to top 10 table

Best Grip Strengtheners Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 06, 2019

Did you know that the strength of your grip is a better indicator for life expectancy than blood pressure? It’s true. That’s why it is super important to work to strengthen your grip and to keep track of how your grip changes over time.

I can remember my grandfather sitting in his (very uncomfortable) chair while watching his “programs,” squeezing away on his grip strengthener one squeak-squeak-squeak at a time. Thankfully, grip trainers and strengtheners have come a long way since then.

The grip strengtheners on our list are more durable, more adjustable, and more silent than the grip trainers of old and because of this they offer up better results than those old guys as well. We feature a variety of different styles of strengtheners that boast some pretty cool features, so take your health in hand and find the gripper that is just right for you.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
Gripmaster
99.8/100 our score
Use
100
Effectiveness
100
Features
100
Adjustability
99
Value
100
Gripmaster
Why is it better?

Works each finger individually

Can be flipped to work the whole grip

Comes available in different tensions for 3 to 9 pounds per finger

Great for musicians, climbers, golfers, and boxers alike

Works the forearms, wrists, and hands as well

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Gripmaster
Test Winner: Gripmaster
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1400
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Use Effectiveness Features Adjustability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
Use
100 %
Effectiveness
100 %
Features
100 %
Adjustability
99 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$13.90
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.2
Use
99 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Features
99 %
Adjustability
100 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Use
98 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Features
99 %
Adjustability
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$16.88
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Use
98 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Features
98 %
Adjustability
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$15.88
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Use
97 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Features
97 %
Adjustability
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Use
94 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Features
94 %
Adjustability
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$9.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Use
90 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Features
89 %
Adjustability
90 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Use
90 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Features
93 %
Adjustability
86 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Use
86 %
Effectiveness
86 %
Features
87 %
Adjustability
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$15.88
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Use
86 %
Effectiveness
85 %
Features
86 %
Adjustability
85 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Gripmaster Gripmaster
  • Gaiam Restore Gaiam Restore
  • MummyFit MummyFit
  • Mandrill 4 Pack Mandrill 4 Pack
  • HerculesGrip Kit HerculesGrip Kit
  • Airisland Finger Stretcher Airisland Finger Stretcher
  • HomeGym 4U HomeGym 4U
  • CAMRY Digital CAMRY Digital
  • FitBeast Kit FitBeast Kit
  • Pnrskter Pnrskter
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Grip Strengtheners

1. Gripmaster

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
Gripmaster
Amazon Link
Use
100
Effectiveness
100
Features
100
Adjustability
99
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.90
Pros:

Works each finger individually

Can be flipped to work the whole grip

Comes available in different tensions for 3 to 9 pounds per finger

Great for musicians, climbers, golfers, and boxers alike

Works the forearms, wrists, and hands as well

Cons:

Some reviewers report that the finger buttons are a bit too smooth, making them slippery once your hands start to sweat.

The uniquely designed Gripmaster Hand Exerciser is the first product we feature on our list because it allows you to work each finger individually so that your weaker fingers can’t hide from doing the heavy lifting. This product is great for musicians, climbers, golfers, and even boxers.

Read more

Individual Finger Isolation
Many grip strengtheners on the market have one uniform grip to work your fingers and hands, allowing your weaker fingers to get out of having to do the hard work. The Gripmaster, on the other hand, isolates each finger so that even your pinky gets the strength work that it needs. That being said, you can flip the Gripmaster over and use the compound unit to work the entire grip at once. The base of the product is comfy and won’t leave you with nasty blisters. Plus, it comes in 5 different tension options so that you can track and build your strength over time. The pictured strengthener is the lightest tension unit (3 pounds) and the highest tension unit goes up to 9 pounds--and that’s pounds per finger!

Builds Strength in Wrist, Forearm, and Hand As Well
While some products out there just work the fingers and hand, the Gripmaster is proven to work the adjoining muscle groups for a more complete workout. This strengthener works the forearms, wrists, and hands all the while toning the overall quality of your grip. And the featured individual finger isolation also serves to increase coordination and flexibility in specific digits. We love that you can ramp up your grip workouts by gradually moving up through the tension grips from 3 to 9 pounds of resistance per finger.

