to top 10 table

Best Tilley Hats Reviewed & Rated for Comfort and Use

last updated: Apr 09, 2020

You know when it comes to outdoor hats sometimes your simple ball camp won’t do. If keeping the sun off of your face and neck is the goal then there’s really nothing better than a Tilley hat. After much work, we've finally whittled down our list to ten that cut across Tilley’s product spectrum so we’re sure you’re going to find what you’re looking for here.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 212 hrs of research

icon
 Tilley Endurables LTM6
91.2/100 our score
Adjustability
92
Breathability
90
Fit
89
Size
94
UV Protection
91
Tilley Endurables LTM6
Why is it better?

A handmade product from one of the best from your hat manufacturers.

The medium brim style blocks the sun perfectly.

The hat is made from some of the best and most durable materials in the industry.

Plenty of color choices to choose from for the airflow hat.

Highly-touted the best company, not only the United States, in the world.

Constructed with water assistance in mind.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Tilley Endurables LTM6
Test Winner: Tilley Endurables LTM6
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
2
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Total Readers
5k
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
6k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
212
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By :

This update has added a product in our top three and updated almost all of the Tilley hats with the newest versions. So take a look through this list and we're sure you'll find what you need.

Sorting Options
Adjustability Breathability Fit Size UV Protection By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Adjustability
92 %
Breathability
90 %
Fit
89 %
Size
94 %
UV Protection
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
$83.83
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Adjustability
87 %
Breathability
92 %
Fit
94 %
Size
78 %
UV Protection
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
$100.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Adjustability
94 %
Breathability
89 %
Fit
91 %
Size
94 %
UV Protection
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
$80.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Adjustability
94 %
Breathability
94 %
Fit
78 %
Size
92 %
UV Protection
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Adjustability
84 %
Breathability
89 %
Fit
91 %
Size
93 %
UV Protection
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Adjustability
94 %
Breathability
92 %
Fit
89 %
Size
91 %
UV Protection
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
$85.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Adjustability
94 %
Breathability
91 %
Fit
84 %
Size
81 %
UV Protection
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
$67.80
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Adjustability
93 %
Breathability
91 %
Fit
87 %
Size
81 %
UV Protection
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Adjustability
89 %
Breathability
94 %
Fit
91 %
Size
87 %
UV Protection
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link
$105.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Adjustability
91 %
Breathability
78 %
Fit
81 %
Size
91 %
UV Protection
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.08.20)
Amazon Link

Best Tilley Hats Reviewed & Rated for Comfort and Use

1. Tilley Endurables LTM6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
1. Tilley Endurables LTM6
Amazon Link
Adjustability
92
Breathability
90
Fit
89
Size
94
UV Protection
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$83.83
Pros:

A handmade product from one of the best from your hat manufacturers.

The medium brim style blocks the sun perfectly.

The hat is made from some of the best and most durable materials in the industry.

Plenty of color choices to choose from for the airflow hat.

Highly-touted the best company, not only the United States, in the world.

Constructed with water assistance in mind.

Cons:

Individuals believe that this hat is overpriced.

Consumers have mentioned that the hats run too small.

When it comes to custom-made order hats that can withstand the test of time while also being considered one of the best custom-made hat manufacturers in the industry, Tilley rings a bell. In fact, that's the first product on this list we are excited to share with you hat lovers and collectors one of the most premium hats available today. The Tilley Endurables LTM6 Airflo Hat is considered one of the best hats handmade by expert hat crafters. Let's discuss two important points!

Trusted Hat Manufacturer

The level of craftsmanship that goes into creating and developing quality style hats that are not only durable but custom made for each individual is what this expert hat manufacturer is about. With that said, we can ensure each individual that any hat from this brand is going to be of the most premiere quality and the materials will surely reflect that. With that in mind, there is an extremely large demand for hats of this caliber.

Materials Used

The materials used to develop and formulate this particular hat is made of some of the most durable and functional fabrics in the industry, without losing pure quality. The materials included in creating the superb hat bar 100% Supplex nylon and 100% polyester in the mash area of the hat, which is purposely to produce air flow so the Hat nor the person's head gets really warm. With that said, we can say that the materials used by this premier hat manufacturer are of the best quality.

