to top 10 table

Best Adult Pool Floats Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Jul 03, 2019

Gone are the days for pool toys or general water toys only being for children. Beach devices are one of the most universal concepts out there when it comes to owning a pool. It’s considered practically mandatory among homeowners who have a pool, to have at least one floating pool toy or device. The pool doesn't feel suited up without it. But the thing about floaties is that technically speaking, anyone can enjoy them, not just children. Why should they have all the fun, after all? Luckily, companies have the same idea and have made more than enough beach devices for the parents and adults alike. In this guide, we’re going to be counting down the top ten best of these pool floats that are out right now. So, get ready for some fun in the sun, because here we go.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
Kelsyus Chaise Lounger
99.5/100 our score
Size
99
Features
100
Stability
99
Style
100
Kelsyus Chaise Lounger
Why is it better?

Greater stability

Comfy mesh and fabric

Convenient cup holder

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Kelsyus Chaise Lounger
Test Winner: Kelsyus Chaise Lounger
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Total Readers
17K
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
30
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
23
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Taylor Belmer
By Taylor Belmer:

What's a pool party without a fun float? That's why we made sure to update this guide so that you can easily find the right one for you! After reading this guide, seeing common questions and features, you'll soon be kicked back and relaxed floating on the water!

Sorting Options
Size Features Stability Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.5
Size
99 %
Features
100 %
Stability
99 %
Style
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$36.66
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Size
97 %
Features
98 %
Stability
97 %
Style
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Size
95 %
Features
96 %
Stability
95 %
Style
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Size
95 %
Features
94 %
Stability
93 %
Style
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Size
92 %
Features
93 %
Stability
92 %
Style
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Size
91 %
Features
91 %
Stability
90 %
Style
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$6.31
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Size
89 %
Features
88 %
Stability
89 %
Style
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$35.73
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Size
87 %
Features
85 %
Stability
85 %
Style
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$49.90
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Size
84 %
Features
83 %
Stability
85 %
Style
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$44.14
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.3
Size
83 %
Features
82 %
Stability
83 %
Style
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$18.99

10 Best Adult Pool Floats

1. Kelsyus Chaise Lounger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.5
Kelsyus Chaise Lounger
Amazon Link
Size
99
Features
100
Stability
99
Style
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$36.66
Pros:

Greater stability

Comfy mesh and fabric

Convenient cup holder

Cons:

Keeps you in the sea, so not the best for sunbathing

For our first entry, we have the Kelsyus Chaise Lounger at #1. When it comes to chilling at the beach and drinking a margarita, there’s no one better at supplying the means of sitting than Kelsyus. They have almost everyone out there beat for awesome beach loungers. Now let’s find out why that is.

Read more

Greater stability

You’ve likely used a beach recliner before and have been disappointed when it threatened to tip over like everything else in the sea. There has to be some way to stabilize your raft. Fortunately, Kelsyus has the answer, as this raft comes with a patented inner spring around the outside edge. This spring helps compensate your body weight, thus making for better stability.

Comfy mesh and fabric

But it wouldn’t be much of a raft if it was uncomfortable to sit in, of course. And thankfully, this lounger has that also covered, with its fabric covering and mesh seat that suspends you just below the surface of the sea. Keeping you nice and cool while you sit under the sun.

Cost and Value

Being made of such high-quality materials, it makes sense that this beach raft would be just a tiny bit expensive, but don’t worry, it’s nowhere near as expensive as it could have otherwise turned out.

2. Aqua Monterey Hammock

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Aqua Monterey Hammock
Amazon Link
Size
97
Features
98
Stability
97
Style
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Versatile

Cool weave fabric

Affordable

Cons:

Tends to deflate when left overnight

Coming in second place, we have the Aqua Monterey Multi Purpose Inflatable Hammock. Aqua Monterey isn’t nearly as well known in the beach community as, say, Kelsyus, but they know how to make a good beach raft. As we will now demonstrate.

Read more

Versatile

It may not look like it, from its simplistic appearance, but this is, by far, one of the most versatile entries on this entire list. You can convert this raft into pretty much every type of beach raft and chair under the sun, from a lounger to a hammock, to an exercise saddle or drifter, the list is almost endless.

