to top 10 table

Best Wireless Keyboards Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 08, 2019

Ever look behind your computer, or just beneath your desk and wonder where all that mess came from? There seems to be a cord for everything involved, or at least that’s what it used to be like. Now with all the wireless tech out there many gamers and computer techies have found a joy in going wireless.

While wireless mice, headsets and modems are rather easy to shop for at points, keyboards are a bit harder to decide on. Whether it’s because your laptop just doesn’t like to respond to what your typing or you have a desktop you want to cut the cord from, you can find a suitable keyboard for your style. We invite you to relax and take your time browsing over each product here to try and find that perfect fit for you.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 19 hrs of research

icon
Arteck HB030B Universal
99.6/100 our score
Advanced Features
100
Battery Life
100
Connectivity
99
Responsiveness
100
Durability
99
Arteck HB030B Universal
Why is it better?

Backlight options

Blue tooth

Compatible with most systems

Ultra-Light

Variety

Works with the IPad

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Arteck HB030B Universal
Test Winner: Arteck HB030B Universal
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
23
Researched Sources
Total Readers
20K
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
47
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
19
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
82
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Krystal Polonia
By Krystal Polonia:

Computers are quite a necessity; therefore, you want to have the best accessories for your computer and that includes a wireless keyboard. For this update, we have changed our range to diversify our selection we wanted to ensure you could find the best of the best on the market. Furthermore, we have added new faqs in order to provide a well-rounded guide with everything you need to know.

Sorting Options
Advanced Features Battery Life Connectivity Responsiveness Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.6
Advanced Features
100 %
Battery Life
100 %
Connectivity
99 %
Responsiveness
100 %
Durability
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Advanced Features
99 %
Battery Life
98 %
Connectivity
98 %
Responsiveness
99 %
Durability
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$41.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Advanced Features
96 %
Battery Life
97 %
Connectivity
97 %
Responsiveness
96 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$110.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Advanced Features
95 %
Battery Life
94 %
Connectivity
96 %
Responsiveness
94 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$36.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Advanced Features
93 %
Battery Life
94 %
Connectivity
95 %
Responsiveness
93 %
Durability
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$112.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Advanced Features
91 %
Battery Life
92 %
Connectivity
90 %
Responsiveness
92 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.90
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Advanced Features
88 %
Battery Life
90 %
Connectivity
85 %
Responsiveness
88 %
Durability
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.6
Advanced Features
84 %
Battery Life
83 %
Connectivity
83 %
Responsiveness
84 %
Durability
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$21.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Advanced Features
81 %
Battery Life
82 %
Connectivity
81 %
Responsiveness
80 %
Durability
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$72.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Advanced Features
79 %
Battery Life
80 %
Connectivity
78 %
Responsiveness
79 %
Durability
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link

10 Best Wireless Keyboards

1. Arteck HB030B Universal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.6
Arteck HB030B Universal
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
100
Battery Life
100
Connectivity
99
Responsiveness
100
Durability
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Backlight options

Blue tooth

Compatible with most systems

Ultra-Light

Variety

Works with the IPad

Cons:

Not full sized

A lot of times when we are looking for something a bit smaller and easier to carry around with us we forget that not everything is dependent on wires and cables. While searching for a way to make life easier, we found a keyboard that not only meets our standard requirements it can also still get the job done even with the not so standard tech. If you have smaller hands or prefer to travel with something not quite as hard to find space for this may be just the thing.

Backlight
It’s always nice to be able to turn the lights out to save your eyes a bit of strain and just go for whatever it is your working on. Personally, most of us found that a red or blue light seems to keep our eyes from straining quite so much. Yes, it doesn’t use a bit more of the battery life but we felt it was totally worth it.

Broad Compatibility
This particular blue tooth keyboard works with all four major operating systems including the iPad which is quite a difference that most other keyboards. It will even work with cell phones, and although this is not the ideal way to type on them if you are in a fix it could help you get through it. There is a rechargeable lithium battery that lasts for about six months between charges so it has that in its favor as well when adding in positives.

Cost and Value
Taking into consideration all the gingerbread available with this keyboard it isn’t a bad choice, especially for the price. Know also keeping in mind that not all products are correct for all consumers we suggest making sure before you grab this one. It is not a full-sized keyboard but some of our people with smaller hands loved it just for that feature. Regardless of your reasoning we suggest checking this one out if you think it will fit with your lifestyle.

