to top 10 table

10 Best Utility Vests

last updated Feb 04, 2019

A utility vest might just be one of those things that work miracles for you on a long trip, particularly in overseas and unfamiliar environments. Having chest pockets for wallets, phones and credit cards could be the difference between a great vacation and a trip to the Embassy because your money and passport are long gone. Also, a solid utility vest might also be a great help when you’re out hiking.

This is the value of a solid utility vest, because just like apps, “There’s a pocket for that!” Granted, some of the more… robust… versions of the utility vest should not be worn lightly. They are military, law enforcement grade tools and if you wear one be prepared to have people steer clear of you because your whole persona might suddenly become a bit scary. Whatever your purpose for those pockets, we believe we have the best selection out there.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
 Gihuo Travel Vest with Pockets
97.2/100 our score
Style
99.2
Durability
98
Comfort
97.8
Overall Fit
96
Value
95
Gihuo Travel Vest with Pockets
Why is it better?

Comes in Various Colors.

Suitable for both recreational and work environments.

The polyester blend is very easy to clean.

Comes with numerous zippered pockets for storage.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Gihuo Travel Vest with Pockets
Test Winner: Gihuo Travel Vest with Pockets
Amazon Link
Last Updated:
Kevin Enochs
By Kevin Enochs:

In this update we've added two new items and completely rewritten the intro. We've also updated all the products to make sure we've got the best on the market in general. Hunting season is almost upon us and Fall is coming on fast and these vests might be just the thing to keep you warm as Sun gets lower in the sky.

Sorting Options
Style Durability Comfort Overall Fit Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Style
99.2 %
Durability
98 %
Comfort
97.8 %
Overall Fit
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Style
98 %
Durability
96.7 %
Comfort
95.5 %
Overall Fit
94 %
Value
93.6 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Style
96.9 %
Durability
95 %
Comfort
94.9 %
Overall Fit
92.8 %
Value
91.9 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$32.40
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Style
94.7 %
Durability
93 %
Comfort
92 %
Overall Fit
88.9 %
Value
87.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$33.14
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Style
93.9 %
Durability
91.8 %
Comfort
88 %
Overall Fit
87 %
Value
86.5 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Style
92 %
Durability
90.1 %
Comfort
87.2 %
Overall Fit
85 %
Value
84.7 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$52.28
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Style
91.9 %
Durability
89 %
Comfort
85.3 %
Overall Fit
84 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$28.23
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
Style
90.2 %
Durability
87.5 %
Comfort
83 %
Overall Fit
81.7 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$32.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Style
88 %
Durability
86.3 %
Comfort
82 %
Overall Fit
80.8 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.49
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Style
87.2 %
Durability
84.1 %
Comfort
80 %
Overall Fit
78.9 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$140.00

Top 10 Picks

1. Gihuo Travel Vest with Pockets

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
 Gihuo Travel Vest with Pockets
Amazon Link
Style
99.2
Durability
98
Comfort
97.8
Overall Fit
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

Comes in Various Colors.

Suitable for both recreational and work environments.

The polyester blend is very easy to clean.

Comes with numerous zippered pockets for storage.

Cons:

Poorly Made Zippers.

Fits Small

As utility vests go this is a simple great useful tool and it gets our highest marks. This isn't military grade like some of our other entries but it's a great vest for anyone who loves fishing or needs a place to put some small simple tools or hiking equipment. There’s plenty of room for a wallet, keys, a phone, and even a snack or two if hiking is your thing. It’s not completely waterproof but will provide you a layer between you and the rain. A great simple product for anyone who’s heading out into the world and doesn’t want to keep stuff in the pants pocket.

Lightweight Breathable Fabric
This vest is a cotton poly blend that is going to feel like wearing nothing (until you start putting stuff in it) and it will also resist water to a certain degree, dew and light mist, and even if you get stuck in a downpour it’ll provide another layer of protection.