Cool weave fabric

One near constant source of discomfort with anything that is otherwise comfy is when the cool, even temperature gets turned hot and sweaty by your body heat being absorbed into the fabric. And add the fact that these raft are under the summer sun, and that just makes it worse. Luckily, this beach hammock has a solution, being made out of cool weave fabric that absorbs the coolness of the sea below to stay a nice cool temperature for your enjoyment.

Cost and Value

On average, you’ll usually find this raft for about half of what is asked of you for the previous entry. Which makes it the much better deal by comparison.

3. GoFloats Unicorn

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
GoFloats Unicorn
Amazon Link
Size
95
Features
96
Stability
95
Style
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Huge size

Made from premium materials

Affordable

Cons:

Has been known to deflate sometimes

Finishing up our top 3 segments, we have the GoFloats Unicorn Beach raft. GoFloats are pretty much the masters of traditional inner tubes and beach rafts in the modern age, proving that this tried and true design still has a definite place. But that doesn’t mean that traditionalism must renege putting their own spin on things.

Read more

Huge

GoFloats are already known for making their stuff big, but this is one of the largest rafts that they have in their lineup. So, if you’ve always wanted to ride a particularly large, fat unicorn over the sea, now you can. Live your oddly specific and specifically odd dream, friend.

Premium materials

Most of what makes a beach raft last for a decent amount of time are the materials used to make the thing in the first place. A beach raft made of styrofoam, after all, would be a pretty lousy beach raft. Which is why this beach raft is made from nothing short of the best materials the manufacturer could find. This includes UV treated, raft grade vinyl that’s 25% thicker than almost any offering made by the competition.

Cost and Value

You would think that a beach raft made of such high-quality materials would cost quite a lot, but you would actually be wrong. This beach raft actually costs very little, for what’s being offered. Making it easily one of the best deals on this entire list.

4. GoFloats Flamingo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
GoFloats Flamingo
Amazon Link
Size
95
Features
94
Stability
93
Style
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Rapid valve inflation

Huge size

Very affordable

Cons:

Has been known to deflate sometimes

But why would you want to ride on something as girly as a unicorn, when you can ride on a man’s animal, like a flamingo! In all seriousness, this product is just as good as any put out by GoFloats, the details of which we will go over now.

Read more

Rapid valve inflation

Getting a beach raft this big sounds like a good idea at first, until you realize that you still have to blow it up yourself. And that could take quite some time, so it’s nice of any raft to give you a way to cut down on that time so you can get straight to the beach time. And this raft’s rapid inflation valve cuts down the time spent blowing up these rafts by more than half the time.

Huge size

Like all GoFloats rafts, this is a raft made for adults, and big ones at that. At 45 inches wide, and 3 feet tall, this raft is more than big enough for any adult to ride and enjoy. And if your kids want a ride, then they and their friends can hop on, and still have room for more.

Cost and Value

The best part about this raft is its price. Even though there is very little actual difference between this and the previous entry, you’ll typically find this raft being sold for even less than that one was asking for.

5. Intex Recliner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Intex Recliner
Amazon Link
Size
92
Features
93
Stability
92
Style
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Equipped with heavy duty handles

Has 2 air chambers

Great deal

Cons:

Very big, can prove difficult for some to get on it

Coming in at #5, we have the Intex Floating Recliner. Have you ever wondered what it would be like to sit in your favorite lazy chair while also enjoying a drink in the swimming area? Well now you can, with the world famous Intex’s new top tier beach lounge chair. Intex has always been known for making high-quality beach rafts, but this one outdoes them all.

Read more

Heavy duty handles

When on a chair like this, you need a way to change your course when you’re drifting too close to the edge of the swimming area or getting in your kids’ way. And you also need a way to efficiently drag this raft over to the beach without having to deal with its slippery vinyl surface. This is where the heavy-duty handles of the chair come into play.

2 air chambers

When you have a raft like this, the last thing you want is for that raft to get punctured, sending both you and the raft into the briny deep. But this raft comes with two separate air chambers, both of which are separately blown up and unaffected by the other being punctured. So, if one gets punctured and deflates, you still have one you can fall back on.

Cost and Value

You’d think this chair would cost more, but on average, you’ll actually get it for fairly decent prices.

6. Intex Clear Color Tubes

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Intex Clear Color Tubes
Amazon Link
Size
91
Features
91
Stability
90
Style
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.31
Pros:

Durable

Fun for all ages

Cheap

Cons:

Not as durable as other Intex rafts

For our #6 spot, we’re looking at the Intex Clear Color Tubes. Sometimes you just gotta go old school, and you can’t get much more old school than a bone simple inner tube beach raft. So, let’s see what these rafts actually have to offer.

