to top 10 table

Best Furniture Anchors Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Jun 01, 2019

There are tons of gadgets out there that will help you to baby proof your home, but as a new parent, it can be hard deciding which ones you really need and which ones you really don’t.
Let us say from experience, that one of the most inexpensive and practical purchases you can make when baby proofing your home are furniture anchors.

If you’ve ever seen a baby or toddler in your life, you know that they are basically just teeny tiny tornadoes. They bump, they pull, the lean, they climb. And the best way to ensure that your TV or china cabinet doesn’t topple over on said tornado is to fasten them securely to the wall with furniture anchors.

The products on our list are great for baby proofing but are also super practical if you have pets or live in an earthquake zone. So get securing!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Bebe Earth
99.6/100 our score
Effectiveness
100
Materials
98
Ease of Use
100
Accessories
100
Value
100
Bebe Earth
Why is it better?

Comes with 8 adjustable straps

Straps adjust 21 inches

All screws and hardware included

Secures up to 4 pieces

Premium quality materials

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Bebe Earth
Test Winner: Bebe Earth
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
4500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Effectiveness Materials Ease of Use Accessories Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.6
Effectiveness
100 %
Materials
98 %
Ease of Use
100 %
Accessories
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$19.97
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Effectiveness
99 %
Materials
99 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Accessories
98 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$8.92
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Effectiveness
97 %
Materials
97 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Accessories
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$9.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Effectiveness
97 %
Materials
98 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Accessories
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$12.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Effectiveness
98 %
Materials
98 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Accessories
94 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Effectiveness
97 %
Materials
97 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Accessories
94 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Effectiveness
96 %
Materials
95 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Accessories
96 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$15.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Effectiveness
96 %
Materials
94 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Accessories
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$15.98
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Effectiveness
92 %
Materials
90 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Accessories
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$21.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Effectiveness
96 %
Materials
95 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Accessories
86 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.04.20)
Amazon Link
$4.98

10 Best Furniture Anchors

1. Bebe Earth

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.6
Bebe Earth
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
100
Materials
98
Ease of Use
100
Accessories
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.97
Pros:

Comes with 8 adjustable straps

Straps adjust 21 inches

All screws and hardware included

Secures up to 4 pieces

Premium quality materials

Cons:

Some prefer using their own hardware

To kickstart our list, this anti-tip set from Bebe Earth comes loaded with literally everything you need to start securing large items around your home. At a great price, and with enough gear to secure 4 pieces, you’ll only need a couple of these to make sure your whole house is safety proof.

Comes with 8 Straps
This anti-tip set for Bebe Earth comes loaded with goodies. You’ll get 8 straps in this set. The straps are adjustable up the 21 inches (that’s right! you can move them!) and they are made from super strong ABS material so you can rest assured that they won’t give under pressure.

Each item that you secure to the wall needs to have at least two straps. Heavier items or super tall pieces like bookshelves are best secured by 3 straps. That being said, you should be able to secure about 4 large items with the number of straps that comes in this set.

All the Hardware You Need
Not only will you get 8 straps with this anti-tip set, but you’ll also get all of the hardware you’ll need to install them. The set comes with 7 drywall anchors, 54 1-inch screws, 1 M8 20mm, 1 M8 12mm, 1 M6 12mm, 1 M8/M6 washer, 3 M5 12mms, and 2 M4 12mms. Plus, they throw a cow door stopper in to help to prevent slamming little baby fingers in doors.

Though it may sound like a lot, these kits are actually really easy to install. They come with super detailed directions that tell you exactly how to install the straps for different pieces. You are likely going to need a drill to install these properly.

Cost and Value
This anti-tip kit from Bebe Earth rings up at the top of our price range but we love its value because it comes loaded with everything you need to proof your home, it can secure up to 4 pieces with 1 kit, and because it is made from premium quality materials.

2. Hangman

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Hangman
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
99
Materials
99
Ease of Use
99
Accessories
98
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.92
Pros:

Can hold up to 400 pounds

Cable made from galvanized steel

Steel components for extra security

4-step install

Great instructions

Cons:

Only works with wood pieces

The Hangman Anti-Tip Kit is one of the most premium quality kits on our list. The sets are relatively inexpensive for their quality, and each set serves to secure 1 piece of your heavy furniture (up to 400 pounds!). This kit is not ideal for securing a flatscreen TV.

Cable Made from Aircraft Steel
This anti-tip kit is made using super premium materials. The cable is made from aircraft steel that has been galvanized. And the other hardware is made of steel as well. That means this kit is super strong and isn’t going anywhere. It can securely hold up to 400 pounds of weight. And on top of that, they are resistant to tampering.

