to top 10 table

Best Flannel Jackets Reviewed for Extreme Cold – 2020

last updated: Nov 19, 2020

Many jackets can be worn year-round; however, nothing exemplifies fall and winter style like the perfect flannel jacket. The best flannel jackets reminisce to the rustic, outdoor nature of this strong, yet comfortable wearing fabric. Many brands are finding better and newer ways to modernize them for today’s men and women. Regardless of where you find yourself in the outdoors, there is always room for one more flannel coat in your wardrobe.

Some of the best flannel jackets for the cold are not only durable but look good as well. We made sure to select durable, comfy and super warm options that are sure to keep you cozy outdoors facing the elements as well as indoors during the colder winter months.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 35 hrs of research

icon
Carhartt Quilted Flannel
98.6/100 our score
Comfort
100
Durability
99
Materials
98
Effectiveness
99
Style
97
Carhartt Quilted Flannel
Why is it better?

Color options

Rib-knit cuffs

Flannel-lined hood

12-ounce, 100% cotton sandstone duck

Jacket comes with two deep hand-warmer pockets for cold days or nights.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Carhartt Quilted Flannel
Test Winner: Carhartt Quilted Flannel
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
4
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Total Readers
11000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
13250
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
35
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Ana
By Ana:

We updated the list with some of the best models which got our attention in the second half of the year.

Sorting Options
Comfort Durability Materials Effectiveness Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Comfort
100 %
Durability
99 %
Materials
98 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Style
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$99.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Comfort
99 %
Durability
95 %
Materials
96 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Style
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$100.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Comfort
95 %
Durability
97 %
Materials
95 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Style
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Comfort
93 %
Durability
96 %
Materials
96 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Style
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$69.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Comfort
92 %
Durability
94 %
Materials
95 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Style
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Comfort
91 %
Durability
95 %
Materials
94 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Style
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$50.04
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Comfort
92 %
Durability
91 %
Materials
89 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Style
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$27.81
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Comfort
88 %
Durability
90 %
Materials
89 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Style
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$89.39
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Comfort
90 %
Durability
87 %
Materials
86 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Style
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$52.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Comfort
84 %
Durability
88 %
Materials
88 %
Effectiveness
86 %
Style
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$79.99
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
$46.94

11 Best Flannel Jackets

1. Carhartt Quilted Flannel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Carhartt Quilted Flannel Jacket
Carhartt Quilted Flannel Jacket 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
100
Durability
99
Materials
98
Effectiveness
99
Style
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.99
Pros:

Color options

Rib-knit cuffs

Flannel-lined hood

12-ounce, 100% cotton sandstone duck

Jacket comes with two deep hand-warmer pockets for cold days or nights.

Cons:

Heavy jacket

The Carhartt flannel jacket is hands down the best option we found out there. This jacket is built from some of the strongest and most durable materials, also granting extreme insulation and protection from wind and cold.

12-Ounce Cotton Sandstone Duck Fabric

Understanding what materials are used in creating a flannel jacket speaks volumes about the quality of the manufacturer. This specific jacket was built from 12-ounce 100% cotton sandstone duck. What this means is that it's designed for the cold. Additionally, this fabric is lined with quilted flannel and nylon to promote a softer and more comfortable feel.

Rib-Knit Cuffs

Have you ever purchased a jacket or sweatshirt just to find out that the cold weather kept getting to your skin? Carhartt sought to prevent this problem by creating rib-knit cuffs and a waistband. What this means is that you can control and prevent any extra cold air from seeping through the most-prone areas. Partner this with heavy-duty lining and insulation and you have one great jacket.

Cost and Value

This option is the most expensive on our list. However, this is one of the best-built flannel jackets on the market today. There are even 11 different colors to pick from – you can’t go wrong!

2. Volcom Field Insulated

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Volcom Men’s Field Insulated Snow Flannel Jacket
Volcom Men’s Field Insulated Snow Flannel Jacket 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
99
Durability
95
Materials
96
Effectiveness
96
Style
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$100.00
Pros:

Includes adjustable popper features throughout 

Features warm insulation 

Comes in a range of sizes 

Cons:

High price 

If you want an extra layer to keep you nice and toasty, look at the latest Volcom flannel jacket.

