to top 10 table

Best Heating Pads Reviewed & Rated for Warmth

last updated Aug 07, 2019

We all need a bit of soothing for our joints. There comes a time, whether you’re young or old, where things just aren’t working the way they should be. Or you’ve worn yourself out, and now your joints want to kill you. So, what is there for you to do when you’ve overworked your body like this? Well, most would say just lay down and get some rest, but what if even that doesn’t work? Then you need a more professional solution. And the solution can be a heating pad. Surprisingly versatile little devices, but then, heat is a surprisingly versatile treatment. And we’re counting down the top ten best of them, here today. So, get ready for soothing heat treatment, because we’re counting down our favorite heating pads.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
 Nature Creation Herbal
94.4/100 our score
Size
96
Effectiveness
94
Comfort
95
Ease of Use
94
Fit
93
Nature Creation Herbal
Why is it better?

Multiple forms

Aromatherapy

Relieves pain as well as relaxes the body

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Nature Creation Herbal
Test Winner: Nature Creation Herbal
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Size Effectiveness Comfort Ease of Use Fit By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Size
96 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Comfort
95 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Fit
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$139.96
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Size
94 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Comfort
92 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Fit
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Size
93 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Comfort
91 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Fit
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$34.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Size
90 %
Effectiveness
89 %
Comfort
91 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Fit
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$29.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Size
88 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Comfort
86 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Fit
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$24.70
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Size
84 %
Effectiveness
83 %
Comfort
85 %
Ease of Use
83 %
Fit
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$47.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
Size
83 %
Effectiveness
82 %
Comfort
81 %
Ease of Use
82 %
Fit
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$55.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Size
80 %
Effectiveness
81 %
Comfort
79 %
Ease of Use
79 %
Fit
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$55.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
Size
78 %
Effectiveness
77 %
Comfort
79 %
Ease of Use
76 %
Fit
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$12.49
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Size
75 %
Effectiveness
74 %
Comfort
75 %
Ease of Use
73 %
Fit
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99

Best Heating Pads

1. Nature Creation Herbal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
 Nature Creation Herbal
Amazon Link
Size
96
Effectiveness
94
Comfort
95
Ease of Use
94
Fit
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.96
Pros:

Multiple forms

Aromatherapy

Relieves pain as well as relaxes the body

Cons:

Pricey

Kicking off our list, we have the Nature Creation Herbal Heating Pad. Nature Creation makes a lot of herbal remedies, but in our opinion, this is among one of the best products they’ve ever put out in their company’s history. Proving the versatility of the heating pad when putting into the hands of the clever. So, what makes it so good? Let’s find out.

Multiple forms

The best thing about this heating pad, by far, is how many different forms it actually comes in. Heating pads work great, but a lot of them don’t cover the amount of area you might be feeling pain in, so the effectiveness thereof may be negatively affected as a result. Which is why this heating pad comes in multiple different forms including one for your entire upper body, one for your spine, and even one for your eyes.

Aromatherapy

But applying heat is only one part of the treatment. Another part is relaxing the body so that you aren’t so tense, which helps the heat pad actually do its job. Fortunately, this heating pad has a clever solution for this. Through the use of special herbs located inside the heating pad, this pad gives you an added aromatherapy treatment to the mix that makes it all the more effective.

Cost and Value

The big problem with this heating pad is the price. It should come as no surprise that such an advanced set of heating pads would be pricey, but it’s still a little more than people might be willing to pay for a simple heating pad.

2. PROALLER

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
 PROALLER
Amazon Link
Size
94
Effectiveness
93
Comfort
92
Ease of Use
91
Fit
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Fast heating

Applicable anywhere

Affordable

Cons:

Makes a clicking noise that might annoy

Coming in second place, we have the PROALLER Heating Pad. Taking a big step back from the previous entry, we have a more traditional heating pad. Giving more of what is usually expected of such a device. What is expected of such a device, in that case? Let’s take a closer look to find out.

Fast heating
This heating pad doesn’t just heat you up; it heats you up fast. No more waiting up to ten minutes for the effects to actually set in. This heating pad will spread soothing warmth into wherever you’re putting it up against in seconds. And by stimulating the circulation of blood to the brain, this heating pad can provide relief from other ailments, including tension, headaches, and even chest pain.