Cost and Value
The Gripmaster rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it can work each individual finger or the entire grip as a whole. We also love that it works the whole lower arm. Keep in mind that if you want to move up through grip tensions, you will have to purchase the high tensions separately (each Gripmaster has only one tension weight).

2. Gaiam Restore

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.2
Gaiam Restore
Amazon Link
Use
99
Effectiveness
99
Features
99
Adjustability
100
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Made from durable hard plastic

Built-in rep counter

Easy-to-adjust tension from 20 to 80 pounds of resistance

Comes with How To workouts and videos

Stress relieving as well as strength building

Cons:

Some reviewers report that this product is best designed for people with smaller to average sized hands.

Gaiam has developed this “Restore Line” to give back to the bodies that do so much for us. This hand grip was designed to strengthen as well as relieve stress and we love some of the cool features that come along with it.

Read more

Complete Grip Counter
The Gaiam Restore Easy Adjust Hand Grip is made of durable hard plastic that is sensibly molded and designed to stand up to heavy use over time. The grip is comfortable, and most of all secure. Plus, there is a built-in counter on the grip that records each complete grip made. This counter is accurate and easy to reset before each session.

Easy to Adjust Tension
The Gaiam Restore Easy Adjust Hand Grip is meant to strengthen the fingers, wrists, hands, and forearms, all with one simple movement. It comes with suggested workouts and exercise videos for you to follow so that you can be sure you’re getting the most out of this strengthening and stress relieving tool. And we absolutely love that you can adjust the tension with a knob on the hand grip, ramping up the resistance weight from 20 pounds to 80 pounds of resistance.

Cost and Value
The Gaiam Restore Easy Adjust Hand Grip rings up at the bottom of our price range and we are wild about its value because it can be easily adjusted from 20 to 80 pounds of resistance and because it comes with How To workouts so you can get the full use out of it.

3. MummyFit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
MummyFit
Amazon Link
Use
98
Effectiveness
98
Features
99
Adjustability
99
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.88
Pros:

Practically indestructible

Super silent workout

Adjustable tension weights from 55 pounds to 154 pounds of resistance

Lifetime warranty and 100% satisfaction guarantee

Cons:

Some reviewers comment that the range of motion is a little small for users with larger hands.

The MummyFit Grip Strengthener and Adjustable Hand Exerciser is made of the highest quality materials and is guaranteed to last for a lifetime--seriously. And it’s easily adjustable to boot so it can keep up with you over time.

Read more

Practically Indestructible
The MummyFit Grip Strengthener and Adjustable Hand Exerciser is made from steel and thermoplastic nylon so it is virtually indestructible. And the makers feel so confident about the durability of their product that they guarantee its functionality for life. The MummyFit Grip is easily adjustable and can be set to tension resistance weights of 55 pounds all the way to 154 pounds--that is major weight that you can work towards over time.

Super-Silent Workout
We love that the MummyFit Grip Strengthener and Adjustable Hand Exerciser delivers a super silent workout. So many other grippers on the market make insanely annoying squeaking noises--you know exactly what I’m talking about. So annoying that you basically have to put in headphones when you’re using it. But the MummyFit Grip is a silent force, and you can even use it at your office on in a library without disturbing others around you--or yourself.

Cost and Value
The MummyFit Grip Strengthener and Adjustable Hand Exerciser rings up in the middle of our price range and this is a killer value because it offers such a wide range of resistance levels and because it is made of such high-quality materials. And on top of all of that, it is backed by a 100% money back guarantee and a lifetime warranty.

4. Mandrill 4 Pack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Mandrill 4 Pack
Amazon Link
Use
98
Effectiveness
96
Features
98
Adjustability
97
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.88
Pros:

Comes with 4 different strengthening items

Comes with E-Book to help set up a program plan

Adjustable so the whole family can use it

10-year warranty and 100% satisfaction guarantee

Works great for all styles of grip

Cons:

Some reviewers report that the finger strengthener doesn’t offer as much resistance as they would like.

