to top 10 table

Best Beach Umbrellas Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Aug 07, 2019

Most everyone can agree that the beach is a popular vacation spot. Even better, if you live there, then it's a great hangout all of the time. When you travel to the beach you expect to swim in the water and you expect to soak up some sun. But when the sun gets to be too much and you need to protect yourself from the sun because you're still planning on hanging around for a while? That's when you could use a beach umbrella. Fortunately enough, we've put together a list of ten great choices to check out in this list.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
 Sport-Brella X-Large
96.8/100 our score
Weather Resistance
97
UV Protection
97
Portability
96
Durability
98
Value
96
Sport-Brella X-Large
Why is it better?

Internal pockets

Extra large size

Complete weather protection

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Sport-Brella X-Large
Test Winner: Sport-Brella X-Large
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
10k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Weather Resistance UV Protection Portability Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Weather Resistance
97 %
UV Protection
97 %
Portability
96 %
Durability
98 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Weather Resistance
98 %
UV Protection
98 %
Portability
97 %
Durability
97 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Weather Resistance
97 %
UV Protection
97 %
Portability
96 %
Durability
97 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$55.98
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Weather Resistance
97 %
UV Protection
97 %
Portability
95 %
Durability
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$43.35
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Weather Resistance
97 %
UV Protection
97 %
Portability
96 %
Durability
96 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$54.84
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Weather Resistance
97 %
UV Protection
97 %
Portability
96 %
Durability
96 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Weather Resistance
96 %
UV Protection
96 %
Portability
96 %
Durability
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Weather Resistance
96 %
UV Protection
97 %
Portability
97 %
Durability
96 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$139.85
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Weather Resistance
96 %
UV Protection
97 %
Portability
97 %
Durability
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$49.70
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Weather Resistance
95 %
UV Protection
95 %
Portability
96 %
Durability
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99

10 Best Beach Umbrellas

1. Sport-Brella X-Large

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
 Sport-Brella X-Large
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
97
UV Protection
97
Portability
96
Durability
98
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Internal pockets

Extra large size

Complete weather protection

Cons:

Zippers on the side windows could be better

Here we have the Sport-Brella X-Large Umbrella. Once again, we have an umbrella that’s perfect for a shady nap on the seaside or a rainy game day. But is that all that this umbrella has to its name or does it have more to offer? Let’s take a closer look and find out.

Read more

Internal pockets

Got some essentials that you don’t need right that second but you want to keep on you just in case? Well, don’t leave them on the sand where they can roll away or get buried, instead use one of this umbrella’s many internal side pockets to keep it secure. Now if you need that essential thing, you need to look to your left or right and pluck it out.

Extra large

Having an umbrella that gives you so much shade is all well and good, of course, but what if someone else wants to come under there with you? Whether it’s your kid who’s tired themselves out from swimming, or your significant other looking for some shady beachside snuggles, a little extra room never went amiss. Luckily, this tent is plus-sized by default, meaning that you have more than enough room for whoever wants to come under there with you.

Cost and Value

You’ll find this umbrella for a rather average price for a beach umbrella. Not quite as cheap as the previous entry, but not unreasonably expensive either.

2. Pacific Breeze

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
 Pacific Breeze
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
98
UV Protection
98
Portability
97
Durability
97
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

Fast and easy setup

Element protection

Lightweight and compact

Cons:

Pricey

Next, we have the Pacific Breeze Easy Setup Tent. Now, you may be thinking that we’ve barely even started this list, and already we’re going against the title. Well, rest assured, this tent has every right to be here, as we will now demonstrate.

Read more

Fast and easy setup

A tent isn’t meant to be slept in overnight or survive harsh winds like standard tents used for camping are, and this means that setting it up can be a lot easier and faster. And sure enough, this is one of the fastest to set up tents you can find. Its specially designed hub system makes it incredibly user-friendly and a breeze to pitch.

Element protection

Just because it won’t protect you from a raging thunderstorm, doesn’t mean it can’t take the odd rainstorm here and there. And not only that but the entire tent, even the windows which would otherwise act as a weak spot, are all outfitted with UPF 50+ UV protection that will keep you safe from even the most severe hotness.

