to top 10 table

Best Dinnerware Sets Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Feb 05, 2019

There are so many different types of sets, designs, and qualities. Whether you are looking for Euro-Asian inspired, white and classic trends, or a traditional look that matches your beautiful crystal chandelier, there is a set to fit every need and want. We have put together the top recommended dishware sets for you to compare before you decide what to purchase. We can say that all of these sets are beautiful in their most unique way. We are eager to share the top ten best dinnerware sets that an individual can buy today. It is important to know which features are important to you prior to researching and choosing your perfect set.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
Corelle Livingware
94.2/100 our score
Durability
96
Materials
92
Style
90
Size
95
Value
98
Corelle Livingware
Why is it better?

Luxury dinnerware set.

Elegant and minimal.

Variety of pieces.

Different purchasing options available.

Three year warranty.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Corelle Livingware
Test Winner: Corelle Livingware
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Durability Materials Style Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Durability
96 %
Materials
92 %
Style
90 %
Size
95 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
$52.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Durability
95 %
Materials
90 %
Style
91 %
Size
90 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
$37.03
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Durability
92 %
Materials
90 %
Style
92 %
Size
91 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
$33.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Durability
90 %
Materials
87 %
Style
91 %
Size
90 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
$51.80
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Durability
88 %
Materials
89 %
Style
91 %
Size
88 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Durability
86 %
Materials
88 %
Style
90 %
Size
84 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
$127.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Durability
86 %
Materials
84 %
Style
88 %
Size
86 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
$78.61
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Durability
88 %
Materials
89 %
Style
84 %
Size
86 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
$99.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Durability
86 %
Materials
87 %
Style
78 %
Size
78 %
Value
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
Durability
86 %
Materials
78 %
Style
76 %
Size
78 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.06.20)
Amazon Link

10 Best Dinnerware Sets

1. Corelle Livingware

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Corelle Livingware
Amazon Link
Durability
96
Materials
92
Style
90
Size
95
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$52.99
Pros:

Luxury dinnerware set.

Elegant and minimal.

Variety of pieces.

Different purchasing options available.

Three year warranty.

Cons:

Can be considered expensive.

If you are a fan of luxury living and minimalism, then this is the ideal dinnerware set. We believe that white is always in. White does not only look elegant and simple, but it also matches with everything. Let’s talk about the Corelle Livingware Dinnerware Set and what individuals can expect from this quality set today.

Chip Resistant

Nothing is less attractive then houseware that breaks or chips easily. With that in mind, this brand has designed this specifically formulated dinnerware set to be durable enough to be chip resistant, break resistant, and highly strong. With that in mind, the set is also dishwasher safe and can withstand the test of time. With different options to choose from, we see why it is a fan favorite.

Minimal Style Set

This particular set is not for everyone. However, for individuals that want minimal and luxury, we say this is the set for you. The full set comes with a white bowl, a small plate, and a large plate. With that in mind, the set is very beautiful and is very durable. With this full set, an individual can host beautiful dinner parties or enjoy a delicious pasta meal in front of the tv.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this dinnerware set, we can say that this is the best dinnerware set in the industry for individuals that love minimalism and elegance. Not only that but this brand comes with a three-year warranty and has been known to produce some of the most beautiful houseware items available today. All though the price is somewhat expensive for a set of 24, they are designed for elegance.

2. Gibson Soho Lounge

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Gibson Soho Lounge
Amazon Link
Durability
95
Materials
90
Style
91
Size
90
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$37.03
Pros:

Beautiful set designed to last a long time.

Different colors to choose from.

New and lowered price.

Plenty of positive reviews.

Different available options.

Cons:

May chip easily.

If you are looking for an Asian themed dinner set that blends modern charm with an eclectic taste and relaxing look, then this is the dinner set for you. As the first dinner set on this list, we are eager to share the Gibson Sogo Lounge 16-Piece Square Ser, a relaxing and tasteful design alongside bold Asian minimalism. Here are two features of this quality set.

Red Interior / Black Exterior

Customer’s favorite design element of this particular set is the color choice. The color is bold but tasteful. It is a bright red interior with a bold yet minimal exterior. The exterior is not too glossy, maintaining a beautiful somewhat matte finish. The interior is designed to pop and bo bold. With that said, the style, the enamel, and the quality is all designed to last a long time.