Cost And Value

When it comes to taking cost and value into consideration, it goes without saying is that the most expensive products that any individual can buy are those that are custom made. Therefore, on this list, we will primarily focus on the value of each individual hat pertaining to the cost rather than to the competition. Because to be quite frank, there aren't many hat manufacturers that can compare to the style and dedication that goes into building each hat.

2. Tilley T5MO Organic Cotton Airflo Hat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
2. Tilley T5MO Organic Cotton Airflo Hat
Amazon Link
Adjustability
87
Breathability
92
Fit
94
Size
78
UV Protection
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$100.00
Pros:

One of the best pros from this brand is that all of their hats are handmade.

Quality hat with durable materials.

Breathable mesh area for air flow.

This hat is guaranteed for life to withstand wear and tear.

Lightweight hat with UPF 50+.

Extremely trusted brand producing quality products.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that these hats run a bit small.

Users wish that this hat would come in more color choices.

As we got to know from product number one on this list, this premiere hat manufacturer focuses on developing some of the most valuable hats in the industry that are broad-brimmed and developed to perfection. With that said, this happens to be a fan favorite because of the material that was used to create it. Let's talk about the Endurables Eco-Airflo Hat and the many benefits of this industry professional particular hat.

100% Organic Certified Cotton

Of course when a brand such as this one, extremely prestigious and focused on only developing the best products, would focus on developing the best hats with only the most premium materials. The materials of this hat just so happen to be what makes it so unique. Made out of 98% organic certified cotton, this hat is extremely breathable and easy to wear. I mean, who in the world can say that they are wearing a certified organic cotton hat? Only a few! The other 2% of the materials used for this hat is spandex, which is primarily known as a material to enhance the durability and flexibility.

Breathable

Whether you want a specific hat from this manufacturer because of style reasons or as the perfect travel hat, this particular hat is worth anyone's consideration. If you are an individual that wants to wear this hat for long periods at a time, you can rest assured that you are wearing one of the most breathable and well-constructed hats in the industry. The breathable aspect of the hat makes it one of the most unique broad-brimmed hats available today.

Cost And Value

The cost of this hat highly reflects the hand-made process that goes into developing such a quality product. Therefore, when focusing on the value we can say that this particular quality hat insurance that an individual can block the sun from their eyes while also enjoying one of the best custom-made products in the industry today.

3. Tilley Endurables T3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
3. Tilley Endurables T3
Amazon Link
Adjustability
94
Breathability
89
Fit
91
Size
94
UV Protection
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$80.00
Pros:

When discussing the positives of this hat, many individuals loved the fabric.

The fabric of this hat is extremely durable and easy to clean.

An individual can hand wash or machine wash on delicate.

100% cotton hat made from a trusted hat company.

Plenty of beautiful colors to choose from.

Medium snap up brim is high quality and never folds showing wear and tear.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that this hat can get a bit hot after hours of use.

Consumers have mentioned that this hat runs out a bit small.

Whether you're tracking through the Outback or on a safari at Disney World, the best companion to a fun day out and about is a well-constructed hat that offers the perfect amount of shade. With that said we want to share with you another phenomenal hat from this particular luxury hat manufacturer. Let's talk about two important notes about the Tilley Endurables T3 Traditional Canvas Hat.

100% Cotton

As one would expect from extremely quality products, this hat is constructed out of one of the strongest and most durable materials known to man, cotton! With that in mind, the primary reason that this hat is made out of cotton is to ensure optimum comfort and breathability while an individual is wearing it. Other than this, cotton is known as the chosen material for handmade quality products. We can ensure an individual that all of the materials that this brand uses are of premium quality.

Water and Mildew Resistant

To further enhance the quality of this handmade hat, this brand has only used 100% certified cotton duck, which offers one really great benefit. This material is known to be used primarily as a water and mildew resistant material that prolongs the lifespan of the hat. Many individuals tout that they even wear this how on rainy or foggy days due to the water-resistant construction.