Cost and Value

Of course, no tent is cheap, at least not the ones worth buying. And sure enough, while not quite as cheap as other tents out there, this one will still cost you quite the pretty penny.

3. Sport-Brella

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
 Sport-Brella
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
97
UV Protection
97
Portability
96
Durability
97
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$55.98
Pros:

Total coverage

Water repellent

Affordable

Cons:

Very narrow shaft

Rounding out our top 3 segments, we have the Sport-Brella Portable All-Weather Umbrella. While not a tent, this umbrella is designed in such a way that it may as well be. More than most of the other entries on this list, this umbrella provides total and complete coverage.

Read more

Total coverage

This umbrella’s canopy comes equipped with side curtains that keep hot winds and heat off of you while you relax. This umbrella provides you with complete coverage while you lounge by the seaside, with nary a single stray light beam to infiltrate your cozy shade. Perfect for the lazybones who go to the shore to relax but hates when it's too hot.

Water repellent

But it wouldn’t be a perfect umbrella if it couldn’t hold fast against the rain, could it? If you’re using this umbrella for a rainy game day instead of a warm afternoon, you’ll find that this umbrella works just fine. In either environment, this umbrella has a pristine water-repellent coating.

Cost and Value

In stark contrast to the previous entry, this umbrella is incredibly affordable, for what it’s offering you. So, if you need a comfy umbrella to sit under for that big game day, this is the umbrella for you.

4. Coleman Daytripper

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
 Coleman Daytripper
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
97
UV Protection
97
Portability
95
Durability
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$43.35
Pros:

2 zip closed doors

4 interior pockets

UV guard protection SPF 50+

Cons:

Slow assembly

Once more, we have more of a tent than an umbrella, but despite that, this is a great tool to use for those particularly hot days, or when you need somewhere comfy to sit during those late-night summer parties. So, let’s see what makes this tent so qualified for those activities.

Read more

Closable door

One thing that this tent has over the last one on this list is that you can close it like a real tent. So, if you decide that you’d rather not get changed in your ultra cramped car, you can just pitch up this tent and change in there. And you don’t need to worry about being seen as this tent has two doors instead of one, both of which zip up completely.

4 interior pockets

Of course, with so much space, there should also be room to put your stuff when you don’t need it right that second, but know you’ll need it later. For this purpose, this tent comes with a set of 4 interior pockets big enough to fit pretty much anything you need. So, if someone is on his or her way and you want to keep the protective cream on hand for when he or she get changed in the tent, just fit it away in one of the pockets for them.

Cost and Value

This tent is a bit over the average price for what we’ve seen so far on this list. But with that said, it’s not that expensive, so if your budget is a bit more relaxed than usual, this should be exactly what you’re looking for.

5. California 9’

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
 California 9’
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
97
UV Protection
97
Portability
96
Durability
96
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.84
Pros:

Infinity tilt

Heavy-duty ribs

Canopy made from olefin fabric

Cons:

Very pricey

In our next entry, we have the California 9’ Market model. This is another parasol to put up which is meant to be stood under instead of lounged beneath. If you don’t want to use this for the seaside, you could always use it for your patio. So, what makes this parasol worth your while? Well, let’s take a look and find out.

Read more

Infinity tilt

With other tilting systems, there’s usually a set amount of directions in which the parasol can tilt. Often the four cardinal directions, maybe diagonal if you’re lucky. Meanwhile, this umbrella can tilt any direction you please. Thanks to its advanced collar tilt system, this umbrella can pivot in any direction you send it in with little effort.

Heavy duty ribs

The ribs of this umbrella are made from heavy-duty, reinforced fiberglass that will stand up to pretty much anything the wind can throw at it. Fiberglass is pretty much the most durable material you can make an umbrella rib out of, and these are made out of some of the best fiberglass around.

Cost and Value

The big problem with this umbrella is its price. This is easily the most expensive entry on this entire list. While you’re getting a perfect umbrella out of it, you’re still going to be paying quite a lot for it.

