to top 10 table

Best Snow Cone Machines Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 27, 2019

A man named Samuel Bert is responsible for inventing the first snow cone machine in 1919. He sold his frozen treats at the Texas State Fair. The first ice block shaver was invented in 1934 in New Orleans. Snow cones were popular treats at the movie theatre back in the day and were often associated with the upper class who could afford the luxury of a day out at the cinema. Fast forward to the future, snow cones are sweet, frozen treats that can be enjoyed by everyone, not just the upper class. The best part is, modern technology has made it possible to enjoy these popular frozen treats without even leaving your home. Snow cone machines are affordable, easy to use and a great way to enjoy your favorite treat at home, saving some hard earned money. Here are the top snow cone machines on the market!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 190 hrs of research

icon
Nostalgia SCM502
99.4/100 our score
Capacity
99
Features
100
Size
99
Value
100
Ease of Use
99
Nostalgia SCM502
Why is it better?

Retro styling looks good on display

Shelf holds two cones

Comes with scoop & reusable plastic cones

Stainless steel cutting blades

Enough ice for 20 cones at once

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Nostalgia SCM502
Test Winner: Nostalgia SCM502
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
11
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
8k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
190
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Capacity Features Size Value Ease of Use By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Capacity
99 %
Features
100 %
Size
99 %
Value
100 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$32.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Capacity
98 %
Features
98 %
Size
99 %
Value
99 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$199.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Capacity
98 %
Features
97 %
Size
97 %
Value
98 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$34.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Capacity
98 %
Features
96 %
Size
96 %
Value
97 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$51.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Capacity
95 %
Features
95 %
Size
96 %
Value
96 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$443.84
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Capacity
94 %
Features
96 %
Size
95 %
Value
95 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$135.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Capacity
93 %
Features
93 %
Size
94 %
Value
91 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$89.98
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Capacity
90 %
Features
89 %
Size
89 %
Value
89 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$23.98
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Capacity
89 %
Features
87 %
Size
89 %
Value
88 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$51.04
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Capacity
87 %
Features
87 %
Size
86 %
Value
86 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.06.19)
Amazon Link
$245.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Nostalgia SCM502 Nostalgia SCM502
  • Little Snowie 2 Little Snowie 2
  •  Hawaiian Shaved Ice S700 Hawaiian Shaved Ice S700
  • VIVOHOME VIVOHOME
  • Paragon Blast Paragon Blast
  • Costzon 320RMP Costzon 320RMP
  • Nostalgia SCC399 Nostalgia SCC399
  • Disney DFR-613 Olaf Disney DFR-613 Olaf
  • Cuisinart SCM-10 Cuisinart SCM-10
  • Costzon Costzon
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Snow Cone Machines

1. Nostalgia SCM502

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Nostalgia SCM502
Amazon Link
Capacity
99
Features
100
Size
99
Value
100
Ease of Use
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.99
Pros:

Retro styling looks good on display

Shelf holds two cones

Comes with scoop & reusable plastic cones

Stainless steel cutting blades

Enough ice for 20 cones at once

Cons:

Not for industrial use

The number one pick on our list is the Nostalgia SCM502 Vintage Snow Cone Maker. The Nostalgia company started out making carnival treats such as popcorn and cotton candy and has since expanded its line to include a wide range of family favorites. This mid-range model has a ton of great features that catapulted it into the number one spot. Plus, the retro styling will look great on display in your kitchen or party room.

Read more

Up To 20 Cones
We love that the Nostalgia SCM502 can hold enough ice in the reservoir to make up to 20 cones at a time! This is perfect for family functions, birthday parties, BBQs or anytime there is a large crowd that wants to enjoy some frozen treats. The cutting blades on the Nostalgia SCM502 are made from stainless steel, which is perfect for creating fluffy ice in no time. One reviewer even stated that this machine works so well, she has rented it out to friends and family having parties! Another reviewer stated his son was able to make snow cones for 60 kids, in under 20 minutes!

Comes with Reusable Cones & Scoop
Another great thing about this product is that it comes with two reusable cones and a plastic scoop, for preparing your treats. Plastic cones are great for enjoying treats at home, you will never need to worry about running out of paper ones since these can easily be washed.. It is also great for the environment to reduce the amount of single-use waste that we send to the landfill. Bonus points for the stands on the bottom of the cones, which allow them to stay in an upright position, hands-free. The Nostalgia Company also makes a whole range of syrups, cones, and straws.