Applicable anywhere
Don’t take the lack of variable types of pads with this product as an indication that there is a limited scope of use for this product, as that couldn’t be further from the truth. In fact, you can apply this heating pad almost anywhere on the body, because it’s just big enough to be able to work on any surface of the body, no matter how wide, such as your back.

Cost and Value
Thankfully, we’re back to a much more reasonable price for this product. While the previous entry did justify its price tag with excellent service, it’s always good to have a product that doesn’t incinerate your budget on its own.

3. PureRelief XL

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
 PureRelief XL
Amazon Link
Size
93
Effectiveness
92
Comfort
91
Ease of Use
91
Fit
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.99
Pros:

Super soft

Moist or dry options

Pretty affordable

Cons:

The cord is a bit too bulky for some people

Finishing up our top three segment, we have the PureRelief XL King Size Heating Pad. As you can no doubt tell, this is the biggest single heating pad on our list yet. While there are comparable, even larger heating pads to come, this one is still tough to beat. But size isn’t everything, so let’s see what else this pad has actually to offer.

Super soft

You’re putting this pad against your body, and you’re expected to keep it there for a while for the effects to be long-lasting. So, it had better be comfortable if you’re going to keep it pressed against you. Fortunately, PureRelief agrees, and that’s why this heating pad is made from a super soft micro plush fabric that offers maximum comfort without reneging on the effectiveness of the product.

Moist or dry options

This heating pad comes with either moist or dry heat options, giving you complete control over the kinds of heat you have. There comes a time when you need a nice, soothing moist heat running through your body like you’re in a sauna. And sometimes you need a rough, dry heat to really work at those aches and pains, without having to deal with that slimy feeling you get from moist heat. This heating pad offers you both options, at 6 different temperature settings.

Cost and Value

While a bit more expensive than the previous entry, this heating pad is still pretty affordable, at least by the standards set by the first entry on this list.

4. Geniani XL

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
 Geniani XL
Amazon Link
Size
90
Effectiveness
89
Comfort
91
Ease of Use
92
Fit
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.97
Pros:

Adjustable heat

Microplush fibers

Affordable

Cons:

Not as big as you’d imagine it to be

Coming in at #4, we have the Geniani XL Heating Pad. Another large-sized heating pad, though not quite as large as the previous entry, this heating pad is considered one of the top names in comfortable heating pad technology. So, what gives this praise such confidence? Let’s find out.

Adjustable heat

Heat is a funny, fickle thing. It needs to be applied to sore muscles directly, in order for those sore muscles to be relieved by the soothing heat. However, not every heat is equal, and not every temperature is right for the job, which is why this heating pad has three different, adjustable temperature settings.

Microplush fibers

Once more, we have the super soft fabric known as micro plush making up the fibers of this heating pad. Giving you maximum comfort coupled with effectiveness. So, you don’t have to worry about a lack of comfort while you’re using this heating pad.

Cost and Value

Taking a step back from the previous entry in terms of price, we have a far more affordable heating pad, that’s the same size and made from the same materials. So, we’d honestly call this the better deal of the two.

5. Sunbeam Microplush

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
 Sunbeam Microplush
Amazon Link
Size
88
Effectiveness
87
Comfort
86
Ease of Use
85
Fit
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.70
Pros:

Easy to care for

Convenient features

2 hour shut off feature

Cons:

Pricey

For our #5 spot, we chose the Sunbeam Microplush Electric Heating Pad. The main difference between this and other entries beforehand is the fact that it’s electric instead of being powered by batteries. So, you’d best get comfy because you gotta stay in one place while this heating pad stays plugged into the wall. However, this brings with it a few benefits.

Easy to care for
The biggest benefit of having this heating pad is that cleanup is a breeze. Its fiber allows for stains to come out incredibly easily, and it’s also machine washable, so you don’t have to break out the dishrag every time someone spills a drink all over it.

Convenient features
Since you have to sit down and wait for this thing to work for you, a major inconvenience all on its own, it stands to reason that this heating pad would need other, more convenient features to balance things out better. Which is why this heating pad is equipped with an easy to operate LED controller, 4 different heat settings, and a 2-hour shut off feature for safety.

Cost and Value
This entry is a little bit expensive, but nothing too bad. It’s on the more expensive end of the average price for what we expect from this list as average.

