to top 10 table

The 10 Best Snowboard Pants

last updated: May 30, 2019

If you enjoy whizzing down the mountain on your board, then snowboard pants are essential for keeping you warm and dry during the wintry season.

The right kind of pants can keep your legs safe from the extreme elements and from gnarly scrapes and cuts if you are to wipeout. But you also want them to be comfortable and maybe even waterproofing, breathable, and adjustable at the waist and boots. Some other great features include cargo pockets and advanced materials, while others have unbeatable prices.

One of the big things people tend to care about is the sizing and fit of boarding pants. So make sure you read customer reviews and look at the sizing chart the manufacturer provides to see how they truly fit.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
 Arctix Snow Sports Cargo
90.6/100 our score
Materials
88
Insulation
90
Size
90
Comfort
92
Value
93
Arctix Snow Sports Cargo
Why is it better?
  • Huge cargo pockets
  • Advanced insulation material
  • Wind resistant reinforced seams
  • Adjustable waist and boot gaiters with grippers
  • Reinforced by 600 Denier Ballistic on ankle, hem guards, and scuff
In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Arctix Snow Sports Cargo
Test Winner: Arctix Snow Sports Cargo
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By :

A recent update has been done to highlight the benefits of the best snowboarding pants on the market today. The information has been rewritten and updated to make it more digestible and easier to read and some updates were made to the FAQ as well. So if you have any questions, please stop by our FAQ section at the bottom of the page!

Sorting Options
Materials Insulation Size Comfort Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Materials
88 %
Insulation
90 %
Size
90 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$45.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Materials
89 %
Insulation
93 %
Size
87 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$42.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Materials
91 %
Insulation
90 %
Size
88 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Materials
90 %
Insulation
79 %
Size
89 %
Comfort
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Materials
90 %
Insulation
87 %
Size
90 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
$129.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Materials
91 %
Insulation
90 %
Size
88 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Materials
91 %
Insulation
89 %
Size
90 %
Comfort
91 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Materials
90 %
Insulation
89 %
Size
91 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Materials
91 %
Insulation
90 %
Size
88 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Materials
89 %
Insulation
89 %
Size
86 %
Comfort
90 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.20)
Backcountry Link
$220.00
See Deal
Amazon Link

10 Best Snowboard Pants

1. Arctix Snow Sports Cargo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
 Arctix Snow Sports Cargo
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Insulation
90
Size
90
Comfort
92
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.00
Pros:
  • Huge cargo pockets
  • Advanced insulation material
  • Wind resistant reinforced seams
  • Adjustable waist and boot gaiters with grippers
  • Reinforced by 600 Denier Ballistic on ankle, hem guards, and scuff
Cons:
  • Sizing issues can be found.
  • May be easier to rip due to the lightweight fabric.

These quality pants by Arctix feature quality materials that keep you dry and warm on your cold-weather adventures. A popular low-cost entry with plenty of features gives you the flexibility you need to maneuver. With plenty of storage options and resistance to the elements, these pants have a lot to offer.

Lightweight Thermalock ™ Dobby Fabric
Advanced fabric that keeps up with the demands of the outdoors. They are not stiff like some pants, offering flexibility for crouching while keeping the water out.

85 Grams ThermaTechTM Insulation
The multi-layered fabric includes insulation that also wicks away moisture. It traps heat in microchambers for more effective heat retention.

Cost and Value
With all of the features of these pants, it is hard to believe they have such a low price point for high-quality materials. They are well rounded for anything from hitting the slopes to trekking through beautiful scenery.

2. Arctix Essential

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
 Arctix Essential
Amazon Link
Materials
89
Insulation
93
Size
87
Comfort
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$42.00
Pros:
  • Low price point
  • Wind and water repellent
  • 600 Denier Ballistic reinforced ankle, scuff, and hem
  • Insulated with a relaxed fit for movement
Cons:
  • Tends to run small
  • May rip easily in certain conditions

Arctix follows up with other well-made pants. The Essential snow pants provide a relaxed fit while holding up to the rigors of snowboarding. A Durable Water Repellent keeps out water and reinforced seams block the wind. All these features for a remarkable price make these pants a top choice. All for an incredible price!

