to top 10 table

Best Electronic Drum Kits Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated May 02, 2019

Raise your hand if you remember engaging in many rousing kitchen musical productions in which you banged the absolute life out of your mother’s poor pots and pans with her wooden spoons. While this may be just a noisy phase for some, others will move on to full-sized and even louder sets that will continue to plague their household (and their neighborhoods) with noise--lots and lots of noise.

But there's another way! Welcome the glorious arrival of the electronic drumkit. This list is chock full of different electronic kits designed for the youngest, budding drummers all the way up to the most experienced players. With headphone jacks (bingo), MIDI controlling synthesizer capabilities, 10+ drum pads, built-in coaches, songs to play along with, personalized kit tones, and tons of preprogrammed percussion voices you'll be able to find your beat here on this Ten Best Electronic Drum Kits list.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
PylePro
99.8/100 our score
Size
100
Features
100
Sound Quality
99
Connectivity
100
Value
100
PylePro
Why is it better?

7 pads

Connect to computer as MIDI controller

Headphone jack

2 pedals

Battery and AC powered

5 custom preset drumsets available (and 25 factory presets)

215 percussion voices

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
PylePro
Test Winner: PylePro
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Size Features Sound Quality Connectivity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
Size
100 %
Features
100 %
Sound Quality
99 %
Connectivity
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$128.94
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Size
99 %
Features
99 %
Sound Quality
99 %
Connectivity
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$76.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Size
98 %
Features
98 %
Sound Quality
98 %
Connectivity
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$79.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Size
97 %
Features
97 %
Sound Quality
97 %
Connectivity
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Size
96 %
Features
100 %
Sound Quality
100 %
Connectivity
100 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$799.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Size
96 %
Features
97 %
Sound Quality
96 %
Connectivity
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$79.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Size
95 %
Features
99 %
Sound Quality
98 %
Connectivity
99 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$629.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Size
95 %
Features
94 %
Sound Quality
93 %
Connectivity
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$69.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Size
94 %
Features
94 %
Sound Quality
93 %
Connectivity
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$79.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Size
88 %
Features
95 %
Sound Quality
93 %
Connectivity
95 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$499.00

10 Best Electronic Drum Kits

1. PylePro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
PylePro
Amazon Link
Size
100
Features
100
Sound Quality
99
Connectivity
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$128.94
Pros:

7 pads

Connect to computer as MIDI controller

Headphone jack

2 pedals

Battery and AC powered

5 custom preset drumsets available (and 25 factory presets)

215 percussion voices

Cons:

Some comments that the internal speakers may not provide as much sound as they would have liked

The PylePro Portable Drums pack a whole lotta wow in a super small, portable punch. The whole kit is 20 inches long and 14.5 inches wide and weighs in at less than 7 pounds so it’s easy to throw into your bag and take the party anywhere.

Preset 5 of Your Own Custom Drumkits
The PylePro feature an LCD display control that is intuitive and easy to navigate. With 7 pads that are individually touch-sensitive, this product is responsive and crisp. There are 215 different percussion voices and the device comes with 25 preset drum kits. If none of these kits are quite right for you, you can make up to 5 of your own preset drum kits using the 215 percussion voices on the device. Plus, the kit comes with 2 pedals so you can feel like you’re really playing a high-hat and kick drum. This little guy also comes with 2 different metronome systems and 128 GM voices. The Pyle comes with internal speakers, though you can also plug your headphones in for some intense surround sound, or into external speakers for even greater volume. You can take this guy on the road using its battery-powered feature, of you can save your batteries and plug it in using the AC adapter.

Works as a MIDI Controller
The PyleProis super easy to use and versatile as well. Use it in your lap or on the tabletop, or connect it to your computer for even more amazing features. Once connected to your computer via a USB cord, it will work as a MIDI controller on almost any software making the possibilities with this device virtually endless.

Cost and Value
The PylePro rings up towards the lower end of our price range and we love its value because it is lightweight and portable, has tons of features that more expensive devices have, and because it can connect to your computer and act as a MIDI controller.

