to top 10 table

Best Tactical Gun Cases Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 21, 2019

With the thousands of dollars spent on weapons and their accessories, protecting them shouldn’t be put on the backburner. Weapons that are transported with inadequate casing can get damaged with more than just nicks, and in some instances can cause permanent damage. A great case can make sure your weapons are in tip-top shape for the lifetime of the product. It also makes it easier to travel safely with your gun and can also prevent it from getting into unwanted hands if they have locks. Our list will help you find a style that will protect your gun and meet your traveling needs while informing you of how to make the best choice!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Plano All Weather
98.2/100 our score
Durability
99
Materials
98
Portability
97
Protection
99
Value
98
Plano All Weather
Why is it better?

Plenty of interior room

Drawdown latches hold up over the years

This gun gas offers the absolute best protection

The maker of this product is one of the most well-known brands in the world

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Plano All Weather
Test Winner: Plano All Weather
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Taylor Belmer
By Taylor Belmer:

It's important that gun owners take the appropriate measures to ensure that their guns are safe when traveling or moving from place to place. The best way to do this is with a tactical gun case. Recently, we performed an update on this buying guide to share with our readers how we were able to highlight the best products in this industry. Included in this update are more answered questions.

Sorting Options
Durability Materials Portability Protection Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Durability
99 %
Materials
98 %
Portability
97 %
Protection
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$82.44
Cabelas
$104.99
See Deal
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Durability
98 %
Materials
98 %
Portability
97 %
Protection
96 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$28.15
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Durability
97 %
Materials
95 %
Portability
97 %
Protection
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$29.30
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Durability
96 %
Materials
94 %
Portability
95 %
Protection
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$82.44
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Durability
96 %
Materials
93 %
Portability
95 %
Protection
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$64.32
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Durability
95 %
Materials
92 %
Portability
92 %
Protection
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$61.51
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Durability
95 %
Materials
90 %
Portability
89 %
Protection
94 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$199.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Durability
90 %
Materials
88 %
Portability
93 %
Protection
88 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$30.71
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Durability
92 %
Materials
91 %
Portability
85 %
Protection
88 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$28.41
Cabelas
$31.99
See Deal
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Durability
92 %
Materials
91 %
Portability
80 %
Protection
88 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (27.06.19)
Amazon Link
$107.74
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Plano All Weather Plano All Weather
  • NcStar CVG2907 Series NcStar CVG2907 Series
  • UTG Covert Homeland Security UTG Covert Homeland Security
  • Plano Gun Guard All Weather Plano Gun Guard All Weather
  • Voodoo Tactical Padded Case Voodoo Tactical Padded Case
  • Condor Single Rifle Case Condor Single Rifle Case
  • Peak Case DP-12 Peak Case DP-12
  • Uncle Mike's Tactical Rifle Case Uncle Mike's Tactical Rifle Case
  • Plano Pro-Max Single Scope Contoured Plano Pro-Max Single Scope Contoured
  • Plano Double Scoped Rifle Case Plano Double Scoped Rifle Case
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

BEST TACTICAL GUN CASES REVIEWED & RATED FOR QUALITY

1. Plano All Weather

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Plano All Weather
Amazon Link
Durability
99
Materials
98
Portability
97
Protection
99
Value
98
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$82.44
Cabelas
$104.99
See Deal
Pros:

Plenty of interior room

Drawdown latches hold up over the years

This gun gas offers the absolute best protection

The maker of this product is one of the most well-known brands in the world

Cons:

Customizable foam inserts could be better

Tops on the list are Plano, and of course, it is a hard case. This is the absolute best you can get in the industry when you want to protect your weaponry.

Read more

Toughest Protection Available
With a watertight seal and high tech pressure relief valve, nothing will get into the case when you’re transporting it. Weapons and accessories will be protected from outside elements as long as they’re locked in the case.

Features and Specifications
Dimensions of 46x16x5.5
Industrial strength construction

Cost and Value
As the top tactical gun case on the list, having an average price really speaks to its value. Plano did a wonderful job in making this the best in the industry. Even fans of other brands have to acknowledge how rugged and useful this tactical case is. There are not a lot of other all-weather cases that can do a better job of protection.