Pockets, Pockets, Pockets
16 in all, from the tall to the small, these are a combination of zipper and Velcro pockets. The small ones will hold change, or nuts and bolts and the larger pockets will hold wallets, keys, phones, without bulking up to the point where you look ridiculous wearing one.

Cost and Value
This comes at a really nice price for what you get. Reasonable and unobtrusive this is a great utility vest for anyone who just needs a place to keep their stuff safe or organized. We recommend it highly.

2. Carhartt Sandstone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
 Carhartt Sandstone
Amazon Link
Style
98
Durability
96.7
Comfort
95.5
Overall Fit
94
Value
93.6
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

This particular one hundred percent cotton and is also machine washable.

The zipper closure makes it easy to put on and take off.

This vest features front diagonal pockets and a vertical zipper pocket at the left chest area for added usability.

The faux interior keeps an individual warm during cold days.

Plenty of colors to choose from that are appealing.

High-quality vest from a trusted company.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that they wish they had more pockets.

Women have said that it runs a bit small.

Switching gears towards a different type of vest, this utility vest can be considered a design statement that mocks as a utility vest while offering some of the best qualities activewear companies include in their vests. This particular woman's utility vest is used more as a recreational vest then a vest dedicated towards work environments. With that said, we believe that this is one of the most appealing women's vests around this price range. Let's discuss the Carhartt Women's Sandstone Mock Neck Sherpa Vest, a quality utility vest with plenty of function.

100% Cotton

When it comes to utility vests the material will determine what kind of vest is best suited for you. Considering that this vest is made of 100% cotton we can say that it is not the best vest for work environments. However, any woman will feel extremely confident wearing this well-manufactured vest with plenty of functionality. Alongside this, this vest is known as one of the most high-quality women's vests in the industry. Therefore, we highly recommend it for any woman that is looking for durability, functionality, and style.

Faux-Shearling Interior

As one would come to expect from a high-quality designer vest dedicated towards women, this particular vest is made from a high quality and extremely soft interior. Made from faux-shearling, this vest is perfect for cold days out on the mountain or fishing with your hubby. We can say that when it comes to women's vest, this is one of the best-manufactured vests offering practicality and style all in one reasonably priced package.

Cost and Value

When we take cost and value into consideration, we have to consider that this vest is mostly for design purposes, which at times can bring up the price. More so, this vest comes in a plethora of colors that can easily and quickly bring up the price. If you are a woman considering a high-quality vest that offers plenty of flexibility in an easy to wear and well-manufactured, this one's the one for you. What we can say is that the product price certainly reflects the quality.

3. Rothco Uncle Milty

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
 Rothco Uncle Milty
Amazon Link
Style
96.9
Durability
95
Comfort
94.9
Overall Fit
92.8
Value
91.9
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.40
Pros:

This vest has been quality tested to withstand the test of time.

Made from a polyester blend that is easy to clean.

A trusted brand with plenty of years of experience in the outdoor field.

Designed for people in the work field.

Reasonably priced for the amount of value that individual receives.

Plenty of pockets space for easy storage.

Cons:

Certain users have mentioned that this vest is of cheap quality.

Certain users have mentioned that the vest runs a bit large.

Now that we have mentioned to mid-level vests, it's time to switch gears towards one of the best utility vests in the industry which has been quality tested and insured to withstand the test of time. As one of the best utility vests for corporate or outside jobs, it's designed to make people's lives a bit easier. With that said, let's begin with two of the best features of the Rothco Uncle Milty Vest.

Maximum Durability

It goes without saying that if an individual is looking for a quality work vest designed with utility in mind, maximum durability is the number one feature an individual is looking for. This quality field utility vest is made out of full polyester that has been reinforced with maximum durability so it can withstand some of the toughest work environments. If you happen to work in the construction environment or any other extremely difficult and laboring job, we can say that this will protect your clothing against some of the most hazardous elements, while also being extremely easy to clean.