Read more

Durable

Despite their simplistic appearance, these are still Intex beach rafts, and Intex doesn’t let any of their products out before making sure that they are, if nothing else, going to survive the nuclear apocalypse. Which is why these seemingly thin beach rafts are made with a top quality 9 gauge vinyl, making them perfect for the sea or beach.

Fun for all ages

Nine gauge vinyl may not be the best vinyl out there, but it is some of the stretchiest, which makes it perfect for the next big perk in this raft’s favor, the fact that anyone of almost any age can wear these. They’re fitted for 9-year olds, technically, but you wouldn’t know that if you put the thing around you and felt it stretch to accommodate you. This raft is brilliant at adjusting itself to accommodate for the wearer.

Cost and Value

The best part about this raft, however, is the price. The item we’re showcasing, in particular, is a set of three rafts and considering that the price this item is usually put at is amazing, considering the deal you’re getting out of it.

7. Swimways Spring Float Recliner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Swimways Spring Float Recliner
Amazon Link
Size
89
Features
88
Stability
89
Style
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.73
Pros:

Perfect lounge chair

Great stability

Inner spring for better comfort

Cons:

Pricey

In 7th place, we have the Swimways Spring raft Recliner. This beach raft is the kind you go after when you want to feel like royalty, floating through your watery kingdom on a leisurely stroll. But is that all that this raft has to offer, or is it just a great raft in its own right? Well, it’s on this list, so there can be only one answer to that, so let’s not waste time.

Read more

Perfect lounge chair

We weren’t kidding when we used the royalty analogy a second ago, as there are few beach rafts out there that pamper their rider like this one does. Not only does this beach raft have an integrated headrest, backrest, footrest, cup holder, and a removable canopy, but it has all of that plus one of the comfiest surfaces out there. If you want ultimate comfort in your beach raft, look no further than this raft right here.

Great stability

Just like the last beach lounger on this list, this floating recliner has brilliant stability and is great for when you want to raft in the swimming area without getting too wet. And just like before this is all thanks to the inner spring that adds tremendously to the comfort and stability of the raft.

Cost and Value

Did you really think you were going to get a raft this good for, like, $20? No, this is one of the most expensive entries on this list, and for a good reason, considering what we just went over. But for what it’s worth you will get what you pay for.

8. Chillbo Baggins

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
 Chillbo Baggins
Amazon Link
Size
87
Features
85
Stability
85
Style
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.90
Pros:

Both sea and dry Land

Ripstop Fabric

Easy setup

Cons:

Pricey

Kicking off our final three entries, we have the Chillbo Baggins Don Poolio raft at #8. These are what happens when you put a bean bag in the sea, only with a lot fewer beans and a lot more comfort. So, let’s see what else this raft has to offer.

Read more

Both sea and dry land

It isn’t often you find a beach raft that works just as well on land as it does in the sea, but lo and behold, you can take this raft with you pretty much anywhere. Whether you’re lounging in the swimming area or, well, by the swimming area, this beach raft will give the same amount of comfort no matter what.

Ripstop Fabric

This is one of the most durable beach rafts on this entire list, and much of that comes from the material used to make it. The exterior of this raft is made of ripstop fabric, which, while not indestructible, is still very good at stopping any rips or tears that do form from spreading out too far. So, if nothing else, at least you won’t have to patch all that much when it tears.

Cost and Value

This is likely the most expensive entry on the list, well above even the previous entry. But considering what was used to make this raft in the first place, that comes as no surprise. Still though, as always, you’re getting what you pay for, so at least you’re not getting ripped off.

9. Airhead Suncomfort Mattress

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Airhead Suncomfort Mattress
Amazon Link
Size
84
Features
83
Stability
85
Style
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.14
Pros:

Suede texture

Molded rope holder

Evenly spaced holes for adequate fluid penetration

Cons:

Pricey

For our second to final entry, we have the Airhead Suncomfort Beach Mattress. There are other lounge rafts on this list, but few are as comfy as this one in terms of sheer softness to the touch. But rather than there being multiple reasons for this, there’s really only one. Let’s look at that, shall we?