Adjustable Features

This option features a popper fastening along the front of the piece, allowing you to adjust the jacket easily so it is either closed or open. It comes with cuff snaps, giving you the option of having fitted cuffs or loose cuffs that can be rolled up. 

Comfortable Design and Materials 

Made from 100% cotton this snow flannel jacket is super soft to wear against your skin. Featuring a good amount of insulation, you will not be caught cold. The large hood also provides additional warmth and protection around your neck and head. The jacket includes a set of side seam hand pockets and chest pockets, giving you lots of space to store personal belongings. Available in two color options, you can choose from either black or army. The piece is also available in a variety of sizes ranging from X-Small to X-Large. 

Value and Cost

Sold for a high price, this is another of our more expensive jackets in our collection. If you are looking for a thicker, warmer item, this is a great pick. However, it may be too expensive for some. 

3. Legendary Whitetails Archer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Legendary Whitetails Men's Archer Shirt Jacket
Legendary Whitetails Men's Archer Shirt Jacket  2
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Durability
97
Materials
95
Effectiveness
96
Style
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

High-quality materials

Patented Legendary Signature Buck snaps

Quilted sleeves

Poly-Fill Insulation technology

Cons:

Does not run true to size

This option was constructed with the very best materials. This includes the company’s patented snaps and embroidery, poly-fill insulation, and much more.

High-Quality Build

If you are looking to pick out the best flannel jacket on the market, you need to pay close attention to the materials used in constructing it. This flannel jacket was made from materials including 100% cotton yarn-dyed plaid and a mixture of cotton and polyester. Due to this, it features extended durability than typical flannel jackets.

Fully Poly-Fill Insulation

What makes this jacket great for those winter months is the fully poly-fill insulation.

Cost and Value

This specific option is considered costlier. We would like to mention though that this is one of the manufacturer’s cheaper flannel-based products and honestly, it's worth every penny.

4. Woolrich Oxbow Ben

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Woolrich Oxbow Ben Flannel Jacket
Woolrich Men's Oxbow Bend Flannel Shirt 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
93
Durability
96
Materials
96
Effectiveness
95
Style
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.97
Pros:

Built to last

Flannel material is incredibly thick

Cotton is soft to touch.

Will not shrink after washing

Cons:

slightly larger than marketed size

This jacket has become popular because of the high-quality designs, long life-expectancy, and great cost-to-value ratio. If you are looking for a specific flannel design or color, chances are, this brand has you covered!

32 Different Pattern or Color Options

Are you shocked at the idea of having over 32 different patterns or color options to pick from? It’s quite staggering when you think about it. In fact, there are so many different options and styles, you might need to scroll through the list multiple times to pick out your favorites. However, given the low cost you might end up wanting to purchase multiple!

7 oz. Heavyweight Cotton Flannel

The one area that caught our attention was the inclusion of 7-ounce heavyweight cotton flannel material. For those who do not know, this is high-quality and thick cotton.

Cost and Value

This option is competitively priced. The brand itself is well known and is considered a leader in this industry – hence their pricing strategy.

5. Dickies Women’s Quilted Flannel Jacket  

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Dickies womens Quilted Flannel Shirt Jacket
Dickies womens Quilted Flannel Shirt Jacket 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Durability
94
Materials
95
Effectiveness
93
Style
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

6 different patterns and color options

100% brushed flannel cotton

Features a quilted jersey lining

Lightweight 

Princess seam gives a feminine silhouette

Cons:

Mid-price 

Limited sizes available 

Sometimes some of the best flannel jackets are the more understated ones. Rather than a jacket, this piece from Dickies offers a women’s quilted flannel shirt that can be worn with a light top underneath or simply on its own.

6 Different Patterns and Color Options 

The jacket comes in 6 different patterns and colors giving you lots to choose from. Some of the options include Black/ Red Heather Buffalo, Blue Two-Tone Herringbone, and Navy/Dusky Orchid Paid. 

