to top 10 table

Best Memory Foam Pillows Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 28, 2019

If you think there’s something more important than a good night’s sleep...you’re wrong. Really. Hear us out.

If you are looking to maintain or establish a healthy lifestyle--and who isn’t--sleep is just as important as eating well and exercising. The body simply cannot function at its peak without the right amount of sleep. Of course, the “right amount” varies from person to person, and anywhere from 6 to 10 hours, so you have to find the “right amount” for you.
That’s why this Top 10 list is so near and dear to our hearts. We’ve read tons of sleep research and literally thousands of reviews to provide you with the best memory foam pillows on the market. The pillows on our list are backed by research and consumers alike so you can feel confident about any selection you make.

Now, sleep tight!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Coop Home Goods
100/100 our score
Comfort
100
Materials
100
Breathability
100
Adjustability
100
Value
100
Coop Home Goods
Why is it better?

Certified by CertiPUR-US

Environmentally Conscious

Easy to clean

Hypo-allergentic and dust mite resistant

Proprietary foam

Easily adjustable for supreme customization

100-day money back guarantee

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Coop Home Goods
Test Winner: Coop Home Goods
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
22
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
4000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Comfort Materials Breathability Adjustability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Comfort
100 %
Materials
100 %
Breathability
100 %
Adjustability
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Comfort
99 %
Materials
99 %
Breathability
99 %
Adjustability
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Comfort
98 %
Materials
98 %
Breathability
98 %
Adjustability
96 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Comfort
96 %
Materials
96 %
Breathability
96 %
Adjustability
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Comfort
95 %
Materials
90 %
Breathability
95 %
Adjustability
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Comfort
94 %
Materials
94 %
Breathability
94 %
Adjustability
90 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Comfort
93 %
Materials
90 %
Breathability
93 %
Adjustability
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$32.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Comfort
90 %
Materials
92 %
Breathability
92 %
Adjustability
89 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$39.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Comfort
92 %
Materials
91 %
Breathability
89 %
Adjustability
90 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Comfort
87 %
Materials
88 %
Breathability
88 %
Adjustability
85 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99

10 Best Memory Foam Pillows

1. Coop Home Goods

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Coop Home Goods
Amazon Link
Comfort
100
Materials
100
Breathability
100
Adjustability
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Certified by CertiPUR-US

Environmentally Conscious

Easy to clean

Hypo-allergentic and dust mite resistant

Proprietary foam

Easily adjustable for supreme customization

100-day money back guarantee

Cons:

Some reviewers reported that the pillow was “high maintenance” as the foam sometimes needed to be adjusted.

The Coop Home Goods Memory Foam is the first on our list for a million reasons. First, we love showcasing products made by smaller, family-owned businesses from right here in the US of A. Second, we love the amount of care Coop Home Goods puts into each pillow. And third, we love how customizable this product is, making it a great option for all sleepers.

Read more

Cooling Bamboo Cover
This option is made from 100% premium materials that are all certified by CertiPUR-US. That means there are no hazardous materials inside of it like flame retardants or any heavy metals. In fact, the foam inside is a proprietary blend (with patent pending) made specifically for Coop Home Goods. There are no ozone depleters inside of the pillow either, making it an environmentally conscious option as well. Plus, the removable cooling cover is made from bamboo fibers--a clean and renewable resource. Because this is made from shredded foam, it breathes super nicely, providing you with a nice, cool night’s sleep. And on top of all of that, this product is hypoallergenic and is even resistant to dust mites with a super easy-to-clean removable cover that is machine washable.

Super Customizable
The Coop Home Goods product comes in full, queen, and king sizes. It is one of the most customizable options on our list. As it is made with shredded foam, you can remove as much as you wish to get the perfect fit for a perfect night’s sleep. It comes fully loaded so you can play with removing foam (storing excess foam in a safe place) until you are totally satisfied. But if you decide you need more foam, Coop Home Goods will send it to you free of charge. For guidance in creating the best pillow for you, consult the video on Coop Home Goods’ website.

