to top 10 table

Best Dog Foods Reviewed for Taste & Quality

last updated: Apr 18, 2019

We can all agree that there is no better feeling than seeing our precious furry friends, happy, wagging their tails, and excited for their breakfast or dinner. Now, we realized that what we needed to do was take some time to look at all of the different canine foods that exist today and create a guide of the best food for interest consumers like you. We have taken the time to scan the entire market and we are excited to bring you the type of food that will have your pet’s tail wagging faster than ever before. What we can say is that each of these canine foods has been tested and approved by previous customers, just like you. So, if you want to make your pet wag, smile, or bark for their next tasty meal, check out our list of the best foods for them today.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Taste of The Wild Grain Free
97.8/100 our score
Materials
97
Flavors
98
Safety Hazards
99
Value
97
Taste
98
Taste of The Wild Grain Free
Why is it better?

Premium dog food that is incredibly healthy and high in protein.

No grain diet means it has more nutrients and the food is packed with beneficial ingredients

Natural dog food means the brand does not use chemical agents when making the food, delivering a cleaner experience.

Filled with antioxidants that aids a dog's digestive tract.

Made in the United States by a Family Owned company.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Taste of The Wild Grain Free
Test Winner: Taste of The Wild Grain Free
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By :

We want to keep out best friend happy, and with this list, we at TheGearHunt can assure you that their tummy will feel great. This update brings you even more information on canine food and new questions answered in the FAQ-section. Check it out and please check back with any questions.

Sorting Options
Materials Flavors Safety Hazards Value Taste By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Materials
97 %
Flavors
98 %
Safety Hazards
99 %
Value
97 %
Taste
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
$62.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Materials
98 %
Flavors
96 %
Safety Hazards
95 %
Value
97 %
Taste
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
$65.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
97 %
Flavors
96 %
Safety Hazards
93 %
Value
95 %
Taste
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
$36.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Materials
96 %
Flavors
96 %
Safety Hazards
96 %
Value
95 %
Taste
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Materials
93 %
Flavors
97 %
Safety Hazards
91 %
Value
93 %
Taste
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Materials
95 %
Flavors
93 %
Safety Hazards
94 %
Value
92 %
Taste
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Materials
96 %
Flavors
92 %
Safety Hazards
90 %
Value
92 %
Taste
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
$57.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Materials
94 %
Flavors
92 %
Safety Hazards
88 %
Value
90 %
Taste
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
$47.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Materials
93 %
Flavors
88 %
Safety Hazards
92 %
Value
90 %
Taste
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Materials
90 %
Flavors
91 %
Safety Hazards
85 %
Value
87 %
Taste
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.08.20)
Amazon Link
$38.88

BEST DOG FOODS REVIEWED FOR TASTE & QUALITY

1. Taste of The Wild Grain Free

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Taste of The Wild Grain Free
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Flavors
98
Safety Hazards
99
Value
97
Taste
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$62.99
Pros:

Premium dog food that is incredibly healthy and high in protein.

No grain diet means it has more nutrients and the food is packed with beneficial ingredients

Natural dog food means the brand does not use chemical agents when making the food, delivering a cleaner experience.

Filled with antioxidants that aids a dog's digestive tract.

Made in the United States by a Family Owned company.

Cons:

This dog food is considered expensive

The smoked salmon flavor can be really strong.

When it comes to an industry that has both a lot of products and a lot of skepticism, this natural dry pet food brand stays on top as one of the premier pet food brands out there. With their all-natural ingredients, we are eager to share with you, first on the list, Taste of the Wild Grain-Free High Protein Natural Dry pet Food, a dry food brand that your beloved German Shephard Shelby will love every time it is served. Let’s see why this brand is named one of the best.

Energy

The intention behind this pet food brand manufacturer is to lower the amount of unhealthy and fake ingredients that puppy foods include. These many ingredients not only hinder a puppy's healthy growth, but they also lower the energy of the animal. With that said, this brand is made with premium cuts of meat like wild boar, buffalo, smoked salmon, roasted bison, and other extremely healthy ingredients. With plenty of protein, this pet food manufacturer offers a jam-packed healthy punch in every bite.

