to top 10 table

Best Battle Ropes Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 08, 2019

The secret to the effectiveness of a pair of training cords (and you must use cords in pairs) is that they work each arm independently of each other. This eliminates all strength imbalance as your arms are individually sculpted by the equipment. And if you’re looking for the best of the best option available, then you’ve come to the right place, because we’re counting down the top 10 best products on the market today. Which are the most effective, toughest, or most stylish? Prepare to build up those arms into a pair of pythons, because we’re counting down the ten best battle ropes!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
 Titan Fitness
97/100 our score
Durability
99
Versatility
97.8
Value
97
Materials
96
Comfort
95
Titan Fitness
Why is it better?

Long, comfy handles

Fray-resistant

Affordable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Titan Fitness
Test Winner: Titan Fitness
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Durability Versatility Value Materials Comfort By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Durability
99 %
Versatility
97.8 %
Value
97 %
Materials
96 %
Comfort
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$41.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Durability
98 %
Versatility
96.7 %
Value
95.5 %
Materials
94 %
Comfort
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$66.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.1
Durability
96.5 %
Versatility
95 %
Value
94.9 %
Materials
92 %
Comfort
91.9 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$109.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Durability
94.7 %
Versatility
93 %
Value
92 %
Materials
88.9 %
Comfort
87.3 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$40.45
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Durability
93.9 %
Versatility
91.8 %
Value
88 %
Materials
87 %
Comfort
86.5 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Durability
92 %
Versatility
90.1 %
Value
87.2 %
Materials
85 %
Comfort
84.7 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Durability
91.1 %
Versatility
89 %
Value
85.3 %
Materials
84 %
Comfort
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$52.61
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
Durability
90.2 %
Versatility
87.5 %
Value
83 %
Materials
81.7 %
Comfort
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$33.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Durability
88 %
Versatility
86.3 %
Value
82 %
Materials
80.8 %
Comfort
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$40.49
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Durability
87.2 %
Versatility
84.1 %
Value
80 %
Materials
78.9 %
Comfort
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Titan Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
 Titan Fitness
Amazon Link
Durability
99
Versatility
97.8
Value
97
Materials
96
Comfort
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.99
Pros:

Long, comfy handles

Fray-resistant

Affordable

Cons:

Handles could be sturdier

Kicking off this list right, we have the Titan brand option. The reason that these get the #1 spot is very simple; in terms of raw power and intensity, these ropes have pretty much the rest of the competition beat by a country mile. So, what does this mean in a more specific sense? Well, let’s see.

Long, comfy handles

Taking one look at your average set of cords, your hands are probably already on fire imagining that rope burn. Thankfully, many options, including these, make sure to have handles for your hands to help them keep up the workout for longer periods of time without wearing out or burning your hands. And the handles on these are so long and comfortable, that you’ll barely even notice.

Fray-resistant

These are still ropes, despite how big and impressive they appear. And like any rope, they can fray as time goes on. Luckily, this set is so tightly braided and carefully crafted, that fraying is almost impossible for a majority of its lifespan.

Cost and Value

You’ll typically find this set of battle ropes for a very decent price, considering the high-quality material and crafting used to make it.

2. NEXPro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
 NEXPro
Amazon Link
Durability
98
Versatility
96.7
Value
95.5
Materials
94
Comfort
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$66.99
Pros:

Oxford waterproof sleeve

Incredibly durable material

Capped with heat shrink end caps

Cons:

Fraying may still occur over time

Coming in at our 2nd place spot, we have the NEXPro Battle Rope. The biggest draw to this rope is very simple; it’s one of the most durable on the list. Made from pure polypropylene and polyester, this rope isn’t fraying anytime soon. Of course, that isn’t all that this battle rope has going for it.

Oxford waterproof sleeve

While the material of this is not waterproof, they are very water resistant. And if you are afraid that it’s going to rain pretty hard in the middle of your training, then don’t worry, because this set of comes with an oxford waterproof sleeve, which is completely waterproof. So, if you aren’t too afraid of getting wet yourself, your training can continue as normal.

Heat shrink end caps

The end of this rope (or at least, the end of the rope that you aren’t meant to hold onto) is covered in a heat shrink cap. These keep hardcore industrial wires from fraying, so you’d better believe that a simple option is no match for it.