Cost and Value
The Coop Home Goods Memory Foam rings up at the top of our price range. It is loaded with value because it is super customizable and made from quality materials that are safe and environmentally friendly. Plus, Coop Home Goods offers a no-questions-asked 100-day money back guarantee if you’re not 100% satisfied. And even after the 100 days, Coop Home Goods has incredible customer service.

2. Snuggle-Pedic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Snuggle-Pedic
Amazon Link
Comfort
99
Materials
99
Breathability
99
Adjustability
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

No zippers

Fully machine washable

Certified by CertiPUR-US

Easy-to-adjust foam

Cooling design

Incredible warranty and customer service

Cons:

Some reviewers report needing to fluff the pillow in the dryer over time.

The Snuggle-Pedic Original Ultra-Luxury Bamboo Shredded Memory Foam Combination is sold by RELIEF-MART, INC. is made in the USA and backed by an industry-leading warranty. Designed with customization in mind, any style of sleeper will find their perfect sleep with this pillow.

Read more

Kool-Flow Breathability
The Snuggle-Pedic is made from foam that is certified by CertiPUR-US, guaranteeing that there are no hazardous materials inside of the pillow. And Snuggle-Pedic has a commitment to the environment, even vacuum sealing their pillows for shipping to ensure less waste. The pillows are made from combination shredded foam that resists falling flat overnight or with extended use. The bamboo cover and foam design ensure a cool night’s sleep. There are no zippers on the pillow, but the foam is easy to manipulate (even during the night) so that you can enjoy the right fit in any position. And that also means that you can throw the whole pillow in the washing machine, no problem. Snuggle-Pedic’s pillow is hypo-allergenic and resists dust mites.

Gather and Spread Foam for the Perfect Fit
The Snuggle-Pedic Original Ultra-Luxury Bamboo Shredded Memory Foam Combination Pillow comes in standard, queen, and king sizes. The foam inside is super easy to adjust and can be gathered or spread during the night to accommodate changing positions.

Cost and Value
The Snuggle-Pedic rings up at the top of our price range. We love the simplicity and adjustability of its design. Plus, it comes with a 120-day sleep trial with a full refund or totally customizable pillow for no extra cost if you aren’t 100% satisfied. And on top of all of that, it comes with an industry leading, 20-year warranty.

3. Sleep Innovations

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Sleep Innovations
Amazon Link
Comfort
98
Materials
98
Breathability
98
Adjustability
96
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

High and low contour sides

Neck cradle for ideal alignment

Breathable

Washable cover

No nasty plastic or chemical smell

5-year warranty

Cons:

Some reviewers believe that this pillow is best for side-sleepers, not back sleepers.

Sleep Innovations has been making pillows for over 20 years, and hold customer experiences and reviews as the cornerstone of their business, using them to hone and perfect options for all sleepers. Their products are made in the USA and are designed as a therapeutic pillow for all kinds of sleepers.

Read more

Choose Between Higher and Lower Contours
The Sleep Innovations Memory Foam Contour is made from one solid 3-pound block of memory foam that comes without the nasty smell of other options on the market. It features a high and low contour side separated by a head cradle providing just the right alignment for you. Reviewers love how cool the pillow remains throughout the night. It comes with a machine washable cover, though the pillow itself is not washable (to freshen, place in direct sunlight for an afternoon). If you’re looking for a hypo-allergenic cover, you will need to purchase one to put over this pillow.

Comes in a Travel Pillow
The Sleep Innovations Memory Foam Contour comes in queen, standard, and travel sizes so you don’t have to skimp on comfort and alignment, even when you’re on the go. You can flip it to the high or low contour side to find the right fit for you.

Cost and Value
This product rings up in the middle of our price range and we love that it is backed by a 5-year warranty. Its straightforward design means you won’t be spending all night adjusting--just sleeping soundly.

4. Xtreme Comforts

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Xtreme Comforts
Amazon Link
Comfort
96
Materials
96
Breathability
96
Adjustability
97
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

CertiPUR certified

Micro-Vented cover for a cool sleep

Hypo-allergenic and dust mite resistant

The whole pillow can be washed and dried

Easy to customize

Body pillow size option

30-day satisfaction guarantee and 6-year warranty

Cons:

Some reviewers report the pillow being overly firm and stuffed

The Xtreme Comforts ADJUSTABLE Loft Bamboo was ranked #1 by Wirecutter (an independent reviewer), and we love this option as well. Made from safe materials manufactured in the USA, this product provides customizable comfort for all types of sleepers that you know is safe.

