to top 10 table

Best Spiralizers Reviewed and Rated for Quality

last updated Dec 09, 2018

A spiralizer is the newest and most fun way to get both and more out of your fruits and vegetables without having to tediously, and dangerously, cut it out with a normal kitchen knife or peeler. These handy kitchen tools make it a simple process to have zucchini spaghetti, cored apple coils, and curly fries in just a few minutes. Some can make enough to feed a family in minutes, others you can take with you, so you can enjoy a single serving of cut veggies no matter where you are at. Not all products are the same though, and you don’t want to go for your new food companion only to find out you can’t get it to cut the simplest of veggies. Rather than having to spend hours sifting through the choices only to have to guess what the best one is for you, we have made it simple and at your fingertips to choose the best product to meet your healthy eating needs.

Interviewed Experts
4
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
14
Researched Sources
Total Readers
9000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
10500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
35
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
13
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Katie Baxter:

This buying guide has been updated to contain the most accurate information regarding the best spiralizers to buy. The top ten have been evaluated, and are still the best reviewed spiralizers on the market. The frequently asked questions have been updated to included the reader's most asked concerns, and outside sourced links have been included to help readers find other knowledge that may be applicable to their lives.

Sorting Options
Ease of Use Durability Accessories Materials By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Ease of Use
98%
Durability
96%
Accessories
99%
Materials
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$29.99
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Ease of Use
97%
Durability
95%
Accessories
96%
Materials
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$24.99
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Ease of Use
98%
Durability
97%
Accessories
90%
Materials
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$12.47
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Ease of Use
96%
Durability
95%
Accessories
90%
Materials
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$12.97
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Ease of Use
90%
Durability
95%
Accessories
93%
Materials
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$74.96
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Ease of Use
91%
Durability
88%
Accessories
94%
Materials
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$24.99
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Ease of Use
90%
Durability
85%
Accessories
90%
Materials
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$19.99
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
Ease of Use
89%
Durability
84%
Accessories
86%
Materials
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$31.00
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Ease of Use
84%
Durability
83%
Accessories
88%
Materials
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$19.95
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.3
Ease of Use
84%
Durability
83%
Accessories
87%
Materials
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$24.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Spirilizer Ultimate
  • Mueller Spiral-Ultra
  • Premium Slicer
  • Original SpiraLife
  • KitchenAid Attachment
  • Veggiespize 5-Blade
  • Brieftons 5-Blade
  • Veggetti Pro
  • Zalik 5-Blade
  • Sedhoom 5-Blade
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions

BEST SPIRALIZERS REVIEWED AND RATED FOR QUALITY

1. Spirilizer Ultimate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Spirilizer Ultimate
Ease of Use
98
Durability
96
Accessories
99
Materials
97
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

7 Blades

Lifetime Replacement

Easy to Clean

Easy to use

Comes with Storage Containe

Cons:

Can be hard to suction

Does not include “Catch” container

This spiralizer has a lot of nifty accessories. We liked a lot of things about it and were impressed once we figured out how to use it. We think you will enjoy the options.

Read more

Seven Blades
We were impressed with the options that came with this machine. Having the various blades to help, depending on the vegetable you're using really helps. After all, veggies have various textures and are not all soft or easy to deal with. We found having this selection of blades made dealing with our various tastes easier.

Lifetime Replacement
A lot of time when getting a new kitchen gadget we are faced with a limited amount of time to use it without fear of something breaking. We all know the sounds we make when that wonderful new gadget suddenly decides to snap two days after the warranty expires. This little gem comes with a lifetime replacement warranty, so as long as you aren’t using it to hold up the car to change that tire you will be covered.

Cost and Value
This 5-Bladed Vegetable Slicer seems like a really good purchase. It comes with loads of blades, understandable instructions and even the option to get ideas and recipes online. it is made of sturdy plastic and easy to clean you get a nice product for a reasonable cost, which makes it more valuable in the overall, especially with a warranty which means you won't lose money if anything needs repairing.