Cost And Value

When covering cost and value for this particular hat, the fact that it is handmade certainly raises the price. However, for this particular hat manufacturer, this hat is known as one of the more reasonably priced hats on their list. As far as cost and value are concerned, we can say that this hat offers the value of being water resistant while also being made of some of the best quality materials in the industry. With plenty of colors to choose from, this hat has also become a fan favorite for many travelers.

4. Tilley LTM8

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
4. Tilley LTM8
Amazon Link
Adjustability
94
Breathability
94
Fit
78
Size
92
UV Protection
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

This hat is made from some of the best materials in the industry.

This hat is made out of 100% nylon for perfect breathability.

It also offers maximum sun protection with a fabric that is certified uPF 50+.

This hat includes front and back when chords in the case of windy days.

The sweatband is intended to wick away moisture.

Highly recommended by really happy consumers.

Cons:

As of now this how only comes in one color online.

Users have mentioned that this hat runs small.

It is time to talk about one of the best-handcrafted hats that this hat manufacturer has created. With maximum airflow in mind, this hat is known as one of the best travel hats for extremely hot weather. Formulated out of some of the best materials known in the industry, this hat offers plenty of variety and flexibility without losing functionality and quality. Let's talk about one of the best explore hats so anyone can release their inner Indiana Jones. This is the Tilley LTM8 Airflo Mesh Hat.

The Crown

There are two extremely important aspects that go into creating a custom quality-filled hat. The two aspects are known as the crown and the brim. To focus on the crown, we must say that it is constructed out of one of the most durable and versatile materials in the industry today. Other than that, the crown is completely made out of mesh for a fully breathable experience.

Sweatband

Other than the benefits of the crown of this particular hat, the sweatband area is made out of a particular material that wicks moisture away from the inner part of the hat. The hydrofoil material ensures that an individual will never be uncomfortable during extremely hot days. With that said, this particular hat offers plenty of benefits for people that love to explore and want a quality hat.

Cost And Value

When taking cost and value into consideration, it is the intention behind this hat that makes it a quality product to use. In fact, consumers of this particular hat barely take it off. And if I was a versatile traveler I would never take it off as well. With all of this in mind, the price will vary in size and the color of this hat. What we can say, is that the custom and handmade value of this hat easily surpasses any expectations.

5. Tilley TH5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
5. Tilley TH5
Amazon Link
Adjustability
84
Breathability
89
Fit
91
Size
93
UV Protection
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

One of the best features of this hat is the material.

The fabric is certified protecting against the sun.

The sweatband of the hat is designed to wick away moisture.

This hat keeps valuables safe in a secret compartment.

Perfect for the well-seasoned traveler or eclectic student.

This how offers plenty of character and handmade value.

Cons:

Many individuals do not like that the hat will eventually fade.

Consumers have mentioned that this hat can be squashed easily.

We are excited to share with you this next hat because we think we may have just found the best gift for people that love all natural products alongside proper functionality. If you are an individual looking for one of the best handmade hats in the industry alongside providing maximum functionality, this may be the hat for you. As one of the most stylish hats available by this brand, the Tilley TH5 Hemp Hat is one of the best handmade hemp hats in the industry today. Let's look at two notable points about this particular hat.

Sun Protection

What we certainly love about this particular hat manufacturer is that not only are they focused on producing quality products, they also believe in functionality and durability. Therefore, blending this organic material alongside versatile functionality, this is the perfect hat for maximum sun protection with a cool style. This fabric is actually certified as UPF 50+, providing one of the highest given sun protective certifications in the industry.

Plenty of Character

Now, this particular a stylish hat is not for everyone. Being that this hat will eventually fade over time, the primary reason that a person purchases this hat is for the character. With that said, this hat will soften and become a much cooler hat over a long period of time.

Cost And Value

When taking cost and value into consideration for such a stylish hat, it is important to look at this hat for the long haul. If you're looking for a quality handmade hat with plenty of character as a gift for a person or for yourself, this should be worth your consideration. This is the perfect hat for the eclectic guitarist in the family or nature explorer that loves cool unique places.