The Full Set

When it comes to a quality set that can last a long time, individuals choose this brand for multiple reasons. First, the full-set comes with four of the following, mugs, small square plates, large square plates, and bowls. Therefore, individuals can use this set ranging from coffee to soup, to big dinners. The set is appealing enough to be the statement of a fancy dinner party and relaxed enough to be the statement peice of a romantic dinner at home. Just get roses to match!

Cost And Value

As we discuss cost and value for this item we can say that this is one of the best sets in the industry for the price. We can say that the value of this particular set is not only found in the style but also the design. With that in mind, we can say that individuals will be surprised by the newly dropped price, which makes it incredibly affordable. With 4.5 stars at 1.9k reviews, we highly recommend this set.

3. AmazonBasics 16-Piece

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
AmazonBasics 16-Piece
Amazon Link
Durability
92
Materials
90
Style
92
Size
91
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.99
Pros:

Quality and durable set.

16 piece set with four different styles to choose from.

Highly affordable.

Positive reviews from 1k people.

Cons:

Can be considered somewhat cheap.

As the next brand on our list, I am eager to share the AmazonBasics 16-Piece Cafe Stripe Dinnerware Set. This brand has been known for creating ad supplying some of the most needed house essentials without sacrificing quality. In fact, this set is a fan favorite set among many people for many reasons. Let’s look at two features of this beautiful luxury set.

AB-Grade Porcelain / Durable

Now, although this porcelain is not the most expensive or luxurious in the industry, it is still highly durable. In fact, this set is the perfect set for bachelors or college students that want a quality set in their apartment or dorm room. The set is very stylish will also being highly break and chip-resistant. The set is also lightweight so it is easy to clean, set-up, and place in a cabinet.

Contemporary Trim

The particular design of this uniquely universale plateware set is one of the aesthetic beauties of it. This set is not only contemporary but it holds a sort of traditional charm, one that you would find from vintage blue porcelain dinnerware sets. All of this charm from a particularly beautiful set that is designed to withstand the test of time and look beautiful for years to come.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value for this particular set we can say that part of the beauty of this set is the price. In fact, the price for this set of four blue-trimmed plates and mugs is one of the best in the industry. This is not uncommon for this essentials brand. This brand is known to offer some of the best prices at incredibly competitive prices. Of course, you cannot compare this set to any double-the-price sets on this list, but this is the best set for a starter family or bachelor looking for design quality and durability.

4. Rachael Ray Cucina

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Rachael Ray Cucina
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Materials
87
Style
91
Size
90
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$51.80
Pros:

Trustworthy manufacturer.

Highly touted with plenty of reviews.

Trusted brand with quality assurance.

Beautiful design.

Microwaveable and freezer friendly.

Cons:

The glaze may scratch easily if not careful.

We are eager to share one of the most quality dinnerware sets on this list. Coming from one of the world’s most renowned chefs and TV personalities, this set is made with quality in mind for individuals that want a classy and modern looking set. With somewhat of an organic look, this is the Rachael Ray Cucina Dinnerware Set. Here are two important points to consider about this quality set.

Stoneware Material

This particular set is designed uniquely compared to many other dinnerware sets on this list. The set itself is made from a crafted and highly durable material known as stoneware. With that said, the set is also glazed with a beautiful earthy and rustic color to give it a contemporary and organic look and feel. With that in mind, we can say that this set is one of the most durable sets available today.

Quality Assurance Guarantee

This particular set is guaranteed by this manufacturer to offer some of the best craftsmanship and material quality. With that in mind, we can say that the quality of this set offers plenty of different usability features. For example, the set is oven safe up to 250 degrees, it is non-reactive, dishwasher friendly, and microwaveable and freezer safe. This level of durability is what consumers have come to expect from this particular manufacturer.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this set, we can say that the cost of this particular set is well worth the price. With that in mind, consumers can expect that the set will be able to withstand the test of time and be usable for years to come. Not only that, but the set is designed beautifully to match with any table setting. However, individuals have plenty of color choices to choose from.

5. Cuisinart

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Cuisinart
Amazon Link
Durability
88
Materials
89
Style
91
Size
88
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Many different styles available.

Beautiful quality set.

