to top 10 table

Best Bodyboards Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Dec 01, 2018

The summer heat drives all of us to seek the cool caress of water at one point or another. Whether swimming, diving, surfing or just wanting to relax and be pushed around by the natural current, everyone loves relaxing and having fun at the beach. If you’re looking to try something new, bodyboarding has become a very popular activity that gives you the experience and excitement of surfing but without the difficulty of balancing on the board.

Ready to ride the waves this summer but don’t have the right beginner board? Or maybe you just want to float on the surface without much work and still enjoy the ability to easily trek back to shore while working just those leg muscles? Bodyboards are similar to surfboards but are smaller and usually ridden in the prone position. They come in different shapes and sizes, which allows you to find a board that is customized to your skills.

We bring to you the best we could find from ten different brands, offering the perfect ride for adults and kids. Check out each item and see which one fits you best for your next day at the beach and don’t worry about having to scroll the internet with just the right wording to get what you want. We bring the most durable, cost-efficient and quality items straight to you on every top 10 and this is one you probably don’t want to miss! So get ready to feel the sand between your toes and the water on your back all while knowing you have the best board you could want from a company worth buying from. Kowabunga dudes!!

Last Updated:
Avatar
By Felician Gavrau:

Bodyboarding is a great way to enjoy the water while cooling off during those hot summer days. Find the right board for your skill level with all the features you are looking for here! Our updated lists insures that you are akways up on the latest protucts!

Sorting Options
Durability Ease of Use Materials Style Stability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Durability
98%
Ease of Use
98%
Materials
95%
Style
99%
Stability
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$59.99
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Durability
95%
Ease of Use
98%
Materials
96%
Style
97%
Stability
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$14.99
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Durability
97%
Ease of Use
96%
Materials
94%
Style
95%
Stability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$14.99
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Durability
91%
Ease of Use
95%
Materials
88%
Style
95%
Stability
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$13.99
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Durability
90%
Ease of Use
88%
Style
93%
Stability
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$72.99
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Durability
91%
Ease of Use
85%
Materials
88%
Style
90%
Stability
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$32.95
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Durability
87%
Ease of Use
89%
Materials
84%
Style
86%
Stability
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$49.99
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Durability
85%
Ease of Use
86%
Materials
86%
Style
84%
Stability
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$30.99
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
Ease of Use
84%
Materials
79%
Style
83%
Stability
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$42.66
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Durability
83%
Ease of Use
78%
Materials
81%
Style
77%
Stability
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.18)
$34.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Own the Wave
  • Speedo Team
  • TYR Classic
  • Melissa & Doug
  • Giantex
  • Bo-Toys
  • BPS Storm
  • Goplus 41 inch
  • Wave Rebel BZ
  • Grande Juguete Bodyboard
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions

BEST BODYBOARDS REVIEWED & RATED FOR QUALITY

1. Own the Wave

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Own the Wave
Durability
98
Ease of Use
98
Materials
95
Style
99
Stability
98
best offer for today
$59.99
Pros:

1 year replace or refund warrantee

Durable

Great Customer Service

Comes with accessories

Cons:

If left out in the sun the foam will bubble

Only good for light use

Number one on our list is a body board that compared to others won’t break your wallet. It had several options we found accommodating and seems to be a lovely way to explore the water whether it is the briny blue or your backyard pool.

Read more

Guarantee
Unlike a lot of manufacturers, this one has a nice little deal. A 100% replace or refund guarantee with purchase of their board. Also, this guarantee is good for up to one year. In our minds, you can’t do much better than that at this price range.

Accessories
The Own the Wave Beach Attack Pack comes with not only its own leash, but it also comes with a pair of fin tethers. This is something not commonly heard of when it comes to body boards. A nice little package if we do say so.

Cost and Value
This is an Ultra-lite board. For those in the know that means it's faster than your average body board but also can’t handle a heavier rider or rougher waves. Sorry guys this one is best for the ladies although if you’re a lighter weighted lad you could probably get away with this one anyway. Overall, we thought well enough of this to give it the first slot.