2. Mueller Spiral-Ultra

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Mueller Spiral-Ultra
Ease of Use
97
Durability
95
Accessories
96
Materials
97
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Comes with other kitchen tools

Easy to use

Has it's own 'catch' container

Blades store inside

Easy to clean

Cons:

Can only cut smaller sized veggies

Blades have no guards

We really had fun with this one. We enjoy being able to take out our frustrations on things we are doing and this little gizmo allowed us to do just that. We don’t care what anyone says, turning cranks are cool.

Read more

Has its own catch
Unlike some of the other appliances, we looked at this one which has a nice design, as far as catching all your hard work. You won’t have to worry about you freshly cut veggie noodles sliding away and hitting the floor. Plus, it was nice that as soon as we were done we could turn and add our work into the wok and not have to worry about it slipping somewhere else.

Blades store inside
We were pleasantly surprised to find we could store the various blades and pieces from this kit in the kit itself. Once we found out that it was nothing to wash and store all the bits and bobs into the machine and store it with no fear of losing said items, we were sold. That is certainly a nice addition to this contraption.

Cost and Value
Overall Mueller has done a great job with their spiralizer. It may not be able to take on the big oversized vegetable we usually get when chopping, but we didn’t find that as a major issue. The mechanism is easy to use and works quickly if needed. We found it a joy to use and had no major issues in any way. Add to that the ability to store everything together without filling up your drawers with pieces from it and we think this could be a great addition to your appliances.

3. Premium Slicer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Premium Slicer
Ease of Use
98
Durability
97
Accessories
90
Materials
95
best offer for today
$12.47
Pros:

Comes with recipe book

Dishwasher safe

Easy to use

Cons:

Only does ¾ of Vegetable

Must hand turn Veggies

This appliance is for the person who doesn’t like machines. We found a lot of our first-time buyers seemed happy to try a version that didn’t require plugging in and watching. They wanted to have more control over their food. If you are someone who wants a more hands-on approach this may be just what you’re looking for.

Read more

Comes with a Recipe Book
We found that while we were never lacking in ideas on ways to make our veggie noodles we often ran short on what to put them in once they were made. The joy is that with this implement comes with its own recipe book. Now you don't have to worry about what to do with those carrots or even beets, the ideas in the book are fresh. No pun intended.

Dishwasher Safe
While this apparatus is hand cranked so to speak it is still dishwasher safe. We know this may not be a concern for everyone, but we found it a lovely feature and it made cleanup that much quicker for us when we could just throw it in with the dishes at the end of dinner and head to bed.

Cost and Value
The cost of this tool is definitely a plus. A lot of the time the person on the go or college student doesn’t have room or extra cash flow to get the more pricey option in this category. This appliance is affordable on top of taking up no space and being easy to clean. If your someone who enjoys coming up with your own creations feel free to tuck the recipe book into a drawer and ignore it.

4. Original SpiraLife

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Original SpiraLife
Ease of Use
96
Durability
95
Accessories
90
Materials
94
best offer for today
$12.97
Pros:

Easy clean up

Easy to store

Portable

Great customer service

Uses most of the veggie

Cons:

Only easy on smaller veggies

Can be hard to turn

Another hand-held option comes on at number four on our list. We liked this style for the less mechanically-inclined in our group. After all, it is never fun to buy a new toy just to have someone break it right away. We think one is a nice pick for those of us who do not do well when it comes to electric machines.

Read more

Easy Cleanup
While we found the majority of these types of gizmos easy enough to clean this one seems especially without issue. A touch of soap and a quick rinse were all it took, and we didn’t even nick a finger. Handy when you don’t want to waste band-aids.

Great customer service
We found it a nice bonus that this company had a great attitude when it came to customer service. Readily available to answer questions and quick to respond it was a lovely change of pace from a lot of items we purchase in today’s society. Knowing that made us much more willing to take the time to learn about this item.

Cost and Value
One of the least expensive options on our list we couldn’t help loving how easy this one was to use. We enjoyed the fact that just adding on the cap towards the end of the vegetable allowed us to use more of it without having to cut up a large portion. The ribbon blade was another nice option if you prefer a different texture to your veggies, and it was fun to use it on soup vegetables as well. Overall this is a nice tool, easy to use and well worth the money.