2. Paxcess

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Paxcess
Amazon Link
Size
99
Features
99
Sound Quality
99
Connectivity
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$76.99
Pros:

9 sensitive pads

2 pedals

Comes with sticks

Rechargeable lithium battery

Can be connected to headphones, external speakers, and computer as a MIDI controller

Waterproof

Rolls up for easy portability

Cons:

Some disappointment when consumers realized it was for children

The Paxcess is a great starter set for young ones looking to practice their skills or for any beginner who is seeking an intuitive way to learn. It is lightweight (weighing only about 4 pounds) and rolls up nicely so it’s super easy to roll up and take on the road.

9 Pads
The Paxcess comes with 9 pads that are touch-sensitive and include 2 hi-hats, 3 toms, 1 snare, 1 kick, 1 crash, and 1 ride. The set also comes with 2 drum sticks and 2 pedals so that you can synthesize the real feeling of kicking drum pedals. The sound of the built-in speakers on this set is less intense than other sets intended for adults which means that your child can practice at any time without disturbing you or the neighbors. That being said, with the 2x3W speakers you will still get to enjoy some real bass notes. You may also plug headphones into the device or connect the device to external speakers if you’re looking for a surround sound experience. This product is powered by rechargeable batteries that typically last about 8 hours before needing to be recharged. Charging takes about 3 hours. And one more thing! This baby is waterproof. We don’t suggest taking it swimming, but it can handle a few spills without suffering damage which is always a welcomed design flair for those products made for the kiddos.

MIDI Capable
The Paxcess is designed for kids and is extremely intuitive and easy to use. The sensitive pads respond nicely so that you always get a rich sound. It can also be plugged into your computer via the MIDI USB output. That means you can play games with the set or use it to create music with different software programs. Paxcess even has a full video tutorial that explains how to set up the MIDI controller function for your convenience.

Cost and Value
The Paxcess E rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love it because it is a great little starter kit for all of those young rock and rollers. Plus, it’s waterproof and can roll up which make this guy a durable and portable win.

3. Alesis CompactKit 4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Alesis CompactKit 4
Amazon Link
Size
98
Features
98
Sound Quality
98
Connectivity
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.00
Pros:

4 sensitive pads

Built-in coach

70 percussion sounds and 70 preloaded tracks to play to

Lightweight and easy to take on the go

AC and battery powered

Headphone jack

Cons:

Standard headphones do not fit into the jack

The Alesis CompactKit 4 is a super affordable option for any young drummer looking to hone their skills. We love that this unit comes in a 4 kit and a 7 kit. It is designed to sit on a tabletop and weighs about 3 and a half pounds so it’s easily portable.

4 Hyper-Sensitive Pads
The Alesis CompactKit 4 features 4 super sensitive drum pads that are responsive and give the feel of playing a real set. The set comes with 70 percussion voices, 50 different songs to play along to, and 10 different effect voices so you’ll be sure to find the sounds that you’re looking for. The built-in speakers are enough to fill a room, but you can also plug in your headphones or external speakers for an even more intense sound. The set comes with drum sticks so that you can get started right away and is powered by AC or can be loaded with 6 C batteries to take this puppy on the go.

Comes with a Coach
The Alesis CompactKit 4 includes a built-in coach which might be one of our favorite features about this product. With 20 preloaded coaching tracks and an LCD screen, you can follow along with your coach to make sure that you’re playing the right beats and notes. You can also plug this set into your computer for gaming fun by using the set as a MIDI controller. We love how easy this product is to use and set up, and how detailed the instructions are that come with this product. The company is super helpful as well.

Cost and Value
The Alesis CompactKit 4 rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we love it because it is great for beginners who may need a little coaching and because it offers dual-power options for ease in taking on the road.

4. Ivation

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Ivation
Amazon Link
Size
97
Features
97
Sound Quality
97
Connectivity
97
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

7 pads with pictures corresponding to each drum component

2 pedals

5 preloaded tones, 8 tracks, and 3 rhythms

Hooks up to your MP3 player and computer as a MIDI controller

Cons:

Some reviewers were bothered that this unit does not come with an AC adapter for power.