Immune System Support

It goes without saying that puppies are very much like humans and require the same nutrients that humans get. However, there are numerous puppy foods that have low-grade nutrient content and in turn, affects the immune system of the puppy. Did you know that 70% of your pet’s immune system generates in the gut area? With this in mind, this premium pet food manufacturer produces healthy food that aids the digestive tract, allowing a dog's immune system to get better over time.

Cost and Value

When considering cost per value, many people will argue that this premium puppy food maker is ‘expensive’. However, can an individual really place a price on the health of their pet? We can say, without question that this is a premium puppy food brand offering plenty of value for all canines. Not only will your pet be highly satisfied and happy, but it will also reflect this new healthy state of being with more energy than ever before.

2. Wellness Core Natural Grain Free

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Wellness Core Natural Grain Free
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Flavors
96
Safety Hazards
95
Value
97
Taste
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$65.99
Pros:

100% grain-free formula includes a balanced nutritional diet for dogs that are seniors or need to lose excess weight.

Contains premium only ingredients such as peas, carrots, turkey, and more.

Made in the United State by a trusted company that puts wellness at the forefront of all of their products.

Plenty of variety for dog lovers who want the best for their dog.

Promotes healthy skin, a shiny coat, healthy teeth, and more energy.

Boost your dog’s immune system with this quality dog food brand.

Cons:

Some users have mentioned that it gave their dog irritable bowel syndrome.

Users have mentioned that this organic dog food can expire quickly if left out in the open.

Containing 80% more meat than store-bought dog food, this dog food manufacturer understands the importance of feeding our furry friends the best and healthiest ingredients. A healthy balanced dog food diet is the difference between a healthy and vibrant dog and a dog that feels tired all day. With that said, Wellness Core Natural Grain Free Dry Dog Food is expertly crafted for dogs and the peace of mind of dog owners.

Carefully Balanced

The manufacturer of this dry dog food brand understands the importance of a healthy and balanced diet. A balanced diet for a dog is much like a human. This diet includes antioxidants, fatty acids that are healthy, probiotic, protein, vitamins, and minerals. This brand has mastered that blend with a variety of blends such as duck, turkey, and rabbit or chicken and beef. These ingredients are designed to prolong and enhance the livelihood of all dogs.

Reduce Fat Formula

Now, another important aspect of a dog’s diet is the number of healthy fats they are getting daily. If these healthy fats alongside nutrients and a lot of protein become excessive, your dog can begin getting chunky in no time. Therefore, the reduced fat formula is essential for a dog’s healthy and balanced daily diet. The reduced fat formula includes protein-rich and lower fat recipes that use real turkey and salmon oil to support and manage a dog’s healthy weight.

Cost and Value

Once again, the cost per value for a dry dog food such as this is heavily weighted on the number of nutrients, minerals, and how healthy the dog food is. Of course, the benefits are not just in the ingredients but the result of what consuming such healthy dog food does to a dogs body. Therefore, we can conclude that the cost per value for such an item is worth any dog lover’s consideration.

3. Diamond Naturals Senior

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Diamond Naturals Senior
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Flavors
96
Safety Hazards
93
Value
95
Taste
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$36.99
Pros:

Packed with superfoods such as blueberries, pumpkin, and kale makes this a superfood for any dog.

Powerful antioxidants help a dog's digestive tract and immune system functions.

With all natural ingredients, a dog owner can trust that their dog is eating and receiving quality ingredients.

Created with K9 Strain Probiotics, each of these manufactures dog food bags include healthy probiotics to enhance the livelihood of the dog.

Comes in a variety of flavors ranging from chicken to lamb and beef.

Cons:

Some dogs may react differently to the taste of this dog food.

Some dog owners have mentioned that their dog itches excessively after eating this food.

Just like humans, pets require a balanced and nutrient filled diet. However, commonly known puppy food brands have created a lot of skepticism in the food industry. Now, this is where Diamond has become known as a premiere and healthy pet food. The Diamond Naturals Senior Canine Food is not just a healthy choice for them, it is specially formulated for senior pets and their needs. With plenty of benefits, let’s see why it is known as one of the top premiere food manufactures.

Digestive Support
Much like humans, when they get older they need a specially formulated and balanced diet. With a blend of soluble and insoluble healthy fibers, this specially designed food recipe allows the pet to easily digest all nutrients and healthy vitamins. The digestive support recipe includes healthy digestive supporting ingredients such as chia seeds, dried kelp, coconut, and pumpkin. This alongside chicory root helps the pet’s digestive system for a healthier and happier pet.

