to top 10 table

Best Slacklines Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated May 19, 2019

Did you know that slacklining started in the late ’70s because of a rock climber’s interest in a particular circus photo he discovered from the 1800’s? Of course, rope walking is a practice that’s been around for thousands of years, but it was Adam Grosowsky’s curiosity that propelled slacklining into the sport it is today.

While slacklining is an activity you can enjoy in your backyard or on the beach, there are also leagues and tournaments with registered tricks--there’s even yoga slacklining! But whatever your skill level, one thing is for sure: slacklining is a great way to train your mind and body. When you practice, you will develop killer hand-eye coordination and your balance and core strength will improve dramatically. Plus, you’ll have tons of fun doing it.

The kits on this list are great for the whole family and include all you need to enjoy slack-time, anytime.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
flybold Kit
99.8/100 our score
Accessories
100
Size
99
Durability
100
Ease of Use
100
Value
100
flybold Kit
Why is it better?

2-inch wide/49.2 foot long main line

Training line and hand strap

Ratchet and tree protectors

Heavy Duty

Great for novices and experienced users

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
flybold Kit
Test Winner: flybold Kit
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
3000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Accessories Size Durability Ease of Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
Accessories
100 %
Size
99 %
Durability
100 %
Ease of Use
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Accessories
98 %
Size
98 %
Durability
99 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Accessories
99 %
Size
97 %
Durability
97 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$33.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Accessories
95 %
Size
96 %
Durability
95 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$64.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Accessories
94 %
Size
100 %
Durability
93 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Accessories
99 %
Size
93 %
Durability
92 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$52.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Accessories
89 %
Size
89 %
Durability
90 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$31.97
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Accessories
87 %
Size
88 %
Durability
86 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$42.97
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Accessories
85 %
Size
85 %
Durability
86 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$34.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Accessories
99 %
Size
80 %
Durability
81 %
Ease of Use
80 %
Value
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$32.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • flybold Kit flybold Kit
  • Trailblaze Kit Trailblaze Kit
  • Macaco Complete Set Macaco Complete Set
  • slackers Classic Set slackers Classic Set
  • Slackline Industries Slackline Industries
  • ZenMonkey Kit ZenMonkey Kit
  • Goodtimes Goodtimes
  • Exposed Gear Exposed Gear
  • Get Out! Get Out!
  • Barefoot Barefoot
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Slacklines

1. flybold Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
flybold Kit
Amazon Link
Accessories
100
Size
99
Durability
100
Ease of Use
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

2-inch wide/49.2 foot long main line

Training line and hand strap

Ratchet and tree protectors

Heavy Duty

Great for novices and experienced users

Cons:

Hard to fit all in bag

To kick off this Ten Best List, we bring you the most inclusive slackline kit out on the market today. It literally has everything you need to get you started and to help you develop your skills safely. So whether you’re a total novice or you have some experience under your belt, this is definitely the kit for you.

Read more

Kit Includes Everything
This kit literally includes everything that you need to begin or enrich your slacklining practice. First, you get your webbing strap main line with a covered loop which measures 2 inches wide by 49.2 feet long. Then you get a bonus webbing strap line for training that measures 1 inch wide by 49.2 feet long. This line is designed to be secured 5-6 above your main line (depending on your height) so that you have something to hold onto while you are gaining strength and developing your balance.

You also get a hand strap that has loops on either end that you hang over the training line to give you even more mobility and security as you practice. Of course, you receive a ratchet for the main line and for the training line, and both come with 8-foot long flex-bands that come with covered loops. With this kit, you also get 2 tree protectors so the lines won’t damage the trees you use to secure your lines as well as a ratchet cover for your main line to prevent pinched fingers and the like.

To tie it all together, the kit comes with a handy drawstring bag to pack up your lines and take them on the go.

Step-By-Step Instructions
Never worked with a line before? No worries. This kit comes with a complete step-by-step guide for getting your lines up and ready for use. It also features lots of handy tips for beginners as well as different ideas for your practice.