Cost and Value
We love the price on this product just as much as we love enjoying carnival treats at home! The Nostalgia SCM502 won’t break the bank with its very reasonable price tag. Plus there are a ton of features that add even more value. The built-in shelve has enough space to hold two cones, giving you both hands free for preparing. Two reusable plastic cones and an ice scoop are also included. The retro styling of this unit will look great on display, so you won’t need to worry about finding a place in your cupboard to store it. With enough capacity to make 20 cones at once, this machine is capable of dishing out treats for everyone at your party. You can’t go wrong with the price, quality and output that this product offers

2. Little Snowie 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Little Snowie 2
Amazon Link
Capacity
98
Features
98
Size
99
Value
99
Ease of Use
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.99
Pros:

Shaved ice in 3 seconds

Uses regular ice cubes

Comes with 6 sample-size syrups

Small, compact, lightweight design

One year warranty

Cons:

High price tag

No ice reservoir

In the number two spot we have the Little Snowie 2. This machine offers an impressive amount of ice shaving ability! In fact, it is the fastest at home ice-shaver on the market! The compact design won’t take up a lot of space, and the machine is also lightweight, perfect for taking with you to parties and events. If you are looking to make some serious frozen treats, in about as much time as it takes you to blink, you should definitely check out the Little Snowie 2.

Read more

Ready In 3 Seconds
As we said above, the Little Snowie 2 is the fastest at-home ice shaver in the world. It makes perfect, fluffy snow in 3 seconds! This is great for enjoying treats in the blink of an eye, and perfect for entertaining! We love that this product uses regular ice cubes. This saves you time and hassle from fussing with ice molds, and also saves valuable space in your freezer as well. Plus you will never be disappointed that you can’t enjoy a frozen treat, because someone used all the custom ice cubes and forgot to refill the molds.

Space-Saving Design
For such an impressive and powerful machine, the Little Snowie 2 takes up virtually no space. The compact size will fit on any countertop and can also be easily stored in the cupboard if you do not want to leave it on display. For city people living in condos or those with tiny kitchens, small appliances are a must. The other great thing about the Little Snowie 2’s petite stature is that it is easy to transport. How about bringing some tasty snow cones for dessert at you next potluck or family BBQ.

Cost and Value
The Little Snowie 2 is definitely one of the most costly machines to make our list. There are a load of reasons why this machine is worth the price. First, you can make all sorts of great tasty frozen treats with shaved ice, not just snow cones. Think margaritas, bellinis and boozy vodka slushies! The professional grade motor as 301 hardened steel cutting blades. This machine pumps out perfectly fluffy snow in just 3 seconds, basically a blink of an eye. Adding even more value to this item is the 6 sample-size bottles of syrup that are included with your purchase, so you can enjoy frozen treats as soon as your machine arrives. Bonus points for the one year warranty. If you are a frozen treat connoisseur who wants to whip up some delicious concoctions at home in the blink of an eye, you will want to check out the Little Snowie 2.

3. Hawaiian Shaved Ice S700

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
 Hawaiian Shaved Ice S700
Amazon Link
Capacity
98
Features
97
Size
97
Value
98
Ease of Use
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.95
Pros:

Countertop design is compact

Disassembles for easy storage

Kid-safe design

Great for entertaining

Cons:

Not for commercial use

Rounding out the top three products on our list we have an impressive machine from Hawaiian Shaved Ice. This countertop model is great for preparing snow cones for the kids but you can also wow your adult friends as well with frozen favorites like daiquiris, pina coladas and margaritas. The price of this product is super affordable as well so everyone can enjoy their favorites without breaking the bank.

Read more

Kid-Safe Design
One feature that the S700 offers is a kid-safe design. The shaving blades will not operate without the lid securely in place, preventing any wayward fingers from accidentally getting caught in the mix. The unit is made from white plastic, which will look great in your kitchen or even outside in the gazebo or BBQ pit. This unit also disassembles, taking up less space if you want to store it in a cupboard.

Multi-Tasking
Investing in a shaved ice machine is a great idea for families or people who like to entertain. Kids love frozen treats in the summer and all the children in the neighbourhood will want to come to your house when you can make delicious snow cones from home. Shaved ice is also great for making frozen drinks as well. Entertaining in the summer will be a breeze when you can offer your guests pina coladas, margaritas, vodka slushies and bellinis!

