to top 10 table

Best Heated Jackets Reviewed & Rated for Quality and Use

last updated Sep 01, 2019

Regular jackets keep you warm, but heated jackets keep you toasty. When you’re in harsh conditions, a heated jacket can help you avoid the bulk you have to wear to keep warm. As an added benefit most of them can charge portable products while doing their main job. But you may be asking yourself: "do I really need one?" They are a bit pricey and depending on the product we're not talking about days worth of heat, we're talking hours. But here's why you should consider one: A heated jacket will stop your body from having to divert blood to your core to maintain body temperature. Also, a heated jacket lets you lose some layers. Both of these things can be vital for people who make their living out of doors.

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
 ORORO
94/100 our score
Power Source
94
Value
95
Brand
94
Fit
94
Weight
93
ORORO
Why is it better?

The battery lasts eight hours

Great placement of separate chest warming zones

The detachable hood is a great added feature. 

Offers 4 different temperature levels. 

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 ORORO
Test Winner: ORORO
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
13k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Shanena Ketchum
By Shanena Ketchum:

With this update, we searched to be sure we had all the best selections available to you. In our search, we found that we needed to change two of our products on the list. We did so with two better-suited replacements. Be sure to check out the updated list.

Sorting Options
Power Source Value Brand Fit Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Power Source
96 %
Value
95 %
Brand
95 %
Fit
94 %
Weight
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$119.94
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Power Source
94 %
Value
95 %
Brand
94 %
Fit
94 %
Weight
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$149.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Power Source
94 %
Value
93.5 %
Brand
93 %
Fit
89 %
Weight
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Power Source
90 %
Value
90 %
Brand
89 %
Fit
92 %
Weight
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$199.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Power Source
88 %
Value
89 %
Brand
90 %
Fit
91 %
Weight
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$159.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Power Source
88 %
Value
89 %
Brand
87 %
Fit
87 %
Weight
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Power Source
87 %
Value
88 %
Brand
85 %
Fit
86 %
Weight
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$242.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Power Source
80 %
Value
79 %
Brand
78 %
Fit
79 %
Weight
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$139.97
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
Power Source
77 %
Value
75 %
Brand
74 %
Fit
78 %
Weight
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.4
Power Source
75 %
Value
74 %
Brand
73 %
Fit
74 %
Weight
71 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$139.95

Best Heated Jackets

1. DEWALT DCHJ061C1-S

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
 DEWALT DCHJ061C1-S
Amazon Link
Power Source
96
Value
95
Brand
95
Fit
94
Weight
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$119.94
Pros:

Can use compatible DeWalt Battery packs

3 different temperature settings

Can do a great job keeping you warm. 

Offers great value and usability. 

Cons:

Only 3 pockets

And of course at the top of the list is the DCHJ061C1-S, arguably the best jacket from DeWalt. Blending all of the best features of the other jackets into one, this is an all-around favorite of customers worldwide.

Fastest Preheating On The List
It takes less than a minute to get to the highest temperature, which is great when you’re on the go. It’s also handy if you need to go outside for short bursts of time quickly.

It's Just Easy
The best on the list shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone that follows the industry closely. This is a jacket that won’t let you down and is easy to operate. It's available in 6 different sizes, and it also has a water-resistant twill outer shell, so it's sure to keep you warm.

Cost And Value
Based on the size, the price floats from low to high. Buyers that want the best DeWalt has to offer will instantly get value from this purchase.

2. ORORO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
 ORORO
Amazon Link
Power Source
94
Value
95
Brand
94
Fit
94
Weight
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$149.99
Pros:

The battery lasts eight hours

Great placement of separate chest warming zones

The detachable hood is a great added feature. 

Offers 4 different temperature levels. 

Cons:

The zipper is on the left side

Rounding out the end of the list in the number 2 spot is a heated jacket from Ororo. A small detail is what rockets this so high on the list, and for many potential buyers that details make a big difference.

Detachable Hood
This makes the jacket, even though it seems like a small detail. Besides getting rid of unnecessary bulk when you don’t need it, there is also the advantage of cleaning it separately.

Well Priced With Lots of Features
With a really cool core feature, there will be a lot of buyers lining up to purchase this for the cold weather. The price is right, and it introduces a new kind of heated jacket style, with a healthy 4v 4400 mAh battery and charger, and 4 temperature levels.