The Ivation is another inexpensive and wonderful option for beginners out there looking to develop their skills. Made from silicone that is super flexible, this little 2.5-pound guy can roll up in a sinch so that you can take your show on the road.

Convenient Pictures on Each Pad
The Ivation comes with 7 pads that each feature a picture of the drum component that the pad corresponds to making it a great set for beginners to learn with. With this set, you get 1 snare, 3 toms, and 1 crash, ride, and high-hat cymbal. Plus, the kit comes with 2 sticks and 2 pedals to mimic the feel of real bass and kick pedal. Choose between 5 different drum tones, 3 different rhythms, and 8 different preloaded songs to play with. The unit comes with built-in speakers, but also provides the option of plugging your headphones or external speakers in for greater sound. The Ivation is battery powered and takes 2AAA batteries to function.

Hooks Up to Your MP3 Player
The Ivation allows you to hook your MP3 player up so that you can play along to your favorite songs. It also will connect to your computer via the USB jack and function as a MIDI controller. We love how easy this device is to use and that it comes with pictures to help even the youngest drummers gain skills rapidly.

Cost and Value
The Ivation rings up at the very bottom of our price range as well and we love it because it is super easy to use and because it comes with handy pictures to help youngsters learn quickly.

5. Yamaha DTX522K

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Yamaha DTX522K
Amazon Link
Size
96
Features
100
Sound Quality
100
Connectivity
100
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$799.99
Pros:

3-zone textured cymbals

Free iOS apps for connectivity and endless creative and coaching possibilities

7 piece set

Tons of preloaded kits and percussion sounds

Download songs onto module for advanced practice

Cons:

Some reviewers mention that the drum rack is not as sturdy as they would like and that parts need to be re-screwed and secured.

The Yamaha DTX522K Kit is the most expensive item on our list and it is an absolute unit. With full connectivity, this product boasts options that are literally endless. This set is meant for those with some experience in using electronic drum kits already and is not super portable and it features several separate pieces.

3-Zone Texture
The Yamaha DTX522K Kit comes with some incredible proprietary features that you will only find on the DTX Yamaha. The 7 pads feature a snare, 3 toms, and 1 cymbal each of high-hat, crash, and ride. We love that the cymbal pads have 3 zones that allow you to get different tones based on whether you hit the edges, the cup, or the bow and you can even mute the sound with the available software that comes with it. That’s something that other sets on this list and on the market simply cannot do. Plus, this product comes with 32 different tone generators, 691 percussion sounds, 50 preset kits, and endless possibilities for creating your own personalized kits. This Yamaha runs on AC power and it does not come with the pedal pictured. That must be purchased separately.

Free iOS App
The Yamaha DTX522K comes with more wave ROM than before and also comes with a free iOS App for even more possibilities and connectivity. Use any one of your Apple devices to get in the moment coaching on how to play along to some of your favorite songs in time. The app has more than 1000 pre-loaded songs, but you can also load songs directly onto the DTX module so that you can practice playing by slowing down the tempo of the music or by only practicing with one hand. This app also allows you to easily create and store beats so that you can get your creative juices flowing.

Cost and Value
The Yamaha DTX522K rings up at the tippy top of our price range but it truly takes electronic kits to the next level. With superior sound quality and tons of options through the iOS apps provided, this is a kit that will bring your music game up to the next level.

6. MINIARTIS Roll Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
MINIARTIS Roll Up
Amazon Link
Size
96
Features
97
Sound Quality
96
Connectivity
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.99
Pros:

9 pads

2 pedals and 2 sets of drumsticks

Connect to the computer to use as a MIDI controller

Rechargeable battery

Play with your headphones

Cons:

Some reviewers categorize the sound as tinny and not quite drumlike.

