to top 10 table

Best Allergy Medicines for Dogs Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Jul 24, 2019

So, you’ve been noticing that your dog has been scratching itself a lot more recently. Like, a lot more. To the point where you are getting incredibly concerned. Especially since you’ve had your dog checked for fleas and ticks and have concluded that they’re clean. So, what’s going on? What could be affecting your fuzzy friend like this? Well, the answer may be something you haven’t even considered: allergies. Dog allergies manifest in very different forms than human allergies and thus have to be treated by different medicines. There are lots of over the counter brands out there, and we’re going to be talking about the ten best of them, here today.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
 PetVitalityPRO Probiotics
95.4/100 our score
Effectiveness
96
Value
95
Responsiveness
95
Ease of Use
96
Features
95
PetVitalityPRO Probiotics
Why is it better?

Complete health and immune system booster

Boosts the immune system by introducing enzymes and bioavailable vitamins

Affordable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 PetVitalityPRO Probiotics
Test Winner: PetVitalityPRO Probiotics
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Effectiveness Value Responsiveness Ease of Use Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Effectiveness
96 %
Value
95 %
Responsiveness
95 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Features
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$19.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Effectiveness
94 %
Value
93 %
Responsiveness
94 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Features
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$29.97
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Effectiveness
92 %
Value
91 %
Responsiveness
92 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Features
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Effectiveness
91 %
Value
90 %
Responsiveness
90 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Features
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$34.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Effectiveness
88 %
Value
89 %
Responsiveness
87 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Features
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$24.49
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Effectiveness
86 %
Value
85 %
Responsiveness
84 %
Ease of Use
84 %
Features
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$9.50
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Effectiveness
83 %
Value
82 %
Responsiveness
82 %
Ease of Use
83 %
Features
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$25.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Effectiveness
80 %
Value
81 %
Responsiveness
80 %
Ease of Use
79 %
Features
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$10.11
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Effectiveness
79 %
Value
78 %
Responsiveness
79 %
Ease of Use
78 %
Features
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link
$11.07
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
Effectiveness
75 %
Value
74 %
Responsiveness
75 %
Ease of Use
74 %
Features
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (29.05.20)
Amazon Link

Best Allergy Medicines for Dogs

1. PetVitalityPRO Probiotics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
 PetVitalityPRO Probiotics
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
96
Value
95
Responsiveness
95
Ease of Use
96
Features
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.95
Pros:

Complete health and immune system booster

Boosts the immune system by introducing enzymes and bioavailable vitamins

Affordable

Cons:

The soft green texture may turn some pets off at first

Kicking off our list, we have PetVitalityPRO Probiotics at #1. Like most of the entries on this list, this one is a box of chewable vitamins that then dispense the remedy into their system. And in our opinion, as you can see, no one does it better than PetVitalityPRO.

Complete health and immune system booster
Taking this into your system means your puppy is going to take in some of the best high potency probiotics and prebiotics formulas ever conceived. This formula has been meticulously formulated by professional veterinarians to be as effective as possible.

Boost immune system
This remedy doesn’t just help with allergies, it does quite a few other things while it’s in there. For instance, the remedy provides natural digestive enzymes, meaning that absorption of vital nutrients is increased exponentially. The continuous application also decreases the effects of future allergic reactions as long as your pet has this remedy in their system.

Cost and Value
Since you have to go to a special drug store to get your hands on these chews, then you have to pay just a bit more than you’d usually pay for remedy like this, but luckily, this is on the cheaper end of that spectrum.

2. Zesty Paws

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
 Zesty Paws
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
94
Value
93
Responsiveness
94
Ease of Use
92
Features
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.97
Pros:

Epicor enhancement

Colostrum

Prebiotic and probiotic complex

Cons:

More complex issues may be beyond this remedy’s capabilities

Coming in second place, we have the Zesty paws sensitivity immune bites. Zesty paws have been around for quite some time, making remedy and sensitivity medication for pets that whole time. And this, in our humble opinion, is one of their absolute best products. Now let’s find out why that is.

Epicor enhancement

These bites have a bit extra nutritional kick to them, and a lot of that comes from what’s been mixed into this formula: Epicor. Epicor is basically a vitamin that enhances the effects of this probiotic via providing proteins, vitamins, fiber, and antioxidants into the formula. All of which are veterinarian certified to support the canine body’s natural defenses against allergens and diseases.

