to top 10 table

10 Best Yoga Shoes

last updated Feb 01, 2019

One of the most ancient and popular exercise practices in the world today is Yoga. This unique exercise is all about connecting the mind to the body. Rather than running around or overexerting the body – we are talking all about the traditional stretch. This is one of the best and most rewarding exercises for the human body. However, if you want to do properly, you need the right gear.

We have spent a wealth of time scanning the lands – and we have found the absolute best yoga shoes, all which are designed to help improve your yoga performance. So, if you are trying to perform the popular, Half Moon yoga position finally, perhaps it’s time to consider a pair of high-quality, light-weight yoga shoes. Let us guide you through the best products, offering some of the best features and innovations this industry has seen.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
 1. Skechers Women's Meditation-Studio Kicks
96.8/100 our score
Comfort
99.3
Durability
98
Overall Fit
96
Style
95.8
Value
94.7
1. Skechers Women's Meditation-Studio Kicks
Why is it better?

Affordable price

Can be worn while walking

Comfortable

Super lightweight

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 1. Skechers Women's Meditation-Studio Kicks
Test Winner: 1. Skechers Women's Meditation-Studio Kicks
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Shelby Wallace:

Thanks for checking back on our buying guides, as we like to keep them fresh with new products and information. Happy hunting!

Sorting Options
Comfort Durability Overall Fit Style Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Comfort
99.3%
Durability
98%
Overall Fit
96%
Style
95.8%
Value
94.7%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$17.29
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Comfort
98%
Durability
96%
Overall Fit
95.7%
Style
95%
Value
94.3%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$23.93
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Comfort
97.6%
Durability
95%
Overall Fit
94.9%
Style
93%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$56.42
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.9
Comfort
96%
Durability
94.6%
Overall Fit
94%
Style
93%
Value
91.8%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$22.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Comfort
95.6%
Durability
94%
Overall Fit
92.3%
Style
91.9%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$14.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Comfort
95%
Durability
93%
Overall Fit
92.1%
Style
90%
Value
88.7%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$9.48
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Comfort
93.4%
Durability
91.7%
Overall Fit
90%
Style
89%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$14.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Comfort
91%
Durability
90.2%
Overall Fit
88%
Style
86%
Value
85.7%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$12.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Comfort
90.8%
Durability
89%
Overall Fit
87.3%
Style
85.5%
Value
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$13.88
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Comfort
88%
Durability
86%
Overall Fit
85.7%
Style
83.2%
Value
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.05.19)
$64.98
In Depth Review Top 10
  • 1. Skechers Women's Meditation-Studio Kicks
  • Sanuk Sling 2
  • Ahnu Flex
  • FitKicks Maritime Collective
  • L-Run
  • CIOR Yoga Flats
  • Kealux Barefoot
  • Barerun Barefoot
  • WateLves Aqua Socks
  • Vibram Furoshiki Phulkari
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. 1. Skechers Women's Meditation-Studio Kicks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
 1. Skechers Women's Meditation-Studio Kicks
Comfort
99.3
Durability
98
Overall Fit
96
Style
95.8
Value
94.7
best offer for today
$17.29
Pros:

Affordable price

Can be worn while walking

Comfortable

Super lightweight

Cons:

A touch narrow

Skechers is among the most successful shoe brands in the world. Their designs are always dynamic and stylish. Skechers Meditation-Studio Kicks are no exception. Pose and look pretty in comfort as you wear these shoes.

Read more

What They Are

The soles are a sturdy synthetic. The shoes are available in many colors and have dynamic designs that can be put with yoga leggings or other clothes. The upper is a soft, stretchable jersey fabric. An elastic lycra band keeps the foot in place without undue stress on the toes.

The sandal design has a modified casual comfort thong. An instep slide strap is interwoven with the ankle sling thong straps. The braided stretch straps provide custom comfort. A knotted front accents the fabric toe post.

What They Are Not

The yoga shoes have a list of things that they are not. They are not made from t-shirt material that forms a double-stranded wad between the toes that rubs them raw. The shoes do not make a noise as you walk. No one hears you coming as they wrap tightly around the foot.

