to top 10 table

Best Power Banks Reviewed & Compared

last updated Apr 06, 2019

Power.  We all need it. Some more than others.  Many of us are lost when our access to it is somehow restricted.  So what do we do without it? Imagine when you are out for an extended period, say on a road trip, and your phone or tablet dies?  You could use a car charger, but that's not always a viable solution.  What then? There has to be a way to fix this issue. Luckily, in this digital world, we were gifted with a solution to this misfortune: the power bank. If you need a quick read, check out our top three featured power banks just above. That is just a taste of the immense power available at your fingertips. One the above may very well be the perfect match for you and your electronic devices.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Anker PowerCore 10000
99.3/100 our score
Accuracy
99.7
Capacity
99
Battery Life
100
Anker PowerCore 10000
Why is it better?

Very compact

Incredibly fast charging

Your devices are safe from surges

High-quality build

Compatible with a wide array of devices

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Anker PowerCore 10000
Test Winner: Anker PowerCore 10000
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
20
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
29
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
51
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Taylor Belmer
By Taylor Belmer:

Why would you want a power bank, or better yet, why would you need one? In this update, we talk a bit more about why and also answer some more questions. We hope to power up our readers in every way possible.

Sorting Options
Accuracy Capacity Battery Life By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.3
Accuracy
99.7 %
Capacity
99 %
Battery Life
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$31.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Accuracy
97 %
Capacity
96.8 %
Battery Life
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Accuracy
96.3 %
Capacity
95 %
Battery Life
95.5 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Accuracy
93.7 %
Capacity
92.8 %
Battery Life
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
Accuracy
91.5 %
Capacity
91 %
Battery Life
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$45.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Accuracy
88.6 %
Capacity
89 %
Battery Life
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
Accuracy
87.2 %
Capacity
86 %
Battery Life
86.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.3
Accuracy
83.7 %
Capacity
84 %
Battery Life
83.4 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$54.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Accuracy
81.7 %
Capacity
82 %
Battery Life
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$9.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Accuracy
80 %
Capacity
79 %
Battery Life
78.4 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$15.99

10 Best Power Banks

1. Anker PowerCore 10000

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.3
Anker PowerCore 10000
Amazon Link
Accuracy
99.7
Capacity
99
Battery Life
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.99
Pros:

Very compact

Incredibly fast charging

Your devices are safe from surges

High-quality build

Compatible with a wide array of devices

Cons:

Questionable durability

Sometimes doesn’t hold a full charge

PowerCore is Anker's flagship power bank because they know when they've got a great product, and are confident enough to stand behind it. That's probably why they'll make more appearances later on this list. When you're good at what you do, like really, really good, people will take notice. Just like the millions that turn to the PowerCore series.

Great Size to Capacity Ratio
For a smaller and more compact charger than most of the competition, even for a portable power bank, this baby packs a good punch. It will give you multiple charges for a wide variety of electronic devices, ensuring that you'll never be left powerless.

Tucked Away
Again with the size reference. There's no denying it, size does matter. When that means you can carry extra power anywhere you go with it being bulky or too noticeable, how could you go wrong?

Cost and Value
Aside from the miniscule lipstick-sized models, this is likely to be the best price you'll find for a high-quality power bank. Given it's a very good size to capacity ratio, as this isn't an overly large product either, what you're getting is great value for your money.

2. Anker PowerCore 20100

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Anker PowerCore 20100
Amazon Link
Accuracy
97
Capacity
96.8
Battery Life
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Insane capacity

Dual device output

Voltage boost ensure consistent speed

Charges tailored to specific devices

Cons:

Sketchy indicator light

Takes a while to fully charge

There's that PowerCore again. Like I said before, they know chargers. This time though, we are not messing around. This is one of the big boys, yes, that does mean it's a little bit bigger, but not enough to make a difference. What does make a real difference is that with more size means an incredible amount of power.

Dual Charging
Since this packs so much juice, you're able to spread that charge over a couple of devices, making your life that much easier, and making your outings that much more entertaining. Also, just because it's giving double the charge, it's not going to slow down.

(Ultra) High Capacity
Let's look at that for a second. A seven-day charge capacity ready to go to power up whatever you throw at it, and several times at that. It's like having a warehouse-size pack of batteries, except more reliable, cheaper, and can fit in your pocket.

Cost and Value
Bigger does mean more expensive, there's no getting around that. In this case, it's worth it though, since you're not actually paying all that much more, but what you're getting is an enormous return in terms of capacity and function. I'd say that's pretty fair.