The Mandrill Hand Grip Strengthener Workout 4 Pack literally comes with everything you need to take care of your strengthening your hands. It’s great for musicians, climbers, weight trainers, and even those recovering from wrist and hand ailments.

Read more

Comes with Grip Strengthener, Finger Strengthener, Finger Stretcher, and Ring
This workout pack literally comes with everything you need to take care of your hand strength all wrapped up in a convenient little bag. The grip strengthener is heavy duty and adjustable, with tension weights ranging from 22 to 88 pounds. The finger strengthener works each finger individually with 4 pounds of resistance per finger. The medium resistance finger stretcher will help to increase flexibility and relieve stress from working your fingers and hands out. And finally, the exercise ring provides 50 pounds of resistance for a different take on a grip strengthener workout.

Train Right with the Rapid Results E-Book
The Rapid Results E-Book guides and instructs you on how to correctly use each item in the set. It helps you to set up a program plan for your specific needs, considering whether you are rehabbing an injury or working to strengthen your grip and forearms for a physical endeavor. This set works great for those with small and large grips, as well as for teens all the way to elderly users. And because the tensions are adjustable, the whole family can get some major use out of this set.

Cost and Value
The Mandrill Hand Grip Strengthener Workout 4 Pack rings up in the middle of our price range and we are absolutely nuts about this value because it comes with 4 different strengtheners for you and your family to enjoy--plus an E-Book to help you get the most out of each item. And the set comes with a 10-year warranty and a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

5. HerculesGrip Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
HerculesGrip Kit
Amazon Link
Use
97
Effectiveness
95
Features
97
Adjustability
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

The set comes with 4 different strengtheners

Grips are designed to accommodate all hand sizes

Great for sports training as well as rehabbing

HD Video Manual

Cons:

Some reviewers comment that the finger stretcher doesn’t provide as much resistance as they would have liked.

The HerculesGrip Hand Grip Strengthener Forearm Grip Workout Kit delivers a wonderfully complete workout for members of the whole family. Not only is this kit great for all sorts of physical disciplines like tennis and rock climbing, but it’s also ideal for those recovering for myriad hand, wrist, and finger injuries.

Read more

Improve Performance by Working on Building Dexterity and Strength
The HerculesGrip Hand Grip Strengthener Forearm Grip Workout Kit comes with a whole grip strengthener that can easily be adjusted from weight resistances ranging from 22 pounds to 88 pounds of resistance. The finger strengthener offers up 4 pounds of resistance per finger. The grip ring provides 50 pounds of resistance. And to stretch away all of that stress and work, enjoy the finger stretcher that helps to increase flexibility.

Both Grandma and Hercules Can Use this Grip Comfortably
The adjustable grips and adjustable resistance levels mean that both Hercules and your Grandma can get a personalized and effective workout using the same equipment. This gear is easy to take on the go and is easy enough for everyone to use. Plus, it’s especially good for rehabbing all sorts of hand and lower arm injuries. And to make sure you’re getting just the right workout in, this set comes with an HD Video Manual for guided help.

Cost and Value
The HerculesGrip Hand Grip Strengthener Forearm Grip Workout Kit rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it comes with a complete set of workout tools for your fingers, hands, and forearms.

6. Airisland Finger Stretcher

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Airisland Finger Stretcher
Amazon Link
Use
94
Effectiveness
94
Features
94
Adjustability
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.99
Pros:

3 different tension resistance levels for toning or rehabbing

Made from the highest quality silica gel

Can be washed

Can be used anywhere

Cons:

Some reviewers report that this set may not be strong enough for those looking for serious grip training and that these are best intended for those recovering from injuries or surgeries.

The Airisland Finger Stretcher Hand Resistance Bands are made of the highest quality materials and are great for anyone recovering from surgery or injury, as well as those looking to tone up their grip for better performance in myriad sports across the board.

Read more

Made from 100% Silica Gel (1st-Grade)
The Airisland Finger Stretcher Hand Resistance Bands are made using 100% silica gel of the highest grade, meaning they won’t snap under pressure and also that they can be washed. You can use these bad boys anywhere you go, whether you’re traveling or simply hanging on the couch and watching TV.