2. Logitech MK550

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
 Logitech MK550
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
99
Battery Life
98
Connectivity
98
Responsiveness
99
Durability
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.99
Pros:

Ergonomic Design

Palm Rest

Longer Battery Life

Simple set up

Mouse included

Combined receiver

Less noise

Cons:

Doesn’t have backlight

Seeing as how we are an online magazine you can imagine the torture we put ourselves and our keyboards through. Always looking for ways to make our lives easier and the life of our tools last longer we’ve searched high and low for some new alternatives and we think you may just find what you are looking for the one below.

Ergonomic Wave Design
The MK550 uses what is called a constant curve layout. It is a wave design used within the keyboard to shape it so your wrists and hands are at a more natural angle reducing stress and strain. It also helps once you are used to it to pick up some speed in your typing without the harsher deeper clicking from some other keyboards.

Integrated Palm Rest
There is a built-in integrated palm wrest that allows you to get your hands set into just the right position so there is little to no compression across your wrist or reach needed for your fingers. It’s a great way to reduce that annoying hand cramp we all get from time to time when we have been at the keyboard for hours.

Cost and Value
If you take into consideration the extended battery life in both the keyboard and included a mouse, along with the overall design to help reduce hand and wrist fatigue and allow you faster and more natural movement when your typing this is an awesome buy. It is a bit on the middle of the rung when it comes to cost but the fact that it comes from a brand like Logitech really helped us feel it was worth the price. More than happy with this product overall.

3. Azio Retro Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Azio Retro Classic
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
96
Battery Life
97
Connectivity
97
Responsiveness
96
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$110.00
Pros:

Aesthetically pleasing

Multiple color options

High-quality materials

Versatile for MAC and Windows laptop and desktop

Adjustable wrist position

Easy charging and long-lasting battery

Cons:

Quite pricy

Customers noted customer service was not the best

Just as the name states this keyboard was constructed with a retro keyboard design. Featuring genuine leather as the top plate to help reflect elegance while having that vintage typewriter click sound and feel. The click sound is omitted through the backlit mechanical keys and switches that have a round cap aesthetics to them. This retro classic luxury keyboard created by Azio is one of the best-looking options on our guide. It’s truly in a category of its own as it brings the past, present, and future into one beautiful product.

Adjustable Angle

If you have the issue of not finding a keyboard that can adjust to your preferred wrist height, then this keyboard has that option for you. It comes with pillar-style feet that can be rotated to your desired side for optimum wrist comfort while you type.

Versatile

While most wireless keyboards are designed for one a specific brand this one is not. It was designed to be used with any Windows or Mac laptop, or desktop. This allows you to connect your keyboard to any computer you will be using at the moment. Its versatility comes from being able to connect wirelessly via Bluetooth or USB, that is turned on with the switch of a button.

Cost and Value

While this is a beautiful keyboard, and it does come with exceptional features it is on the higher end of the spectrum. This is a pricey keyboard, but its quite the statement piece for those that are looking for something unique to add to their laptop or desktop display.

4. iClever Bluetooth

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
 iClever Bluetooth
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
95
Battery Life
94
Connectivity
96
Responsiveness
94
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$36.99
Pros:

Portable

Tri-folding

Bluetooth

Erogonomic

Cons:

Only available for US shipping

If you like the Bluetooth style keyboards this is a nice one. Lightweight and easily portable due to the lack of room it takes up this can be a great addition to your electronics if you need to travel a lot. This is not for someone who had thicker or clumsy fingers but it would work for most of us that like a slightly smaller area to have to work with.

Portable
This lightweight keyboard folds into a tri-fold blue teeth keyboard that can fit into your pocket. If you don’t want to lug around your laptop or maybe only want to be able to take notes in class this would be a nice pick for you. It works with most operating systems and the Bluetooth Broadcom can operate at a range of 10 meters. More than enough when you're stuck in that board meeting or classroom.

Erogonomic
The aircraft grade allows texture makes for a higher level of durability, and the auto power off and sleep mode help to save battery power. It has a built-in lithium rechargeable battery so no worry about that last minute run out to the store to buy one get you through. Just plug it in and allow it to sit while you sleep at night to be fully ready for the next day.

Cost and Value
For a keyboard this size and with slightly lower battery life than some others, we were a tad disappointed at the price. It is certainly reasonable overall but as this is not a full-sized keyboard we feel it could be a tad more affordable. However, overall we were very pleased with what we could accomplish with this model and even had a few devotees created from the use of it. We do suggest trying to type with one before buying to be sure it works well with your fingers but otherwise not a bad find.