2. Speedo Team

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Speedo Team
Durability
95
Ease of Use
98
Materials
96
Style
97
Stability
98
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

Side Holds promote better hand positioning

Textured to prevent slippage

Retains less water

Great for improving form and endurance in water

Cons:

Mainly for kids or smaller adults

Rough surface can damage sensitive skin if used improperly

Alright, we realize we sometimes give this brand a bit of a kick. (No pun intended) However, we think in this case you might just be pleasantly surprised. Keep in mind though when you read this that just because it’s a name you like doesn’t mean it’s the exact board you need.

Read more

Improves Form
Most people that use something like this are all about the form. The better the form the longer you can ride the wave. This board is built specifically to help improve your form and thusly your endurance. More endurance equals more water time.

Retains less water
Most boards of this style no matter the quality are going to retain a certain amount of water, which ends up pulling you down. Heavier board means less maneuvering and a tired arm to take it home. This board doesn’t suck up the water the way most do. That means less dry time and a lighter board for those tired arms.

Cost and Value
Items like this are not easy to judge as far as value due to the large number of options and taste that people have. We feel that for the cost you can definitely do worse, just keep in mind that you need to do your research. If you are looking for something to help you learn or even teach a young Kahuna in training this might be for you.

3. TYR Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
TYR Classic
Durability
97
Ease of Use
96
Materials
94
Style
95
Stability
95
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

Handles heavy use well

Good size for women

Quick shipping

Allows you to focus on lower body

Cons:

Plastic chemical smell when first received

This Tyr Classic is about mid-price range but don’t let that scare you. We found it’s a good full-sized board and really helps when it comes to helping you trim down that figure. I mean who doesn’t want to get that beach body and keep it without going to the gym?

Read more

Durable
The Tyr classic was able to take on what we threw at it and keep going. It is especially a great size for women who are looking to take it easy on the waves but still get that lower ab workout going on.

Quick Shipping
A lot of times we find ourselves steadily heading into summer and still trying to find that ideal board. The good news is that with the Tyr they have fast and accurate shipping so there won’t be any fear of not having it in time for your water adventures.

Cost and Value
At number four on our list, we feel this is a nice strong board for the adults out there. If you’re looking for something to have fun on the waves and not kill your wallet this may be a good buy. Moderately priced and a great size for women, which is not common we give this one our seal of approval.

4. Melissa & Doug

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Melissa & Doug
Durability
91
Ease of Use
95
Materials
88
Style
95
Stability
92
best offer for today
$13.99
Pros:

Great for kids

Easy to fit in beach bag

Colorfast Fabric withstands chlorine and sun

Easy to spot in a crowd

Cons:

Can mildew if not dried after use

Fabric can lift or come loose if treated roughly

We wouldn’t feel right while making this list if we didn’t include some things for the kids. The following board is one of the cheapest models and yet one of the best looking. We think any of your junior adventurers will love this one.

Read more

Colorful
Most water boards come either in one color or one on each side but the Melissa & Doug Sunny Patch Spark Shark comes with a fierce and friendly shark face on it. A lot of the time it is easy to get boards mixed up at the beach or pool, but not this one. It will for sure stand out in the crowd.

Colorfast Fabric
If you do your research you will find that almost every board out there has issues with fading. The Melissa & Doug board has colorfast fabric that is made to withstand chlorine and sun. A typical boards’ worst enemy.

Cost and Value
The overall cost of the Melissa & Doug Sunny Patch Spark Shark Board is way below what most boards are. Yes, it is made for the kiddies but, with softer material, brighter colors, and the ability to help with your basic swim skill what else do you need. If your little pirate needs some help this seems like a good way to get it.

5. Giantex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Giantex
Durability
90
Ease of Use
88
Style
93
Stability
89
best offer for today
$72.99
Pros:

Made of durable foam

Features a removable fin design

Fit for kids and adults

Great styles

Cons:

Needs to be assembled

Some found it too light

Anyone who has been to the beach and seen the people riding the waves has wished to be that cool. That said you have to start somewhere and the Giantex 6’ Surfboard may be able to help you with that. Yes, we know it looks like a regular surfboard but it’s not and we tell you why below.

Read more

Leash and Traction Pad
When learning the best way to use your board it can be difficult not just with balance but when you fall off your board goes a different direction from you. The Giantex not only had a traction bad to help when you're catching a wave but if you wipe out the leash keeps it close enough to grab with ease.

Free shipping
Let’s face it. The main reason a lot of us stay away from online shopping is you pay the cost of the product then pay to ship it. Not so with the Giantex 6’ Surfboard. Not only is the cost for a board of this size extremely economic but you get free shipping. How is that for tubular.