Omega Fatty Acids

There are unhealthy fatty acids and there are healthy fatty acids in pet food, much like human food. With this in mind, this premium pet food brand includes extremely healthy and beneficial fatty acids such as flaxseed and fish. All of these healthy ingredients help your senior pet stay balanced, healthy, and enhances the dog’s coat and skin features. Because of benefits like this one, this dog food brand is highly touted and appreciated by numerous consumers.

Cost and Value

As the first one on this list, this dog food brand is considered more expensive than store-bought brands. However, the cost should only reflect the high amount of value that the pet will receive. A puppy cannot choose what they eat for breakfast or dinner, but a human can make the right choice of giving their puppy healthy food over the generic brands that cause health issues and digestive problems.

4. Merrick Grain Free

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Merrick Grain Free
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Flavors
96
Safety Hazards
96
Value
95
Taste
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

High protein food with the #1 ingredient being meat.

Grain-free dog food with plenty of nutrition, healthy antioxidants, healthy fats, and more.

This dog food is focused to help a dog's digestive system, enhance their coat, and increase their energy levels.

With Omega 6 and Omega 3 fatty acids, this dog foods aids the skin and coat of dogs.

The ingredients are also made in the United States and never from China.

Trusted dog food brand with plenty of reviews.

Cons:

Some dog lovers have mentioned that this particular dog food brand can be smelly.

Certain dogs may not like the taste of this dog food.

For more than 25 years, this premium food brand manufacturer has been providing happy dogs and pet owners all-natural pet recipes designed to enhance the livelihood and energy of the pet. Their belief is “recipes taste better than formulas.” With that said, we can stand in agreement with Merrick and their specialty Grain-Free Dry Dog Food designed for happy puppies by happy owners.

#1 Ingredient

If an individual were to go to their local supermarket or pet food store and read the first ingredient on food, almost every single food brand would show, “meat by-product” or some other form of by-product. It is known that the first ingredient is the most common. Therefore, this premier food brand stands firm in its idea that the #1 ingredient in food should be real deboned meat. Their specialty food is designed and cooked in their own USA kitchen with the finest ingredients.

Fresh Everything

Following the fact that this brand is from the United States, it is safe to say that all of their products are fresh and extremely healthy. Their award-winning recipes have leading levels of delicious and quality filled fruits and veggies alongside protein. These healthy ingredients include potatoes, blueberries, peas, and many other delicious fruits and veggies animals love.

Cost Per Value

As we have discussed in cost per value when it comes to food the belief that the healthier it is the more it cost rings true. The reason for this is that healthy food has plenty more benefits than conventional manufacture food items. The same is true for pet food. Therefore, if you happen to be a pet lover that wants the best for their pet, we highly encourage this specialty pet food brand that focuses on real ingredients and real value.

5. Blue Life Protection Formula

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Blue Life Protection Formula
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Flavors
97
Safety Hazards
91
Value
93
Taste
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Whole ingredients used such as sweet potatoes, carrots, and peas.

The hearty whole grains included are incredible healthy such as barley and oats.

No by-products in any of their dry dog food means your dog is getting the real deal.

Does not smell foul like many other dog food brands. Therefore a scent-sensitive, a dog owner can feed it to their doggy no problem.

A trusted company that is easy to find and transparent with all of its ingredients.

Cons:

A recall on some of their food made a couple of users and consumers nervous.

Good for some but not good for all dogs.

As one of the more well-known pet food brands out there, this manufacturer has stayed on top of the list of the healthiest puppy food brands out there. In fact, there Life Protection Formula is known as one of the best and most premium pet food brand out there. With plenty of benefits and jam-packed nutrients for your treasured family member, let’s talk about Blue, a quality pet food brand.

LifeSource Bits

Blue has been known to blend innovative technology with natural ingredients, always creating food that is healthy and packed with essential vitamins and minerals to enhance the livelihood of a puppy. With that said, LifeSource bits is considered a unique two-part food consisting of fine natural ingredients that enhance the vitamin scale of the food. The antioxidant-rich kibble this manufacture calls LifeSource Bits is included in many of their expert formulas.

