to top 10 table

Best Baby Gates Reviewed and Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 23, 2019

I still remember the baby gate my parents purchased when my little brother was born. The accordion wood kind. You know, the kind that pinched your fingers and gave you splinters? The kind that was such a pain to get tight enough in a doorway that you just broke down and climbed over it--also known as the shin-killer? The kind that would fall over with a good push?
Well, times have changed! And thank goodness for that. The baby gates that we have on our list totally change the game. They can expand to fit doorways of different widths and they have gates. They are fashionable and functional. They are durable and easy to use. And above all--they work.

So if you’re in the market for a baby gate, look no further. We’ve found the best of the best that won’t break the bank.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Regalo Easy Stepz
99.4/100 our score
Size
99
Adjustability
100
Ease of Use
98
Materials
100
Value
100
Regalo Easy Stepz
Why is it better?

Can adjust to fit a variety of different widths

Comes with a 6-inch expander

2 more expanding options available (sold separately)

Sturdy, simple steel design

4 independent wall mounts (and the option to secure them into the wall)

2-step easy gate open

Easy to set up and take down

Low cost

Works for pets too

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Regalo Easy Stepz
Test Winner: Regalo Easy Stepz
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1800
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Size Adjustability Ease of Use Materials Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Size
99 %
Adjustability
100 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Materials
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$33.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Size
98 %
Adjustability
99 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Materials
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$86.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Size
99 %
Adjustability
99 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Materials
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$79.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Size
97 %
Adjustability
97 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Materials
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$29.50
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Size
97 %
Adjustability
97 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Materials
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$44.75
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Size
95 %
Adjustability
93 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Materials
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$68.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Size
90 %
Adjustability
91 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Materials
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$134.50
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Size
89 %
Adjustability
90 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Materials
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Size
88 %
Adjustability
89 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Materials
88 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$45.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Size
85 %
Adjustability
87 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Materials
85 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.08.19)
Amazon Link
$35.98

10 Best Baby Gates

1. Regalo Easy Stepz

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Regalo Easy Stepz
Amazon Link
Size
99
Adjustability
100
Ease of Use
98
Materials
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.99
Pros:

Can adjust to fit a variety of different widths

Comes with a 6-inch expander

2 more expanding options available (sold separately)

Sturdy, simple steel design

4 independent wall mounts (and the option to secure them into the wall)

2-step easy gate open

Easy to set up and take down

Low cost

Works for pets too

Cons:

Some users believe the gate opening to be too small (16-inches), thus having to walk through it sideways.

Regalo is a leader in the baby-safety industry, and they have been designing products for years to help parents and caregivers keep their little ones safe. This gate is intended for children aged 6-24 months but it is also a great option for containing pets. The Easy Step Gate meets ASTM standards approved by the JMPA.

Read more

Expands from 29-38.5 Inches
The Regalo Easy Step Gate can expand from 29 to 34 inches, and from 35 to 38.5 inches. It stands 30 inches tall, so it is ideal for children 24 months and younger. This gate can be used at the top and bottom of stairs or in doorways. With four wall cups that are pressure mounted, the gate is incredibly easy to set up and take down. Plus, because the wall cups function separately, you can secure the gate even if the wall-to-wall distance between the top of the gate and the bottom of the gate are different. For example, if the wall-to-wall distance between the top of the gate is 29 inches, but the wall-to-wall distance between the bottom of the gate is 31 inches, you can still secure the gate no problem. The pressure mounts are also easy to put up and take down, making it an ideal gate for portability. But if you don’t plan on moving the gate, the unit comes with wall mounts that can be screwed into the wall for extra security.

Pull-and-Lift Handle with Safety Lock Feature
The Regalo Easy Step is made from sturdy steel so it can stand up to the wear and tear of hectic toddler life, and the white, simple design will fit the decor of any home. The unit comes with a standard 6-inch expander, though 2 additional expanders may be purchased to accommodate larger doorways (sold separately). Gone are the days of climbing over safety gates. To open the Easy Step, pull back on the safety lock handle and lift. It’s as simple as that. The gate has a 16-inch opening, secured by a bar at the bottom that you do have to step over.

