to top 10 table

Best Electronic Dog Collars Reviewed & Rated for Effectiveness

last updated Oct 10, 2019

When it comes to electronic dog collars, you have probably encountered some mixed reviews from friends, family, and strangers. There are many opinions on using them or not using them. “Are they ethical?” “Do they hurt the dog?” “You’re a bad owner for using them.” “They are the only way my dog will behave.” “They work.” “No, they don’t.” Etc. Dog owner or not, we have all heard these reviews and questions. As with any other form of training used to get your dog properly trained, it all comes down to your personal preference. Either way that you lean on the issue, the numbers don’t lie. With ongoing innovations in electronic dog collar technology, more and more furry friend owners are turning their attention to electronic dog collars. So, with that, continue reading through our list to find the best electronic dog collars out there.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Dogtra 1900NCP
99.3/100 our score
Materials
99
Durability
98.7
Responsiveness
99
Battery Life
100
Value
99.6
Dogtra 1900NCP
Why is it better?

Both collar and remote waterproof

Long battery life

Vibrate-only function option

Can charge both collar and remote from same cord simultaneously

LCD screen 

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Dogtra 1900NCP
Test Winner: Dogtra 1900NCP
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
19
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
39
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
51
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Taylor Belmer
By Taylor Belmer:

As a dog owner, it’s our responsibility to ensure that they are safe and protected at all times. There have been many significant changes in the technology and innovation with dog collars in recent years. In this most recent update, we inform our readership about these changes. Below, you will learn more about the rigorous evaluation process and how each product was selected today. We also took the time to answer your commonly asked questions, so you have all the assurance you need to make a purchase.

Sorting Options
Materials Durability Responsiveness Battery Life Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.3
Materials
99 %
Durability
98.7 %
Responsiveness
99 %
Battery Life
100 %
Value
99.6 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$212.09
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Materials
98 %
Durability
97.3 %
Responsiveness
96.3 %
Battery Life
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Materials
96 %
Durability
95.7 %
Responsiveness
96.3 %
Battery Life
95.4 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$48.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.9
Materials
94 %
Durability
93.7 %
Responsiveness
93 %
Battery Life
94.8 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$169.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.9
Materials
93.7 %
Durability
92 %
Responsiveness
93.8 %
Battery Life
92 %
Value
92.8 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$139.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
Materials
91.8 %
Durability
90 %
Responsiveness
91.5 %
Battery Life
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$127.70
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.1
Materials
88.5 %
Durability
89 %
Responsiveness
88.2 %
Battery Life
88 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$179.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Materials
86.5 %
Durability
85.3 %
Responsiveness
85 %
Battery Life
86 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$159.20
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.9
Materials
83 %
Durability
83.6 %
Responsiveness
82 %
Battery Life
83.7 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$249.99
Cabelas
$249.99
See Deal
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.5
Materials
81.7 %
Durability
80 %
Responsiveness
81.5 %
Battery Life
80 %
Value
79.4 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$24.89

10 Best Electronic Dog Collars

1. Dogtra 1900NCP

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.3
Dogtra 1900NCP
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Durability
98.7
Responsiveness
99
Battery Life
100
Value
99.6
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$212.09
Pros:

Both collar and remote waterproof

Long battery life

Vibrate-only function option

Can charge both collar and remote from same cord simultaneously

LCD screen 

Cons:

Weatherproof covers on charging ports tend to open while on dog

No training instructions/tips provided

The Dogtra Fieldmaster, originally designed for hunting dogs, has become a quick favorite among pet owners and hunters alike. With a beep, vibration and shock settings and many stimulation levels to choose from, in combination with a long range and durability to match, this is a go-to favorite for those who expect their equipment to hold up to their rugged lifestyles. Also includes an LCD screen for low-light use and rechargeable batteries.

1/2 Mile Range
With a long half mile range, this high-strength collar is a great choice for anyone with hunting dogs or dogs who just insist on running a little too far away.