Cost and Value
The price of this product is very affordable and it is great to have on hand, so you can enjoy your favorite frozen treats whenever you get a craving without having to leave your home. The design of the S700 is kid-safe, so this is a great pick for families with small children. The white countertop design is compact and it also disassembles for easy storage in a cupboard. This is great option to check-out for people with pools, cottages, summer cabins or those who simply love backyard entertaining in the summer months!

4. VIVOHOME

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
VIVOHOME
Amazon Link
Capacity
98
Features
96
Size
96
Value
97
Ease of Use
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$51.99
Pros:

Stainless steel is rust resistant and strong

Can handle 143 pounds of ice an hour

Three color options to choose from

Suitable for commercial or home use

Safety-features prevent accidents

Cons:

Takes up more space than other units

Next up on the list we have the VIVOHOME Electric Ice Crusher. This stainless, industrial quality machine offers an impressive amount of crushing power. It is powerful enough for commercial use, yet compact and stylish enough that it will not look out of place in your home kitchen. If you want to crush ice quick, fast and in a hurry then this machine from VIVOHOME is one you want to look at.

Read more

Food-Grade Stainless Steel
The VIVOHOME is manufactured from food-grade stainless steel. Unlike other models which are made from plastic except for the blades, the VIVOHOME features a stainless steel hopper, blades as well a bowl for catching the ice. Steel is stronger than plastic which allows this machine to crush ice quicker, and will also make the product more durable and long-lasting. The VIVOHOME is able to shave 143 pounds of ice an hour, enough to meet even a large demand. Stainless steel is also rust-resistant and hygienic.

Safety Features
It takes very sharp, powerful blades to crush ice into snow and these could easily do some serious damage to your fingers and hands if they were to get caught in the blades. The VIVOHOME is equipped with a sensor that tells the blades when the hopper is open. The power will automatically cut off when you open the hopper to add more ice, so you never need to worry about accidents. The power switch on this unit is water resistant to prevent the risk of electric shock when working with liquids around electronics.

Cost and Value
The VIVOHOME is a great option to consider if you want a little more power than a standard at-home unit offers but aren’t looking to invest the money that a fully commercial unit costs. The output of the VIVOHOME, 144 pounds per hour, is quite impressive and comparable to commercial units which cost much more. The stainless steel construction is rust resistant and will last longer than plastic. Bonus points for the safety features that will prevent any accidents involving hands or fingers. This machine offers quality, durability and enough crushing power for commercial use while still being quiet and compact enough for at home as well. It is the perfect option for people looking to invest a little more money to get the additional power that this machine provides.

5. Paragon Blast

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Paragon Blast
Amazon Link
Capacity
95
Features
95
Size
96
Value
96
Ease of Use
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$443.84
Pros:

Can handle 500 pounds of ice an hour

Reservoir holds shaved ice

Made in USA

One year warranty

⅓ horse power motor

Cons:

Hefty price-tag

Bulky design

The next contender on our list is the Paragon Blast. This machine is heavy duty, capable of blasting through pounds of ice turn it into light and fluffy snow in seconds, enough to keep up with the heavy demands of commercial food service. If you need the best-selling professional ice shaver available on the market then look no further than the Paragon Blast.

Read more

Professional-Grade
The Paragon Blast has been designed and manufactured to stand up to the rigorous demands of commercial food service. This unit is fully contrustructed from aluminum and steel, which is much stronger than plastic to handle repetitive, heavy use. There is a large reservoir that holds the snow after it has been shaved, making it easy to prepare cones and other treats. The motor of the Paragon Blast is ⅓ horsepower and has an astonishing 792 watts of power.

Best-Selling Model
Paragon is a leading supplier of concession equipment and supplies. The Blast machine is powerful and reliable enough to meet the demands of the professional concessionaire. The motor is capable of crushing up to 500 pounds of ice an hour, the most of any machine on our list! This can meet even the highest demand during the hot summer months. There is also the option to purchase to compatible Arctic Blast Cart, making this machine mobile perfect for serving up frozen treats at carnivals, festivals, BBQ’s and fairs.

Cost and Value
The Paragon Blast comes with a hefty price-tag. It has the highest output of snow of any machine that made our list, an impressive 500 pounds an hour. The hopper and and horn are made out of aluminum and the rest of the machine is made from steel, both of which will be long lasting and durable. Paragon offers a one year warranty on their products as well as US based customer service. We give bonus points for this machine being manufactured in the USA. If you are looking for an ice crusher that can meet commercial demands, then this is the only machine you want to look at!