Cost And Value
The price is average across the board for all sizes, so no worries about one of the best being high priced. And with the detachable hood, there is even incentive to purchase more than one for the cool mixing and matching styles.

3. OORORO Lightweight Heated Vest with Battery Pack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
OORORO Lightweight Heated Vest with Battery Pack
Amazon Link
Power Source
94
Value
93.5
Brand
93
Fit
89
Weight
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Keeps body and hands warm

Four carbon fiber heating elements

The battery can run up to 10 hours

Three adjustable heat settings

Durable material

Cons:

Vest might fit tight, it’s suggested to size up, especially if you want to layer underneath

Battery length might waiver

Okay, yes. We switched it up a little bit with this one since this ORORO option is a heated vest and not a jacket. But, the idea is the same. This ORORO lightweight heated vest gives all of the same benefits as the other ORORO heated jacket on our list, just a bit more mobility since you are not restricted by the sleeves of a jacket, and you can layer under this vest for more warmth as well.

Four carbon fiber heating elements
This ORORO heated vest is designed for full warmth. The four carbon heaters generate heat across the collar, mid-back front and pockets. While wearing this vest with layers underneath, you shouldn’t go cold. You can also adjust the heat by simply pressing a heat-adjusting button. There are three heat settings: high, medium and low. The high setting maxes out at 130-degrees Fahrenheit, medium at 120-degrees F and low at 100-degrees F.


Long-lasting battery

This vest comes with a 7.4V cUL/UL certified battery. The battery is long-lasting with up to 10 hours of heat from a full charge. The battery charges using a USB port/cable and comes with a universal travel adapter, which is super convenient to take with you wherever you are. You can charge up the battery in seconds for a quick boost if the battery dies. Depending on what heat setting you use, you can use the battery efficiently, too. On high, the battery can run up to three hours, on medium up to six hours and on low, you can reach the max of 10 hours.

Cost And Value
Overall, this heated vest might seem pricey upfront, but it has a lot of value. It’s a great vest for almost any occasion, whether you are outdoors or indoors somewhere that is cold. It is certified to safely wear. And, with such a long-lasting battery, incredible warmth, mobility, and style, this ORORO heated vest is a great choice in our opinion.

4. Dragon Heatwear Sahara Heated Jacket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Dragon Heatwear Sahara Heated Jacket
Amazon Link
Power Source
90
Value
90
Brand
89
Fit
92
Weight
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.00
Pros:

Zipper closure front a three pockets

The battery can run up to 10 hours

Three adjustable heat settings

Durable material

Wind and water-resistant

Machine washable (first remove the battery)

Cons:

Coat materials are averageWith lots of wear, the battery could drain faster than expected

Zippers are always subject to break with too much rough wear

The Dragon Heatwear Sahara heated jacket is great for the person that is looking to adventure outdoors when the temperatures start to drop. This jacket is perfect for wearing on a hike, while hunting, while out on a run, or doing other cold-weather sports. On the contrary, this jacket is also great for wearing indoors in places that are cold, whether that be at work or simply lounging around the house.

Three heat settings
No one wants a heated jacket with one heat setting, we all want adjustability. This Dragon Heatwear jacket does just that. This jacket offers three heat settings, similar to others on this list. You get high, medium and low heat settings. This jacket heats in three zones as well. It heats in two places in the chest and on the back (and also as the heat travels you can warm your hands in the pockets). That’s full trunk coverage. Not only that, but the inner liner is fleece, which also adds a layer of warmth, too.

Zippers for secure closure
Yes, the focus of this jacket is that it will heat you up. However, this is still a jacket and you should still want to know that it has solid closures, whether that’s for keeping the heat trapped or your valuables in the pockets. This jacket has two hand pockets and one chest pocket. All of them have zipper closures. Also, even though this jacket heats at the chest and hands, you can still safely keep your phone or other electronics in the pocket as well.

Cost And Value
This Dragon Heatwear jacket is among one of the pricier on our list, but overall it’s a great quality jacket that is designed to keep you warm. Since it’s so well made, you’re sure to get years of wear out of it, and therefore we believe this jacket has a lot of value; especially if you live somewhere with a cool to cold climate a majority of the year.

5. DEWALT DCHJ062C1 20V/12V

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
 DEWALT DCHJ062C1 20V/12V
Amazon Link
Power Source
88
Value
89
Brand
90
Fit
91
Weight
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$159.99
Pros:

Preheat option available with the controls

The outer shell is water-resistant

Large selection of sizes for all consumers

Stylish design to match outdoor needs

Cons:

7 included pockets are not as deep as others

DeWalt makes the list again, this time for the DCHJ062C1-XL. It’s one of the more formidable heated jackets in their lineup and lives up to expectations.