3. Aibocn 10,000mAh

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Aibocn 10,000mAh
Amazon Link
Accuracy
96.3
Capacity
95
Battery Life
95.5
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Elegant design

Back up flashlight

Dual USB

Works with a huge array of devices

Cons:

Cord sits loose

Not very durable

What is an Aibocn? I don't know either, so I looked it up. What they are is an innovative young company looking to meet the needs of the consumer by providing high-quality power solutions, with a wide variety of products. With this particular offering, I can honestly say they are on the right track.

Automatic Shutdown
There are a few chargers on this list that prevent power surges and the like, but this is the only one I know of that actually shuts off automatically, just to be safe. I like that extra bit of precaution.

Wide Variety
Seriously. The Aibocn power bank supports the included cable, and third party cables, to charge all the most used smartphones, and a big chunk of tablets and laptops too. That versatility is what puts this charger up there with the best.

Cost and Value
You may not have heard of Aibocn before. I know I haven't. That works in our favor actually. Little brand recognition means you're getting this beauty for a fraction of the cost of other similar chargers. What you're getting, is a steal.

4. Anker PowerCore+ Mini

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
 Anker PowerCore+ Mini
Amazon Link
Accuracy
93.7
Capacity
92.8
Battery Life
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Incredibly portable

High capacity for size

Very user-friendly

Holds a charge well

Cons:

No instructions included

Takes a long time to obtain a full charge

Aww, look at the cute little charger. It's so small! Yes, it is small, that's why they call it a lipstick-sized charger. Luckily, it also packs a good wallop, making it perfect for those quick road trips to grandma's house. Sadly, this will be the last time you'll see an Anker product on this list, though I easily could have made a whole list full of them, they are just that good.

You’ll Forget You Have It
Try not to, mind you. Otherwise what's the point if having it with you? That is just a testament to how convenient and portable the Anker PowerCore+ mini is. Convenient power that doesn't get in your way.

Anybody Can Use It
You wouldn't think being user-friendly is an important feature for a power bank, but there's a lot going on in life, and you just don't have the time or patience to mess around with something so trivial. Good thing Anker thought of that and made an easy to use a product for you.

Cost and Value
One of the best features of a lipstick-sized power bank is the cost. It will never break the bank but usually doesn't offer much more than low price. Except that this mini has all the power you'll ever need for shorter excursions.

5. iMuto 30000mAh

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
 iMuto 30000mAh
Amazon Link
Accuracy
91.5
Capacity
91
Battery Life
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.99
Pros:

Convenient digital screen

Smart protection system

Huge 14-day capacity

Highly compatible

Cons:

Wonky charging ports

Takes a long time to charge

For all the great features included here, this charger's best one is peace of mind, hands down. Everything about the design seems to be geared towards making sure the consumer can rest easy knowing they bought a well built, absolutely reliable piece of equipment.

Well Protected
In this case, I don't mean the charger itself, though this one is very sturdy and durable. I'm talking about your devices. There are built-in safeguards that prevent over-charging and power surges.

Always Know Where You Stand
That's always a good thing, and the iMuto 30000mAh Portable Charger makes it possible with a built-in digital screen, so you'll never be kept guessing as to how much charge is left, or when it's time to plug it in.

Cost and Value
The cost falls right in line with the majority of power banks in its class. So it's a reasonably priced item for the quality, especially considering all the bells and whistles thrown in for the sake of functionality.

6. Apple Lightning Portable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Apple Lightning Portable
Amazon Link
Accuracy
88.6
Capacity
89
Battery Life
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Excellent capacity

High-end output

Super fast charging

Heavy duty build

Cons:

Very heavy

Obtrusive size

Okay, this is an easy one. Everybody knows Apple and tends to hate them or swear by them. Whichever side you fall on, one thing is indisputable: Apple makes very high quality stuff, and any third party product needs to be up to those standards, and this one succeeds. If you're already a fan, great, I don't need to sell you on it. If you aren't, give them a try. You may just be pleasantly surprised.

Auto-Detect
This portable power bank will detect your device, and know exactly how much power it needs at just the right speed, ensuring it gets the perfect charge, safely, every time.

Great Capacity
Apple products hold a charge very well. It's part of what they are known for. So imagine what happens if you pair this charger with your phone. The charger will fill up your phone four times. You'll be covered virtually forever.

Cost and Value
Top notch quality does come at a top-notch price. This power bank will definitely cost you a few dollars, but in return, you get a product that you can count on and trust.