6. Tilley Endurables LTM5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
6. Tilley Endurables LTM5
Amazon Link
Adjustability
94
Breathability
92
Fit
89
Size
91
UV Protection
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$85.00
Pros:

A high-quality hat that is handmade from some of the best materials.

The spandex material adds an extra level of flexibility.

The nylon material is for perfect breathability.

This hat is also certified to protect against the sun.

Any individual can happen wash or machine wash this hat.

Highly recommended by industry professionals.

Cons:

Depending on the color this hat can run on the expensive side.

Users have mentioned that this hat runs small.

This next hat is known as the predecessor to the very first hat on this list. With that in mind, an individual can rest assured that they are still investing in one of the best quality formulated hats in the industry. With this in mind, we want to share the Tilley Endurables LTM5 Airflo Hat, one of the best handmade hats that an individual can buy for travel purposes.

Secret Pocket

Travel hats are known due to their distinctive design qualities alongside form-fitting. However, this brand focuses on the functionality of a travel hat by creating a secret pocket in the crown that is perfect for storing small items such as a room key or a little bit of cash. This functionality is perfect for the well-seasoned traveler that wants to go on excursions or Safaris without having to take an extra bag or their wallet.

Materials

As we have come to expect from this quality hat manufacturer, many of their handmade hats are made from some of the best materials in the industry. This hat, in particular, is made from 93% nylon friend added level of durability and 7% spandex for Optimum flexibility, making it easy for an individual to wear this how all day long without getting tired of it. These materials are hand-picked by the manufacturer to produce quality hats.

Cost And Value

The cost and value of this hat easily surpass many hats that are created with the same intention. This hat is known as one of the most perfect traveler's hats for individuals that want the benefits of the secret compartment. With that in mind, what we can say about this hat is that depending on the color that you choose you will make a very good deal. With plenty of colors to choose from, there is a reason why many travelers prefer this hat.

7. Tilley Endurables LTM3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
7. Tilley Endurables LTM3
Amazon Link
Adjustability
94
Breathability
91
Fit
84
Size
81
UV Protection
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$67.80
Pros:

The materials of this hat are known as one of the most durable materials in the industry.

Constructed with water resistance in mind.

Trusted brown with funny years of experience.

This product is currently being sold as a brand-new lower-cost.

Plenty of value for any individual seeking to travel.

Highly recommended hat with plenty of positive reviews.

Cons:

This hat is an older style.

Many users mentioned that they wish the hat came in multiple colors, not just two.

Following the same breathable style as the hats from before, this hat is known as one of the most cost-friendly hats in the industry for travelers. Made out of premium construction materials this hat offers plenty of flexibility and functionality. Made out of durable nylon this hat is one of the most well-constructed hats that this handmade manufacturer offers. Let's talk about what makes the Tilley Endurables LTM3 Airflo Hat one of the most premier hats in the industry today.

Materials

The materials that go into producing a hat such as this one are developed with functionality and usability in mind. With that said, we can ensure that this hat is made out of nylon which enhances the durability of the hat. Alongside this, if an individual wants to machine wash this hat they can as long as it's on the delicate cycle.

Water Resistance

Many of the hats that this particular hat manufacturer produces are designed for the inner traveler in all of us. With that in mind, when an individual feels the calling to travel or explore because of this particular hat the last thing they want to be worried about is whether or not the hot can withstand a little bit of rain. Therefore, this manufacturer has constructed the hat with water resistance in mind.

Cost And Value

When taking cost and value into consideration for this particular hat, what we can say is that since this is an older style of the newer airflow breathable hats, the price is reasonable and worth it as long as you are an individual that particularly does not care about having the newest item. With this in mind, the value is still considered one of the best hats in the industry.

8. Tilley Hemp Down

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
8. Tilley Hemp Down
Amazon Link
Adjustability
93
Breathability
91
Fit
87
Size
81
UV Protection
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

The hat material is extremely durable.

This hat is guaranteed to never look dull or wear out.

Highly recommended as one of the best hat manufacturers in the industry.

Made from 100% hemp fabric that is easy to clean.

This hemp offers excellent sun protection with a UPF of 50+.

