to top 10 table

The 10 Best Merrell Boots

last updated: May 24, 2019

With so many options for a great pair of boots on the market, we thought we should put together a list dedicated to one of our favorite brands, Merrell, and for great reasons. They are durable with high-quality and craftsmanship including designs that surpass industry standards. We hope our top picks will help you choose the right boot that is perfect for you, so you feel comfortable and confident.

Do you want high-quality hunting boots or are you looking for light hiking boot? Whatever your need, you can rest assured that you are getting a pair of the best boots around. In this list, we will provide a brief description of each pair of boots, notable features, pros, and cons. Happy searching!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 300 hrs of research

icon
 Merrell Moab Waterproof
97/100 our score
Style
99.2
Outsole
98
Comfort
97.8
Durability
96
Value
95
Merrell Moab Waterproof
Why is it better?

100% Suede Leather/Mesh

Imported

Synthetic sole

Performance suede leather and mesh upper

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Merrell Moab Waterproof
Test Winner: Merrell Moab Waterproof
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
4
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10,000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
13,000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
300
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Anna Marie
By Anna Marie:

A recent update has been done to highlight the benefits of the best Merrell boots on the market today. The information has been rewritten and updated to make it more digestible and easier to read and some updates were made to the FAQ as well. So if you have any questions, please stop by our FAQ section at the bottom of the page!

Sorting Options
Style Outsole Comfort Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Style
99.2 %
Outsole
98 %
Comfort
97.8 %
Durability
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
$129.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Style
98 %
Outsole
96.7 %
Comfort
95.5 %
Durability
94 %
Value
93.6 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
$86.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Style
96.9 %
Outsole
95 %
Comfort
94.9 %
Durability
92.8 %
Value
91.9 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Style
94.7 %
Outsole
93 %
Comfort
92 %
Durability
88.9 %
Value
87.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
93.9 %
Outsole
91.8 %
Comfort
88 %
Durability
87 %
Value
86.5 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
$100.62
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Style
92 %
Outsole
90.1 %
Comfort
87.2 %
Durability
85 %
Value
84.7 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
$78.24
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Style
91.9 %
Outsole
89 %
Comfort
85.3 %
Durability
84 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Style
90.2 %
Outsole
87.5 %
Comfort
83 %
Durability
81.7 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Style
88 %
Outsole
86.3 %
Comfort
82 %
Durability
80.8 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Style
87.2 %
Outsole
84.1 %
Comfort
80 %
Durability
78.9 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.20)
Amazon Link
$109.99

10 Best Merrell Boots

1. Merrell Moab Waterproof

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
 Merrell Moab Waterproof
Amazon Link
Style
99.2
Outsole
98
Comfort
97.8
Durability
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.99
Pros:

100% Suede Leather/Mesh

Imported

Synthetic sole

Performance suede leather and mesh upper

Cons:

Users have experienced some cracking, over heavy usage, where the protective rubber toe cap ends

When it comes to this particular brand of boots, as the first product on the list we are extremely excited to share with you one of the best-crafted boots in the industry. With plenty of design qualities that make it an extremely appealing and multifunctional nature boot, this waterproof hiking boot is known as one of the best waterproof boots in the industry. With all of this in mind, we are getting ready to kick-start our list with one of the best products that we can mention. Let's talk about the Merrell Men's Moab Mid Waterproof Hiking Boot and two of the best features.

Breathable Mesh

If you are an individual that loves to hike, go for long walks, or spend a lot of time in nature, then you clearly understand the importance of a breathable boot that is both extremely durable and multifunctional for different nature trains. With this in mind, this brand clearly understands this too, by providing one of the best boots in the industry offering breathable multiple designs with mesh and speed lace hardware. Therefore, an adventure lover can hike longer, walk more, and spend more time in nature.

M Select Fresh

This particular brand of boots has been in the industry for years as one of the industry leaders and providing durable, flexible, and innovative boots for virtually every individual. With that in mind, their innovative technology has led them to discover new ways of reinventing the wheel. Therefore, this brand has one of the best technologies to prevent odor known as M Select Fresh. With this type of foot technology, an individual can truly appreciate the construction of this boat.

