to top 10 table

Best Backup Cameras Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 18, 2019

Have you ever driven a car and accidentally bumped into a garbage can or a mailbox? Chances are, if you do not drive a newer car with the latest technology and safety features, you might have! Today, we are incredibly excited to share one of the most recent and popular technology advancements for cars. Do you know what we are talking about? It’s all about Backup Cameras. These are incredibly advanced pieces of technology that consumers can add to their car and extend their line of sight. We took the time to ensure the quality and safety of each of these devices as well, so have no fear. We looked at quality, innovation, and even durability. So, before you bump into another trash can or mailbox again, by purchasing one of the 10 cameras featured on our extensive list today – you can avoid that hassle.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Vantrue N2 Pro Uber
97.2/100 our score
Durability
97
Visibility
98
Style
98
Ease of Use
97
Value
96
Vantrue N2 Pro Uber
Why is it better?

Super night vision captures everything in color and allows for individuals to receive a clear picture of what is happening.

The parking monitor mode includes a parking sensor that is activated upon people or objects moving close to your car. Simply trigger the motion detection setting.

Emergency lock feature will automatically loop any recording and lock the video into an event folder following a collision or impact.

Sony design and features make it one of the strongest and more advanced backup cameras today.

Date and time stamp feature will record the day and time of each event or video.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Vantrue N2 Pro Uber
Test Winner: Vantrue N2 Pro Uber
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
11500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Maja Beier
By Maja Beier:

This update provides you with more information on Backup Cameras and new questions asked and answered in our FAQ-section. Still questions unanswered? That's what we're here for, so feel free to ask away and we will be happy to help. Drive safe!

Sorting Options
Durability Visibility Style Ease of Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Durability
97 %
Visibility
98 %
Style
98 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$199.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Durability
96 %
Visibility
98 %
Style
98 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$104.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Durability
90 %
Visibility
95 %
Style
95 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$159.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Durability
96 %
Visibility
85 %
Style
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Durability
90 %
Visibility
92 %
Style
95 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Durability
94 %
Visibility
88 %
Style
90 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$23.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Durability
92 %
Visibility
94 %
Style
88 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Durability
87 %
Visibility
90 %
Style
95 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$22.45
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Durability
88 %
Visibility
90 %
Style
86 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$21.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Durability
85 %
Visibility
83 %
Style
89 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99

BEST BACKUP CAMERAS REVIEWED & RATED FOR QUALITY

1. Vantrue N2 Pro Uber

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Vantrue N2 Pro Uber
Amazon Link
Durability
97
Visibility
98
Style
98
Ease of Use
97
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.99
Pros:

Super night vision captures everything in color and allows for individuals to receive a clear picture of what is happening.

The parking monitor mode includes a parking sensor that is activated upon people or objects moving close to your car. Simply trigger the motion detection setting.

Emergency lock feature will automatically loop any recording and lock the video into an event folder following a collision or impact.

Sony design and features make it one of the strongest and more advanced backup cameras today.

Date and time stamp feature will record the day and time of each event or video.

Cons:

The price is considered an ‘expensive’ product to users.

Users have mentioned that the mount is considered low quality.

The Vantrue N2 Pro Uber Dual Cash Cam is a model offering jam-packed features in one simple package. With features such as a memory bank of videos and pictures to the nighttime mode and parking sensors, there is a clear reason why this type of camera reigns supreme in this industry. Let’s cover two of the most notable features.

Read more

Night Vision Mode

As one would expect, anything that is created from Sony is designed with expert craftsmanship and appeal in mind. That is what we can say about this particular model. In fact, the camera includes Sony IMX323 season, with aids during night time mode to pick up items via an IR LED light. With a simple toggle of the night vision mode, a person can both record what is occurring inside the vehicle and outside the vehicle.

G-Sensor

As we said before, there is a clear reason why a camera such as this reigns supreme in this industry. With features such as a G-Sensor, this type of camera can detect when a collision has occurred and automatically cut out the portion before and after the collision and save it to a drive. Now, with safety measures like these a person can rest assured that any accident that occurs will also be recorded.

