to top 10 table

Best Railing Planters Reviewed & Rated for Aesthetics

last updated Mar 08, 2019

Nothing's ever quite perfect. sometimes we get the perfect house, a large living room, nice kitchen, great bedrooms, and even a balcony- but no yard to speak of, and that means, no garden. But don't despair, whether it is flowers or home-grown food we want, there is a way to have that perfect home and the garden to go with it? That is why someone came along and invented the planters for your balcony railing. To help you assure that flowers or food have a great place to grow, we here at Gearhunt took the time to look for the ten best railing planters out on the market today. We're sure you'll find exactly what you need in this list.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 13 hrs of research

icon
 Bloem
94.6/100 our score
Size
94
Ease of Use
95
Durability
95
Application
95
Value
94
Bloem
Why is it better?

Comes with bolts to secure

Can drill your own drainage holes based on need

Durable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Bloem
Test Winner: Bloem
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
67
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Shelby Wallace
By Shelby Wallace:

Thanks for checking back on these pages, as we regularly update them to reflect changes in the market, as well as to add new product.

Sorting Options
Size Ease of Use Durability Application Value Capacity Weight Weather Resistance By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Size
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Durability
95 %
Application
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$14.31
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Size
93 %
Capacity
95 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Weight
94 %
Weather Resistance
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Size
91 %
Capacity
92 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Weight
91 %
Weather Resistance
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$94.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Size
90 %
Capacity
91 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Weight
90 %
Weather Resistance
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Size
87 %
Capacity
85 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Weight
89 %
Weather Resistance
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$22.18
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Size
85 %
Capacity
84 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Weight
85 %
Weather Resistance
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$38.30
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Size
81 %
Capacity
80 %
Ease of Use
82 %
Weight
81 %
Weather Resistance
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$29.23
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Size
80 %
Capacity
76 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Weight
65 %
Weather Resistance
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$16.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
Size
78 %
Capacity
79 %
Ease of Use
80 %
Weight
81 %
Weather Resistance
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$20.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
Size
75 %
Capacity
77 %
Ease of Use
78 %
Weight
79 %
Weather Resistance
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.19)
Amazon Link
$18.50

10 Best Railing Planters

1. Bloem

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
 Bloem
Amazon Link
Size
94
Ease of Use
95
Durability
95
Application
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.31
Pros:

Comes with bolts to secure

Can drill your own drainage holes based on need

Durable

Cons:

Better for larger rails

Anyone who appreciates having a small herb garden on their patio or deck will certainly appreciate these. We looked high and low to find the best of the best and Bloem has certainly outdone its self with these planters. All you have to do is read below to see what we found.

Drill your own irrigation
A lot of the planters we found came with the drainage holes already pre-drilled which is great for a lot of people but for those of us that live in apartments or want to use our planters indoors that doesn’t really jive. We really liked having the option to drill our own drainage in these, so we could control exactly where the water would be pouring out. Much less likely to have those accidents that cause puddles or pour over onto your kitchen floor.

Comes with bolts
Most planters we looked at were to be mainly used in a rail box. Well, these beauties can be fitted into a rail then bolted down to secure the planters. That was when you have a storm with some wind you won’t have to wave at your plants as they do their best kite impression or worse land on a neighbour’s head.

Cost and Value
These are some of the best we found size wise. They are able to contain several plants without the worry of the roots strangling and as long as you drill the drainage holes as needed no fear of root rot. Cost wise they are well within acceptable range and seem very durable unlike some. We think overall as long as you pay attention to placement you would be very happy with these on your deck.

2. C-Hopetree

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
 C-Hopetree
Amazon Link
Size
93
Capacity
95
Ease of Use
92
Weight
94
Weather Resistance
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

Multipurpose

Can be used indoors or outdoors

Comes in multiple sizes

Lightweight

Great quality

Cons:

Doesn’t come with a bottom so you do need to purchase a draining tray separately if you will be using it indoors

Designed for experienced planters and those that are interested in creating a solid garden filled with beautiful flowers or vegetables without having to have a full outdoor garden. This planter by C-Hopetree features a free-standing design allows you to have the ability to place your planter anywhere including; mounted on a wall, hanging from your railing, or simply having them free-standing anywhere outdoors. Having this quality allows you to be versatile with what you plant and what time of year you do so- a win-win for those that want to plant a little bit of everything.

Lightweight

Measuring at approximately 21 inches in width,9 inches in diameter, and 7 inches in height and constructed with a strong powder coated steel frame that has been woven with weather-resistant wicker to create a sturdy, yet lightweight planter that makes it easy to transport in different areas of your home. Additionally, it has protective silicone feet for extra support and stability outdoors.