6. Sunbeam XPressHeat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
 Sunbeam XPressHeat
Amazon Link
Size
84
Effectiveness
83
Comfort
85
Ease of Use
83
Fit
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.99
Pros:

Superior heat speed

Select hour shut off

6 heat settings

Cons:

Pricey

Coming in 6th place on our list, we have another Sunbeam product, with the Sunbeam XPressHeat Electric Heating Pad. At first glance, it likely seems identical to the previous entry, seeing as how they were made by the same company. But taking a closer look, you’ll soon see that there is more to this than meets the eye.

Superior heat speed

We’ve seen plenty of heating pads on this list so far that have been able to heat themselves up faster than your average heating pad. But this one takes it even further than that, by heating up to maximum capacity (depending on what setting you have it at, mind you) in less than 30 seconds. That is triple the speed of every other entry on this list.

Select hour shut off

It’s always nice to have an automatic shut off feature, but sometimes you need relief for longer than a heating pad is willing to give you. In this case, you go for this pad, which gives you the ability to choose how long you want the heating pad to be operational before automatically turning off.

Cost and Value

Like the previous entry, this heating pad lives on the latter end of average for heating pad prices. As such, it isn’t exactly pricey, but it’s high enough that some might consider it a bit too high for their needs, which is an important distinction.

7. BodyMed

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
 BodyMed
Amazon Link
Size
83
Effectiveness
82
Comfort
81
Ease of Use
82
Fit
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$55.99
Pros:

No water required

Lockout ability

Digital LCD controls

Cons:

Pricey

For the #7 spot, we have the BodyMed Digital Moist Heating Pad. BodyMed is considered to be the more professional, medically leaning member of the heating pad family. And are definitely the kind that a doctor might recommend you use if you report your pain to them. So, what makes it so good? Let’s find out.

No water required

With a moist heating pad, you usually have to fill a special compartment inside it with water before being able to use the moist heating option, or sometimes just to use the thing period. However, this heating pad gets around that problem by producing its own moisture from the humidity in the air. And there is always humidity in the air, even if you don’t feel it as much, so this pad always works.

Lockout ability

Since this is a more medical device than the previous ones or the ones afterward, it’s thus not exactly the kind of heating pad you want anyone to be touching while treatment is underway, which is why this heating pad comes equipped with a lockout feature, which you can use to lock out unwanted users while treatment is being performed.

Cost and Value

Of course, you don’t become such a professionally regarded heating pad without costing a pretty penny. In fact, were it not for the first entry, this would be the priciest on the list so far.

8. Sunbeam Renue

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
 Sunbeam Renue
Amazon Link
Size
80
Effectiveness
81
Comfort
79
Ease of Use
79
Fit
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$55.99
Pros:

Magnetic clasp

Soothing heat therapy where you need it

Affordable

Cons:

The connecting point where the cord meets the pad is a bit clunky and hard to deal with

Kicking off our final three entries, we return to Sunbeam one last time for the Sunbeam Renue Neck and Shoulder Heating Wrap. As the name suggests, this is meant to be specifically applied to the neck and shoulders to soothe aches and pains around that area. So how does it measure up to the more versatile entries on this list? Let’s find out.

Magnetic clasp
The main problem with heating wraps like this is that the neck and shoulders don’t exactly make for the most secure of mounts. Leading to other heating wraps just to fall right off. Unless, of course, they’re like the Renue, which is equipped with a magnetic clasp that keeps it in place on your shoulders.

Soothing heat therapy where you need it
If you’re a writer, typist, programmer, or someone else who works by sitting hunched over a computer desk all day, then you definitely need some kind of soothing remedy for your neck and shoulders. Which is why this heating wrap mainlines soothing heat directly into those vital areas. You’ll be surprised just how good it feels to have the muscles in your neck and shoulders loosened up.

Cost and Value
We take a step or two back from the price of the previous entry, to have a more affordable heating wrap for this spot.

9. Hot to Go Reusable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
 Hot to Go Reusable
Amazon Link
Size
78
Effectiveness
77
Comfort
79
Ease of Use
76
Fit
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.49
Pros:

Reusable and convenient

Versatile

Very affordable

Cons:

Not a lasting heat

For our second to the final entry, we have something a bit different this time around, with the Hot to Go Reusable Heat Packs. These are the heating pads you use when the regular kind is too big or bulky for the specific circumstance you find yourself in. These are small, portable heating pads meant for quick, convenient relief. And while that certainly has its drawbacks, let’s take a look at some of its strengths.

