to top 10 table

Best Thigh Holsters Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Nov 04, 2019

Depending on who you read and talk to thigh holsters are a dying breed. Some say that they tend to snag on just about anything and that they actually create a lot of opportunities for problems when you’re looking to get to your gun quickly. Now we understand that this argument is one that the military and law enforcement should be having, but for the casual shooter, we suggest that these are still the best way to open carry your weapon, as opposed to a chest holster. Still, we’re open to the conversation and are keeping our eyes on the future of holsters for all you gun owners out there. But while the professionals debate we test and that’s what we’ve done here and so have for you our favorites. Take a look.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
 Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II
95/100 our score
Materials
95
Model
96
Ease of Use
95
Effectiveness
94
Protection
95
Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II
Why is it better?

Quality Velcro strap and buckle system.

Easy to adjust.

Non-slip nylon mesh.

Easy to draw.

Cost-effective.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II
Test Winner: Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
14
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
13k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By :

Looking for an option that allows you to carry a firearm somewhere other than your waist? You're in luck, we have just updated this page with three new holsters for carrying on your thigh. Take a look at the Nehostertfy, Glock, and the Kydex each one has something to offer in comfort and durability.

Sorting Options
Materials Model Ease of Use Effectiveness Protection By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
95 %
Model
96 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Protection
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$17.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Materials
95 %
Model
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Protection
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Materials
93 %
Model
94 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Protection
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$10.30
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Materials
90 %
Model
91 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Protection
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$11.88
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Materials
90 %
Model
89 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Protection
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Materials
88 %
Model
87 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Protection
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Materials
84 %
Model
85 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Effectiveness
83 %
Protection
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$23.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Materials
81 %
Model
82 %
Ease of Use
83 %
Effectiveness
80 %
Protection
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$13.74
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.4
Materials
79 %
Model
78 %
Ease of Use
75 %
Effectiveness
79 %
Protection
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$127.85
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
Materials
74 %
Model
71 %
Ease of Use
72 %
Effectiveness
73 %
Protection
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.01.20)
Amazon Link
$69.90

Best Thigh Holsters

1. Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II
Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II
Leaper UTG Special Ops Gen II
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Model
96
Ease of Use
95
Effectiveness
94
Protection
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.95
Pros:

Quality Velcro strap and buckle system.

Easy to adjust.

Non-slip nylon mesh.

Easy to draw.

Cost-effective.

Cons:

The holster can show wear after several months.

Not suitable for a majority of smaller sized pistols.

The Leaper UTG Special Ops is a holster designed for tactical use as it situates in a ready-to-draw position. The padding of this holster is made of a nylon mesh and has been designed in such a way that makes it ideal to use for a myriad of different pistols. Using a quality velcro and buckle system and including an extra magazine pouch, this product is recommended to amateur enthusiasts and professionals alike.

Design flexibility
The holster has been designed in a way that allows for a comfortable fit for medium to large range pistols. It is even compatible with several smaller sized pistols.

Non-slip
The nylon mesh is a great feature that prevents the holster from slipping away from its original position making the holster far more secure.

Cost and Value
If the above-mentioned points weren't enough the Leaper UTG is excellent value for money as the holster is a cost-effective and well-made product that has everything the avid hunter requires.

2. Condor Tornado Tactical

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Condor Tornado Tactical
Condor Tornado Tactical
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Model
94
Ease of Use
95
Effectiveness
93
Protection
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Comes with a velcro retention strap

Excellent durability

Extra pouch for a spare magazine.

Non-slip rubber lining

Will hold pistols with rail light.

Cons:

Right hand only.

Not suitable for a majority of smaller sized pistols.

Condor has spent years perfecting holsters that are suitable for use in the field and civilians alike. The Condor Tornado stands in tribute to this as it is a brilliant and effective holster. With the ability to accommodate both medium and large pistols this product is ideal for use by law enforcement and civilians alike. It has been designed to be durable and practical. If you are looking for a holster which is basic but practical this is the holster for you.

Durability
This holster is designed with durability in mind. By using a PVC construction, this product will be able to withstand rigorous use in the field.

