to top 10 table

Best Cordless Phones Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 08, 2019

When looking for possible work, you may decide to slip into the quickly growing field of “work-at-home” possibilities. What many do not realize is that several of these jobs require a landline and that means you can’t rely on your cell as the only means of communication. Many offices also have to have landlines, and the traditional set with a speaker may not be the best choice. We have found the best for both the home and office setups and have compiled them to bring you a list of cordless ones and even a cordless office conference level speakerphone for you to consider. For our list, we've gathered some of the best-selling models on the market from which you'll find all the features you are looking for!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 32 hrs of research

icon
Panasonic KX-TG7875S
97.8/100 our score
Features
99
Ease of Use
96
Battery Life
99
Connectivity
97
Value
98
Panasonic KX-TG7875S
Why is it better?

Bluetooth to cell

USB charging station

Answering machine

5 extensions

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Panasonic KX-TG7875S
Test Winner: Panasonic KX-TG7875S
Interviewed Experts
4
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Total Readers
998
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
76
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
32
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Features Ease of Use Battery Life Connectivity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Features
99%
Ease of Use
96%
Battery Life
99%
Connectivity
97%
Value
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$245.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Features
98%
Ease of Use
95%
Battery Life
96%
Connectivity
97%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$97.60
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Features
96%
Ease of Use
95%
Battery Life
95%
Connectivity
93%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$67.12
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Features
94%
Ease of Use
92%
Battery Life
95%
Connectivity
90%
Value
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$319.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Features
93%
Ease of Use
92%
Battery Life
90%
Connectivity
91%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$77.85
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Features
88%
Ease of Use
94%
Battery Life
90%
Connectivity
88%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$14.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Features
90%
Ease of Use
89%
Battery Life
87%
Connectivity
93%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$76.25
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Features
90%
Ease of Use
88%
Battery Life
87%
Connectivity
85%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$73.61
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Features
85%
Ease of Use
88%
Battery Life
84%
Connectivity
88%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$169.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Features
85%
Ease of Use
88%
Battery Life
82%
Connectivity
84%
Value
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.04.19)
$39.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Panasonic KX-TG7875S
  • Panasonic KX-TGE275S
  • AT&T CRL82312
  • Panasonic KX-TG6644B
  • VTech LS6425-3
  • VTech CS6409
  • Ooma Telo
  • AT&T CL82307
  • Wireless Speakerphone by eMeet
  • Uniden DCX170
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

BEST CORDLESS PHONES REVIEWED & RATED FOR QUALITY

1. Panasonic KX-TG7875S

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Panasonic KX-TG7875S
Features
99
Ease of Use
96
Battery Life
99
Connectivity
97
Value
98
best offer for today
$245.95
Pros:

Bluetooth to cell

USB charging station

Answering machine

5 extensions

Cons:

Can be hard to follow instruction book

At the start of our list, we have put in this little number. If you want a single line to your house but multiple bases you wanna check out this one. There were several abilities that came with the product we appreciated and we think you will too.

Read more

Five Handsets
We saw a lot of cordless sets that were available out there with a couple of handsets at a time but this one has five. That means even though you only have to deal with the one main base there are smaller chargers that can go to up to four other rooms so you don’t have to go running to get the device. Which is especially handy if you are not particularly mobile yourself or you like to have a phone handy in whatever room you happen to spend time in.

USB Charger
There is a unique feature with this device that allows you to plug in your cell USB and hook into the side of the house device base. That way you can charge it without having to drag your cell from room to room to avoid missing a call. This is especially nice since the house and cell can link up via Bluetooth and you can get calls from the cell on your house device. A nice little way to keep your voicemail clear while your out and about.

Cost and Value
While the price on this set is what we would consider moderate there is also the option with the same model style for just a single extra phone instead of so many. The Bluetooth connection and the ability to charge off the home station is especially nice for the tech-savvy. Customer service was also decent adding to the overall value for us. Overall this is a nice product at a decent price that can be put to great use.