The MINIARTIS Roll Up is another great mini-electronic drum to hit our list. It is great for kids and novices alike and is designed to be taken on the go. Weighing just about 2 pounds and coming with a convenient traveling case, you can roll this kit up and take it with you anywhere.

9 Different Pads
The MINIARTIS Roll Up features 9 separate pads that are all labeled for your convenience. With this set, you get 1 ride cymbal, 2 crash cymbals, 1 open and close high-hat, 3 toms, a bass drum, and a snare drum. The kit also comes with 2 pedals and 2 sets of drumsticks (one regular wood set and one maple red set). The sound quality of the internal speakers is decent and you can even plug your headphones in for a more intense sound. The product comes with a carrying case and travel bag so you can take it anywhere you go. It runs on a rechargeable lithium battery.

Compatible with Mac and PC
The MINIARTIS Roll Up comes with a USB hookup and audio cable so you can plug this unit into your computer and use it as a MIDI controller or use it to create tracks with your favorite software. With 11 songs you can play along to, 9 demos, and full control over tempo, you can practice along at your own speed until you get the hang of things.

Cost and Value
The MINIARTIS Roll Up rings up towards the bottom of our price range and we like its value because it has a wide range of pad sounds and because it is so easily portable.

7. ROLAND TD-1DMK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
ROLAND TD-1DMK
Amazon Link
Size
95
Features
99
Sound Quality
98
Connectivity
99
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$629.99
Pros:

8 pads

Pads are tension-adjustable

15 pre-loaded sets

256 notes

Comes with Melodic for V-drums coaching technology

Cons:

Kit doesn’t come with kick pedals

The ROLAND TD-1DMK is a heavy-duty kit that can serve as a great kit to grow into or as a practice kit for those who are a little more experienced. This is not a portable product though it is easy enough to break down and move if necessary or when playing a gig.

Dual-Ply Heads Made from Mesh
The ROLAND TD-1DMK is great for beginners and experienced drummers alike. It includes 3 toms, a snare, a kick, a high-hat, and its control pedal, a ride, a crash, and the stand. We love that the pads are made from dual-ply mesh that you can adjust the tension on so that resistance can be amped up as you get better and better. You will need to hook this up to a monitor for sound, but you can plug your headphones into the jack and enjoy your kit that way. This product comes loaded with 15 pre-set kits, 256 notes, and an adjustable metronome. It runs on AC power.

Coach Onboard with Melodics
The ROLAND TD-1DMK comes with built-in Melodics coaching technology that helps you along your way to becoming a more accurate and technical drummer. It works sort of like a game so it’s super engaging and will propel your skills to the next level. The kit itself is intuitive to use and it’s easy to set up right out of the box so you’ll be grooving in no time.

Cost and Value
The ROLAND TD-1DMK rings up at the high end of our price range and we like its value because it features adjustable pads and because it comes with a built-in coach to help boost your confidence in playing as well as your skills.

8. ORASANT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
ORASANT
Amazon Link
Size
95
Features
94
Sound Quality
93
Connectivity
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.95
Pros:

Change snare and hi-hat positions

7 pads

Connect to external speakers or headphones

MIDI controller capable

Rechargeable battery

Pause while playing demo

Cons:

Some reviewers believe this is best for super young kids and that teens won’t be as engaged with the product.

The ORASANT is a quality set for the budding drummer in your family. With customizable features, this is a great first set to practice on and experiment with. Plus, this little guy weighs less than 3 pounds and is waterproof so you can feel comfortable when taking it on the road.

Interchangeable Snare and Hi-Hat Positions
The ORASANT is complete with 7 pads: 1 snare, 1 hi-hat, 1 ride, 1 crash, and 3 toms. We love the special feature of being able to change the position of the snare and hi-hat to suit the user's needs--something you won’t find on every fixed set. This product comes with 2 pedals and 2 drumsticks. It comes pre-loaded with 8 demos, 5 timbres, and 3 different rhythms to play around with. The 2 built-in speakers provide nice quality sound, though you can always connect an external speaker or your headphones for an extra boost. It runs on a rechargeable battery that will provide about 10 hours worth of play time per charge.