Cost Per Value

It is important to note that a camera such as this is highly different than the first two. The first two are known as simple featured, backup cameras, while this one offers a plethora of features that one would expect from a high-end a-grade camera. With that said, the cost matches the features and value of this camera and is known as one of the higher end backup cameras in the industry.

2. AUTO-VOX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
AUTO-VOX
Amazon Link
Durability
96
Visibility
98
Style
98
Ease of Use
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$104.99
Pros:

This backup camera can easily be installed into the back of a license plate mount and connected to a wireless transmitter.

The connector is, in fact, smaller than many other brands for less bulk in your car.

The rear-view monitor on the dashboard can be easily installed and plug into a car charger.

A 360-degree rotation bracket means the monitor can be easily moved around for better viewing angles.

The hidden camera is flexible and can be placed viably anywhere on the license plate.

Cons:

The price is slightly on the ‘expensive’ side according to users.

A couple of users with Jeeps have mentioned that the wires are too short.

Sometimes we come across a product so different and so exciting that we are eager to share it with individuals. Let’s talk about the AUTO-VOX Backup Camera, a switch in aesthetic design with modern functionality. At half the cost of the previous camera, it still offers plenty of benefits and features that are worth a notable mention. With that said, let’s cover two of the features that make this type of camera a fan favorite.

Read more

Wireless Design

So, you have just gotten your new backup camera and now it is time to install it? The instructions are easy to read. However, the wiring itself is more complicated than sending a man to the moon. This is what this particular brand wanted to avoid. With this particular backup camera, an individual can enjoy the benefits of an amazing model that also includes a wireless design. No more complex problems related to wiring. The LCD rearview monitor can easily be connected to the camera via a wireless transmitter. How about that for innovation?

Monitor Mount

Now, as one would expect from a high-end backup camera, there is plenty of gear that comes along with it to make one’s life much easier during the installation process. With this in mind, this amazing model includes a reusable car monitor mount, that can be mount onto the windshield or dashboard of any vehicle. The mount itself includes a strong silicone adhesive bracket and a suction pad that can be washed and re-used.

Cost and Value

If a consumer really wants to get their money's worth - it's important to take into consideration the cost to value relationship. When it comes to this product, what we can say is that this manufacturer created a model loaded with value. This camera offers a stunning design, great features, and a notable price tag, motivating consumers to try this brand out.

3. eRapta Camera Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
eRapta Camera Kit
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Visibility
95
Style
95
Ease of Use
96
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$159.99
Pros:

This camera can be used as both a backup camera and a forward-facing camera.

This brand aims to produce safety standard products that enhance the driving experience.

The wide viewing angle makes it an easy camera to use.

The installation instructions are easy to understand.

Two video inputs allow for the connection of other video equipment.

Trust the way you drive with this well-crafted backup camera.

Cons:

Users have mentioned having misalignment issues with their backup camera.

Users have reported the monitor screen turns white.

As a more enhanced version of the eRapta from earlier, we are eager to share with you their premium model. This camera is known as the 7 Inch Monitor Camera with plenty of enhanced dynamics and features. Let’s get to know what makes this model a premier quality camera.

Read more

Premier Night Vision

So, it goes without saying that cameras do not offer the best night vision unless they are night vision designed cameras and for that, an individual would have to pay a lot. However, this premier night vision camera is known as one of the best. The reason for this level of quality is that this manufacturer of high tech cameras introduced 18 infra-red lights that allow an individual to see clearly even in complete darkness. Essentially, the 18 infra-red lights serve to see even the smallest of items during night time mode.

Fully Waterproof

As we said earlier, many companies use the term, “waterproof” loosely. However, this manufacturer has received an IP69K Rating, a distinctive measure that confirms the authenticity of the waterproof camera. Essentially, this camera can withstand even the heaviest of rainy days and downpours while maintaining stability and a clear image all throughout.