Designed to last.

Stylish and traditional.

Durable.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that the color can be a bit darker in person.

Coming to the middle of this list is a brand that is highly known around the world as one of the best and most durable in the houseware industry. As product number five, we want to share the Stoneware Jenna Green Collection set from Cuisinart, a quality brand that has fulfilled the expectations of millions. Here are two features to consider about this set.

Ceramic Stoneware

This particular brand is known for providing and creating some of the most beautiful and appealing products in the industry. With that in mind, this ceramic stoneware set is highly durable and can easily be in the family for years to come. The set is dishwasher safe, microwave safe, and can withstand the test of time. With a scratch-resistant glaze, individuals can expect this set to be highly durable.

The Set

The set comes with all of the essentials for an individual to host a beautiful and classy dinner party. The set includes four salad plates, four bowls, four mugs, and four dinner plates. Therefore, an individual can match the set with everything they need for the table to look both beautiful and inviting.

Cost and Value

When it comes to cost and value for this particular item we can say that this brand excels in developing quality state of the art items. With that in mind, this set is beautiful, appealing, and has an inviting charm about it that makes it very unique. Now, the color will not be for everyone. However, this brand has a large selection of different styles available.

6. Lenox Butterfly Meadow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Lenox Butterfly Meadow
Amazon Link
Durability
86
Materials
88
Style
90
Size
84
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$127.99
Pros:

Marked down beautiful houseware set.

Designed for quality.

Durable porcelain material.

Three different piece-sets to choose from.

Freezer and microwave safe.

Cons:

Can be somewhat expensive.

Now that we have introduced five quality brands in the genre of dinnerware sets, we are eager to share the Lenox Butterfly Meadow 18-Piece Set. This set is not only highly beautiful, striking, made to last, but it it is designed from one of the top luxury brands in the houseware industry. With that said, here are two features of this beautiful set.

The Material Quality

We would not expect anything less from this brand than perfection. With that said, we can say that this particular set is designed from a specialized porcelain that is not only highly durable but also chip-resistant. With that said, the porcelain is beautiful and designed with a glazed coating that ensures maximum longevity.

Striking Colors

This particular set, although not for everyone, happens to be one of the most beautiful sets in the industry. The set itself is designed from top of the line materials and boasts specialized artwork that resembles a beautiful nature element. Some of the mugs have different butterflies, flowers, and artwork that will take your breath away.

Cost And Value

When it comes to cost and value for this particular set, we can say that the price of this set is well worth the value. However, individuals will find this to be rather expensive, which we have come to know is a trait of premier houseware brands. However, for a limited time only, the set is marked down close to 70% off, so if you love it, get it!

7. Yinshine 12 PCS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Yinshine 12 PCS
Amazon Link
Durability
86
Materials
84
Style
88
Size
86
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$78.61
Pros:

Quality set design.

Colorful and vibrant.

Perfect for outdoor dinner parties.

Plates are perfect for desserts, pasta, and salads

Cons:

Not as large as household plates.

Now that we are going a bit floral, let’s continue the trend with this next quality set. Although not as prestigious as the last brand, this set is still designed with quality in mind for individuals that want a quality everyday set. This set is beautiful, festive, and designed to last. Let’s talk about the Yinshine 12 PCS Melamine Dinner Set.

The Material

Now, the material of this particular set is called, “Melamine.” This material has the composition of plastic and is not as prestigious or luxurious as porcelain. With that said, the material is highly durable and does not break as easily as porcelain, making it the ideal set for homes with young kids or outdoor gatherings where individuals want to serve break-resistant plates.

The Design

This particular set is quite beautiful, although the material is known as an inexpensive plastic. In fact, the set boasts very vibrant colors. The plates have flowers on them while the bowls are designed like an open flower where the outside shell is petals and in the interior is the middle of the flower.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this set, we can say that this is one of the best sets when it comes to quality and durability. The durability is found in the material quality of the set. The cost is fairly inexpensive for 12 pieces, service set for four. With that in mind, this set is perfect for individuals that love to host outdoor events or parties.

8. Mikasa Italian Countryside

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Mikasa Italian Countryside
Amazon Link
Durability
88
Materials
89
Style
84
Size
86
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.99
Pros:

Quality set construction.