Read more

Micro-Vented Cover for Cool Sleep
The Xtreme Comforts ADJUSTABLE Loft Bamboo Memory Foam is certified by CertiPUR-US, so its as safe as a pillow can get. The high-quality foam will not clump up or go flat, and the entire pillow can be thrown in the washer and dryer so you can enjoy a pillow that is truly clean from the inside out. The micro-vented bamboo cover is incredibly soft and allows for maximum airflow so you won’t be woken up with a sweating face and the need to find the cool side of the pillow. This hypo-allergenic pillow that resists dust mites is a welcomed addition to any allergy sufferers sleep routine--no more plastic pillows that make you feel as though you’re in the hospital.

Inner-Zipper For Ease in Customization
The Xtreme Comforts features 2 covers (an inner and outer) for ease in adjusting. The outer cover serves as a pillowcase while the inner cover houses the product's high-quality foam. To adjust, simply remove unwanted foam from the inner cover to fit your specific sleeping needs. Remember to always keep excess foam on hand in case your sleeping needs change later. Plus, this pillow comes in some amazing sizes. Find this pillow in standard, queen, king, and even body pillow size.

Cost and Value
The Xtreme Comforts product rings up in the middle of our price range. We love that it offers the same CertiPUR guarantee and adjustability, but at a lower cost. And the body pillow option makes us swoon. You can return for a full refund within 30 days, and this product is backed by a 6-year warranty.

5. WonderSleep

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
WonderSleep
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Materials
90
Breathability
95
Adjustability
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

2 pillows for the price of most other pillows on our list

2 washable pillowcases

Hypo-allergenic and dust mite resistant

Easy-to-adjust for your comfort

Very inexpensive

Cons:

Some users report a pretty bad smell out of the package

The WonderSleep gives you the adjustability other options on the market at half the cost. With a similar design to other more expensive pillows on the market, this product is a great option for someone seeking comfort on a budget.

Read more

Great for Allergy Sufferers
The WonderSleep is made from shredded memory foam that will keep you cool through the night. It also features a breathable cover for more sleepy cool security. Its covers are machine washable, making this a great option for allergy sufferers. It is hypo-allergenic and resists the presence of dust mites.

Firmness is Easy to Adjust
The WonderSleep comes in queen and king sized sets, and it is easy to adjust each to your comfort level. Simply unzip the inner cover and remove or add foam as needed, making sure to put aside any foam remove in case you would like to add it back later.

Cost and Value
The WonderSleep rings up at the low end of our price range. Each set comes with 2 pillows making them half the price of most of the other pillows on our list. This set comes with a limited 1-year warranty.

6. WEEKENDER

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
WEEKENDER
Amazon Link
Comfort
94
Materials
94
Breathability
94
Adjustability
90
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Made from super-cool gel

Air ventilation in the gel provides another layer of cooling comfort

The cover is machine washable

Provides tons of support

Adjusts to your position automatically

Cons:

Some reviewers report that this pillow was too firm for their liking.

The WEEKENDER is the first gel product to make our list and it provides supreme cooling comfort that lasts all night long. Made in China, this option is designed to suit all types of sleepers.

Read more

Super Breathable Gel Provides a Cool Sleep
The WEEKENDER is made of cooling gel that provides supreme breathability. Plus, the air ventilation design allows even more airflow for cool sleep. The cover can be removed and washed in the washing machine. If you are looking for a hypo-allergenic pillow, you will need to purchase an additional cover.

More Firm than Standard Down
The WEEKENDER comes in standard, queen, and king sizes. It provides the support of a mid-loft option, with more support than your average down pillow. It can hold up to prolonged use without losing its shape or support and provides ultimate pressure relief for sleepers plagued with aches and pains. Though this pillow is not as customizable as other pillows on our list, it will automatically conform to your shape, no matter what position you sleep in.