Cost and Value

When we consider cost per value, it is important to look at the product as a whole. Meaning, what is the history of the brand? Do they offer a warranty? What are the benefits of this product? By asking such questions we can measure the cost in a way that determines if it is worth it or not. We can say that compared to many of the cameras on this list, this one is considered to be high end, and yes the cost matches the value. However, the benefits and peace of mind are of equal or greater value.

4. Esky License Plate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Esky License Plate
Amazon Link
Durability
96
Visibility
85
Style
94
Ease of Use
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

The heavy-duty camera can withstand the elements and is also waterproof.

Color image sensor provides feedback in real time.

The stylish chrome-plated frame looks authentic and fits well in most vehicles.

Built in with electronic ruler lines for distance viewing.

Perfect for U.S. Standard license plates.

Offers a phenomenal solution for people that do not have a backup camera.

Cons:

The color is not as bright as many people would like it to be.

Users have mentioned that it is better as a water-resistant camera than waterproof.

As modern innovation has taken over some of our most beloved items, we are all surprised by the amount of technology that is out there available but somehow, still unknown. This in mind, we are eager to share with you an innovative piece of technology that can make life much easier for many people. If your car does not have a backup camera, we are excited to share with you the Esky License Plate model, a modern innovation with one simple solution.

Read more

Heavy Duty

When we think of a license plate backup camera, our first concern is to ensure that the camera is powerful enough and that the frame can withstand anything. Well, this brand thought of that by creating the frame out of a heavy-duty chrome plated frame built from metal. The metal is designed to withstand high speeds, the elements, and anything that the plate may come into contact with.

Adjustable Camera

Now, onto the most important aspect of this product, the camera. The camera itself is a 170-degree viewing angle macro lens camera that provides feedback in real time and with a ‘mirror’ image. With that said, the camera is fully and physically adjustable from the plate itself. Meaning, an individual can adjust the camera to ensure that they receive the best image when it is on.

Cost and Value

There once was a time when an innovation such as this was hard to believe and would have made life so much simpler. With that said, that is the purpose of this manufacture today, to provide a simple solution to careful drives that want a backup camera in the back of their car. This type of camera is considered to be great quality and has pleasant and positive reviews for the price. Considering the price is relatively low for such a product, we can conclude that the value is high thanks to the many positive reviews.

5. Pruveeo D700 7-Inch Touch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Pruveeo D700 7-Inch Touch
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Visibility
92
Style
95
Ease of Use
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

1080p resolution in the front camera includes a 150-degree wide angle lens.

Sharp and clear quality image no matter the day or weather.

Weatherproof rear cam can handle even the toughest of terrains.

The dual-lens rearview dash cam has a 7-inch anti-dazzling mirror.

The length of the cord used for the rear-view camera extension extends up to 19 feet, which is quite large.

The easy installation instructions make it easy for a person to use the camera in no time

Cons:

Users have mentioned that compared to the competition, this brand offers limited features.

Users have mentioned that the mirror shakes a lot.

As one of the premier consumer electronics manufacturers, this brand knows how to supply quality products with beneficial designs. Pruveeo is known for producing some of the most unique Dash Cam designs, Action Camera designs, tables, and GPS devices. However, their expertise is clearly shown with their new D700 7-Inch Touch Screen Backup Camera. This type of camera comes at a time where we are moving towards a more autonomous and user-friendly environment. Let’s take a look at what makes this camera even more efficient.

Read more

7” Touch Screen For Ease Of Use

We have covered backup models that include a monitor installation kit. However, this type of camera offers a 7” touchscreen dash cam that works synonymously with your backup mirror. The touchscreen is easy to use and the camera benefits include an on/off audio recording function, a microphone speaker support, a 90-degree rear lens, and a 150-degree full glass lens. With features like these, there is a reason why this brand has been around since the year 2000.

Professional Manufacturer

What makes a backup camera a great backup camera is not only the features and design but also the company that makes it. We can easily say that this manufacturer is one of the most trusted manufacturers today. With over 300 employees that specialized in technology, this professional manufacturer of Dash Cam’s has built a reputation for offering phenomenal products alongside expert craftsmanship.