And while this is a great kit for novices, it can stand up to heavy jumps and tricks from more seasoned slackers as well.

Cost and Value
Flybold’s Kit rings up towards the top of our price range but we love its value because they thought of everything that you need to begin or develop your practice. It’s the best because it has everything and is great for everyone.

2. Trailblaze Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Trailblaze Kit
Amazon Link
Accessories
98
Size
98
Durability
99
Ease of Use
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

2-inch/49-foot main line

Training line and hand strap

Tree and ratchet protectors

Easy assembly

Holds up to 300 pounds

Cons:

Needs to be tightened frequently

Trailblaze brings you another complete set with everything you need to get your lines up and running and your family off the couch and having a blast. It doesn’t matter if you’re brand new at the sport or if you are a seasoned veteran, this kit delivers all you need to enjoy slacking off outside.

Read more

Extra-Long Ratchet Flex-Bands
This kit comes with a main line that measures 49 feet long and 2 inches wide. It also comes with a training line designed to be strung above the head within arms reach to help with stability. This line is 1-inch wide and 49 feet long. Each line comes with its own ratchet as well as 8 feet of extra-long flex-band so that your lines can ratchet around the thickest of trees.

For extra support, you will receive a hand strap with hand loops that you can throw over the training line above. Also inside this kit, you receive 2 tree protectors to keep trees safe and tree sap off of your lines, as well as a ratchet cover so you don’t catch your toes in the joints. And when you’re ready to take your slacking on the go, your whole kit will fit snugly inside the bonus carry bag.

Holds Up to 300 Pounds
This kit comes with simple assemble and take down instructions (just 1 page each) and you can expect to spend about 10 minutes getting your lines up and about 5 minutes taking them down. Once you figure out the ratchet mechanism, assembly is a breeze.

This main line is designed to hold up to 300 pounds so it is super durable and can handle a bunch of jumping and bounce moves.

Cost and Value
The Trailblaze kit rings up towards the top of our price range and we love its value because it comes with everything you need and because it can handle some serious weight.

3. Macaco Complete Set

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Macaco Complete Set
Amazon Link
Accessories
99
Size
97
Durability
97
Ease of Use
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.99
Pros:

Long 52.5-foot line

Can hold over 6,500 pounds

Great instructions and how-to guide

Ergonomic ratchet and tree protectors

Cons:

Hard to take down

The Macaco Complete Set is incredibly strong and durable and is an amazing kit those who are more experienced in slacklining (as it doesn’t include a training strap in the set). The line has been tested to perform at the highest levels, all the while being super lightweight, so it’s a great option for taking camping, to the beach, or anywhere on the go.

Read more

Ergonomic Ratchet
This kit comes with an extra long main line that measures 52.5 feet long and 2 inches wide. The super-sturdy ergonomic ratchet that comes with it allows you to get the tension that you’re looking for without breaking your wrist from cranking. Plus, the set comes with 2 large tree protectors to keep trees safe from the line shredding its bark and to keep your line safe from getting sticky tree sap all over it.

The whole set comes with a cotton bag with draw-string so that you can take your line with you anywhere you go.

Safety Tested 3 Metric Tonnes
This line has been tested for safety and durability and it ranks incredibly in both categories. In fact, the line can hold up to 3 metric tonnes which is equal to more than 6,500 pounds. But just because it’s heavy-duty doesn’t mean it’s heavy. Actually, this kit is lighter than most others on the market so it’s a great travel companion.

Plus, it comes with a super intuitive picture and word-based instructions that make setting up an absolute sinch. And we love that you get a how-to manual for common moves and tricks on the line. Not only will this guide and strengthen your practice, but it will give creative moves to aspire to.

Cost and Value
The Macaco Set rings up at the very low end of our price range and we love its value because it is super strong and super safe.