Cost and Value
While this is not the cheapest item on our list we feel it is one of the more economic. A standard 6’ surfboard can easily run you into the triple digits. The Giantex 6’ however can give you some color options, includes accessories, and is ideal for the young surfer in training. We wish these had been around when we were kids…. KOWABUNGA!

6. Bo-Toys

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Bo-Toys
Durability
91
Ease of Use
85
Materials
88
Style
90
Stability
88
best offer for today
$32.95
Pros:

Will replace faulty board

Color options

Great customer service

Quick Shipping

Cons:

Can delaminate if used harshly

If you’re looking for a nice quick board that looks good, then here it is. The Bo-Toys Bodyboard has color options and a slick look. It comes with a great combination of comfortable top and firm slick bottom to get the most out of every wave that dare you to try it.

Read more

Customer Service
On the off chance that you receive a faulty board no worries. The Bo-Toys company has an assurance that if you are not 100% satisfied they will respond quickly to fix whatever the problem is. From what we can tell they are very prompt in their responses and serious when it comes to their customer service.

Quick Shipping
We have to once again bring up how important expedient shipping can be when it comes to an item like this. Too many times have we found ourselves at Christmas or just before vacation still waiting on that one special package. However, we found that not to be the case here and we pleasantly surprised with the speed item were received.

Cost and Value
As for the cost of this, we think it’s an accurate cost for what you get. The Bo-Toys Body Board Lightweight seems to be all the things we look for in a good bodyboard. It doesn’t have some of the fluff that a big name would but who needs fluff when you’re having fun and can still afford that nice dinner on the beach.

7. BPS Storm

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
BPS Storm
Durability
87
Ease of Use
89
Materials
84
Style
86
Stability
86
best offer for today
$49.99
Pros:

1 year moneyback guarantee

Various colors

Leash and fin tethers included

Instructions for use and care included

Cons:

Can blow away if not properly secured

Cannot be left to sit in sun while not used

Ever look at some of the boards out there and realize they all look the same. The BPS Storm Body Board has a few options that might help with that. It also comes with some groovy things we think you will enjoy for your new board.

Read more

1 Year Warranty
We cannot stress enough how much we love a good warranty. The BPS Storm comes with a 1-year money back guarantee and if that isn’t a good thing we don’t know what is. After all, if the company guarantees it what can go wrong. Right?

Color Options
Most boards come with a one and done option when it comes to the look of your board. This can make it hard to keep track of on the beach. BPS Storm has 4 color combinations, making your board unique among its fellows.

Cost and Value
We found a lot of boards come with a certain expectation of how to use knowledge. However, that is not always the case. The BPS Storm comes with not only instructions for use with pictures but also with instructions for care. Meaning you don’t have to worry if your not sure just what the correct way is to take care of your board. This one has you covered. With a nice supply of color options, accessories that are included, and the instructions you really can’t ask for a better starter board for the price.

8. Goplus 41 inch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Goplus 41 inch
Durability
85
Ease of Use
86
Materials
86
Style
84
Stability
83
best offer for today
$30.99
Pros:

Nice variety of designs to choose from

Features a high-density polyethylene coating on the bottom

Crescent rails are 60/40

Deck is soft and light

Cons:

Max weight is 145 pounds

Some complaints about the wrist cord

This great, light-weight board was designed with the beginner in mind but has all the features more experienced riders look for. It comes in seven cool colors and designs so you can find one that goes with your style.

Read more

Great Performance

The bottom features a slick, high-density polyethylene coating which allows the board to be more flexible while increasing speed. The 60/40 rails is also great help for controlling it in different wave conditions.

Soft Impact

If you are a beginner, then you will probably be seeing some wipeouts. It happens to the best of them. This item features an IXPE deck that light and soft in order to provide more comfort during impacts.

Cost and Value

Although it is not the lowest costing item on the list, it is still very affordable and well worth the price. This is made to be strong and durable, making it a great board to learn on.

9. Wave Rebel BZ

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
Wave Rebel BZ
Ease of Use
84
Materials
79
Style
83
Stability
81
best offer for today
$42.66
Pros:

Sturdy design

Quick shipping

Less Bubbling issues

Quick Customer service

Cons:

Better for 100lbs or less

Who here is looking for a good board for the teenagers in your life. Something that is sturdy and you can trust will keep them afloat while they go be the typical daredevils we know them to be. Look no further the Wave Rebel, it is just what the beachfront new generation teen ordered. It even has one of their favorite color choices… black.