Cost and Value
The WEEKENDER rings up at the top of our price range. We love it because it provides such a cool sleep and it automatically adjusts to your position without having to stuff and unstuff it.

7. Plixio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Plixio
Amazon Link
Comfort
93
Materials
90
Breathability
93
Adjustability
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.99
Pros:

2 pillows for half the cost of your average memory foam product

Environmentally conscious, cooling bamboo cover that is machine washable

Great for those sensitive to latex and down (hypo-allergenic)

Good for all sleeping styles

Cons:

Some reviewers report a strong odor and the need to air it out for more than the suggested time (24 hours).

The Plixio 2 Pack is a whopper of a deal. Great for all sleeping types, these products are a fraction of the cost of other options on the market and are great for allergy sufferers.

Read more

Great for People Sensitive to Latex and Down
The Plixio 2 Pack is made from shredded foam that has been treated with an extra cooling gel to ensure that you get a night’s sleep uninterrupted by sweat and discomfort. These are breathable and allow for airflow. The cover is machine washable and super soft to the touch. Plus, it’s made from bamboo which is eco-friendly. Because these are made from gel-infused foam, they is a great option for anyone who is sensitive to latex or down styles.

Provide Support for All Sleeping Styles
The Plixio 2 Pack comes in a pack of 2 queen size pillows. Its unique design makes it ideal for all types of sleepers, no matter if you prefer to sleep on your back, stomach, or side.

Cost and Value
The Plixio 2 Pack rings up at the super low end of our price range. You can get 2 products for half of the price of most of the other options on our list. And on top of that, it comes with a 2-year warranty. Talk about value!

8. Bluewave Bedding

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Bluewave Bedding
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Materials
92
Breathability
92
Adjustability
89
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

Great for back and stomach sleepers

Cooling gel pocket design

Round top and flat bottom for supreme comfort

Extra slim options

CertiPUR certified

Cons:

Some reviewers report liking the slimness, but not liking how firm it was.

The Bluewave Bedding option is a great choice for back and stomach sleepers and is made right here in the USA. The unique profile of this product sets it apart from others in the category, and on top of that, it won’t break the bank.

Read more

Cooling Features Backed by CertiPUR
The Bluewave Bedding product is made from supercooling gel with extra cooling pockets to make sure you get a comfortable, sweat-free sleep. Certified by CertiPUR, these are made with only the safest materials and are hypo-allergenic as well as coming without that nasty plastic smell that other pillows not certified by CertiPUR come with.

Half-Pillow Design
The Bluewave Bedding comes in Ultra-Slim and Super-Slim full and king sizes. The Ultra-Slim has a 2.5-inch profile while the Super-Slim has a 3.25-inch profile. We love the unique design of this product as well. It has a more rounded top and a flatter bottom for specialized support, though this design is not intended for users who like to flip their pillows during sleep.

Cost and Value
The Bluewave Bedding option rings up at the lower end of our price range. We love its value because it is inexpensive, yet certified by CertiPUR, and because it is a great option for those back and tummy sleepers looking for a slimmer style.

9. Coisum Orthopedic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Coisum Orthopedic
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Materials
91
Breathability
89
Adjustability
90
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Back by CertiPUR standards

Incredible unique design with side and back sleepers in mind

Meant to provide natural pain relief

Anti-mildew and allergen cover

The cover is machine washable

Cons:

Some reviewers found this hard to get used to because of its unique design.

The Coisum Orthopedic is designed for pain relief and is a great option for side sleepers and back sleepers alike. Made in the US of A, this unique option is safe and will provide years of comfortable sleep.

Read more

Mildew Resistant Cover
The Coisum Orthopedic is loaded with cool features. It is made from CertiPUR certified foam, in one solid, continuous block. The machine washable cover is made of super breathable fabric that fights against allergens, dust mites, and even mildew.