Forty pieces in total.

Italian Countryside Collection design,

Dishwasher and microwave safe.

Best selling pattern.

Cons:

Costly

As another quality brand that is primarily known for classical designs and beautiful aesthetics, we are eager to share what may be the competition to the Lenox brand. Let’s talk about one of the most luxurious houseware manufacturers available today. This is the Mikasa Italian Countryside 40-Piece Dinnerware Set.

Classical Design

As one of the best quality dinnerware sets available today, we can say that this is also one of the most appealing. The primary reason this is a highly appealing set is that of the design quality. This set was designed to resemble Italian classical architecture. With fluted bands and column detailing, we can say that this set will be the statement piece of the dinner table.

Luxurious Durability

This particular set not only happens to be extremely luxurious and beautiful. This set is true to the brand quality and durability that we have come to expect. The set is designed to be dishwasher safe and microwaveable safe for a more efficient experience.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this set, it is important to note that individuals will be receiving a full 8-person set with five different pieces. With that in mind, this forty piece set is the most expensive on this list and individuals can expect that it will last the test of time. This brand is not only known for luxury but also a level of prestige that can only be matched by their excellent quality and customer service.

9. American Atelier

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
American Atelier
Amazon Link
Durability
86
Materials
87
Style
78
Size
78
Value
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Non-Porous stoneware.

Beautiful Colors.

Dishwasher safe.

Moderately priced.

Cons:

Pieces can become very hot if used in the microwave.

This is a beautiful blue and white decorative set with stylish markings that is designed to display proudly on your dinner table. The American Atelier Granada Round Dinnerware Set is sure to impress your guests and set the tone for a wonderful meal.

Stylish and Vibrant

This set comes with alternating colors of blue, white, and tan markings and white to contrast a lovely appearance. The elegant beauty is something found on much more expensive sets. The mugs, plates, and bowls provides a full service for four individuals.

Durable

This particular set, is simple yet elegant adding lively color to your dinner table. The stoneware material allows the set to be dishwasher and microwave safe, which makes for easy everyday use.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular set, we can say that the set is designed with beauty and durability. Now, the set is not too expensive either. A 16-piece set goes around the same price as one would expect for a quality set of this caliber.

10. Melange 40-Piece

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
Melange 40-Piece
Amazon Link
Durability
86
Materials
78
Style
76
Size
78
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Beautiful designed set with quality pattern.

Specialized porcelain material.

Full set of five different items.

Chip resistant.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that this set is overpriced.

As a quality forty-piece set, we want to share the one of the best designed dinner sets in the industry. This brand is known for their highly durable and trusted products. As the last product on the list, this is the Melange 40-Piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set. Here are two features of this quality set.

Elegance Refined

This particular set is very simple, yet eye-catching. The set itself ecudes elgance and blends it with a streamlined design that meets a well-designed glaze to create a procelin setting with a high qaulity feel. With that said, this set has everything an individual will need to start the party right, with plates, mugs, bowls, and large dinner plates.

Durability

This particular set is made from a high quality and highly tested porcelain material that is streamline and more durable than earthenware or stoneware. With that said, the set is highly durable due to a specialized porcelain that is scratch and break-resistant as well as vitrified at temperatures close to 240F. The set is also dishwasher safe and microwave friendly.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, we can say that this set is highly worth the price. For individuals that want a stylish and beautiful set that can withstand the test of time, we highly recommend this set. With that in mind, we recommend the set for it’s resistant qualities and premium feel.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

How is it that we ensure the top ten best quality products? Well, we look at the overall durability of the item as the first pillar of our criteria. This crucial pillar is determined by the reviews of individuals and all of the other criteria put together to formulate the overall quality. This means that the item needs to be guaranteed to withstand the test of time, be extremely durable, and also safe enough and not made from toxic chemicals. With all this taken into consideration, we can say that this quality set is designed for maximum performance and overall quality value. Not only do they look extremely appealing, but they are also designed for safe use. Now, part of the durability of the set, which enhances the quality and the value is the material. Let’s talk about the next crucial criteria, the material quality of the set.