Read more

Sturdy
I think we can safely say that if kids are hard on things then teenagers are almost like a Barbarian. Not really understanding their own strength or that just because something is strong doesn’t mean it can be used to bash something in. We found this board to be nice and sturdy. Soft enough they won’t hurt anything else, firm enough to not hurt themselves. Yes, we know that sounds backward but hey…it’s a bodyboard.

Bubbling
A lot of the bodyboards we looked at seem to have a similar issue. People tend to leave then just sitting out in the sun not realizing that if you don’t flip the board so the hard side is up, you can develop a bubbling in the foam. The plastic foam most boards are made from just can’t handle hours of direct sunlight. This board seemed to have less issue as far as reacting to sunlight went, but please for the life of your board. Turn them over for the sake of your water fun.

Cost and Value
This particular item has a few great bonuses such as various color options, a sturdy build, and good customer service. Not only that but with its streamlined appearance and expedited shipping we think this is a great way to spend some beach time. It seems to stand tests against sun and surf and with the double swivel urethane leash, it almost feels like you can’t go wrong. Once again though…. treat your board well and it shall return the favor.

10. Grande Juguete Bodyboard

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Grande Juguete Bodyboard
Durability
83
Ease of Use
78
Materials
81
Style
77
Stability
82
best offer for today
$34.99
Pros:

Ankle/Wrist strap doesn’t pinch

Color Options

Durable with standard use

Prompt delivery

Cons:

Can dent easily on rough terrain

Strap can snap if used harshly

Last but certainly not least we come to number 10 on our list. The Grande Juguete Bodyboard is one of the more interesting looking products we have seen. It seems to take standard wear and tear well which is something not every board can claim. We loved the design on it and keep in mind Younger is the brand, not the age range.

Read more

Wrist/Ankle strap doesn’t pinch
We have found that most of the leashes that come with your standard board are a bit stiff and tend to pinch a bit or grab the skin. For those of us with a tender wrist or ankle, this particular item comes with a strap that seemed much more comfortable and less scratchy than most. A small thing but an important one.

Color Options
We know, we know, color may not seem important. However, we found when asked that most people on the beach love having a unique board or picked on that they felt drawn to due to the color. Something as simple as color can really give a person the chance to show off a bit of personality and sometimes that little quirk can make a big difference.

Cost and Value
Finding itself at a nice comfortable mid-range this Younger brand selection item seems to be an ideal surf glider for the standard bodyboarding set. It has the look, the price, and the lightweight abilities that tends to come with the slick bottom boards. As long as your not hitting rocks or raking it over reef you should be able to glide with the dolphins in true surf style.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

As always, one of the first things we check is how durable the item is. If it can’t last when used and cared for appropriately, how can we call it a quality item?

What most people don’t realize when buying a bodyboard or similar items is that they are not built to stand out in the sun for too long. Most of those listed above are a foam product, and like most foam objects, when left in the sun too long or in extreme heat, they will bubble, melt or become brittle. That being said, if you care for these boards and don’t use them inappropriately they all will last you through many, many hours of fun in the water. The durability of such a product isn’t always the easiest thing to gauge given the material itself is not incredibly strong, but we feel that given what we know and what information was provided, this equipment lasts longer than most. In the case of quite a few, you will also find good customer support if for some reason yours comes damaged, or if it gets damaged too easily through normal use. A few of them even offer to replace the item if this happens within the first few uses.

Value

By now you have noticed this notation in our articles, and while the other notes may have different topic labels, this always remains the same. When you come to us to help you choose an item for purchase, we know you are looking to see if what we have listed is going to burn a hole in your savings, or if we can bring to you something you’re looking for at a cost you can afford. Believe it or not, even when you find one of our items seems higher in cost than you might want to spend, it is actually still saving you time and money.

The value of an item, especially one like the merchandise on this particular list, comes from weighing everything together in our criteria. From how durable it is, to the customer service quality, it is all considered when we write these for you. So how do you know if these balance out? Well, that is up to you. You can check us on the pros and cons, weigh us out on how well we have done in the past and know that when we say you’re not just saving money, you’re also looking at having the best there is for what is found on the market.