Multiple Options

As stated above, this is a multipurpose planter. Therefore, you can plant different flowers, plants or even vegetables. Furthermore, you have the option of selecting how many planters you would like displayed at once. You have the option of choosing 1 pot, 3 pots or a half-round selection. Due to having the different options you could choose to mix and match your planters to create an indoor or outdoor garden of your dreams.

Cost and Value

This specific railing planter comes with 3 different options to choose from; therefore, pricing will change depending on your selection. However, the price point is pretty mid-range, there are more cost-effective selections on our guide, but they do not offer the versatility this planter does.

3. Panacea Products

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
 Panacea Products
Amazon Link
Size
91
Capacity
92
Ease of Use
93
Weight
91
Weather Resistance
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$94.99
Pros:

Made of Steel

Size options

Comes with liner

Self-draining

Cons:

Mounting brackets may not fit smaller rails

We looked at a lot of different repositories for our plants and this was one we thought was unique. If you like the black metal old-school look, this is a great place to start. These have a great finished look away from the plastic typical boxes most manufacturers produce.

Size options
Most of the containers we found were only available in one size. Panacea, however, has created various sizes from thirty inches to forty-eight inches all powder coated in a nice black color. It’s very nice for various plants and flowers or even herbs. If you are looking for the perfect decorative addition to your balcony or sill this is a great investment.

Material
Almost every plant vessel we came across was made of plastic. A durable well-made plastic but plastic none-the-less. We were really appreciative of the steel frame this one was made off, and the coconut skin that you get with it to line the bottom. This allows the water to seep out when overfull preventing root rot and the need to drill holes.

Cost and Value
At number two on our list, we thought this was a great purchase. The price is not horribly high, and the classic look works with most houses. They can be mounted either to the railing or to the house its self which is a nice touch. This vessel is a great value on the whole and we think you will get a lot of enjoyment from it.

4. Ogima

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
 Ogima
Amazon Link
Size
90
Capacity
91
Ease of Use
88
Weight
90
Weather Resistance
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Colors

Metal

Customer service

Comes with hooks

Cons:

Small size

As you are surely aware if you read our reviews we are fond of having options be it color or style when it comes to the items we are looking at. What we found when checking out this particular set of vessels more than met our hopes and expectations. Not only are they good at what they are designed for, but they can be used for other things as well.

Colours
These pots are available in ten different colours. If you are someone that apricates having a rainbow in your house, garden, or hanging on your fence these are a great option. They are a bit smaller than most planters, but they have so many great uses we are willing to overlook it. You can order them by colour or in multi-coloured groups so if there are only a few colours you are looking for you can get them that way and maintain a certain colour in your décor.

Size
We found that a lot of the options under this category come in larger sizes. If you are looking to plant taller vegetables or flowers you may want to look at the deeper planters but for herbs or small decorative flowers, these are top notch. Not only that but because of their smaller size they are great to use in the house as well. Hang them over a headboard for that budding artist to keep their supplies or remove the handle and set them on an interior window sill to keep your herbs close.

Cost and Value
The fact that you can get ten of these for less than what you would pay for most single planters we think this is a heck of a deal. Yes, they are smaller and not really meant for the taller or large bush style plants, but we were able to find so many uses for these that we didn’t even care about the size. A couple of our people found them especially great for a rock style planter with succulent style plants or as a desk holder for their bric-a-brac. Whatever you use them for they are a great buy and a nice colourful item.

5. Green Valley Supply

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
 Green Valley Supply
Amazon Link
Size
87
Capacity
85
Ease of Use
88
Weight
89
Weather Resistance
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.18
Pros:

Breathable material

Soft/easy to fold

Affordable

Available in varied sizes

Cons:

Only come in gray

When we found these, we weren’t sure what to think. After all railing planters are as a rule made out of solid materials that require mounting and drilling and very often upkeep. These were a unique find and considering what all we put them through we think you will enjoy the benefits of having a substantial potting option and interesting look to go with it.

Soft Breathable material
Unlike a lot of the caissons we have on this list these are not the standard. They are made of a soft felt like material that allows the roots of your plants to breathe and any excess water to drain without the need for drilling holes. This also makes them easy to store and when not in use you can flatten and fold them into almost any cabinet. These plant purses certainly seem to provide just the right kind of support for the plants you want to keep close at hand.