DWR Finish (Durable Water Repellent)
High-quality Thermalock fabric with this finish creates a seal that allows moisture to escape but keeps the water out. When falling in the snow or facing a wet, windy day, you will be glad to have this repellent keeping you dry.

Built for warmth!
With ThermaTech insulation, Boot Gaiters with Grippers, and Zippered hand warmer style pockets, these pants were made to keep the warm inside and keep the cold from getting in. Reinforced with 600 Denier Ballistic in key areas to keep them intact and protect your skin.

Cost and Value
It is hard to beat Arctix’s low price for these pants. It allows for anyone to easily get out in the snow feeling comfortable and protected. They maintain quality features of higher priced pants to give everyone a shot on the board.

3. Columbia Bugaboo II

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
 Columbia Bugaboo II
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Insulation
90
Size
88
Comfort
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:
  • OmniTech Polyester Tricot Fabric
  • Articulated knees and reinforced cuff guard
  • Sealed against the wind, water, and cold
  • Adjustable waist and internal leg gaiter
  • Many color options all with deep zippered pockets
Cons:
  • Legs run tall

The Bugaboo pants are a popular choice for snowboarders looking for something that will keep them warm and dry without falling apart soon after riding. They stay warm in very cold weather and keeps water out when you are falling, sitting, or making snow angels. A great price with attractive features place these pants in our top 10.

Omni-Tech Fabric
The popular Omni-Tech polyester tricot fabric keeps water and cold out during any activity. Comfortable yet sturdy, the fabric will stay intact during snowboarding. Boot gaiters keep your pants sealed at the bottom while adjustable waist tabs keep them sealed at the top.

Light Insulation
Cold stays out and warmth stays in with these insulated pants. It is lightweight while being surprisingly warm in the coldest environments. Plenty of breathing room with articulated knees to allow for all those crouching maneuvers.

Cost and Value
Plenty of color options, quality materials, and great features ensures you get plenty of bang for your buck. The low price range gives boarders a reason to give these pants more than just a look.

4. Columbia Slope Ridge 2 Run II

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
 Columbia Slope Ridge 2 Run II
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Insulation
79
Size
89
Comfort
90
Value
90
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:
  • Omni-Heat reflective thermal lining
  • Water and windproof
  • Reinforced seams and cuff guards
  • Leg vents for extra breathability
Cons:
  • No insulation requires base layers at extreme temperatures
  • Exaggerated bell-bottom leg cut

The Ridge 2 Run series sports advanced insulation and fabric. It has a solid defense against wind and water while being extremely lightweight. Plenty of value at a low price make these pants accessible to snowboarders ready to get out there.

Omni-Heat Thermal Shell
The 100% Nylon Legacy Twill lining reflects body heat back in while reflecting cold. This allows the pants to be very lightweight. It is also waterproof but also allows moisture to escape.

Fully Seam-sealed
Wind and water are blocked out by the reinforced seams. It also helps keep your pants intact while performing in the outdoors. The leg vents allow greater moisture escape for when it gets warm or taking a break indoors.

Cost and Value
As with many of our top 10, these pants also come at an attractive price. Columbia produces quality without draining your wallet. Plenty of features make it an easy choice.

5. DC Dcsaa Banshee

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
 DC Dcsaa Banshee
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Insulation
87
Size
90
Comfort
92
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.95
Pros:
  • Waterproof
  • Light insulation for lightweight movement
  • Leg vents and boot gaiters
  • Roomy, allowing for layers
Cons:
  • No zippers on some pockets
  • May have tears around stitching in some situations

DC is known for their quality in boarding and these pants are no different. Featuring a strong waterproof seal, lightweight design, and plenty of storage, these pants ride their way onto our top 10. The Banshee comes in at a great price with everything a snowboarder needs and wants for a smooth, no hassle ride.

10K DC Weather Defense
DC lined these pants with a waterproof sealant that keeps wind and water out of your pants. When you are hitting a slope against the wind or rain, you will be glad they use quality materials!

100% Polyester Dobby Fabric
A light 40-Grams of insulation layered by a polyester fabric keeps you warm with the ability to easily maneuver on your board. Adjustable waist with boot gaiters keeps the warmth from flowing out.

Cost and Value
The Banshee pants hit all the targets on features and comfort while keeping the cost low. The value of these pants is hard to pass up!