5. Apple Magic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
 Apple Magic
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
93
Battery Life
94
Connectivity
95
Responsiveness
93
Durability
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$112.00
Pros:

Low profile

Low hand/wrist strain

Long battery life

Lightning charger included

Cons:

Not shipped out of US

So for the apple users in the group, we knew we couldn’t leave you out. Most of the keyboards we found were windows or OS compatible with a few that would allow you to give a mac a try. For the most part, though, this was the best one we could find when it came to what you may be looking for when it comes to Mac usage. Read below to find out if you agree.

Low Profile
For people who prefer a more shallow key profile, this is a great choice. The smallest amount of pressure on the keys allows you to type easily as opposed to the deeper keystrokes most of the boards require. It also helps with not overworking your hands and fingers quite so much. Something you probably won’t appreciate full till you get used to this style of keyboard.

Battery Life
With a rechargeable battery, you manage to get about a month of use before you would be required to recharge. It comes with a lightning port that will charge your board fully in just a couple of hours so it’s completely ready for another month of work from your fingertips. Not having to work about trapesing around a larger power source is a nice touch as well.

Cost and Value
This one definitely falls into the higher price range. Although we feel if you are an Apple user through and through you will appreciate this keyboard more than most. The Bluetooth connection is secure and all you have to do is switch it on to automatically pair up for work. The sleek lower profile design is comfortable to use and while it may require some use time to get accustomed to the positions of everything it will be worth the effort in the long run. Dollar for dollar, if you like the brand and are willing to spend the money this is a nice option.

6. Microsoft 800

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
 Microsoft 800
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
91
Battery Life
92
Connectivity
90
Responsiveness
92
Durability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.90
Pros:

15-foot range

Battery status indicator

Optimized power management (Battery life is generally 10 months or longer)

Works with Windows 7, 8, 8.1 and 10

2-year limited warranty

Batteries (AAA) included

Plug-and-Play

Durable

Cons:

Sculpted keys

No ‘lock’ lights

If all you need is a good Microsoft based product for your Windows OS PC, then you can almost always rely on the company themselves to make the product you require. With the MS wireless 800, you get a good price for a good Microsoft based keyboard.

Range!
While most people really do not need a 15-foot range to work from, if you are a teacher or do a lot of projected work for groups of people, it could be nice to be able to hook up and sit back without worrying you won’t be able to use your computer from the comfort of a desk instead of standing or having to position yourself right next to the projector. With the MS Wireless keyboard 800, you can work from a distance with ease.

Battery status
You expect this with rechargeable products, but those that use a normal double or triple A battery, this is uncommon if not downright rare. It’s nice to know you can watch an indicator and know exactly when you need to replace the batteries (or recharge them) before you find yourself stuck in the middle of something with a dead keyboard. Microsoft really thought this one out!

Cost and Value
This keyboard already has some value in the knowledge of the company but add to it the warranty and you know you can rely on it not tearing your wallet up. With the optimized power intake, it even cuts down on what we would normally consider a con- it makes sure your bought batteries last longer than with many other products. The only time this keyboard uses the power is when you hit a key- otherwise, it uses none. Finally, many of the products users have stated outright that when it isn’t being misused, it lasts and does so for a lot longer than most other brands out there. So, if you want an already inexpensive buy that pays for itself double- this might be just what you are looking for.

7. Jelly Comb

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Jelly Comb
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
88
Battery Life
90
Connectivity
85
Responsiveness
88
Durability
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Combo pack

Shared wireless receiver

Plug-and-Play

Full keyboard design

30-day money-back guarantee

24-month warranty on product replacement

Comes with a keyboard cover

Compatible with Windows 7 and up

Can toggle the ‘F’ keys between media and F# functions

Keys on keyboard are extremely quiet

Cons:

Takes AAA batteries (not included

Doesn’t work on other OS’s outside Windows

Mouse has issues

Many combo packs seem to focus as much if not more of their energy on the mouse and its functions. Since we are looking for great keyboards, this one came in number 7 because it really fit the bill with so many pluses on its side. Sometimes it isn’t about flash and bang- it’s just about how good the product you went for really functions.