Non-slip rubber lining
The lining of this holster is made of rubber and has a great grip making this product non-slip and ensuring your holster is positioned where you want it to be.

Cost and Value
The Condor Tornado is a great value for money. It may be slightly more expensive than the Leaper UTG Special Ops, however, that expense buys you a product that will stand the test of time.

3. UTG Elite Tactical Leg Holster

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
UTG Elite Tactical Leg Holster
UTG Elite Tactical Leg Holster
UTG Elite Tactical Leg Holster
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Model
94
Ease of Use
92
Effectiveness
91
Protection
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.30
Pros:

Very good grip and non-slip.

Lightweight (only 12 ounces).

High-quality quick release buckle system.

For both left and right-handed users.

Extra magazine pouch.

Cons:

Adjustability is limited.

Not suitable for a majority of smaller sized pistols.

The UTG Elite Tactical Leg Holster is designed in such a way that it can accommodate most medium to large range pistols. This holster is designed to stay in the owners intended position even under the most rigorous of circumstances. The holster is suitable for the left and right-hand sides. It is also lightweight and durable and an excellent choice for the more experienced enthusiast.

Lightweight
The UTG Elite Tactical is an extremely lightweight holster and weighs only twelve ounces which are a great asset especial if you are on in the field and carrying a lot of gear.

Non-slip
Even under the most rigorous of circumstances, if you have the holster fitted correctly it will not lose its grip or slip under duress.

Cost and Value
This holster is available at a very comparative price. This is the cheapest holster on this entire list.

4. Nehostertfy Adjustable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Nehostertfy Adjustable
Nehostertfy Adjustable
Nehostertfy Adjustable
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Model
91
Ease of Use
92
Effectiveness
90
Protection
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.88
Pros:

Two Straps

Extra Pockets

Cheap

Fully Adjustable

Cons:

Won’t Stay Tight

This holster has everything you need and what you're looking for to ensure that you’ll be able to get to your gun quickly. This has three different straps on it to ensure that it stays exactly where you need it. It has strong scuba style straps with Velcro snaps so don’t worry about this holster slipping and sliding around your leg, once it’s on, it stays on. It has a pouch for extra clips and is fully adjustable. Keep in mind this is for your right leg only but if that’s not a problem this is a great holster.

Dual Thigh Straps
Just a bit of extra support where it’s needed these two straps ensure your gun is going to sit snugly onto your leg. It has Velcro straps and is fully adjustable so it will fit every leg, no matter how big or small. The belt strap is also fully adjustable and attaches to a belt on top and again with the velcro straps that will keep your gun exactly where you need it.

Pouches for Extra Stuff
Extra cartridges, extra anything this holster has room for more than just your gun. The side webbing pocket comes in extra handy and is a nice addition that Nehostertfy thought about when putting together this holster. The webbing is also easy to get to so if you need to change magazines easily it’s right there, as easy to get to as your gun.

Cost and Value
This holster comes in at an unbelievably cheap price. Honestly, we were shocked that it came in so low but there you go. Given all that you get with this holster we think this is just about the best deal you’ll find on the market, but we’ll keep looking.

5. Cisno Drop Leg Adjustable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Cisno Drop Leg Adjustable
Cisno Drop Leg Adjustable
Cisno Drop Leg Adjustable
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Model
89
Ease of Use
90
Effectiveness
88
Protection
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Nonslip leg straps.

Adjustable straps.

Made out of lightweight and durable polyester.

Quick-release buckles.

Fully adjustable.

Cons:

Velcro straps not resilient enough.

Not suitable for large pistols.

The Cisno Drop Leg Adjustable Tactical is a lightweight and durable holster. It has a versatile design that allows it to hold a large proportion of pistols. As it is fitted with adjustable straps you can tailor the holster for a perfect fit. Furthermore, the holster also features velcro straps and quick-release buckles. This holster is highly recommended for the amateur enthusiast.

Lightweight and Durable
The Cisno Drop Leg adjustable is made out of a polyester which makes it lightweight whilst also allowing the holster to be durable.