A slight heel does not leave your flat-footed. They can be worn all day with foot or back pain. The sole is not slippery. There is no need to reposition the foot as you walk. The yoga foam conforms to the shape of the foot.

Cost and Value

Internal stretch bands provide added elasticity. The footbed is comfort cushioned with YOGA FOAM. The shoes have a lightweight midsole and a flexible traction outsole. The flat heel is a ½ inch high.

These yoga shoes are designed in a flip-flap platform that has a padded toe and wraparound fabric straps. They are cheaper than other similar brands. The yoga shoes are semi-dressy, functional, and comfortable.

2. Sanuk Sling 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
 Sanuk Sling 2
Comfort
98
Durability
96
Overall Fit
95.7
Style
95
Value
94.3
best offer for today
$23.93
Pros:

One of the biggest benefits of this brand is that it is made in the United States.

The synthetic sole bottom is durable and long-lasting.

Best stretch fabric straps are intended to withstand long days of walking.

Plenty of color choices to choose from means an individual is getting exactly what they desire.

The material is considered a durable textile fabric.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that these shoes run a bit small.

Consumers have also mentioned that they are not as good as store quality shoes.

With an urban appeal and California vibe, we are eager to share the first of yoga shoes on this list. With an innovative design that can rival some of the coolest flip flops available today. The Sanuk Women’s Yoga Sling 2 Flip Flop is designed and created for maximum comfort without sacrificing appeal and style.

Read more

Stretchy Material

What do you think makes yoga shoes ideal? With a stretchy canvas design, yoga shoes are designed for maximum mobility and ease-of-use. These particular yoga shoes are designed as flip-flops, but still offering the same stretchy material that makes them comfortable and usable for all-day wear. With that said, the bottom is made of a padded yoga-mat footbed ensuring that your feet never feel the pressure of the ground below. This feature alone allows for maximum comfort whether you are doing yoga or not.

Machine Wash

Now, this next feature is somewhat unique to this brand. Have you ever tried to wash shoes in the washer to realize that now they are completely ruined? The most exciting aspect of these shoes is that if they get dirty they can be washed in machine wash cold cycle without losing any color and maintaining maximum durability. Once washed, these yoga shoes we'll go back to looking like brand new shoes.

Cost Per Value

As the first product on this list, we wanted to offer a simple yoga shoe for maximum durability. With that said, when considering the cost to value it really depends on the size and color of the shoe. Depending on the color, and are more than 30, the shoe can easily become a bit more expensive than anticipated. However, for the price, a person should expect a long-lasting pair of yoga shoes.

3. Ahnu Flex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
 Ahnu Flex
Comfort
97.6
Durability
95
Overall Fit
94.9
Style
93
Value
92
best offer for today
$56.42
Pros:

These shoes are made from a specific technology known as yoga Flex and have gone through plenty of rigorous testing to ensure durability.

The shoe is made from a breathable technology that allows the foot to breathe while working out.

There are beautiful designs to choose from - yellow to black to blue.

The sticky rubber outsole allows for an individual to receive perfect traction and during any workout or yoga pose.

There is a specific memory foam design to ensure maximum comfort

Cons:

Numerous users have mentioned that the shoes run a bit small.

Users have mentioned that the shoes are hard to break in.

As we move towards the end of this list we had to include this genius and properly formulated yoga shoe. Unlike a couple of the other shoes on the list, this shoe is specifically designed for yoga with a redefine technology that allows for maximum breathability and flexibility for any individual. We are eager to share with you one of the best yoga shoes in the industry today, the Ahnu Women's Yoga Flex.

Read more

Memory Foam

When practicing yoga, any individual needs to ensure that they are getting the right amount of traction from their feet and shoe. The reason being is that to achieve any pose yoga is a full body experience, therefore, an individual has to be wearing the proper all body gear. With that said, one of the best benefits of this particular yoga shoe is that it includes memory foam for premier comfort. In fact, the memory foam is made from a dual density material that allows the foot to receive the perfect amount of support through every pose.