6. Costzon 320RMP

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Costzon 320RMP
Amazon Link
Capacity
94
Features
96
Size
95
Value
95
Ease of Use
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$135.99
Pros:

Can handle 265 pounds per hour

Drip tray and drainage tube for clean workspace

Countertop design

Texture adjustability dial

Cons:

Higher price tag

Larger than other models

Our next selection is the Costzon Electric Ice Shaver. This is a countertop unit that offers more power for a higher output of snow than some of the entry-level models we have seen thus far. Check out the Costcon to enjoy your favorite frozen treats year round in the comfort of your home!

Read more

265 Pounds Per Hour
The Costzon can handle an impressive 265 pounds of ice per hour, making it suitable for light commercial use. The compact white design will easily fit on a countertop if you purchased this machine for home use instead. The Costzon is a great option to consider for at-home entertaining. It is powerful enough to meet the demands for even larger parties, yet not as large and cumbersome or expensive as other, larger commercial units. This would also be a great pick for churches, school groups and fundraising committees. It is more affordable than other units with a comparable output.

Adjustable Ice Texture
One feature of the Costzon unit we haven’t seen yet is the ability to change the texture of the ice. There is a blade adjuster which allows you to make the snow either more fine or coarse, based on your needs. Coarse shaved is perfect for creating frozen buffets displays for things like seafood, meats, fruit and vegetables or anything that needs to be kept chilled. Another way you can utilize your Costzon machine.

Cost and Value
The Costzon 320RMP is a mid-range unit. It offers an impressive amount of crushing power as well as a number of bonus features that we love. The lid has a sensor that will automatically stop the blades from operating when it is open to prevent any accidents. There is a dial which allows you to adjust the coarseness of the shaved ice, which is a feature we haven’t seen on any units thus far. Bonus points for the drip tray and drainage tube which will keep you area dry and clean for easy mess-free preparation of your favorite treats. We suggest checking out the CostzonRMP if you need a budget-friendly way to prepare frozen treats for small to medium sized crowds.

7. Nostalgia SCC399

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Nostalgia SCC399
Amazon Link
Capacity
93
Features
93
Size
94
Value
91
Ease of Use
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.98
Pros:

Stand-alone cart design

Built-in hidden storage area

Capable of producing snow for 48 cones

Tempered glass windows and doors

Tray holds two cones for hands-free preparation

Cons:

Not easy to store

Not for commercial use

Our next product that made the cut is the Nostalgia SCC399. This product features a unique cart design that will look great on display in your games or party room. This machine also offers considerable crushing power for the price.

Read more

Cart Design
We love that the Nostalgia SCC399 is a retro concession cart design. The cart is 48 inches tall, so you can use this unit on its own without worrying about having space on the counter or table. We also love that the cart design will look on display while you aren’t using it, adding a fun, vintage flair to your home. It is a decorative as it is functional. There is a shelf that holds two cones, for easy hands-free preparation as well as a concealed storage area underneath the machine to hold all your supplies.

Uses Standard Ice Cubes
The SCC399 uses standard ice cubes, so you never need to worry about remembering to refill custom ice molds. It is capable of producing enough snow for approximately 48 cones. This is perfect for entertaining and parties. One reviewer stated that her children’s friends couldn’t stop talking about the snow cone machine for weeks after the birthday party. Whoever you are entertaining, the Nostalgia SCC399 will make your party a hit.

Cost and Value
This unit offers a lot of value for a fair price. We like the sturdy cart design which features two 13” rubber wheels and a pull handle for easy maneuverability. The carts vintage styling will look as great on display as it will when in use for parties and events. Adding even more value is the built-in storage area and tray which holds two cones. Bonus points for the tempered glass windows and door on the ice reservoir. If you are looking for a machine that can also add a decorative element to your home, you should consider the Nostalgia SCC339.

8. Disney DFR-613 Olaf

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Disney DFR-613 Olaf
Amazon Link
Capacity
90
Features
89
Size
89
Value
89
Ease of Use
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.98
Pros:

Shaped like Olaf from the Disney movie Frozen

One-touch design is easy to operate

Great for kids

Budget-friendly

Holder keeps cones in place while shaving ice

Cons:

Requires ice molds for fine shaved ice

Not suitable for heavy use

Next we want to take a look at a budget-friendly pick, perfect for families with kids. This fun machine is designed to look like Olaf, the lovable Disney character from family favorite movie Frozen. This is a great way to provide frosty treats for your kids or grandkids in the summer without breaking the bank.