Read more

Suede

The material used for this raft’s exterior is a cool, comfy suede that never takes on a sticky feeling, despite the usual reaction expected of wet suede. So, if you want to lounge by or in the swimming area, and are in the mood for a velvety soft sun nap, then this is the raft you’ve been longing for.

Molded rope holder

Want to take a long suntan nap at your local lake, but don’t quite feel like drifting off to the center of that lake while you’re napping? Well, don’t worry, because this raft comes with its own molded rope holder, which you can use to attach this to any anchored surface like a dock. Now you can suntan in peace, with no worries about losing track of where you are.

Cost and Value

While still expensive, of course, this beach mattress is nowhere near as pricey as the previous two entries. So, if you want all the comfort of a nice cozy bed but the cool, wet feeling of being in the swimming area, then this may be the hybrid you’re looking for.

10. Outerdo Water Hammock

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.3
Outerdo Water Hammock
Amazon Link
Size
83
Features
82
Stability
83
Style
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.99
Pros:

Keeps your body cool

Comfortable

Affordable

Blown up by a pump instead of your mouth

Cons:

Stitching has been known to blow out from time to time

Tends to let your head dip into the sea if you don’t blow it up properly

We close out our list with our final, #10 spot, the Outerdo Water Hammock. Beach hammocks are easily the most fascinating products on this list. They have to hold you up, but never too much so you can still get into the sea, but just enough that you aren’t just swimming with some cloth attached to you. And one of the absolute best beach hammocks out there is this one.

Read more

Keeps your body cool

Everyone loves sunbathing, but even the practice’s biggest fans can’t take the heat for too terribly long. Especially on those particularly hot days with not a cloud in the sky to give you a shred of mercy, you need some kind of respite. In this case, Outerdo’s beach hammock has got you covered, always keeping a portion of your body submerged in the swimming area at all times. Ensuring that your core body heat isn’t going too far down, but it isn’t rising through the roof either.

Comfortable

What is the one thing you ask of any kind of beach raft? Comfort, above all else, comfort. It doesn’t matter if it is the absolute best in all other respects if you don’t like laying on top of it, then that’s the end of the discussion. Once again, though, this is not a problem that we had with this beach hammock, which provided excellent comfort in pretty much all respects. This is mostly thanks to its soft nylon fabric.

Cost and Value

Thankfully we have broken the streak of the final entries on this list also being the most expensive, as you’ll find this beach hammock to be incredibly affordable in comparison to the pricey pieces of equipment that we’ve seen thus far. So, if you need to get your hands on an excellent but also affordable beach hammock, then this will suit you nicely.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

Though technically in no particular order, we couldn’t list the most important criteria for evaluation first. Like we said earlier, it truly does not matter what else your beach raft or beach mattress or whatever else you want to call it has to offer. If it’s uncomfortable to use, then we don’t imagine that you’ll be using it very often. Now, this is different from support, though that is just as important and coming up next. Comfort is all about the materials and how good it feels to lay your body down on them. And if a beach device cannot accomplish even that much, then it wasn’t even a contender for this list.

Stability

There are a few different things that play into how supportive a beach raft is. And support is important. Why else would you even buy and use a beach raft other than to add to your own buoyancy, after all? The most common ways in which support is added to the raft in question is size and springs.

A bigger beach raft is a beach raft that can better handle the weight and size of the wearer. You wouldn’t wear a beach raft usually used by a child, would you? Of course not, so when you look for a beach raft for you, an adult, you need to look for the really big ones. Because those are the ones that are going to support your weight the best.

And then there’s the end all, be all method for adding support: inner springs. An innerspring is exactly what the name implies. It is a spring added to the interior of the raft, to help it better resist the weight of the person on top of it, and to help it keep from sinking into the water below. Innersprings are about as effective as they come when it comes to adding support to an otherwise flimsy raft, which is why every single raft manufacturer uses them in at least one of their products.

Value

The final criteria we judged for was the price. The price of a water raft can be an interesting thing. Like pretty much anything out there, the price is usually determined by how many features and accessories it has attached to it, as well as the materials used to construct it. For instance, a simple innertube with barely passable nylon and rubber used for construction won’t be near as fun as some of the entries on this list, but we’re willing to be that they’d cost a lot less than those entries. The point is that if you’re willing to pay up, you can get some truly excellent beach rafts out of it.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Adults deserve fun too!