2. NcStar CVG2907 Series

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
NcStar CVG2907 Series
Amazon Link
Durability
98
Materials
98
Portability
97
Protection
96
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.15
Pros:

High gun compatibility

Only weighs two pounds

This is a soft-case that boasts durability and toughness

Users can pick from 11 different sizes depending on their need

Cons:

Included straps could be better

The CVG2907 by NcStar nabs the #2 spot convincingly, striking a good balance between features and price. There are tons of customization options wrapped in a tough case that will protect your equipment.

Read more

The Toughest Soft Case Available
Made out of PVC material, buyers can put their most trusted weapons of choice in this bag. And just like the interior and exterior, little things like the zippers have the same level of quality.

Features and Specifications
Eleven different sizes available
Fits shotguns and rifles

Cost and Value
Using the size chart will determine the true price of the bag for potential buyers. Depending on the size, the price will be low to average. The CVG2907 is a superior bag that will be the perfect purchase for rifle and shotgun users. With a high compatibility rate, you won’t have to worry about sizing issues.

3. UTG Covert Homeland Security

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
UTG Covert Homeland Security
Amazon Link
Durability
97
Materials
95
Portability
97
Protection
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.30
Pros:

Very organized inside and out

Hook and loop straps are strong

This product comes at a great price tag

This case comes in a wide range of sizes

Cons:

The zipper can be annoying

UTG is a familiar name, and more importantly, their tactical gun case is one of the best on the list. Some buyers would even call this one the best, as its features are high end.

Read more

The Most Sizes
Other options on the list limit their sizes, but UTG isn’t shy about their offerings at all. Available sizes are 32, 34, 25, 38 and 42 inches.

Features and Specifications
22×11 front padded pocket
Two rows of BTS webbing

Cost and Value
The price is low for this product and almost ranks as one of the lowest on the list. UTG is anything but a bargain company, so this value is quite astounding. Even buyers that aren’t concerned about price will find this to be a great deal. There are plenty of customization and storage options.

4. Plano Gun Guard All Weather

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Plano Gun Guard All Weather
Amazon Link
Durability
96
Materials
94
Portability
95
Protection
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$82.44
Pros:

Spring loaded locks keep the case secure

Lifetime warranty included

This product was designed with an all-weather material

Cons:

Narrower than suggested dimensions

Plano has plenty of skin in the game when it comes to tactical gun cases. This is yet another one of their top-selling models with a lot of high-end features to offer.

Read more

All Weather Design
Having your weapons damaged from the weather is never a fun moment, so choosing this case adds an extra layer of protection. The weatherproof design has proven itself in multiple situations and won’t let you down.

Features and Specifications
Handles AR-15 style guns
Dri-Loc seal with high-density foam interior

Cost and Value
The price is about average which is great for a tactical gun case this far up the list. Buyers should recheck the dimensions and make sure this will fit all of their needs. Plano once again steals the show, this time with an all-weather model. There is a good chance more than a few customers will be interested in this tough case.

5. Voodoo Tactical Padded Case

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Voodoo Tactical Padded Case
Amazon Link
Durability
96
Materials
93
Portability
95
Protection
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$64.32
Pros:

Nine different colors

Detachable padding

There are a wide variety of sizes to pick from

This comes with numerous compartments for storage

Cons:

No padding on the bottom of the bag

Voodoo Tactical has been around for a while, offering some of the best choices in the industry. Their tactical gun cases are one of a kind, with this model being one of the better choices.

Read more

Lots Of Storage Room
The bag can hold up to six 30 rounds from a rifle mag along with eight from pistol mags. That is enough ammunition for a lot of users, and others more than they’ll ever need.

Features and Specifications
Carries two rifles up to 36 inches
Compartments have locking zipper pulls

Cost and Value
All three sizes other than the smallest are high priced. With the many options for sizes and colors, buyers will get plenty of chances to maximize the value. Large tactical gun cases don’t always have to be hard, with this VooDoo Tactical case proving that firmly. This is a heavy duty case with a lot of storage to carry around your rifles and accessories.

6. Condor Single Rifle Case

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Condor Single Rifle Case
Amazon Link
Durability
95
Materials
92
Portability
92
Protection
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$61.51
Pros:

Tough elastic materials

Holds a lot of accessories

This comes in two different sizes for consumers

Consumers have the option to pick from numerous different colors

Cons:

The larger option is pricey

Points for professional looks are going to Condor for their single rifle case. Not only does it look great on the outside, but the inside also has a lot of great things going for it.