Cost And Value

Before we start talking about cost and value, we want to preface this area by saying that a high-quality boot normally will be considered somewhat expensive. However, for the value that a person receives, high quality is certainly worth paying for. With that in mind, we can say that this brand over-delivers when it comes to excellent value and customer service. Therefore, we considered these as the best premium hiking boots in the industry with plenty of features and durable functions that people will love.

2. Merrell Moab Ventilator

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
 Merrell Moab Ventilator
Amazon Link
Style
98
Outsole
96.7
Comfort
95.5
Durability
94
Value
93.6
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$86.99
Pros:

The leather and textile design of the boot makes it extremely durable.

The synthetic sole material at the bottom of the boot offers perfect traction on slippery surfaces.

The M select Dry technology is moisture wicking with a mesh lining.

This particular boot has an odor preventative design.

Long lasting comfort for many hikes to come.

Perfect boot four different hiking trails.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that this boot cannot be placed in the wash.

Users have mentioned that this boot can be hard to clean between ridges.

It is time to talk about another expertly crafted product from this particular shoe designer. This next hiking and hunting boot provides plenty of ventilation with added flexibility for long-term use. Whether you are giving this boot as a gift or buying it for yourself, this is an excellent piece of craftsmanship that will last the test of time. With that in mind, let's talk about two notable features about this industry-leading hiking boot, the Merrell Men's Moab Ventilator Mid Hiking Boot.

Materials

When it comes to hiking boots, the primary purpose and intention of a hiking boot is to offer an individual plenty of flexibility alongside maximum durability that can withstand the test of Nature's terrains. Whether you are an individual that loves to climb and hike through the snow or soft terrains of different mountains, this particular hiking boot is made with expert materials in mind. The blend of leather and textile materials includes a mesh and leather upper material that allows for maximum breathability and functionality.

Comfort

It seems that this brand further enhances with all of their boots to get better and better throughout time. For example, this brand has added a shock absorbing cushion heel to provide extra comfort during long hikes. What we can say, is that this particular hiking boot offers some of the most premier comfortable interior design in the industry today. If you are an individual looking for one of the best and most comfortable work boots, this is it.

Cost And Value

As we mentioned in the above product, when it comes to taking cost and value into consideration for a high quality alongside a trusted brand, durability and functionally is at the forefront of our minds. With that said, we can ensure that every individual will be primarily supported by this high-quality boot. We can share with our readers, that this boot is also one of the most cost-effective and reasonably priced boots that this brand offers. With plenty of multi-use functions and premier comfort, there is a reason why this brand has a large loyal following.

3. Merrell Captiva 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
 Merrell Captiva 2
Amazon Link
Style
96.9
Outsole
95
Comfort
94.9
Durability
92.8
Value
91.9
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Made from 100% full grain leather, adding a nice design appeal.

Built with waterproof sealed seams to prevent water from slipping in.

The style and design of the boot make it a stylish and fashionable winter boot.

The rubber sole is comfortable enough to use the boot for the entire day.

Cons:

Some consumers have complained that the shaft of the boot is too narrow.

It's advised to be careful on slippery surfaces as these boots may not have the best traction or grip.

In the industry, there are two different types of boots: those that satisfy someone's expectations, and then the boots that exceed all expectations. From Merrell, the Women's Captiva Launch 2 Waterproof Boot has risen to become one of the most popular boots offered by this manufacturer, and the industry. Made from leather, this boot offers some great, innovative features, which we will discuss below.

Waterproof Sealed

When it comes to the market for boots, manufacturers need to do all they can to separate themselves from the competition. This specific product accomplishes this goal by featuring a unique waterproof sealed barrier to protect a consumer's feet from getting wet. Whether you are walking in the snow or walking to work - these boots are a great compliment.

Full Grain Leather

This biggest selling feature about this specific boot is that the manufacturer made this product from 100% full grain leather. Now, if you are not familiar with the boot industry, you might not realize how valuable this is. Not only does full grain leather provide a more appealing look - it's higher quality and can last longer than other materials in other boots.