Plenty of Flavors

When a pet food brand this notorious begins to pick up steam, they start supplying the demand for more food flavors. When the owners started using this dry food and realizing the positive effects it had on their pet, they started answering with even more flavors. Therefore, any individual can find their pet's favorite flavor among the many specialty flavors they have. These flavors include lamb and brown rice, chicken and brown rice, and even fish and oatmeal.

Cost and Value

When taking the cost per value into consideration, this brand of food has been known top tip-toe the fence between value and cost. However, the value always exceeds the cost by a large margin. With plenty of nutrient-rich and protein filled ingredients such as lamb and garden veggies, this dry food is considered one of the best to be on any pet's dinner platter.

6. Castor & Pollux Organix

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Castor & Pollux Organix
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Flavors
93
Safety Hazards
94
Value
92
Taste
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

No preservatives, fillers, or unhealthy chemicals in this dog food.

Certified organic.

Dry dog food includes organic fruits, vegetables, grains, and many other healthy products.

Specially formulated for dogs that require specific nutritional needs.

Comes in two sizes for both adults and puppies.

Food does not smell like chemicals or nasty dog food.

Cons:

Formula changed after Purina bought this company.

Users were upset when Purina changed the recipe.

We could not have concluded this list without including the crème de la crème of the pet food world. Castor & Pollux for a long time has reigned as the king of the organic canine food world. This title alone makes it a prestigious brand that only a few pet owners feed their dogs. Now, if you are considering this brand, it is vital to try the Organix Dry Pet Food lineup, a specially formulated dry food filled with all-natural essentials that every pet lover will enjoy.

Organic Chicken

Many brands use terms like “organic” and “all-natural” quite loosely. However, this brand of food stays true to the name by making organic free-range chicken the number one ingredient in virtually each of their products. With organic protein such as this one, a pet is receiving the healthy essentials that help promote vitality, healthy body functions and lively hood. With all of this in mind, the organic ingredients list includes peas, carrots, sweet potatoes, and many other ingredients.

Prestigious Brand

This brand of pet food is not particularly famous or a household name because they have managed to stay as an independent manufacturer providing quality food for owners that want the best for their puppy. With that said, this brand of food is heavily trusted and is known for its delicious flavors. Their prestigious brand title also extends towards a certified organic badge. Many veterinarians and doggy nutritionist will say that this brand is as best as it gets.

Cost and Value

As the last one on the list, we had to end this healthy list of the best food brands with a bang. However, the bang is not in the cost, it’s in the value. In fact, this particular brand of puppy food is known for value in every bite at a fraction of the cost. We can easily say that they will heavily enjoy the taste of this dry food and the owners will be highly amazed at the immediate energy and love their pet will show.

7. Hill’s Science Diet

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Hill’s Science Diet
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Flavors
92
Safety Hazards
90
Value
92
Taste
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$57.99
Pros:

Very low price for a dog food brand that includes such healthy ingredients.

Different varieties for all types of dogs from small to 7+ and senior dogs.

High-quality ingredients are used to enhance every single doggy bite.

No artificial flavors, flavor enhancers, preservatives, and other harmful chemicals are used in designing this dry dog food.

Only high-quality proteins are included.

Cons:

Can be hard for senior dogs.

Certain dogs will not react well to this dog food brand.

We are eager to share with you another specialty dog food with plenty of healthy ingredients, jam-packed flavors and value. Now, as we have discussed before, certain pet foods are formulated for different types of pets. Senior ones require different ingredients than younger ones and the same is true for toy breeds and small puppies. Therefore, we want to add into the mix Hill’s Science Diet Small & Toy Breed Dry Food, specifically formulated for small puppies such as Papillons and Cavalier King Charles. With that said, we know your small furry friend will love this food.

Easy To Eat

Small doggies require everything to be, well, small! Therefore, the same is true for their food. Since small ones have smaller stomachs, frames, and mouth, it is vital that their food is fitted to their frame. Therefore, this all-natural food manufacturer focuses on providing kibble that is jam-packed with flavor and nutrients for any small food. All the small ones will highly enjoy the taste of this food brand.