Great Size Selection
Available sizes are 3x-Large, XX-Large, X-Large, Large, Medium and Small. They all fit reasonably well regardless of gender.

Plenty of Power
There is a lot of power in this jacket and more than enough to power itself and whatever portable devices you have. For a great pick that has a lot of juice, buyers will find this an appropriate option. It also has 4 heating zones and 3 different temperature settings.

Cost And Value
Depending on which size you get, the price will be between average and high. Considering there are multiple ports for charging devices, this is a tremendous value.

6. Milwaukee KIT M12 12V

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
 Milwaukee KIT M12 12V
Amazon Link
Power Source
88
Value
89
Brand
87
Fit
87
Weight
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Probably the best battery performance on the list

Distributes heat evenly across the entire jacket

Stylish and fashionable design

Can help keep the consumer warm

Cons:

Price

Milwaukee went the extra mile to ensure that their heated jacket had all the tools necessary to be one of the best. It started with a proprietary heating system and ended with a sleek sporty look.

An Incredible Battery
Using their own in-house M12 red lithium battery, Milwaukee can measure its performance against some of the best on the list. It’s long-lasting and charges fast, so you’re not left without any juice.

High Tech Features
This jacket is specially designed with what Milwaukee calls Advanced 5 Carbon Fiber technology. What that means is that it retains warmth extremely well. It's also designed to fit well and comes in all kinds of sizes including X-Large, Large and 2x-Large

Cost And Value
This is one of the most expensive jackets on the list, if not the most expensive period. Buyers will get their money’s worth with the battery alone, which is truly revolutionary.

7. Smarkey Heated Jacket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
 Smarkey Heated Jacket
Amazon Link
Power Source
87
Value
88
Brand
85
Fit
86
Weight
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$242.00
Pros:

Tough against the elements and resistant to tears

Light and comfortable

Warming zones on back and waist

Great design for all outdoor needs 

Cons:

Jacket runs small

While we normally just put the best of the best on here without regard to gender we decided we needed to make an exception for this Smarkey jacket because it's designed specifically for women. What that means is that it's designed to keep you warm everywhere but in the chest area. The heating areas are on the sides and the back. It's a nice thought, and it doesn't mean that it's designed with a slimmer fit for a woman's body.

Slim Fir and Design
This jacket is different as there is no bulk to it, it's really quite fetching, The style makes it hard to notice that this is a heated option. That being said the jacket does run a bit small, so keep that in mind. Beyond that, it's 100% polyester and completely waterproof, and washer safe.

Warming Zones
As we said these jackets have areas for warmth on the back and in the waist. For a woman, this is a big deal. But that doesn't mean it won't keep you warm, it will.

Cost And Value
This comes in at a good mid-price. It's not cheap by any means but if style and comfort are what you're looking for this jacket is hard to bear.

8. PROsmart HJ-27-50

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
 PROsmart HJ-27-50
Amazon Link
Power Source
80
Value
79
Brand
78
Fit
79
Weight
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.97
Pros:

One of the longest-lasting heat times in the industry

Soft and comfortable jacket

The jacket is made from lightweight materials

Does a great job at helping consumers retain heat

Cons:

No adjustable heating

Portable and friendly, this PROsmart branded heated jacket is a nice alternative than the bigger brands. Using a smaller battery has its benefits, and will greatly affect how many people decide on this purchase.

Use A Standard 12v Battery
The battery is a bit smaller than the others on the list and adds virtually no weight to the jacket. On top of that, it charges quickly and lasts longer than expected.

Long Lasting Battery
The specialty of this jacket is its long-lasting battery. Specs suggest that it will keep you warm for as long as 12 hours. What's even better is that this jacket is machine washable which makes upkeep a bit easier if you tend to go off-trail.

Cost And Value
The value is great for this low priced jacket that has an insane battery run time. Buyers on the go will find the long-lasting battery a lifesaver on time-sensitive trips.

9. Bosch PSJ120XXL-102-RT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
 Bosch PSJ120XXL-102-RT
Amazon Link
Power Source
77
Value
75
Brand
74
Fit
78
Weight
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Five roomy storage pockets

USB devices can be charged through the jacket

High-quality concentrated heating 

Comes built with reflective straps

Cons:

Will have trouble charging devices with high capacity batteries

And following DeWalt is another big brand name in the tool industry, Bosch with their PSJ120XXL-102-RT. The same benefits of other heated jackets are in this one, with little extra options thrown in to spice things up.