Cost and Value

When evaluating cost, many brands charge by the name. The more notable they are, the more expensive they are considered. However, despite the positive and expert reputation that this professional manufacturer has of backup cameras, their cost still remains reasonable and friendly. With this in mind, we can say that the value of this product is only matched by their positive reputation and quality build.

6. Noiposi Camera and Monitor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Noiposi Camera and Monitor
Amazon Link
Durability
94
Visibility
88
Style
90
Ease of Use
94
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.99
Pros:

The rear-view camera is wired and really easy to install, making the process very easy.

The package includes all the essentials needed to install correctly and effortlessly.

The LCD rear view monitor is high quality and supports a clear image.

Can be plugged into any 12V power cord.

Beneficial for people that want an easy backup camera with a small frame and simple design features.

Enhances drive security and assurance.

Cons:

SD card not included.

Not too many reviews.

We are excited to share the Noiposi model, an evolution of a simplistic style with plenty of innovations to match high grade and modern cameras. With an easy to install mechanism, this camera offers plenty of features. Let’s get to know two of them.

Read more

135 Wide Angle

A backup camera is not an ideal backup camera unless it showcases and utilizes a wide-angle design. The purpose of a wide-angle design is to help the driver see more of what is behind the camera. With that said, we can say that the 135-wide angle design of this camera is not only extremely well-built but it is also HD. Adding to this benefit the wide-angle viewpoint can also be seen in infrared night vision so you never miss anything, even at night.

Waterproof

Many brands use the term “waterproof” loosely when in fact they mean “water resistant.” We can say that this manufacturer has developed a waterproof and properly designed camera that can withstand the elements. Whether it is snowing or raining, this camera is well built can withstand even the most torrential downpours.

Cost and Value

When we talk about cost per value, it is easy to say that this manufacturer offers plenty of benefits in one simple design package. With easy instructions, a seamless design that connects to your license plate and a universal waterproof night vision camera, no one can go wrong with this type of camera. For the price, it is much like the first two cameras on this list – well priced and plenty of simple features.

7. LeeKooLuu Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
LeeKooLuu Kit
Amazon Link
Durability
92
Visibility
94
Style
88
Ease of Use
91
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

The manufacturer provides a professional step by step instructions in the package alongside a 2-year warranty and contact email.

The 4.3 LCD Display monitor is very easy to install on the dashboard of the car which included double-sided stickers.

The included monitor offers two viewing angles so an individual can connect a separate backup camera.

For added security, this backup camera is very great quality and durable built.

Priced low below market value, it offers plenty of benefits.

Cons:

Not that many reviews.

Even the slightest of installation problems will cause it not to work.

The LeeKooLuu model is a great camera system for vehicles that also includes a mounting kit. With a couple of notable features that make it a great choice if you are looking for a backup camera, we are eager to share with you this type of camera.

Read more

Features

As we have noticed on this list, the features of a backup camera can truly enhance the experience. However, an individual does not need the most high-end model to receive expert quality features and benefits. With this particular model, a person is receiving a waterproof license plate model that comes with a color HD lens and a 135 viewing angle.

Easy Install

When individuals think of installing a backup camera, they most likely think of a complicated mess of wiring alongside a set of confusing instructions. This is not the case with this model. In fact, this type of camera has an easy install that can be connected to a reverse light or fuse box, running light or radio. This type of install makes it an easy and effortless process to install the camera.

Cost Per Value

When a person thinks of a valuable backup camera for their car, the idea that more expensive is better comes to mind. However, that is not the case with this particular type of camera. In fact, this model offers plenty of value including a mounting kit, monitor, and color type of camera all at a fraction of what would cost from a premium brand.

8. TOPTIERPRO Hidden Mini

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
TOPTIERPRO Hidden Mini
Amazon Link
Durability
87
Visibility
90
Style
95
Ease of Use
90
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.45
Pros:

This multi-functional camera can be placed anywhere on your car. In fact, it can also be used as a surveillance camera offering a front view, side video, and rear view.