6. White Sierra Toboggan

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
 White Sierra Toboggan
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Insulation
90
Size
88
Comfort
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:
  • 120 Grams Whisperfill insulation
  • Waterproof shell with articulated knees
  • Internal adjustable waist
  • Boot gaiters with reinforced scuff guards
  • Expandable legs by hook & loop closures
Cons:
  • Not critically sealed at the seams
  • Sizing issues can be found

Staying warm is the name of the game while snowboarding and adventuring in the snowy outdoors. The Toboggan provides great insulation and comfort for snowboarders facing the cold wind. Made by a family-owned company that’s been in the business for over three decades, White Sierra designs quality products for an amazing price.

120 Grams of Whisperfill Insulation
The leading feature of these pants is its insulation. Offering more grams of insulation than many pants in this category, riders will have no problem staying warm.

100% Nylon WaterProof Shell
Not only are they warm, but these pants also offer a waterproof fabric that keeps you dry without a build-up of moisture. Articulated knees give you a greater range of movement.

Cost and Value
The entry price for these pants are the lowest yet. Offering good quality including excellent insulation, there is no reason not to try them out.

7. Burton Covert

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
 Burton Covert
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Insulation
89
Size
90
Comfort
91
Value
89
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:
  • DRYRIDE 2-Layer Nylon Dobby shell
  • Mesh venting system with taffeta lining
  • Large chairlift-friendly pockets
  • Available with or without insulation
  • Blue sign approved product
Cons:
  • Come without insulation, which would require base layers.

The colorful selection of Burton’s Covert lineup offers a solid entry in our top 10. Snowboarders will agree that Burton paid attention to detail with these pants. Stylish colors and design match the quality materials used, keeping you comfortable in the snow. Optional insulation, big cargo pockets, and Test-I-Cool vent system are just some of the features that raise the bar.

DRYRIDE Waterproofing
A 2-layer nylon dobby fabric keeps water out while riding it up in the snow. Fully taped seams keep the wind out while providing extra durability to the waterproof system.

Mesh-lined venting
The Test-I-Cool venting system keeps your legs very dry, even during high-demand activities such as snowboarding. It allows moisture to escape while keeping the heat in.

Cost and Value
A small step up in price is well worth the investment. Layers of advanced materials, a solid defense against the elements, and a Blue Sign approved product shows the care that goes into these pants.

8. Burton Men's AK 2L Cyclic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
 Burton Men's AK 2L Cyclic
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Insulation
89
Size
91
Comfort
92
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Durable Waterproof Construction

Comfortable, articulated fit

Waterproofed materials

Plenty of pocket space

Cons:

Color may be a little off from expected

Burton strikes again with another Blue sign approved product. This time sporting the famed waterproof membrane and a lifetime warranty delivers performance and peace of mind. Serious snowboarders will value these pants and its many features at a decent price. These pants are made to keep you comfortable during changes of the seasons and the environment.

The Material
The popular fabric is a top choice in waterproofing and durability. The 2-layer system with a taffeta and mesh lining keeps the moisture down while keeping water on the outside.

Articulated Fit
The articulated design offers a wide range of movement whether you are snowboarding, skiing, or hiking through the backcountry. With plenty of storage including cargo pockets and tool sleeve, you will always have your necessities on you.

Cost and Value
The AK Cyclic comes in at a higher price range but is matched by the quality of materials and design. Those that are more than casual will find it easy to invest in this excellent armor.

9. Arc'teryx Sabre

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
 Arc'teryx Sabre
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Insulation
90
Size
88
Comfort
92
Value
87
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:
  • Reduced bulk design with micro-seams
  • DWR (Durable Water Repellent) waterproofing finish
  • Attach a jacket with Slide’N Loc
  • Thigh and side ventilation along with powder cuffs
  • Cons:
    • Pricing
    • Needs more inseam sizes

    The Sabre entry delivers tons of well-crafted features such as powder cuffs, Keprotec insteps, and waterproof material. Arc’teryx went all in on these pants for anyone wanting to spend time in the cold and snow. If snowboarders want to invest in quality gear, the Sabre is a great choice.