Waterproof Collar and Remote
No longer will you ruin your remote because you get soaked in the rain or drop it in a puddle. This remote will hold up in wet conditions, equally the strength and durability of the collar.

Cost and Value
While this Dogtra model is the second most expensive collar outlined here, the features offered - match the price with the ability to hold up in the harshest of conditions. If you are looking for a long-term solution for your spirited animal, this could be a great fit.

2. PetTech PT0Z1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
PetTech PT0Z1
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Durability
97.3
Responsiveness
96.3
Battery Life
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Long battery life

Lifetime replacement

Vibrate-only option

Remote is small and lightweight

Waterproof collar

Cons:

Buttons push easily

Slow response time between settings

PetTech's training collar offers a full package hard to resist for those who need a basic training device for their pet. With a 1200 foot range, four modes (light, beep, shock, and vibration), waterproof collar, and complimentary dog training advice, this is a product for many different dog temperaments.

Long-Lasting Battery Life
The rechargeable lithium-ion battery is sure to give a long-lasting charge. In addition to the "sleep" mode when not in use, this helps your battery last long and reduce chances of it dying when you need it most.

Lifetime Replacement Guarantee
PetTech's lifetime replacement guarantee ensures that even if it does break on you, rest-assured you will receive a new one in the mail. Or, if you aren't satisfied, they will provide a full refund.

Cost and Value
One of the most cost-effective options outlined on the top 10 list, combined with the lifetime replacement guarantee, there is a very little risk in giving this collar a try with your pup.

3. Petrainer PET998DBB

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
 Petrainer PET998DBB
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Durability
95.7
Responsiveness
96.3
Battery Life
95.4
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$48.99
Pros:

Highly adjustable collar

Vibrate-only function

Quick recharge

Five-year warranty

Waterproof collar

Cons:

Buttons press easily

Remote not waterproof

At an amazing price, Petrainer combines a simple design with all the right features to help you train your dog. Tone, vibrate and shock with 100 levels of intensity, in addition to a waterproof collar and a 5-year warranty make this a great option for those looking to train in the backyard, park, or family hikes. You can also buy an additional collar to train up to two dogs with the same remote.

330 Yard Range
The working range on the Petrainer is great for those who plan to use this on easy hikes, jaunts to the park, or in the backyard. With the added bonus of a waterproof collar, this is a great package for pets who like to swim.

LED Screen
Unlike others on the market, this LED screen makes it very easy to ensure you are on the proper channel and intensity level, even at night, to reduce confusion and mistakes.

Cost and Value
Ranking in as Best Value, the Petrainer has a complete package for dog owners who don't need any extra frills, but still want a reliable, reasonably durable training device for Fido.

4. SportDOG Fieldtrainer 425

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.9
SportDOG Fieldtrainer 425
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Durability
93.7
Responsiveness
93
Battery Life
94.8
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$169.95
Pros:

Secure buttons not likely to accidentally push

Vibrate-only setting

Long range

Dual charger for remote and collar

Durable design

Cons:

Doesn't work as well on long-haired dogs

Very stiff collar

With a 300 yard range, and a fully waterproof collar and remote, the SportDOG 425 is durable enough to go anywhere you do. Sporting tone, vibration and shock settings, plus low and medium ranges to customize to your pet depending on size and resistance level, this is a great option for those who use their dog for hunting or simply want a collar that can hold up in any weather.

Train up to 3 Dogs
With the ability to buy up to two additional training collars per remote transmitter, there is no need to carry out multiple remotes while out in the field.

Fast Charging
Obtaining a full charge in two hours and lasting between 50-70 hours per charge, your collar is not what you will have to wait for to leave the house. The added ability to charge both the remote and collar at the same time make the SportDOG time-efficient.

Cost and Value
For being smack dab in the middle compared to prices of other collars outlined here, the SportDOG offers many features to help get your active pooch trained.