Pause Enabled on Demo
The ORASANT has a super intuitive interface where each port is clearly labeled so you can be sure you’re plugging each of your devices into the correct place. This set is compatible with external speakers, MP3 players, your phone, headphones, and your computer as a MIDI controller. Plus, we love that you can pause a demo while playing in case you need to take a pause and slow down.

Cost and Value
The ORASANT rings up at the bottom of our price range and we like its value because it offers customizable features that other products at this price point do not.

9. Drumskool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Drumskool
Amazon Link
Size
94
Features
94
Sound Quality
93
Connectivity
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.95
Pros:

Pads arranged like a real drum kit

External speaker and head-phone capable

Powered by rechargeable batteries

Tutorials from Drumskool

Comes with 2 sticks and 2 pedals

Cons:

Some reviewers report that the pad response is just decent.

The Drumskool is laid out like a real kit and comes loaded with tutorial options so you’ll be ready to move from this set to a real set in no time.

Layout Like a Real Drum Kit
The Drumskool comes uniquely laid out like a real drum kit with 3 toms, a bass drum, a snare, a high-hat, a ride, and 2 crashes. This layout is great for practice and for transitioning onto a standard drum kit. The two woofer speakers deliver a nice bass and range of sound, and the device features a headphone jack and external speaker option. The kit comes with 2 drumsticks and 2 pedals. It is powered by rechargeable batteries, and every chord that you need comes with the device.

Connect Phone for Drumskool Tutorials
The Drumskool comes with some really great training features. Simply connect your phone to the device to access different tutorials from Drumskool and to also play along with your favorite music. You can even play to youtube videos so it feels like you’re actually part of the band. This kit is MIDI controller capable.

Cost and Value
The Drumskool rings up at the bottom of our price range and we like its value because it offers tutorials and because of its intuitive pad arrangement.

10. Alesis Surge Mesh Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Alesis Surge Mesh Kit
Amazon Link
Size
88
Features
95
Sound Quality
93
Connectivity
95
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$499.00
Pros:

AUX and USB ports

Choke and crash cymbals

Dual-zone snare and toms

Built-in sequencer for recording

Connect to Mac or PC

Cons:

Some reviewers complain about the quality of the hi-hat sound and responsiveness.

We round out our list with another Alesis product--the Surge Mesh Kit. This is a full-sized kit that offers great sound and features at a lesser price than the other full-sized units on our list. While it isn’t designed to be portable, it is easy to set up and take down so you can bring it with you to any gig or practice with little hassle.

True to Form Kick Drum and Pedal
The Alesis Surge Mesh Kit comes with 1 ride, 1 hi-hat, and 1 crash cymbal, each of them 10 inches in diameter and equipt with choke and crash capabilities. Plus, you get a 10-inch snare and 3 8-inch toms that are equipt with dual zone technology for more nuance in your playing. Plus, the kick drum and pedal mimic a real live drum set. We love that everything is included with this kit. You get the chrome rack, AC adapter, all necessary connecting cables, drum key, and drumsticks.

Built-In Sequencer for Recording
The Alesis Surge Mesh Kit comes with 40 pre-loaded kits, 385 percussion sounds, and 60 different tracks that you can play along with. Plus, it features a built-in sequencer so that you can easily record your tracks as you play. This unit is compatible with Mac OS 10.7 and later, as well as Windows 7 or later. With AUX and USB inputs, you can connect to your MP3 player or phone and use the USB as a MIDI controller.

Cost and Value
The Alesis Surge Mesh Kit rings up in the middle of our price range and we like its value because it offers tons of great features at a lesser cost than other full-size sets on our list.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

When compiling this Ten Best List, we took a good look at size. We provide a nice mix of full-sized kits to small, portable kits. We love the portable kits made from flexible silicon that roll up and fit in your bag nicely--especially those that weigh less than 3 pounds. We also love the full-size kits that can be put together and collapsed in a sinch for easy it portability to shows and practices.

