to top 10 table

Best Food Storage Containers Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 26, 2019

Have you ever cooked such a delicious meal that you wish you could have kept the leftovers - but you didn’t have any place to put it, safely? This is something that thousands, if not millions of people experience on a daily basis! Let’s call it a classic food crisis. So, what do people do? They try to store their food on a paper plate with some paper towels or plastic wrap. While this can be effective, there is nothing quite as effective as something we all like to call a traditional food storage container. We spent countless hours scanning the food storage market and picked out the absolute best of the best.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
 Rubbermaid 42-Piece
94.8/100 our score
Features
95
Value
96
Advanced Features
95
Materials
94
Durability
94
Rubbermaid 42-Piece
Why is it better?

Well-designed storage containers for food that are stackable.

The rubberized lid allows individuals to transfer the food easily.

No leakage when tipped upside down.

Stackable so they can easily be put in the fridge or pantry.

Great design for easy use.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Rubbermaid 42-Piece
Test Winner: Rubbermaid 42-Piece
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
11
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
11k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Features Value Advanced Features Materials Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Features
95 %
Value
96 %
Advanced Features
95 %
Materials
94 %
Durability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$26.21
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Features
94 %
Value
93 %
Advanced Features
92 %
Materials
94 %
Durability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Features
91 %
Value
90 %
Advanced Features
92 %
Materials
92 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$14.65
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Features
90 %
Value
89 %
Advanced Features
88 %
Materials
90 %
Durability
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$54.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Features
87 %
Value
85 %
Advanced Features
86 %
Materials
84 %
Durability
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$99.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Features
84 %
Value
85 %
Advanced Features
83 %
Materials
81 %
Durability
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Features
83 %
Value
81 %
Advanced Features
81 %
Materials
82 %
Durability
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
Features
80 %
Value
79 %
Advanced Features
82 %
Materials
80 %
Durability
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Features
77 %
Value
78 %
Advanced Features
75 %
Materials
76 %
Durability
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$22.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
Features
75 %
Value
74 %
Advanced Features
74 %
Materials
76 %
Durability
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.07.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  •  Rubbermaid 42-Piece Rubbermaid 42-Piece
  •  Evolutionize Health Meal Prep Evolutionize Health Meal Prep
  •  Freshware Meal Prep Freshware Meal Prep
  •  Royal Air-Tight Royal Air-Tight
  •  OXO Good Grips 10-Piece OXO Good Grips 10-Piece
  •  Sistema Klip It Collection Sistema Klip It Collection
  •  Fullstar Fullstar
  •  Shazo 10 pc. Set Shazo 10 pc. Set
  •  Komax Biokips Tall Komax Biokips Tall
  •  Prep Naturals 50 Pack Prep Naturals 50 Pack
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Rubbermaid 42-Piece

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
 Rubbermaid 42-Piece
Amazon Link
Features
95
Value
96
Advanced Features
95
Materials
94
Durability
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.21
Pros:

Well-designed storage containers for food that are stackable.

The rubberized lid allows individuals to transfer the food easily.

No leakage when tipped upside down.

Stackable so they can easily be put in the fridge or pantry.

Great design for easy use.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the plastic may stain with sauce or other food elements.

There is nothing more exciting than a storage container that properly snaps. The sound is exciting! With that, we want to share what may be one of the best and most well-built storage containers on the market today. The first container brand we are talking about is virtually everywhere and may be one of the best available today. In fact, this storage container brand can be found in almost every department store. With that, let’s talk about Rubbermaid and their Easy Find Lids 42-Piece Storage Container Set. Here are two important points to note.

Read more

The Lid Design
Have you ever been trying to find lids for a container set and you cannot, or when you do it is the wrong one? Well, this brand makes it easy for individuals to find the perfect lid thanks to their easy snap-on lid design. The lid design of this container brand is an easy snap-on design that also snaps to each individual lid cover so individuals can store them together and they won’t move around.