2. Panasonic KX-TGE275S

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Panasonic KX-TGE275S
Features
98
Ease of Use
95
Battery Life
96
Connectivity
97
Value
95
best offer for today
$97.60
Pros:

Key Locator

Call block list

Bluetooth

Message machine

Cons:

Needs batteries

Similar to the last one this set still gives you some of the same features. However, at the slightly lower price, we found this to be just as awesome in its own ways. We picked a few different features to check out on this model but they are just as useful in their own way. Be sure to make your choice based on your needs.

Read more

Lost Keys
We always enjoy when something good comes with a new or useful feature. The one we found with the set was just neat. You get a key detector in your kit. There is an alarm that will go off at your keys up to two hundred yards away. No more wondering where the kids hid them, just send out the alert from any of your devices and the keys will alert until you find them. Hopefully, you won’t find them in the freezer.

250 Number Call Block
If your like us and tired of dealing with telemarketers or prerecorded messages this is a great feature. You can program in up to two hundred and fifty numbers onto the block call list. This means they won’t be able to contact you or harass you anymore. Just put the number on the blocked list and they can’t contact you. Nice right?

Cost and Value
Comparatively less than some of the sets available this is a good buy. It still has the Bluetooth of some of its brethren but we really liked the idea of a block list. Also since most of us can never find our keys this was a really nice feature and much more useful than what you got out of some other groupings. Overall this is a nice investment and thinks it works well. A good buy.

3. AT&T CRL82312

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
AT&T CRL82312
Features
96
Ease of Use
95
Battery Life
95
Connectivity
93
Value
94
best offer for today
$67.12
Pros:

Large LCD screen for easy viewing

Large print backlit keys

Phonebook

Cons:

Complex instructions

This is a nice unit. We found it to have all the little bells and whistles we liked to have without technology but not so much we might interrupt NASA. There are a few features you may appreciate a bit more when you see the occasional gray on your scalp but regardless they are nice to have.

Read more

Extra Large Buttons
This unit and all its headsets come with backlit keypads that have an extra large print on them making them easier to see, even in dim light. Along with this is the fact that there is a nice sized LCD screen display that also uses large print so it is easier to read.

Languages
While almost everywhere we call nowadays gives us an option for another language and it seems to us like AT&T wanted to do that for at home. We don’t know what would happen if you got one these devices and didn’t understand what it was saying but luckily you have some options. This device can be set up in English/Spanish/ or French. That is a nice choice as most devices only come available in the language of the users but now you can get this set just right for a loved one.

Cost and Value
Overall we think this is a good bang for your buck. You get a lot of the technological options we have come to look for even when it comes to a home appliance. Easy setup and good customer service go hand in hand sometimes and it also seems to be the case here. Always ready with a friendly voice and a ready solution. If you enjoy this style of device give it try.

4. Panasonic KX-TG6644B

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Panasonic KX-TG6644B
Features
94
Ease of Use
92
Battery Life
95
Connectivity
90
Value
93
best offer for today
$319.99
Pros:

Caller ID

Hands-Free

Power backup

Eco Mode

Cons:

May need a range booster

Once again we have found you a multi-handset device unit that you don’t have to drag around. When you consider the intelligence found in modern technology today it is important that modern manufacturers do their best to keep up. We were pleased to see some of the ways they have worked towards an already well-known name.

Read more

Hands Free
We are accustomed to being hands-free on our cell phones but not so much when it comes to our home ones. Panasonic has found a way around it so that you can use each handset like its own handsfree speaker. Just hit a button and you can set it down and keep up with what you were doing. No more dealing with messy hands in the kitchen.

Power Back-Up
This particular model is made with a powerful battery backup. If for some reason the power goes out in your home it isn’t an issue. The device's backup system will kick in when the house's power goes out so you still have a working house device for communication. The device will also automatically lower the power consumption when being used near the base. This is a nice way to save the battery for more talk time.

Cost and Value
While on the higher end of the affordability scale this is a set that does a lot. The wakeup alarm, hands-free feature, and headset jack alone are offering a lot in such a seemingly simple device. Talking caller ID and the economical handling of its power source are all ways in which this Panasonic device differs from others in the same genre. Even though this one is a tad heaving out of pocket its light as a feather once your using it.