Colostrum

The formula for these chewable bites contains Colostrum. Colostrum is a pre-milk liquid substance that, when applied to the anti-sensitivity formula, supports natural anti-sensitivity systems, the immune function, and digestion. This effect is then enhanced with supplementary materials that boost this effect further, such as organic licorice extract and apple cider vinegar.

Cost and Value

You’ll typically find this sensitivity remedy going for a bit more than the previous entry, but not by that much, all things considered, so if you need some really excellent sensitivity remedy, this is the one for you.

3. Deley Naturals

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
 Deley Naturals
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
92
Value
91
Responsiveness
92
Ease of Use
91
Features
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Improves gut health

Restores Digestive health

Boosts immune system

Cons:

The more the pet weighs, the more pills they need, so you may end up going through these very quickly depending on your pet’s weight

Finishing up our top 3 segment, we have Deley Naturals Grain-Free Probiotic. Deley Naturals aren’t quite as well known as the previous two entries, which is a shame because they’re just as good when it comes to sensitivity medication. But don’t take our word for it, let’s look at the specifics of this company’s work.

Improves gut health

Most health problems start in the stomach, including a lot of reactions. Which is why a lot of over the counter sensitivity remedy are edibles, so that they can get to work fast. And this medication takes advantage of that, improving gut health problems that it finds while it’s down there. These range from bloating, to constipation, to irritable bowels.

Restores digestive health

The biggest benefit it provides your pet’s gut health, though, is the digestive health of the beloved pet. And if your pet’s digestive health has been suffering (there is no drawback if the pet’s digestive health is fine) then this probiotic will improve digestion incredibly, ensure viability by providing some extra micro-organisms into the system, and restore intestinal balance.

Cost and Value

Once more, this probiotic cost a good bit more than the previous two entries, but again, not by a very wide margin, especially if you genuinely do need some sensitivity remedy for your puppy.

4. Pure Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
 Pure Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
91
Value
90
Responsiveness
90
Ease of Use
90
Features
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.97
Pros:

Versatile

Human grade fish oil

Very affordable

Cons:

Some pets may not like the flavor

Coming in at #4, we have Pure Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil. You may be raising your eyebrow at this, after all, salmon oil doesn’t exactly shout “brilliant sensitivity medication,” but we assure you, upon closer examination, this probiotic gel capsule can do a lot for you.

Versatile

Your puppy is not accepting the strange gel capsule you keep trying to shove in their faces while wrapped in meat? No problem, as the main advantage of this being a gel capsule is that it leaves you with options. If the pet doesn't eat the capsule itself, then you can just poke a hole in the capsule and squirt out the contents all over the pet’s food. The effect will basically be the same.

Human grade fish oil

Most canine reactions affect the skin, causing itching and rashes. As such, if you’re going to apply the remedy to your puppy for their sensitivity, you need to do so with the skin in mind. And if there is one thing fish oil is known for, it’s improving your pet’s skin health. Giving them this human-grade fish oil will improve most skin issues and even arthritis if your pet is an older sort.

Cost and Value

Thankfully we’re not going to go further and further up in price as we go along, as this sensitivity remedy is a lot cheaper than even the first entry. You’ll usually find it costing up to five dollars cheaper than the first entry and ten dollars cheaper than the second.

5. K9 Nature Supplements

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
 K9 Nature Supplements
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
88
Value
89
Responsiveness
87
Ease of Use
88
Features
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.49
Pros:

Very easy to use

Natural herbal ingredients

Can be used for all breeds

Cons:

A bit pricey

And thus, we’re brought to the center of the list, our #5 spot, the K9 Nature Supplements All Clear Herbal Anti Itch Treats. We’ve seen a lot of antibiotics that also help to remove reactions, but this is the first remedy on this list that is meant to combat allergic reactions and only allergic reactions. Let’s find out how well it pulls this off.

Very easy to use

This remedy resembles soft delicious treats, so getting your pet actually to eat them is way easier than with other supplements we’ve seen so far. And because they’re so soft and break apart so easily, if your pet isn’t feeling like a treat right then for some reason, you can crush them down and sprinkle them all over your pet’s food, so that they can eat it when they get hungry and still get their remedy.