Rubber Seal
Another great aspect of this particular storage set for food is the design element of the rubberized seal. Have you ever stored food to find out that it went bad after a couple of days in the fridge? Well, this food container allows food to last longer and prevents leakage when moving the container around thanks to the easy seal rubberized seal.

Cost And Value
As far as cost and value are concerned, this may be the best-designed food container set out there. In fact, this set includes a total of 42 pieces with different size containers for everything from storing food to liquids and smaller items like corn or peas. With that, the value is tremendous for the cost. One would expect this set to cost more due to its value. In fact, it costs very low and it is considered one of the best bang-for-your-buck deals out there.

2. Evolutionize Health Meal Prep

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
 Evolutionize Health Meal Prep
Amazon Link
Features
94
Value
93
Advanced Features
92
Materials
94
Durability
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Two different pack sizes to choose from.

Quality storage containers with plenty of benefits.

Store virtually anything.

Meal prep design makes it easy to use, stack, and take out.

They are five stars guaranteed and 100% satisfaction guaranteed.

They can be put in the dishwasher, microwave, and freezer.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the corners began to crack after a lot of use.

These next food storage containers may be one of the best containers for a meal prep and storage design. We are eager to share container set number to on this list so individuals can properly prepare and store their food. Let’s talk about the Evolutionize Health Meal Prep containers, a set of one of the best and most well-built storage set containers for food in the industry. Made in Ontario, Canada, individuals will appreciate the well-built materials of this particular food storage set.

Read more

The Design Element
As far as the design, this brand had to oblige to Canadas strict guidelines when it came to food and materials such as this. With that, they created one of the best food storage containers an individual can buy today. For example, one of the design elements meant that the food storage container had to be BPA free and CFC safe. With that, it is also FDA and CFIA approved due to the environmentally sustainable design and materials used during the construction process.

Stackable Design
One of the best design style elements when it comes to something as important as food storage containers is that they have to be compact and stackable. Without that, then a person is left with a bulky mess of storage containers. These are stackable so individuals can store them in the fridge or pantry when not in use, one by one on top of each other. With that, they serve as the perfect travel compact storage containers because individuals can take them anywhere easily.

Cost And Value
As far as cost and value for this particular item, one can expect that the price is fair and actually, relatively low. Considering that it is made with really healthy materials and meant to be environmentally friendly, this is one of the best storage food containers individuals can buy today. With that, we can say that the benefits are plenty and a person can buy them in a pack of three or pack of seven.

3. Freshware Meal Prep

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
 Freshware Meal Prep
Amazon Link
Features
91
Value
90
Advanced Features
92
Materials
92
Durability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.65
Pros:

High-quality storage containers that are FDA approved.

Microwaveable and dishwasher safe containers for easy use.

Individuals can easily use these containers whenever they desire.

Quality design so individuals can store their food easily.

Leak-resistant design to ensure food stays in the container.

Cons:

Users have mentioned they can easily crack if an individual is not careful.

It is time to talk about another container set that takes meal prep to another level. With that, these next food storage containers are amazing for travelers, people on the go, or people that want to prepare their meals in advanced. With that, this next brand has a thoughtful design and a well-built quality team that produced an amazing item. We want to share with you the Freshware Meal Prep Containers and why they should be on everyone’s consideration as their next meal prep containers.

Read more

Three Spacious Compartments
One great design element about these containers that many other ones don’t have is they the brand separated the container into three different areas. The three compartments in one allow individuals to easily separate their food the way that they want. An individual can easily store veggies, meat, and carb all in one container thanks to the compartment separation design. With that, this brand made the process easier for individuals to take their ideal meal with them all in one container.

The Quality Materials
One of the best aspects of this particular brand is that they took health and quality into consideration during the design process. This particular storage food brand is FDA approved and BPA free so individuals can trust that their food will stay clean and fresh for a while. With that, parents feel a sense of peace that their child is eating their food out of one of the best quality and healthiest storage food containers in the industry.