Handles
Pretty much every planting container we have listed on here is a hard substance that isn’t meant to be moved one planted. These are not like the others in that they are not only made of the soft material we spoke of above, but the larger pouches have handles already attached. This makes it very easy to move them about if you want them to get more light or even to bring them inside once it starts to get chilly. A very nice addition to our mind.

Cost and Value
These range from one gallon up to twenty-five gallons and in one or five packs. The price even for the largest in size and number are well within our midrange for the cost. A lot of these kinds of products are either pricey or their quality is not the best. These seemed able to take everything we threw at them without any struggle. Some of our people even used them during the off season to carry things around or store other gardening supplies. If the idea of that doesn’t interest you there is always the choice to fold them up and stash them away until needed again. They seem durable which is always a plus and since they are felt you could even decorate them easily with patches or fabric paint for an added touch. Well worth the cost of admission in our eyes, these bags are hard to beat.

6. Lechuza Balconera

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
 Lechuza Balconera
Amazon Link
Size
85
Capacity
84
Ease of Use
86
Weight
85
Weather Resistance
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$38.30
Pros:

Wicker-like Surface

Self-watering system

UV resistant plastic

Easy to life liner

Cons:

Doesn’t fit on larger rails

We found this to be another unique option when it came to a decorative planter box. This had an interesting water filtration system that prevents some of the common issues we tended to have when it came to boxes of similar style. If you think something like this might be for you and you like a wicker styled look check out what we had to say below.

Self-Watering system
This product applies an inorganic granulate compound system for draining and maintaining your water supply to any plants you wish to use them for. You put the liner inside the box as directed and add in the granulate then the potting soil. There is a water indicator that will let you know exactly where the moisture levels are and whether or not you need to add any. The best thing iplant's once your plants roots reach the water supply the reservoir will let you know if you need to refill or if you are in a region that had a lot of annual rain you can drain it by removing the bottom plug if needed.

Made of UV resistant plastic

The plastic used to make these containers is a really nice material on its own but its also coated with a UV-resistant material that will keep them from fading. A lot of the time we found that after that initial season particularly in sun heavy regions lost that beautiful finish. That was not the case with these boxes however and we were very happy with the way the look held up whether used inside or out.

Cost and Value
While these may end up on the high end of the price scale we feel that for the correct consumer they are a great asset. We wouldn’t suggest them as much for veggies as they seem to be better for flowers in our opinion. That said you can absolutely use them for anything you choose, just keep in mind that a self-watering system like this may not be that great for something that needs a dryer atmosphere. Overall these are an attractive option when looking at planters and although they may not be for everyone they would make someone more interested in beautification very happy.

7. Akro Mils

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
 Akro Mils
Amazon Link
Size
81
Capacity
80
Ease of Use
82
Weight
81
Weather Resistance
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.23
Pros:

Durable

Various sizes

Can be used mounted or not

Cons:

Only one colour

If you are looking for something that can be used either as a railing planter or as a simple planting box this may be what you are looking for. Akro Mils manages to create the best of the basic in both form and function. For those of us that want to keep with the tried and true look and use these are your best choice. Don’t just take our word for it though, read below and see what our people had to say.

Durable
While there are several options out there when it comes to this kind of thing, Akro Mils seems to take their product more seriously than some. The thick green plastic can take quite some use and abuse and still manage to come out for the following season. You may have to drill your own drain holes, but we find that better anyway as not all placement is the same and we don’t want to upset the downstairs neighbor when living in a condo or apartment

Green Color
We can appreciate as we have often stated the choices that come with more colorful decisions. Some of us though seemed to prefer the focus to be on the flowers in the box as opposed to the box itself as decoration. The green color of this ewer allows you to use it even as a standing box in the yard where it can blend in with your lawn instead of standing out like some. Some people appreciate that pop of color but for the ones that don’t this is a good choice.

Cost and Value
We found this particular repository to be on the higher medium range price wise. It lacks some of the nifty options of its competition, but we didn’t find a shortage of people who liked the way this can blend in when used appropriately. Durability is another nice feature and there is no risk of rust eating away at your plants either. Although this may not be ideal for some consumers if you do just a bit of research on your own you may find this to be just what you are looking for.

8. Truedays

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
 Truedays
Amazon Link
Size
80
Capacity
76
Ease of Use
92
Weight
65
Weather Resistance
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.99
Pros:

Colourful

Ready to be hung

Well priced

Cons:

Cannot choose colors

These little beauties are a lovely way to add some colour and cuteness to any area you deem appropriate. Good for various uses they would be decidedly useful for any number of operations. Inside or outside we are sure you can find a reason to make these a part of your collection.