Breathable

Although yoga is a lot more relaxing than many other workouts, an individual still sweats. Therefore, it is essential for an individual to be wearing complete breathable activewear to ensure comfort for hours. This company knew exactly how important this feature was. Therefore they included a lightweight synthetic upper material with a breathable air mesh system that is also moisture wicking. This type of design allows for full day comfort where the shoe can be worn not just for yoga, but for many other activities as well.

Cost Per Value

Many of the other shoes on this list are partly yoga shoes with the ability to perform other physical activities. However, the manufacturer of these yoga shoes completely focused on producing a high-quality shoe that was specifically for yoga. With yoga Flex technology, we believe that the cost to value for these yoga shoes is well worth it. With that in mind, one would think that the yoga shoes are slightly more expensive but that is because they were specifically designed for yoga. With numerous beautiful color choices, an individual can pick the best design.

4. FitKicks Maritime Collective

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.9
 FitKicks Maritime Collective
Comfort
96
Durability
94.6
Overall Fit
94
Style
93
Value
91.8
best offer for today
$22.99
Pros:

Breathable

Flexform sole for support and movement

Fold-and-go transport

Reinforced Toe

Cons:

No sizes above XL for sizes ten and 11

Fitkicks are ideal for summer yoga exercise on the beach as you hum ‘om’ without worrying about rocks, stickers, or other objects that can harm the feet. The yoga shoes are super cute and dry quickly.

Read more

Design

The shoes are available in solid and contrasting fun, vibrant colors. They feel good and look adorable. The ergonomic design, contouring to the foot, creates a supportive and breathable second skin.

A protective and comfortable microfiber/PU reinforcing toe guard prevents fabric thinning, over-wear tearing, and dragging. Fitkicks Active Footwear is a combination of a slipper, water shoe, fold-and-go travel shoes, and take off your shoes and relax shoes.

Yoga Specific Features

They are quite comfortable for positions, such as Chaturanga Dandasana, that require toe support. The upper material is 100 percent spandex that provides the stretch needed for high impact movement. You can point and flex your foes with ease.

They are engineered to provide natural contour and freedom of movement. An elastic strap is meant for grip and fashion. Travelers love how quickly they can be slipped off at airport security. The folding aspect saves room in your luggage.

Cost and Value

For an all-around shoe, they carry a very affordable price. It is a comfortable pair of shoes that is comfortable on the wallet also. These shoes transition from yoga to gym to everyday to home. Machine or hand wash the shoes and let them air dry.

5. L-Run

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
 L-Run
Comfort
95.6
Durability
94
Overall Fit
92.3
Style
91.9
Value
90
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

These shoes are lightweight and easy to store practically anywhere.

The shoes are made from a breathable material that allows a person's feet to never get too warm.

To prevent any wear and tear the foot area is made of a protective toe guard.

Offering more than 30 different designs, this yoga shoe is considered unisex.

The shoes can be folded for on-the-go portability.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that at first, these shoes have a chemical smell.

Consumers have mentioned that the lining sometimes falls out.

On to item number 5, we included this particular well-built shoe on this list because not only women do yoga. We are eager to bring you a unisex water and yoga shoe that acts as a barefoot skin material to ensure maximum comfort and flexibility during any activity. The L-Run Unisex Water and Yoga Barefoot Skin Shoes have been highly touted by hundreds of people. Let's look at what makes them so special.

Read more

Slip-On Design

Sometimes all in individual wants to do is put on their shoes without having to worry about tying the laces. This brand makes it easy for an individual to put them on and get going with their day with an easy to wear slip on yoga shoe, which is built with a rubber outsole that provides maximum comfort during any activity. With that in mind, these shoes are designed with a form-fitting construction to make them the ideal shoe for a wide range of activities. Whether you are a dancer or yoga instructor, these shoes are highly recommended thanks to their ergonomic design.

Breathable

The last thing an individual wants while working out, doing yoga, or dancing, is to feel their feet drenched in moisture. Therefore, it is detrimental for a manufacturer to make yoga shoes as breathable as possible. Well, this brand listened to what their audience wanted by supplying and especially perfect shoe for everything from Watersports to Zumba dancing. Highly recommended because of their breathable upper design and soft lining these shoes feel like barefoot skin.