Reusable and convenient

We should start with the biggest benefit that these pads offer: their convenience. Indeed, no more folding up and taking up half the space in your luggage like with other pads, these take up laughably little space in your luggage and are easy to start using. And don’t worry about putting it in the microwave or anything like that, just bend the internal disk and presto.

Versatile

The small size that these things offer you lends them to another major benefit in their favor: versatility. Don’t have any problem areas at the moment? Use them as hand warmers on a ski trip. From your hands to your shoulders, to your neck, you can enjoy convenient warmth in a variety of ways, for a variety of different areas.

Cost and Value

These warmers are prices very average, though that mostly has to do with the fact that they come in sets of four each. Bought individually, you’ll find these to be the cheapest entries on the entire list.

10. MARNUR XL

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
 MARNUR XL
Amazon Link
Size
75
Effectiveness
74
Comfort
75
Ease of Use
73
Fit
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Comfy heat

Full body use

Very affordable

Cons:

Doesn’t produce as much heat as the others

Finishing up our list, we have the MARNUR XL Electric Heating Pad. Our #10 spot may seem like the most average heating pad we could find, and indeed, it isn’t exactly a looker. But like with other entries on this list, one need only look closer to find the many qualities it has underneath. So, with that said, let’s close out this list by doing precisely that.

Comfy heat

Heating pads need to walk a delicate tightrope when it comes to the heat they put off. They need to be hot enough actually to be effective, but not so hot that you actively feel like you’re cooking. And the line between those two points is thinner than you may think, especially over longer periods of time. Fortunately, this is a line that this heating pad walks pretty well, achieving a comfy heat that isn’t too hot but is just hot enough to get the job done right.

Full body use

This is one of the largest heating pads on the entire list, with a measurement of 12 X 24 inches, allowing for various uses across the entire body. If you want to use it as a heated blanket, you can, a heated mattress, you can do that too. From the neck to the shoulders, to everything down below, this heating pad handles it all.

Cost and Value

This is one of the cheapest entries on the entire list, if not the cheapest. The only entry that outranks it is the previous one, and only by a technicality. But other than that, this is the best deal on the entire list.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

When talking about heating pads, one of the most important parts that must be discussed is how much area each entry actually covers. After all, muscles in pain can cause pain for a lot of the surrounding area, so judging where the pain is actually originating from can be tricky if you don’t know what you’re doing (and let’s face it, you really don’t).

As such, it’s best just to have a heating pad that covers as much area as possible in order to make sure that you get the problem area and remove it. Sore muscles are like kinked hoses: it’s a widespread problem, but one usually caused by a single source. And so, if you have a pad that covers a wide enough area, you’re bound to find that source and cause it to loosen up. However, sheer size is not the most important thing in the world.

Effectiveness

Of course, the most important criteria surrounding the quality of a heating pad would be the heat generated by a said pad. The temperature tends to vary based on the kind of heating pad you have, but the estimated average is between 135-140 degrees Fahrenheit. This is enough heat needed to penetrate the skin and ease the tension out of your joints and muscles, but still gentle enough to not cook you alive.

Comfort

So, we’ve covered the heat itself, but now we move onto the specific kind of heat actually being generated. When working with any kind of heating pad, you’re either going to get moist heat, dry heat, or a choice between the two. To go into more specifics, though:

Moist heat:
Moist heat is an intense heat that’s meant to penetrate deep into the skin to get right to the source of the pain. People love to use this version either occasionally, or even exclusively. And it’s easy to see why it’s easily the more thorough and effective of the two, but not always the most necessary. And considering that it’s basically the equivalent of putting a sauna on top of a single point on your body, it can get uncomfortable for some people.

Dry heat:
And then there’s moist heat’s little, more subtle minded twin brother; dry heat. Dry heat isn’t quite as intense as moist heat, but it is the most common and can be used for a wide range of aches and ailments. The main drawback, of course, is that it isn’t nearly as intense or as thorough, but it is a lot faster and more affordable an option.