4. slackers Classic Set

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
slackers Classic Set
Amazon Link
Accessories
95
Size
96
Durability
95
Ease of Use
95
Value
96
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$64.99
Pros:

2 inch by 50-foot main line

Training line for overhead

2 ratchets with flex-bands

Easy carry bag

Cons:

Some found ratchets hard to release

The Slackers’ Classic Set is a great set for beginners and comes with some handy tools to get you started as you gain confidence and balance with your line. With this set, your whole family can join in on the fun and it’s even great for taking on camping and beach trips.

Read more

Comes with Training line
This set comes with a main line that measures 2 inches wide and 50 feet long. You also get a training line that measures 1 inch wide by 50 feet long. The training line is secured above you within reaching the distance of the mainline so that you can grab ahold of it to help with your balance as you attempt more complicated moves.

For both of these lines, you receive ratchets with extra flex-bands to help with sizing and fit during the set-up process. The whole set is completed with a handy draw-string bag that comfortably holds all parts of your kit.

Sets Up in 10 Minutes
This kit is designed to go up easily so if you’ve never assembled one before, don’t stress. With complete instructions and all the tools you need in the kit, you should be able to set up your lines in about 10 minutes. While you may find it tricky at first, after you get familiar with the ratchet, installing your lines becomes a lot easier

. The main line is designed to be super durable and can hold weights up to 300 pounds without snapping or fraying.

Cost and Value
The Slackers’ Classic Set rings up at the very top of our price range but we love its value because it is a great beginner set that is super durable and easy to install.

5. Slackline Industries

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Slackline Industries
Amazon Link
Accessories
94
Size
100
Durability
93
Ease of Use
93
Value
92
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

2 different lengths: 50 & 85 Feet

Can hold 300 pounds

Comes with 2 tree protectors

Detailed user’s manual

Cons:

No flex-bands for ratchet

This Baseline is great for those learning to slackline or those who are advanced enough to practice yoga on their line. With its proprietary weave and rebound capacity, it’s a great line for learning tricks as well. Plus, it comes in two different lengths which is a major bonus in our book.

Read more

Choose Between 50 Feet and 85 Feet
When purchasing this kit, you can choose between two different lengths: 50 feet and 85 feet. If you are beginning your journey or if you are buying this kit for younger kids, start with the 50 footer. If you are an experienced user then go with the 85 footer. Both are 2 inches wide and made with SI’s proprietary weave for excellent support and rebounding.

This kit also comes with a ratchet and 2 tree protectors so you won’t shred the tree you’re using as an anchor and you won’t get sticky sap that’s hard to remove on your line. The handy travel bag makes this kit easy to take on the go.

Detailed Manual
SI boasts that you will have this kit out of the box and in use in less than 10 minutes. It comes with a complete user’s manual in 3 languages (English, Spanish, and French) that will walk you through every step of the assembly process and give you some ideas about how to get started. This line is designed to hold up to 300 pounds.

Cost and Value
This product rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it comes in 2 different length options and because it can hold serious weight.

6. ZenMonkey Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
ZenMonkey Kit
Amazon Link
Accessories
99
Size
93
Durability
92
Ease of Use
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$52.95
Pros:

60-foot long line

Training line and hand strap

Fasteners and easy-loop guides

5-foot long tree protectors

Great customer service

Cons:

Ratchet may bend over time

The ZenMonkey Kit is another all-in-one slackline stop. It doesn’t matter if you’re looking to get a great gift for your 8-year-old or if you’ve been slacklining for years--this kit has literally everything you need to flex those core balancing skills and to deepen your practice.

Read more

60-Foot Line
This kit comes with a 60 foot long, 2-inch wide line that is a great intermediate length for those who are just starting or for those who are experienced. If you purchase the complete kit, you will also receive a training line and a hand strap with two hand loops (one on either end) that is meant to be strung above you so that you can grab onto it for balance. Again, this training line is great for novices and for holding onto when you’re trying out harder moves.

Of course, you get a ratchet for each line included in this kit as well as two extra-large tree protectors (5 feet long each). And the ratchet for the main line comes with an extra long 8-foot flex-band so it can fit around almost any tree. And to top it off, you’ll get a nice cotton bag to throw all of your gear into and hit the road.