Cost and Value

Once more, you’ll find this set for a very reasonable price. Not very cheap, granted, but far from being too expensive.

3. Garage Fit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.1
 Garage Fit
Amazon Link
Durability
96.5
Versatility
95
Value
94.9
Materials
92
Comfort
91.9
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.95
Pros:

Flexible design

Rolls up compactly and is easy to store

Comfortable to use

Cons:

Pricey

Finishing up our top 3, we have the Garage Fit option. Most of these other products are locked into one, maybe two levels of fitness. You have to generally be a certain body build in order to get out of these cords what they ask of you. However, the garage fit stands apart from the others by being able to be used by people of any body type, regardless of how much or how little experience in the gym they may have beforehand. How does it do this? Let’s take a look.

Flexible design

Made from an ultra-durable polyester blend, this is both wear resistant and incredibly flexible. This flexibility is the big secret behind the user-friendliness of this. Because it’s so flexible in and of itself, you’ll usually be paired up with these cords when you’re just starting out with working on your lean muscles.

Easy to store

These are pretty big ropes. Not super big, mind you, but big enough for you to think to yourself “Wow that would be a nightmare to store in my house.” However, you need not to worry with such things because its flexible design also helps it rolls up nicely, allowing it to be stored securely almost anywhere.

Cost and Value

The big drawback to this item is the price. It’s often found to be at least $20 more than the previous two entries in most major retailers. Not to say it isn’t worth the value, because it more than is.

4. Super Deal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
 Super Deal
Amazon Link
Durability
94.7
Versatility
93
Value
92
Materials
88.9
Comfort
87.3
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$40.45
Pros:

100% Poly Dacron construction

Available in multiple sizes and lengths

Affordable

Cons:

The rope has been reported to lose its tight weave over time

In the #4 place, we have Super Deal Black option. This here is the product that you look for when you need one that’s equal parts affordable and features all the bells and whistles one expects from a high-quality option. How does it accomplish this task? Well, to give you an idea:

100% Poly Dacron construction

This product is made from 100% poly dacron construction. Poly dacron is completely wear-resistant, so it’ll be years before this shows even the slightest sign of wear and tear. And with a 3-strand twisted braid design, the durability of this rope shoots up immensely.

Available in multiple sizes and lengths

Not everyone has the space required to use the really long options you see on TV or online. So, it’s good to see that this is available in a wide variety of different lengths and widths, so everyone, regardless of the space they have to actually exercise in.

Cost and Value

The best part about this product is the price. This is easily among the cheapest entries on this entire list. So, if you want a high-quality rope for a low price, then you’re looking in the right places.

5. AmazonBasics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
 AmazonBasics
Amazon Link
Durability
93.9
Versatility
91.8
Value
88
Materials
87
Comfort
86.5
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

Durable design and weave

Heat shrink ends

Available in multiple sizes and length

Cons:

Pricey

Coming into the center of the list, we have our #5 pick, the AmazonBasics option. Once more, we have a high-quality training rope available at a great price. What else does this rope have in its corner? Quite a bit, actually.

Polyester, 3-strand thick design

The secret behind the durability of this is its design. Made from polyester, one of the most durable yet flexible cloths in the world, and then weaved into a 3-strand thick design, this is one of the tightest wound options on the market right now. And with that tightly wound design comes an excellent amount of durability.

Heat shrink ends

You may notice the ends of this are smaller than the rest of the body, even if just by a little bit. That’s because polyester tends to shrink when exposed to concentrated heat, which the manufacturers of this rope took advantage of, by using heat shrinking technology to compact the ends of this rope. This keeps the rope nice and tightly wound by keeping the strands so tightly compact, so they can’t move.

Cost and Value

This is a little pricey, but nothing too bad, certainly not as bad as the #3 entry. While a good bit above the average price of these cords, it isn’t anything unmanageable.

6. Comie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
 Comie
Amazon Link
Durability
92
Versatility
90.1
Value
87.2
Materials
85
Comfort
84.7
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Easy maintenance aided with the yellow stripe

600D oxford waterproofing

Well priced

Cons:

Needs a bit of breaking in, starts off pretty stiff

In our #6 spot, we have the Comie Poly Dacron Rope. We all know what these cords can do for our lean muscles, but they have other benefits as well, if applied correctly. With this option, you’ll find yourself building up your core muscles along with your lean muscle mass and end up accumulating more stamina from it. How is this possible? Well, let’s see.