Materials

The overall material quality of the set is crucial to the overall success of the set. The reason being is that with a cheap material, comes less durability and the set will not be able to handle wear and tear. With that in mind, we found that most sets are designed from the same material quality. The most common material is porcelain, which has different grades of durability. Depending on the grade, the porcelain can break easily and not withstand the test of time. Therefore, it was crucial that all of the dinnerware sets that we shared were designed with the best quality materials.

Now, another one of the most common materials that we discovered through our research is stoneware, which happens to be a more luxurious material that is also quite fragile. With that in mind, the material really determines whether the product is dishwasher safe and microwave safe. What we can say, is anything except plastic is microwave safe. Some plastic is dishwasher safe. However, it is important to take into consideration the max temperature the brand and manufacturer suggest.

Style

As the next criteria that we took into consideration, we discovered that the style and design of a set determine how appealing it will be. Now, this is all subjective to the buyer. Therefore, we wanted to share a wide variety of different sets. On this list, individuals will notice a wide variety of different sets ranging from floral and artistic sets to more traditionally lines sets with authentic pillar moldings. With that in mind, this criteria is part of our dedication to sharing a wide variety of different products when it comes to our top ten products.

As far as style, it is important to note that not every set will fit with your decor or the style of your home. For example, some sets are better left for more modern homes while some sets are designed for traditional or outdoor use. In any case, our dedication was to share not just durable sets, but also highly beautiful and appealing.

Size

As another crucial criterion that we took into consideration, we wanted to make sure that we shared quality sets that had a different variety of pieces. Now, what an individual is particularly looking for will determine what kind of set they desire to get. With that said, we can say that all of these sets include quality pieces. This was an important criterion because we wanted to share sets that fell complete. However, some sets only come with four of each piece, making it a four-person set. If you tend to entertain, it is important to keep in mind that you may be buying more than one set from a specific manufacturer. Through our research, it seems that the most common pieces are a big plate, a small plate, a bowl, and mugs. Now, for all of this, what can individuals expect to pay?

Value

As the next criteria that we took into consideration, this criterion is a common theme in all of our articles. The primary reason is that we only want to share products that are worth a person’s consideration and worth the price. With that in mind, we can say that much of the cost for a particular set is determined by the material and the brand. Of course, porcelain will be one of the most costly materials, especially if it is a high-grade porcelain. However, when you combine that with a quality brand such as Mikasa, an individual gets a costly combination that is known as one of the best and most premium homeware brands in the industry.

However, if you are looking for refined luxury without the price tag, we can say that there are some beautiful quality sets on this list that are intended to withstand the test of time.

Now that we have shared our criteria to evaluate the best dinnerware sets, it is time to answer some of the most common questions by consumers when it comes to purchasing a quality dinnerware set.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Table Decor

There are many options in table ware decor, from stoneware to porcelain, each having unique characteristics, from simple to elegant designs.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Does the set come with mugs?

a:

As the first key question that individuals are asking, we can say that most sets on this list do come with mugs. It is important to note that sometimes a brand does not include mugs because it is not part of their design. However, if you are wanting a full set with mugs, take into consideration what is included in the set before buying to ensure you are getting mugs.

q: Is the set anti-scratch?

a:

Now as one of the key questions when it comes to durability, we can say that most sets on this list come with an anti-scratch design. Now, this is really dependent on the style of the set, the durability, and the material quality. It is important to keep in mind that most sets will differ when it comes to material quality. Therefore, it is important to note that the cheaper the set is, the less scratch resistant it may be

q: Is the set enameled?

a:

As another key question, an enameled set is determined by the quality of the brand. Most sets on this list do have an enamel finish except for the plastic-like sets which are intended for outdoor use.

q: Is the set dishwasher and microwave safe?

a:

As the last key question that individuals are asking, we can say that most sets are microwaveable safe, except the plastic-like sets on the list. With that in mind, porcelain happens to be one of the safest materials to use in the microwave and dishwasher, with most being able to withstand high heat. However, other materials may have a limit, so it is important to read the description and instructions when it comes to a particular set.

q: What would be the benefit of buying square dishes over circular ones?

a:

There is not really any benefit of buying square dishes over circular ones. The style would be the key factor that would be determined in this case. Do you prefer to have a more contemporary look? Or, are you going for more traditional? Most dishware producers create both styles, so you should not have to give up any of the other important features you would like for a certain shape dish.