Brushed Flannel Shell 

Made from 100% brushed flannel cotton, this shirt is great for wearing all year round, either on its own or under an item. The piece features a quilted jersey lining, providing the warmth needed in the colder months. Constructed with princess seams, this gives the piece a more feminine silhouette. The shirt has two welt pockets on the chest and two pockets on the lower front part of the shirt. 

Cost and Value 

Sold for a mid-price, Dickies have taken the traditional flannel jacket and have given it a lighter, feminine twist. If you love flannel jackets but want something a little different, this is a great option. Slightly more expensive than some of our other items, this women’s shirt jacket may not be to everyone’s taste and budget, but we are certain some women will love it! 

6. Wrangler Rugged Wear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Wrangler Men's Rugged Wear Flannel Lined Jacket
Wrangler Men's Rugged Wear Flannel Lined Jacket 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
91
Durability
95
Materials
94
Effectiveness
92
Style
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$50.04
Pros:

High-quality denim exterior

Comfortable flannel lining on the interior

Adjustable waist

Cons:

Quite tight

No interior pockets

This jacket has definitely been named one of the best on the market today. When buying from Wrangler, you can be sure you are investing in their quality denim and cotton materials.

Denim and Cotton Materials

Many consumers have raved about the impressive touch and feel of the exterior part of the jacket. Additionally, traditional flannel lovers believe the interior lining is the major selling point.

Adjustable Features

What sets this jacket apart from other flannel jackets on our list is the fact that here, you can adjust the waist of the jacket. The reason behind these adjustable features is to provide the opportunity to maximize their comfort. Partner this with secure and tight button cuffs and you get a super warm jacket.

Cost and Value

This flannel jacket was designed by one of the most notable brands when it comes to denim. As a result, the price is slightly higher.

7. UnionBay Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Unionbay Men's Classic Flannel Hoodie
Unionbay Men's Classic Flannel Hoodie 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Durability
91
Materials
89
Effectiveness
90
Style
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.81
Pros:

Multiple colors

Great layering option

Affordable

Cons:

Not true to size

Fabric is thinner than typical flannel jackets

If you are looking for a simple flannel jacket that can be used all year-round and is durable enough to last for a few years, the UnionBay flannel hoodie is something you should consider. With over 11 different color patterns to pick from, you will find that options are nearly endless with this brand.

11 Different Patterns and Color Options

This shirt jacket comes in over 11 different varieties to choose from, which is incredibly exciting.

Great for Layering

Whether it’s winter or summer, this is a great flannel jacket that can be used alone or as an additional layer under a heavier jacket. You may even opt to wear thermals underneath for maximum comfort, flexibility, and warmth. The options are endless.

Cost and Value

This option is not expensive at all. If you are looking for something good and simple at an affordable price, this is exactly it.

8. Volcom Women's Hooded Flannel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Volcom Women's Hooded Yarn Dye Flannel Snow Jacket 
Volcom Women's Hooded Yarn Dye Flannel Snow Jacket  2
Amazon Link
Comfort
88
Durability
90
Materials
89
Effectiveness
87
Style
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.39
Pros:

Available in different patterns and colors

Offers a long-oversized fit

Comes in a variety of sizes 

Cons:

Reviewers found that the sizing was not accurate

High price 

Volcom is known for their flannel jackets and this Volcom women’s hooded jacket is one of their best!

5 Different Pattern and Colour Options 
 
The jacket comes in 5 different pattern and color options giving you lots to choose from. Colour varieties include Black, Stripe, Purple Haze, Bone, and Navy. 

Comfortable Design and Materials 

Extremely comfortable and cozy to wear, you will not want to take this jacket off for a single second! Made from 60% cotton, this jacket will be lovely and soft alongside your skin. Featuring a long-oversized fit, the jacket has a hood with drawcords, allowing you to tighten the hood. The jacket uses poppers to fasten close to the jacket and along with the two front chest pockets. The flannel hooded jacket comes in a variety of sizes ranging from X-Small to X-Large.  