Color-Coded Levels to Ramp Up Resistance
We love the Airisland Finger Stretcher Hand Resistance Bands because they come in 3 different resistance levels that are color-coded for your convenience (gray is the lightest while black is the heaviest). Since different resistance levels are provided, this set is great for anyone looking to tone up their lower arms, wrists, hands, and fingers for sports ranging from golfing to game shooting. But those recovering from injuries or surgeries will also be able to enjoy this set as they regain strength.

Cost and Value
The Airisland Finger Stretcher Hand Resistance Bands rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it provides a simple and low-stress recovery workout for those looking to tone up or those rehabbing.

7. HomeGym 4U

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
HomeGym 4U
Amazon Link
Use
90
Effectiveness
90
Features
89
Adjustability
90
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Comes in myriad different resistance options to deliver the perfect resistance for you

Made from eco-friendly 100% silicone

No slip grip

No squeaky sound

Results in 1 month after 2-3 uses per week

Cons:

Some reviewers note that the rings broke after some not-so-extended use. However, they also mention that the company sent them replacements without shipping hassles.

The HomeGym 4U Grip Strength Trainer and Hand Strengthener is a great ergonomic product that comes in multiple different resistance weight sets so that you can get just the set for you. Because these sets vary so much in resistance weight, they are great for literally anyone looking to strengthen their lower arms.

Read more

Ergonomic Design with No Squeaking
The ergonomic design of the HomeGym 4U Grip Strength Trainer and Hand Strengthener is meant to fit perfectly in any hand without the annoyance of having to adjust the grip time and time again. It is made from 100% silicone of high, eco-friendly grade so your hands won’t slip and the product won’t break down. And because it isn’t made like a traditional gripper, you won’t be plagued by that insanely annoying squeaky sound.

Get Results After Just 1 Month
You can get the HomeGym 4U Grip Strength Trainer and Hand Strengthener sets in 10-15-20, 30-40-50, 60-70-80, and 90-100 resistance levels. If you are recovering from an injury or surgery, or you are new to grip training, choose a set on the lower resistance side. If you are more experienced, go with the higher resistances. These rings are great for practicing pinching, extending, supporting, and crushing. Users report seeing positive results after using the rings 2-3 times a week for just one month.

Cost and Value
The HomeGym 4U Grip Strength Trainer and Hand Strengthener rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because of the myriad available resistance options it comes in and because it comes with a 2-year warranty and 100% money back satisfaction guarantee. But remember, each order only comes with one set so you may have to purchase more than one set to get the full range of workout that you desire.

8. CAMRY Digital

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
CAMRY Digital
Amazon Link
Use
90
Effectiveness
87
Features
93
Adjustability
86
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Can sustain grips up to almost 200 pounds

A great way to track recovery and training programs

Compares your grip to others in your age group and among people of the same sex

Can track the history and progress of up to 19 people

Easy-to-read LCD screen gives all the information that you need

5-year product warranty

Cons:

Some reviewers report that the grip was a little less than comfortable after repeated uses.

The CAMRY Digital Hand Dynamometer is an amazing tool to manage your fitness, recovery progress, and overall health. It can be used by doctors or in your home to help direct your fitness program.

Read more

Can Measure Grips Up To 198 Pounds
The CAMRY Digital Hand Dynamometer is hyper-accurate and can provide you with a digital reading in just moments. It can gauge grips measuring all the way up to 198 pounds. And no need to worry about grip size--the Dynamometer has an adjustable grip so you can get just the grip for you no matter if you have tiny hands or an oversized grip. Plus, the dynamometer is friendly to the user, without tons of confusing settings to sift through. Simply squeeze as hard as you can for at least 5 seconds and the meter will read and display your grip strength digitally. Not only that, but it will also show the strongest and weakest points of your grip and it will show how you stack up against average grips from people in your age group and of your same sex.

Can Record Up To 19 Different Users
What’s more, the CAMRY Digital Hand Dynamometer can keep track of the progress of 19 different individuals. Each person is given a specific code where they can enter their sex and age so that the Dynamometer can correctly compare grip strength to others in your category. You can pull up your records any time and track your progress, seeing whether you are gaining or losing strength use after use. Plus, your incremental progress from the last use will be displayed on the large and easy-to-read LCD screen.