Cost and Value

When it comes to the cost of this specific boot, we can say that it's probably one of the most expensive boots offered by this company. Now, typically, when consumers hear the word "expensive", they tend to avoid those products. However, it's just as important to consider the value embedded into this product. Not only is it waterproof and made from full grain leather, it's made from one of the best manufacturers of boots in the industry. Partner this with an intentional cushioned sole, and you have one of the best products on the market today.

4. Merrell Moab Polar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
 Merrell Moab Polar
Amazon Link
Style
94.7
Outsole
93
Comfort
92
Durability
88.9
Value
87.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

This boot offers a blend of fabrics that are easy to clean and offer plenty of functionality.

The synthetic sole material at the bottom offers really good traction for snow or water.

The water repellent technology ensures that an individual's feet will always stay dry.

The midsole and footbed of the shoe are really comfortable for long-time use.

What of the strongest boots in the industry.

Two color options available.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that they believe this boot is overpriced.

Very stiff boot.

It is time to switch up the design element up a bit! This next particular boot offers plenty of flexibility and functionality for people that live in extremely cold weather. As one of the best waterproof winter boots in the industry, we are eager to share with you this next boot from this leading-edge brand offering plenty of functionality alongside a durable design. Let's talk about one of the best winter boots that every individual needs so they can be better prepared for the winter months. This is the Merrell Men's Moab Polar Waterproof Winter Boot. Let's look at two notable features!

Waterproof Qualities

As many people would expect from a winter boot, this one offers premium functionality thanks to its waterproof technology. This manufacturer has not only provided a multifunctional winter boot that can withstand the snow, it is also water repellent with minimal ridges so snow cannot hide in between. With that in mind, the blend of fabrics includes leather, fabric, and a synthetic material designed to be water repellent and also very flexible.

Designed For Cold Weather

The reason this waterproof boot is one of the best in the industry is that it is particularly designed for cold weather. Therefore, if you're getting ready to brace the cold winter months of Maine or Washington DC, this is a must-have item on everyone's wish list. Designed for cold weather, this particular boot from this manufacturer is able to hold warm in properly for a long-lasting boot that even workers that have to work outside in the cold months can wear.

Cost And Value

When taking cost and value into consideration for this item, the best part of the design aspects of this boot is that it is waterproof and designed for the cold winter months. With that in mind, the cost of this boot varies depending on the color, brown and black, and the size that an individual selects. As one of the best boots in the industry, it is evenly priced and competitively marketed to appeal to many different individuals that are getting prepared for the winter months.

5. Merrell Moab 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
 Merrell Moab 2
Amazon Link
Style
93.9
Outsole
91.8
Comfort
88
Durability
87
Value
86.5
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$100.62
Pros:

This is one of the most comfortable boots in the industry.

Four color choices to choose from makes it easy to find the best boot for you.

Best boot is known to be one of the most durable in the industry.

Competitive design qualities that are surpassed buy premium functionality.

The air cushion supports the heel area.

The breathable technology means an individual can hike longer.

Cons:

This boot is considered somewhat expensive.

This boot does not feel as sturdy at first as other boots.

As one of the best boot brands in the industry, we are eager and excited to share with you this next hiking boot. This next hiking boot offers the multi-use function of many hiking boots with a craftsmanship of a premier company focused an excellent quality and Design. We consider these boots to be one of the best boots in the industry due to the design qualities. Let's talk about the Merrell Men's Moab 2 Mid Waterproof Hiking Boot and what makes it one of the best boot Industries available today.

Premier Design

The premier design aspect of this particular boot, it's crafted with some of the best materials in the industry today. What we can say about this boot is that it is also one of the most comfortable hiking boots that an individual can purchase today. The premier aspect design of this boot offers plenty of flexibility thanks to the molded nylon arch. With an easy to wear functionality, this boot is somewhat more flexible than other ones, which is perfect for many days out on the trail.

Air Cushion

If you are hiking for long periods at a time, then it is clear that you would want a boot with plenty of flexibility and comfort. With this said, this manufacturer offers an air cushion technology to offer premium heel support alongside a breathable mesh lining for expert comfort and functionality. This type of design is known as one of the most premium comfort design's available in the industry today.