Cost and Value

This is among the most expensive option in our collection. If you have a big budget to spend, this is a lovely piece of clothing to purchase because it will keep you warm in colder weather. It also offers a longer, oversized fit that allows you to snuggle up in. However, this piece may be too overpriced for some budgets. 

9. CQR Flannel Lined Shirt

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
CQR Men's Flannel Lined Shirt Jackets
CQR Men's Flannel Lined Shirt Jackets 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Durability
87
Materials
86
Effectiveness
88
Style
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$52.98
Pros:

Flannel lined shirt

Brushed suede outer part

Multiple color options to pick from

Exceptionally durability and windproof 

Cons:

Reviewers found sizing was not accurate 

Flannel fabric is normally featured externally, however, the designers at CQR have opted for a more understated look where the jacket is lined with a flannel shirt and has a brushed suede outer part.

Flannel Lined Shirt Jacket 

The flannel lining is made from 100% cotton and has a traditional plaid pattern, consisting of horizontal and vertical bands in two or more colors, varying in width. Available in 8 different color variations there really is something for everyone. 

Comfortable Design and Materials 

This is one of the most comfortable cold weather jackets in our collection. Built for mobility, the jacket has been constructed with rear pleats, providing a relaxed fit and full functional movement. The sleeves can easily be adjusted, featuring hard fast snaps around the cuffs. The jacket also has dual pockets and full-front snap closure. The faux-suede outer is exceptionally durable and will certainly keep the cold out, leaving you nice and warm. The jacket's inner lining is made from yarn-dyed 100% cotton, making the inside of the jacket super soft and toasty to wear. 

Cost and Value

Featuring a faux suede outer, this is one of the more durable jackets in our collection. Sold for a mid-price, you are getting a lot in return for your money with this flannel lined jacket. 

10. Legendary Whitetails Camp Night Berber

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Legendary Whitetails Men’s Camp Night Berber Lined Hooded Flannel Shirt Jacket 
Legendary Whitetails Men’s Camp Night Berber Lined Hooded Flannel Shirt Jacket  2
Amazon Link
Comfort
84
Durability
88
Materials
88
Effectiveness
86
Style
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.99
Pros:

Soft Berber lining

Smooth quilted lined sleeves

Reinforced elbow patches and twin chest pockets 

Available in a range of colors and sizes 

Cons:

Reviewers found jacket became damaged after washing

The second option from Legendary Whitetails on this list is a fantastic jacket if you are looking for a quality product. Stylish, soft, and well insulated, you will not want to be without your Legendary Whitetails coat this winter.

Soft Berber Lining 

Legendary Whitetail has lined their jacket with a thick super soft Berber material and insulate it with poly-fill so you will never feel the cold. The large hood is also lined with Berber, for ultimate warmth.  

High-Quality Build 

This hooded flannel shirt jacket is certainly built to a high quality. As well as the Berber lining, the jacket features a full polyester brushed flannel shell with a 100% cotton lining. The coat also has smooth quilted lined sleeves for amazing comfort, warmth, and easy on/off movement.

Great design choices throughout the jacket include reinforced elbow patches and twin chest pockets. The side pockets are also embroidered with the Legendary Signature Buck. When it comes to color choices, this jacket is available in 5 different designs. It also comes in a range of sizes varying from Small to XX-Large T. 

Cost and Value 

If you have a bigger budget to spend, this option should be at the top of your list for must-have buys.

11. Wrangler Riggs Hooded Flannel

Wrangler Riggs Workwear Men’s Hooded Flannel Work Jacket 
Wrangler Riggs Workwear Men’s Hooded Flannel Work Jacket  2
Amazon Link
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$46.94
Pros:

Made from 100% cotton flannel

Has lightweight insulation

Has an adjustable hood 

Cons:

Only available in one color

Size variation is limited 

This Wrangler Riggs hooded flannel jacket is a great option if you are looking for a more casual jacket to wear to work. Durable enough for daily wear, this jacket will look great worn with a range of clothes including jeans, chinos, or cords as well as a shirt.