5. PetSafe Yard & Park

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.9
PetSafe Yard & Park
Amazon Link
Materials
93.7
Durability
92
Responsiveness
93.8
Battery Life
92
Value
92.8
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.95
Pros:

Both collar and remote waterproof

Responsive buttons

Two-in-one charger for collar and remote

Inconspicuous design

Collar easily adjustable

Cons:

Buttons not labeled

Takes a long time to fully charge

While the name specifies "yard and park" the PetSafe has become a great choice among many different recreational users due to the 400-yard range, fully waterproof design and option for both tone and shock. With the option to buy up to two more collars to train 3 dogs with one remote, and responsive buttons for easy toggling between collars, this is a great choice for those with multiple active dogs.

Small Collar
The small electronic device on this collar is a popular feature for those who hate the look of other, bulkier options on the market. Not only does it get in the way for your pooch less often, but it is more visually appealing.

Collar and Remote Waterproof
No longer will you have to worry about dropping your remote in the puddle, leaving your pooch to their own devices while out in the woods. With a waterproof design, rest assured it won't be butterfingers that break the PetSafe.

Cost and Value
Another middle-of-the-pack as far as cost goes, this collar boasts many of the features of higher-end products while keeping it at an affordable price.

6. Pet Resolve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
Pet Resolve
Amazon Link
Materials
91.8
Durability
90
Responsiveness
91.5
Battery Life
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$127.70
Pros:

Long range

Long battery life

Simple setup

One remote can control up to 3 collars

Lightweight remote

Cons:

Slightly bulkier than others

Remote not waterproof

Having been recently updated to incorporate a new "remove the shock" option, the Pet Resolve has a setting for all comfort levels. If you don't want to use the shock setting, simply stick with the vibration or tone settings. Backed by a 2-year warranty, 3/4 mile range, and a waterproof collar, this collar can work great for a variety of desired uses.

3/4 Mile Range
For most pets, 3/4 of a mile is just about as far as you'd want Fido to stray away from you. With the Pet Resolve, you can rest assured that just in case your dog gets a little too far away, you will be able to reign them back with the long response range.

Lightweight Remote
Unlike some other electronic collars on the market, the light built of this remote means no more unnecessary weight added to your pocket or hand when out in the field.

Cost and Value
Surprisingly, the Pet Resolve boasts one of the less expensive price tags outlined in the review, even while boasting a long range, waterproof design, and great battery life.

7. Educator E-Collar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.1
Educator E-Collar
Amazon Link
Materials
88.5
Durability
89
Responsiveness
88.2
Battery Life
88
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$179.99
Pros:

Both remote and collar waterproof

Easy on/off function

Ergonomically friendly remote

Excellent range

Lightweight

Cons:

Relatively short battery life

Does not come with longer prongs

From 1/2 mile to 3/4 miles, the Educator E-collar has a variety of options, also allowing you a choice between 1 and 2 collars per remote. Not only are the collar and remote waterproof, but the remote FLOATS on water, making it a great choice for those who take their dogs on many water adventures. Instead of the usual vibration setting, it boasts a similar tapping sensation, which is slightly more intense, therefore more likely to get your dogs attention. It also comes with the tone and shock settings, as well as a 2-year warranty.

On/Off Function
With a touch of the remote to the collar, you can easily turn it off and on to conserve battery life. This setup also makes it hard to accidentally turn off when you don't mean to.

Ergonomic Remote
With a design built with your hand in mind, the round shape and buttons placed strategically to be just where your fingers want them, the remote has a natural feel to it.

Cost and Value
While the Educator is a slightly bigger financial pill to swallow than some others, it has a design and durability to back it up, truly designed for the outdoor enthusiast in mind.