More Concentrated Heating Zones
The usual three core heating zones are available in this jacket but are better equipped to provide heat. You’ll get maximum heat with no wasted energy for all sizes.

Safe and Warm
These jackets not only keep you warm but ups the ante with some special safety features like the included safety strips in case the user is lost or say working to change a tire in dark, bad weather.

Cost And Value
Available for an average price, this is a very comfortable choice if you’re looking for a heated jacket. There is good value if you don’t need a jacket with a strong charging port.

10. VentureHeat Evolve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.4
 VentureHeat Evolve
Amazon Link
Power Source
75
Value
74
Brand
73
Fit
74
Weight
71
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.95
Pros:

LED controller provides clear operation

3 Heating Zones

This jacket can be used with different battery packs

Can help keep consumers warm in any temperatures

Cons:

Battery Pack Not Included

We've updated this list with the VentureHeat unisex hoodie even though the battery pack is sold separately because we like the look of it and the fact that it works with all kinds of battery packs and we're not huge fans of proprietary technology. This has everything you want in a heated jacket and also looks cool.

Battery Compatibility
This hoodie is meant to be compatible with most 2.1 amp power packs. No proprietary stuff here. Just plug and go outside and play.

Polyester Shell and Fleece
Not only does this jacket have three heat settings, but it also has a warm cotton polyester shell and a fleece lining that just added to the heat that the battery-powered warming element provides. And to top it all off its fully machine washable.

Cost And Value
The jacket itself is cheap, but it doesn't come with the power pack included. But you can buy the pair and these jackets are still really quite reasonable. So don't let the fact the "batteries not included" thing deter you.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Power Source

For those times that you find yourself in a situation where your standard-issue winter jacket just won’t cut it, a heated jacket becomes an ideal choice.  Not to make things too easy though, heated jackets come with different methods of keeping you warm, depending on your needs. The two most common methods that you’re going to come across are electric and chemical heat.  Each has its own strengths and weaknesses, and these should be taken into account accordingly.

First, chemically heated jackets are going to be the most economical choice, as there is no hardware required.  These jackets get their heat from thermal packs, much like the ones used as hand warmers, only larger. When agitated, these packs create a thermal reaction that then radiates heat throughout the jacket.  These are ideal for shorter periods of exposure to the elements, as they do provide a significant amount of heat, but only for a limited time. Also, the coverage these packs provide isn’t great. Most of the time, this type of heat is found with heavier coats as the second line of defense.

The next form is electric heating.  This consists of a battery, either Lithium Ion or Nickel Cadmium, with a heating element attached to it to transfer the heat through the coat. These coats are quite more expensive, but provide greater amounts of controlled heat for as long as the battery holds out. These are perfect for prolonged exposure, and thanks to their effectiveness, can be used in lighter jackets that don’t restrict movement as much.  Despite their superior performance, many people still opt for chemical heat due to the fear of electrocution or fire. This is generally unfounded, as electric heating devices contain no live circuits.

Whatever method is chosen, the extra cost associated with heated jackets is more than made up for by the peace of mind they provide on the harshest winter conditions.  The extra warmth created lets you spend more time outdoors doing whatever it is you want to do.

Value

Just like basic winter jackets vary in price depending on materials, so will heated jackets vary based on the methods and fabrics. As mentioned before, electric heat costs more but also does more. This extra cost is justified by the greater range of motion from the lighter, stretchier materials. Also, these materials tend to be very breathable, allowing some air circulation and preventing sweating. On the other hand, chemically heated coats are going to be bulkier and more constricting, but because the heat comes from thermal packs, no extra pieces are used, and the cost can be controlled a bit more.  Keep in mind that you will likely need to purchase these packs at some point. However, they are generally pretty cheap, and very easy to come by.

Brand

Usually, I would never use the brand as a determining factor when choosing to clothe to keep you warm. I have also, however, also stated many times before that with clothing, you do usually get what you pay for. Because of this, I do consider the brand, leaning more toward a well-known, trusted company over a newer upstart. This can be tricky with heated jackets though, unusually where electric heat is concerned since you’re looking at two products: the coat and the heating element.