Cost And Value
As far as cost and value, we can say that this is one of the best deals for the price. With this deal, an individual received a fifteen pack of these meal prep containers and an incredibly low price. For the fact that they are microwaveable safe, freezer safe, and stackable, this is practically a steal. We can agree that it is one of the best high-quality storage containers available today.

4. Royal Air-Tight

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
 Royal Air-Tight
Amazon Link
Features
90
Value
89
Advanced Features
88
Materials
90
Durability
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.99
Pros:

High-quality storage containers that are easy to use.

Easily store liquids and dry goods in the fridge or pantry.

Air-lock technology so your food never goes bad.

Good deal considering they are extremely high quality.

Consumers love this brand for their quality products.

One of the best storage containers for dry goods available today.

Cons:

When taking off the silicone lid, be very careful or it may break easily.

Let’s talk about a container set that may easily be one of the best available sets of today. This next container set can be called one of the best because of the design quality and aesthetic element. With a clear plastic design and black lids, these container sets are meant for food storage primarily, not for carrying or meal prep. However, they are designed with quality in mind, so pantry food can last longer. Let’s talk about the Royal Air-Tight Food Storage Container Set and what one can expect from this particular container set.

Read more

Lid-Lock Design
This storage set includes a lid-lock design mechanism that allows individuals to easily and effortlessly lock the lid. This comes in handy if parents have their little ones running around looking for cookies or their favorite candy. The seal includes a silicone seal that once pushed down, creates an airtight compartment that is perfect to store food for a long time.

Easy To Clean Design
One of the best design elements of properly built storage containers is that they have to be easy to clean. With that, these storage containers have a removable silicone lid ring. This seal can be moved so individuals can wash the inside of the container and the sealing lid easily. This means that there will not be any build up of potential bacteria around the lid.

Cost And Value
When we take cost and value into consideration for these particular storage jars, individuals will love the two design elements that make it one of the best storage jars in the industry. The jars are designed with effective use in mind and peace of mind. With that, users will enjoy the design that makes them a perfect pantry storage container. However, another wonderful design element is they can be used to store liquids. As far as cost, these will be a bit more expensive, considering there are minimal pieces, but it is because the quality built design makes them one of the best.

5. OXO Good Grips 10-Piece

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
 OXO Good Grips 10-Piece
Amazon Link
Features
87
Value
85
Advanced Features
86
Materials
84
Durability
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.95
Pros:

They are considering ones of the best in the industry.

The design is not only simple, it is very pleasing.

Quality containers with an air-tight seal.

The push button design is very innovative.

The brand has included 10-pieces for the price.

Cons:

This is one of the most costly storage container sets on this list.

As far as storage containers go, these next storage containers may be the best storage containers when it comes to storage solutions and saving space. We are eager to talk about the OXO Good Grips Airtight Food Storage Containers and what users can expect if they opt-in for these storage containers. Their size, their style, and their intended purpose make them one of the best storage containers in the industry today.

Read more

One-Touch Lid Design
When it comes to innovation, we are often surprised by the quality of certain brands and their ability to reinvent the wheel. With that, we are eager to share these storage food containers are one of the best when it comes to their lid design. The Airtight Seal design is created with the push of a button, literally. A button can be pushed to lock the lid and seal the contents. However, with a second push, an individual can easily and effortlessly pop up a carry handle for easy transfer. This is one great piece of innovative design that makes it really easy to use.

Maximum Freshness
As far as design and freshness, we’d like to think that this is also one of the best design elements of this particular storage container manufacturer. In fact, during the manufacturing process of these food containers, they took into consideration the size of common household items. Therefore, these containers are designed to hold common household items such as coffee, rice, pasta, granola, and different spices and more. With that, individuals are secured that whatever food item they buy will fit inside of the container.