Ease of Use

We imagine you’d really prefer not to have to deal with setting up your heating pad and getting it working while your joints are killing you. This is where ease of use comes into play. This refers to, quite simply, the ease of time you have trying to get the thing working. This won’t often be a problem for you, considering that heating pads are generally pretty idiot-proof. Even the ones that have a remote control with LED displays will more often than not be just a few buttons pushes to working properly. So, you should always be able to get your heating pad working, no matter what kind of setup you’re dealing with.

Fit

Normal heating pads get the job done just fine, but not everybody part that a heating pad can affect will be susceptible to the same kind of heating pad. Sometimes you need something a bit more focused on certain areas. How about, for instance, a heating pad that covers specifically your lower back? Or maybe you’re having neck problems. In that case, you need a heating pad that can wrap snugly around your neck and provide you full warmth.

There are a wide variety of different forms a heating pad can take, and this was a very important criterion for each entry to meet. In fact, the sheer number of different forms of heating pads provided is what gave our #1 spot the win. Yeah, the price was pretty insane, but it was completely justified by the amount of variety offered by the product. And the fact that each and everyone worked like a charm didn’t hurt either. Speaking of justifying prices, though.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
The Heating Pad World Has Changed

Like everything we're dealing with these days, technology has changed even the humble heating pad. We've come a long way from the hot water in a rubber bottle world. These days you need to take the time to learn about things in IR heat, or moist/dry heat and all kinds of other little things that have led to changes in the heating pad. But it's worth it to take some time to do some research on the subject and get the product that's right for you.

Other Factors to Consider

Value

The final criteria we used was the price of each entry. However, as you can no doubt see by the very first entry on this list, having a high price tag was not necessarily a damning hurdle to trip over. At least not when compared to other products we’ve covered on similar lists. The thing is that heating pads are considered, at least to some extent, medical devices. And as such are priced a little bit higher as a result of this.

This is not unheard of, as it takes a surprising amount of high medical technology to make an effective heating pad these days, so of course manufacturers need to see bigger returns. For this list, we still chose to go with our usual methods of judging each entry, by looking at the features first and then looking at the price. And then deciding whether or not the features showcased were actually worthy of the high price tags they were asking for.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How long should I actually use a heating pad per use?

a:

This can vary on how much surface area you need to cover, or how extensive the aches and pains actually are. Or it can depend just on the kind of heating pad you are using, its size, and heat output. But generally speaking, the average length of time is no more than 20 minutes. And even if you have to use it for longer, you should always make sure to have it off for at least 20 minutes before you put it back on. Remember, your average heating pad can reach temperatures of up to 140 degrees Fahrenheit, so you don’t want it to be on your body for too long.

q: This pain is keeping me up at night, can I use a heating pad while I sleep?

a:

Theoretically, you can, but it can come with a few risks. For one, there’s the constant risk of actually burning yourself in your sleep. This is why you should generally only use your heating pad for about 20 minutes at a time, with an equally long gap between repeated uses.

Heating pads are great for your muscles but used for too long, and that pad giving off 140-degree heat can very much backfire on you and burn your skin severely if left on there for too long a period of time. This is why we have different heat settings, however, as putting the heating pad on a lower setting helps it to be better for your skin over long periods of time, such as when you’re trying to sleep while using it.

q: My heating pad got dirty the last time I used it, can I put it through the washing machine?

a:

This all depends on whether or not your heating pad says that it can be put through the washing machine. If not, you’ll have to wash it by hand. However, even if it does, you should definitely not put the whole thing through the wash. Manufacturers thought of this, thankfully, so you can remove the cloth top layer of the heating pad to make it easier to wash. So, when you get it off, what you do then is put it in the washing machine, warm water, gentle cycle. Afterward, you can either put it on tumble dry on medium heat, or you can lay it out on a laundry line to air-dry it out.

q: My wife is pregnant and experiencing pain, is a heating pad a good idea?

a:

Actually yes. Heating pads are an excellent means of relieving pains and aches while pregnant. Whether you’re dealing with pain in your pelvis or back, or if you’re experiencing muscle cramps, a good heating pad will help your wife relieve a lot of the tension and pain the child is causing her body.

Sources

  1. Spine Health, Benefits of Heat Therapy for Lower Back Pain, Webpage
  2. Pain Science, Heat For Pain , Webpage