Incredibly Unique Shape for Supreme Comfort
The Coisum Orthopedic comes in two different sizes: 24.4x15x4.7 inches and 25x13x4.7. It features the most unique shape of any option on our list for sure. Back by tons of research and with the desire to provide natural pain relief, the foam in this pillow is designed to stay firm. The ideal temperature for sleep with this pillow is around 70 degrees Fahrenheit. Sleeping with cooler temperatures will result in a harder pillow. The slope of the product keeps your head in place, and the nifty cutouts on each side provide a place for your shoulders and arms to rest when sleeping on your side so that your chest doesn’t collapse causing added stress to the upper body. If you are a back sleeper, turn the pillow so that the 2-horned side is facing down. This will provide ultimate support for the cervical spine.

Cost and Value
This product rings up in the middle of our price range. We love its unique design and its anti-mildew cover. Plus, we love that it’s backed by CertiPUR quality standards.

10. Live & Sleep Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Live & Sleep Classic
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Materials
88
Breathability
88
Adjustability
85
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Great warranty

Low cost

CertiPUR certified

Supercooling and soft cover that is machine washable

Extra thick

Cons:

Some reviewers reported that this pillow was too thick for back and stomach sleepers.

The Live & Sleep Classic is made from the highest quality materials and was made to make you feel as though you were sleeping in a luxury hotel. Made in the USA, this is a great option for any bed.

Read more

Plush, Extra-Soft Cover
The Live & Sleep Classic is made from CertiPUR certified viscoelastic gel foam. It is super breathable and provides a cooling night’s sleep. The plush, extra-soft cover adds another layer of luxury that will have you sleeping like a baby. The cover is also machine washable.

Hotel Style Comfort
The extra thick, 5-inch cushion will have you feeling like you are sleeping in a nice, relaxing hotel room. The head cradle is next level, but still provides a cool sleep that won’t leave you with night sweats--you really will feel as though you as sleeping on a cloud.

Cost and Value
This product is at the low end of our price range and we love its value because it is still CertiPUR certified, even at its price point. Plus, it comes with a 30-day risk-free trial, as well as a 5-year warranty.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

If we’re talking about pillows, we’re talking about comfort! That’s why comfort was the most important factor we considered when compiling our list of the best memory foam options on the market.

In assessing comfort, we literally read thousands of reviews--thousands. And we looked at all components of the pillow.

In terms of standard comfort, options with soft covers rank highly, as do products with a cloud-like, head-enveloping quality. We love styles that can be adjusted for comfort, and especially those that can be changed over time as necessary.

But we also account for the style of the sleeper when considering comfort. Options that are extra thick are ideal for side sleepers, but not back and stomach sleepers. And conversely, products with super slim profiles are better for back and tummy sleepers than side sleepers who need more support. Of course, there are some options that are right in the middle and serve to give all types of sleepers a comfy night’s sleep, and these rank highest overall. We make sure to highlight the type of sleeper each option is designed for.

Materials

The materials each product was made out of was another huge consideration when making our list.
Above all, we love options that are CertiPUR certified. To get this certification, they must be free of depleters of the ozone, flame retardants, heavy metals including mercury and lead, and formaldehyde. They also must pass emissions tests during the manufacturing process. Products with this certification are totally safe to sleep on, and isn’t that the kind of assurance you want from a product that you are going to spend about 9 hours a day with your face on?
We also highlight whether a pillow is made of shredded memory foam, block foam, or gel-infused foam. Each style has its own benefits. Shredded memory foam breathes easily and is also more customizable as you can remove portions of the shredded foam for a thinner profile. Plus, you can save the foam that you remove and add more later if you would like. Block foam offers a more straightforward option that doesn’t need to be fussed with or fluffed to maintain its original shape. And gel-infused foams are cooler to sleep on and promise a less-sweaty night’s sleep.

Breathability

Breathability plays a huge role in the overall comfort of and satisfaction.

We feature options that have super breathable covers, especially those made from renewable bamboo fibers. We also love products made from shredded foam as these let more air pass naturally through it. And block foam styles with holes or those infused with gel also rank highly on our list in terms of breathability.

Adjustability

As we mentioned before, some options work best for side sleepers (those that are thicker and provide more support), while others are best for back and stomach sleepers (those that are thinner and allow more alignment of the spine). Some very special products can be used by people with any sleeping style, however, because the user is able to adjust them to their specifications.
Products made from shredded foam are easy to adjust to the desired thickness of the user by removing and adding foam where needed. And foam that is removed can be stored and added back if it starts to lose some of its density over time.
There are also products on our list that can be flipped to suit the needs of different sleepers where one side is good for side sleepers and the other is better for back and stomach sleepers.