Cost to Value

What makes this manufacturer extremely unique is not only that they are supplying a unique kind of shoe for a unique kind of need, they made the shoe unisex. Now that is customer value that cannot be replaced. With that in mind, the cost of this product is reasonably priced for the amount of value that a person is receiving. With many features such as a slip on design and lightweight breathable material, these shoes are highly recommended by experts in different fields.

6. CIOR Yoga Flats

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
 CIOR Yoga Flats
Comfort
95
Durability
93
Overall Fit
92.1
Style
90
Value
88.7
best offer for today
$9.48
Pros:

These high-quality shoes are made from a canvas upper that is durable and strong.

The leather sole allows for great traction.

These shoes are lightweight and soft to the touch.

Made for long-lasting wear and tear.

A trusted brand with years of experience.

A high-quality elastic cord allows for easy mobility when dancing, flexing, or walking.

Cons:

Some users have mentioned that the padding is uncomfortable.

A couple of users have mentioned that the quality is not as good as full leather ballet or yoga shoes.

Whether you are a gymnast, ballerina, a yoga enthusiast, proper Footwear is vital to the success of any activity. With that in mind, we are eager to share with you the universal slippers that are perfect for any dancer, yoga enthusiast, gymnast. Let's talk about the CIOR Ballet Slipper for Girls that also serves as other activity comfort slippers.

Read more

Flexible

Whether you are practicing ballet or trying to achieve the perfect yoga pose any item that an individual is wearing has to be made of a breathable and flexible fabric or material. Therefore, these shoes made it on the list for having a durable canvas and leather design that is constructed of extremely high-quality and elastic material. For better form and function there is a drawstring at the top and an attached elastic strap. This is a design element that enhances the confident feel that an individual can exude while achieving any physical activity.

Color and Size

Since these shoes act as form-fitting shoes for particular activities, it is vital for an individual to measure their foot before purchasing these ballet or yoga slippers. However, once that is finalized, an individual can move towards picking out their favorite color. There is an assortment of different color options ranging from white to black to red, so an individual can express himself with the perfect pair of activity slippers.

Cost Per Value

Ballet or yoga both offer a unique design, unlike any other shoe. They are universally known for the best comfort shoes for gymnasts or dancers. However, they add value to all different sorts of industries and people. With that said, the cost to value is determined by the durability and comfort of these shoes. With plenty of positive reviews, we can say that the value surpasses the cost, which is reasonably low considering the intention behind these shoes and the brand that manufactured them.

7. Kealux Barefoot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
 Kealux Barefoot
Comfort
93.4
Durability
91.7
Overall Fit
90
Style
89
Value
88
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

A comfort form-fitting shoe that is easy to wear.

Plenty of design options for both men and women allowing individuals to express themselves through active wear.

The stretchy upper material allows for maximum breathability.

The quick dry properties of the shoe mean that your feet will never be soaking wet or extremely sweaty.

Hugs your feet tightly to ensure maximum protection.

The rubber soles act as a cushion between your feet and the ground.

Cons:

A couple of users have mentioned that the shoe is too tight around the foot.

Users have mentioned that the shoes run big therefore pay close attention to the sizing chart.

Moving back towards unisex style yoga shoes, this manufacturer of multifunctional sneakers has designed a uniquely appealing shoe that is perfect for any activity. We are eager to share with you a unique brand that has expertly designed a shoe that is both aesthetically pleasing and extremely durable. Let's cover two notable points about the Kealux Men and Women Multifunctional Sneaker let.

Read more

Cooler Material

The last thing any individual desires is to wear sweaty or wet shoes all day. Therefore, this manufacturer has included a top quality sole with several holes on the bottom to ensure air flow. More so, if an individual's feet get wet the shoes will quickly dry, making them perfect for any water sport. However, for the yoga enthusiast, these multifunctional sneakers offer premium comfort and breathability.