7. PRAVPower 22000

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
PRAVPower 22000
Amazon Link
Accuracy
87.2
Capacity
86
Battery Life
86.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Triple device charging

Incredibly portable

Smart protection keeps your device safe

Fire resistant alloy construction

Cons:

Doesn’t hold a charge well

Gets hot

It looks like a cell phone. Not one of those new gaudy too-big phones, but more like one circa 2013. Nice and compact with sleek lines and a clean aesthetic. Slap in some reliable high capacity lithium batteries, and you've got yourself one the best purchases you can make for your energy needs.

Triple Threat
With a high capacity, what do you do with all that power? Charge three devices at one time, of course. If you actually need to have all that technology with you, bring it with confidence.

Speaking of Power
That high capacity I mentioned? It's right here. Charge your phone up to nine times, or your tablet three times. Or both at once a bunch of times. This thing is a beast.

Cost and Value
You'll find this charger on the more affordable side of the market, which is always welcome. What's more, is everything packed into its compact form puts it in a higher class quality wise.

8. RAVPower 26800

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.3
RAVPower 26800
Amazon Link
Accuracy
83.7
Capacity
84
Battery Life
83.4
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.99
Pros:

Variety of colors to choose from

Triple charging ability

Lightweight and portable

Lifetime warranty

Cons:

Gets hot to touch

Doesn’t hold full charge

Wait, not another Anker product? What is going on? Don't worry, they will be back in a bit. In the meantime, RavPower will take care of your needs quite nicely. They packed solid capacity and great build quality into a sleek little unit and bundled it all together with an exceptionally fair price. So if for some reason you're looking for different options that are equally as trustworthy, look no further.

Light and Airy
That's an odd descriptor, isn't it? Well no, not in this case, because it's absolutely fitting. Compact is one thing, which this charger definitely is, but it's something else entirely when you have something that you'll generally carry around a lot, that isn't obtrusive in any way. That's just good design.

Choose your Hue
It's not something you'd think of when choosing a portable power bank, but RavPower has provided the option to customize your product a little bit, so why wouldn't you? You could build your outfit around it.

Cost and Value
It holds its own with all the other big boys out there, offering comparable capacity and durability, with the added perk of picking from several color options, which is always a nice little bonus.

9. IXCC Mini 3400mAh

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
IXCC Mini 3400mAh
Amazon Link
Accuracy
81.7
Capacity
82
Battery Life
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.99
Pros:

Super compact

Generous two-year warranty

Delivers efficient charge

Simple connection

Cons:

Stops holding a full charge

Takes too long to charge

Look, another lipstick charger. Well yeah, I wasn't going to leave you with just one after all the talk about variety. This is another solid selection, worthy of your time, and just a few dollars. This super compatible charger has the same capacity of other more well-known brands, with a long lifespan and durable housing. Just headed to the beach for the day, this is perfect.

Trusted by Millions
Not so much feature as a testimonial, when five million people use your product, it must be pretty special. Or really cheap. This one covers both bases perfectly well. No wonder it's so popular.

Charges Quick
You just got called out of town for a meeting, and you know the trip is going to be "sooo boring". Great, your power bank is dead and you leave in a few hours. Good thing IXCC made a mini portable power bank that goes from zero percent to fully charged in just four hours. Now I bet you can't wait to get on the road.

Cost and Value
Just enough power, and just enough money. This won't set you back at all and is totally justifiable for a take anywhere device that you can forget about until you need it.

10. Puridea 10000mah

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Puridea 10000mah
Amazon Link
Accuracy
80
Capacity
79
Battery Life
78.4
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.99
Pros:

Good looking

Quick charging

Dual charge capability

Very reliable

Cons:

LED’s tend to stop working

Doesn’t charge evenly

Puridea made a charger good looking enough to show off, and versatile enough to use it anywhere from business and travel to leisure and outdoors. It's a jack of all trades that is perfectly suited for a busy lifestyle.

It's Blue
Pretty lame feature right? I know, but when you spend hours looking at a bunch of power banks that, while great products, tend to be a bit on the boring side with the same matte black appearance. So then this one just jumped right out at me with its neat color scheme. It screams confidence.

High Capacity, Again
Another charger that states high capacity. Don't get me wrong, this is one of the better ones to make that claim, letting you charge a bunch of stuff a bunch of times. Since that is essentially its purpose, good work.

Cost and Value
High capacity, a choice of colors, sleek design. What if I were to say that it's built for looks and therefore expensive. I'd be wrong, That's what. It's built for performance and very not expensive, so it's a great value.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Accuracy

This is not a critical feature because most power banks are practical as a smaller, lower capacity unit for devices like cellular phones and smaller cameras. However, it's an aspect of one that you may not want to overlook. So what happens when you decide to use an adapter and connect your laptop to any low output power bank? You can damage the power bank, but most of the time it will just do nothing.