For chemically heated coats, you are pretty safe to go with almost any known brand, because there is no heating element. Just make sure to pick one that uses quality fabrics and take pride in solid construction, and you should be good to go.

Now, for electric heat, you are going to not only want to choose a very well built jacket, but you also need to look at the brand of battery that they decide to incorporate into their product. Luckily, good quality batteries tend to go hand-in-hand with well-made coats, so if you find one, you should be set for the other. This is where I am the most discriminating. Going with an unknown brand could result in the coat not keeping you warm when needed, and that can be dangerous. Some of the most trusted brands here are Bosch, Dewalt, and Ororo. The first two are experienced battery makers, while Ororo is known as a reliable all-around maker of winter gear.

Fit

This is incredibly important when it comes to buying a heated jacket. After all the whole idea is to keep the heat out, and if the fit is off, or if the jacket is manufactured in a way that allows the free flow of air through parts of the jacket then it's just not doing its job. So, we're keeping a close eye on the fit of all of the jackets on our list to make sure they're going to keep them warm in and the cold out.

Weight

The jackets are all going to be uniform in their weight but we're going to be focusing on the weight of the battery packs and their placement in the jacket. We're going to be looking at the ways the jacket is manufactured and how solid the battery pack is placed inside the jacket lining. What we're looking for whether or not the added weight of the batteries weighs down the jacket and makes it fit oddly, or if the batteries swing around inside the jacket making it feel loose. We're looking for a jacket where the batteries aren't cumbersome and overly heavy and stay in place as you move.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Power Source
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Heated Jackets And Why You Need One

Heated jackets may seem like a specialty product, and perhaps they are. Here's the bottom line: these jackets can change or even save the lives of people who are out of doors, either voluntarily or in case of emergency. So, if you're an outdoor worker or a hunter that's heading out in potentially dangerous cold these might be a necessity, not just a good idea.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are The Batteries High Quality?

a:

The heated jackets on this list use rechargeable batteries that are made to last hours. On top of that many of them can even charge up your portable devices while also heating up the jacket itself.

q: Is There A Danger Of Electrocution?

a:

The jackets won’t electrocute you because the companies take great care in how they are built. Even if you accidentally rip the jacket, there is very little chance it will pose any real danger.

q: Can It Charge My Tablet?

a:

Yes and no. The heated jackets that can charge portable devices are not meant for high capacity devices. Think more along the lines of a cell phone, and even in that case, not the ones with high capacity batteries. They will provide some juice to high capacity batteries of those devices, but the resulting effort will drain the battery in the jacket.

q: Where are the “heaters” located?

a:

That depends on the type of heating device that is used.  For chemically heated jackets, there are several pockets where the heat packs can be placed, generally covering larger areas of the torso.  Electric heaters, however, consist of a battery pack, with a length of wire, known as the heating element, attached to it and running through the jacket.  The battery is located in an easy to reach pocket, and may also have a heat control device located nearby.

q: Do heated jackets need to be made from special fabrics?

a:

In most cases, no.  The heating elements are housed within the jacket and covered by protective materials that prevent them from doing any damage to the clothing.

q: Can my heated jacket catch fire?

a:

No.  When designing heated jackets, a lot of care is put into ensuring that the garment will not catch fire.  The heating elements are designed to not be conductive; no live current is present. Also, because it uses infrared heat and doesn't heat the air around it, the fabric is in no danger of igniting.

q: Can I just add a heating element to my existing jacket?

a:

In some cases yes, though it is best to use a jacket that was designated to be a heated garment.  Adding a battery and heating element can cause a fire or shock hazard, while creating pockets for chemical heat packs can compromise the integrity of the coat, allowing in colder air as opposed to creating warmth.

q: How long does the battery last?

a:

Depending on the size of the battery, it can last for several hours before needing to be recharged.  Some batteries will lose their capacity over time and repeated charging, so they will eventually have to be charged more frequently than a newer battery.

q: Are heated jackets heavy?

a:

A heating element added to a jacket won’t inherently add much at all in the way of increased weight.  The battery, heating element, and heat controller all are generally made from lightweight materials.

q: Where is the battery kept?

a:

The battery in a heated jacket is usually kept close by to allow for adjustments when needed.   A common location for the battery is just inside the breast of the coat.

q: Are heated jackets hard to wash?

a:

A heated jacket is exactly as difficult to wash as a traditional winter coat:  it all depends on the fabric. Heated jackets are made to have the heat source removed easily for maintenance and care.