style fit.

Cons:

Some customers have stated that the design of the top was not very flattering for them.

Here we get to take a look at a new style design for the top portion of this swimwear. With this option, you will definitely be the envy of the pool.

Different Look
Made to be more of a flyaway design, this adds some depth and dimension to your suit option. The flyaway potion of the top is more of an open design or providing more of a flap to put a spin on things.

The Strap
With this selection, you get choices for the straps. One of which will be around the neck fashion, eliminating the actual straps being on your back. For those seeking something more supportive in fashion, try the straps that criss-cross in the back.

Cost and Value
This one offers you a way to be different for the rest of the pack this summer. With plenty of color and design option to choose from. Here is an option that could become the next valuable possession in your summer attire.

8. Aleumdr

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
8. Aleumdr Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
80
Comfort
79
Weather Resistance
81
Style
81
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.96
Pros:

The back design is racerback.

There are a wide variety of sizes to choose from.

The fit is made to be slightly looser.

The bra section is wireless with removable padding.

Cons:

Customers have complained that the bottoms are relatively big in size.

Another great option when comfort is what you are seeking. Made to offer you the highest amount of coverage from the top to the bottom. The size ranges offered will ensure that there is one to fit almost everyone.

Comfort Fit
Made to provide you with the most comfortable fit possible. The back is of the racerback design which cuts back on the annoyance of having straps. The materials used will provide for a looser feel. for some, that alone offers a large amount of comfort.

Size Options
For some, shopping for a summer suit will be the most frustrating experience ever. It can be hard to find just the right size to fit the shape of your body. With this option, there are plenty of sizes, from big to small they seem to have them all.

Cost and Value
When comfort is what you seek, this one has plenty to offer you. The strap design will minimize the irritation that can be caused by straps. There are plenty of sizes to choose from so finding the right fit should come easy.

9. Century Star

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
9. Century Star Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
79
Comfort
78
Weather Resistance
78
Style
75
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

The materials used will allow for breathability.

The bra portion adds a little lift for a more flattering fit.

Boy short style bottoms prevent unwanted riding.

Plenty of colors and pattern styles to choose from.

Cons:

Some who have purchased this have stated that the bottoms do run small.

Next on the list is one that promises to deliver in all the right areas. Here will take a look at a different style bottom to fit your comfort needs.

The Delivery
As we briefly stated above this one was created to deliver in all the right areas. Here we will point a few of those areas out for you. Take for example the breathable material. This will allow the suit to dry rather quickly and reduce the amount of sweating. TO boost things up a bit, the bra is designed with padding to lift the bust line for a more flattering look.

The Bottoms
One of the biggest issues with the bottom portion of swimwear is the fact that they tend to ride up. It gets embarrassing when you are constantly digging them out of unwanted areas. These are designed to prevent this from happening to you. With this boy short design, you can feel free to run around with confidence.

Cost and Value
This selection can add a ton of value to your summertime fun. The best part is you won't break the bank making this purchase either. Offering you the right amount of support in the places you need it the most.

10. Grace's Secret

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
10. Grace's Secret Tankini
Amazon Link
Materials
75
Comfort
74
Weather Resistance
76
Style
77
Value
73
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

The cut of the design offers some modesty.

Comes in a couple of color choices.

The bottoms are boy style shorts.

The shoulder straps can be adjusted to change the fit of the suit.

Cons:

Those who have purchased this have stated that they do run small in size.

The last product that we have come to offers you a little modesty when the situation calls for it. Available in many size selections there is definitely something for everyone.

Modest
The materials used will provide you with a more form-fitting option to choose from. The design is cut to provide you with a modest amount of coverage for those occasions when it is needed.

Sizing
This one comes in a large variety of size options to choose from. Making it easier for those who have trouble finding the right fit. The better the suit fits the more likely you are to be comfortable.

Cost and Value
This is the perfect selection when you need a more modest approach to your beachwear. These are offered in a wide variety of size selections. This makes it easier for those who have issues finding suits they can be comfortable in.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

The materials you choose will affect several aspects of your apparel choice. Some will change the way in which the suit will fit and feel. While others will provide breathability and quick-drying capabilities. Here you will find what each material is along with the potential it has to offer. Polyester has benefits including breathability and quick-drying potential. Spandex is a material that can be stretched for a more contoured fit. And then there's old reliable Nylon which is a durable lightweight that adds flexibility to the suit.

Comfort

This can be the most stressful part of the shopping experience for many. Finding the perfect fit to flatter your more positive areas while drawing attention away from your problem areas. The end result often times ends in you leaving without the suit you went shopping for. Below you will find some tips that will show you what or what not to look for according to your body shape.