Usability

If durability is number one on the list of the primary quality that an individual is looking for in a work vest, then performance and usability are close behind. Therefore, this quality vest has been manufactured by a company with plenty of years producing some of the best outdoor gear that completely focuses on providing easy solutions four people in need. With that in mind, the design of this vest features plenty of pockets space so an individual can carry around the most important items while at work.

Cost and Value

When it comes to comparing the cost to value, can one really put a price on functionality and durability? What we can say about this vest is that it is designed for some of the toughest work environments, while offering individuals that wear this vest premium comfort and usability. Considering the value, the cost of this vest will range depending on the size and the color chosen.

4. LE3NO Military Anorak

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
 LE3NO Military Anorak
Amazon Link
Style
94.7
Durability
93
Comfort
92
Overall Fit
88.9
Value
87.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.14
Pros:

One of the most unique quality built vests to make a design statement.

This vest is really durable and comfortable to wear.

The different zipper details add an element of design to the uniqueness of this vest.

Included is an adjustable waist drawstring for maximum comfort.

Plenty of beautiful colors to choose from make it easy to find the ideal complement to any outfit.

This military-style vest includes front pockets for convenience.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that it might shrink in the washer.

Users have mentioned that they wish it came with a hoodie.

We are eager to bring you another well manufactured and extremely durable women's vest. What makes this vest unique is that it includes a unique design element that makes this brand stand out among other ones. In fact, the suitable style of this vest is actually meant to mimic a military style utility vest with a Twist of an urban Flair while also offering the same usability. We are eager to share with all of the women weave reading the LE3NO Womens Military Anorak Vest. Let's talk about two of the most important features that make this utility vest stand among the crowd.

Suitable For Any Occasions

Whether a woman wears this vest as a utility vest during a rainy day or as a design statement alongside skinny jeans, we can say that the appearance remains the same, high quality and beautiful. With this in mind, this utility vest is the perfect match for different style outfits and is highly recommended because of the design quality. With that in mind, a woman has plenty of styles and color choices to choose from when it comes to this brand including a beautiful and new camo utility vest.

Design

What makes this utility vest so unique is the particular design statement that represents the authentic look from this brand. With that, one of the coolest designs featured on this vest is that it includes a hidden zipper closure covered by snap buttons to offer a trendy, urban, and military appeal. With that in mind, the style is not the only thing worth noting. In fact, this utility vest offers the functionality of multiple pockets that an individual would expect from workforce utility vests.

Cost and Value

When it comes to cost to value we were pleasantly surprised by how reasonably priced this brand is offering this vest. Considering the design statements and beautiful quality build, this high-quality vest offers plenty of value and is highly touted as one of the most original military-style vests in the industry. With that in mind, the price of this vest slightly depends on the color and the size that an individual goes for. We highly recommend this as a woman's design piece that can enhance any outfit.

5. Rothco Undercover

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
 Rothco Undercover
Amazon Link
Style
93.9
Durability
91.8
Comfort
88
Overall Fit
87
Value
86.5
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Clean-cut look.

Easy to put on and take off.

Multifunctional pockets that are hidden within the best.

Considered one of the best travel vests for undercover personnel.

Hidden passport pocket on the inside of the vest.

A headphone wire passes through embedded into the vest.

Cons:

Individuals mention that they wish it was made from a better material.

Users have mentioned that there are a couple design elements that they wish could be better.

When we find an extremely cool item we are often very excited to share with our readers. With that in mind, this may just be one of the coolest vests in the industry today due to the original design and quality build. We are eager to share a vest that not only offers plenty of the durability from quality vests in the industry it is also used as one of the best tactical vests available today. With an inconspicuous look, this may be the best vest for a person in the tactical personnel industry. Let's talk about the Rothco Undercover Travel Vest. Let's begin with two important points!

Undercover Design

Unlike many of the other vests that we have mentioned on this list, this one offers an undercover style that is perfect for the tactical traveler looking to blend in with the crowd. Tactical vests are often known to have many pockets within sight. However, this brand hid many of the many functional pockets inside of the vests for a simple and clean-cut look while still offering plenty of the functionality and that an individual would need from a regular looking vest.