Cost and Value
The CAMRY Digital Hand Dynamometer is the most expensive item on our list but it also does the most. If you are serious about keeping up with your health and tracking your training or recovery progress, this is definitely a tool that you need to have in your home gym. Plus, the CAMRY Digital Hand Dynamometer comes with a 5-year product warranty. Keep in mind that you have to purchase AA batteries for this machine to work.

9. FitBeast Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
FitBeast Kit
Amazon Link
Use
86
Effectiveness
86
Features
87
Adjustability
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.88
Pros:

Comes with 5 different exercise tools

Comes with a lifetime warranty

Features video tutorials to get the most out of your kit

Great for serious fitness buffs and also those looking to rehabilitate their lower arms

Made from high-quality materials

Cons:

Some reviewers comment that this set is perhaps a bit too ramped up for those suffering from extreme arthritis.

The FitBeast Hand Grip Strengthener Workout Kit is a 5-part set that with help you increase the speed, responsiveness, flexibility, and power in your hands and wrists, no matter if you’re a touring musician or a weekend rock climber.

Read more

5 Different Tools Plus an Instructional Video
The FitBeast Hand Grip Strengthener Workout Kit comes with 5 different dynamic tools to give you a total lower arm workout. The hand grip strengthener features longer handles with a super duty spring made from stainless steel that can be easily adjusted to provide resistance between 22 pounds and 132 pounds. The finger strengthener offers up 4 pounds of resistance per finger and also features super durable springs made from stainless steel. The finger stretcher, while made from high-grade silicone, is only meant for stretching and offers up just a light resistance. The grip strengthener ring offers up 40 pounds of resistance and is made from high-quality silicone. And finally, the soft-silicone, medium tension stress ball helps to destress while lowering your blood pressure. Well--almost finally! This whole set also comes with an instructional video to make sure you are using each item correctly and to the most effective degree.

Works You All the Way Up to Your Elbows
While most grip strengtheners work your fingers, hands, and wrists, this strengthening set also works the forearms and elbow joints, keeping the joints lubricated and at their maximum flexibility. The FitBeast Hand Grip Strengthener Workout Kit is proven to work for musicians and athletes alike and delivers results with just a few minutes of work every day. Plus, if you’re suffering from arthritis or carpal tunnel, or if you’re recovering from tendon surgery, this set will help you to reclaim your mobility and strength.

Cost and Value
The FitBeast Hand Grip Strengthener Workout Kit rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it comes with 5 different tools to help strengthen and tone your grip. Plus, this pack comes with video tutorials and a lifetime warranty.

10. Pnrskter

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Pnrskter
Amazon Link
Use
86
Effectiveness
85
Features
86
Adjustability
85
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Light graduated resistance from 30 to 50 pounds

Great for those who are starting without a lot of hand strength

Great for injuries and those suffering from arthritis

18-month warranty

Works gripping and expanding muscles

Cons:

Some reviewers note that they wear out easily, but remember that you can send them back to be replaced within 18 months (and also that they are lightweight and meant for people with injuries or ailments).

The Pnrskter Hand Grip Strengthener, Finger Exerciser, and Grip Strength Trainer offers up just the right amount of graduated resistance for users who are recovering from surgeries or injuries, or users who are suffering from rheumatoid arthritis.

Read more

Resistance from 30-50 Pounds
The Pnrskter Hand Grip Strengthener is made from certified eco-friendly silicone that is recyclable, durable, washable, and free of BPA. This set is suitable for all hand sizes and age groups and offers up light, graduated resistance so it’s great for those who aren’t starting with a ton of strength in their hands. The graduated resistances let you build up strength, working toward an end goal. You get 3 grip strength trainers and 3 finger exercisers (each set coming with 30-40-50 pounds resistance).

Works on Gripping and Expanding Muscles
The Pnrskter Trainer will assist in balancing and aligning your gripping and expanding muscles, especially if you are recovering from an injury or surgery, or if you’re suffering from arthritis.