8. Dogtra IQ

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Dogtra IQ
Amazon Link
Materials
86.5
Durability
85.3
Responsiveness
85
Battery Life
86
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$159.20
Pros:

Reliable response between remote and collar

Small collar unit; works on small dogs

Long battery life

Waterproof collar

Fast recharge

Cons:

Uncomfortable collar

Weak vibration setting

A 400-yard range, tone, vibrate and shock settings, and many stimulation levels to choose from making the Dogtra IQ a versatile training device for a wide variety of uses. While the remote is only water-resistant, the collar is waterproof and the LED battery life indicator makes it easy to know when to charge. The smaller design makes it a great choice for both small and large dogs alike, for both pets and working dogs.

Small Collar
The small design of this collar makes this a reliable option for those with smaller dogs that get drowned out by normal-sized training collars.

Quick Charge
Charging within 2 hours and holding a long charge, the IQ won't likely die on you while out in the field, leaving you with an untrained pooch, uncontrolled.

Cost and Value
The Dogtra IQ, similar in price to the aforementioned Educator E-Collar, is slightly more expensive than others, reflecting this through the compact, waterproof design, reasonably long range, and great battery life.

9. Garmin Sport PRO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.9
Garmin Sport PRO
Amazon Link
Materials
83
Durability
83.6
Responsiveness
82
Battery Life
83.7
Value
82
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$249.99
Cabelas
$249.99
See Deal
Pros:

Built-in no-bark training

3/4 mile range

Remote can control up to 3 collars

Long battery life

LED light for nighttime use

Cons:

Slight delay in command execution

Doesn't come with remote lanyard or clip

Garmin has built quite the reputation for their E-collars, both training and GPS, and the Garmin Sport PRO is no exception. Boasting a no-bark training option, 3/4 mile range, tone, vibration and shock settings, and waterproof collar and remote, this was built for the rugged hunting dog and their owners. You can also train up to 3 dogs on one remote.

Built-in No-Bark
No need to buy a separate collar for your pooch who is inclined to bark just a bit too much. This built-in function allows you to get the most out of one training collar.

"No-Look" Operation
Perfect for the hunting pair, this Garmin was built for dog owners who need a quick response to their dog's unwanted behavior, with easy reflexive buttons that require little thought as to where they are.

Cost and Value
While this is the most expensive option outlined, it is also the only E-collar with an included no-bark training option, and the reliable features Garmin is famous for.

10. Lobo Commander

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.5
Lobo Commander
Amazon Link
Materials
81.7
Durability
80
Responsiveness
81.5
Battery Life
80
Value
79.4
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.89
Pros:

Separate buttons for each command

Easy setup instructions

Highly adjustable collar for all dog sizes

LCD screen

Low battery indicator

Cons:

Not completely waterproof for avid swimmers

Uses a special battery which is hard to replace if needed

With a 400 yard range, water-resistant collar, the basic tone, vibrate and shock functions, and easy setup, the Lobo Commander works great for those who don't want to buy into the fancier collars. While avid swimming dogs should look elsewhere, this is a great, inexpensive option for anyone who has an unruly dog they would like to train in their home, yard or at the park.

Color-Coded
A common complaint about electronic collars is that the buttons are not labeled and are hard to identify. The Lobo both labels and color codes their buttons, so you know exactly which command you're giving your dog.

Low-Battery Indicator
Another great feature of this collar is the ability to know exactly when it needs to be thrown on the charger. No guessing games as to whether or not it needs an extra boost before you take it out in the field.

Cost and Value
As one of the cheapest options outlined, the Lobo Commander is a great no-nonsense option for those who need a basic collar without breaking the bank. Backed by a 1-year warranty, you can easily return it if you decide it's not for you.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When it comes to the safety of our furry friends, we as individuals care about every single dog. With that in mind, when we write articles that are in particular, designed for pets or animals, we take the deepest of concern when it comes to picking out the right products. With that said, we are eager to share with our audience of readers the best quality electronic dog collars and how we chose them. With that said, we want to share our criteria below with our audience so they get to know step by step how each product made it on the list.