What if I want the F keys and not music?
A lot, and we do mean a lot, of these keyboards, brag about how their F-keys are used for media and are more hotkeys than actual functioning F-keys. For some users this is fine, but among techies and gamers alike, you really want those keys to do their original purpose before turning up the volume or switching tracks. Thankfully this keyboard has an easy switch mechanism, so you can toggle which function is the main one- just press the escape key while holding down Fn (function) and you can switch your main use back to the actual F-key use!

Shhh… everyone’s sleeping!
We’ve noticed many keyboards lay claim to this, but the customers claim that it is not as quiet as they claim. With this keyboard, however, even those who felt it didn’t deserve the highest rank (due mostly to the mouse, which isn’t what we were after anyway) admitted that the keyboard was nearly silent when they typed.

Cost and Value
With a 30-day money back guarantee and a two-year replacement warranty you know you are already covered if you don’t agree with the rank and praise we gave this product, which really means it is down to the value. How valuable is it? Well, if you are looking for a full-sized keyboard that works like a charm, is quiet, has a protective cover, functions with Windows and doesn’t require heavy set-up, then this is a dream! With simplicity, you are delivered a keyboard that works quick and easy the day it arrives and will be guaranteed to leave you satisfied.

8. VicTsing

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.6
VicTsing
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
84
Battery Life
83
Connectivity
83
Responsiveness
84
Durability
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.99
Pros:

Combo pack

Plug-and-Play

Tighter keys for smaller distances between

Mouse built for both left and right-handed use

Works with old and new OS’s for both Windows and Mac

Great customer service

Cons:

Requires AAA batteries (not included)

Multimedia keys don’t work on Mac

Hunting down a great buy that’s both easy on the wallet and can work with multiple OS’s? This may be exactly what you need. This combo works across both Windows and Sierra, so you can switch between the two with ease!

No driver downloads necessary!
We can’t state how much we love it when we can just go immediately to using our computing devices, so having a keyboard and mouse combo that switches and works from the moment you stick the receiver into the USB port is awesome! If you have to switch between a PC and a Mac for work and college, and you have limited space, both on the desk and USB wise, this can be a lifesaver! For those online students, it also makes it easier when you have different programs on different computers and the one your online class is using is on the opposite computer as your live walkthrough it can make jumping between easy and near effortless!

Excellent customer service!
While some companies offer a warranty but are hard to get a hold of, or simply don’t seem to really want to work with you, this one does! Not satisfied? Give them a ring and see if they can’t help you work out the problem and resolve it quickly without the hassle of wondering if they are even listening!

Cost and Value
One of the cheaper buys money wise doesn’t make this a cheap product! Its value far exceeds the money paid out. With all the added features and the ease with which you can work on making sure every need is met, you are sure to be satisfied and have a lasting keyboard and mouse set!

9. G-Cord Mechanical

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
 G-Cord Mechanical
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
81
Battery Life
82
Connectivity
81
Responsiveness
80
Durability
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$72.99
Pros:

Duo connections

Anti-ghosting with no lagging

Different backlight options

Optimized switches for better comfort while typing

Cons:

Reviewers noted keyboard cap wasn’t as comfortable as they would like

While most keyboards on our guide are quite versatile when it comes to their main use, this one is more geared towards those who appreciate a mechanical keyboard, gamers who want something different, programmers, typists and any who spends long hours at their computer and needs a more comfortable keyboard. Featuring anti-ghosting technology this keyboard was intended to prevent lagging from happening so that you will never miss a beat while typing important information or getting a message across.

LED Light Effects

If you like the idea of a keyboard that has backlighting this is the one for you! Not only does it offer one simple backlight but it gives you the option of selecting which backlight effect you would like. You can select from the following effects: Always Light, Horizontal Streamer, Vertical Streamer, Gradual Light, Light with Press, No Light or press FN and F9 simultaneously to change your lights at any given moment creating a customized effect.

Wireless and Wired

Another cool feature this keyboard has is it allows you to select how you would like to use it would you like to be completely wireless? Or would you like to be wired? For the wireless mode you will use the USB receiver that comes with the keyboard, and for the wired option you will simply plug the keyboard right in, and it will immediately convert to wired mode. The option is up to you.

Cost and Value

This keyboard is very reasonably priced, presenting customizable LED lights, duo connection option, an anti-ghost feature and more it’s a statement piece that works with you and what your daily computer routine is.