6. EasyGo Rainbow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
 EasyGo Rainbow
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
97
UV Protection
97
Portability
96
Durability
96
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Strong and durable

Efficient pole design

Affordable

Cons:

Colors are not as vibrant as advertised

Here we have the EasyGO Rainbow parasol. This is what most people think of when they hear the term parasol. It’s big, rainbow-colored, and meant to be put down at an angle for better shading. So what else does this parasol do besides that? Well, to begin with.

Read more

Strong and durable

Like other entries, this extra sizeable 7-ft model has ribs made of reinforced fiberglass. The fiberglass ribs make it just flexible enough to work as a parasol while being stiff enough to resist strong winds. And to ensure that it isn’t going anywhere, the canopy is vented, and the edges are frayed for less air buildup.

Efficient pole design

We haven’t talked much about the poles of these parasols. They’re kind of important as a part of the umbrella, being the part that keeps the thing upright in the first place. The pole of this parasol is a lightweight, rust-free anodized aluminum with height adjustment capabilities and a tilt mechanism activated by the push of a button. In other words, this is an excellent pole.

Cost and Value

You would expect a parasol this big with as many features to be much pricier than this, but in fact, this is a very affordable parasol for what it’s giving you. So, if you want a big rainbow parasol for your seaside trip, give this one a shot.

7. Rio Brands

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
 Rio Brands
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
96
UV Protection
96
Portability
96
Durability
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Vented canopy

Tough spun polyester build

Tilting umbrella

Cons:

Pole could be more durable

This is what we refer to as excellence on a budget. It’s just good enough to be a step above the average umbrella, but cheap enough to fit into the summer budget of most vacationers. So, what does it do for the buyer? Well, let’s see.

Read more

Vented canopy

The top of this umbrella’s canopy is outfitted with a vented top. It’s one of many countermeasures that an umbrella can employ to prevent the wind from blowing it away. Combine that with the intentionally frayed edges to avoid air buildup, and this umbrella isn’t going anywhere when the wind starts blowing.

Tough fabric

Like many models out there, if the canopy gets torn, then it’s time to look for a new one because unless you can patch it, it’s done. Fortunately, that isn’t much of a problem with this umbrella, which is made out of spun polyester that is incredibly hard to tear. Perfect for the family on a budget who can’t afford another umbrella after buying one.

Cost and Value

While not the cheapest entry in the world, we still maintain that this is one of the best parasols you can buy on a semi-tight budget. So, if money is a bit tight, but you want to head to the seaside, you shouldn’t have to worry about fitting this umbrella into your budget.

8. BeachBub

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
 BeachBub
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
96
UV Protection
97
Portability
97
Durability
96
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.85
Pros:

Everything you need to set up

Strong canopy structure

Won’t blow away in the wind

Cons:

Pricey

These umbrellas are great when they set up correctly, but then that’s the keyword there. Setting up an umbrella can be a frustrating experience because of how much of a process it is, and the high winds and sweltering heat are only going to make it harder.

Read more

Everything you need to set up

This umbrella system comes with a small shovel to get out the sand, a pocket to put the sand in, a gopher that you use to mount the umbrella on when you put it in the ground, and of course, the umbrella itself. And the best part? You don't have to worry about the umbrella flying off from a gust of wind.

Strong canopy structure

But just because it isn’t going to fly away doesn’t mean it isn’t a well-made umbrella, because it very much is. With its 11mm commercial grade fiberglass ribs, double-lined rib pockets sewn into the canopy, the secure running hub, and the high-grade rib connectors, you can rest assured that this is one of the best umbrellas you can buy.

Cost and Value

While the previous entry was a bit pricey, this one is even more so, sporting a very high asking price. However, you are more than getting what you pay for, and the price isn’t the highest we’re going to see on this list, so it all balances out.

9. Tommy Bahama

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
 Tommy Bahama
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
96
UV Protection
97
Portability
97
Durability
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.70
Pros:

Canopy vent

Tilting mechanism

The silver lining for UPF 50+ protection

Cons:

Ribs are flimsy and won’t stand up to a constant strong breeze in the same direction

For our next pick, we chose the Tommy Bahama 7 ft Umbrella. If what you want out of your umbrella is color, style, and functionality to boot, then Tommy Bahama is the guy you want to see. Because this umbrella is what you’ve been looking for. What do we mean by this? Well, let’s take a closer look and see.