Who says kids get to have all of the fun? We tend to associate beach devices with beach toys, for obvious reasons, and thus, with children, but like all things we instinctively associate with younger people, it is a very narrow-minded way of looking at things. Beach devices are meant to be enjoyed by everyone who loves swimming around in a pool, young or old. True, there’s no law saying you must have at least one beach device in your home when you have a pool with which to use said device. But there may as well be, considering how often you find a beach device not far behind when you’re in a house with a pool. They’re easily one of the most ubiquitous and universal concepts associated with owning a pool out there. They provide comfort, leisure, and just give kids and adults a means by which they can lounge around when they’ve had enough fun for a bit but aren’t ready to go back in yet. And we can say with all seriousness that every single entry on this list will give you precisely what you’re looking for. So, if you want some extra fun in the sun, and want to enhance the already fun experience of owning a pool, get yourself a beach device.

Accessories Matter

An accessory, in this case, is a part of the raft that isn’t strictly necessary but is appreciated to have nonetheless. This includes everything from multiple air chambers, to cup holders, to removable awnings. These are parts of the raft that do not need to be there, but if done well, go a long way toward increasing the value of the overall product. A normal water raft is all well and good, after all, but a water raft that shades your face from the sun holds your drinks for you and adds extra air chambers so if a puncture occurs, you aren’t immediately going into the water? That’s something worth $20.

Other Factors to Consider

Portability

Of course, though, even the most fun summertime afternoon at the beach must come to an end, and you have to put away the raft eventually. As such, we judged each raft, not by their specific size, but by how well the size can be removed from the equation when storing it. This can be through folding up the raft, putting it in its own storage container or bag, or any other means of getting the raft out of the way once you’re done with it, in a way that won’t harm it.

Materials

We judged each entry, both by the materials used to make them and by how cleverly those materials were implemented. The material we were most fervently looking for was nylon, and nylon comes in gauges, which determine the strength and durability of the material. For this list, we went with gauge 5 and up or bust.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Where exactly do I find a really good beach raft? Obviously, I know about this list, but where can I actually find them?

a:

Each entry on this list comes with a handy link that will take you right to the first online store we could find that included them for sale. We found as many top-tier choices as we could and included them on this list for your sake. And you can find all of these beach rafts either online or in stores across the country.

q: Since a lot of these entries allow you to bring drinks on board, I feel I must ask, how do I clean a beach raft?

a:

When it comes to beaches and beach accessories, a beach raft is the easiest to clean, bar none. And it’s important that you know how, regardless of the actual ease of the task, since properly sanitizing a beach raft before and after every use is important, especially when you have children involved in the equation.

The first bit of advice is this: do not clean your rafts while they’re deflated, keep them inflated for the cleaning. It’s not that it’s an objectively bad idea, it’s just easier to clean a fully inflated raft than a deflated one.   

But when it comes to the cleaning, the process is simple. Mix some bleach with warm fluid, usually two cups of bleach per every gallon of water. Then, dip a sponge or soft cloth into the mix and ring out the excess. Then wipe down every last centimeter of the raft with the rag/sponge. After you wash and wipe the raft, rinse it off with a steady stream of warm fluid. Make sure that every last ounce of bleach is wiped off from the raft before you deflate it. Once deflated, you end the process by leaving it out to dry in the sun. make sure it’s completely dry before putting it in storage or back at the beach.

q: Can a beach raft be used as a life-saving device?

a:

No. Absolutely not, in fact. You should never even think of using a beach raft this way, and why is that? Because a beach raft could make a situation worse.

Let’s run through a scenario, shall we? Someone in the sea or ocean is drowning, and you don’t have a life preserver nearby, so you throw the beach raft out there. Now, if someone is drowning or struggling to stay above level, they’re probably thrashing and splashing around like mad, stressed out and panicked because their brain is going into overtime trying to find ways to preserve itself. However, that flimsy beach raft then hits them, and they scramble to get on it. Only, while beach rafts are buoyant, they aren’t that buoyant, as in, they aren’t “keep someone above the level at all costs” buoyant. You’ve just made their situation even more desperate than it already was. So, if you’re afraid that this may happen. Keep a life preserver on hand at all times for use when someone is struggling to stay above water level.

Sources

  1. Wikipedia, Polyvinyl chloride,
  2. Pool Safety, Pool Safety,
  3. Wikipedia, Pool float,