5. KitchenAid Attachment

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
KitchenAid Attachment
Ease of Use
90
Durability
95
Accessories
93
Materials
94
best offer for today
$74.96
Pros:

Add on means less space

Easy to attach

Good customer service

Easy to use

Makes cutting vegetables easy and fast

Cons:

Thickness is not adjustable

For the chef or baker in making the appliances can make all the difference. KitchenAid had come up with something we found extremely useful and you can attach it to something you may already have at home.

Read more

Easy to attach

We found this add-on a treat to use. It attaches easily to your KitchenAid stand mixer and is ready for use. This also means you don’t have to worry about hogging up counter space, and just tossing a bowl underneath to catch the veggies is a simple feat.

Easy to store

This attachment comes with its own storage case. We thought this was awesome since we couldn’t fit anything else into the kitchen drawers. It’s also dishwasher safe so once clean just put it back into the case and tuck it into a cabinet of your choice. Handy huh?

Cost and Value

This is one of the best products on our list, quality-wise. KitchenAid is a well-known brand around the world around and there is nothing more comforting than buying into a brand you are familiar with. Along with that, they have awesome customer service and the fact that it just attaches to your mixer means you don’t have to worry about where to put it on your counter. All around this is a great investment and we feel worth every cent.

6. Veggiespize 5-Blade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Veggiespize 5-Blade
Ease of Use
91
Durability
88
Accessories
94
Materials
90
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Lifetime replacement guarantee

Easy set up

Makes angel hair zucchini

Cuts harder veggies

Great customer service

Cons:

Leaves a large core of veggie

Suctions don’t work everywhere

At number six on our list is the 5-Blade Spiralizer by Veggiespize. This particular unit is easy to use and simple to maintain. If you want to way to impress the in-laws or make some angel hair zucchini to throw into the pasta for the kids this is one way to make it happen.

Read more

Lifetime Replacement Guarantee
As many manufacturers grant some kind of warranty we were pleased to find this one went above and beyond. If anything happens to your little bundle simply contact them and you can get it replaced. It is always nice to know that a company believes in their product to this degree. Comforting isn’t it.

Makes Angel Hair
Most spiralizers seem to still be in the phase of making a specific size “noodle” which is fine. Veggiespize managed to come up with a slightly different blade system which allows you to make angel hair sizes noodles with your vegetables. It was a lovely option and worked much better for us when adding the spiraled veggies to soups.

Cost and Value
This gadget certainly met all our requirements with ease. We loved the angel hair option and were impressed with the blade's abilities overall. This machine was also able to handle some harder options like potatoes without a fuss which was nice. The fact that it has a lifetime guarantee just added another layer of “Wow” to this product. At its current price is it one of the least expensive options out there and we feel a groovy addition.

7. Brieftons 5-Blade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Brieftons 5-Blade
Ease of Use
90
Durability
85
Accessories
90
Materials
87
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:

Lifetime Replacement

Comes fully assembled

Strong suction cup

Platform safety mechanism for the blades

Great website with helpful videos

Cons:

Doesn't stick to granite counters

Hard time cutting harder veggies

We really wanted to make a joke about curly fries but as it turns out you actually can make them with this product so…. ahem. The options on this little beauty are a nice addition. We were pleasantly surprised overall, and we think you will be too.

Read more

Comes fully assembled
This product manages to come fully assembled which is great for those people who can’t manage to put a lid on our milk without it being crooked. It also means all you will need to do to use it is adjust the blade, or rather pick a blade to use. Nice when you want to switch between different styles.

Strong suction cup
Most appliances of this type require suction cups on the bottom to prevent it from moving while in use. This one also has them but they seemed to be a bit more sturdy than some of the other models we came across.

Cost and Value
The lifetime replacement guarantee, stronger suction cups, and a safety mechanism for the blades make this one of the sturdier options on our list. At the current price, it seems like a good value especially once you add in the videos available on the website to give you a hand. A nice tool for anyone to add to their kitchen.