10. Anker 2.4GHz

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Anker 2.4GHz
Amazon Link
Advanced Features
79
Battery Life
80
Connectivity
78
Responsiveness
79
Durability
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Comes with a mouse

Joint wireless receiver

Quieter typing

Approx. 180-hour battery life per charge

Rechargeable power source

Lightweight

Comes with protective cover

Excellent customer service

Cons:

Only works with Windows

Home and page keys only work when num lock is off

If you want to make a one-stop shop for both your keyboard and mouse, this is a great purchase! The wireless receiver works with both, which means less hassle and more open ports. Definitely a space saver for those with fewer USB ports on their laptops!

Company caring
This isn’t common for computer-based accessories, but this company puts forth the extra effort to make sure their customers are satisfied. They even start with the product itself from the box! Included in the package is a Keyboard cover to help you protect your new device from any external damages. If you aren’t satisfied, they even will work with you to see if they can solve the problem or give you a refund if necessary. For us, this definitely shows they want to know you are happy.

Joint Receiver
While those working with a desktop may not run into this issue as often, those of us using a laptop may really appreciate this nice feature. Wireless USB devices are often a necessary add-on, and many of today’s laptops have a limited number of ports to connect those devices too. So, when you get everything plugged in you may find that you only have enough ports for two things and end up having to choose between a keyboard, mouse, or USB memory stick. That can get challenging if what your doing is working, and you need to use a keyboard to type, the mouse to properly scroll and your memory stick to store all the files. The fact that both the keyboard and the mouse that comes with it work off the same wireless receiver makes life that much easier!

No need for batteries!
The second biggest problem with any wireless device is the fact they can keep costing you even after the purchase. The reason being is that many of those devices on the market need batteries to operate, so, before long, you find yourself spending any money you saved on large boxes of double or triple A batteries. Thankfully this keyboard and mouse combo charges off the USB port and can even be used while they are charging! This is truly a great buy when looking to save money!

Cost and Value
We’ve already given you the value of this keyboard in the first two descriptions, and in that alone, it almost entirely pays for itself. The fact that it saves you as a combo device, prevents the hassle of needing to buy batteries and the customer service is amazing should have you right with us on saying it’s more valuable than the asking price. Knowing it’s easy to carry, the rechargeable battery life is amazing, and you won’t have to worry about hearing yourself type as if you are at an old school typewriter are just added bonuses!

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

Often not the first thing on most buyer’s minds is how durable their product is. Overlooking this can lead to thinking you are saving money, when in fact, you are buying a product that will need consistent replacing which adds up to even more over time than simply spending a little more to start with. With any sort of electronic, this constant need for replacement adds up rapidly. What starts out as a minimum priced product can add up to over double or triple the price of what was seen as “more expensive”, while the more expensive seeming product would outlast it and pay for itself in only a few months.

Knowing what you buy will last is one of the most important aspects of any purchase, so when we make our lists, it is one of, if not the very first thing we consider. We feel if used properly and for the right type of work or gaming, these keyboards outdo the rest of the competition in this category, or at the very least, offer an easy fix to anything without costing you even more money out of pocket.

Compatibility

The keyboard you are considering can have all the functions, versatility and options you want, but if it doesn’t work with your OS, you will run into problems. As with any electronic device that runs with a computer the OS is an important part to look at. Some keyboards are simply outdated, while others are so new that they don’t take anything but the current operating systems into consideration. We chose to mainly select keyboards that are compatible with varying OS’s. Of course, we wanted to be sure they run with the current as well, so you may want to check what systems they work with before purchasing.

Value

Part of this is in how long the product lasts, but it is also in its performance and ability to do what you want when you need it to. If it not only meets but exceeds the standard in similar merchandise, we feel it is more valuable. Value does not always come from the dollar, more often than not it comes from the ability to use the product and have it outperformed any others in its line. By doing so it can make the cheaper or less sturdy items in its category seem overpriced, even if they cost more up front.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Compatibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Take your computers OS into consideration

One of the most overlooked parts of choosing any type of computer equipment is your computers OS. Whether you have a PC or a Mac, you have an OS. OS stands for ‘Operating System’ for PCs this is usually windows and for a Mac, it's usually Sierra. The part you need to look for is what version you have and if the equipment runs on that version. An example of what is currently an outdated Windows system is Win 8.0 or 8.5. Many products are no longer being built to be compatible with this OS and you will either want to look at older models or upgrade/update your OS if your computer is capable of running it.