Large Pockets

Alongside that unique design of this fast, the manufacturer thought about everything when it comes to the items that an individual might want to carry inside of the vest. Therefore, this manufacturer designed multifunctional utility pockets that are large enough to fit a tablet comfortably and effortlessly. More so, since the design of the pockets is one of the best and individuals can hide all electronics or any other items securely adding to the tactical feel of this vest.

Cost And Value

When considering cost and value for an item such as this, individuals consider the durability and functionality as two of the most important points. With that said, we can guarantee that this vest was designed for functionality in mind and to withstand the test of time. Also, the design of this vest ensures that an individual will be well protected during work environments and so will the items that they need to carry. With plenty of pockets and a well-built design, we can say that this vest is reasonably priced compared to many other manufacturers producing tactical vests.

6. UTG 547 Law Enforcement Tactical Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
 UTG 547 Law Enforcement Tactical Vest
Amazon Link
Style
92
Durability
90.1
Comfort
87.2
Overall Fit
85
Value
84.7
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$52.28
Pros:

Pockets Galore

High Quality Zippers

Mesh Lining for Comfort

Included Cross Chest Holster

One Size Fits Most

Cons:

Numerous users have complained about the sizing options.

Buttons Fall Off Easily

So this is that utility vest that looks like it came right out of a Batman movie. This is a military, law enforcement type utility vest and we wanted to include at least one on this list to show you what a full-on no-messing around tactical/utility vest looks like. Keep in mind, you can use this if you're headed out fishing but if so there's a huge amount of overkill going on. This thing has room for your wallet, keys, phone, guns, ammo, flashlights, dinner, and almost anything else you could imagine. It's for people who are doing some big-time hunting, or just want to be prepared, and we mean prepared like zombie apocalypse prepared.

Pockets galore
The makers of this vest (UTG) prefers to call them pouches because that’s cooler, but this thing has pockets all over, it. Big pockets, some of them specifically designed for ammo but roomy enough to hold just about anything you can hold in your hand, including a pistol.

Breathable and Water Resistant
This has a signature mesh lining that keeps it from getting too hot. It’s also reasonably waterproof but like a lot of these pouches, it’ll hold up to a mist or soft rain but don’t expect too much if the skies open up.

Cost and Value
Pricey, like you’d expect when compared to some of the other entries on this list, but what you’re getting with this is the kind of vest you see cops wear, they carry everything you can imagine, from wallets to pepper spray, to nightsticks, whatever you can imagine. So if you’re a true prepper or if you’re shooting or hunting in a big way, this is the vest for you.

7. Eidlvais

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
 Eidlvais
Amazon Link
Style
91.9
Durability
89
Comfort
85.3
Overall Fit
84
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.23
Pros:

Multifunctional jacket perfect for men and women.

Utility vest qualities that make it a premier outdoor sports jacket.

Plenty of style and functionality.

The handy pockets are perfect to store anything while on a hiking trip or outdoor sports adventure.

For custom colors to choose from.

Highly touted as one of the best vest manufacturers on this list.

Cons:

Women wish that this jacket came in more colors.

This utility vest might shrink after multiple washes.

On this list of utility jackets, we have included many women's utility vests that are designed with style in mind. However, it seems that most men's utility jackets or vests are created for the work field. Therefore, we get extremely excited when we find a product that is quite unique and stand out from the industry. We are excited to talk about one of the most stylish and authentic men's outdoor sports utility vests available today. This is the Eidlvais Men's Outdoors Utility Vest.

Plenty of Pockets

When it comes to utility jackets that try to be stylish, the number one fear that many people have is that it will not offer the same amount of functionality as regular work vests. With that in mind, individuals will be extremely happy about the premium functionality of this jacket which offers twelve outer pockets and four inner pockets. With these many pockets available, this jacket is not only stylish but it is considered one of the most premium and well built functional outdoor jackets for any type of sport.