Read more

Different Color Options
Available colors are black, tan and olive drab. There is enough difference in the colors that users will be able to match it up with the rest of their gear.

Features and Specifications
Available in two different sizes
Three different pouches

Cost and Value
The regular size is low priced, while the larger 42×12 model is high priced. They are both valuable choices, even if you decide to go for the high-end version. With Condor sneaking onto the list, things are really interesting for potential buyers. They are a solid company that has a good grasp of what customers want.

7. Peak Case DP-12

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Peak Case DP-12
Amazon Link
Durability
95
Materials
90
Portability
89
Protection
94
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.00
Pros:

Latches are secure and will hold tight

Foam inserts are customizable

This brand is clearly the industry leader

This product was designed for whatever environment

Cons:

Inner foam is poorly perforated

When you’re heading into harsh conditions, this is the tactical gun case you want on your side. It provides great protection and keeps your gun from bouncing around.

Read more

Made For Extreme Conditions
A powerful locking mechanism with great seals is what separates this from the rest of the pack. There is also the benefit of it having a consistent balance with its overall weight.

Features and Specifications
Pressure relief valve
Watertight seal

Cost and Value
Plano added this to their low price options and it works out well. Buyers will get a really good value on this tactical gun case. Consider this a go-to purchase for an all-weather tactical case.

8. Uncle Mike's Tactical Rifle Case

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Uncle Mike's Tactical Rifle Case
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Materials
88
Portability
93
Protection
88
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.71
Pros:

A lot of space even in the smaller size

Lightweight

There are two different sizes for an individual to pick from

This product comes at a cost-friendly price tag

Cons:

Less protection than a hard case

Choices make a big difference to consumers that want the best of both worlds. Uncle Mike may have found the perfect solution with their tactical rifle case.

Read more

Available In Two Sizes
Medium and large medium are the sizes you can choose, with the difference in dimensions being 33×10 or 41×10. It’s a big enough difference to really influence buying decisions across the board.

The Outside
This is the first soft case on the list, and it’s actually not bad. Even with the distinct protection advantage of a hard case, this Uncle Mike model is really a wonderful choice.

Cost and Value
No matter what size you choose, the price will be low even with the bump up to large medium. The best value will come by getting a larger size since it really does make a difference.

9. Plano Pro-Max Single Scope Contoured

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Plano Pro-Max Single Scope Contoured
Amazon Link
Durability
92
Materials
91
Portability
85
Protection
88
Value
89
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$28.41
Cabelas
$31.99
See Deal
Pros:

Thick interior construction

Comfortable carrying handle

This product comes at a great price

Interlocking foam is high-quality

Cons:

No wheels

The great thing about Plano is that they provide options for all customers, and this case is a good example. Low priced and with some really good features, customers will find it hard to say no to this little guy.

Read more

Core Features Are Intact
Despite the price difference, all of the major features of their higher priced products are included in this iteration. And most importantly, it is ranked a little higher than the other models.

Features and Specifications
Interlocking foam
Holds a single rifle

Cost and Value
This is one of the lowest priced tactical gun cases on the list, and you won’t find many much lower. There is plenty to love about the value of this Plano product that even goes beyond the price. The price is right, and this case has all of the important features you need to protect weaponry. If this is your final choice, your rifle will be protected for years to come.

10. Plano Double Scoped Rifle Case

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Plano Double Scoped Rifle Case
Amazon Link
Durability
92
Materials
91
Portability
80
Protection
88
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$107.74
Pros:

Holds two shotguns or scoped rifles

Great against bad weather

Built with Plano pluck foam

Very easy to transport

Cons:

Multiple latches are a pain to open and close

Protection is one of the things customers look for in a tactical gun case, and that is one of the reasons this Plano model is a good option. They did a good job in creating a simple product that does what it is supposed to, right out of the box.

Read more

Easy To Transport
Using easy glide wheels, buyers will be able to take their most treasured weapons anywhere without breaking their backs. The wheels are also helped with the inclusion of a swivel handle during transportation.