Cost and Value
The Regalo Easy Step Gate boasts a value that can’t be beat. Not only is it super durable, but it is also one of the most inexpensive items on our list. And it comes with a 90-day warranty.

2. Summer Infant Multi-Use

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Summer Infant Multi-Use
Amazon Link
Size
98
Adjustability
99
Ease of Use
99
Materials
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$86.99
Pros:

Gate opens both ways

Gate automatically closes behind you

Wider gate

Safety features for use on stairs

3 extenders included

Super tall

Works for pets as well

2 different mounting options

Cons:

Some reviewers report problems with the wall tape provided for the tension mount, claiming the tape damaged drywall.

Summer brand has a ton of products on the market, but this gate is our favorite and at the best price. This gate is intended for newborns through the toddler years and can also be used to contain pets. The Extra Tall Walk-Thru Baby Gate meets ASTM standards approved by the JMPA.

Read more

Comes with 2 Extension Kits for Extra Width Options
The Extra Tall Walk-Thru Baby Gate expands from 28-31.5 inches without using expanders, but this gate comes with 3 different expander options--2 4.25-inch expanders and 1 8.75-inch expander. That means that at its widest, this gate can expand up to 48 inches. The gate stands 36 inches tall, so you can use it all the way through those toddler years. It can be used at the top and bottom of stairs (and even features extra hardware for added security when used at the tops of stairs), as well as between rooms, accommodating for baseboards. To secure the gate, you can use the 4 independently moving tension rods that are pressure mounted (ideal for moving the gate and preventing wall damage) or you can choose to use the hardware provided and screw the gate securely into the wall.

Deco Gate is Fashionable and Comes in 2 Color Options
The Extra Tall Walk-Thru Baby Gate is made of durable metal and comes in 2 stylish options--bronze and white. We love the easy-door feature of this gate as well. You can easily open the gate with one hand and the gate will open either way (yes!). The gate also comes equipt with a stair safety option, preventing the gate from opening over the top of the stairs if it is in use at the stair top. Plus, the gate automatically closes behind you, and the dual locking system ensures that the gate is always securely locked. When opened, the gate measures about 17 inches.

Cost and Value
The Extra Tall Walk-Thru Baby Gate rings up in the middle of our price range, and it is loaded with value because of the 3 included extenders and the gate features (opens both ways and closes automatically behind you).

3. North States 72" Wide Deluxe

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
North States 72" Wide Deluxe
Amazon Link
Size
99
Adjustability
99
Ease of Use
98
Materials
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.99
Pros:

Can be mounted on curved or straight walls

Hinging pivot points are easily adjustable for a perfect fit

Whole fence and gate can swing open either way

Whole fence and gate can be removed for easy storage and then reinstalled simply

The widest gate on the market with one touch open and the option to stay open

Super wide with expanding options (sold separately) to make entire gate measure 159 inches

Cons:

Some users report being less than impressed with the screws provided for the wall mount and suggest purchasing sturdier screws for installation.

The North States has been proudly making homes safer for families for over 60 years--that’s an experience you can count on. Plus, most of their products are made right in the United States and all of their products meet ASTM standards approved by the JMPA. This gate is intended to be used for children from birth through their toddler years and can double as a pet gate too.

Read more

One of the Most Versatile Gates on the Market
This gate is meant for larger spaces and can fit frames from 38.3 inches to 72 inches in width. Plus, you can purchase additional panels to extend your gate up to 159 inches (sold separately). Its tri-panel design means that you can mount the gate on walls that are angled or straight which makes it a great option for building a barrier around dangerous areas like fireplaces. The two hinging pivot points operate independently of each other and can be easily adjusted for the perfect fit. This gate measures 30 inches high. The only installation option is to install using hardware (no tension rods) but with this comes an amazing bonus feature. The whole unit (not just the gate) can hinge totally open in either direction to instantaneously open your space back up into adult land. And if you want to remove the gate entirely, you can detach it easily from the mount, fold flat for storage, and then reattach when kiddos are back in the house. We are totally in love with this feature.