Unisex

What makes this utility jacket even more unique, is that compared to the full name, this manufacturer markets it as a multi-functional unisex utility jacket. With that in mind, a husband and wife pair can match during any outdoor event, hiking trip, or fishing tournament. With plenty of color choices to choose from, this may be the most ideal men and women's utility jacket that offers premium functionality alongside a really cool style.

Cost and Value

When taking cost and value into consideration for something as important as a utility jacket, individuals are primarily looking for durability and functionality. However, when you add stylish design qualities individuals tend to fear that the durability or functionality is lacking, something that no one has to worry about when it comes to this manufacturer. What we can say is that the price of this jacket and utility vest is reasonably priced making it one of the most appealing jackets on this list.

8. Meaneor Lightweight

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
 Meaneor Lightweight
Amazon Link
Style
90.2
Durability
87.5
Comfort
83
Overall Fit
81.7
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.99
Pros:

Multiple colors to choose from make it very appealing.

Women have mentioned that they feel more confident in this fast.

The stretchy material is also breathable which makes it perfect as a compliment outfit on warm days.

A trusted brand with years of experience.

Reasonably priced for the style and functionality.

Drawstring in the waist makes it easy to find the perfect fit.

Cons:

This vest cannot be machine washed.

Women have mentioned that they wish it came in different colors.

We are coming close to the end of our list and we had to fit another woman's utility jacket and vest in here. With this in mind, what makes this utility jacket and vest completely different than the other ones is not only the style but also the materials that went into creating this particular vest. Without further hesitation, we are eager to share with all of the women reading one of the coolest utility vests in the industry, offering plenty of functionality alongside a comfortable blend of fabrics. This is the Meanor Womens Lightweight Sleeveless Military Anorak Vest.

Materials

Unlike many other utility vests on the list, this one is made from a blend of fabrics that make it one of the most stretchy utility arrests out there. For example, some utility vests are made out of 100% cotton to ensure longevity and comfort. However, this vest was designed for the active sports lover in you. Made of 95% polyester and 5% spandex, this vest is not only durable and can withstand the test of time, but it is also stretchy. The design qualities of this fast make it one of the best active sports vests for long runs, hikes, our yoga dates with friends.

Functionality

Now the stylish design elements of this particular utility vest do not completely diminish the functionality that goes into creating a quality multifunctional best. With three pockets in the front, an individual can store their cell phone or wallet during any active sport. More so, this vest is easy to wear, easy to take off, and offers plenty of durability while maintaining its stylish charm.

Cost and Value

One of the most intriguing design elements of this vest is the stretchy material that is made from. With that in mind, this is the perfect outdoor women's vest for numerous activities that require easy mobility and a lot of movement. When taking cost and value into consideration for an item such as a utility vest functionality is the main focus of many people, but what this fast lasts in utility pockets it makes up for in its stretchy material.

9. LUSI Poplin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
 LUSI Poplin
Amazon Link
Style
88
Durability
86.3
Comfort
82
Overall Fit
80.8
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.49
Pros:

Quality looking vest with plenty of functionality.

Plenty of pocket space allows an individual to store important items.

Fits perfectly and molds to the body while allowing a lot of mobility room.

Great for all sorts of outdoor sports.

Breathable material makes it easy to use even on hot weather days.

Users are happy with the many colors that this utility vest comes in.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the size may run small.

A couple of users have mentioned that this utility vest is too boxy.

Utility vests are often known as the best companion outdoor gear for the outdoor sportsman. With that, we strive to only share the best and most quality field products. With that, we can say that this Outdoors utility vest for men offers plenty of functionality and durability at a reasonably low price. In fact, maybe the lowest priced vest on this list. We are excited to share two very important points about the LUSI Men's Poplin Outdoors Vest, one of the best utility vests offering premium functionality that one would expect from an outdoor brand.