Cost And Value

This is like no other hiking boot. What makes this particular brand of hiking boots so different is that they listen to their customer's needs and provide expert solutions without rushing the process. With that said, if an individual is looking at the cost of this item it is natural to think that it is somewhat expensive. However, the value of an item such as this one is reflected in the price because it offers premium functionality and some of the most durable materials known to date.

6. Merrell Moab 2 Vent

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
 Merrell Moab 2 Vent
Amazon Link
Style
92
Outsole
90.1
Comfort
87.2
Durability
85
Value
84.7
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$78.24
Pros:

A trusted brand with plenty years of experience in the boot industry.

The removable insole makes it easy to clean the spoon.

The mesh lining on the inside is both protective and breathable.

The M select technology offers plenty of heel support and ankle support so an individual can hike many terrains.

This boot is made of some of the most durable quality materials available.

The suede leather and mesh upper are easy to clean.

Cons:

Individuals have said that dirt gets inside of their boot.

Depending on the size, best boot camp can be considered somewhat expensive.

As one of the best boot manufacturers in the industry, this next boot is designed as one of the best-ventilated boots for hiking purposes. Since it is really hot and potentially sweaty while hiking, this boot offers a breathable technology that comes in handy especially if an individual wants to hike for long period. Let's talk about two of the most important features of the Merrell Men's Moab 2 Vent Mid Hiking Boot, one of the best-crafted boots in the industry.

Breathable Lining

If you plan on hiking for a long time and want one of the best and expertly designed boots available today, you would expect the boot to offer some type of breathable technology. With that in mind, the innovative design of this particular boot offers a removable insole alongside a breathable mesh lining so an individual's foot can breathe superbly while hiking. With this in mind, this boot never gets as stinky as other boots that do not offer a breathable exterior.

Extended Tongue

One of the best design qualities of expert hiking boots is that they are designed for all different kinds of terrains. With that said, this premiere hiking boot has an extended tongue to keep debris out of the boot. This really comes in handy if an individual plans on hiking some of the dirtiest, sandy, and mud field terrains. This aspect allows an individual to trust that the boot will keep their feet clean.

Cost And Value

When it comes to considering cost and value, what we can say about this particular boot is that it is designed as one of the best boots in the industry due to the premium comfort and different features. With that said, the features of this boot are not the only appeal. It is widely considered, that this is one of the most appealing boots aesthetically available today. With two different colors to choose from an individual can find their ideal hiking boot from this brand.

7. Merrell Moab Rover

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
 Merrell Moab Rover
Amazon Link
Style
91.9
Outsole
89
Comfort
85.3
Durability
84
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Looks really attractive.

The leather fabric synthetic material is easy to clean.

The mid-cut design is appealing.

The arch is made from a molded nylon material that makes it more comfortable than other boots.

Highly recommended as one of the best boot manufacturers today.

The synthetic sole offers plenty of traction.

Cons:

Somewhere expensive.

Individuals have mentioned that this boot runs small.

We are eager to share this next hiking boot with you because it seems that this list only gets better and better. This is not just a premium and expert design quality boot, it is a step towards this brands intention to offer different design styles that appeal too many different people. This boot is considered one of the most attractive boots that this brand offers without losing the premium quality and functionality that it is known for. Let's talk about the Merrell Men's Moab Rover Waterproof Boot and what makes it extremely appealing.

The Design Quality

The design quality of this particular boot is known as one of the best and most well-crafted boots available today. The leather material is expertly designed to be easy to clean and extremely appealing. With that said, this boot does not look like a typical hiking boot. In fact, this looks more like an aesthetically pleasing shoe that offers some of the best functionalities from hiking boots.

Waterproof Design

What is even better about this extremely appealing shoe/boot is that it includes this brands quality waterproof technology. This mid-cut boot is made to be waterproof and repels water upon impact, making it a perfect boot for long-term for either recreational purposes or a high-quality work boot. We highly recommend this boot as one of the most attractive and appealing Boots available today.

Cost And Value

When taking cost and value into consideration for this product, it is important to look at the design quality and aspect that makes this boot so unique. With that in mind, we can say that the price of this boot only reflects the beautiful style durable functionality aspect of the boot. We can say, that this boot is known for its striking looks and masterful design which offers plenty of value for the cost.