Features

There are so many cool features we found in the products on this list.
We love pads that are able to make more than one sound (dual zones on snares and toms, and choke and crash capabilities on cymbals). We also love the products that come with multiple pre-programmed kits, as well as the capability to program your own personalized kits.
We love products that run on rechargeable batteries and AC power. And we especially love those units that can run on both.
Products that come with kick pedals are winners, as are the kits that come with sticks. Plus, those devices with tons of demo songs and percussion sounds rank highly on our list.
And we are wild about the devices that come with coaching technology and apps to help you practice and to up your skill level.

Sound Quality

Almost every one of the devices on our list comes with dual built-in speakers, though a few of the full-size sets need to be connected to a monitor. Plus, most of our sets come with headphone jacks so you can enjoy intimate sound without disturbing the rest of the house or neighborhood. We also love those units that can be hooked up to external speakers as well for even great volume. It’s worth noting that many of these speakers are not meant to be super loud, so extra volume may be necessary when jamming with others.

Connectivity

We absolutely love that most of our products can be connected to your computer and function as MIDI controllers. We also love those units that come with recording capabilities and those that come with apps and instructors to help hone your practice.

Value

We always consider value. We included 3-4 more expensive devices on this list (though they are by no means the most expensive units on the market), but most of our units are super affordable. We love the smaller kits that have advanced features of more expensive units. Plus, we love kits that can connect to your computer and serve another function. And of course, we love those devices that can stand up to heavy beatings.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Sound Quality
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Connectivity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Check Which Parts Are Not Included

We read tons of unhappy reviews from folks who ordered kits as gifts only to realize the day of that pedals and other important pieces were missing. Sometimes the pictures can be misleading, so we try our best to shout out which components are included and which are not. Make sure you read carefully as this can change the overall price of your unit to get it to be fully functioning.

Take It Slow

One of the major setbacks to learning how to play drums is trying to drum at a speed you aren’t comfortable with. That’s why we love the units that have adjustable metronomes and units that allow you to change the speed of the song or demo that you’re playing along to. It’s best to start slow and practice correctly than to play face and incorrectly. Work your way up to speed and you will be more skilled as a result.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

We love that the products on this list are so easy to use. Many of them are designed for children, so it is important that a child can figure out what they’re doing. The products that score the highest are intuitive to use and come with great instructions and tutorials to ease in use as well.

Accessories

We love products that come with relevant accessories always. Some of the best additions on this list include pedals, travel cases, travel bags, extra sticks, and easy-to-navigate coaching applications that make learning the drums a breeze.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why are some of these kits meant for kids?

a:

The reason some of these kits are designed for kids is because they are less responsive, versatile, and nuanced than some of the more sophisticated kits on our list. They are meant to stand up to the heavy beatings a child can deliver and they not equipt with super loud speakers because the makers had mercy on parents.

q: Do I have to connect to my computer?

a:

No. You can enjoy your kit without connecting the kit to your computer. However, you may not be able to access some features like choking and recording your beats without connecting your device through a USB to your desktop or laptop.

q: Can I use standard headphones in the jack?

a:

Most of the devices on our list do accept standard headphones in the jack though a few only accept ¼ inch headphones for recording style units. If you don’t have these headphones and you don’t feel like purchasing them, you can always purchase an adapter for next to nothing that will allow you to plug your standard headphones in.

q: What does it mean when it says I can program my own kits on my electronic set?

a:

Many of the devices on our list come with tons of different percussion sounds--some more than 500. These sounds range from different styles of crashing cymbals to a variety of different textured bass notes. Many of these devices also come with multiple different pre-set kits as well. This means that if the kit has 7 pads, 7 percussion sounds have been selected from the bank of percussion sounds and combined and saved to make a complete kit. Devices with the option to make your own kits allow you to select the 7 (or 5 or 9, depending on the number of pads on your drum set) percussion sounds that you would like and save them as a kit so that you can return to that specific kit over and over again without having to reprogram it. Using different sounding kits will add more nuance when you play along to different genres and will expand your playing range.

Sources