Easy maintenance

You may think that the little yellow stripe along this is just there for show, but you would be wrong. While yes, it does do a lot to differentiate it from its peers, it also makes for surprisingly easy maintenance.

600D oxford waterproofing

This may not stand up for long against the elements if left out in the open for too long, but with the 600D waterproof oxford sleeve, you can leave it outside for days on end, where it rains every single day, and you’ll still be able to use it. You may not even find a single drop of water on it when all’s said and done.

Cost and Value

Unlike the previous entries, the price of this rope will vary depending on the size you buy it in. It can go from one of the cheaper entries on the list, to easily one of the most expensive. All of which depends on the size in which you buy it.

7. Trademark Innovations

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
 Trademark Innovations
Amazon Link
Durability
91.1
Versatility
89
Value
85.3
Materials
84
Comfort
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$52.61
Pros:

Water resistant without needing a sleeve

Can be used both indoors and out

Durable, heavy construction

Cons:

Very pricey in longer sizes

In the 7th place spot, we have the Trademark Innovations option. These are essential for those who want to add a bit of extra endurance and variety to their average workout. But what makes them so special? Well, for starters:

Water resistant

No keeping track of a waterproof sleeve for this. Not to say it doesn’t come with its own little sleeve, but ironically, it isn’t waterproof, so don’t take it out into the rain. Luckily, the rope itself very much is, so you can use it near water or out in the rain without having to put on some silly little sleeve.

Can be used indoors and out

You probably aren’t keen on using these cords indoors, especially if, between workouts, you also love to collect fine china. However, so long as you make sure to buy it in a more manageable size, you can use this pretty much anywhere, both inside and out.

Cost and Value

Once more, we have a product that comes in a wide variety of different sizes, all with their own price tags depending on the length and width. However, while the small size is cheaper, the longer sizes can be far more expensive than anything else on the list.

8. Giantex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
 Giantex
Amazon Link
Durability
90.2
Versatility
87.5
Value
83
Materials
81.7
Comfort
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.99
Pros:

Breaks in surprisingly fast

Very dependable

Forgiving price range

Cons:

You should avoid using this rope on an atypical surface

Kicking off our final 3, we have this option from Giantex. Considered by many to be possibly the most challenging piece of exercise equipment, not only with this type of exercise equipment but in the exercise market in general, this one will more than give you a run for your money. What does it have going for it to earn that moniker? Let’s see.

Breaks in fast

With many these, you typically have to keep using it for a bit to really break it in. They’ve spent the better part of who knows how long, after all, sitting wrapped up on a store shelf, so it’s only natural that they’re a bit stiff. However, this rope breaks in remarkably fast, taking no more than just 2 or 3 workouts before reaching peak flexibility.

Dependable

It’s only natural that this is durable, as that is a prerequisite for even getting on the list at all. However, this option brings something extra to the table: dependability. It will be years before this rope sees even a single fray.

Cost and Value

Once again, this rope comes in multiple sizes, and thus multiple prices. However, the prices are far better than previously established entries, as this price range is nowhere near as brutal.

9. ZENY

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
 ZENY
Amazon Link
Durability
88
Versatility
86.3
Value
82
Materials
80.8
Comfort
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$40.49
Pros:

Durable

Fray resistant

Forgiving price range

Cons:

The rope is a bit stiffer than most would like

In our second to last place spot, we have our #9 entry, the ZENY Poly Dacron. This is one you would go for if you need a pretty affordable option that will still hold up through wear and tear. While there may be better options, do not discount the ZENY Poly Dacron just yet.

Durable

Like other entries on this list, this rope is made from 100% pure poly dacron and utilizes a 3-strand twisted braid pattern for its construction. While this design is used more for polyester, it lends itself well to being used by poly dacron, making for a durable, if not very flexible, rope.

Fray resistant

Using heat shrink caps and the 3-strand twisted braid pattern, this is nigh impervious to fraying over time. Sure, it may fray as the years wear on, especially if you don’t take care of it. But if that isn’t a problem for you, then you don’t need to worry.