Hard-to-Climb Design
This sturdy metal gate comes in 2 calming neutrals--brown and linen. The vertical bars are strong and are hard for little monkeys to climb, making it a super safe option for your home. Other than the fully opening feature we mentioned above, the gate is our favorite part of this unit. You can open the gate with one hand and it has the widest opening of any other gate on our list--25.5 inches wide. Plus, there is an open-lock option that will keep the gate open (instead of automatically closing behind you) if you plan on walking in and out of your space with frequency at a given time. And the gate features a double locking system for even more built-in security.

Cost and Value
The Wide Deluxe Décor Baby Gate rings up in the middle of our price range. We love, love, love this gate because of the full swinging feature and the available option of removing it altogether when not needed. We also love the gate’s features. It is best to buy.

4. Evenflo Expansion Walk-Thru

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Evenflo Expansion Walk-Thru
Amazon Link
Size
97
Adjustability
97
Ease of Use
97
Materials
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.50
Pros:

The gate can open both ways and from either side

Gate can contract

Telescoping safety guard prevents finger pinching

Super inexpensive

Easy to install and take down

Cons:

Some users report problems when trying to secure the gate to drywall and suggest securing the gate into studs instead.

Evenflo has updated the accordion baby gate of old. This unit is far easier to use than those clunky old accordion gates and you won’t have to worry about dealing with expanders. The Expansion Walk-Thru Room Divider Gate is intended to be used for children up to 1 year of age and can also be used for pets.

Read more

No Expanders to Deal With
The Expansion Walk-Thru Room Divider Gate can fit in doorways measuring from 24 to 60 inches and can stretch that far without the hassle of purchasing or installing extra extending pieces. The gate has a height of 32 inches. To install, use the hardware attachment mounts (at the top and bottom of either side of the gate) to secure in minutes. That means this gate is more of a permanent option and is not ideal if you’re in the market for something portable. You can use the Expansion Walk-Thru Room Divider Gate in doorways and at the bottom of stairs, but it is not meant to be used at the top of staircases.

Safety Rail Means No Pinched Fingers
Again, this wooden accordion gate has some amazing updated features. The plastic safety rail at the top (which contracts like a telescope with the gate) prevents fingers from being pinched. You can open the gate with one hand by pressing down on the lever and it from its latch. The gate can swing open in either direction, and it can also contract totally for convenience. Plus, you can open the gate on either side for even more convenience. And if you want to get the gate out of the way for a time, you can easily remove it and reinstall it.

Cost and Value
The Expansion Walk-Thru Room Divider Gate is one of the most inexpensive gates on our list. It is meant for younger children and won’t stand up to crashing, bashing late-toddlers, but it is a super affordable, super versatile option to keep super young crawlers safe.

5. Munchkin Easy-Close

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Munchkin Easy-Close
Amazon Link
Size
97
Adjustability
97
Ease of Use
94
Materials
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.75
Pros:

Can be used all over the house (including stairwells)

Easy-lock has a dual lock feature for extra safety

2 installation options (spring mounts and hardware mounts)

Lots of available extenders to choose from

Cons:

Some users report being frustrated with the installation process, but happy after they got the gates installed.

The Munchkin Easy-Close Metal Baby Gate was designed to do just that--make your life easier. With multiple edition options, you can design this gate to fit in virtually any opening. It is meant to be used by children 24 months of age and younger.

Read more

Loads of Available Extenders
The Munchkin Easy-Close Metal Baby Gate measures 29.5 inches to 35 inches wide and comes with one extender that measures an additional 2.75 inches. You can choose to purchase additional extenders that allow the gate to measures 54 inches at its widest. The gate is 29.5 inches tall. You can use this gate in doorways and at the tops and bottoms of stairs. Remember, always secure the gate with the 4 wall mounts. You can use the spring loaded mounts or the hardware mounts for extra security. If you are using the gate on your stairs, make sure you install the gate on the landings and have the gate open away from the stairs (not over the stairs).

Easy-Close Technology
This metal gate comes in white and silver. It easily opens and closes in one direction. To open, you must press both buttons, and to close you must do the same. By doing this, you ensure that the double lock feature is activated and that the gate is silent when you close it so as not to disturb any fussy sleepers. The gate is advertised to be “slammed” shut, but some parents report this function not working after long term use. However, the gate does open to a width of 22 inches--a good 5+ inches wider than most of the gates on the market.