Value

As with any of the products that we feature, we want to ensure that you are getting products with the best value.
Products that are more inexpensive but that are still CertiPUR certified rank highly in value, as do options that can be used by sleepers with different styles. Additionally, products that come as inexpensive sets also rank highly in value. And of course, the better the warranty and money-back guarantee game, the higher we ranked the product in value.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Know What Kind of Sleeper You Are

As we noted before, some pillows are designed for side sleepers while other pillows are best for back and stomach sleepers. If you are one or the other, make sure you get a thicker pillow for a side sleeper and a thinner pillow for a back or stomach sleeper. If you do not have a specific sleep style, choose a pillow that can be adjusted easily in the night, like one of our pillows that can be flipped over to provide new support for your new sleeping position.

Consider Your Allergies

Not all pillows are hypo-allergenic. If you have allergies and are looking for a pillow, select a pillow that is specifically hypo-allergenic, and one that can be washed completely. Many of the pillows on our list have covers that can be washed, but the pillow itself cannot be. Choose a pillow that is safe to go into the washer and dryer so that you can ensure that you have a super clean pillow every time you wash it.

Memory Foam: A Brief History

Memory foam came to be in the mid-1960s from NASA as a way to improve the overall safety of the cushions in aircraft. It then became useful in helmet liners for football players. Memory foam eventually found a home in the medical setting, proving itself to be useful in situations where patients were unable to move in their beds with firmer mattresses. In these situations, some patients would develop pressure wounds or even gangrene. Introducing memory foam mattresses greatly decreased the occurrence of these potentially life-threatening conditions.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

A king size product on a standard size bed is like a giant riding a tricycle--the two just don’t fit. So we make sure to outline the sizes that each comes in. Of course, the larger the product, the more expensive. While most of the options on our list come in typically size units, some come with dimensions. Remember, these dimensions aren’t set in stone as some can be customized by adding and removing foam. We also feature some options that come in unique sizes like travel and body size.

Durability

When pouring over reviews, we looked at how long each product could hold up for. Over time, all will lose their shape and umph, but we feature options that have a nice balance of price point and durability. Many of the products on our list can be adjusted by removing foam and we mention multiple times to hold on to any foam removed so that it can be added back as the foam shrinks over time. Options that are washer and dryer safe can easily be fluffed in the dryer as well to return fluffiness and support.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are pillows only safe if they are CertiPUR certified?

a:

Pillows are definitely safe if they are CertiPUR. Just because a pillow is not a CertiPUR certified pillow does not mean that it isn’t safe. Typically, products made in the USA have a higher standard of production quality that needs to be met, so keep this in mind.

q: How can I get that weird chemical smell out?

a:

If you have a pillow with a weird chemical smell, you can place it by the window and rotate it to let it air out. If this doesn’t work, you can separate the pillow’s layers and place the pillow in the sun to encourage the smell to go away as well.

q: What if I’m not really sure about my sleeping style?

a:

If you aren’t really sure about your sleeping style, choose a pillow that is acceptable for all sleeping styles so that you can adjust the pillow to your needs.

q: Are memory foam pillows actually better than other kinds of pillows?

a:

This isn’t a simple question to answer as every pillow has something unique to offer. Down pillows provide a fluffy and luxurious sleep, though they don’t provide a lot of support. Down pillows are also hard to clean and are not hypo-allergenic. Cotton fluff pillows are guilty of the same lack of overall support. Memory foam pillows may be more firm and less cloud-like, but they provide the kind of support your neck and spine need in order to be in total alignment. So if you have neck and back issues or you suffer from chronic pain, then yes, a memory foam pillow will serve you better than other pillows on the market.

Sources

  1. National Sleep Foundation, 25 Random Facts about Sleep, Article
  2. Wikipedia, Memory foam,
  3. Sally Painter, Pros and Cons of Memory Foam Pillows,