Easy To Wear

Alongside construction materials, this manufacturer took into account the importance of easy entry. Therefore, the manufacturer included a pole top at the heel of the shoe so an individual can easily take offer put them on. However, the elasticity of the shoe allows them to become a comfort fit that will not fall off. This type of design makes them ideal to wear during any activity.

Cost to Value

As we have discussed, when it comes to activewear durability, functionality and comfort are of primary importance. We can say that this manufacturer has check marked all of the most important features that should be included in a proper yoga shoe design. With a form-fitting design and breathability, we believe that the price only reflects part of the value. In fact, the cost of the shoe is reasonably priced compared to the competition.

8. Barerun Barefoot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
 Barerun Barefoot
Comfort
91
Durability
90.2
Overall Fit
88
Style
86
Value
85.7
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

The beautiful colors to choose from make this an extremely appealing shoe.

Trusted brand focusing on activewear products.

The breathable design allows an individual's foot to breathe comfortably for hours on end.

Traction rubber sole means that a person will never slip.

Never take off your shoes again when switching from activities such as running to swimming.

Cons:

Certain users have mentioned on rare occasions that the fabric may sometimes get caught on something and accidentally tear.

Not that many reviews.

It seems that the Barefoot style technology is known as the go-to activity shoe. Therefore, to end this list we are eager to share with you another Barefoot style shoe that offers plenty of comfort for all sorts of activities ranging from watersports to yoga. With more than 20 styles to choose from, the Barerun Barefoot Quick Dry Water Sport and Yoga Shoe are designed for excellent comfort, durability, and long-lasting usability. Let's look at the two most notable points.

Read more

Convenience

When designing this shoe, the manufacturer focused on easy access and convenience. These shoes act as a slip-on, allowing an individual to take them off easily or put them on at a moment's notice. The stretchy and breathable fabric conforms to a person's individual foot size and hugs the foot tight without completely restraining the movement of the foot.

Construction

It is safe to say that during specific activities such as yoga an individual has minimal chances of stepping on sharp objects. However, this was a major concern for the manufacturer of this particular shoe because they wanted individuals to also enjoy the benefits of premier water shoes. Whether you are swimming or snorkeling or simply exploring a new beach, the bottom of the shoes is made from an extremely strong and durable rubber outsole to avoid the person's feet from being injured by sharp objects.

Cost to Value

As the last product on this list, we can say that the design aesthetics of these shoes surpasses the cost. Much like many of the other shoes on this list, these offer the same features in a new and urban design without an overly expensive price. We can say that these shoes are one of the best-built shoes in the industry today for an individual looking for flexibility, breathability, and comfort.
PROS

9. WateLves Aqua Socks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
 WateLves Aqua Socks
Comfort
90.8
Durability
89
Overall Fit
87.3
Style
85.5
Value
84
best offer for today
$13.88
Pros:

Comfortable

Incredible workmanship

Quick dry drainage holes

Special cushioning for safety

Cons:

Premium priced

Dedicated yoga practitioners search for quality accessories to add comfort to the time they spend doing yoga. The top priority is the shoe selection. The selection plays a vital role in foot health and balance.

Read more

Design

WateLves are designed primarily for beachside activities and yoga practitioners. These particular shoes have highly comfortable rubber soles that ensure flexibility for all movements. Special cushioning has been added for more comfort from inside. An enhanced toe guard offers toe protection.

Drainage holes assist the drying arrangement that ensures a fresh and cool environment inside. Quick dry drainage holes are a unique feature that stands out from competitors. They guarantee proper water flow from the shoe and keep the inner space moisture-free. The feet are free from infection or damage and can stay active.

Yoga and Outdoor Activity Aspects

Balance is necessary during different yoga poses. The body performs from different angles. A slip-resistant shoe is needed to prevent falls and injury. The sole is flexible and sturdy with a grip that prevents slipping.

Impressive elasticity has gained points from those who purchased the shoes. It makes the shoes smooth and comfortable. The shoes protect against injury when stepping on hard surfaces during outdoor activities. All yoga poses and tough outdoor activities can be done in complete freedom.