Cost and Value
The Munchkin Easy-Close Metal Baby Gate is on the lower end of our price range, but keep in mind that you may have to purchase additional extenders to fit your space which could drive the price up a bit. That being said, we love the value of this product because it can be used all over the house, including stairwells.

6. Cardinal Angle Stairway

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Cardinal Angle Stairway
Amazon Link
Size
95
Adjustability
93
Ease of Use
93
Materials
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$68.99
Pros:

Designed specifically with stairway safety in mind

Gate opens both ways (with locking feature)

Easy one-hand opening that stumps toddlers

Can be installed at up to a 30-degree angle

Add ons designed specifically for this gate

Wide gate opening

Cons:

Some reviewers report frustration in having to explain how to open the gate to new caregivers as it is that safety-proof. Some also report a loud locking sound when the gate is closed.

Cardinal has manufactured a gate with stairway safety at the mind’s forefront. With a latch designed to baffle even the smartest toddlers, it provides the safety that you can count on for years. It meets ASTM standards and is approved by the JMPA. And Cardinal is even recognized by the American Pet Products Association, so it’s pet approved as well.

Read more

Safety First Design for Use at Top of Stairs
The Cardinal Gates Stairway Angle Baby Gate can secure an area with a width from 27 inches to 42.5 inches. Plus, you can order additional extenders measuring 10.5 and 21.75 inches, allowing the gate to extend to 64.25 inches at its widest. The gate is 29.5 inches tall, and Cardinal suggests installing the gate 1.75 inches off of the ground for added height and safety. Of course, the gate can be installed on the ground or up to 2.75 inches off of the ground. As the name suggests, this gate was designed to be used specifically at the tops of stairs, so safety was a key concern in its construction. That being said, this gate is safe to use in all areas of the house. It is easily installed using the hardware provided and can be installed at different angles ranging up to 30 degrees (great when looking for a stud in drywall)--a feature we just love. You can also purchase clamps designed specifically for this gate to secure the gate without drilling holes in your wall or banisters.

Made from Lightweight Aluminum
The Cardinal Gates Stairway Angle Baby Gate is made from lightweight aluminum that is easy to clean and comes in available color options of black and white. The gate is easy to use for adults but will stump even the wittiest toddlers. It opens both ways but features a stopper so that the gate will not open over the stairs if used at the stair top--see, safety at every corner. You must lift the gate slightly when closing to secure the lock. The width of the actual gate opening is about 25 inches.

Cost and Value
The Cardinal Gates Stairway Angle Baby Gate rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value considering all of the safety mechanisms that it has built in. It really is the best buy for use on the stairwell.

7. Retract-A-Gate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Retract-A-Gate
Amazon Link
Size
90
Adjustability
91
Ease of Use
90
Materials
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$134.50
Pros:

Retracts silently and fully

Approved for use at the tops and bottoms of staircases

Comes with multiple available wall mount options

Extra wide size options

Extra tall for added safety

One-hand opening with child safety lock

Cons:

Some reviewers note that the bottom is not ridged and that animals and small children can slip underneath the gate.

The Retract-A-Gate Safety Gate takes the old, wooden accordion gate into the space age. It is sleek, silent, lightweight, and most of all, easy. The gate is meant to be used by kids 24 months and younger and is also approved for animal use (though some small, sneaky critters have been observed slipping underneath). It is approved by the JMPA.

Read more

Super Tall for Extra Safety
The Retract-A-Gate Safety Gate comes in 2 available sizes: 52 inches wide and 72 inches wide. There are no extension options for this gate. It is almost 40 inches tall, depending on how high you mount the gate off of the ground (which shouldn’t exceed more than 3 inches). That makes it taller than most other gates on the market. It is approved for use at the tops and bottoms of staircases (confirmed by the JMPA) but can be used in rooms all over the house. The gate comes with 4 wall mounts that are easy to install. You may also choose to purchase additional wall mounts designed specifically for this gate (or construct your own) to provide more options around the home. Some users moved their gate to 4 different wall mounts in another room, while some installed 2 additional wall mounts to secure the gate across the stairs or at 90-degrees across the hallway.