Cost And Value
As far as cost and value, I can say that this may be one of the best quality deals as far as pantry organization goes. The reason being that this particular brand has focused on creating storage food containers that can virtually fit in any pantry and can be stacked easily. With that, they are very aesthetically pleasing with the white top design. With that, users can expect that the organization will be effortless and simple. What we can say, is that the price will shock many people, but you have to consider the quality of these airtight storage containers

6. Sistema Klip It Collection

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
 Sistema Klip It Collection
Amazon Link
Features
84
Value
85
Advanced Features
83
Materials
81
Durability
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Klip it collection design makes it easy for individuals to lock the clip in place.

This manufacturer makes their containers from virgin plastic.

The lids are BPA free and Phthalate free.

These lids are dishwasher safe and microwaveable safe.

They are well built and can withstand the test of time.

Cons:

The lids are not microwave safe.

For dishwasher use, they can only be placed on the top rack.

This next storage food container set comes from New Zealand, with this, users can expect a quality design for today’s busy kitchen. Let’s talk about the Sistema Klip It Collection Food Storage Containers. Perfect for everything from fruit to food, to veggies, and more, this next food storage container set has a space-saving design that is also dishwasher safe.

Read more

Compact Stacking Design

When it comes to storing food, an individual is also looking for efficiency and design quality. This is an aspect that this manufacturer took into heavy consideration about these particular containers. With that, they design these food storage containers with a compact stacking design that allowed individuals to easily store them and stack them. The sizes of them are perfect so you can stack them together or separately.

Locking Clip Design

This is a different type of design element that we have not introduced yet. This brand created a locking clip design that makes it easy for individuals with hand pain to easily lock the top lid of the container. Individuals can easily place the lid and press on the clip to lock the lid in place. But, does it keep food fresh? Yes, the lid is powerful enough to ensure that an individual’s food stays fresh and secure.

Cost And Value

When we take cost and value into consideration for this particular storage food manufacturer, we can say that they created a simple storage lid with a cool design clip that makes it easy and effortless to store food and keep food fresh. With that, individuals can expect a set of three buying option or they can purchase them one by one. However, considering the set of three compared to other storage food lids, we can say the price is a bit costly for only three storage containers. In any case, the quality is excellent!

7. Fullstar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
 Fullstar
Amazon Link
Features
83
Value
81
Advanced Features
81
Materials
82
Durability
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

This 18 piece set includes 9 containers and 8 different lids.

Five different sizes that will fulfill all of your storage needs.

The leak-proof design includes a four hinge system.

These are FDA approved so individuals can rest assured they are quality.

These containers can be kept in the freezer or fridge.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that after multiple uses some of the lids may not snap correctly.

It is time to go back to a manufacturer that delivers promises in bulk! Yes, this next set is actually an 18 piece set of food storage containers. These are high quality, designed for everyday use, and easily be stored in the fridge or pantry. Let’s talk about the Fullstar Food Storage Containers and what makes them one of the best manufacturers of today. Here are two important points worth noting!

Read more

Leak Proof Design
Nothing is more annoying than when you want to store a liquid meal such as pasta or soup and you find out that the storage container leaks. Well, these storage containers are virtually leak-proof thanks to the watertight seal design that includes a 4-hinge locking mechanism. With this, individuals can rest assured that once the four hinges are locked, there is an airtight border around the container. This is perfect for individuals that want to ensure their food will not go bad, or the smell of food won’t escape the container and add a foody aroma to your fridge.

Space-Saving Design
These storage containers make it easy for individuals to easily store their food without adding a lot of bulk and space to their fridge. They are easily stackable and individuals will appreciate the design that allows them to be easier next to each other without much bulk. With that said, they are designed to easily be stored away when not in use.

Cost And Value
As we take cost and value into consideration for these particular storage containers, we can say that they are one of a kind and designed for everyday use. With that said, for the cost, individuals can expect an 18 piece set that is one of the best well-designed containers in the industry today. Much like the first one on the list, users can expect a bang-for-your-buck deal with these storage containers.