Weather Resistance

When choosing a suit for use in the sun it is also helpful to choose one that will offer a line of defense against the rays of the sun. Sunburn can happen rather quickly and can be a painful experience altogether. There are a number of suits that come with UV protection built-in and we're big fans so when we find some that hit the mark we'll be sure and let you know.

Style

We assume you're getting a tanking because of its stylishness. So we'll make sure and find you suits that not only flatter all kinds of body types but also make you look great while doing it. We're not you so we can't make the decision for you but we can make sure we give you a great cross-section of all kinds of suits made in all kinds of materials and all kinds of styles.

Value

We want you to look good but we don't want you to go to the poor house doing it. We're always keeping an eye on the price tag because even folks who have no money troubles don't like to spend exorbitantly on products for no reason. So, we'll watch the dollar signs as we're digging through the thousands of tankinis that are vying to make our list.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Weather Resistance
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Why the Tankini?

The only reason to end a tankini honestly is that you want to. But we can say that when it comes to swimwear they are the latest thing and we're big fans. Not only do they allow the fun mix and match element of a bikini but they also can provide a bit more cover for folks who have body issues or just don't want to deal with a nasty belly burn after a day in the sun. They're easy, they look great, they're versatile and they look great and casual. We really can't say enough good things about this type of suit so we recommend you go out and get one, and you'll find great options here.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is the purpose of a tankini?

a:

The tankini is much like all the other apparel of its kind. It was created as another form of swimwear in a line meant for women. It offers the coverage that a one-piece design has to offer while giving the fashion sense of the two-piece variety. It is not uncommon to see people also using these as workout gear and not just for the water. There are options that come with the top that offer great support in the areas you need it the most. One of the more appealing aspects that can draw people toward these is the ability to make this a versatile option. Many will pair this type of top with different bottom styles to give their ensemble a whole new look and feel.

q: How do you remove chlorine from swimwear?

a:

Although it is always best to follow the manufacturers' instructions for caring for your apparel you do have some options for removing chlorine safely from the clothing. Wash the suit in cold water temperatures with a detergent that does not contain harsh chemicals. Then allow it to air dry completely. If there are any lingering scents of chlorine you can purchase a chlorine remover. To use this, fill a sink with cold water and add a drop or two of the remover to it. Allow the suit to soak in the solution for a couple of hours. It can be helpful to swish the suit around from time to time. Be sure to ring the suit free of moisture before hanging it up to dry.

q: How do I know if my selection fits right?

a:

Your choice in suits will need to be comfortable for you to wear without feeling awkward.  Essentially they are meant to be more of a snug fit but you shouldn't feel as though you have stuffed yourself inside of the material. The top should support you in the chest area while still giving you a feel of comfort. You really don't want to choose one that forces you to fell crammed in up top. This can lead to a serious disaster later down the road. The bottoms should stay put without riding up or falling off the waist.

q: Do these come with different options for the bottom portion?

a:

This will depend upon the manufacturer of the actual suit. There are some that will offer a choice as far as the type of bottom that comes with your purchase. While others will specify which bottoms go with certain tops. When shopping in store there is the possibility that you can mix-n-match your set as some are sold as separate articles of clothing. As far as different types there are several of those available to the consumer. There are the boy short style, a skirt or the traditional bikini style bottom. With the bikini style, there are often several cut styles to choose from as well.

q: Which material option is better suited for performance?

a:

Many will select the polyester variety for a number of good reasons. For those who swim competitively, it is for the resistance to chlorine. Not to mention the fact that polyester is one of the more durable material types used for swimwear. It will provide a feel that is both comfortable and softer. You will notice that these are slightly more difficult when it comes to putting them on and taking them off. That is due to the fact that polyester has a low stretch factor to it. These will come at a higher cost than some of the other fabric options.

q: How do you keep the top from floating up?

a:

With ever-changing materials and designs, there are options to choose from that won't float out of place while in the water. Now you can find them in the fly-away fashion this is where the top opens slightly so to speak. In that opening is a snugger fitting material that aids in coverage and keeping the top in place. There are those that have strings to keep them tightly secured at the bottom as well. Elastic bands at the bottom will also help prevent floating top issues. When all else fails you can tuck the top into the bottoms of the suit while in the water, trust me no one will even notice that you needed to do this.

Sources

  1. Leaf, Types of Fabrics Used for Swimsuits, Website
  2. Just Swim, Guide to Choosing Swimwear for Women, website
  3. Wikipedia, Tankini, Website
  4. Airy Mary, Tankini: The Pros and Cons, Website