    Micro seam seal
    The micro-seam design reduces bulk while providing light insulation, keeping the pants extremely lightweight. It increases durability and protection.

    Materials
    Waterproof and durable, the waterproof material will hold up to an intense snowboarding session. Built to last, it comes with plenty of ventilation, storage, and the ability to attach a jacket via the Slide’n Loc system.

    Cost and Value
    The Sabre including jacket attachment, taped seals, and reduced bulk are some big features that give snowboarders a reason to invest in these pants.

    10. 686 Authentic Smarty Cargo

    The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
    88.6
     686 Authentic Smarty Cargo
    Amazon Link
    Materials
    89
    Insulation
    89
    Size
    86
    Comfort
    90
    Value
    89
    best offer for today
    more shops
    Amazon Link
    Backcountry Link
    $220.00
    See Deal
    Pros:
    • 15,000mm waterproofing / 10,000 breathability
    • Removable 310g 5-pocket fleece liner
    • Gusseted crotch, hem, and Condura reinforced Horseshoe Hem
    • Thermal 7 Rating for 0-32oF temperatures.
    • Air-Flo ventilation system
    Cons:
    • Sizing issues may be found
    • No lifetime warranty

    The versatility of the Smarty Cargo goes beyond mere snow. Not only can you go from snowboarding to adventuring in the backcountry, but you can also adventure in your living room with the removable fleece base layer! With all the upgrades, these pants deliver quality performance, making the higher dollar investment well worth it.

    Infidry 15 outer shell
    The shell provides waterproofing with a 15,000mm rating and a 10,000 breathability score. Aided by the Air-Flo ventilation and Bemis taped systems, your legs will stay warm and dry during freezing temperatures.


    Removable 310g Fleece

    Staying warm with the removable fleece inner liner is easy. So is wearing them without the shell to relax at home or even travel. With 5 pockets to hold your stuff, keeping these on to stay warm is one of the many details that make these pants great.

    Cost and Value
    The Smarty Cargo has a great value in the higher priced category due to its design and the fact that you get two pants in one! With the jacket attach system, 686 did not cut corners on this one.

    Criteria Used for Evaluation

    Materials

    Quality of Materials

    When you are in the market for a pair of snowboard pants, your biggest concern and consideration should always be the quality of materials. But sometimes quality material can really increase the price tag. So if you are interested in high-quality material and ok with spending a little more money, we want to make sure you get the best bang for your buck. So we made high-quality material a focal point of our research.

    We first looked at was the materials used and how the company went about making the product. Now, this information can be typically found in the product description or in the specifications and details of the product. However, as a responsible consumer, it’s a good idea to cross-reference a manufacturer’s claims. To assess the quality of the materials used, we scanned through many different customer reviews so you get the best information without having to do all the research.

    Durability

    Durability

    Have you ever ordered a pair of snowboard pants or any other pants only to have them fall apart after a few uses? Yeah, so worries, us too. It seems it has happened to most people. So no need to stress it. But the next time around, you probably want to make sure your next purchase will hold up.

    With this in mind, we knew we needed to evaluate each product based on its durability. So how do you tell how durable a pair of snowboard pants a,re, you aks? Well you are in luck because we are going to reveal our tips and tricks to determine the quality before you make the purchase.

    When considering quality for our top 10 list, we looked at how the manufacturer talked about the construction and build of their pants. What we learned was that many higher-end brands talked about the durability of their products, based upon the quality of their materials used, while lower-end brands didn’t do this. Also, the best companies usually have some type of warranty. Additionally, to further measure the durability of a product, we verified with previous customer reviews (just to be sure). So this way you can feel totally comfortable with the quality of our top picks.

    Comfort

    Comfort

    Being comfortable on the slopes is important. So when we began to evaluate each product for this list, we carefully looked out for comfortability features like adjustable straps, flexible and soft materials, and padding. We also checked to see if the manufacturer highlighted this important feature. Typically, when a company does not talk about comfortability features – it was not the focus of their design.

    Insulation

    Insulation

    What would be the point of snowboarding pans if they didn’t keep you warm? So we also considered how well pants could keep you warm while doing your fav cold weather activity. In order to keep you warm, a pair of snowboarding pants must offer great insulation with heat retention properties.