8. Shazo 10 pc. Set

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
 Shazo 10 pc. Set
Amazon Link
Features
80
Value
79
Advanced Features
82
Materials
80
Durability
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

High-quality containers that are perfect for storage use.

Take the guessing game out of the container, simply write on them with chalk.

Peel and stick chalkboards included.

Innovative interchangeable lids so individuals can switch them around for effective use.

They are slim and airtight making them easy to store.

Great for crafts, sewing, and other supplies.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that they are not as big as they were expecting.

Alright, since we do not want to bore anyone, we are eager to share with our readers a unique storage container set and manufacturer that has introduced a very trendy way to store your food. This next storage manufacturer has created a one of a kind way to store food that is simple but effective. With quality in mind, we are eager to share with you the Shazo Food Storage Containers. Let’s look at two important features that users should consider before buying.

Read more

Healthy Manufacturing Design
One of the best feelings is when you know you are buying a product that is approved by some of the world's leaders in health and technology. Well, these storage food containers are 100% FDA approved and they are 100% BPA free. With that, individuals can expect a quality design that is easy to clean, easy to store, and effective.

Really Cool Design
Okay, this is where these storage containers sell themselves. Yes, they are great to use, leakproof and can keep food fresh. But, the real design element that we want to cover with you is that they have a chalkboard front piece where individuals can easily name the food they are storing. Yes, these have free chalkboard labels and liquid chalk market so individuals can easily store their food. Other than that, the label is waterproof so the wording will not rub or wash off. Just write, peel, and stick it to the container.

Cost And Value
As far as cost and value, we are eager to share with you these particular food storage containers because of the quality of the containers. These storage food containers are designed to be one of the most effective containers today. With that, what makes them extra useful is the chalkboard peel and stick design that individuals will love and appreciate. Now, one can expect to pay a bit more for these storage containers considering they come with a chalkboard peel and stick. However, they are extremely high quality and work great for their intended purpose.

9. Komax Biokips Tall

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
 Komax Biokips Tall
Amazon Link
Features
77
Value
78
Advanced Features
75
Materials
76
Durability
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.99
Pros:

High-quality containers with a secure sealing design.

Premium construction material that makes it easy to wash and easy to use.

Stackable lid design makes it easy to store.

Non-slip lid design.

Airtight and waterproof design.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that some of the lids do not fit well without force.

As another great food storage container manufacturer, we are eager and excited to share this next manufacturer with our audience. The Komax Biokips Tall Large Food Storage containers are high-quality containers made from BPA free clear plastic and stackable design. With that, let’s look at two important notes worth talking about when it comes to these particular containers.

Read more

The Design
When it comes to design quality, these may be one of the best storage food containers in the industry today. In fact, these storage food containers are designed to be watertight and leakproof. Individuals will love the airtight seal which allows for food to be stored easily without worry that the food might go bad. The design makes them also perfect to store food in the fridge so the smell won’t penetrate into the fridge.

Reusable and Durable
Another great aspect of these particular storage food containers is the reusable and durable design. They are designed for multiple uses, so individuals can easily wash them and reuse them. With that, individuals will also be secured that the durable design can withstand the test of time and they will not break easily.

Cost And Value
As far as cost and value, we can say that these are considered really good storage containers for the price and that users will appreciate the quality. Now, as far as the cost they are somewhat pricey but it is because an individual receives a set of six tall and large storage containers. With that in mind, it is a good deal and they are designed to last.

10. Prep Naturals 50 Pack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
 Prep Naturals 50 Pack
Amazon Link
Features
75
Value
74
Advanced Features
74
Materials
76
Durability
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Good quality clear containers that are BPA free.

Reasonably priced and easy to use.

They are easy to clean and stain resistant.

Microwaveable safe and freezable safe as well.

Users can store virtually any item in these.

Stackable design so they don’t take up much space.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that they are somewhat flimsy.