Cost and Value
The Pnrskter Trainer rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love this value because it works in rehabbing and preventing injuries. Plus, it comes with an 18-month satisfaction guarantee and customer service agents that are there to make sure you get all you can out of their products.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

When making this list and working on our rankings, we considered how many uses each product has.
First, we started with who each product was intended for. Products that can be used by those recovering from injuries as well as those wishing to gain some serious strength in their fingers, hands, and forearms rank highly on our list. That means that these products have to be adjustable. We also highly rank products that can be used in multiple different ways to attack different muscle groups. And of course, we love products that can be used and used and used without needing to be replaced.

Effectiveness

As always, we work hard to include only those products that are proven effective. That’s why we read literally thousands of reviews to get the skinny on how well each of the products on our list work. We highly rank products that deliver quick and lasting results. And we love the sets that come with instructional videos and guides to make sure that you are doing your exercises correctly and in the right order. Not only does effectivity build confidence, but it also encourages you to keep going.

Features

Give us all the features! We love products that come with bonuses, or as my brother would say, “Side Prizes.” Grip rep counters and adjustable tensions are some of the features that we love. We also are wild about products that offer additional support and that guide you through each process. Plus, we love the sets on our list that come with multiple different items means to work and strengthen a variety of muscle groups.

Adjustability

While grip strengtheners of old came with one super heavy resistance weight, many of the products on our list come with adjustable resistance. Not only is this amazing for moving up and progressing through weight resistance, but it’s also ideal for use by folks with different needs and ability levels. Plus, purchasing one product that can adjust is not only cost efficient but better for the environment.

Value

We never compile a list without considering value, and the products on this list a packed full of it. Not only are these products affordable on almost any budget, but they are versatile and adjustable and can be used by multiple members of the family. Plus they are made from durable materials and many of them are backed by great warranties and customer service.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Read the Resistance

If you are recovering from a surgery or injury, you are going to want a lighter resistance--no more than 40 or 50 pounds. And this includes those folks suffering from rheumatoid arthritis as well. Products on our list go up to almost 200 pounds of resistance so we make clear the resistance levels and who each product is designed for so that you don’t end up with a product that is either too strong or too weak.

Rehab or Strength Training?

Some of the products on our list are meant for rehabbing and some are meant for serious training. If you are looking for a product to use while rehabbing, a stretcher, ball, or ring is best because it will provide constant resistance that can be graduated but that will mostly stay the same. If you are looking to seriously grow the power in your fingers, hands, wrists, and forearms, go with one of the products on our list that have tension adustments built in so that you can track your progress and amp up your strength training as you go.

Other Factors to Consider

Materials

We also consider the materials each product is comprised of. We love products that are made of Grade A silicone and super durable steel. Plus, products that feature ergonomic grips and no-slip handles rank highly because comfort is key.

Ease of Use

We review a lot of at home fitness gear, and we always find ourselves ranking these products based on how easy they are to use. No one wants to have a piece of equipment delivered to their home that requires a Ph.D. to operate properly. That’s why we feature products that are straightforward and sensibly designed. And we especially love those products that come with real instructions for use.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know what resistance is right for me?

a:

If you are new to grip training or you are recovering from a surgery, injury, or suffering from chronic arthritis, the resistance that you’re looking for in a product is going to change. The products on our list offer as much as 200 pounds of resistance for the most advanced and serious trainers out there. If you are a bit older or newer to grip training, or if you are in rehab mode, go with a product on our list that has a low set resistance (we’re talking like 20-40 pounds).

q: Where should I use my grip strengthener?

a:

The beauty of these products is that they can be used almost anywhere. Some companies even claim that you can use them while driving. While we don’t suggest this (ummm hello...10 and 2?!), we do agree that they are great for use while watching TV or working at the office. Some people even report that use increases focus and productivity.

q: What is the difference between a gripping and expanding exercise?

a:

When you read gripping, think squeeze. When you read expanding, think stretching.

Sources

  1. Samuel Ha, TOP 5 BEST HAND GRIP STRENGTHENERS, Article
  2. Carol Eustice, Exercise Equipment for Hand Arthritis, Article
  3. BRENDAN BLANCHARD, Learn to Train: How to Get Stronger Fingers, Article