5. VTech LS6425-3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
VTech LS6425-3
Features
93
Ease of Use
92
Battery Life
90
Connectivity
91
Value
92
best offer for today
$77.85
Pros:

LCD backlit screen

Push to Talk intercom

Audible caller ID

Cons:

No color options

Another that made it to our list is this VTech model LS6425-3. This phone is not only impressive to look at but it also had some great features we enjoyed using and that worked really well. A few of our office workers felt super important with this many gizmos to play with. Just check out what all we found below.

Read more

Voice Announced Caller ID
If you are ever taking off at a run to get to your handset so you can see whos calling you can kiss those days goodbye. Forget having to see who is pestering you in the middle of cooking or cards. This little number audibly announces the name and number of who is calling you. It makes things that much easier when your busy doing something and aren’t sure you want to stop for a chit-chat. It’s also great for knowing when something is from someone important.

Phonebook
The old school device books that most of us grew up with are a thing of the past. Everyone uses their cell device as a contact book. One those occasions when your cell isn’t handy though or your battery dies what are you going to do. Well, this valuable gadget allows you to save up to 50 names and numbers right into it. That means even if you lost your contact book you can still have all the important numbers ready.

Cost and Value
We only listed a couple of the neat features available on this phone but the list is almost endless. We found that it held up well under frequent use and the instructions didn’t need a translator for us to understand them. When you take in the cost and the fact that you get three handheld sets at well it’s just a nice little deal. If you like the look this is a great device to use not just pretty.
PROS

6. VTech CS6409

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
VTech CS6409
Features
88
Ease of Use
94
Battery Life
90
Connectivity
88
Value
90
best offer for today
$14.95
Pros:

Colors

Easy to register

Customer service

Cons:

May need help synching the base

For those of us that aren’t looking for the bigger means better option comes this VTech. The handset accessory cordless handset is made to be added onto a preexisting device base you have and work with your current cell. We thought this was a really great idea considering how often only one handset might have something happen to it but the rest is fine so why buy a whole new system.

Read more

Color
One of the nice things about this handset is that it is available in multiple colors. Most of the main bases only come in black or silver but these colored handsets allow you a more personal touch. Blue, red, white, and black with silver are the four options that tend to go with almost any room. You can always, of course, look out for the entire system in that color but one step at a time.

Customer Service
While it may take a bit of patience VTech has the kind of customer service we long for but so seldom see. Informational and seemingly able to walk you through any setup or technical issues you should have they are there and ready whenever you need a touch of help. Like when you can’t remember your voicemail code.

Cost and Value
Overall this is a fairly priced item, especially as an accessory. You have color options, great customer service, and that handsfree ability so you don’t have to stop everything you are doing just to answer the device. A nice touch or lack of if you ask us. All we can really say is if you are looking for a nice stable brand that will work with you at a decent price there are way worse out there.

7. Ooma Telo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Ooma Telo
Features
90
Ease of Use
89
Battery Life
87
Connectivity
93
Value
89
best offer for today
$76.25
Pros:

No longer need to pay for home phone

Can keep the same number

Works through the internet

can come with its own cordless, or work with one you have

Cons:

Must have internet

This was a very unique operating system we added to this list. Ooma actually isn’t a device it is an adapter system that allows you to use your internet provider for your home device as well. It sounds a bit complicated it is actually quite simple and a neat way to minimize some expense. It can also come with an Ooma provided cordless device, or be used with the one you already have.

Read more

Ninety Day Warranty
Omelo offers you a nice little warranty. You have a full ninety-day warranty from the day you buy it. This manufacturer will repair or replace it for you. Their customer service seems like something that is easily and readily available. Just be sure you keep that receipt just in case.

Saves-Old-Number
When we first starting looking into this device one of our biggest questions was would I be able to keep our current number when we changed service. The answer was a resounding yes. You are allowed to keep your current number for a small fee. If you are willing to take a new number then its free to change.