Easy-to-Install
This anti-tip kit is easy to install, though you are going to want a drill. And while it isn’t challenging to install, it may time some time depending on the kind of piece you are trying to secure. This set works best for filing cabinets, bookshelves, tall entertainment centers, and full-length mirrors.

Cost and Value
The Hangman Anti-Tip Kit rings up towards the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is made from super premium materials that can hold up to 400 pounds and because each kit has all you need to secure 1 piece.

3. Skyla Homes

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Skyla Homes
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
97
Materials
97
Ease of Use
97
Accessories
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.95
Pros:

4 adjustable 12-inch straps

Can secure 2 pieces

Super strong materials

Each strap holds 70 kilos

Works on TVs and large items

Cons:

Sticks out at top of furniture

The Skyla Homes Anti Tip Straps ramp up strap quality in a big way. With better hardware that won’t strip or rip out of your walls and ABS plastic anchors, you can feel confident that the piece you secure is going to stay where you put it. These are designed to function on both TVs and heavy items.

Anchors Made from ABS Plastic
This set is made from heavy-duty materials that can hold some serious weight. With this set, you’ll get 4 straps that have been triple stitched for supreme durability. Each strap measures about 12 inches long and can be adjusted after it is installed.

You will also get all of the metal hardware and accessories that you need to fully install these straps. As we suggest using 2 straps per item, you will be able to secure 2 pieces to the wall with this set. Each strap can hold up to 70 kilograms or about 155 pounds.

3-Step Installation
The user-friendly installation guide that this set comes with will have you securing your pieces in no time. You won’t necessarily need a drill for this installation and can get by with a screwdriver, though a drill will definitely save you time.

You can install these straps on virtually anything. These are great for TVs and TV stands, as well as kitchen storage cabinets, bookshelves, and china cabinets. This kit is one-size-fits-all.

Cost and Value
The Skyla Homes Anti Tip Straps ring up in the middle of our price range and we love their value because they are made from reinforced materials that are stronger than many other competitor’s products on the market. Plus, they can be used on flatscreen TVs and furniture alike.

4. Safety Innovations

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Safety Innovations
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
97
Materials
98
Ease of Use
96
Accessories
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.95
Pros:

Metal anchors and joints

Polypropylene webbed straps

Works for large items and TVs

Set secures 2 pieces

All hardware included

Cons:

Screws that come with not universal

The Safety Innovations Anti-Tip set is the first strap set on our list to features metal anchors and joints. And the straps are super durable to boot. You’ll be able to safely secure 2 pieces with this set and it will also work on your curvy flatscreen TVs.

Metal Anchors and Joints
This set features straps that are made with metal anchors and joints. Other products on our list and tons of other products on the market use plastics for these parts. While some brands use super-strong ABS plastic, these are still not as strong as the metal joints on this set.

You will get 4 straps when you purchase this set. They are made from an incredibly strong polypropylene webbing that will not tear or fray.

All Hardware Included
You will get all of the hardware you need to install these straps on pretty much any big item in your home that presents a potential danger. With easy to follow, step-by-step instructions, you’ll have your items secured in no time.

This set can secure 2 pieces and will work just as well on those items as it will on your heavy TV.

Cost and Value
The Safety Innovations Anti-Tip set rings up at the top of our price range but we love its value because it is made with metal anchors and joints instead of ABS plastic anchors and joints. These are more durable and can hold more weight than other products on the market.

5. BabyKeeps

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
BabyKeeps
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
98
Materials
98
Ease of Use
96
Accessories
94
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Jaw-like clasp won’t slip

Metal anchors

Super strong strap holds almost 400lbs

Amazing for heavy items

Includes all hardware

Cons:

Takes time to install

The BabyKeeps Anti-Tip Straps are some of the most premium anti-tip straps on our list. You won’t be getting tons of straps in this set, but what you do get will do an incredible job that you can truly rely on. There are just 2 straps in this set but they can each hold almost 400 pounds. And with jaw-like clasps, you can rest easy knowing that your items are really secure.

Jaw-Like Clasps
The straps in the set have some amazing features. First of all, you won’t find any plastic on them. The anchors and clasps are made of metal that is strong and durable. The straps are made from triple stitched fabric that won’t give an inch or fray under pressure.

The clasp that holds your straps together has jaw-like metal teeth that grab on and won’t let go. We’ve read many a review on other products that mention clasps letting the tension go and straps loosening over time. This allows items to lean forward (exactly what you are trying to prevent). With these clasps, that simply won’t happen.

Can Hold Almost 400 pounds
You will get all you need (including hardware) in this set to secure 1 heavy item in your house. We suggest this premium product for heavier duty jobs, while you can buy a larger, cheaper set for smaller pieces around your house.