Natural herbal ingredients

There are plenty of artificial remedies made by veterinarians that help your pet in so many ways, but a lot of pet sensitivity medication only contains steroids and other artificial ingredients that can end up suppressing your pet’s immune system. But this doesn’t go either of those routes, instead of using natural herbal ingredients to achieve the same effect.

Cost and Value

Because of the higher chew count of this container compared to the previous entry, this sensitivity remedy can often cost up to ten dollars or higher than the previous entry. But you are definitely getting what you’re paying for, so it all evens out.

6. Vet’s Best Seasonal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
 Vet’s Best Seasonal
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
86
Value
85
Responsiveness
84
Ease of Use
84
Features
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.50
Pros:

Relief for all kinds of itchy skin

Natural alternative

Cheap

Cons:

Only for allergic reactions or itchy skin caused by weather

The #6 spot, we have Vet’s Best Seasonal Sensitivity Relief Chews. Once again, we stay in the more specialized territory, with a chew supplement that is specifically targeted toward handling allergic reactions in your dog. And in our opinion, few do that better than Vets Best.

Relief for itchy skin

This isn’t just for itchy skin caused by reactions, though, it’s for any kind of itchiness. For example, a lot of dogs get super itchy during cold or warm seasons like summer or winter, or even in fall when the weather is particularly chaotic in going up and down at random intervals. These chews are great for helping your beloved pup get through that transition period with their skin.

Natural alternative

Once more, there is nothing wrong with remedies or vaccinations, it’s just that sometimes they’re more overkill than anything else. You don’t need them for every little problem that your dog faces, they’re meant for much bigger problems. These chews contain herbal remedies that will help smaller allergic reactions.

Cost and Value

The best part about this item is its price, which is likely the cheapest entry on this entire list. So, if you’re on a tight budget, but want to help your dog work through sensitivity season with their skin intact, then this is the remedy you need to seek out.

7. NaturVet Aller-911

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
 NaturVet Aller-911
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
83
Value
82
Responsiveness
82
Ease of Use
83
Features
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.99
Pros:

Helps the skin and coat

Nutrient-rich

Cheap

Cons:

Helps most with flea allergies, may not be effective against seasonal allergies. Depends on the breed

Coming in at #7, we have the NaturVet Aller-911 Sensitivity Aid Soft Chews. Quite the mouthful, isn’t it? Well, despite the word salad name, this is actually a very high-quality sensitivity medication soft chew for your dog. So, what makes it so great for your canine companion? Well, let’s find out.

Helps the skin and coat
There are a lot of bodily functions that play into your pup developing a healthy skin and coat, and if any of those systems falter, then the greater whole starts lagging behind. Fortunately, you don’t have to worry about that when using this medication, as it aids in the production and reproduction of healthy skin cells and reduces the need for your pup to itch and scratch their skin.

Nutrient rich
But just because it’s meant for sensitivity relief doesn’t mean that it can’t be rich in other materials as well. And this one certainly is, containing a rich number of Omegas, EPA, and DHA to help your dog maintain proper skin and a healthy coat. And you don’t need to worry about your dog not eating it, as this wheat-free, delicious soft chew resembles normal dog treats, so your pup will jump for joy at the sight of their remedy.

Cost and Value
Once again, we have one of the cheapest entries on this entire list, usually around an equal price range as the previous entry. So, if you need a good, affordable sensitivity chew for your dog’s itchy skin, this is what you’ve been looking for.

8. ProSense

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
 ProSense
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
80
Value
81
Responsiveness
80
Ease of Use
79
Features
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.11
Pros:

Soothes the eyes

Helps reduce itching

Very cheap

Cons:

Only helps minor allergies for the skin

Kicking off our final 3 entries, we have the ProSense Itch and Sensitivity Solution for Pets. Not all reactions affect the skin, and while this medication does help treat skin reactions, pets have plenty of other issues as well that can be caused by reactions, and thus addressed by this remedy.

Soothes the eyes

The biggest area that gets overlooked by far when it comes to pets and their reactions are the eyes. Allergies of the eyes are one of the most prevalent for pretty much everyone who has allergies, since the eyes are so sensitive to physical stimuli, yet are constantly exposed to it. Which is why this remedy specifically treats eye reactions in pets.