8. Veggetti Pro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
Veggetti Pro
Ease of Use
89
Durability
84
Accessories
86
Materials
86
best offer for today
$31.00
Pros:

Good suction on flat counters

lightweight

Easy to assemble

Easy to clean

Cons:

Not good with harder veggies

Veggies need precut to fit

Yes…that is correct we managed to find a product that came up with a new name for vegetable noodles. The Veggetti Pro Table-Top Spiralizer is just what you’re looking for the make those fancy dishes you have seen on your television. We checked it out and think you should see what we had to say below.

Read more

Lightweight
This gadget is nice and lightweight while still maintaining a sturdy frame. Some of the full-sized units like this one end up being pretty hefty. We felt like the Veggetti Pro was right up our alley with its lightweight feel and liked that it was easy to move around and put away.

Easy to Assemble
There is not a lot to putting this together. Pick the blade slip on the vegetable to the gripper and push while you crank. We had no problem getting the parts on and off which also made cleaning easy. It comes with a manual if you find yourself struggling but we don’t think you should have an issue.

Cost and Value
Standing at the lower end of the cost scale is the Veggetti Pro. We just love that word it’s just fun to say, Veggetti. Ahem, although the majority of this machine is made of plastic it does not detract from its abilities. Capable of making your spiral veggie noodles with ease and a bit of elbow grease. We like this gadget and find it to be a nice product.

9. Zalik 5-Blade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Zalik 5-Blade
Ease of Use
84
Durability
83
Accessories
88
Materials
84
best offer for today
$19.95
Pros:

Lifetime replacement

Easy to use

Easy to clean

Works on harder skinned veggies

Easy storage

Cons:

Doesn't push whole veggie through

Coming in at number nine on our list we found this little gem. The Zalik 5-Blade Spiralizer seems to do it all. We were very pleased with its performance. In fact, our enjoyment almost spun out of control.

Read more

Works on harder vegetables
While we found a lot of the products on our list to “suggest” certain vegetables to use this one did not. It seems it will work on pretty much any veggie you choose and it does not have to be perfectly ripe. A few of us preferred a slightly less ripe zucchini for example which can be rather firm for most blades. This one cut right through with no problem so we gave it the A for effort.

Lifetime Replacement Warranty
We’ve said it before and we will say it again, nothing beats a lifetime warranty. Zalik states that if for any reason you are unhappy with their product they offer a full money back refund. So that means even if nothing is wrong with it, even if it does everything it should and your still not happy it is no problem. Contact the company via e-mail and they will take care of it.

Cost and Value
Once again the turn crank is your friend. Yes, you get an upper body workout while making your veggie noodles but no more than you would get trying to make them with a regular knife. Plus, you are far less likely to take off part of a finger. Add to that fact the warranty and the low cost and we think you will find this one heck of a deal. You will not only enjoy the fruits of your labor but the labor itself is pretty darn fun as well.

10. Sedhoom 5-Blade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.3
Sedhoom 5-Blade
Ease of Use
84
Durability
83
Accessories
87
Materials
83
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

2-year warranty

Easy storage

Good customer support

Intuitive to use

Cons:

Blades can be hard to insert

Last but not least we come to number ten on our countdown. Sedhoom has come up with its own version of the spiralizer to spice up your food options. We found this to be a nice tool with some great abilities, and we don’t just mean how it makes veggie noodles.

Read more

Easy Storage
This particular implement had a small slide out drawer underneath that keeps all your blades tucked up so you don’t have to worry about losing them. Another nice feature is that the entire unit folds up so it can easily be stored without taking up too much space. Considering how much space all our other kitchen gadgets require we were happy to find that out.

Good Customer Support
We can’t tell you how much we appreciate good customer support. It seems to be a much rarer attribute in today's companies and it was lovely how easy reaching Sedhoom was. They are quick to respond, pleasant, and ready to do what they can to assist. Even if something brakes they have a nice little two-year warranty that is sure to keep you wanting more.