Secure
This holster’s wraparound design combined with adjustable non-slip straps makes aims to maximize security by minimizing the holsters' overall movements.

Cost and Value
This holster is another ‘cheap’ option. After the UTG elite tactical, it is the cheapest holster on this list. Combined with a high-quality finish this holster is extremely good value for money.

6. Glock by Urban Carry Holsters

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Urban Carry Holsters
Urban Carry Holsters
Urban Carry Holsters
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Model
87
Ease of Use
86
Effectiveness
88
Protection
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Small

Leather

Completely adjustable

Easy Draw

Cons:

Rubs A Bit

First things first, this holster is made specifically for a Glock 21. Now if this is your type of gun then you are going to be very happy with this holster. And we put it in here because there are so many Glock lovers out there that we felt we should give you a bit of extra love. But that being said this holster has a lot going for it, it keeps your gun snug and it makes it really easy to get to. It’s compact and attaches easily to your leg.

Sits Lower On Body
We like the way the Modular Revo add-on ensures that this gun will sit low on your leg. It also attaches easily to any belt and then your little ‘ol Glock will be easy to get to and simple to draw. The REVO system allows you to move your holster around on your leg however you want to so you can optimize your own draw.

Small and Unobtrusive
Not quite conceal carry but the urban carry holster is almost small enough to ignore. It’s black leather so you know It’s tough and it has easily manageable webbing so it sits easily on your leg without too much rubbing.

Cost and Value
This holster comes in at a fairly cheap price. And while again we need to point out that this is only for Glock weapons if they’re your gun of choice then this is the holster. For you.

7. Vivoi 3 pc Drop Leg

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Vivoi 3 pc Drop Leg
Vivoi 3 pc Drop Leg
Vivoi 3 pc Drop Leg
Amazon Link
Materials
84
Model
85
Ease of Use
86
Effectiveness
83
Protection
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.95
Pros:

Very adjustable

Suitable for quick draw

Extra magazine pouch

Professional finish

Cons:

The holster does not accommodate attachments

The Vivoi Drop Leg Holster is a multi-purpose holster with a versatile design. Styled as a 3-piece holster it provides the owner with an extra magazine pouch. Furthermore, the holster has been designed to allow the owner to draw their firearm quickly. With a professional finish, this holster is recommended for the first time buyer.

Suitable for quick draw
This holster allows the owner to draw their weapon with ease as it is designed for that specific purpose.

Extra magazine pouch
The Vivoi 3 pc has extra magazine pouches meaning that when you are out in the field you do not need to worry about running out of ammo.

Cost and Value
The Vivoi 3 pc Drop Leg Gun Holster is another holster that is rather cheap for what you are getting.

8. Taigear Tactical Gear Drop Leg

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Taigear Tactical Gear Drop Leg
Amazon Link
Materials
81
Model
82
Ease of Use
83
Effectiveness
80
Protection
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.74
Pros:

High quality and very durable

Adjustable straps

Quality velcro straps

Professional finish

Cons:

The holster itself not adjustable

Not suitable for larger pistols

The Taigear Tactical Gear Drop Leg Holster designed to be used by owners of small to medium range pistols. Fitted with fully adjustable straps made out of high-quality velcro this holster will be suitable for people of any gender or size. The holster is made to be durable and out of high-quality materials.

Adjustable straps
The Taigear Tactical Gear holster is equipped with highly adjustable straps making it suitable for people of all genders and sizes.

Durable
This holster is highly durable and made out of high-quality material. This holster will be suitable for years of use.

Cost and Value
This holster is one of the cheapest holsters on this list. However, even though it is cheap to buy, you are getting a well-made and durable product.

9. Blackhawk Serpa CQC Drop Leg

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.4
Blackhawk Serpa CQC Drop Leg
Amazon Link
Materials
79
Model
78
Ease of Use
75
Effectiveness
79
Protection
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$127.85
Pros:

Side button release

Adjustment screw

Equipped with a belt loop holder and paddle

High quality and durable carbon fiber material

Cons:

It is more expensive than other products

The Blackhawk Serpa CQC Drop Leg Holster is one of the best holsters available on the market. The Blackhawk Serpa is made out of extremely durable carbon fiber and is equipped with a side button release, adjustment screw, a belt loop holder and a paddle. This holster is highly recommended for the experienced enthusiast who is looking for a holster that is of the highest of standards.