Cost and Value
This style of system is the newest in a long line of phoenetic upgrades to the devices we are using at home. More and more we are looking to advancements that add to a seemingly endless sea of wanting to make things easier. For the price and the amount of usage you get out of his package, it seems like something worth the price. Easily affordable compared with others and with all the things you would think to need this is not a bad choice.

8. AT&T CL82307

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
AT&T CL82307
Features
90
Ease of Use
88
Battery Life
87
Connectivity
85
Value
88
best offer for today
$73.61
Pros:

Audible caller ID

Smart call blocker

Answering machine

Cons:

Sound quality is not the best

We really had a hard time when trying to decide on which systems we really fell in love with but we have to admit AT&T did a good job. Some of the easiest to use and with someone the best small features that allow you to have all the things you would expect from an AT&T product and a few that might surprise you.

Read more

Smart Call Blockers
We have really gotten tired of these random and often harassing automatic phone calls we keep getting. Robocalls have become one of the number one ways that imposters can try and get our voice recorded saying something as simple as yes that will get us in trouble. The smart call block will not only automatically block and call that is coming in on a computerized number but it will allow you to add up to one thousand other numbers on the device as well.

Audible Caller ID
We didn’t find many but a couple of the phone systems we looked into had this snazzy feature called audible caller ID. This means the system will read out loud to let you know who is calling. This was especially useful for those of us with kids, I mean you can’t just leave a poopy filled diaper to answer the phone sometimes.

Cost and Value
Overall for the cost, this is a decent buy. You get a lot of features that are not only nice options to have but are good to use as well. We particularly enjoyed the smart call blockers as we got sick and tired and having to answer the phone so early just to hear a recorded voice. Add in the digital answering system and some of the other surprises that come with it we think you will enjoy it as much as we did.

9. Wireless Speakerphone by eMeet

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Wireless Speakerphone by eMeet
Features
85
Ease of Use
88
Battery Life
84
Connectivity
88
Value
85
best offer for today
$169.99
Pros:

Bluetooth

No Feedback

Rechargeable battery

Cons:

Cost

This speakerphone had quite an interesting array of talents considering that it’s a speakerphone. With various technological advances in use to make it easier for what you need it for. It was easy and fun to use in our conference calls or meetings. We will also have to say it looks pretty slick which was a nice bonus.

Read more

Bluetooth
A lot of what you find in today's businesses is that they are relying more and more on computers and Bluetooth to keep up in communications. The eMeet speakerphone helps them do just that but using a simple Bluetooth signal that can be up to sixty-five feet away and still give you crystal clear sound and mic use. Now you can’t ask for much more than that.

No Feedback
Almost every wireless device we looked into ended up providing some kind of feedback even if it was the only minor. Surprisingly this system did not. Even though it is usable at three hundred and sixty-three degrees around the room when we're all in a conference call but it did the job with no issues from either end. They had no trouble hearing from us and it was clear on our end as well. A great way to avoid awkward misinterpretations.

Cost and Value
Being at the higher end of our list when it comes to cost the eMeet wireless speaker seems to be just what you are looking for when you are hoping for a wire and headset free group call. Whether your thinking of using it for a study group or a business meeting. The clear sound quality and recording features of the microphones also allow you to be understood without issue and customer service seemed to be right on track.

10. Uniden DCX170

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Uniden DCX170
Features
85
Ease of Use
88
Battery Life
82
Connectivity
84
Value
84
best offer for today
$39.95
Pros:

Hearing Aid Coil Compatible

Backward compatible

Easy to Register base

Customer service

Cons:

A rechargeable battery may be hard to find

This is one of the cordless devices that surprised us. Most of the modern day systems allow you to buy extensions that will work with that system but this one had some other things we found interesting about it. Read what all we had to say below to find out the other goodies.

Read more

Backwards Compatible
A couple of us had older cordless Uniden phones and we were pleased to see that the new extensions worked out fine on the older ones as well. Usually when one of the extensions go you know its just a matter of time for the whole system but with this one, it worked with both the older and current systems so we got lucky there.