Read more

Canopy vent

If there’s anything an umbrella needs to get right, it’s the resistance to wind. Because the most significant enemy, you’ll be facing isn’t the sun, it’s that stiff sea breeze that will send your umbrella into the next county. Which is why the top of this umbrella’s canopy comes equipped with an individual vent that lets less air build up in the underside of the canopy, allowing for more wind resistance.

Tilting mechanism

We’ve all been there. You find the perfect spot, the ideal angle for your umbrella, but a little while later, you remember a small detail: the heat is always moving all around you. And soon enough you’re cooking. This umbrella comes equipped with a tilting mechanism on the pole, that allows you to move the canopy to wherever you need it to be.

Cost and Value

Once again, a very average price for an umbrella. It isn’t too pricey, but it’s pricey enough to let you know that this is something worth paying for. So, if the features we listed well worth your money, then this is the umbrella for you.

10. Wondershade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
 Wondershade
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
95
UV Protection
95
Portability
96
Durability
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Telescoping features

Great against the wind

Blocks 98% of harmful UV rays

Cons:

Inconsistent pricing

If what you’re looking for is a classic, casual umbrella, that’s not meant to provide too much shade and is instead meant more for a casual standing room for shady conversations. This is pretty much the best version of that. What makes it such? Let’s find out.

Read more

Telescoping feature

But what kind of standing umbrella would this be if you couldn’t extend or retract it? Yes, sure enough, this umbrella is equipped with telescoping features that allow you to extend the length of the umbrella to about 8” tall. Combine that with the 60” diameter canopy, and you have a not half bad umbrella.

Great against the wind

Among the many potential countermeasures against the wind blowing away your umbrella, these big stand-up umbrellas have one that tends to work: wind flaps. This is simple to explain. It’s just a series of cuts made along the edges of the umbrella to allow for more wind resistance. The wind can’t build up with the outer edges so flimsy, so the umbrella stays in place.

Cost and Value

The issue taken with the price of this umbrella is that it’s somewhat inconsistent and varies wildly depending on where you bought the umbrella itself. Sometimes it’s perfectly affordable, and sometimes it’s a lot pricier than it’s worth.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Weather Resistance

When we say weatherproofing, we don’t just mean wind and waterproofing, even though those are the primary weather patterns you will put this thing up against. No, what we refer to is how well coated the pole and ribs are. This coating will significantly decide the length of your parasol’s lifespan more than a lot of the other factors we’re going over in this section. Being so close to the ocean by design, an umbrella needs some steel coating to resist the ocean spray.

Steel is the only metal material that is rustproof by nature. So, steel coating will help give other metals, like say, those used to make the pole of your parasol, more resistance to the elements. It won’t make it as rust proof as for actual steel, but it helps. Weatherproofing should be one of the biggest things you look for in your parasol because the weather in question is not going to show any mercy.

UV Protection

The main reason you bring protection cream, a parasol, or most accessories to the seaside is to help give you some protection from the UV radiation given off by the sun. The measurement of how much an object or substance protects you against UV radiation is known as UPF or ultraviolet protection factor. The ratio of UPF is 15-50+, with the 15-24 rating being listed as the baseline that anything striving for a good UPF factor needs to reach to be deemed effective. For this list, we specifically chose entries that at least crossed the 30 marks, since we were looking for as above average parasols that we could find.

The key here is how much protection they afford you over time. A parasol with a rating of 18 UPF may protect you for a little while, but as time goes on, that number will be beaten by the sheer length of time it’s under the light beams. So, we made sure that the only entries that made it onto this list were ones that were close to, even exceeding 50+ UPF.