Materials

Outdoor vests are known to include many pockets, something that this vest is not lacking. However, if the material of the vest is not lightweight and breathable, having multiple pockets that an individual stuffs with items can make the jacket or vest terribly heavy. This manufacturer saw the importance of creating a vest that is lightweight and breathable for any outdoor sports such as fishing or hunting. Therefore, the materials used to create this lightweight vest includes 35% cotton and 65% polyester, two of the most top of the line fabrics in the utility vest industry.

Multipurpose

If you are an individual looking for a multi-purpose vest that offers plenty of functionality and durability, this is it. Perfect for the fisherman or hunter that is looking for plenty of comfort alongside a premium quality build that can withstand high temperatures, rain, and even snow. Due to the multipurpose design, this manufacturer perfectly balanced all of the pockets in the right places for easy access without restraining mobility.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for many of our products, we have noticed that a common trend is that individuals are looking for durability and mobility from their utility vests alongside a multi-function design. What we can say is that this uniquely designed men's travel sports vest is highly touted and reasonably priced at a cost that cannot be beaten for the functionality and durability.

10. SCOTTeVEST Featherweight

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
 SCOTTeVEST Featherweight
Amazon Link
Style
87.2
Durability
84.1
Comfort
80
Overall Fit
78.9
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$140.00
Pros:

This vest was specifically designed to balance the weight of the items a person will carry,

Engineered with quality craftsmanship.

A trusted company producing some of the best products in the industry.

Plenty of reviews from satisfied customers.

14 Pockets allow for maximum functionality.

The lightweight fabric is easy to wash and easy to clean.

Cons:

This utility vest is so highly sought out that they often run low.

Users are at times taken back by the price.

Known as one of the most premium vests in the industry, this vest is the most lightweight, durable, and quality vest on this list with the price to match. We have been known to want to save some of the best items for last. With that in mind, we can say that this manufacturer thought about every need while producing this one of a kind vest. In fact, this may be one of the rarest manufactured utility vests in the industry today. Let's talk about the rare and unique SCOTTeVEST Men’s Featherweight Vest. Let's begin with two notable points.

Featherweight

It is called to have featherweight for a reason, this may just be the most lightweight vests on this list due to the quality materials that went into the build process. In fact, this utility vest is made from a poly fabric that offers a lightweight design while also holding in plenty of warmth for cold weather days and maintaining a breathable fabric for warm weather days. This is one extremely appealing aspect of this high quality.

14 Pockets

Now, what did this particular manufacturer take into consideration is that a utility vest is designed for multi-use purposes such as hiking, hunting, fishing, or any particular outdoor sport. With that in mind, the lightweight material allowed this manufacturer to include as many pockets as possible without sacrificing the functionality and mobility of the best. With 14 durable and high-quality pockets, an individual can take with them items as large as a tablet or Surface Pro.

Cost And Value

When cost and value are taken into consideration, this manufacturer appealed to an audience that wanted the most high-quality product alongside a durable and functional build. What we can say about the cost is that an individual should not be alarmed by the price, they should take it as a resemblance of the immense amount of value that this particular utility vest offers.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Criteria Used to Evaluate the Best Utility Vests

Now that you’ve had one of the hardest days of work, how does it feel that it was made slightly easier thanks to your newly bought and extremely durable utility vest? See, we were right, they make the work life a bit easier! If you are in the market for a high-quality utility vest that offers multi-functionality alongside platinum durability, this list only shines the light on the top 10 best utility vests in the industry.

What makes utility vests so unique is the materials included in the crafting process. For example, polyester and nylon have a different fabric purpose and nylon and spandex. Spandex is known for its stretchy purpose, while polyester is known as one of the most durable and easy to clean fabrics. Therefore, while you conduct your research, ensure that you are only picking the best quality utility vest that serves your intended purpose.

What we can say is that no matter the utility vest that you decide on, it will be a utility vest that will last for years to come and offer plenty of durability alongside multi-use functionality. We hope that this list helped answer the many questions that an individual thinks about when it comes to the utility vest industry.