Made from Tough Fabric You Can See Through
The Retract-A-Gate Safety Gate is made from fabric that you can see through that is still tough enough to stand up to toddlers and sharp claws. It is easy to wash and comes in black, cafe, and white color options. The gate can be opened by an adult using only one hand and retracts silently so as not to disturb any sleeping babies.

Cost and Value
The Retract-A-Gate Safety Gate is at the higher end of our price range, but we still love its value because it comes with so many different mounting options and because it retracts fully and silently.

8. Cumbor Auto Close

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Cumbor Auto Close
Amazon Link
Size
89
Adjustability
90
Ease of Use
89
Materials
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Can install easily with pressure mounts or hardware

Gate opens both ways and closes automatically

Good for children 36 months (more than most gates)

Wide gate opening

Comes with extenders

Can withstand pressure from a 200-pound dog

Little cat door great for pets

Great warranty

Cons:

Some users report the cat door being big enough for children to fit through and suggest using a zip tie to keep that door shut.

The Cumbor Auto Close Safety Baby Gate has some nifty features that you won’t find in other gates on the market. Plus, it’s super sturdy and provides convenience like no other. It is meant for use by children aged 36 months and under and is super approved for pet use (dogs weighing up to 200 pounds and cats alike).

Read more

Features a Pet-Gate
The Cumbor Auto Close Safety Baby Gate is designed to fit door frames ranging from 29.5 inches to 38.5 inches. The Cumbor comes with 2 2.75 inch extenders so it’s bound to fit your space. The gate is 30.5 inches tall, and thus competes well with other gates on the market. This gate is great for all passageways in the house, including the stairs. With 4 wall cups and easy pressure mount design that won’t budge, this gate goes up in a matter of minutes and will come down just as easily. But if you’d like, the hardware is included for mounting as well. The feature we love most on this gate is the little cat door that opens both ways and allows cats to pass easily while keeping dogs and children contained.

Incredibly Sturdy Steel Design
This gate is the steel mack daddy of gates. Even though it installs with pressure mounts, it can stand up against a 200-pound dog and is approved for kids up to 36 months (more than any other gate on our list). An adult can open with one hand by pressing the up and down buttons together. And this gate comes equipt with an auto-close feature that locks securely behind you. The gate width is 23.6 inches wide (about 8 more inches than your average gate) and it opens both ways.

Cost and Value
The Cumbor Auto Close Safety Baby Gate rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value. Its durability and versatility make it a great buy. Plus, it comes with a 3-month guaranteed refund and 18-month warranty.

9. Safety 1st Easy Install

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Safety 1st Easy Install
Amazon Link
Size
88
Adjustability
89
Ease of Use
88
Materials
88
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.00
Pros:

Totally pressure mounted

Indicator for when to tighten the pressure

Indicator for when the gate is fully closed

Wide gate opening

Gate closes automatically

Cons:

Some reviewers report the lock mechanism sticking after extended use.

The Safety 1st Easy Install Metal Baby Gate is a leader in child safety products. Their products meet ASTM standards and are approved by the JMPA. This gate is meant for use by children 24 months and younger and it’s great for pets.

Read more

Special Indicator to Alert when to Tighten Tension Mount
The Safety 1st Easy Install Metal Baby Gate can fit in openings ranging from 29 inches to 38 inches wide. The gate is 28 inches tall (a bit shorter than other gates on our list). It can be used all over the house, including the tops and bottoms of stairwells. The Easy Install Metal Baby Gate is 100% pressure mounted and comes with all of the materials you need to install the gate with ease. All pressure mounted gates have the need to be tightened over time for safety, but not all gates include a reader that indicates when your gate needs to be tightened. The Safety 1st Easy Install Metal Baby Gate does though! When the meter turns red, simply tighten the pressure and you’re good to go.