Pre-existing hooks
We just loved the fact that these cute little kettles have hooks already attached and ready to go. You can hang them almost anywhere be it on a fence or lattice. They are small enough not to take up too much space and leave an area crowded which is also a nice touch.

Ten Pack
Based on the size of these small receptacles you wouldn’t think they would be great at what they do but they are. All ten of them come in individual and different colours which is nice. It seems like a pretty way to spruce up just about any area you want to add colour too. The choices you are given with all ten of these at your disposal is almost unlimited and they are tough enough to use any number of ways even if you aren’t prone to wanting flowers around.

Cost and Value
The cost of these pots is well placed when you consider how many you get in an order. Beautiful for a cosmetic touch of colour or to be used to gentrify a garden. We even liked using them to hold things on our desks without spending a fortune at an office supply store. We enjoyed adding some pebbles and planting a pretty cactus in it and it held up wonderfully. Overall this is a nice purchase for a pretty set of vessels.

9. KingLake

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
 KingLake
Amazon Link
Size
78
Capacity
79
Ease of Use
80
Weight
81
Weather Resistance
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.99
Pros:

Colour options

Material options

Detachable hook

Quantity options

Cons:

Only in smaller sizes

We know that these particular planters may look a lot like some of the other pots we have listed on here, but, trust us, there are some differences. Some have to do with the suggested use and some have to do with the cosmetic appearance but believe us they are worth checking out. If you want to see why just read below and decide for yourself.

Material options
Unlike some this particular brand not only had colour options but material as well. These pretty little chambers are available in metal or in plastic based off of your need. There are a variety of colour choices in both but if you would rather keep that metal look for outside and the softer plastic for inside you now have that option. These are also available in black which is a nice touch from the typical slate grey colour.

Number per order
You can order these in eight, ten, or twelve-piece sets. We found a lot of people would rather have several small decorative flowers or herbs as opposed to one or two larger ones. Now that said if you are looking to plant one tree these aren’t for you, but darn near anything else can be worked around and that is saying something.

Cost and Value
While these are not the lowest on our list price wise they are not overly expensive. The options provided by the manufacturer, when it comes to make and colour, are nice and not everyone wants to put large flower boxes out. These are just the right size to hang up on a fence or wall for a touch of colour, and we really enjoyed having them at the kitchen window for fresh herbs at our fingertips. Overall these are a nice little hamper for a small decorative bunch of flowers or even succulents for inside the house. Keep in mind not every product is correct for every consumer, but we just loved these and we think you will too.

10. EMSCO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
 EMSCO
Amazon Link
Size
75
Capacity
77
Ease of Use
78
Weight
79
Weather Resistance
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.50
Pros:

Versatile

Can be used indoors and outdoors

Able to fit double the amount of produce

Comes in multiple colors

Cons:

Reviewers noted the planter was quite shallow

This specific railing planter comes with 3 different options to choose from; therefore, pricing will change depending on your selection. However, the price point is pretty mid-range, there are more cost-effective selections on our guide, but they do not offer the versatility this planter does.

Multi-Functional

No need to select what plant or vegetable you would like to have this planter is versatile enough that you can plant as much or as little as you would like. Additionally, there is the option of placing your planter anywhere you would like. They fit railings sized at about 1.25 inches or 3.875 inches wide this is almost twice the size other planters offer. Measuring at 24 inches lengthwise it can take about twice that amount in plants, flowers or vegetables.

Durable

When selecting a railing planter, you want to make sure you find one that will withstand the weather outdoors, particularly if you will mainly use it for growing your produce outside. This one is constructed out of durable, weatherproof resin that can take as much heat as possible without cracking. Additionally, it can withstand other temperature conditions through the four seasons.

Cost and Value

This railing planter is very affordable, you’re getting a quality product that is perfect for those that are pros at gardening yet makes it easy for those that are just beginning to enjoy the beauty of nature. You might even want to consider purchasing multiple of these plants to create the perfect indoor or outdoor garden.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

Secondly, the size of the pot or liner it can hold. While you may not need an oversized pot, nor desire a longer liner, you are likely looking for something that can hold more than a dandelion or two. Size makes a difference. In a similar line of thought, we do not want to be looking to plant or flower or food and find out that what we bought is only designed to hold a pot, but the pot is sold separately. That is not what we consider a “railing planter”, that is just a shelf for holding things!

Ease of Use

Well first and foremost, where can it be properly used? Certain railing planters are built to hang on all types of rails, others require you to bolt them down somehow. There are even a few that require the railing to be a certain length and width. We suggest you look at the requirements for utilizing the planter of your choice. All of the planters we chose are easy to install and use.