As we have discussed at length and throughout this article, when it comes to utility vests, if a consumer wants to secure the best purchase and get their money’s worth for a product, they are going to need to do some research. In truth, it can be easy to simply buy a product purely based on its visual design; however, by doing this, you don’t get to see the quality of the materials or the value embedded into the very threads of the products. With utility vests, the value is so incredibly important – especially when you see how many faulty products or cheap vests are out there. Trust us – the last thing you want is a utility vest that is costly and non-functional. It can be frustrating!

Exterior Material

When it comes to studying clothing, it’s important for a consumer to look at the material used to make the product. Now, when it comes to utility vests, there are typically two different types of materials that you need to look at – exterior and interior materials. Knowing this, when we began our research for this project, the first aspect that we took into consideration was how the exterior of the vest was made. This part of the vest is the shield between the individual and whatever weather environment Mother Nature had in store. With that, we wanted to ensure that, whatever product made our list was made from the strongest and most durable exterior materials. Now, to ensure the product materials were made from the very best materials – we took the time to look at customer reviews to verify the information from the manufacturer.

Internal Material

As we were saying, it’s important to look at both the external and internal materials. Now, the internal materials have a different role and responsibility. Typically, the internal materials are used to help keep the individual warm, secure, and in control. You want this material to feel lightweight but built to withstand any wear and tear that you might need it for. Additionally, as we will discuss next, you want to make sure that the pockets are made of the same great, durable, and strong materials. Having the combination of a great exterior and interior can make a world of a difference as far as performance and quality. In other words, you can hike, fish, or and head to work without fear of the vest ripping or tearing.

Pockets

The sole purpose of purchasing a utility vest is for, well, the utility of it! You want to have all of the spacious, lined pockets. So, whether you are going out in the field to hunt for game or visiting a local river for some fishing with the children – a utility vest can provide and offer some benefit. Instead of having to carry heavy tackle boxes or hunting gear or equipment – a utility vest could become your means of transportation in its own way. With that being said, when we were looking at utility vests, we wanted to make sure that each manufacturer did not cut short in this department. We looked at how pockets each vest came with, how they were designed, and how the company ensured their personal belongings safe. Given the nature of importance, we looked at customer reviews.

Durability

Let’s be honest – no one wants to purchase a utility vest that, the moment after you put it on, it rips, tears, or can’t handle any weight in its pockets. That would be a waste of money. So, when we were picking out the products for our list, we were very careful to ensure that each product was made from the strongest and most durable materials. Now, it’s not just that – we wanted to make sure that each product came with the very best stitching, lining, and pocket protection measures. We scanned the product description to see what the company said about durability or longevity, and looked into the same matter in the customer reviews.

Usability

When purchasing a utility vest – you need to make sure it can withstand any efforts or needs that you might have. Whether you are going hiking, fishing, hiking, running, or simply need to do some hard labor around the house – you need a utility vest with usability. Now, while it may sound like an oxymoron – you might be surprised to learn that there are a wealth of different vests out there that claim to offer utility but fail to perform under any measure. With that in mind, we can say that each product that we talked about has been positively praised by previous customers trying to help future consumers, like yourself. We looked carefully into what activities the manufacturer said the vest was created for and read to see customers were using the product.

Comfortability

When it comes to utility vests or any piece of clothing, what do you think is one of the most important aspect? Of course, it’s comfort! Why else are you buying a sweatshirt or a vest? Aside from its usability and functionality – you want to make sure that, your utility vest is comfortable. Otherwise, fishing or hiking can become more of a hassle. With this in mind, we made it our dominant intention that, whatever product made our list, it was made with comfort at the forefront of the manufacturer’s mind. To figure this out, we carefully look at how manufacturers discussed the build of their vest. We compared this to pictures and even to what customers were saying about their experience with the product.