Cost and Value

The best design elements are the comfortable rubber soles and smooth fabric on the top. They are examples of incredible workmanship. These high-end shoes are used by many outdoor lovers and yoga enthusiasts who are quite satisfied with the remarkable performance.

The shoes are designed using high-quality material that ensures long life service under any harsh conditions. The shoes can also be used for walking or running. They are available in a variety of colors.

10. Vibram Furoshiki Phulkari

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
 Vibram Furoshiki Phulkari
Comfort
88
Durability
86
Overall Fit
85.7
Style
83.2
Value
82
best offer for today
$64.98
Pros:

The fabric or textile of these shoes allows them to be machine wash cold.

The wrapping sole material of the shoe allows you to easily slip them on.

With many colors, the statues from an individual can express themselves freely.

The hook and loop system of closure allows for a comfort fit.

The shoes make a statement because of their design quality.

A trusted brand that has produced many other unique products.

Cons:

Some users consider the look of these shoes to be weird.

Consumers have mentioned that the velcro straps do not wrap around as well as they would like.

Following with a unisex theme, we want to share one of the most stylistic and unique shoes in the industry. Considered and marketed as sneakers, these shoes are decent for both men and women and are made from a fabric perfect for at-home exercise like yoga. Let's talk about the Vibram Men's and Women's Furoshiki Phulkari Sneaker.

Read more

Design

Now as we said in the introduction, this may be the most interesting looking shoe on this list. With that said, there is always an audience that desires unique aesthetic design alongside measurable functionality. This is exactly what these shoes offer. The manufacturer has created a unique design where the outsole wraps around your foot because it is made from a top-of-the-line breathable stretch fabric.

Plenty of Color Options

Other than being extremely stretchy and durable, these shoes offer the same qualities from top-of-the-line yoga shoes. With that said, there are over 10 different styles and color options to choose from. Whether your favorite color is red or white, you can look unique and express yourself individually when wearing these shoes.

Cost to Value

When taking the cost to value into consideration for yoga shoes looking at practicality and function may be the most important aspect. However, at times these aspects are at the cost of aesthetics. This is where this brand has succeeded! The value of the shoes is evident thanks to the well-constructed and stretchy fabric. However, it is the unique design that truly turns heads. These yoga shoes are considered more on the expensive end of the stick, but for the pleasing style alone, they are worth your consideration.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Criteria Used to Evaluate Yoga Shoes

After spending countless hours looking and scanning the market for the best yoga shoes – we realized that it could be quite challenging for consumers to figure out what are the best shoes for their needs. You might be wondering, are there that many yoga shoes from which to pick?

There are many different products, all claiming their right to be the best in the industry. However, this is not the case. Now, we understand the importance of having a pair of high-quality yoga shoes.

We have been in the position, performing yoga stretches, finding our feet slipping, making it hard to land a pose correctly. In other words, these innovative products could mean the difference between accomplishing your next pose, whether that’s downward dog, tabletop position, or the serpents pose.

So, in today’s article, we truly wanted to help interested yoga gurus find the best shoes to match their needs. Our goal was to provide a wealth of information about each shoe, including a few tips and tricks, making it easy to highlight the best product.

We took the time to break down each product based on its materials, quality of build, durability, and even their cost-to-value. So, if you are looking to finally land the warrior pose with confidence or the infamous tree-top pose – your yoga journey begins here, with us!

Let us know, what yoga shoe matches your style and flow!

As we have discussed in our article, there are a vast amount of yoga shoes for consumers, like yourself, from which to pick. In this, after extensive research, we were able to draw some strong conclusions. For one, it appears that, in this industry, it is very simple for a manufacturer to call their shoe a “yoga shoe.” In other words, the terminology is loosely-used, making it very difficult for a consumer to find a true yoga shoe.

Have you ever purchased a pair of shoes that was mentioned it was great for yoga; however, after trying to do a few stretches, you realize that it’s not possible? In this, we created this guide to help you recognize and learn what the best, true yoga shoes are.

Now, before we were able to announce our list of the best ten yoga shoes – we needed to have some measurement for what qualified as the best. Makes sense right? So, what we did was create a list of criteria, standards, and requirements that each shoe would be reviewed on.