The brim size of this hat makes it the perfect travel hat.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that they wish that it came in multiple colors.

Users have mentioned that this hat was smaller.

We cannot end this list without at least including one more eclectic hat. However, this hat is even more unique than the previous hemp hat because it is made for both men and women. With all of this in mind, it also offers other unique features which we want to talk about below. Let's talk about the Tilley Unisex Classic Hemp Down-Sloping Brim Hat, a phenomenal gear hat 4 hat Enthusiast that want a quality product.

Guaranteed for Life

As one would expect by paying this much for a quality hat, this particular hat manufacturer guarantees all of their consumers that the hats that they purchase will not wear out. This is satisfaction guaranteed at its fullest. What we can say about this hat, is that many consumers have mentioned that it is known as one of the most durable hats that they have ever purchased.

Hemp Fabric

As we mentioned earlier in our other hemp hat, this is known as one of the most unique materials that has been making its way around different industries for the past couple of years. Therefore, we are not surprised to be introducing another hemp out on this list. We are happy to say, however, that the functionality and durability of this hat are only enhanced because of the material.

Cost And Value

What we are extremely happy to share about this hat is that it is perfect for both men and women, making it the ideal gift hat for the hat collector in the family. With that in mind, when an individual takes cost and value into consideration when it comes to this particular manufacturer they will discover that this hat is priced below the average price for many handmade hats by this brand.

9. Tilley Endurables TH9

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
9. Tilley Endurables TH9
Amazon Link
Adjustability
89
Breathability
94
Fit
91
Size
87
UV Protection
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$105.00
Pros:

One of the biggest advantages of this particular hat is that it is handmade.

Trusted company with 20 years of experience in this industry.

The hydrofoil sweatband material Wick away moisture.

The water-repellent finishes up this hat will keep away the rain from getting in your face.

Excellent hemp that will not fade.

100% satisfaction guaranteed.

Cons:

Users wish this hat would come in different colors.

Women have mentioned that the hat can get a bit hot after hours in the sun.

On this particular hat list, we have as of now covered hats ranging from men's hats two unisex hats. However, we are eager to share with you a properly formulated hat that is purely intended for women. What makes this hat so unique for women is that it is also made out of The Eclectic material that we have talked about in previous hats. As one of the most durable hats that this brand makes, we highly recommend your consideration of the Tilley Endurables TH9 Women’s Hemp Hat.

Sun Protection

This brand understands the importance of sun protection as well as the importance of developing the hat in a way that does not fade because of the sun. With that in mind, one really positive know about this hat is that it is designed with maximum sun protection in mind. The Unique fabric of this hat is certified UPF 50+ to ensure that an individual can stay out in the sun longer because they are receiving premium protection.

Water-Repellant

Another extremely beneficial aspect of this particular hat is one that many women will love and enjoy. The fabric of the hat is in fact designed to be water repellent. Therefore, if you are a woman that loves to explore but wants to ensure that you will be receiving maximum protection during rainy days, this hat has you covered. Without fading or losing quality, this hat repels any possible moisture to ensure maximum comfort.

Cost And Value

When it comes to taking cost and value into consideration for this particular hat, what an individual should primarily be looking for is the quality build. With that said we can say that the quality manufacturing process of this hat does not disappoint any individual. This hat is produced with optimum value in mind. When comparing costs to the value, we can say that the handmade aspect of the hat is what makes it worthwhile.

10. Tilley LTM2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
10. Tilley LTM2
Amazon Link
Adjustability
91
Breathability
78
Fit
81
Size
91
UV Protection
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

A trusted brand with plenty years of experience in the hat industry.

The broad brim design ensures maximum sun protection.

A two-year lost insurance comes available with the hat.

The fabric of the hat is 100% nylon and 100% polyester making it easy to clean.

Breathable mesh at the crown of the hat makes it easy to wear for long hours.

Machine wash on delicate cycle.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that this hat runs little big.

Consumers have mentioned that this hat cannot be placed inside of a dryer.