Each strap can hold almost 400 pounds (382 pounds to be exact). If you have a piece that’s around 700 pounds, then this is the kit for you. If you have a heavier piece, you’ll want to go ahead and purchase two of these kits.

Cost and Value
The BabyKeeps Anti-Tip Straps ring up towards the top of our price range, but they are among the most premium of all of the items on our list. You will only get 2 straps with your purchase which will only secure one large item in your home, but you can use these on the heaviest items you have and know they won’t budge.

Plus, this kit comes with a 5-year warranty!

6. The Baby Lodge

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
The Baby Lodge
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
97
Materials
97
Ease of Use
95
Accessories
94
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Comes with 4 straps

Tons of hardware included for convenience

2-year warranty on parts

Set will secure 2 pieces

Industrial standard materials used

Cons:

Issues with packaging and shipping

The Baby Lodge Anti Tip Straps is another on our list that features no plastic on the strap. The anchors and latch are made of industrial metals so you know they can hold some heavy-duty weight. You’ll get 2 straps with this purchase that can be used to secure your larger home items or TVs.

Industrial Standard Metal
As we mentioned before, there isn’t a single bit of plastic to be found on these straps. The straps themselves are made of triple stitched nylon that won’t stretch or fray. In the set, you’ll get 2 long straps that measure 32 inches long and you’ll also get 2 shorter straps that measure 2 inches long.

The metal anchors and clasps on these straps are made from metal that meets industrial standard strengths. That means they can confidently hold the weight that a plastic product cannot.

All-in-1 set
When you purchase this set you will get all of the hardware you need to install these straps on your larger items or TV. The set comes with 22 total screws, bolts, and washers to ensure that you can find the right size fit for your TV without having to make an extra trip out to the hardware store.

When installing these straps, it’s important to remember that they should be installed in solid wood. This means that you should be securing the wall end of the strap into a stud (or use appropriate toggle bolts or a wall anchor). You should also be securing the furniture end of the strap into a solid piece of wood (not the particle board standard in backing for build-at-home furniture that is more likely to topple, by the way).

Cost and Value
The Baby Lodge Anti Tip Straps ring up in the middle of our price range and we love their value because they cover all of their hardware bases and because they offer a 2-year warranty on their products.

7. Protect UR Kid

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Protect UR Kid
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
96
Materials
95
Ease of Use
94
Accessories
96
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.99
Pros:

Comes with a magnetic stud finder

Works for TVs and heavy items

Super strong materials

Earthquake proof

Secures up to 4 pieces

Cons:

Straps not as long as others

The Protect UR Kid Anti Tip set is a wonderfully inclusive little set that will have your home safety proofed in no time. With 8 straps and all of the hardware you’ll need (even accounting for different TV mounts), you’ll be able to get started right away. And they even throw in a bonus tool to make installation even easier.

Carseat Grade Materials
This set uses materials that are earthquake proof and that are approved to be used on car seat restraints for your little one. The straps are made from propylene webbing that is army tank grade so you know they won’t fray, tear or disintegrate under strain. The anchors and latch are made from super strong ABS plastic which is the same material used to strap your child into their car seat.

Comes with a Magnetic Stud Finder
This kit includes everything you need to secure many items around your home. They work great for TVs as well as for heavy home furniture. Because TVs come in many brands, this kit includes multiple different pieces of hardware to accommodate your TV.

And when you are securing heavy items around the home, this kit has you covered at well. They include a magnetic stud finder in the kit so you can be sure that you are securing the anchors to the correct and safest place on your wall.

Cost and Value
The Protect UR Kid Anti Tip set rings up in the middle of our price range and we like its value because it comes loaded with all you need to baby proof your house and because you get a bonus stud finder in the deal.

8. ShiChi Baby

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
ShiChi Baby
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
96
Materials
94
Ease of Use
93
Accessories
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.98
Pros:

Comes with 8 straps

Straps hold 300 pounds each

Great for TVs and larger items

Wonderful budget-friendly option

Comes with drywall accommodations and screws

Cons:

May want to use your own screws

The ShiChi anti-tip kit is a great buy for those with tons of items in their homes that need to be secured, but without tons of money to spare. Yes, these straps do have plastic on them, but each strap can hold up to 300 pounds of weight so you can still feel confident about the safety of your home.

Comes with 8 Straps that Hold 300 Pounds Each
When you purchase this set you will get 8 straps. Each strap is made from super durable material that can hold up to 300 pounds of force. The plastic anchors and clasps are made from hard ABS that won’t crack under pressure.