Helps reduce itching

Giving your dog this remedy will just help reduce all kinds of itching in general, not just with the eyes. It helps protect your skin and keep it from itching, though only against minor reactions, it helps reduce the itching and swelling in your eyes, and so much more.

Cost and Value

Do you know how we said that the #6 spot was the cheapest entry on this list? Well, we did put a “likely” at the front of that, didn’t we? Yes, since we’re talking about single bottle versions of these remedies, then this is the true cheapest entry on this list, giving you sensitivity medication that you definitely need for your dog when sensitivity season kicks in for a reasonable price.

9. ThePetShop

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
 ThePetShop
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
79
Value
78
Responsiveness
79
Ease of Use
78
Features
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.07
Pros:

Works for both humans and animals

Controls all sensitivity types

Cheap

Cons:

A bit too broad in its effects

For our second to the final entry, we have ThePetShop’s Pet sensitivity Relief. This is a bit of an obscure product, and the main problem is that there aren’t really that many tablets being offered, but nonetheless we still find this to be an excellent pet sensitivity relief pill.

Works for both humans and animals
When you get down to a molecular level, humans, and pets are all affected by the same things, generally speaking. So, with that in mind, certain sensitivity remedies do tend to work on both humans and animals. And those certain remedies were put into this one, making it usable by both humans and the pets thereof.

Controls all sensitivity types
If it’s a symptom of allergies, this remedy has got it covered. Whether it’s sneezing, itching, watery eyes, an itchy throat, or a runny nose, this sensitivity pill is easily one of the most versatile on this list. And while the broad nature of its effects can be a problem if you really need help with only one problem, if your pet has a multitude of symptoms, then this is precisely what you’ve been looking for.

Cost and Value
And once again, we stay nice and stationed on the cheap end of the spectrum, this bottle being several dozen dollars cheaper than the other entries on this list, and just shy of reaching the cheapest entry prize from its immediate predecessor.

10. 8 in 1 Excel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
 8 in 1 Excel
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
75
Value
74
Responsiveness
75
Ease of Use
74
Features
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Fast-acting

Ideal for bug bites

Cheap

Cons:

A small number of pills

For our final entry, we’re looking at the 8 in 1 Excel sensitivity Relief. Excel is a more moderately well-known brand than the previous two, which is good since that makes it the perfect entry to go out on. So, what got this sensitivity relief medication on the list? Well, let’s take a look and find out.

Fast acting

When you give your pet sensitivity relief remedy, your pet probably wants that remedy to take effect immediately, kind of like how everyone else expects the remedy to activate immediately. Understandable, especially for allergies, since they tend to be a tad bit annoying for those going through them. Fortunately, your precious pup won’t have to deal with their allergies for very long when using these sensitivity pills, as it is one of the fastest acting on this list.

Ideal for insect bites

But not all allergies are caused by pollen or different seasons, a lot of them, at least for pets, are caused by insect bites. Whether it’s fleas, ticks, or mosquitoes, insect bite allergies are far more common for pets than they are for humans. Which is why Excel is specially made to be fiercely vicious against bug bite allergies.

Cost and Value

While not quite as cheap as the previous three entries, this is still a very affordable sensitivity medication. Though that likely has to do with the fact that this has one of the smallest pill quantities on this list.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

This refers to how fast the medicine is to act when ingested by your pet. Now, fast-acting is a very different concept now than it was a few years ago, because like with many things, medicine has sped up exponentially. And that includes how fast medicine is to actually start doing what it’s supposed to do.

The longest any modern medicine tends to take to, well, take effect, is a few minutes, an hour at most. Meanwhile, “fast-acting” medications usually take a minute after being ingested, if even that. But when it comes to sensitivity medication, most people, and we imagine most pets, want the effects to start right as soon as they take in the medicine. So if that’s what you’re looking for in your pet sensitivity medicine, then look for the bottles that say “fast-acting.”