Features and Specifications
Plano pluck foam
Dimensions of 54.625×15.5×6

Cost and Value
The price is average and overall pretty good for anyone in the market for a tactical gun case. This one will take real good care of your weapons once they are locked in. With all of the great choices on the list, this one doesn’t really stand out as much. Yet it is a valuable addition that offers top-grade protection.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

Let’s talk about gun case durability! As with many of our products that are designed for special use, the overall durability of this item was vital when it came to us including it on this list. The reason being is that the durability will be able to tell a lot about the quality craftsmanship of the product and the specific care of the brand itself. Now, as far as durability we discovered that many of the brands on the list dedicate their products to being #1. With many different available gun case choices to choose from, durability is vital towards the overall success of the product and so brands take into consideration the importance of having the best quality build and materials, which we will talk about next.

As far as durability, areas that we look for to ensure maximum durability and quality build is the hinges of the gun case, the overall interior lining, the exterior material, if it is waterproof or at least, water-resistant, and more. For example, one vital aspect of durability is the method in which the gun cases closes and opens and if it has any specialized locking design to ensure maximum safety. All of this together because of the durability factor and the quality build of the product. Up next, is the interior material!

Materials

As we discussed the criteria to take into consideration, the interior design and materials were very important for the overall safety and quality of the gun case. Reason being is that the interior material really is what will keep the gun safe from scratches, harm, and getting ruined. With that in mind, the interior material of a gun case really alternates depending on if the case is a hard case or soft case. With that said, hard case materials would include a quality soft foam or other shock-proof material to keep the gun case secure.

Other important interior factors of the gun include a belt or pockets to properly secure the gun and store other gun equipment or important items. With soft cases, they included more of a nylon or fabric design material to keep the inside and outside safe. This criterion was one of the two most important. Up next is the exterior material and the coating of the gun case.

Portability

This is the next aspect that we knew was vital to the success of the product and a defining factor as to whether we would include it on the list. The design of the case is very important because it affects its portability. Whether you need to get through the woods or an airport, you want your case to be easy to carry.

With all of this in mind, we took the design into consideration because many users are wanting one or either. With the design of gun cases that look more like luggage, users can expect a somewhat hard outside material with little to no indication that it is a gun case. With other gun cases, primarily soft cases, the tactical design include a green material design shaped like a weapon. Although this is more up to the user and what they desire, we realized that the design was going to be an important criterion.

Protection

We knew that exterior material and coating was vital to the success and quality of the gun case. The reason being is that the right exterior material is what will hold the whole case together. No individual wants a bad quality case that cannot withstand the elements or at least a bit of travel. With that in mind, the exterior material of many of the cases ranges from a hard-shell plastic to a fabric like polyester/nylon material that is extremely durable. Some brands even include a customized synthetic hard-shell material.

Other than that, the exterior material of the product is the baseline for which the product quality will succeed. Meaning, if the exterior material is not durable enough, and even inconspicuous, no individual will want that product. Therefore, we really took into consideration a wide range of tactical gun cases and included the best. One of the best, for example, includes a hard outer shell with a locking mechanism that was also designed to be water resistant. A quality material such as that is hard to beat!

Value

Cost and value happen to be the one factor in many of our articles that never gets old. The reason being is that cost and value is detrimentally important in picking out the right product. Some individuals want a wide variety when it comes to finding the best quality gun case and so we try to balance the scales of cost and value.

As far as cost, readers will be able to tell that there is a wide selection of different type of gun cases, from rifle cases to other weapons. With that, we also wanted to widen the value that users would expect, especially if they wanted more of a carrying case for items and gear or if they wanted more of a single carry type of case.

With that said, all of the products that we have included offer endless amounts of value at different costs and users should expect that for a tactical gun case, it can run them a bit pricey considering the build quality that it takes to design a gun case.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Portability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Soft Shell Or Hard Shell?

The choices between hard and soft cases on the list will trump some users that are new to the industry. Soft cases are lower priced and have more storage, while hard cases are better protected and better built. There are distinct advantages to each, and some users decide to buy one of each for flexibility. Remember, the low price of soft cases make them a perfect backup if you have a primary hard case.

Keep Them Maintained

It's important that you keep your tactical gun case clean at all time to ensure that your gun also remains clean. Soft shell and hard shell cases will have different methods of cleaning depending on the material. Read what types of cleaning solution the manufacturer recommends to ensure that you don't damage your new bag!