That means that you can safely secure 4 different pieces in your home. With this weight capacity and price point, you are getting a great value. But remember, for heavier items (or if you’re living in an area that is prone to experience earthquakes) you’ll want to consider using 3 straps per item instead of just 2 which is customary.

All Hardware and Drywall Accommodations Included
This kit includes all you need to secure heavy items in your home. That includes both screws and drywall accommodations if you are unable to find a stud. And what’s great about this kit is that you can actually secure items that aren’t totally flat. Yes! You can finally use these straps to secure objects at an angle.

Cost and Value
The ShiChi anti-tip kit rings up towards the top of our price range and we like its value because it includes enough straps to secure 4 pieces of furniture, and because each strap can hold up to 300 pounds, this set is great for jobs big and small.
Plus, you get a 30-day satisfaction guaranteed period to ensure that you are happy with your purchase.

9. Safety 1st

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Safety 1st
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
92
Materials
90
Ease of Use
91
Accessories
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.95
Pros:

Comes in multiple set sizes

Really easy to install

Comes with needed hardware

Straps are hidden when installed

Canvas straps are durable

Cons:

Straps can come loose

The Safety 1st Wall Straps are a budget-friendly option that comes in 3 different package counts. Choose between a set of 6, 8, or 16. A set of 6 will secure 3 pieces, a set of 8 will secure 4 pieces, and a set of 16 will secure 18 pieces. These are for lighter weight pieces in the home and for some smaller flatscreen TVs.

Easy to Put in Place
This set comes with straps and hardware--everything that you need to start making your home feel more secure for your little one. These are designed to be hidden, so you won’t be able to see them once they are put into place.

To install, make sure you’ve located a stud in the wall. Secure the wall anchor at this point. Then secure the other anchor to a dense part of wood on the item you wish to safety proof. Finally, clip the two anchor straps together and adjust the straps until there isn’t any loose tension left. You want the straps to be pulled tight. The tighter they are, the less they will move.

Canvas Straps
The straps in this set are made from canvas. They are durably woven and designed to withstand so pushing and pulling. The anchors and joints on these straps are made from plastic. While they will offer security to your lighter items, we advise against using them on heavier objects.

Cost and Value
The Safety 1st Wall Straps rings up in the middle of our price range and we like their value because they are a budget-friendly option that will work fine on lighter pieces in the home. However, we recommend against securing heavier pieces with these as they cannot hold as much weight.

10. Quakehold!

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Quakehold!
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
96
Materials
95
Ease of Use
88
Accessories
86
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$4.98
Pros:

Can hold super heavy items

Earthquake and strong-wind approved

7-inch steel-coated cable

Only need 1 cable per piece

Comes with hardware

Cons:

Only comes 1 per package

The Quakehold! Cable is one heavy-duty daddy. With a 7-inch long cable meant for securing the heaviest of furniture, you can feel certain that the items you secure with this product are not going to go anywhere. But of course, because they’re earthquake proof they can certainly stand up to your little tornado of a human.

Steel-Coated 7-Inch Cable
The Quakehold! Cable features a 7-inch cable that is steel-coated for premium strength and durability. These are the cables they use on aircrafts, so you know they are incredibly strong and safe. The accompanying hardware is just as strong and comes with all you’ll need to secure it into the wall and into your heavy item.

Earthquake Proof
This product is approved for use in earthquake-prone zones and in areas outdoors that experience high winds. So if this product can stand up to earthquakes and wind-gusts, it’s bound to be able to stand up to your little monster.

This is intended to be used on larger, heavier items. While you can use it on lighter items, we suggest using this for your heaviest jobs and going with a cheaper option for your lighter wares.

Cost and Value
The Quakehold! Furniture Cable is super inexpensive and super strong. You will only need one for each piece that you are trying to secure. However, you will only get one in each package. So for your super heavy items, grab a couple of these and then go with more inexpensive options for your smaller household items.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

When making this Ten Best List, it was of tantamount importance that we bring you products that actually do what they say they are going to do. The whole reason you are buying these products is to keep your home and your family safe, so when you get your delivery, they need to do just that.

When analyzing items based on the effectiveness, we look at how well an item works. Do all of the different parts fit together? Are the instructions correct and easy to follow? Do the clips clip? Will the strap loosen over time? Do they actually secure the furniture?

These are all questions that we asked and answered in order to get each product’s ranking on our Ten Best List. And of course, the longer a product lasts, the more effective it is over time. And the more versatile a product is, the more effective.

Materials

The products on this list are made from a wide variety of materials, but we can sort of break them down into 3 categories:

Budget Plastic Straps: These straps and anchors are made using plastics. While some of the plastics are super high-quality ABS, others are not. These plastics may bend and crack with extended use and weight. ABS plastic should not.