You can check for your OS wherever the system information is located on your computer. Once you know what your information is you can check to see if it can be updated or look online to see if the product you are looking at has a driver that allows it to be ‘backwards compatible’. If neither is possible you may need to choose a different product that is compatible with your OS.

Know your USB Port

Another issue is how many USB ports do you have and how many wireless or USB devices are you planning to use? This is important especially with laptops since many are now made with only 4 or fewer USB ports and some of those ports are for different USB types (even these have versions!). If you don’t know what your USB port type is there are many ways to find out. On Windows 10 you go under the settings menu and select ‘devices’ and then type ‘Device Manager’ into the search bar and select it or hit enter. A box should open with a list of your computer's devices. The Universal Serial Bus controllers are your USB ports. You can expand it to see what you have plugged in and look to see what versions you have by double-clicking on the USB port.

If you don’t have enough USB ports, there are a few ways to give yourself a boost. There are dividers that turn one port into 2 or more, and there are devices built to allow all your wireless devices to connect to one wireless USB device instead of all of them needing a separate plugin. With the latter option, you will need to make sure that it will work with all your wireless devices first.

Some of them require battery

On a final big note, almost all wireless computer devices require batteries to operate. You will want to know what type of battery (AA, AAA, etc) and how many that they take. You will also want to check how many. A good solution to not having to continuously purchase new batteries is to buy rechargeable.  There are so many different kinds of battery options even for a simple AA these days, that even selecting the right battery can become a hassle- maybe we should cover that as well? We’ll have to look and see!

Other Factors to Consider

Versatility

This is a broad spectrum. This covers anything from the types of computers it can be used with, to the OS it responds to, and even how easy it can be packed up if needed (as is the case if used with laptops.). Nearly all wireless devices are either USB connected or blue tooth. Some are even able to connect with cell phones. With this in mind, we wanted to choose the top ten best wireless keyboards that had the most versatility when considering every type of computer.

We feel that the products we chose to list work with enough systems and were so easily transported when needed that they more than satisfied us in their versatility factor.

Model

While not a complete necessity of choosing a keyboard, it can actually add to the comfort of the user if the style and look are better suited for their vision or mobility. Some Keyboards look fancy, but that’s not entirely why they look the way they do. Some people have a hard time seeing white on black lettering or need a backlit keyboard to better see the keys themselves. Others are curved or offer better set up for those with joint or muscle issues in their hands, wrists or arms. This makes the appearance a factor in the choices we made, as it can help many buyers to find the perfect product for them as opposed to a simply decent product- and hey, we also know everyone likes a ‘cool’ aesthetic no matter the reason.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Do rechargeable batteries last longer than normal batteries in a wireless device?

a:

Some do, some don’t. It all depends on the power required to run the device and as usual, the brand can make a difference as well. If you have a specific type of battery you prefer and that you use regularly in other battery-operated devices, you will likely find they work just as good (if not better) in your wireless devices. A good habit to get into, though, is to turn your wireless computer devices off when not in use- even if your computer is already off. This can make your batteries last even longer.

q: Do all wireless Keyboards require a USB port?

a:

Not all, but the majority still do. Some are Bluetooth now, but those often need to be at a closer proximity to the computer than a wireless USB device. This is due to signal strength.

q: Are all wireless devices compatible with both PCs and Macs?

a:

No, but many are. The idea of having a computer device that is only good with one or the other in operating systems is fading quickly due to the fact that many people have started to own all types in a single home rather than sticking to a single OS or brand. This has led to companies that make computer accessories and devices to supply drivers that work with most OS’s. Still, you should always check for compatibility- especially if your OS is not one of the more common (IE Linux).

q: Do all wireless keyboards come with on/off switches?

a:

Most of the keyboards on our guide do come with on/off switches that allow you to use them in a wireless manner or wired. This is quite an advantage to have as you can use your keyboard with any desktop or laptop you would like at any given moment.

q: Are foldable wireless keyboards a bit more fragile than traditional wireless keyboards?

a:

While this might seem like it could be true, it is far from the truth. Whether your keyboard is foldable or not it will still be very durable and sturdy, its durability will solely depend on how it is manufactured not on if it is foldable or not. In order to know if that is the case, you want to read a few product reviews and see what consumers are saying about the product. All of the products we have mentioned are extremely high-quality; therefore, they will not break or mess up if they happen to they have a warranty that you can always look into.