Registering to Base
Sometimes when it comes to these style devices registering the new handheld to the original base can be a pain. When it came to this one however there are simple to follow directions on what to do and expect when it comes to setting this unit up. Easy enough for most of us to do but for the ones who are a bit more tech-illiterate there was nothing more than a quick call to customer service to help us finish the setup.

Cost and Value
Wall mountable which is rare nowadays when it comes to how we tend to set up our modern lines. Although a lot of people seem to be fans of using their cells for their main phone if you are looking to stick with a slightly more old school method you can’t do much better than this Uniden system. Hearing aid coil compatible and able to extend up to 12 times, it’s a great mix of old school use in a modern day setting.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

You need your phone to be a reliable source of equipment, no matter whether it is a cell phone or cordless handset to a landline. This is important because if an emergency arises, you need to be able to pick it up and use it to call for help if you don’t have your cell phone nearby. Durability doesn’t just mean the ability to handle an accidental drop either, it means that the phone should be usable for years, not just days or weeks. The handset is only part of a cordless phone, and most don’t consider the other parts that go into a cordless. We wanted to ensure that the base connectivity is reliable and that the power source wouldn’t just seem to die off over time, and that the connectivity to the handset remains steady.

Ease of Use

Strangely, there is such thing as a difficult to set up and use a cordless phone. Some don’t come set to the right frequency, or the way they charge or handle can be odd. We also took how easily it is to properly set the handset into the base or change the frequency if needed for a charged and uninterrupted phone call for any reason. This is very important when you rely on your landline phone for a home business or need one for a visitor or sitter for your kids- just in case they need to reach you and don’t have a cell phone of their own.

Value

This is a constant with us here at Gearhunt. While a product can be very useful, it can also cost more than it is worth at times. This plays a part even with merchandise such as this. A very important part to making sure you get your money’s worth comes from something that you may not even realize- making sure that where you get it from is a legitimate source for that company’s phone. You can purchase an item that is touting itself as a specific brand, only to have it arrive and be a knock-off that only looks like the product shown. Before blaming the company that made them or finding out that what you got simply doesn’t work right, check the packaging and even before that, the seller.

We rate the cost and value of every product based on the real thing, and the companies we chose for this list know their product very well. Many have been around for longer than some of us have been alive. Assuring that what we show is worth it is a very important part to our lists, so you can depend on our articles to take you to the product you are looking for at a price that meets our high standard.

Bottom Line

The first question many of us have when purchasing anything cordless that offers communication is ‘how does it work’, right? Well, we wanted to try to give you the most basic idea of how these work in terminology that is easily understood. We also wanted to explain the benefits of certain types of wireless phone technology that we have listed here such as the Ooma and the eMeet Speakerphone.

Since cordless phones have been around for quite some time, many of us know the basic idea, but as technology has progressed and landlines, in general, have become less prevalent, the question of ‘how’ has become less asked and known. Wireless phones, or cordless phones, don’t work the same way as our cell phones do. They have a limited range and may not be able to connect without an additional base. This is because the signal can’t pass through some walls. They work through an older type of connection called ‘radio wave frequency’. Unlike a wi-fi device, certain materials can completely block out radio waves making the call disconnect. This is why having multiple bases is necessary, especially in larger houses or office buildings, even if you are running your home phone through your cable company.

Another option to the wireless phone is a company that works best with cordless: Ooma box. They work with any phone and the box itself is a digital answering machine, and the signal is transmitted through the Ooma box itself. This means that although it does work through your cable/DSL/etc modem, it doesn’t require your computer to run, and in case of an emergency, it can send a signal through your phone line. It is a free service up to a point, but you have to be abusing its use for them to charge you anything, and it comes with a cordless phone so that you don’t have to order it separately or have your own phone to start with.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Bottom Line
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Staying Connected

This comes hand in hand with ease of use due to the fact that the radio frequency your cell is set on being a major component. If too many people are on the same wavelength, the clarity of your call can be ruined. Of course, this also has a lot to do with the signal strength between the gadget and its base. If the signal of it between its parts are not good, you could end up with dropped calls or calls with so much white noise that you can’t hear each other.