8. Merrell Captiva

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
 Merrell Captiva
Amazon Link
Style
90.2
Outsole
87.5
Comfort
83
Durability
81.7
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

The synthetic material is easy to clean.

It is one of the most appealing women's boots that this brand offers.

The boot opening is easy to get into.

The InStep zipper is very smooth.

The comfortable inside of the boot allows for a woman to wear it for a long time.

Cons:

Women have mentioned that this boot can be stiff.

Users wish that this boot would come in more colors.

I think we've talked enough about some of the best men's hiking boots that this particular brand offers. We are going to switch it up a bit! This next premier quality boot is known as one of the best women's boots that this brand offers. Not for extensive hours of hiking, this next boot serves more as a light hiking boot or walking boot. However, the style of this boot makes it a fan favorite among many women that are loyal fans of this brand. Let's talk about the Merrell Women's Captiva Buckle-Down Waterproof Boot, one of the best women's boot in the industry.

Beautiful Design

For women that are seeking for light hiking boots that also offer a premium design that can be taken anywhere, we highly recommend these premium boots due to their functionality and casual appeal. With that in mind, many women will appreciate the beautiful design that makes it a high quality. With a belt buckle Loop and three colors to choose from, women shouldn't have any problem picking their ideal boot size.

Waterproof Material

Do not let the stylish charm of this particular woman's boot sway you from believing that it is expertly crafted for light hiking. With a waterproof design, the best synthetic boot is designed to repel water upon impact. With that in mind, this waterproof boot is made out of a synthetic material that is really easy to clean and includes a rubber sole for traction against slippery surfaces.

Cost And Value

As far as cost and value is concerned, we highly recommend these premium light hiking boots as one of the best hiking women's boots in the industry that can also be matched with any outfit. Perfect for a quick hiking boot or stylish accessory for a dinner date. For the price, we can say that this premium boot is priced competitively as a high-end luxury boot.

9. Merrell Turku Trek

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
 Merrell Turku Trek
Amazon Link
Style
88
Outsole
86.3
Comfort
82
Durability
80.8
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Well-crafted boot made from some of the best materials known to date.

The Rubber Soul offers plenty of traction.

This boot is designed with quality in mind.

The breathable mesh lining up allows an individual’s foot to never get hot.

The protective rubber exterior is perfect for outdoor working environments.

One of the best hiking boots in the industry.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that this boot is so rugged that it could be hard to wear.

The material of the boot can easily get dirty.

Switching gears once again, let's talk about one of the most rugged men's hiking boots that is perfect for winter weather. This next boot offers plenty of flexibility and durability in one Premier package designed with Optimum comfort in mind. We can say that this happens to be one of the most comfortable and appealing men's designs in the modern-day boot industry. Let's talk about what makes the Merrell Men's Turku Trek Waterproof Winter Boot such an appealing winter boot.

Seam Sealed Constructioseam-sealed

The seam-sealed construction of this boot means that an individual will never have to worry about water getting inside the boot. I mean, the main purpose of the boot is to offer winter flexibility in a design that can repel water and ensure that an individual will be comfortable during the winter months. Whether you are working outside or using this as a recreational boot, men will be extremely comfortable when wearing this product due to the expertly crafted material.

Protective Rubber

As we said in the above paragraph, an individual can use this for recreational purposes. However, the design of the blue includes a protective rubber cap in the toe area of the boot in the case that a person is using these for work purposes. Designed to prepare the toes of an individual, these boots offer a premium quality design alongside expert functionality and recreational comfort. What we can say, is that an individual's toes will always be protected when wearing this rugged and extremely strong boot.

Cost And Value

When taking cost and value into consideration for a product such as this, we can say that it is expertly crafted for the workforce. With that in mind, the price of this boot only reflects the premium qualities. With three colors to choose from, individuals will have no problem finding the ideal boo for any environment. Lastly, best brands a listed track record for providing some of the best boots in the industry includes this one at the top of the list.

10. Merrell Women's Aurora 6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
 Merrell Women's Aurora 6
Amazon Link
Style
87.2
Outsole
84.1
Comfort
80
Durability
78.9
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.99
Pros:

The materials of this particular hiking boot are easy to clean.

The leather and synthetic materials are high quality.