Durability

Lastly, we consider just how much whether they can take before needing to be repaired or replaced. Obviously, when you are purchasing any type of outdoor planters you want them to be able to handle thunderstorm, downpours and heavy wind. You also want to know that a lot of heat or cold won’t cause cracking in the merchandise. We chose the planters that were the most tolerable to changes in weather. If you are considering purchasing a planter that simply sits on a flat surface, moving them from the railing to the ground would be the best option for any type of heavy weather. If you do not have the planter outdoors, such as on a porch or patio, and do not have a place to set it on the ground or floor level, a flat sitting planter may not be the best choice.

Application

When choosing a planter one of the biggest things to consider is what type of plant you are looking for, and the second is where it can easily be placed. These two thoughts come hand in hand when truly thought out because some plants are heavier and/or larger and so smaller, lighter hanging style planters can’t hold them. Instead, you would need the type of planters, and space, to set them on solid ground. There are many styles out there, and those on our list are the kinds that are usually best for those with patios or who live in apartments that have balcony’s they can be set or hung from.

If you are looking for something to grow larger edible plants from, you might want to use the types of large containers that are sturdy and can be set on the ground. A hanging planter, even one made of metal that can be hung from a railing, might not be able to hold the weight of growing fruit or vegetables. Some of the smaller vegetables can be grown in solid planters that are large box-like containers which can either be set on wide, long banisters or on the ground, but even then, you will need to be sure the planter is designed to grow edible food in.

Due to the vast number of styles and looks a planter can be found in, they are versatile ways to add more décor to your apartment or home along with the plants you put in them Often they are also designed with ease of use in mind and have one or more holes in the bottom to allow drain and aeration so the plant lives longer and grows fuller.

Value

Whenever you purchase a product this is truly the first thing on your mind, whether you realize it or not, and it is always one of the first things we look at when supplying our top ten lists. The reason for this is to assure that the products we are suggesting are actually worth every penny if not more than what you are spending on the item. No one, including us, wants to buy something we are going to have to replace within days, and especially not the day, of receiving the merchandise. We want to know it will both fit our needs and supply a long-term use if taken care of and used as intended.

With products like these, it can mean the difference between a small garden that works, a useless or broken pile of pottery that just sits around and costs endless amounts of space or money to get what you wanted when you bought it. So, what makes a railing planter worth your money to us?

Bottom Line

Some planters are made for the use of flowers and decoration only, while others are intended to be used for both décor and edibles. We tried to make sure the majority of these planters can be used for any type of garden. When choosing which one you want to purchase, make sure that it is able to handle the plant you are considering putting in it.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Bottom Line
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#6
ico Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Railing Planters

What's in a railing planter. Well, there are few things to think about before you embark on your own window garden. Is it simple flowers to give some colour to your brick wall or are you looking to create your own personal herb garden or both? This is important because size and depth matter when it comes to what you're planning to plant. Will it be indoor or outdoor? This is an important question because... watering. Finally, what kind of environment are you in, are you in the depths of the city or are you a happy suburban cooker who wants some basil, and rosemary on hand? All of these things are part of the learning and buying process so keep them in mind.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can all railing planters be hung or mounted?

a:

No. Some planters are designed to be able to either sit on a rail or be hung from it. Others can be set down or hung from a solid wall. However, many planters that are solid in form are only meant to be set on a wide enough railing, or on the floor of a deck, patio or balcony, but not hung. Even fewer are designed only to be hung up and have no method of being set down on solid ground without tipping. This is why it is important to keep measurements in mind and choose a planter fitted for your needs/wants.

q: Do all planters come with liners?

a:

No. Some planters are designed to be used without liners, and others require only a liner. If you are choosing a planter that requires a liner you will have to check measurements when it needs to be replaced. Most gardening stores will have liners of varying sizes to help keep your planter ready to go and healthy for your plants.

q: How many types of planters are there?

a:

Hard to count! Many places that offer one type of planter actually have more than one. In your search for the one that fits you, keep in mind all the needed requirements from measuring to what you want to plant! For more information feel free to check out our resources below!!

q: Should my planter have holes on the bottom?

a:

If you are looking for a planter that will make gardening easier then yes. Having a planter with holes on the bottom allows for less water retention and your roots will receive more air, thus helping the plant grow faster and stronger. The ones without the bottom holes need to be monitored a bit more.

q: How much can my planter hold?

a:

Great question! Your planter should be able to hold approximately twice of the amount of its size; however, if you are unsure always choose to plant less as you want your plants to have enough room to fully grow and flourish.