    When picking our top 10 for this guide, we looked at the interior lining of the pants because we wanted to know precisely what was protecting consumers and keeping them warm. So we are proud to say that all the products we shared with you are made with quality insulation to keep you toasty while riding now your favorite mountain.

    Effectiveness

    Performance

    Did you know that a pair of snowboard pants can make the difference between a great performance on the slopes and one where an individual falls or tumbles? Yep, it’s true! Many people wouldn’t think that this has a big part in how well you perform. but as it turns out, it can be critical. And this is why we made sure that pants that made our top 10 would help boost performance.

    You might be wondering how something like snowboard pants could affect your performance. Well, each pair of pants that we featured today is made from light and flexible materials, which can help promote greater flexibility and maneuverability on the slopes. The lighter and more flexible your clothes, the better you can race down the mountain. No one wants to feel that their pants are weighing them down or not flexible enough to let them make the turn they want. Additionally, we also made sure that none of the products had unnecessary weight, straps, or belt buckles that could get in the way during snowboarding activities. So if you are as passionate about snowboarding and your performance as we are, you need good pants that will help you perform your best. Don’t you agree?

    Value

    Cost to Value Ratio

    When it comes to getting the best bang for your buck, you should be considering the cost and value ratio. But many people tend to think it’s time-consuming or a pain, so we have decided to do it for you. At the core, this criteria simple means taking the time to compare the cost of a specific product in comparison to the rest of the competition. So we looked at different competitors that are higher and lower priced and then looked at what each product had to offer for the cost.

    When looking at the features compared to price, you will understand what products are fairly priced and which are not. Now, this is the same exact exercise we did for this article. In other words, every single product that you read about today offers both a great value and a great price point.

    Expert Interviews & Opinions

    Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
    Sort criterias acording to:
    Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
    Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
    #1
    ico Materials
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #2
    ico Durability
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #3
    ico Comfort
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #4
    ico Insulation
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #5
    ico Effectiveness
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #6
    ico Value
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    expert tips icon
    Pick the Right Pair for You

    So you want to make the plunge and invest in some new snowboarding pants? Well, you will want to make sure you get the right pants with the right fit and right features for you.

    When snowboarding, you need good moisture ventilation and waterproofing properties. Finding the perfect fit along with the features you want in your budget may be a bit of a challenge. You may also want to consider storage. While most will come with cargo pockets and extra storage space, others do not. And some pockets are zippered and others are hook and loop closures. So you will want to make sure you have the right kind of storage for your needs.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    q: re snowboard pants waterproof or water-resistant?

    a:

    All snowboard pants are different. Some are waterproof and some are water-resistant. Waterproof pants are high-quality and durable that does incredibly well in wet conditions.

    Water-resistant pants operate a little differently. While this type of material is still high-quality and durable, it is less effective at preventing water from seeping through. In fact, water-resistant pants are only good at preventing a small amount of water from getting through the pant liner.

    So make sure you check the product’s features to see if your pants are waterproof or water-resistant and pick the ones that best fit your needs and price range.

    q: Can snowboard pants be used for other activities?

    a:

    This is a question that many people tend to ask when it comes to purchasing any type of pants. But due to the gusseted crotch – these pants typically are not the best for a lot of activities that require a free range of movement. For example, if you are planning on running or climbing, these pants would not be comfortable or maybe not even allow you to do the activity. Maybe in some cases, you could use them, but for the most part, they are the best to use when boarding down a mountain.

    q: How breathable are snowboard pants?

    a:

    Whenever a consumer is interested in buying a pair of pants, they should always look at the breathability aspect – so this is a great question. Now, typically, snowboarding pants do not come built with ventilated materials or breathability infused into the seams. This is simply because of the nature of these pants. The goal with snowboarding pants is to minimize the release of heat – keeping you warm while shredding the slopes. Through using breathable materials, it can risk coldness penetrating the pant liner, hindering your performance. If you are looking for pants with breathability – you may need to read the manufacturer’s product description thoroughly and look at what previous customers have said.

    q: How do you clean snowboard pants?

    a:

    This is a great question! Since all pants are made of different materials, they might have different cleaning instructions. The best thing you can do is carefully read and follow the manufacturer’s cleaning instructions to make sure to keep your pants clean and in good condition.