Another aspect of just how clear it is and not dropping calls is how good the connection in direct line is with the base by distance. There are several companies where the product is great as long as you are right next to the base or in the same room, but what good is getting a cordless one if the only difference is the cord is just invisible? When purchasing a cordless, the point is being able to answer or use it without having to be tethered to a specific spot in the room. We checked to make sure that the product remained reliable even when switching rooms so long as there wasn’t anything that could easily block the signal. This includes being able to switch between rooms that have another base without losing the signal as you go.

How To Avoid Cross Connection

There are ways to prevent cross connections in the airwaves which can happen with radio wave technology. This is when you can hear someone else’s call through your own, or you hear crackling which can make it difficult to hear your call. Cordless ones have channels you can set them to, and by setting them to a less used frequency you can assure better or even stronger connections that don’t get interfered with and don’t interfere with others.

When setting up your device, make sure you test the frequency your device is set to and see if there is one that is best suited for your area. Also, a good plan would be to see just how many rooms don’t offer a free range to the connected base and see if you can order enough base connections for it so that you don’t disconnect if you move around the house or office while talking- and also to check what the range is from the base so you can be sure you will remain in range. Remember- radio waves, not wi-fi, no matter who your device company is.

Other Factors to Consider

Style

While not the most important aspect for everyone, there are times when it must be presentable in a way appropriate for its surrounding. If you have a hard time seeing the difference between a black one on a black floor or table, appearance becomes important. Also having something that lights up can make it easier to see buttons and read numbers or buttons when using it.

Another key component for this aspect is the difference between the one in your office and the one in your home. Something that looks neat and appealing at home, maybe distracting and unacceptable in an office building. You want to be sure that it not only works and is simple to use, but entirely suits the surroundings as much as it does the user.

Brand

Buying unknown brands may be fine with some equipment and may even greatly pay off in the long run but trusting a device as important as this you are using to a company that isn’t as well known is not a risk you would want to take. An important call of any kind being dropped could cost more than you would believe, both at home or in the office. Whether it is an emergency call between you and someone at home, or to the police, or a call from one business to another for a deal can be devastating. So, knowing that the company you get your device from has a lot of experience and has a great reputation is exceptionally important.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How can I check what radio frequency (channel) my phone is set to?
a:

Each brand has their own setup. More often than not the owner’s manual will have instructions on how to check or change the setting. If you can’t find it there, we have a couple of sources below for a few of the brands on this list, and you can almost always find a way online to check and set it up easily.

q: Why doesn’t my phone keep its signal between the kitchen and dining room when the doors are open?
a:

Radio signals work differently than the wi-fi and blue tooth we are now used to. Certain kinds of material in the walls can actually block or absorb the signal instead of bouncing it. Make sure when you go to purchase your phone to see the distance it should be able to handle from its base and order an extra base or two for added security to place in rooms that are walled off from each other- even if there are doors.

q: Does Ooma only work with its own phone?
a:

No. Ooma works with any phone. It can be cordless or corded. Not only that, since you set it up through your modem, there are ways to use your cell phone to collect your recorded messages via your cell phone!

q: Does Ooma cost money?
a:

Up front, yes. You have to purchase the system to hook it up, but when you do this you can also get a cordless phone with it or choose to get a different phone to connect to it. The actual calling time is 5000 min/month without charge anywhere in the US. However, international calls do cost a small fee and if you abuse the service by consistently going over 5000 minutes they may start to charge a small fee for everything over 5000. For more information check our sources below.

q: Does the wireless conference speaker require an additional base part?
a:

No. It connects directly to your modem and can even be used via Skype!

Sources

  1. CRAIG FREUDENRICH, PH.D., How Cordless Telephones Work, Info Website, Apr 24, 2019
  2. Star Pollard, How to change the frequency of cordless phones, Info Webstie, Apr 24, 2019