Portability

But having the parasol down at the seaside is one thing, actually getting it there is very much another. And this is where you’ll want to look into what each of these entries is made out of. After all, you’re going to be carrying a lot of stuff anyway, so any means of lightening the load should be welcomed. The portability of a parasol all comes down to how lightweight it is and how cumbersome it is to carry around. This, mind you, has to be balanced out with making sure that the parasol is durable, and can handle the strain you put it through while you use it during moments of high winds.

Durability

This both refers to what the parasols are made out of and how they are designed. There are multiple ways to make a good parasol, so design instead focused more on how well designed each entry was for the design motif they were going for. Meanwhile, on the construction end, we looked at each entrance and what they were made out of.

The most common material we found was higher grade aluminum. But the best materials we saw, and the ones we looked for the most was fiberglass. Reinforced fiberglass is pretty much everything you look for in the materials used to make a good parasol. It's lightweight, durable, flexible, and generally perfect for what is demanded of parasol materials.

Value

The final criteria we judged each entry by was the price of each listing. This was somewhat complicated since there wasn’t much of a through the line with which to gauge what made each entry cost what, that we could use to help form an opinion like we usually do. A parasol that had feature X costed the same as a parasol that had the same, but was also made out of material Y, was Z inches in diameter, etc. It seemed like the features implemented in each entry had little to no impact on the overall pricing. So instead we went with our backup criteria for these sorts of lists. We judged each entry by how well they justified the prices they were asking for, which made things a lot easier since each entry that ended up on this list did more than enough to earn the rates they asked for.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Weather Resistance
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico UV Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Portability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Stay protected

Umbrellas are one of the most common things you are likely to find at the seaside on average. Everyone needs a break from that ungodly ball of fire hanging just over our heads. A handy little parasol is a great way to earn some reprieving shade. They’re not perfect at this, mind you, the heat found at the seaside is a little more than a bit of shade can do for you, so you’re still going to be hot. But if nothing else, you at least will be actively protecting yourself from any UV radiation.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can’t I just bring a normal umbrella to the seaside if I want shade so badly?

a:

Oh, sure you totally can. But you have to put it down eventually. And then a gust of wind from the ocean carries your favorite parasol off to New Jersey. Umbrellas are so popular because they’re specially designed for the seaside.

They’re large, provide plenty of shade, are mounted into the ground to prevent the parasols from flying off. They even have countermeasures put in place to prevent that from happening at all. So, while you can bring an ordinary umbrella to the seaside, you could also show up to the super hot shore dressed in a tin foil onesie. Just because you can doesn’t mean you should.

q: What are the different types of umbrellas and which one do you recommend the most?

a:

There are multiple different types of parasols out there right now. Some of which include, but are not limited to:

Sunshades:
A shade is a much smaller model of the umbrella, usually resembling that of a disc mounted on a pole. Given their small size, a small umbrella is pretty much meant for one person to use exclusively. Although sometimes, you’ll find some smart design that has multiple shade parasols assembled into a larger pattern. The best place to use these parasols is by a swimming pool or a chaise lounge.

Pagoda umbrellas:
These parasols are heavily inspired by those used in Asia, built in a pagoda-like style that even involve several critical characteristics of pagodas. You’ll usually be able to pick one of these out by their flower-like design. The same design is something that you’ll find on pretty much all pagoda-style parasols, as such design is their most significant trademark.

Commercial umbrellas:
As the name implies, these are the types of parasols that you are probably the most familiar with. The reason for this is because these are the types of shades used most prominently by advertisers. Advertisers want to have their logo on an umbrella as an accessory. They’re big, eye-catching, have ample room for any design or pattern you want to put on them, it’s just great advertising.

q: How can I prevent my umbrella from being blown away by the Seabreeze?

a:

There are a lot of different ways you can go about doing this. The best way is to make sure you buy a parasol that has countermeasures against allowing itself to get picked up by gusts of wind. This includes everything from having a canopy vent to let out the wind that blows into the underside, to having frayed edges that don’t let the wind blow straight into the center of the parasol.

Another method is to make sure that your parasol is firmly planted into the sand. Plenty of umbrellas out there have means of anchoring down into the ground. You dig out a hole, put down the anchor, then plant in the parasol before burying it again.

Sources