Not every individual has the ability to go ahead and conduct hours of research. Therefore, we do it for you! All of the products that we included on this last had to go through our testing as well as our checklist of evaluation that required the best of each individual product. Without further wait, below we share with you the criteria to evaluate the best electronic dog collars. Keep in mind, that our intention is to be as balanced as possible when it comes to each product and this list helps us do that so we can share a wide range of the best products out there. Let’s talk about the first of all the criteria, one that we consider one of the most important criteria that in a way, summarize all of the other ones together, the quality of the electronic dog collar. Let’s begin!

If you have a dog, then you are fully aware of how dogs can completely shred anything that comes across their path. With that in mind, we knew that the material quality behind the product was of the highest priority for us when taking each product into consideration. With that, we wanted to ensure that each item within the packaging had to be of the best quality. The items that most brands include is an electronic collar system, an adjustable strap, a remote for the collar, a charger cord, and the packaging.

When it comes to the adjustable straps we realized that most are made from a type of high-density rubber or TPU material that allows individuals to easily wear them while also making them extremely strong. With that, the remote and the electronic collar system are made of the highest grade materials ranging from plastic to rubber for better durability. This was crucial because the material of the collar would be able to tell a lot about the brand and what users can expect from each quality product and brand.

Durability

This was one of the most important aspects that we took into consideration when including specific dog collars. When it comes to a dog, you never know when they will decide to dig a hole or jump in the pool. Therefore, we had to include the best quality products that were designed with durability in mind. When looking for durability we made sure to check each piece of the equipment to make sure nothing was designed in a cheap way.

For example, the charger cord had to be of the best quality as well as the adjustable strap. The adjustable strap had to be designed with strength in mind and we took into account the fact that the electronic device had to be made from the best tech team out there. This is where looking at reviews came into place, to be able to see what is the average lifespan of an electronic dog collar. With that said, we found that most of the companies had a lifetime warranty guarantee to build better and more trust with every consumer. Other than that, we can attest that every product was able to pass durability inspection!

Responsiveness

As the next criteria on the list, we realized that dog collar range was vital to the success of the dog collar and an aspect that individuals were specifically looking for. With the proper dog collar range, individuals were pleased by the effect of the dog collar both training the dog and teaching the dog how to stay in a specific area. With that in mind, we realized that the dog collar range was very important for the success of the dog to feel and for the happiness of the dog owner.

Now, most of the ranges we discovered ranged between 300 yards to 500 yards, with 500 being the most common. Of course, a remote with better durability and a longer ranger cost more. However, we ensured to include a wide variety so individuals felt that they had a variety to choose from.

Battery Life

Obviously, when dealing with electronics, battery life or electronic charge is necessary. With that in mind, we had to take into consideration the battery life of this particular item. Now a question that comes up often is if the item is rechargeable or if it requires batteries and all of that truly depends on the manufacturer. With that in mind, we wanted to include battery life as one of the must-have criteria because we did not want to include any product that has a less than usable and great battery life. With that said, this is what we discovered.

As we said, most of the collars came as a rechargeable system. Many brands tout the ability to charge the system in 1-4 hours with the system lasting as long as 50-70 hours depending on range length and use. Now, it is important to note that many brands have a disclaimer that it is not safe to leave a collar on a dog for more than 12 hours at a time. With that in mind, we realized that each brand had safety and functionality in mind, considering that the runtime for each collar ranged between 50-70 hours, making it the ideal training companion for individuals.

Value

Now we have come to what is considered one of the most talked about aspects of many of our articles. Of course, individuals want the best bang for their buck and so, our goal is to always supply the best of each quality product. When it comes to electronic dog collars we realized that depending on the dog collar, individuals would receive different levels of functionality. Of course, more basic dog collars would cost much less. While other dog collars that had four response modes, different adjustment levels, and other features cost much more.

Another element that brings up the cost and the value of each individual product is the charge time of each collar and the running time of the collars battery. All of this together created a blend of cost and value where individuals can really pick between the best product that is best suited for their situation. Lastly, another aspect was the size of the collar. While some brand has adjustable collars, some brands also offer different sized color straps that can range in price.