Cost and Value

In our opinion, one of the most important aspects of an evaluating product comes down to the cost and value ratio. In truth, this is your best opportunity to know whether you are receiving your money’s worth for a purchase. Sadly, many consumers do not take the time to evaluate a product based on its price or value. What consumers tend to do is look at a product, it’s design and color – and then judge the price. If the price sounds reasonable, without explanation – they buy it! As we all have learned, this is a grave mistake. So, to avoid this, you need to carefully start off by looking at the cost of a product. For this article, this is exactly what we did. We looked at the entire market and measured the difference in prices for each product. From there, we studied the value that each manufacturer offered. Understanding this shines a bright light on the very best of products.

Colors and Designs

There was one other aspect that we took into consideration when picking out the best utility vests: colors and design. The reason being, we know that the last thing that a consumer wants is a utility vest that is not the most appealing. If there was an option between a well-design vest with unique color options or designs and one that was standard, what would you pick? With this in mind, as we evaluated the best products on the market, we were able to draw some strong conclusions. These manufacturers actually offered a wide selection of colors and design options for their consumers. This spoke even more volumes about these companies, securing their spot on our lit.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Overall Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Our Goal

Our goal with this article was to help consumers, like yourself, avoid the mistake of buying a cheap utility vest and getting a chance to know the best products out there. To ensure the best quality products – we took the time to thoroughly research and evaluate each product based on a strict list of criteria.

Handy For Traveling

A utility vest can be super handy for traveling purposes, especially if it is warm out. With having extra pockets you can avoid bringing a huge carry on bag or purse. It can be even more useful if the pockets have zippers.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why should someone purchase a utility vest?

a:

Have you ever found yourself, hunting, fishing, or at work wondering what you wish you could have more pockets or usability out of your vest or jacket? If that sounds like you, then a utility vest may be perfect for you. These products are made from some of the best materials and built with numerous, spacious pockets. Additionally, given the design, these products are great pieces of clothing for never outdoor activities or even work. They are lightweight and can handle getting any task done.

q: How do you wash or clean a utility vest?

a:

This is a great question! When it comes to purchasing just any product – you should have some idea as to how to take care of it. Typically, manufacturers should provide this information on the label or the tag of the product. If you cannot find this information there, check on the brand’s website. You may also choose to look at customer’s reviews to see if anyone offers any insight. Depending on the type of materials used to make the vest, you may want to use cold water on a delicate cycle for the wash. This can help preserve the structural integrity of the product.

q: Is the sizing for utility vests true to size?

a:

If we can be honest, it can be challenging to base sizing solely on a companies sizing chart. The reason being, every single company is different. In this, the manufacturer might even be from a different country, operating on a completely different system. Now, this is not meant to discourage you from purchasing any utility vests on our list. You can still enjoy hunting or fishing with a utility fish; however, you just need to do the one added step of research before purchasing a vest. We highly suggest taking the time to look at previous customers reviews. These individuals can shine the light on their sizing experience, which may prove to be very helpful.

q: Can someone use a utility vest for concealed carrying?

a:

One question that many consumers tend to ask about utility vests is whether or not they can help with concealed carrying. Now, in truth, the answer would be dependent upon the physical vest; however, typically, utility vests are not great for conceal carry. These products are typically filled with pockets but are tight and thin, which can prove to be difficult for concealed carries. If you want to know if a vest can be used for this purpose, we suggest looking at the manufacturer’s description of the product and products. If they do not say anything regarding this – check with customer reviews.

q: Do utility vests have inside pockets too?

a:

Yes! Depending on your purchase, you can select a vest with numerous internal, lined, pockets. If you did not know, utility vests are actually known for their vast number of pockets.

q: Can you use a utility vest year round?

a:

Yes! What makes utility vests such a popular item for consumers is that, whether you are doing some outdoor hunting, going fishing, or do construction for a living, a utility vest can become your best friend. Now, before you just purchase any utility vest – we do suggest taking the time to pick out the best vest that matches your needs. So, if you are a construction worker or a hunter, try to pick out a utility vest from our list that boasts lightweight features but offers the utility of multiple pockets, making it easy to store the equipment needed.