Other Factors to Consider

Features

This was another important factor that we took into consideration as a last-minute choice. Many different tactical gun case manufacturers offer different design elements that make them unique. For example, some have specialized hinges or closing mechanisms, while other tactical gun cases have padded pockets and gusseted exterior elements. With that said, this criteria is what made certain brands stand out above the rest.

Color

As far as the next criteria on the list, this one was crucial when it came to including the right product. Obviously, not every product will be designed with multiple options to choose from but we asked our self, ‘what if a user wants it in a different color?’ This question defined much of our research because we wanted to ensure that we included brands that offered different varieties of gun cases as well as styles and color. What we discovered is that many brands will include a wide variety of gun cases while some do not.

Take the VooDoo brand into consideration. They have over five different color choices to choose from for individuals that want a quality gun case. However, they are considered soft shell cases that are made from a fabric material instead of the more inconspicuous hard-shell design. With that said, we wanted to share a bit of variety when it came to picking out the cases so users did not feel tied to just one style or look. Which brings us now to one of the most important criteria, the most famous one of all, the cost and value!

Bottom Line

When it comes to figuring out the quality of every item, we do so in many different ways. Whether it is testing the product, reading the reviews, or studying every aspect of the product, the quality of the gun case is the defining factor if we include it or not. Now, we do this because we look at different pillars when it comes to the product. We like to engage a dance between durability, materials, appeal, and other factors, factors that we will touch upon in this article. As we take all of these factors into consideration, we then decide if the overall quality can withstand the test of time and lots of ware and tare.

What we found when it comes to tactical gun cases is much of what we found when it comes to any tactical equipment. First, tactical equipment is designed in a specialized way to ensure maximum durability and endurance. With that, users can expect that they are extremely strong. Aside from this, when a user expects to buy a tactical piece of equipment such as a gun case, they expect it to be quality due to the nature of the item. As we researched, we knew that the tactical field offered some of the best materials in the industry.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is this case lockable?

a:

This happened to be one of the most asked questions by individuals and to our surprise, certain cases were not lockable. They had more of a Velcro strap zipper design. With that in mind, the specific lockable cases happened to be more of the hard outer shell cases that have a foam padding on the inside. Of course, as one would expect, cases such as this will cost a bit more because they are designed with specific elements that make them more durable. The best thing is to read the description or ask the manufacturer. However, most zipper-like cases do not have a lockable design.

q: Is the case waterproof?

a:

This happened to be another of one of the most frequently asked questions. When an individual plans on taking their case outside or traveling with it, they may encounter moisture or water. With that said, some of the cases do have a waterproof seal design or at least a water-resistant coating that wicks away water. With that, the hard shell cases have a seal and the soft shell cases, depending on the material are designed to wick away moisture.

q: What can the case hold?

a:

This was another aspect of the case that users took into consideration. Now, as one will see some of the cases are primarily designed to hold rifles. However, some cases can hold a weapon and also hold equipment. With that said, it is best for users to become clear about what they require in a case and then read the description and pick appropriately as some are designed for different sized rifles and weapons.

q: Can I fly with this case?

a:

As the last frequently asked question, many users ask the question because their goal may be to fly with the case. With that said, it is best to know what flying restrictions are. However, it is best to pick a gun case with a lockable design if a user plans to fly with it.

q: What is the advantage of a soft shell case?

a:

A soft shell gun case is practical for basic transport and weighs a lot less than a hard shell case. They are often better for the average shooter because they are more flexible and can be easily stored or angled to fit into your car. They are great for both tactical rifles or hunting rifles. If you are heading to a location that is easy to get to by car, then this type of case is a great option. Lastly, they typically cost less than hard shell cases and offer plenty of room for ammo, magazines and other accessories, too.

q: What are the advantages of a hard shell case?

a:

If you are going on a more extensive trip and are flying, then a hard shell case is a must. Softshell cases leave your weapon subject to dings and damage, whereas a hard shell case keeps it enclosed and secure. If you are wielding a tactical or military grade firearm, you need a hard shell case.

Sources

  1. Editorial Team, Survival Cache, Survivalist Blog
  2. Larry Bell, Forbes, Business Site