Now that we have covered the most important aspects of electronic collars, we are eager to move onto the frequently asked questions. This is for the viewers that have these questions in mind.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Responsiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Battery Life
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Know what you need

With so many varieties on the market today, it is easy to get overwhelmed when perusing the many reviews and features of each. Hopefully, you have discovered what features you require for your pet, and can become well on your way to a happier, healthier, freer, Fido. As mentioned above, electronic collars are a great intermediate phase for your training needs and is an important step to take to help keep you and your pet safe from harm's way.

The design is important

This was one of the most important questions we asked when taking into consideration the many different collars that we wanted to include. Since dogs can be spontaneous and we never know where they will end up, we needed to include collars that were virtually resistant to everything. We discovered that almost every brand has collars that are resistant to almost everything.

Consider custom

So, this was a vital and important aspect. Not every user has a large backyard where they want their dog to run around. Therefore, as one of the criteria we took into consideration, we knew that it was very important for users to have a level of collar customization. This customization ranges from the ability to how the collar will respond when the dog goes out of range to the adjustable straps of the collar.

Function is key

So, as we asked ourselves what important and vital aspects of the remote and collar were crucial towards the success of the collar and the dog, functionality came to mind. For example, what is the collar primarily used for and how does it work in correlation to the remote. This also allowed us to look at the system behind the remote such as the setting, the vibration levels, tones, time settings, etc. We found out that many of the electronic dog collars had different ranges of reactions for the dog ranging from vibration to a tone and even a beep mode.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is the collar water resistant?

a:

As one of the most frequently asked questions on the list, we have discovered that every individual is curious to know if the product is water-resistant or waterproof. Water-resistant means it can get slightly wet while waterproof means a dog can jump in the pool no problem. With that said, many brands have created the collars to be water-resistant up to a certain point. Meaning slight rain and the occasional pool jump will not hurt the product. However, consumers should not be expected the product to last forever if the dog is taking a dip every day. It is always best to ask the manufacturer about the characteristics of the product.

q: Can the collar harm my dog and what are the effects?

a:

This is one of the questions that may have mixed reviews and answers among individuals. With electronic dog collars being somewhat of a grey topic, many individuals want to know if they are harmful. Well, many different brands have disclaimers that the electronic dog collars should not be placed on a dog for more than 6-12 hours at a time. If so, then the dog collar can harm and even burn the dog if the dog is constantly going out of range. With that in mind, the effects can lead to temporary or permanent pain as well as other damages. It is always best to consult with a specialist before using an electronic dog collar. With that in mind, many individuals have mentioned that electronic dog collars are not good for older dogs.

q: Can the collar be adjusted to fit small to x-large dogs?

a:

This is one aspect of electronic dog collars that many users took into consideration. With that in mind, we discovered that many different brands offered different sizes of dog collars, which would also range the price with the strap being somewhat adjustable. However, there are a couple of brands that offer dog collars fitted for every dog. Many individuals also wonder if the power of the received and the dog collar would work well enough for a large dog such as a Pitbull or bull-mastiff. It is always best to look at the guidelines of each individual dog collar and what the qualities of the dog collar are.

q: What is the material of the collar?

a:

This may have been the most frequently asked question from individuals. Since durability is a major factor in the quality of each product, individuals want to know what the material is made out of. From this, we discovered that almost every collar and received is made from some form of highly durable plastic or rubber. For example, some collars are made from plastic and rubber material for better durability. However, many brands also included a water-resistant coating over the collar and the receiver in case it begins to rain, the dog jumps in the pool, or the dog gets a chew-happy.

q: Does the warranty cover a dog chewing the collar?

a:

This question made us chuckle because it was asked many times. With that in mind, many users have asked this question and received different answers depending on the manufacturer. Although some manufacturers do have a warranty guarantee, the warranty will state what the damages the manufacturer covers. It is always important to consult with each individual manufacturer before purchasing a product. However, we did pick out great brands that even included a lifetime guarantee.