The rubber outsole offers plenty of traction.

One of the best high-quality woman boots in the industry.

The Fluorescein design is extremely appealing.

Highly-touted as one of the best boot manufacturers available today.

Cons:

Women have mentioned that this boot is not warm enough.

Women have mentioned that this boot size runs small.

It seems that we have not talked enough about women's boots on this list. Therefore, we wanted to include another expertly crafted women's boot that Appeals to stylish women that want the many unique features of a hiking boot. With that in mind, we can ensure that this is one of the best quality boots for women that are wanting a trendy appeal alongside plenty of value. Let's look at two notable aspects of Merrell Women's Aurora 6 Waterproof Winter Boot.

Air Cushion

Many of the men's boots on this list are known for offering an air cushion. With that said, it is expected that this same quality design would trickle into women's boot designs making this brand excel in the women's boot industry as well. With that said, the air cushion design is intended to provide maximum support with an added element of breathability so an individual's foot never gets really hot. This is an aspect that women will love especially if they plan to be walking or hiking for a long time.

Grip Outsole

Now, do not let the stylish appeal of this particular boot sway an individual from believing that it offers plenty of functionality like a man's hiking boot. In fact, this premium boot manufacturer developed this boot with a rubber grip outsole so individuals that want to use this boot for hiking purposes or on slippery snow days can receive the same amount of traction as some of the most notable men's hiking boots. With that in mind, we can say confidently that this is one of the best crafted hiking boots in the industry today.

Cost And Value

We are really excited to share this particular boot for a reason. Not only is it one of the best women's boots on this list and that this friend offers, it is actually the most reasonably priced women's boot. With four colors to choose from, individuals will have no problem finding the best boot alongside a beautiful color to match. As far as cost to value is concerned, we can say that the value easily surpasses the cost, making it one of the best quality shoes that an individual can purchase today.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Design and Appeal

As we have highlighted thus far, there are many different important features that need to be looked at when evaluating different shoes. Now, as you might be able to agree – when consumers head to a local shoe store or look online, they fail to consider many of this “value points” and really focus on the design and appeal of the shoe. Now, we would like to say, the design and appeal do hold a prominent role in the process; however, an individual should never purchase a product solely on the colors or design. With that being said, when we began to look at each Merrell shoe, we rated it based on its design and what’s considered visually appealing to most consumers. We took it a step further to ensure that the color and design that is marketed online is what consumers will receive.

Outsole

Outsole Technology/Midsole/Insole Technology

When it comes to a shoe, there is something known as the sole. There are three different soles, the midsole, outsole, and the insole. Now, these three parts play a significant role in the quality, comfortability, durability, stability, and performance capabilities. With that being said, whenever we evaluated a Merrell shoe, we carefully looked at how the company constructed these three parts of the shoe. For example, did the insole come with its own unique foam padding or was the outsole made from a quality rubber to withstand Nature’s ground? Much of this information can be found in the production description of each product. Now, again, Merrell is known for building the absolute best shoes. So, our goal was to really hone in on the best shoes based on the soles.

Comfort

Comfort

The whole purpose of a shoe is to keep you comfortable when walking, running, or doing whatever activity you have in mind. Now, there are many different ways that manufacturers can approach comfort. They can create a flexible and mesh upper, offer better padding and foam in the insole or midsole, or even offer unique innovations in the outsole to offer better support and impact reduction. For the purpose of this article, we carefully looked at all of these aspects. While we know that this company is known for offering the best comfort in their class, we wanted to figure out what shoes offered the MOST comfort from Merrell.

Durability

Durability

Another important aspect of evaluating a pair of shoes is looking at the durability of the product. In truth, the last thing you want is to purchase an expensive pair of shoes that end up ripping, tearing, or underperforming. Now, we would like to say, with Merrell, consumers should not really experience any of these common problems. Since these products are made from some of the best materials, the shoes are designed to last. To measure the durability, we looked at the quality of the materials used, the stitching/lacing, and how the manufacturer talked about the durability of the shoe. Now, evidently, consumers should always cross-reference any marketing claims. To do this, you can check with previous customer reviews, all of which are designed to help you out.