Now, this may be the bang for your buck deal of the century! What if we told you that you can get a 50 pack of storage containers for the same price as 10 containers. Well, that is exactly what this brand is offering. The only thing is that these are also the simplest containers on the list. They are a simple container and lid design, but they are also very effective and work great. Let’s talk about the Prep Naturals 50 Pack Food Storage Containers.

Read more

Clear Lid and Containers
The design of these storage containers makes it for an individual to see what is inside of the container. With that, the plastic can easily be cleaned and stored away. Alongside this, the plastic is stain resistant and BPA-free so for individuals that love to cook with heavy colored spices or oils, the plastic will not retain any of oils.

50-Pack is Impressive
Like we said above, this may be the best deal that an individual will receive for a container set. The fact that it is a 50-pack design allows individuals to never run out of storage containers. Individuals can store fruit, veggies, cereal, and even more items.

Cost And Value
When we take cost and value into consideration for this set, what comes to mind is that an individual should expect a good quality design for a relatively low price. With that said, this is a really great starter storage set. Considering there is no lid technology, airtight seal, or fancy design elements like a tight-clip or chalkboard, they are worth considering if an individual wants a simple storage container. Perfect for college kids!

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

Evidently, when it comes to the food storage container industry, we focused the primary part of our attention on studying the quality of the design of each product. The truth is, the industry is very interesting in the sense where - there are a wealth of different designs and innovations. However, as consumers, we must be careful as to what brands we purchase from. Reason being, there are many different food storage container brands that use the cheapest type of materials. This often results in plastic containers breaking incredibly quickly, melting in the microwave, or falling apart in the dishwasher. Have you ever purchased a plastic storage container and tried to store food and, after trying to secure the lid, it just broke? This is the problem we were trying to avoid by focusing on the quality of the design. In this, we scanned each product to see what their locking mechanisms were, the types of materials the company used, and much more.

Value

Out of the many different aspects that we used to evaluate each product - the cost and value hold a special place. It’s the one part that is not directly associated with the physical product - but rather the way that the manufacturer is marketing their product. Now, after spending the amount of time that we have writing buying guides, we want you to know that cost and value is probably the absolute best way that you can ensure you are getting your money back from a purchase. What we did was look at the entire market of food storage containers and track what products were priced at, noting the most expensive, the cheapest, and the medium price point. From there, we analyzed each product as far as what they offered you - often known as the value. In doing this exercise, we were able to highlight the very best priced products offering the best value.

Advanced Features

The whole purpose of food storage containers is to what? Store your food! So, it would make sense that we would look at the compartments and amount of space the manufacturer provides consumers. This is probably one of the most important considerations for you. Are we right? I mean, you want to make sure that you can store enough food, without losing any. As you probably recognized, almost every single product that we shared with you today comes in a package or kit of storage containers. With that being said, as we evaluated each product, we wanted to make sure that each brand provides consumers with a wealth of compartment and space options. This includes smaller containers, medium containers, and even extra-large containers for those large family meals that you need to prepare for the big event.

Materials

When it comes to food storage containers, there are really not many material types that manufacturers pick from. Typically, they are either made from a different grade of plastic or glass. Now, before we began this project, we had experience with poorly designed food storage containers, which were made from a cheap grade of plastic. So, one of the first aspects of the products that we looked at was the materials used to design the entire container, including the lid. If we found any products that were made from cheaper grades of plastic - they were eliminated from our list. Additionally, we always double-checked with customer reviews to see what they experienced with the product. Since they have already tested out the containers - they can share the first-hand experience. In this, we can say that every food storage container that we shared with you is great and can withstand extensive use, thanks to high-quality materials. This sort-of leads up to our next point.