Cost and Value
We think Sedhoom has come up with a great product. At a nice reasonable price, this unit did a great job. The blades were sharp, the handles were easy to turn, and the unit maintained its place without sliding. While any of these style machines may take some trial and error we would have no issue suggesting this one for a turn around your kitchen.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

No matter what you are spending your hard-earned cash on, you want to know you aren’t going to end up with a broken piece of equipment nearly as soon as you get it. So, we here at TheGearHunt do our best to make sure what we offer on our lists don’t fall short on expectations. Durability is taken from several factors, but the one that must be taken into account first and foremost is that we are not looking to prove the item can do something it was not intended for. What this means is when we see that someone else was dissatisfied we want to know why and how it happened. Was it the fault of the equipment, or did the broken item come as a result of not following instructions?

While it may not always be an obvious misuse, such as taking a hammer to it, the machines all come with instructions and things it was made to handle. We take all of it in and decide if what we are seeing is truly a lack of durability, or if there is some other explanation. Once we are satisfied that the equipment can and does do what it is made to do and doesn’t break without some major abuse done to it, we place it in our top ten. Some may make their way onto our lists despite minor defects because we also take the whole picture in and this is just a big part- not the whole. Always check our cons when looking over a product to see what, if anything, seemed like it might not have measured up.

Value

When considering how much an item is, and whether or not you want to purchase it, keep in mind that the dollar cost may not always align with the value of the product. Some items truly are overpriced, while other more cheaply priced items could end up costing you three to five times what they are worth. The value of any product we look at is considered through durability, quality of the parts, how long it can last, and how often you may need to replace some if not all parts. We also consider what exactly it is you get with the product, such as if it is easy to use, has good instructions, and/or comes with extra’s that other products of the same line don’t offer.

If the pros outweigh the cons in the purchase and you are getting more than what most offer, we put it in our checklist for the top ten and then carefully weed through to see which of the best deserve an actual spot. So, you can feel happy with your choice and know what you are looking to buy quickly and easily- and know you likely won’t have to replace it (spending even more money) on another soon after.

Versatility

This particular kitchen utensil uses several different types of blades for different types of cuts. Some are as simple as cutting half rings, others full spirals and even the thickness of the slices can change from one blade to the next. You will want a variety with these types of gadgets because what makes good spaghetti zucchini doesn’t make good curly fries. With that said, we wanted to make sure that each one we picked out offered their take on the different types of cuts as well as a variety of what it can cut.

Some of the machines are built for harder fruits and vegetables, while others are better suited to softer foods. There are a few which are good at both as well but always check what it is meant to cut and how much. Some are upset by the fact that there are cores left over by the spiralizing machine, or how big those cores are, so if you are looking to use large fruit and/or vegetables and want to know you will be using most if not all of the food, check to see if the machine you have chosen leaves a core, and how big that core typically is.

Ease of Use

How easy any of our chosen products are to use can usually be told by the type. Smaller hand-held versions are likely to require more strength than either the countertop or electric versions, but in the end how to use them is pretty self-explanatory. So, when we chose them for our list it was likely that the way to use the machine would not take much in the way of figuring out. Most of them come with easy to understand instructions as well to help you learn how and what your machine is capable of doing. As mentioned before, whether self-explanatory or not, you may want to go over the manual to find out what the intended uses were when the machine was designed so you can stay within your warranty if your machine offers it.

Any time you use a machine like this there are usually stipulations of what you can do with it and still have the manufacturer replace or repair the objects. In this case, many of these items have limited warranties and actually state within the manual that if used improperly you have chosen to void the policy and they will not help you. The upside is that if you choose to stick to the guidelines those same warranties are usually lifetime and so you know you will have the ability to repair or replace anything you need to in order to keep enjoying those healthy snacks.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Accessories
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Keep Your Machine Clean

A big part of owning anything that deals with your food Is knowing how to clean it. Most can be placed in a dishwasher, but still, require some disassembly. You also need to know how to store it properly. As with anything metal, you will want to keep it in a safe and dry environment once it is cleaned and ready to be put up. A big bit of advice is that you also make sure it is never stored within reach of children who are unsupervised.