The typical power bank will only have a 5-volt output. A device like a laptop might need anywhere from 15 to 25 volts. You can see the voltage specifications for your device on its power adapter if it has one, usually on laptops. If not, do a quick search on google for your specific device and find out the volt output you will nee. Then get yourself a power bank with a voltage output a little bit over what's required. If you don't plan on using the power bank to charge a large device like a laptop, you may not need the upgraded power source. Consider what you will use it for most.

Capacity

The charging capacity, or technically known as mAh is more or less the amount of power that the device can push out and/or store. Batteries will have a mAh, even external batteries like power banks. What does this mean? Well, if your phone battery comes in at 3000mAh, you will want a power bank that is at least 3000mAh if you want to be able to fully charge it, but ideally more for charging efficiency.

Battery Life

We're all in a hurry and the less time we have to wait for the power bank to charge up itself or charge a device, the better. Because most power banks only offer the ability to charge via USB port, the process is typically longer as USB is limited in regards to its output. If your external battery offers an alternative method of charging, you may be able to cut the common 40 hour charge time in half. Don't panic. If you choose a quality power bank waiting too long won't be an issue. If you have a large battery nearing the 15 to 20 thousand mAh range, you may be stuck with that long wait time. As always, consider what you will use it for and don't go to the extreme and get a 10 thousand mAh battery if you only need to charge your phone. That's throwing practicality out the window. Grab yourself a smaller, portable power bank and you will have no problem with drawbacks from charging time.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Accuracy
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Battery Life
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Power Banks were made to last!

Such batteries are composed of lithium ion which inevitably loses its ability to hold any charge whatsoever. This process takes time, but the longer a battery like so can hold its charge, the more practical it is, thus becoming more valuable to the user. Can we tell which will last longer? Its all comes down to how many times the battery dies. For example, a large power bank that stores a large amount of charge dies much less than a smaller power bank. This means it will outlast a smaller capacity bank, given they are not damaged by other sources. For this, we have included a variety of power banks, including batteries that hold the charge much longer. Depending on how much you use the battery and the overall quality, you will get from 500 to 1500 recharges before burning out.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is a power bank?

a:

A power bank is a portable device that allows you to charge a battery while you are on-the-go. They have a special battery in a case that controls power flow. They allow you to store energy to use later on your devices. Most work with USB chargers, cameras, GoPros, portable speakers, GPS systems, MP3 players, smartphones, tablets and more.

q: How does a power bank work?

a:

You charge the power bank first. The power bank stores the electrical energy for later use so that when you are on the move and away from an outlet, you can charge your device by connecting the device to the power bank.

q: Why would I want a power bank?

a:

If you are someone that is always traveling and hardly near an outlet, having a power bank at hand is super beneficial. You can make sure that your most necessary devices are charged at all times by having one of these special batteries.

q: Will a power bank destroy cellphone phone batteries?

a:

Depending upon the power bank that you choose, that will depend on it destroying a phone battery. Each power bank you look at has a different voltage output. It is said that an output of 5V or more can damage your cellphone batteries. The reason for this is because most wall chargers and USB chargers are designed to put out around 5V, so anything over that poses a risk to damaging cell phone batteries.

q: Can power banks explode?

a:

It is said that if it has a lithium battery, it can explode. Just because a power bank has a lithium battery doesn't mean that it will automatically explode. There has to be a reason to prompt the explosion. High temperatures and wrong circuits can cause explosions that many people fear with power banks. You can avoid this by monitoring the power bank while it charges to ensure that it doesn't overheat. Although it is rare, it can happen.

q: How long does a power bank hold its charge?

a:

Depending on how often it is used, the average power bank can charge a cellphone from 0% up to 100%, at least four times. The reason you get four charges out of a power bank is due to the fact that it uses a high-quality lithium battery and also because the battery is not in use while it just sits.

q: Are power banks allowed in luggage?

a:

Surprisingly, power banks are not allowed in checked luggage but are okay for carry on, with prior approval from the air carrier. If the power bank is over a certain voltage or size, it will not be allowed on the plane at all. The reason for this is because there can be a chemical imbalance that could cause the charger to explode. The thought is that if there is a fire in the storage area, it is more likely to cause damage than one in the cabin. One in the cabin can be seen and put out a lot more quickly than one in the storage.

q: What is the full life of a power bank?

a:

Depending on which power bank you choose, what the voltage is, and how you care for the power bank will determine its life length. Power banks should be stored at 80% charge. If they are not stored at an 80% charge for long periods of time and stored dead, these power banks could dry up a lot faster than one that is stored at 80%. It is hard to determine the life, but you should get anywhere from 250-1000 charges out of your power bank before it dies completely!