Durability

The most frustrating part of owning a food storage container, if it’s plastic, is that you are not sure how much strength it can handle. If you are like us, you might have tried to close a lid too hard before and, accidentally, the entire plastic container cracks. Now, if this has happened to you - it was not your fault. In truth, it was the durability of the product. Today, more and more manufacturers are taking the durability of their containers more seriously. This can be seen by the development of more intense and innovative lids and stronger grades of materials (plastic and glass). When we created this buying guide, we wanted consumers to only have the option to pick from the best containers that can withstand years of use - without breaking or showing any signs of wear and tear.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Advanced Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Now If You Could Only Find That Lid

We all have food containers, but the trick is finding ones that are designed to be functional and easy to store and don't end up being a mess of bowls and mismatched lids in a bottom drawer. We've tried to look for products here that will not only keep your food edible longer, but also will store easily, and look cool as they sit in the fridge. Do yourself a favor once a year or so and cull your old lidless food containers that are now sitting unused at the bottom of your bin drawer. Get some matching containers and suddenly we promise your food will taste better. Okay, we don't promise, but we do promise your refrigerator will begin to make a bit more sense.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

You would think that a food storage container can be used in many different ways, right? Well, we thought the same exact thing; however, in this industry, unless the company states that it’s multi-functional, you probably should not use it for liquids or anything of that nature. Now, we understand how inconvenient this can be for some people. With that being said, as we started to select products for your consideration, we wanted to ensure that each brand and container offered great usability. In other words, we wanted each container to offer spill-proof, leak-proof, and any other major form of innovation and technologies for multifunctionality. So, if you are looking for a food storage container for hiking, camping, or a day out on the boat - any of these products featured on our list today can rise to the occasion.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How can someone remove a stain from their food storage container?

a:

This is a great question. As many people may already know - food storage containers are great at keeping fruits and veggies safe on-the-go, perhaps for camping or hiking; however, if you are not careful, the containers can quickly get stained. Luckily, there are many different ways that an individual can remove the stain and clean the container. Ironically, rather than resorting to harmful chemicals, we are going to share with you a simple technique that is holistic in nature, and safe for everyone. What you are going to do is get one whole lemon. Cut it in half and simply use it like a rag on the container. If you didn’t know, lemons are probably one of the best cleaning agents out there - hence why they are in almost any cleaning product out there.

q: Are food storage containers leakproof?

a:

Yes! There are many different food storage containers that are leak proof. However, as a responsible consumer, you need to make sure that the product is leak-proof before you buy it. Now, you might be wondering, how can you do that? Well, the truth is - what we learned was that many manufacturers have a loose understanding of what leak proof means. So, what we did was verify with previous consumers with their experience. They will share with you their stories and whether or not the product really is leak proof or not. In our experience, there are ample products that can keep your liquid foods inside the container when hiking or camping - many which are featured in today’s buying guide.

q: Are food storage containers microwaveable?

a:

Today - there are many different companies that have produced food storage containers that are microwavable; however, you need to be careful before you simply just microwave any random container. You need to make sure that the product was tested and approved for microwave use. Typically, manufacturers will share with consumers either in the product description or on the bottom of the food storage container. If you are unsure - before purchasing it - check with customer reviews. Since this is a commonly sought question - you can find the answer there for specific products.

q: Can you clean a food storage container in a dishwasher?

a:

Of course! In fact, some of the best ways to clean a very dirty food storage container are simply to let the machine do all the work for you. However, you need to ensure that the food storage container can handle a dishwasher -as far as heat and chemicals. With that being said, check with the manufacturer and the product specifications. You should find this information right next to whether the product is microwaveable safe.

q: How long can food storage containers be used for?

a:

In truth, food storage containers are designed and built to last for many years - if kept safe and cleaned properly. What ends up happening is that after months of food storage - if the product is not cared for, mildew can build up, effectively ruining the food storage container. If you want your storage containers to last, it’s suggested to clean them frequently - and thorough cleaning at that. Some consumers have suggested that, if you have some extra space in your dishwasher -before doing a quick cycle - see if you fit your containers in there for extra cleaning. As always, be sure to double check whether it can handle it or not!