As the last product on this list, it is time to talk about one of the finest constructed broad-brimmed in the industry. To cover the last hat by this particular manufacturer, we are eager to share with you a different kind of style that offers maximum protection against the sun. It is time to talk about the Tilley LTM2 Broadest Brimmed Sun Protection Airflow Hat, one of the best quality hats that this manufacturer offers.

Broad Design

Unlike many of the hats on this list, the broad-brimmed style of this hat is designed to protect against the sun even more. With that in mind, the design of this hat only enhances the look and appeal of the Hat. Guaranteed for life as one of the highest quality hats in this industry, this manufacturer has also partnered this hat with a two-year loss guarantee in case an individual loses the Hat.
Sun Protection

To further serve as one of the most quality hats in the industry, this hat is guaranteed with maximum sun protection in mind. Rated UPF 50+, this quality hat is designed from a nylon material and polyester mesh that allows for maximum breathability, durability, and comfortable style. What we can say, is that the style of the hat allows for an individual's face to be almost completely covered against the sun, which is an incredible benefit.

Cost and Value
When taking cost and value into consideration for a product such as this one, the quality design of this hat is what is most important. It is designed as the broadest brim design. With that in mind, we can say that the cost is actually reasonably priced compared to many of the other hats on this list. If you are an individual looking for a protective hat, this may be the one for you.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

Materials

When it comes to the many different aspects of evaluating Tilley hats, the first thing that we looked at was the materials used to make the hat. Whether it’s the Tilley brand or not - the materials that a hat manufacturer uses speaks volumes about their dedication to their consumers and quality. With that being said, this company has built a reputation for making the very best hats from the very best materials. There is a reason why so many consumers have flocked to purchase these hats- they are made from such notable materials, making them that good! So, when we were picking out products from this brand for our list, we made it our intent to figure out what the flagship models were from this company. We wanted you to see the very best products and their very best material designs.

Brand

Understanding the Tilley Brand

When we began our evaluation of this article, one part that we seriously took into consideration was understanding the Tilley Brand. We realized, the entire project is about this one company, so it would make sense that we understand what this company is about. What surprised us the most was that each product made from this brand are 100% handmade. Prior to the brand's launch, the creator of the company realized and noticed an opportunity to create a hat to match his sailboat. So, he decided to hire a few different people to create the highest quality hat on the market, which became known as the Tilley Hat. Each hat made from this company is made with the same precision, accuracy, and perfection that the brand was founded on in 1980 by Alex Tilley. What you will find from the Tilley brand is unique designs, comfortable fitting hats, and the most reliable accessory of them all!

Value

The Cost and Value

In our opinion, one of the most important facets of the process of evaluation is understanding the relationship between the cost and the value. Sadly, many consumers overlook this process. We want all consumers to know that, if you want to know if you will receive your money’s worth for a purchase, you need to take this measure seriously! Plus, it’s not hard. For this project, we carefully looked at the different pricing points that Tilley was charging for their hats. From here, we looked at the value and features of each hat, which gave justification to the prices, whether they were higher or lower. In this, we were able to pick out the best products, at the best prices, and the best value to ensure that you could select the very best products. Now, if you are researching other products, you would do the same exact thing. The rule of thumb is to only pick the products where the value exceeds the price point.

Weather Resistance

Element Resistances

When it comes to outdoor equipment and gear, you always need to look at the elemental resistances. In other words, how can this physical product protect you? With that being said, as we were evaluating each Tilley hat, we carefully looked at each product to see if it offered, water resistance, waterproof, windproof, or another weather resistant/element resistant properties. As far as this brand is concerned, what you are seeing in today’s guide is the very best products that the company offer as far as protection from nature’s elements.

Breathability

Ventilation and Breathability

Have you ever owned a hat that you adored; however, each time you wore it, the inside of the hat never released the build-up of moisture, resulting in a sweaty and smelly hat and head? This is a common problem in many hats that manufacturers make today. Now, Tilley made it a lot easier for us when it came to ventilation and breathability. What we found out during our research was that this brand created specific hats packed with their standard value, alongside high-quality mesh materials so that, whether you are enjoying a nature hike or heading out on the lake to fish - your Tilley hat will keep your head protected and feeling breezier than any other hat. We made it our goal to feature as many of these hats on our list as possible, given its importance to comfort and overall quality of experience.