Great for Layering 

Whatever the weather, the jacket is great for layering. The relaxed style jacket offers a looser construction that allows you to move more freely while wearing multiple layers. 

Comfortable Design and Materials 

Made from 100% cotton flannel, the jacket is super soft to wear and will certainly keep you warm when you are outside. The jacket's lightweight insulation consists of a quilted lining that provides extra warmth without being too bulky. Extra coverage also comes in the form of an adjustable three-piece hood that features drawstrings. The piece has two side seam pockets, giving you somewhere to store your wallet or phone. The jacket includes a zipper closure and is machine washable. 

Cost and Value 

Available for a mid-price, this flannel jacket from Wrangler is a great alternative to your coat. Being stylish, lightweight, and warm, this jacket has heaps to offer. Unfortunately, it only comes in one color and the sizes are quite limited. 

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

During our evaluation process, it was important that each option on the list was super comfy to wear.

This may mean including different features such as adjustable waists, shoulder vents, or softer insulation. There have been thousands of customers who have purchased a flannel jacket that looked comfortable; however, it was stiffer than a wooden board. This is why we truly tested each option and checked customer reviews to see whether there were any complaints when it came to comfort of wear.

Effectiveness

Usually flannel jackets are the ultimate goal for those who are looking for a casual jacket that is extra warm.

So, in our research, we paid special attention to insulation and similar features aimed at keeping you warm. If you want to purchase a jacket that grants warmth, pay close attention to options that are known for their insulation and lining.

Durability

Every single flannel jacket is built from unique materials. Understanding what a jacket is made of, including the interior lining, pockets, and any other feature is important.

In some cases, brands use high quality cotton. In other cases it's some other material known for its durability. In any case, it's always good when a brand offers you money back guarantee. We did include a few options that come with such a warranty!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
What Are The Top Brands?

It’s safe to say that, given the vast number of manufacturers out there, so many brands are claiming to be the best in the industry. With that being said, it’s important to know the top brands, such as Legendary Whitetails, Woolrich, Wrangler, Carhartt and this is just to mention a few. Obviously, we feature most of these brands on our list!

Other Factors to Consider

Weight

The weight of a jacket makes a significant difference when it comes to wearability and pricing. In evaluating different flannel jackets available on the market today, the best options were those that had a balance between the weight, features, and price. What we noticed was that there is a clear distinction between heavy flannel jackets and light-weight flannel jackets. Know what you need or want and then find your match.

Style

In doing our research, we thought it was important to highlight flannel jackets that boast both high-quality materials and come in a lot of color options.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why should I purchase a flannel jacket?

a:

The reason why flannel jackets are such a great purchase is that they are stylish and do a great job of keeping you warm in the cold.

q: What is the best material used to create a flannel jacket?

a:

It’s safe to say that one of the best materials on the market today to create a flannel jacket is 100% cotton. Cotton is one of the most durable and softest materials. There are also other materials that are equal to or better than cotton. The best fabrics to look out for are those that are considered dense. The denser the material is, the warmer your jacket.

q: What is the difference between flannel and plaid?

a:

Plaid is a type of design. Flannel, on the other hand, is a specific type of material that is used in the manufacturing process.

q: How do I know if a flannel jacket will keep me warm in the winter?

a:

The best way to know whether a flannel jacket will you warm or not is to look at the insulation on the interior. Additionally, it’s worth looking to see if the jacket comes with any external features to help prevent cold from getting through any areas.

q: How do I know what size to buy?

a:

In most cases, a brand will provide you will an online or digital size chart. Our biggest word of advice when it comes to sizing is always see if previous customers are talking about sizing and fit. If other people are saying that a jacket does not run true to size, you may need to size up or down.

q: Will flannel jackets shrink in the washer machine?

a:

It’s difficult to say whether a specific flannel jacket will shrink after being washed. With that being said, what we recommend doing is following the brand's instructions when it comes to washing and drying.

Sources