Adjustment screw
The Blackhawk Serpa’s adjustment screw allows the user to adjust the holster for the perfect fit. This is a great feature that gives it an edge over its competitors.

Paddle
The Blackhawk Serpa’s paddle is brilliant for keeping your holster closer to your body making it easier to draw your firearm.

Cost and Value
The Blackhawk Serpa CQC Drop Leg Holster is one of the most expensive holsters on this list but does not let that deter you because this holster is one of the best available and is guaranteed value for money.

10. Kydex Tactical HQ Blitz Universal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
Tactical HQ Blitz Universal
Tactical HQ Blitz Universal
Tactical HQ Blitz Universal
Amazon Link
Materials
74
Model
71
Ease of Use
72
Effectiveness
73
Protection
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.90
Pros:

Small

Custom Made

Cheap

Easy Draw

Cons:

Holster Disengages Easily

This is another great holster that is small and unobtrusive but isn’t so small that it doesn’t fit snugly or moves around on your belt when you don’t want it to. This holster comes custom made for your individual weapons so there are dozens of different models to choose from and we like that. We also like that it’s made in the U.S.A.

Custom Made
Do you have a Beretta, then you’ll find your specific weapon in the drop-down menu and the holster will come custom made for your Beretta. The same goes for Glock’s Rugers or Walthers. What this does is ensure a snug fit for your gun and ensure a quick easy draw.

Small
Since this is custom made this holster is going to form fit your gun and there really aren’t any obtrusive parts on it. That also means that it’ll stay mostly hidden and won’t ride too low on your leg.

Cost and Value
This holster comes in at a nice price. Not cheap but nothing that’ll hurt you too badly. If you want’ a holster that’s built specifically for your gun, this is the holster for you.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When it comes to quality, the materials are front and center. The reason being is that the material is what holds the holster together. From there, the holster needs to function with the highest of durability and functionality. What we discovered is that the material is designed primarily for tactical gear, which of course raises the value. Now, speaking of tactical gear. It is common that the best tactical equipment is made from the highest grade material and since many of these are designed for the security personal individual or other individuals wanting the highest grade tactical designs, they are of the best quality.

With that said, the materials that many brands use range from a high-quality A-grade nylon mesh material to some using a PVC construction material. The purpose is that every aspect of the holster functions as needed and that the material can withstand even the most intense of situations. Another reason we included this criterion as one of the most important is that the high holster material ensures that individuals feel safe using the holster and feel that the holster will not break due to poor craftsmanship or other flaws. With that in mind, the craftsmanship and design were another important criteria we had to take into consideration.

Model

As the next criteria that we took into consideration, the design was extremely important when we included a specific thigh holster. Before we begin how we picked the design or what we were looking for, we wanted to ensure that we included a wide variety of products. With that in mind, there are many different designs depending on an individual’s needs. For example, some are designed with security straps that are better than some regular straps, which only enhances the durability. Another important aspect and element when it comes to design are if it was a right-hand draw or left-hand draw.

Many brands offer both types of draw which allow for a bonus element, so users can conveniently place the holster in whatever position or way they desired. It seems that the design, in particular, is what users look out for. How well the straps are connected, if they are Velcro straps, what the closure material and design is like. All these features together then led us to the overall functionality of the thigh holster.

Ease of Use

As we developed the criteria for the best thigh holsters, one area of focus that we wanted to take into deep importance was the functionality. This is where reading reviews and taking into thought what people were saying was very important. For example, it was vital that these had a simple to carry system design that was comfortable enough and inconspicuous if an individual used it for a concealed carry purpose. Another important element was the functionality would allow users to easily draw their weapon in the case of an emergency or necessary situation.