Balanced Nutrition

Here is a fun and interesting fact about this particular puppy food manufacturer, they have over 220 veterinarians and scientists develop their premium products. A collection of this much knowledge has resulted in the perfect balanced nutrition recipe. All ingredients are high quality, include amino acids, and are all natural and formulated for the livelihood of each puppy.

Cost and Value

What makes this brand so unique is that all their ingredients are designed with small puppies in mind by specialists that have spent their whole life studying canines. Therefore, it is safe to say that each bite of this specially formulated toy and small breed dry food is jam-packed with nutrients and beneficial ingredients. With that said, another positive note about this food is that the cost is extremely low for such a healthy and balanced dry food brand.

8. Nutro Wholesome Essentials

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Nutro Wholesome Essentials
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Flavors
92
Safety Hazards
88
Value
90
Taste
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.99
Pros:

The company only works with trusted farmers and suppliers that grow organic and natural ingredients.

Plenty of vitamins and minerals per bit of each dog food.

A large variety of choices means an owner can find the right dog food for their dog.

This dog food can be fed alone or wet.

A plethora of flavor makes all dogs really happy.

Well priced considering it is extremely healthy.

Cons:

The recipe changed recently and consumers were not happy.

Certain dogs may have potential allergies.

Nutro is known for their trusted farmers and suppliers alongside making high-quality protein the #1 ingredient in all of their food. We are excited to share with you the Whole Essentials Dry Food from that gives a new meaning to “man’s best friend”.

Non-GMO

Many healthy food brands that market themselves as all organic tend to say there is no meat-by-product in their meals. However, the second ingredient tends to be “meat product.” Which is as equally dangerous as fake food. However, this brand stays true to their word of providing excellent and high protein food with non-GMO and fake products. With no artificial flavors, preservatives, soy or fake protein, corn, or color mixtures, this is known as one of the healthiest foods in the industry.

For All Dogs

This particular brand of healthy food has been around for years, with an extremely large selection of dog food sizes to choose from. For all type of pet owners and puppy lovers, this brand offers grain-free food, dry food for small and senior canines, limited ingredient food, and even dry food with grain for added texture. With such a wide variety, any pet lover can find the ideal food.

Cost and Value

With an all natural badge to match, one would expect that this particular dry food would be considered on the higher end. It is when it comes to value, but not cost. In fact, this food is considered one of the healthiest and most inexpensive foods available today. With a-grade ingredients, this food is expected to give your pet a boost of energy, vitality, and more. That is a price that owners are willing to pay!

9. Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Flavors
88
Safety Hazards
92
Value
90
Taste
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Trusted chef with a history of making healthy meals.

Recipes that were designed and created by Rachel Ray herself.

Extremely healthy ingredients such as carrots, seafood, and even beef.

Natural dog food with added vitamins and minerals.

No poultry-by-product and zero grains.

Only meat is the number 1 ingredient.

Cons:

Chicken meal as the second ingredient.

Very low on reviews online.

As one of the biggest names in daytime television, Rachael Ray has extended her paws even to the canine food world. The Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Natural Dry Food is known as one of the healthiest food options available in stores today. With a following that is extremely supportive, this food has been named one of the best and continues to surprise food lovers. Your puppy will be highly in love with this food, and here are two reasons why.

Real Ingredients

As we have come to know by now, Rachael Ray is an expert chef. Therefore, it makes sense that even when she is cooking for her pets she is cooking the healthiest meals with all real ingredients. These real and wholesome ingredients are fresh veggies, proteins like chicken and beef, and high-quality nutrient filled vitamins and minerals. This blend of all organic and real ingredients enhance the puppy food to the point that no pet can resist.

Zero Grain

Nothing is more disheartening than seeing rice or chicken by-product as the first ingredient in your puppy’s dry food. Therefore, it makes sense that this chef and media maven would go for quality, not quantity. This food is particularly marketed with a zero-grain badge to ensure dog lovers that there are no grains, glutens, or fillers in its food.

Cost and Value

As we have come to know from pet food brands that are all organic and extremely healthy is that their cost also ranges widely from typical pet food brands. Well, this dry food specifically formulated with no grains, and healthy ingredients is wonderful to give to your puppy. It is safe to say, that the value of this food enhances the life of all pets.