Assemble in Minutes
This set comes with a detailed instruction manual that makes setting this puppy up a sinch. The fasteners and guide-loops make this line super easy to assemble and helps to eliminate confusion when ratcheting the line onto the tree.

Additionally, the ratchet has an easy-release function that makes taking down your line super simple as well.

Cost and Value
The ZenMonkey kit rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it’s user-friendly and backed by great customer service.

7. Goodtimes

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Goodtimes
Amazon Link
Accessories
89
Size
89
Durability
90
Ease of Use
90
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.97
Pros:

48-foot line for learning on

Super soft weave with tons of rebound

1-page set-up

Designed for kids and beginners

Cons:

Doesn’t come with a training line

The Beginner Kit by Goodtimes is designed especially for younger kids who are just getting started. With super-soft webbing and tons of rebound, this line is great for learning on.

Read more

Super Soft Webbing Made from Nylon
This kit from Goodtimes comes with a 48-foot long line that is 2 inches wide. It is made of super-soft webbing from nylon and makes using it incredibly comfortable and natural feeling. With tons of rebound in the webbing, you can practically bounce on this thing like a trampoline.

This kit comes with a simple safety ratchet and a storage box to safely keep your line when it’s not in use. It’s worth noting that though this kit is for beginners, it doesn’t come with a training line or hand line to assist in balancing so you may consider purchasing an additional line if this is something you’re interested in having.

1-Page Set-Up
This kit is simple and straightforward, and as a result, it’s super durable. Because it has tons of rebound, kids and adults alike can jump on it for days without any wear and tear. With a 1-page set-up guide, your kids will be enjoying their line in no time and you won’t pull your hair out trying to figure out how to get the thing up and working.

Cost and Value
This Beginner Kit by Goodtimes rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it was designed especially with kids and beginners in mind and is a great learning device.

8. Exposed Gear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Exposed Gear
Amazon Link
Accessories
87
Size
88
Durability
86
Ease of Use
88
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$42.97
Pros:

60-foot line

Training line and hand trainer

Heavy-duty ratchet and ratchet cover

Tree protectors

Rubberized gripping material

Cons:

A few tries to get tension right

The Exposed Gear Kit is great for younger kids who are looking to get into the slackline game. If you’re having trouble getting your child off the couch and are looking for a super fun way to get them outdoors and engaged--this kit is just the one you’re looking for.

Read more

High-Quality Ratchet
This kit is another complete package. You get a 60-foot line that is 2 inches wide. You also get a 50-foot long training line with a hand trainer as well. You can use these to stabilize yourself when you are getting the hang of balancing on your line. You will also get 2 large tree protectors to ensure that the tree and your line remain free from damage due to friction.

The kit also comes with a high-quality ratchet and a ratchet cover that will keep kids from getting injured and keep you from pinching your fingers during put-up and take-down. And of course, this kit wouldn’t be complete without an easy-to-store, easy-to-carry bag to pack all of your gear in.

Graphic Pattern is Rubberized
One incredible feature about this set is the graphic pattern. It’s not just for looks! The pattern is actually rubberized to help your feet get a good grip and to prevent your feet from slipping. This is great for beginners who are learning to balance and wonderful for experienced users who are attempting more challenging moves.

And to boot, the whole set comes with an instruction guide that’s easy to follow so you can set up your line in no time

Cost and Value
The Exposed Gear Kit rings up at the top of our price range and we like its value because it comes with everything you could need for slacklining in one simple kit.

9. Get Out!

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Get Out!
Amazon Link
Accessories
85
Size
85
Durability
86
Ease of Use
85
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.99
Pros:

50-foot line

50-foot training line

2 tree covers with guiding loops

Great instructions for proper placement

Holds 330 pounds

Cons:

Need to be careful releasing ratchet

The Get Out! Beginner Kit is great for those who are looking to get their slacklining practice off the ground (literally). But though this kit is intended for beginners, it can still hold its share of weight and will stand up to heavy use from the neighborhood kids or from your daily practice.