If a shoe did not match or excel our standards – it was removed from the competition. In doing this, we were able to highlight the very best of products, and some of the very worst products. Now, if you are interested in learning how we were able to select the best products – the following is an explanation of our criteria.

Materials

When it comes to picking out the best yoga shoes – we knew that one of the most critical aspects that must be taken into consideration is the materials used in constructing the shoe. Understanding the type of material that a company utilizes in their shoe could speak volumes about their dedication to quality and their target audience.

With that being said, as we looked at each yoga shoe, we scanned for a list of all the materials used in each shoe. While we expected each shoe to be made from the best, most durable, and highly-breathable materials – that was not the case.

It’s critical that consumers look at the material of the product – otherwise, they may end up with a faulty shoe. What we can say about our list is that every single product is made from the most durable and stretchiest materials, making them optimal choices for comfortable yoga exercises.

Sole Technology

When it comes to purchasing any shoe, there is something that consumers need to look out for sole technology. If you did not know, a shoe comes built with a few different types of soles:

Outsole: This typically refers to the exterior, bottom part of the shoe. This material tends to be the strongest and most durable part of the shoe, built with traction-like features.
Midsole: The midsole is the part of the shoe where the support for a walker, runner, or yoga enthusiast resides.
Insole: This is the part of the shoe that provides for extra stability when using the shoe. Typically, running shoes tend to place heavy value on their insole.
Now that you are well-versed in the different types of soles – we were interested in learning about the different type of sole technology, and innovations companies were using when making yoga shoes. In our opinion, this was one of the easiest ways to eliminate a true yoga shoe company from a wanna-be company.

Ease of Use

When it comes to making different types of specialty shoes, manufacturers have made great shoes; however, they involved complicated lacing, making the shoes unappealing. We live in a culture where we like things to be easy.

Think about – if you had the choice between something easy to do or hard to do – what would you pick? With that being said, what we noticed about the yoga shoe industry was many different types of shoes were made with ease-of-use in mind, also known as slip-on designs.

While this did not bare a lot of weight – it was something we took into consideration when looking at each shoe. The last thing we wanted to put on this list was a complicated yoga shoe that required a lesson to lace it up.

Breathability

We all know that yoga can be an intense exercise. As much as it is relaxing and peaceful, if you are using yoga as a physical exercise, you might find yourself sweating, especially if you do humid or hot yoga. With that being said, we wanted to make sure that, when picking out any yoga shoe, it was built with ventilation and breathability in mind.

The last thing that any yoga practitioner will want is a sweaty, moisture-filled, and smelly shoe. So, as we evaluated each product, we kept a keen eye out for products that came with highly innovative material designs to promote maximum breathability.

Comfortability

Shoes are meant to make human beings more comfortable when they are walking. This is a natural component of any shoe, whether yoga or not. With that being said, when we were creating our list of yoga shoes, we wanted to make sure that each shoe felt like a seamless inclusion into the exercise. We wanted to find lightweight products that felt like air to your feet.

In other words, when wearing a pair of yoga shoes, we wanted to pick products that made it feel as if an individual was walking on a cloud or air. So, when looking at each product, we carefully looked at previous customer reviews to see what people were saying about comfortability. We always verified any claims that the company said regarding their padding or foam insoles to make sure that it was true.

Durability

Another crucial aspect that we took into consideration when evaluating each yoga shoe was how durable the materials and the physical product was. Can you imagine purchasing a yoga shoe that you thought looked stunning and offered great value but, the moment it came in, and you tried it on, it ripped? Poor quality has happened to thousands of customers.

After reading a few horror stories – it became our goal to make sure that each product that made our list was tried and practiced for durability. We took the time to look at how each product was designed carefully.

The process included looking at pictures, reading the manufacturer’s description of the product, and even looking at what previous customers were saying in their reviews about their positive and negative experiences. In this, what you will find in today’s guide is that each product offers the very best of durability and can last for many extensive yoga exercises.