Value

Cost and Value

In our opinion, one of the most important aspects of the evaluation process has to do with understanding the role of the cost and the value. You see, this is the absolute best way that a consumer can ensure that they are receiving their penny’s worth for a purchase. For this article, we wanted to understand how Merrell priced their products. So, we wrote down the price for each product and compared the difference in pricing; what’s higher, what’s lower, and what prices seem to be the median range. Now, to measure the quality of the product, we took the time to look at all of the features of each shoe. What special innovations are in this shoe? Does it come with any unique padding or foam? How is the durability of the shoe? Does it come in any nice colors or designs? In answering these questions, we were able to make some strong conclusions about the very best products from this manufacturer.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Outsole
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
About the Maker

Merrell boots are durable, versatile, and functional all in one. Want shoes that can do it all? Then Merrells have you covered. They have proven time and time again that they are dedicated to making some of the best shoes around.

Fits your Needs

Do you want tactical boots or boots that are specifically for hiking? Our top picks provide boots that offer both flexibility and durability. So no matter the design or activity you need boots for, Merrell has them all. Which pair in our list is the best for you? Or maybe you like more than one?

Other Factors to Consider

Traction

When it comes to purchasing a high-quality shoe, one aspect that all consumers must take into consideration is the traction. Given the type of activities that Merrell makes shoes for – this company has mastered the art of providing the very best traction for consumers. Each shoe that we featured today on our list comes with a notable, highly durable outsole that can handle any rigorous surface, making it an optimal choice for hunting, fishing, outdoor work, or simply hiking. Now, to ensure that the product’s traction was beyond expectation, we took the time to look at previous customer reviews to see what people were saying about their experience with the traction.

Brand

At the start of this article, when we were developing our list of criteria, the first point that came to mind was the idea of the quality of the entire shoe. You see, every single shoe on the market is built in a specific manner. There are running shoes, hiking shoes, hunting shoes, and even fishing shoes! Each of these shoes has a unique build, which requires unique sole technology and innovations, lacing systems, and so much more. So, when we first started looking at each Merrell shoe, we looked at the overall quality of the shoe. How was it built? Did it look like a high-quality shoe? What are previous customers saying about their experience with the shoe? Are there more positive notes about quality than negative? These are just a few questions that we wrote down and evaluated each shoe on. From there, we began to get more specific, looking at very specific aspects of the shoe design.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why should you buy a Merrell shoe?

a:

Merrell offers some of the highest quality and most versatile shoes on the market today. So you can find the most durable shoe for every occasion.

q: What is the difference between Moab Mid Waterproof and Moab Mid Ventilator?

a:

The Moab Mid Waterproof was designed with stronger waterproof properties so this boot does a better job of preventing water from seeping through. The Ventilator is designed to help ventilate and eliminate any build-up of moisture inside of the shoe.

q: Are the insoles in Merrell shoes removable?

a:

Yes! What makes Merrell shoes such a valuable choice is that, not only are they built from high-quality materials and comfort top of mind – consumers can customize their comfort by removing the insoles.

q: What is the difference between waterproof and water resistant?

a:

If you carefully looked at each boot and shoe offered by Merrell, you might be curious to know what are the differences between waterproof shoes and water resistant shoes. It’s important to understand this difference as it has an impact on the cost, the value, and its functionality. A shoe that is water resistant does a great job of preventing small amounts of water from seeping into the shoe. For example, this might mean small rain clouds or snow flurries. Waterproof shoes or boots, on the other hand, do a much better job of handling water and snow. In fact, these shoes are impermeable to weather and water so, whether it’s pouring rain, or snowing outside, these shoes will prevent any water from seeping through.

q: Should you break in Merrell shoes before intended use?

a:

Yes! Whenever you purchase a shoe or boot from Merrell, it’s highly recommended to take the time to break in the shoe for optimal performance. Reason being, once you order your shoes and they come in – the insole and outsole will be stiff, making hiking, fishing, or whatever your use may be, difficult and less comfortable. So, to break-in your new Merrell shoes, it’s recommended to practice walking in the shoes around a house or on smooth surfaces where the outsole will not be impacted. After about 5-10 miles of walking, the shoes should be optimal for performance.

Sources