UV Protection

Protection from the Sun

The whole purpose of buying a hat is to protect your head and face from the sun. So, before we began to evaluate different Tilley hats for our list, we measured the product based on how well it protected consumers. Now, to our surprise, this brand was dedicated to providing consumers with the absolute best protection. To do this, the company included unique, UPF materials in their products. As you will note throughout our article, each product came with varying degrees of UPF protection. It was our goal to pick out the products offered by this brand that offered the highest degree of protection.

Features

Design and Appeal

When it comes to evaluating products from one brand, it can be hard to really evaluate a product based on its design and appeal - because they are all the same in design and colors. However, what we particularly liked about the Tilley brand was that they made our job in researching so much easier. Each of their products is not only cleverly designed, but they are also visually appealing. They offer a sense of sophistication, comfort, and luxury that other brands have failed to capture. With that being said, as we evaluated each Tilley hat, we carefully looked at each of their products and their designs. If there were products that stood out in terms of design and appeal, we made it our focus to highlight these products for you. 

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#6
ico UV Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#7
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Which Tilley Hat Do You Need?

Step outside, take a breath. The thing about the prevailing weather conditions where you live is that it's primarily hot and sticky and bright. Or do you live in a moist, wet and chilly environment? Well, pick your Tilley hat accordingly. Match the materials and the brim with your weather to make sure you're getting the most out of your product.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do you make a Tilley Hat fit better, tighter?

a:

This is a great question. If you are a first time Tilley owner, you might be wondering how you can make your hat fit tighter. Now, all you need to do is take the back cord and stretch the knots so that you can begin adjusting the sizing. From there, all you need to do is tug on the front cord so that the back cord is stretched as far as possible. From there, put on your Tilley Hat and pull/adjust the back cord according to your preference!

q: What if your hat shrinks in the washer or dryer?

a:

If a company tells you that their product won’t shrink because they pre-shrunk the product numerous times - it’s a lie. In truth, all products will slightly shrink after the first few washes, and that should be anticipated. What Tilley did to make your life easier was made their product from stretchier materials. So, should your hat shrink beyond what you prefer, you can stretch it back to the desired size.

q: How do you clean or wash a Tilley product?

a:

Now, you might be thinking that, since all the products are made from the Tilley brand, all hats are cleaned the same way. This is a misperception - each hat is different, including the materials. So, it’s important to start off by reading the individual product’s label or tag, which can be found on the inside of the hat. Please note, this is imperative to know how to clean their products as they have both washable and non-washable hats. Be careful not use ANY chemicals prior to reading the product’s label. If you cannot find the tag because perhaps you removed it, Tilley has instructions on their website.

q: What is UPF? How is this different from SPF?

a:

For many years, consumers were learning about the importance of SPF. In recent years, top-end manufacturers started to include a new grade of materials, more commonly known as UPF or ultraviolet protection factor. Now, UPF is alike SPF - the only difference is that UPF products were tested under ultraviolet lighting. Additionally, SPF is made from the actual skin - UPF is made from fabrics. With that being said, what you might notice from these products is that they are designed to help provide a certain degree of UV protection. The optimal UPF protection range is between 25-50.

q: What’s up with registering Tilley Hats, is it really necessary.

a:

Matter of fact, registering your Tilly Hat isn’t just a good idea, it’s a great idea. Here’s why, almost every Tilley Hat comes with a lifetime warranty but in order to qualify, you have to register your hat within 90 days of the purchase date. It’s a fairly easy process and if you have any questions check the Tilley website but we really do recommend taking the time to do this because, if yours ever runs afoul of the lawnmower, chlorine or kids, well they’ll replace it.

q: When is my Tilley Hat NOT Covered by the Warranty?

a:

Some Tilly Hat’s just don’t come with a Lifetime Guarantee, but if your hat does there are still a few ways to negate the warranty: If your Tilley is is damaged due to: misuse, improper care, fading, staining, grommet patina (that’s when age turns the grommets brown or green), or shrinking your warranty ain’t no good no more.

Sources