The simple design makes it easy to blend into the style of any car.

The durable build and quality mean an individual does not have to stop taking their wrangler out into the open dirt road and mountain terrain.

Includes night vision mode.

The camera is considered 100% waterproof.

The glass lens is designed with high-temperature resistance in mind.

Cons:

The mountain clip is considered flimsy as some users have mentioned.

Hard to read instructions make installing time-consuming task.

This mini backup camera serves as a fantastic solution and method of security for many people. With that said, an individual can easily install this mini camera to the back, side, or even in front of their car, depending on their purpose. With that said, this manufacturer created a model that was both inconspicuous and incredibly beneficial. Let’s talk about the Hidden Mini Backup Camera from TOPTIERPRO, a company dedicated to solving big problems with easy solutions.

Read more

Super Wide Angle

Having a backup camera in your car boasts many benefits. However, these benefits can not be fully soaked in unless the camera has the equipment and design elements to match. For example, if you have a backup camera but the view angle is small and blurry, what is the point? Therefore, this manufacturer provides a mini camera that offers a super wide angle view so you can see more of what is behind you.

Compact

When we think of a camera, we think of a big bulky item. Well, technology nowadays has advanced to a level where almost all items are compact and easy to use. This reigns true for this mini camera. It is so compact and so lightweight it can be taken anywhere and stored in any place. With that said, the small frame makes it easy to blend into the environment of your car, allowing you to feel safe without giving away your measure your security.

Cost and Value

When we take the cost per value into consideration, who would have thought that a backup camera as modern and innovative as this one could be so reasonably priced? As product number two on this list, we can say this model is priced competitively while offering plenty of the benefits from the experienced and highly expensive brands.

9. eRapta 2nd Generation

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
eRapta 2nd Generation
Amazon Link
Durability
88
Visibility
90
Style
86
Ease of Use
90
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.99
Pros:

The car dash sensor allows for added security.

The camera outer ring is made from a resistance rubber ring that is made from a high-rarity resin.

The backup camera is waterproof, making it easy to use all year round.

2-year factory warranty with 24-hour turnaround time in case the camera is defective.

Re-engineered backup camera with new hardwiring and plenty of features.

The backup camera shows a 149-angle view in both nighttime mode and daytime mode.

Cons:

The brand had to rebuild relationships with customers after a faulty first design.

Not too many reviews.

When eRapta first introduced their model, there were some areas that could have been improved and this 2nd Generation type of camera is completely upgraded and built to last. With many features improved upon and shaped to compete with some of the most high-end backup cameras in the industry today, this model is known to provide clear and crisp image quality in a design that is functional and easy to install. Let’s begin with two features that make this newly redesigned backup camera even better.

Read more

Glass Lens

Probably the most important aspect of a backup camera is the glass lens. This is the window in which the camera will capture all real-time feedback and display it on the monitor. Therefore, it is vital for the lens to be of the most premiere quality. We can say that this brand has gone back and remastered the glass lens with a new waterproof glass that is high-temperature resistance. With this said, the glass lens has a 149-degree viewing angle and offers a sharp quality image.

Assist Guidelines

With this newly redefined type of camera, this manufacturer has introduced assist guidelines. Essentially, an individual will receive a red, yellow, and green set of lines on the monitor that will help the individual know how far they are from the object that is nearby. With assist guidelines, backup is made a much easier process. Now, a user can enjoy the benefits of premiere cars with a simple back up camera.

Cost Per Value

We are excited to share that this redefined and upgraded model does not come at an upgraded cost. Essentially, this manufacturer has enhanced the backup camera to the point it can compete with high-end cameras without the high-end cost. When evaluating cost and value we can say this should be on every individual’s wish list.

10. NATIKA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
NATIKA
Amazon Link
Durability
85
Visibility
83
Style
89
Ease of Use
92
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

The waterproof design, materials, and IP Rate enhance the quality of this backup camera.

The great night vision mode on the camera is high-definition and offers a fast image processor.