Cost and Value

This comes in a variety of different sizes, but like with the previous entry, the price range is very forgiving and doesn’t drain your wallet dry just because you want a slightly larger sized option.

10. Fitness Solutions

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
 Fitness Solutions
Amazon Link
Durability
87.2
Versatility
84.1
Value
80
Materials
78.9
Comfort
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Good rope for beginners

Endures the outside elements well

100% poly dacron construction

Cons:

A bit too light

In our final entry for this list, we have the Fitness Solutions Black Poly Dacron Training Rope. This is a good, basic version of exactly what it sets out to be: a good, basic training rope for people just now getting into the exercise of using it. What does it actually have going for it? Let’s find out.

Good rope for beginners

Some see it as an insult, of sorts, to call something “for beginners.” Well, we all have to start somewhere, so it may as well be here. Made from durable poly dacron and weaved into a 3-strand twisted braid construction, this rope is professional quality, while still being a flexible option for exercisers just starting out.

Endures the outside well

We kept seeing with the other entries all about how those other cords needed some type of sleeve or another form of protection to keep them safe from the outside elements. Whether it’s a sleeve or special protective coating, but this rope is just flat out okay to use outside because it’s just that well made.

Cost and Value

The big drawback of this rope is the price. The price range isn’t quite as insane as the #8 spot, but it still gets pretty high when it wants to, and boy does it want to.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

Criteria Used in Evaluation of the Best Battle Ropes

These are great for both indoor or outdoor uses, but that isn’t all that judges whether or not they get on this list, or how far up the list they go once they’re on it. There are a variety of different factors that play into this, despite the overall simplicity of the object itself. What are these criteria? Well, let’s see, as we look through, in no particular order, the criteria that got these entries on the list, and what decided how far up the list they got.

Material

This is exceedingly important. Cords need to be very carefully made when it comes to what materials are used to actually make them. We’ll get into design and braids later, but for now, we’ll focus on the fact that only certain materials can be used to make them. It needs to be flexible, yet durable. Able to withstand extreme use by its owner, including twirling, thrashing, and other various tricks used by the trainers who implement these cords into their training regimen. The most commonly used materials include polypropylene, nylon, dacron, and manila. The first three in that list, however, are all synthetic materials, leaving Manila as the sole natural material. Manila is a material made from plants and leaves behind tiny hair-like follicles. This is the material that you should use when using these indoors. A natural material like manila doesn’t shed nearly as much.

Durability

Being durable was a prerequisite for even making it on the list in the first place. When you call your product a “cords” then we have certain expectations for the awesomeness of your product. Durability is one of them, and fortunately, this was not hard for this list. If you live in a particularly tropical area, then weather resistance and anti-fray is probably rather high on your priorities list for your cords. Fraying especially should be one of your top concerns because it’s certainly the top concern of the people who have bought cords in the past. If you plan on using your rope outdoors, then water resistance should be really high up on your priorities list. Finally, it’s one thing for your cords to be shrunken down by heat, but a truly durable rope has heat shrink caps.

Flexibility

Regardless of what actual exercises you plan on doing with your equipment, flexibility is key. After all, if there’s anything you are entitled to expect from your limp, dry exercise noodle the world has deemed to be a special kind of cords because that sounds catchier, it’s flexibility. When using it, you should be able to unravel the thing out of the box you got it in, start using it, then roll it back up just as easily as at the start of this process without breaking a sweat. One of the most common complaints is that they’re too stiff, and indeed, at the start, you will have to break it in before you get the full experience. They’ve spent the better part of who even knows when wrapped up into a single form, that being a circle, while they hung on store shelves, waiting for someone to buy them. You don’t go that long in one shape, and then just go into another shape without any problems.

Available sizes

One of the biggest considerations you need to make before choosing one at all is settling on what size you want it to be. This is actually a lot more important than you’d think. For one, the obvious; if you don’t have all that much room outside and must exercise indoors, then you probably shouldn’t get the rope that lets you potentially knock down a vase from across the room. But on top of that, you need to not only consider length but width as well. The most commonly used width, and generally deemed the most useful, are 1.5-2 inches.