Value

For our final criteria, we have the price of the remedy. Now remedy price is a funny thing, especially with big pharma being as, well, let’s call it “temperamental” as it is. Though, if you read between the lines, there is a method to the pricing madness. Usually, the main thing that will affect the cost of a pill bottle is the quantity of the pills themselves. That’s why, despite how excellent the final entry was, it cost so little. It had so few pills inside compared to the other entries on this list. It had 35, while even the previous entry had 100. Like with any list we judge, we looked at how well each entry justified the price they asked you for. And if the price was reasonably low, all the better

Responsiveness

Allergies are varied little buggers, and they can affect a lot of different areas in a pet. From itchy skin to a runny snout, to watery eyes, reactions can just flat out play havoc with a pet's body if you let it. Which is why we’re not going to let it, so we judged each entry by how varied their effects were.

How many of the various problems that can be caused in a pet’s body as a result of a severe allergic reaction did the medicine actually manage to affect? We got a different answer for almost every single entry we screened, including the ones we approved, which only made things more difficult.

Ease of Use

Whether you’re a human or a pet that’s being treated, when you start looking for treatment for your allergic reaction, you typically have one of two options: you can either have normal pills that you need to feed in some capacity to your pet, or you can have gel capsules, where the pill itself is not the focus, but the gel/liquid contained within.

As you can imagine, the latter is a lot harder to convince your pet to eat than the former. Because a normal pill can be disguised as a treat, especially the soft chew variety. Meanwhile, a gel pill is significantly harder to convince a pet to eat since it doesn’t look like food, and thus puppy won’t want to take a bite. However, there are different ways you can go about disguising pill in plain sight to make the pet take its medicine, but that’s for later.

Features

But as long as your pet is taking in this pill, it may as well do a few other things for it. Such as helping improve your pet’s coat and skin health, help balance out their intestinal health, and a lot of other things that different entries on this list went over and covered. For this list, since these aren’t necessarily vital to the function of the remedy, we didn’t judge this too harshly. All we looked for was whether or not adding in these new features actively detracted from the remedy’s primary function or not. If it didn’t then there was no problem.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Responsiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Do Dogs Get Allergies?

It's surprising to people that your dog can have allergies just like you. And when your dog has one allergy it's likely he'll have a few so once you identify that your dog is itchy because of allergies, not just fleas then it's worth it to do a bit of detective work to find out what's causing your itchy dog and get it out of his diet. Thankfully, there are so many food options that once you've identified the allergy it's not that hard to find a food that will give your dog some relief.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are some methods you can recommend a new dog owner for feeding medicine to their pet?

a:

There’s actually a lot of different things you can do. For one, with gel capsules, the remedy is the liquid inside the capsule, so if the pet doesn’t want to eat it, they don’t have to. Just slather that stuff all over their food and then feed them, and that will have the same effect.

In the case of normal chewable, you actually have several different options. You can wrap it up in cheese or bacon and trick them into eating it. You can crush it down into tiny fibers and sprinkle it all over a piece of food you’re feeding your pet. And if none of that works, a lot of sensitivity medicine is shaped to look like normal puppy treats, which you can then feed to your pet.

q: My dog seems to be having an allergic reaction, but when I give them the medicine, it doesn’t go away or even lessen. Is this the medicine or something worse?

a:

If what your pet is experiencing isn’t life-threatening or debilitating, and you’re sure it’s nothing more than an allergic reaction, then you should just try a different allergy medication, particular one that specifically is made to target the symptoms your pet is showing.

If that doesn’t work, take your pet to your doctor ASAP, because there may be something else wrong with them that needs to be diagnosed.

q: If different allergy medications affect different things, why don’t I just buy multiple allergy medications and cut out the middleman?

a:

We’re not outright calling that a bad idea, but you definitely need to be cautious when you’re doing that. Remedies are only meant to be taken together if a doctor has thoroughly screened them and has deemed them to be safe to be taken together. Go past this step, and there can be some disastrous consequences. Most of the time, the back of the box will tell you if you absolutely cannot take the remedy with another. But even if it doesn’t, you should talk to your vet to make sure what kinds of remedies are safe to give to your pet together and which are not. Some can end up magnifying the side effects that some remedies have. The bad side effects, we should stress.

Again, this is not an immediately bad idea, but it is one that you need to consult with your veterinarian on. This is your pet, remember, so you need to make sure that you’re giving them only remedies that will keep them safe and happy.