For the machines that require hand cleaning, having or buying the proper items to clean it is a must. Having brushes that fit your machine is something many don’t consider when looking to care for any kitchen appliance. As with bottles, not every ‘round cleaning brush’ is going to fit into every machine that needs it. Taking not of openings and what size your equipment has for an opening to slide the brush is necessary. Not only does the brush have to fit, but you want to keep your fingers away from anything too sharp.

Once you have all the tools (guaranteed you need more than one brush) you should use it specifically for your machine and nothing else. Food contamination might not seem like an important matter when your cleaning, but it is just as important to keep in mind at the end as it is when dealing with raw foods at the beginning. Using a brush on both a greasy pan and on your spiralizer can cause all sorts of issues in the long run- especially if you need to go later and use a warranty. After all, most of these are not meant to be used on meat or fatty products and explaining how a bit of grease or grizzle got on your blades or in the machine might not go as well as you hope for.

Choosing the Right Model

A spiralizer is a great way to prepare healthy food, however, not everybody has the time to cook every day. Before choosing a model you need to take into account how much you will actually be using it. Some models were designed to be more durable and slice more food in a shorter amount of time. Some are smaller and more portable, a perfect choice for people who cook less often or for fewer people.

Other Factors to Consider

Capacity

How many are you preparing food for? This is a question you need to consider when choosing a spiralizer. There are some that can slice a large amount of food in just a few minutes, which is great if you have a bigger family. There are also smaller, more compact models that are perfect for preparing food for two. This is important because the costs are different and the amount of space and maintenance needed is also different. You want to find one that best matches your lifestyle and needs.

Portability

Just because you live a busy life and travel a lot, does not mean you can't enjoy healthy, fresh food. There are many spiralizers that are small and compact and still does an amazing job at slicing your food. Some even come with a pouch for easy travel. These are also great for families on vacation who still want to make fresh and healthy food for their children!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why would I even want one of these?
a:

Most go for this machine in order to have a new way to enjoy healthy alternatives to snack foods and others because they need to cut gluten out of their diet. This utensil allows for an easy way to do both. Although a recent invention they have become a newly growing household item for fruits and vegetables that create a fascination in kids to eat the ‘good for you’ things. After all, most diets today are lacking in the essentials for a good diet, and a good diet doesn’t have to be boring.

This handy little appliance doesn’t just offer you ringed pieces of food either, it can produce noodles, rice and other baking style pieces of nutritional enjoyment as well, and many of them come with recipe books letting you know how to use the device to help replace grains with vegetables or add a little more flavor to your baked goods.

q: What foods are typically considered when using a spiralizer?
a:

The most common is obviously the zucchini. Most recipes call for it as a replacement for grains such as noodles and rice. However, other foods that are commonly put through the ‘ringer’ are carrots, sweet potatoes, and apples. If you want more ideas, check our sources below.

q: What types of spiralizers are there?
a:

Handheld, crank, and electronics are all available, and they can range from small enough to be portable, to needing a large empty space on your counter. So when choosing which one you want, make sure you have the space for it, or shoot for either one that can be folded up or makes smaller amounts.

q: Do all of these machines come with containers to catch the food?
a:

No, unfortunately not. Most come with some form of storage containers, but a catch isn’t very common yet. We do have a few on this list, however, so browse for the ones that have it available!

q: How hard will it be to clean my new device?
a:

Everyone’s most hated chore when dealing with any kitchen utensil is the cleanup. So of course, it was one of the major things we looked at. How easy to clean properly are these machines? The good news is most of those on our lists are dishwasher safe and easy to take care of. The few that need cleaning outside of a dishwasher come with the tools necessary to get the job done correctly and safely.

Always follow proper cleaning procedures when dealing with anything involving blades. If you can clean it in a dishwasher, make sure the shelf you place it on is adequately sized for the sharper parts so that they don’t end up being pushed around over the other dishes. For the ones that are hand washed, take extra care to make sure you don’t get too close to the sharp edges and try using as little pressure as possible to remove food particles.