Automatic Close Feature
The Safety 1st Easy Install Metal Baby Gate is made from sturdy metal that will fight the wear and tear of your active toddler. It features a one-handed easy-open device that closes automatically behind you. Plus, there’s even an easy-to-read indicator which serves to assure you that the gate is safely closed. The gate opening is about 22 inches wide, giving it a larger opening than a lot of other gates on the market. And to top it off, it opens both ways.

Cost and Value
The Safety 1st Easy Install Metal Baby Gate rings up in the middle of our price range. We love its value because of the special features it offers in its indicators (when the tension needs to be tightened, and when the gate is securely locked).

10. North States Portable Traveler

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
North States Portable Traveler
Amazon Link
Size
85
Adjustability
87
Ease of Use
87
Materials
85
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.98
Pros:

Sturdy steel design

Easy to install

Easy release mechanism

Comes with travel case

Cons:

This gate does not open, so you have to climb over it while it’s in use.

The North States 42.6" Wide Portable Traveler Baby Gate was meant specifically with travel in mind. It goes up and comes down in seconds and is intended for use by kids under 24 months of age.

Read more

Perfect for Travel
This gate is the perfect travel companion. It can pop up in doorways measuring 25.2 inches to 42.6 inches wide and is 28 inches high. It comes with 4 pressure mounts that are easy to install and they come down with a quick release button with ease. When you’re ready to move, simply collapse the gate into its travel case and on the road you go.

Steel and Fabric Design
The North States 42.6" Wide Portable Traveler Baby Gate is made from super sturdy steel and fabric. Babies can stand on the base of this gate, but won’t be able to climb over. This gate does not open and is meant strictly as a barrier whilst traveling.

Cost and Value
The North States 42.6" Wide Portable Traveler Baby Gate is at the low end of our price range. It isn’t meant to be used in the home year round, but it is a great travel companion that will keep your little one safe.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

Size was the most important consideration we made when compiling our list.
Gates that fit a greater variety of spaces ranked highly on our list, as did gates that were taller than average (30 inches or above). And gates that could hold up to heavier weights ranked highly as well.

Adjustability

Adjustability was also a huge factor that we considered. We loved gates that could adjust easily. We also loved gates that came with extenders in the box, and gates that offered additional extenders made especially for each gate.
Additionally, we loved gates that could be used in different areas around the house, and gates that could be taken down and stored easily.

Ease of Use

Ease of use was another major consideration. We loved gates that were easy to install, and gates that came with more than one installation option. We also loved gates that had easy open options, and gates that closed automatically behind.

Materials

Of course, we considered the materials that each gate was made out of. We loved gates made from sturdy steel and lightweight aluminum. We also loved gates that were made from durable fabrics and wood.

Value

We always consider value when making our list. We compiled a list of inexpensive baby gates that can stand up to heavy use while not breaking the bank. We especially loved gates that came with warranties.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Measure Your Intended Space

Make sure to measure the space you would like to put your gate before you make your purchase. That way you can be sure that your gate will fit, or that you can purchase extra extenders so that the unit comes together and can be put up right away.

Consider The Mount Type You Prefer

If you are living in a rented space or a space that you do not want to drill in the walls, make sure to select a gate that comes with pressure mounts.

Other Factors to Consider

Portability

We looked for gates that were portable to make our list. Gates that did not have to be drilled into the wall ranked highly, and gates that could be attached to multiple different anchors ranked highly as well. And of course, gates that could be taken down easily and stored were featured as well.

Durability

Gates that were durable were a must. To assess durability, we looked at what materials each gate was made out of and the amount of weight and use each gate could stand up to.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are pet gates the same as baby gates?

a:

No. While some baby gates can double as pet gates, this doesn’t work the opposite way. Pet gates are easier to open and are not child-proof.

q: Why are there age limits on gates?

a:

Age limits are given to gates for size and safety reasons. The larger a child, the easier it is for them to climb a gate or push the gate over. And the older a child, the easier it is for them to figure out how to open the gate themselves.

q: What if I can’t find a stud in the wall?

a:

Most of the gates on our list can be pressure mounted so you don’t need to locate a stud when installing. Some of the gates on our list actually allow for angled installation for stud location. Check for a stud before ordering so you can make sure to get the right model for you.