The multi-mountain function and installation aids in adjusting the camera where you’d like on the back of your vehicle.

Trusted company with plenty of years’ experience.

Wide angle viewpoint aids in avoiding blind spots.

Cons:

This particular model cannot be used as a side view camera or front view camera.

Users have mentioned that the image can show up blurry sometimes.

The NATIKA model offers plenty of features in a simple and small cube-like design that enhances a person’s driving experience. With a durable and solid build quality, this model allows for an individual to drive with enhanced confidence.

Read more

Wide Angle View

As we have said the wide-angle view lens of this camera is as important as the design of the camera itself. The reason being is that a small viewpoint of the lens can result in blind spots that can increase the potential for crashes or accidents. With the 145-degree wide angle lens and 6G all-glass F1.8 aperture lens, this camera is well built and helps drivers see clearly what is behind them.

Compatible

As the last camera on this list, we have not talked yet about the compatibility of any of these cameras. Therefore, even though many cameras can be easily mounted to any vehicle, this manufacturer assures users that it can be mounted on sedans, vans, jeeps, SUVs, cars, and even microbuses. With this convenience in mind, it is obvious why many users like multifunctional capabilities.

Cost and Value

As the last model on our list, we are eager to share with individuals that this camera is known as an efficient alternative to many other high-end cameras. Offering some of the same features, this model has plenty of value in small frame design. If you are an individual looking for a reasonable cost alongside a value-packed and simple-to-use camera, this may be it.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

When it comes to backup cameras, we knew that one of the most important aspects that we needed to look at was the quality of the camera. In other words, what does the image look like on the screen as the camera is operating? Is it clear? Is it saturated? Is it high-definition? Typically, the way that this market works is that the cheaper the backup camera, the cheaper the grade of camera. Reality being, it’s expensive for a manufacturer to produce a high-quality camera than a low-quality camera. So, as we went through the entire market of backup cameras, we were able to figure out what the absolute best cameras are. What you will find on our list today are the very best backup cameras that offer the clearest and crispest image making it easier for a driver to decipher what is actually behind them when driving.

The other aspect of quality that we would like to touch upon is the idea of durability and longevity. When purchasing a backup camera – you want it to last. Also, the quality of the video and image is important. When we were evaluating each product for our list, we paid very close attention to how each camera was created. We wanted to know precisely how they were built and how the manufacturer ensured consumers the product would last.

Visibility

Through today’s article, we talked at length about the importance of a lens. The lens is an essential part of the camera that allows the product to function and capture the images or video for the consumer to see. Now, as you might imagine, there are a wealth of different lenses, and styles of lenses, that manufacturers can pick from. With that being said, moving into this article, we made it our intention to carefully look at what type of lens the company chooses, while also trying to answer the magical question, “why”. So, after extensive research and analysis behind a camera lens and the best type of lens for backup cameras, what you will find is that each product on our list includes the very best types of lenses that manufacturers can use. In fact, many of these companies feature unique innovations with their lens, ensuring the utmost highest quality lens for the best and clearest image/video.

Style

Another important aspect that we needed to take into consideration was how the physical product was designed. We knew that consumers would not want to purchase a big and bulky backup camera, especially when it needs to have a place either inside/outside the car. With that being said, when we were picking out products for our list, we made it an important consideration to look at how the physical camera and touchscreen were created. Is the screen small? Is the camera compact enough? Will it be noticeable on the back of the car? These are all pertinent questions that you should be able to answer.

Ease of Use

What many people do not take into consideration before purchasing a product is how easy it is to use or install. Would you really want to purchase a backup camera that was incredibly difficult to install, that may take hours? Now, knowing this, we made this a primary concern as we evaluated each product. To figure out how easy or hard the installation process was, we actually looked for how the company talked about installing the product. We also always consulted with previous customers in their reviews to read about their experiences. Since the idea of the installation is a major thought of many consumers, you are bound to find previous consumers talking about this. With our list in mind, we made sure that each product was relatively easy to install and did not require any significant technological skills.