With that in mind, one of the most important aspects that many users took into consideration is if they had a secondary magazine pocket. The secondary magazine pocket allows individuals to easily be able to access and carry another magazine they may feel is necessary. For this, most people that use this feature tend to be in the tactical security field. With that in mind, users should double-check to see if it has a second pocket as we included some with magazine pockets and some without. Now, the next functionality method we feel deserved its own criteria, the strap design.

Effectiveness

What holds the holster in place and together? Well, the strap! The holster strap may be the most important aspect. Without the proper strap design an individual may accidentally break it off, it may tare, or jam when an individual needs their weapon the most. With that in mind, what are the materials and design elements that most straps are made out of?

Some straps are designed like a belt-buckle design, while some have a louder Velcro strap feature. However, the design of all of the ones we included is of high quality. For example, they are made from a durable and hard to tare nylon or PVC material that ensures they will not rip. Some are made with a ripstop technology that ensures that they can withstand the test of time. As we took straps into consideration, we asked ourselves, ‘what if it does break, will customer care help?’ Which led us to the next criteria!

Protection

Customer care when it comes to security products, tactical products, and other manufacturers that provide special equipment is vital. Therefore, we wanted to include customer care as one of the necessary criteria that we had to take into consideration. What we discovered was that many brands will include a money-back guarantee or a warranty on the product. With that in mind, many reviews mention that their customer care is excellent considering they are dealing with people in the security personal business or in the tactical field.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Model
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Keep It Simple

Just like everything we review here on Gear Hunt we're looking for that perfect fit between functionality and style. But one thing we know for certain is that when we're talking thigh holsters we're going to urge you to consider how much holster you need. These can be big and bulky and if you're not convinced you want that big a carry we urge you to take a look at our concealed carry holsters.

Other Factors to Consider

Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, we have to keep in mind that the feeling of security and safety is unprecedented. For example, the value of a product such as this goes unmatched for individuals that want better security in their personal or work life. So, if an individual is thinking about getting a thigh holster, how much does it cost? Well, it will range but it will all be at the same price point. For example, if a user is wanting one with a specific more durable material and an extra magazine pouch, it will cost more than a simple belt buckle holster design. With that in mind, all of these are designed with excellence in mind and users will be able to tell the value right away.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is this thigh holster okay for concealed carry?

a:

So, this may have been the most common question that we found online. The reason being is that individuals want diversity and having a holster as a concealed carry gives them just that. With this in mind, a concealed carry holster offers a bit more flexibility and security for individuals that want the holster to be inconspicuous. However, many concealed carry holsters are designed with minimal designs in mind, so a user can safely and effortlessly conceal it. Therefore, at the sacrifice of other features such as an extra clip or bulkier design, a person can buy a concealed carry holster.

q: Does it hold an extra clip?

a:

This is a question to keep in mind when checking out each individual holster. Yes, some do have an extra magazine carry, some have two, some have three. It all depends on the user’s needs. Expect that design features such as this one will bring up the price and the weight of the item depending on the material the item is made out of.

q: Are the magazine and holster detachable?

a:

This question has been asked by virtually every individual that has wanted a holster with an extra magazine pouch. The reason being is that if the individual does not want to carry the extra pouch, well, of course, they can detach it. However, some manufacturers build the patch directly onto the strap or the holster while some attach it with a Velcro system. It is best to check out the product description as thoroughly as possible, so an individual can get exactly what they are desiring.

q: Is a drop leg holster and a thigh holster the same?

a:

Yes, they are the same thing with interchanging names. However, they are different than a hip holster. Some people wear their thigh holster too low or at the wrong angle. Your gun should not be near to your knee, if that is how you are wearing it, then it is too low.

q: Is a drop leg holster comfortable to wear?

a:

This is all about personal preference, but generally, the answer is yes. Like anything else, the quality of the product determines the comfort, too. Since they are designed with military and the forces in mind, comfort is a high priority right behind the function. When the holster is properly fitted and worn, it will become a great tool.

Sources

  1. Quora, Advantages of a Thigh Holster, Website
  2. Safari Land, Holsters and Gear, Website
  3. CaveArmor, How to wear a drop leg holster, Website