Cost

You’re likely used to this credo, as it applies to pretty much everything else in life, but when searching for a good one, you need to walk the balancing act of quality and cost. Don’t worry, you won’t have to worry about them absolutely breaking the bank underfoot. However, they can get pretty expensive all things considered. While most options out there on the market right now are priced rather conservatively, there are still those out there that sit squarely on the far end of the cost spectrum. If you feel that you must purchase a more expensive one, then research must be done. You’ll be spending a lot of money, after all, so do your homework and make sure that you’ll be getting your money’s worth. Does it do everything you need it to do? Does it do those things better than every other cord you’ve seen thus far? If yes to both of those questions, then the price is worth it, and you may spend.

Now, how can you do this research? Simple, through the magic of the internet! Specifically, customer reviews or even professional review articles posted on weightlifting and exercise sites. These will serve you better than pretty much any other type of research you can perform on this topic.

Finally, make sure that you aren’t paying for a name. We know that sounds obvious but bear in mind that many of the different brands that deal in this equipment use the same materials, the same designs and construction, and the same braids. So, when deciding on what you want to get, you need to get specific.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Add to your normal workout

Are you sick of the same old daily routine workout? Add the use of battle ropes a few times a week to spice up your workout. It can be exciting and rewarding at the same time. You will use muscles you didn't know you had.

You don't have to use them alone

There are plenty of informational videos and websites to look through to find exercises using battle ropes with a partner. How cool is that? Another exciting reason to invest in battle ropes.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I determine the width and length of my rope and which of those two to actually purchase?

a:

Ah, a classic question. Let’s begin with width. If you’re a beginner, don’t feel guilty for asking this question, as many advanced players need help with it as well. You wouldn’t think the diameter of your rope would have an impact on the type of workout you get out of these cords, but you would be wrong. If a high-intensity workout focused more on cardio interests you more, then you’ll want to go with a rope that’s around 1.5” in width. On the other end of the spectrum, if the focus of your workout is to build muscle, then you need a 2” rope. This is all due to the fact that a thicker, fatter rope that the 2” diameter provides helps you build muscle by needing to be held tighter in order to maintain a good grip.

Now let’s move on to length. The typical length is around 30-50 ft. Now, generally speaking, if you need the best of the best in terms of exercise, then you’re going to want to go with the 50-foot rope, as that length provides the most beneficial effects. But then, we get into the biggest deciding factor of what one you need to buy: space you actually have available in which to work out. Again, if you’re working out indoors, then you need to take the length of your rope very seriously. A rope workout requires a lot of flicking and throwing around this big bulky rope, so you need to make absolutely sure it isn’t going to break something. And most home gyms won’t provide you with the space needed to support a 50-foot rope. So, for indoors, it’s typically recommended you stick with a 30 or 40-foot rope. However, if you’re working outdoors, then congrats, length is no longer an issue. So long as you make sure not to work out where a large group of people typically find themselves.

q: Okay, I have my rope, and I want to start off correctly. What is the absolute, most basic exercise I can feasibly do with this?

a:

When you first start out, your trainer will likely recommend you start off with what’s known as “the wave” series. The wave series is an exercise that you’ve probably seen on commercials. The reason this is such a good exercise to start off with is that it’s so modular, able to be modified or changed in order to suit the needs of the person performing it. And thus, performing it is a great way to become more familiar with your equipment. By adjusting the different variables of time, distance, and reps, you can very easily work in your current fitness levels and current target. The wave series is extremely adaptable due to the simplicity of its performance, and thus is the perfect jumping off point.

q: So, after I get the basic stuff down pat, what other exercises can I move on to?

a:

There are quite a few different exercises you can perform after you become more acclimated to the way it moves. These are very versatile pieces of equipment, and thus a wide variety of different exercises have been made for them. Some of these include:

Snakes on the floor: This works out your shoulders. You stand with your feet just a smidge wider than shoulder width, holding the cords at your side. You then squat while stretching your arms out, parallel to the floor. The exercise comes when you move your arms towards each other, making them look like two snakes moving.

Power slam: This is where you, simply put, hold the cords as far over your head as you can, then slam them down on the floor as hard as you can while squatting simultaneously.

Shoulder circles: Finally, we have shoulder circles. You grasp the rope firmly with your palms facing the floor. You then lift your arms over your head and then move them in circles.