10. Purina One Smartblend True Instinct

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Purina One Smartblend True Instinct
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Flavors
91
Safety Hazards
85
Value
87
Taste
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$38.88
Pros:

Plenty of flavorful dry dog foods within this dog food brand tier.

This brand is well trusted and has years of experience.

Natural vitamins and minerals in every bite.

Dogs love this dog food recipe.

Real turkey is the #1 ingredient in many of their dog foods.

Cons:

Corn gluten meal is the #2 ingredient.

Many other “meal” substances in the ingredient list.

Purina One is known as one of the most infamous manufactures of pet food all around stores and online. With this in mind, Purina One offers a large selection of pet food types and it is best to stick with their Smartblend True Instinct Formula, which offers more nutrient-packed recipes than alternative foods for the same cost.

SmertBlend

This particular food manufacturer has coined the smart blend formula by providing a healthy mixture of ingredients and nutrients. The healthier of the ingredients include chicken, beef, carrots, and peas for an all-around fulfilling experience your pet will enjoy. With that said, the blend of ingredients is designed for taste, energy, digestibility, and healthy skin and coat. More so, a dog owner might notice an added level of livelihood after a month of eating this formula.

No Fake Ingredients

This particular dry food brand from this manufactured is marketed as not having any poultry-by-product and meat meals or preservatives. With that said, it is always really important to check the ingredient profile on the back of all of the cans or the bag of puppy food.

Cost and Value

When considering cost per value, this pet food brand is considered the average price for many other dog food brands that are known to stores and online. However, this specialty formula costs a bit more considering the added ingredients and minerals and lack of unhealthy substances that many well-known dog food brands include.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When it comes to this kind of food, one of the most important aspects that we took into consideration was the ingredients and formula. Now, we wanted to pick out the healthiest options for puppy owners, so it would only make sense that as we reviewed each product, we looked for the right and healthy ingredients. Now, as we looked at each brand and canine food item, we looked for some of the following ingredients. If it contained even one of these, they were instantly removed from our list. Here are some of the most unhealthy ingredients to feed a puppy:

Corn
Wheat Gluten
Grain Meals
Meat Meals
BHA or BHT
Food Dyes
Rendered Fat

While they are not supposed to have a strictly human-based diet – you really want to make sure that each ingredient is something that you know. With that being said, if you look at each food product on our list, you can read their ingredient labels and recognize what your pet is eating. It’s all healthy! If you are ever curious or unsure about specific products, always consult with previous customers – they are a great source of information in their reviews.

Flavors

When evaluating different dog food products, it’s important to make sure that you do pick a type of food that is natural and smells nice for it. Now, we can all agree that, if you have ever fed your pet incredibly healthy food before that did not have a scent to it – they probably did not eat it. The truth is, as human beings, pets like a nice flavorful scent to their food. So, as we evaluated canine food product on our list today, we took the time to evaluate what type of flavor the food came in. Now, you might be wondering, how can you evaluate the flavor of the food unless you taste it, right? Well, what we did was take the time to look at what the company offered. From there, we looked at what previous customers were saying about the product and how their pets responded to the food. In this, we can say that each product on our list has received favorable reviews as far as flavor is concerned.

Safety Hazards

If you noticed in our last post, we did not talk at lengths about byproducts. A byproduct is a specific type of ingredient that canine food manufacturers will include in their formulas. When we evaluated each of our canine foods, we ensured that each company did not use any meal or grain byproducts. There has been a wealth of research over the course of the past 20 years confirming how unhealthy these items are. We wanted to let each consumer know that, when looking at canine foods, be sure that this ingredient is nowhere to be found in its profile.

The one last note that we wanted to discuss before moving onto the last section is something about allergies. More than ever before, more canine owners are beginning to notice that their pet may be allergic to specific types of foods. It’s critical that, at any point of the research face, you look to see what ingredients a company is using and whether it is allergic or not. At any point, if you do spot an ingredient, you should not be considering that item. What we can say about each product on our list is that we have not noticed a wealth of consumers or previous customers complaining about any allergies.

Value

When it comes to this type of food, the ingredient and formula take precedence over anything. You should never sacrifice the health of your pet. Now, we do understand that some food brands can charge a lot of money. With that being said, it’s important that when shopping for healthy puppy food products that you utilize the cost to value ratio. Now, the whole purpose of this ratio is to ensure that you are receiving your money’s worth for a purchase.