These budget items feature different quality straps. We work to describe each of them so you can be sure how much weight each strap can handle.

Premium Metal Straps: These straps and anchors don’t have any plastic on them. They are designed to be super strong and durable. Their anchors and latches are made from metal and their straps are generally made of higher-quality, more durable materials.

Heavy-Duty Metal Anchors: These aren’t actually straps at all. They are more like suspension lines. They are made of super durable steel and are intended for the majorly heavy duty items in your home that need to be secured. These are amazing options especially for people in earthquake zones.

Ease of Use

When thinking about this list, we wanted to make sure that we presented products that are easy to use. Most of the products on our list come with great instruction manuals that help guide you during the installation process on different furniture types. Some of the products on our list even have interactive guides and youtube tutorials for installation.

While having a drill will make the installation process easier on you, you will not need a drill for most of these. But we will remind you that you need to find a stud to make sure your anchor is secure and studs can be difficult to penetrate with a screwdriver alone.

Accessories

When we rank items on their accessories, we’re really ranking the set. The more items that come in a set, the higher it scores in this category. If the set comes with quality hardware, it scores highly. If the set comes with flimsy hardware and you have to go out and either buy or use your own, it scores lower.

Value

We love the products on this list because they serve a life-saving function without costing an arm and a leg. You can literally proof all of the furniture in your average home for less than $100. And many of our products come with great warranties and packaged deals so that you can really get the most for your safety buck.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Accessories
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Use 2 Straps Per Item

When securing items in your home and installing these anti-tip kits, you need to use more than one strap per kit (if you’re using the heavy-duty metal wire kits, 1 is usually fine).
Regardless of weight capacity, you are going to want to use at least 2 straps per item (TV or furniture). But take a look at the weight capacity for each strap. Then think about the weight of your furniture. You may not be able to get a precise weight, so you want to always be safe rather than sorry.

If you think your piece is too heavy for just 2 straps, go ahead and throw a third one in there. Make sure you place the items an equal distance apart for balance and safety.

Mix and Match Straps In Your Home

It might seem easier to purchase 20 straps from the same company, but as we have shown you here, the anti-tip kits on this last serve many different functions.

In order to get the best value and bang for your safety buck, go with more inexpensive packs that have more straps for your lightweight items. Then, for your heavy-duty guys, splurge on the more expensive ones. This way each product will be doing what it does best and you can keep a little more change in your pocket.

Other Factors to Consider

Durability

When thinking about these products, we wanted to ensure that they are durable as well. We love that many of these straps are triple-woven for extra security and that they won’t snap or fray. We also love the ABS plastics that won’t crack or shatter over time.

Size

We considered size when making this list as well. We love products that come in longer sizes but that can be adjusted. While straps shouldn’t slip over time, a little movement is expected. You can tighten these straps with ease at any moment and feel confident that they are secure.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Does furniture really tip over that often?

a:

Every year, about 15,000 kids go to the emergency room because of tipping accidents. That’s a pretty big number, and sometimes these accidents can be incredibly dangerous and even fatal. In fact, some studies show that 1-2 children die every couple of weeks from fallen furniture accidents.

So while the likelihood that your child will topple a piece of furniture isn’t likely, it is a very real and potentially fatal danger that can totally be avoided with the inexpensive products on this list.

q: How does furniture typically tip over?

a:

There are a few answers to this. For one, items that are top heavy, especially those that are nice and tall, are just prone to falling over anyway. And if you add an earthquake or other severe weather on top of that, you asking for trouble.

Children also love to climb. They love it. So if you can imagine, a dresser’s pulled out drawers can start to look like a staircase begging to me climbed. And even if adventure is not the mission, kids are little shorties. Sometimes they have trouble reaching things and climb or step on furniture as a means of grabbing things that are out of reach.

As for TVs, they are heavy and they don’t have very large bases, so they are just asking to be knocked over. This is a hazard for families with children and pets. And these TVs are made of glass, so they can really cause some damage.

q: What kinds of furniture fall over more often?

a:

According to a recent study, about 70% of falling furniture injuries come from larger furniture items and TVs falling over. Another 26% of those accidents come from toppling dressers and tables, while the remaining accidents are caused by falling appliances.

Sources

  1. Nationwide Children's Contributing Writers, Furniture Tip-overs, Article
  2. Rachel Rabkin Peachman, Furniture Tip-Overs: A Hidden Hazard in Your Home, Article
  3. Childproofing Experts Contributing Writers, 5 Myths About Furniture Tip-Overs, Article