Value

In our opinion, one of the most important features that all consumers make take into consideration when evaluating any product, whether a backup camera or not, is the idea of the cost to value ratio. In truth, this is the only way that a consumer can figure out and ensure they are receiving their money’s worth for a purchase. So, you might be asking, “how do you figure this out?” It’s easy! All you need to do is start by documenting a list of competitors and what they are charging for their product. Keep a note on the products that are relatively more expensive and those that are cheaper. From there, take the time to really look at the value of each product. What are the highlights? What are the features? What makes this product different from the next? Before making any strong conclusions, take the time to look at what previous customers are saying about their experience with the product. From there, you can begin to look at each product and evaluate it based on the amount of value in comparison to the price that a company is charging. Evidently, if a company is charging more than what it’s worth, you should not purchase it! However, we can say ahead of time that, every single product on this list was chosen because it matched both the cost and the value.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Visibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Stay Safe

Now, when it comes to driving it’s imperative to always stay safe and know your surroundings at all times. Only by knowing what’s around, you can avoid minor or major accidents. With that being said, whether you are driving a new car or not, there is a list of safety innovations and additions that consumers can add to their car to avoid accidents. Today, we are incredibly excited to share one of the most recent and popular technology advancements for cars.

Research Is Important

Today, it’s evident that consumers are truly inundated with options. When we first started with our research and evaluation for this topic, we were quite taken aback by the number of products that consumers can pick from. Whoever thought there were so many different types and brands of backup cameras? Well, with that being said, we can understand why so many consumers make impulsive purchases rather than doing the research – it could take hours! Well, that is where we came into the picture. We realized that consumers who make impulsive purchases most often regret it, especially when they are spending countless hours on the phone with customer service departments trying to get a refund.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know if a backup camera will work on my car?

a:

This is a great question that should always be answered before purchasing a backup camera. Now, as you might imagine, it’s very difficult to tell whether a backup camera will work for a specific car – as you know, each product is very different, as is the design of each car. So with that being said, if you want to know if your specific car and model can adopt a backup camera, we highly suggest looking at what the manufacturer says. Typically, they will have a list of the years and makes of cars that can use that specific product. If they do not – you can always check with previous customers.

q: Why do I need to use a backup camera?

a:

Having a backup camera, not only does is protect your car from minor or major damage but it can also save lives. What your eye might not be able to see in the side mirror, the camera will be able to tell you. We have all tried being a little bit inattentive, but being so in a car can be very dangerous, so with the camera and the alarm in it, will help you a long way on being a safer driver.

q: Does a backup camera come with all needed hardware?

a:

Typically, yes! However, as we were saying in the last question, it’s difficult to make a broad statement like “all backup cameras come with hardware”, as this is not always the truth. If you want to know whether all installation accessories come with a purchase, we highly suggest looking at the product description and the “what comes in the package” section. Should the manufacturer not share any of this information, check with previous customers or contact the manufacturer directly.

q: How do you install a backup camera?

a:

If you were wondering about this question – it’s a great one. Now, here’s the thing, most backup cameras should be simple to install. There are some that do not require any significant or technology effort. In fact, if you have used a trailer hitch before, towed a boat or anything of the like, you will find installing a backup camera incredibly easy. Now, we would like to say that, every single backup camera operates entirely different. So, the way one backup camera may be installed will be different than another. If you are curious as to how the installation process works, consult with previous customers, see if the manufacturer shares how the product is to be installed or look on YouTube.

q: Will a backup camera notify me when I am getting close to an object?

a:

Today, most cars already come built in with a backup camera. If you have ever been in a car with them, you might have heard a beeping sound when getting close to an object. This is an added safety feature that typically costs more money in the long run. So, to answer this question, no, not every single backup camera will notify you when getting close to an object. These are special features in these cameras and you may need to pay extra money for the total cost of the product to get this.

Sources

  1. Patrick Allan, Life Hacker, Tech Site
  2. Sarah Hanks, Tech Norms, Tech Blog