Read more

Training Line and Ratchet are Great for Practice
This kit comes with a 50-foot long main line that is 2 inches wide. You’ll also get a super handy 50-foot long training line to secure above you so that you have something to touch and steady yourself as you a getting used to walking on and using your line. Both lines come with their own ratchet. The larger of the ratchets is for the main line which requires a heavier-duty piece of machinery.

The kit comes with 2 tree protectors to ensure you don’t shred your base trees, and they feature easy loops to guide your line through so your line won’t slip off. Plus, easily store all of your equipment in the drawstring bag that comes with this set.

Proper Tree Installation Instructions
This kit comes with excellent installation instructions so you can be sure you are putting your line in the correct place. The instruction manual will tell you how far apart your base trees should be and how big around they should be. They will also help with tension suggestions for the straps.

All-in-all, you should have no problem setting up this kit and enjoying it in no time. It is designed to hold weights up to 330 pounds so even a couple of your kiddos can play at once.

Cost and Value
The Get Out! Beginner Kit rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is easy to set up in the right place and because it can hold more than one person at a time.

10. Barefoot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Barefoot
Amazon Link
Accessories
99
Size
80
Durability
81
Ease of Use
80
Value
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.95
Pros:

49-foot long line

49-foot long training line

Tree protectors

How-To book

Rubberized to keep you on the line

Cons:

Ratchet can be finicky

This kit from Barefoot closes out our list but it still has a lot to offer. With dazzling colors to choose from and extra gripping to keep you on your line, this is a great option for beginners and experienced slackers alike.

Read more

Fun Colors to Choose From
With this kit, you will get a 49-foot long line that is 2 inches wide. It also comes with a 49-foot long training line that is an inch wide. Each of these lines comes with their own ratchet (the smaller is for the training line as it doesn’t hold as much weight) and each ratchet is color coordinated to match the color set of your choosing. When operating your ratchet, remember it’s safe to touch the colored portions but you should stay away from touching the metal parts as you might pinch your fingers.

You will also get 2 tree protectors to ensure you don’t damage any base trees you use as well as ratchet loops to help you secure your line around larger trees. This set comes in 3 cool colors: Fluro Green, Fluro Pink, and Fluro Yellow.

How-To Booklet to Get You Started
We love that this kit includes a fully detailed “How-To” booklet that tells you all you need to know about how to start your slacklining adventures. From simple walking techniques to more complicated moves, this book has you covered.

Plus, the lines in this kit also feature rubber grippings that help you to maintain contact with your line and that help when trying to perform more challenging tricks.

Cost and Value
The Barefoot kit rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it’s fun to look at and play on and it comes with sticky rubber and how-to guide.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Accessories

When compiling this Ten Best List, we heavily considered the accessories that come in each kit. While all of our kits feature slacklines, we looked for kits that include all you need to get started and that work well for novices and experienced users alike.

Some of the accessories we love most are the training lines and hand trainers. These lines are designed to be ratcheted at about head level so that you have something to grab ahold of when you’re learning how to walk on your line or when you are attempting a new challenging trick that you are unsteady with. The added hand trainer is a great addition as it gives you stability away from the training line, not just when you’re right underneath it.

We also love kits that include tree protectors as you can easily strip bark from a tree and transfer tree sap that is nearly impossible to get out to your line. It’s a win-win tool for both parties. And speaking of protectors, we love kits that include ratchet protecting covers.

Not only do these ensure that your ratchet stays closed and that your toes don’t find their way into the pinching parts of the ratchet, but it also keeps bits of sand, dirt, and grass out of your ratchet. This helps you ratchet to continue to functioning properly.
And, of course, we love a great tote bag because we know how easily gear can get lost if there’s not a good spot to store in all in one place.