Ease of Use

How well does the board handle? Does it support your height? Your weight? Does it snap on the first impact? These things are all considered when we look at something for our top ten. While these are all part of other qualities, the big thing we also see is that if a product doesn’t meet the needs of a buyer, it isn’t going to be something they enjoy. Ease of use for any water-based equipment is especially important. The answers to the questions above are things you should look at when picking out your bodyboard. If you can’t fit it, or it doesn’t float right with you on top, it probably is not what you need to safely be in the water. Always check how much any floatation device is built to handle in weight, and measure it out compared to your height and from shoulder to shoulder. If you won’t fit or it doesn’t float, you could end up in an emergency situation quickly.

Support

With some items this may not seem as important, however, whenever your safety could be at risk with a faulty item, this becomes the most crucial thing to check for. The reason it becomes so invaluable is due to the fact that when you have a dent, tear, bubbling, rip or some other defect, you need to know you can quickly and easily contact someone who either knows if the issue will cause an accident or can replace the item for you promptly. No one wants to end up on vacation without one of the key items they intend to use during that vacation.

That being said, we checked and found the companies that offer money-back guarantees, satisfaction guarantees and/or were quick to respond to inquiries. While not all of them were reached easily by everyone, the majority of the customers who did reach out were often met with help and were able to get their product replaced or get their money back without an issue. Remember, though, that when you contact a company for these sort of items, you must be using and caring for them appropriately. As with anything you buy that has a guarantee or warranty, if misused it will nullify any help you might get most of the time.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Choosing the Right Size

Bodyboards come in different sizes that accommodate people of all shapes, sizes, and ages. Make sure that you get one that will not only be comfortable for your body types, but you also want to make sure that it can hold your weight. Most companies provide a chart that shows what size board you would need for the weight you will need it to hold.

Find a Board for Your Experience

The level of experience you have riding a board is important when it comes to choosing the best model for you. If you're a beginner, you'll be looking for one made from EPS/Styrofoam. They are inexpensive and a great board to learn with. Intermediate riders should look for models with cores made of PE (polyethylene). They are more expensive, but they are also more durable. Advanced riders should go with PP (polypropylene) cores, they are stiffer and lighter.

Other Factors to Consider

Materials

Not all boards are the same and the material it is made of will play a big role in the performance you can get out of it. Some boards are built for beginners while other are designed with the experienced rider in mind. If you plan on using it a lot then you should spend a little more and get something that is durable and compatible with your size and experience.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is the difference between Body, Boogie, and Kickboards?
a:

In the end, the answer to this question depends upon who you are asking and what company you are looking at. The basic build for all three of these boards is nearly identical. While the cores used to be different, they aren’t anymore. They all use the same material, shape, and size. One of the biggest seeming difference is between the first two and the last one. A kickboard is little more than a modified version of the boogie/body board which is basically to add better holds to help someone learn to swim properly with the use of their legs. However, today’s ‘Kickboards’ often do not have any real design difference. For more information, check our sources below.

q: It’s a hot day, why check the water temp?
a:

While you may have a warm day, the first really hot days are not good ones when looking at water temp. You can still get hypothermia quickly even on a hot day. Another thing to consider is a hot day on cold water usually means bad water weather. Air currents and water currents are likely to collide with the warm air currents, and while this is great for some summer activities, with boards meant to keep you on the water’s surface (or even swimming) can prove to be very dangerous.

q: Why shouldn’t I leave my board on the beach when I’m not using it?
a:

This seems a common-sense question for many, however, having done our research we have found that this is important for those trying to take care of their boards properly. Unlike a surfboard, bodyboards are not easy to stand up in the sand and are not really designed to do so. Leaving them lay in a hot sun and on hot sand can lead to issues. These items are made of foam materials, which means they can bake, boil and crack under large amounts of heat. Finding ways to keep your board cool when not using it is good advice for any looking to enjoy their board.

q: Is it safe to use these boards in pools?
a:

Yes. As mentioned in an earlier question, bodyboards, and kickboards are nearly identical, though the manufacturers purpose in making both are slightly different. One is made to help you learn to kick your feet right for swimming, while the other is meant for simply enjoying the water–although both have little to no difference in how they are made and what they are made of.