To do this, you need to first start looking at the price of a product and compare it to the rest of the competition. Keep track of how the price changes between each product. From there, look at the value and ingredients in each formula. Why is this product more expensive than another? Does this food contain a more nutrient-rich formula? Take the time to carefully look at the entire label. The rule of thumb with the cost to value ratio is that a consumer should never purchase a product when the cost of the product is higher than the value of it. If you are finding that in a canine food brand, move on! When it comes to this list, we can say that each product offers a great balance between cost and value, making each of these the best of the best.

Taste

Of course, it's important that your dog like the food, otherwise it's just a waste of money. No matter how healthy, meaty, or expensive the food may be, if your pet doesn't like the taste, then they won't eat it. So how do you know if Fido will like the taste of the food? You'll just have to try different flavors and see which one he takes to. We rated this criterion based on what reviewers said about how much their dog liked the food. Since every dog has their own taste, just like humans, so it would be wise to buy smaller portions at first so you're not left with a bunch of food your dog won't eat.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Flavors
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Taste
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Read The Ingredients

In the past 20 to 30 years, more than ever before, pet owners have become more conscious of the types of food they give to their pet. In truth, the type of food you decide to give your pet can make the difference between a happy and lively friend or a bloated, unhappy, and queasy friend. So, what many people have gotten into the habit of is taking the time to evaluate each ingredient and understanding what’s considered healthy and what’s unhealthy. We all have done it before, right?

Save Time

Our genuine goal with this article and guide was to offer each interested pet owner, like yourself, the peace of mind when picking out their food for the next week, month, or a lifetime. Rather than having to guess what type of ingredients companies are using and spending hours of research – we did it all for you. As we said above, every single food has been positively reviewed and approved by similar canine owners who are passionate about helping consumers like you.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know if this food is a healthy choice for my pet?

a:

This was the question that we wanted to tackle with this article. With that being said, we hope that, through this article, you were able to develop a deeper understanding of how to decipher whether a healthy pet food brand and an unhealthy food brand. Furthermore, as we discussed in the article, the best way to learn about the nutritional value of food is to evaluate the ingredients and balance. Additionally, you could always call a local vets office and ask for their feedback, or look at what previous customers are saying regarding their personal experience. Now, we would like to state that, should you be looking for any healthy food, you should start your journey here. Each product on this list has received rave reviews for it’s healthy and nutritionally-rich, balanced diet.

q: How do I switch from one food to the next?

a:

If you are currently feeding your canine a different brand of dog food, you are going to need to slowly transfer them to their new food, especially if it’s one that is much healthier. Reason being, your pet may be upset leaving it’s current food, especially if you have been using it for a long period of time. With that being said, it’s highly advised by the experts to start off by combining the old food with the new food, in small ratios. Evidently, start with small scoops of the new food and slowly wean out the old food until it can eat its regular serving of the new food. However, during the initial stages, you should keep a close eye on your puppy to notice any significant changes or signs in their behavior or health.

q: What is the most important thing to check before purchasing the food?

a:

This is a great consumer question. One of the most important things that you should check before purchasing just any canine food is not only the ingredients but also what previous customers are saying. What many people do not think about is that previous customers have experience with the food. They have sampled the food with their furry friend and can report their feedback. Now, while each canine is relative, making the review relative, it’s good to hear both the positive and negative experiences. Additionally, you might even find some professionals as previous customers offering their insight on the brand or product. This can be incredibly valuable!

q: Can the type of canine food really make a difference?

a:

Yes! The type of food a canine is eating can directly impact the way it is functioning. If you are noticing that your furry friend is lethargic, tired, or constantly bloated, chances are, their stomach and body is not agreeing with the type of food that you are feeding them. Now, don’t beat yourself up if you are not feeding your pet the healthiest food right away. However, if you are noticing that the type of pet food you are feeding your furry friend is not the best choice, you should make attempts to wean them off onto a healthier alternative. You should know, once your dog is beginning to eat healthier food, you might find them feeling more energetic and happy!

Sources

  1. Amy Dyk, Homes Alive, Pet Blog
  2. Kelly Preston, I Heart Dogs, Pet Blog
  3. Mary Nielson, My Sweet Puppy, Pet Blog