Size

We took a good look at size when compiling this list as well. Most of the lines on our list 50 (or 49) feet long. We do, however, feature a few lines that are 60 feet long and even a few that are 85 feet long. The shorter lines are great for those who are learning how to slackline, while the longer lines lend themselves to come involved and complicated tricks that experienced users might want to try. That being said, any length line can be enjoyed by any experience level. All of the lines on our list are 2 inches wide.

Durability

Because this is an outdoor sporting good that is bound to experience some heavy wear and tear, we wanted to make sure that we provided products that could stand up to the beating. Most of the products on our list can withstand weights of up to 300 pounds and some can even hold more weight than that.

But the line isn’t the only piece you have to worry about. The ratchets in these kits are what’s doing the heavy lifting. These need to be able to sustain tons of tension and pull so we made sure to find kits that have durable ratchets as well.

Ease of Use

In terms of ease of use, we looked for kits that had easy-to-follow instructions (especially those with picture instructions) as well as those that were easy to take down. For most of the kits on our list, the first time assembling may seem a little tricky, but it becomes intuitive after that.

We also love featuring kits that come with How-To guides so that you have a go-to for beginning your slacklining experience. These help to get you started and also show you how to attempt some more challenging moves once you’re ready to move up through the ranks.

And finally, we love lines that come with rubberized designs on them. These help your feet to grip the line and keep you from sliding off (especially when those tootsies start to get a little sweaty--because this is a major workout after all).

Value

We always consider value and work to bring you the best products for your buck. These kits come loaded with accessories that make setting up your slacklining unit a breeze. We provide a nice array of price points as well as an array of packages so you can find a kit that has what you need--nothing more and nothing less.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Accessories
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Watch a YouTube Tutorial Before Using Your Ratchet

If you have never used a ratchet before, please PLEASE watch a YouTube tutorial before attempting to use your ratchet. While instructions are provided with all kits, actually watching a live video of feeding and tightening your ratchet will save you a lot of frustration and time. And we swear, after you do it once, it will be a breeze. But to get the hang of it you really will do well to watch a live-action take to make sense of it all.

Use a Tree at least 1 Foot in Diameter

We’ve seen lots of questions about where to install your line. While some may be inclined to secure your line to laundry posts or beams, we advise against this. Unless you know that pole in question is buried deep and secured by concrete, do not trust that it will be a suitable anchor for your line. Instead, use 2 trees that are at least 1 foot in diameter. This ensures that the tree is mature enough and that its root structure runs deep enough to support your line.

Other Factors to Consider

Materials

We considered materials when making this list. Products that have specialized weaves with extra rebound scored highly on our list as did products with heavier-duty ratchets that won’t break down under sustained use.

Portability

We love products that fit nicely in their carry bags. We also love when these bags don’t break! And above all, when considering portability, we looked for kits that could hold serious weight while not also being seriously heavy. A few of the kits on our`list hit this mark super well.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do these lines differ from ratchet straps?

a:

We asked the very same question! Simply put, they are designed in quite the same way. If you’re not sure about slacklining and you have a ratchet strap lying around, there’s absolutely no harm in trying it out. That being said, ratchet straps have nowhere near the same elasticity and weave that specially designed slacklines do. This matters when trying to perform more complex moves and when trying to bounce on your line. Remember, ratchet straps are meant to hold things in place so they do not give. In order to get the full slacklining experience, you are going to want some trampoline like action.

q: Can I leave my line up?

a:

There’s no harm in leaving your line up in your backyard between uses. Just keep in mind that the ratchet is made of metal and so it is susceptible to rust from exposure to the elements.

q: How far should my line be off the ground?

a:

Most manuals suggest that your line should be erected about 1 foot off the ground. You do, of course, have the liberty to play around with this a bit as you see fit.

Sources

  1. Wikipedia Contributing Writers, Slacklining, Encyclopedia Article
  2. Justin Miller, The Beginners Guide To Slacklining, Article
  3. Lola Jones, What exactly IS Slacklining?, Article