Design and Appeal

While there are many different features and value-based components of evaluating yoga shoes, we can’t forget about the design and appeal of a shoe. In truth, this is a critical component that consumers care about.

Let’s be honest – if you had the choice between a bulky yoga shoe that came with minimal designs and one that was sleek, fashionable, and offered in many different colors – what would you pick? The truth is – designs sell! With this in mind, when we were creating our list – we made it our intention to highlight the best yoga shoes that were also stylish and fashionable.

To our surprise, these manufacturers made our research easy. As we began to figure out what the best brands on the market were – these companies were not only the best because of their value and features, but their designs and appeal were notable.

The Cost to Value Ratio

In our opinion, one of the most important aspects that all consumers should take into consideration when evaluating any product is something known as the cost to value ratio. The ratio is the best way for us, as responsible consumers, to find out what a company is offering us and whether or not we will receive a negative or positive ROI for our purchase.

When it comes to the yoga shoe market – the cost to value ratio is critical in highlighting the products that are yoga shoes in comparisons to those that claim to be yoga shoes. If you are interested in calculating the cost to value ratio, what you need to do is start off comparing the prices of the competition.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Overall Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Value

You should be able to track what products are the highest, lowest, and what is the median price point. From there, look at the value of each product and compare it to the rest of the competition.

Yoga Shoe Fit

If you are wondering whether or not a yoga shoe would be a good fit for you – take the time to look at what the manufacturer says about the topic. If you are not finding any information – look at previous customer reviews.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are yoga shoes good for wide feet and narrow feet?

a:

The answer to this question depends on the type of yoga shoe we are talking about. Now, in most cases, yoga shoes are more for individuals with narrow feet. However, with the rise of the industry, there has been an increase in attention towards creating more products for people with wider feet.

q: Are yoga shoes good to wear every day?

a:

Yes! Yoga shoes are great additions and comfortable enough to be worn every day. However, what we would like to say is that you should check with each shoe to make sure that the outsole is made strong enough to handle regular everyday wear and tear.

Since yoga shoes are typically made for yoga and like exercise – some manufacturers will include an outsole that is designed for occasional use. So, when looking to purchase a yoga shoe, if you want to wear it each day, look at the durability features before assuming you can wear it each day. What we can say about our list today is many of these products can be adapted for multiple uses.

q: Will yoga shoes do well in the water?

a:

Most specifically formulated yoga shoes will NOT fare well in the water. However, what manufacturers have realized that consumers wanted a pair of shoes that they could use in-and-out of the water, perform yoga, and a wealth of other daily activities. If you look at our list today, there are a couple of products that are not specifically formulated yoga shoes; however, they can be adapted for yoga use.

These shoes are built with waterproof and water-resistant features. So, if you are looking for a pair of shoes that you can see in the water and at yoga class – you need to look for products, like those featured on this list, that comes with both water and yoga properties.

q: How do you clean yoga shoes?

a:

Since yoga shoes are made from unique materials, it’s essential that you are aware of how to properly clean these shoes. If you are planning on washing them like a standard shirt with fabric softeners and detergents, you might find yourself accelerating the wear and tear of the shoes.

When it comes to these products, the rule of thumb tends to be less is more, especially when trying to remove any odors or scents from your shoes. If you want to create a more DIY technique for cleaning your yoga shoes – all you need to know is the type of material the shoe is made.

From there – take the time to research how to clean that material. Now, if you are interested in learning how to clean a specific brand of shoes properly, it’s suggested that you read the label on the tag on the inside of the shoe – or the company’s website. If you cannot find any information regarding how to clean, you can contact the manufacturer directly by email or phone – or check with previous customers who talk about this in their review.

q: Do yoga shoes come with any warranty or guarantee?

a:

This is a great question that all consumers should ask before making any major purchase. In truth, we did not focus a wealth of attention on warranties or guarantees for this article. Not because we did not want to; however, there were no companies that mentioned any major regarding either of these two assurances.

However, this does not mean that any of the companies do not have any. It’s highly suggested that, any consumers that are interested in learning whether or not a company offers a warranty or guarantee visit the brand’s website and look at their return policy.