Read more

Budget-Friendly
We love the great price of the Disney DFR-613. Many households are filled with costly kitchen appliances that rarely get used. Unless you plan on enjoying snow cones every weekend during the summer, you may want to spend a little less on this ‘luxury item’ and save you cash to invest in more frequently used appliances. This product offers dependable ice-crushing power at a bargain price-tag. While it won’t be capable of churning out pounds of fluffy snow to satiate the needs of a famished crowd, it will be suitable for enjoying the occasional frozen treat without leaving you home.

Disney Design
Kids will love the design of this unit which is in the shape of Olaf, the lovable snowman for the hit Disney movie Frozen. The kid-friendly design features an easy one-touch button. Making snow cones is a great way to bond as a family over the summer months and get children excited about working in the kitchen.

Cost and Value
The Disney DFR-613 is super budget-friendly. Reviewers loved saving $5 a piece on shaved ice treats bought off the ice cream truck. This is perfect for people with grandchildren, nieces and nephews or those who entertain their friends children at the pool or cottage. It is a really affordable way to offer frozen treats that kids and adults alike are sure to enjoy.

9. Cuisinart SCM-10

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Cuisinart SCM-10
Amazon Link
Capacity
89
Features
87
Size
89
Value
88
Ease of Use
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$51.04
Pros:

Flip-down tray holds two cones

Comes with paper and plastic cones

Made with BPA-free plastic

Makes 4-5 cones a minute

Cons:

Not for heavy commercial use

Takes up more counter space than some designs

The next product we want to consider is made by Cuisinart, the company that developed the food processor back in 1971. Since then, Cuisinart has been a leader in the household appliance market. The name is synonymous with dependable, quality products and this ice shaver is no exception.

Read more

4-5 Cones a Minute
This mid-range machine is capable of producing ice for 4-5 cones a minute. This is quick enough to keep up with demand for small parties, especially since there is a handy reservoir that stores the ice until you are ready to begin preparing your treats. One reviewer raved that they took this machine with them to all the birthday parties they were invited too and it has always been a hit! Another reviewer stated they had used the Cuisinart daily for over 6 months and the motor was still running perfectly, worth the extra investment of money from buying an entry-level machine.

BPA Free Parts
We love that the Cuisinart machine uses only BPA-free plastic in all the parts which come into contact with food. There is a ton of controversy surrounding the cancer-causing effects of BPA is our plastic, so you can feel good about buying this machine and using it to make treats for your family.

Cost and Value
The Cuisinart machine is in the middle of the price range. It is more costly than entry-level machines, but offers more features as well. We love the fold-down tray which can hold two cones for easy hands-free preparation. The machine uses regular ice cubes so you don’t need to worry about fussing with ice molds. Bonus points for the reusable plastic and disposable paper cones that come with the machine.

10. Costzon

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Costzon
Amazon Link
Capacity
87
Features
87
Size
86
Value
86
Ease of Use
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$245.99
Pros:

Can handle 440 pounds of ice an hour

Stainless steel and acrylic design is easy to clean and rust-resistant

Dual-blades for high efficiency output

Suitable for commercial use

Cons:

High price tag

Takes up more space than other units

Rounding out the top ten list, we have another unit from Costzon. This is a larger and more powerful unit than the one we saw earlier, more suitable to heavy commercial use. If you need enough power to crush ice for large crowds than you can’t go wrong with the Costzon.

Read more

Affordable Professional Grade
This professional grade machine is capable of delivering 440 pounds of crushed ice an hour. This is meet the needs of even the most demanding crowds. The body of this unit is made from 201 stainless steel and the crushing blades are hardened 430 stainless steel for unparalleled crushing power. The Costzon features not just one, but dual crushing blades to give you superior crushing power.

Acrylic Reservoir Keeps Snow Cold
Like the other commercial grade units we saw on this list, the Costzon features an acrylic reservoir to keep the snow cold and ready for use. This is easy to clean and will also keep your snow colder for longer than models that use bowls to collect.

Cost and Value
Purchasing commercial-grade appliances will always be more expensive than products designed for at-home use. The Costzon unit offers affordable commercial grade power that is suitable for use at bars, restaurants, concession stands, carnivals and fairs. The stainless steel and acrylic construction is rust-resistant as well as easy to keep clean. We give bonus points for the dual-blade design in this model, which is capable of handling 440 pounds of ice an hour.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Capacity

Capacity was one of the top criteria we used in making our evaluation and compiling the top-ten list. Depending on what you plan to use the machine for, your desired output of snow will vary. For casual at home use, a less costly entry-level machine will suffice. For people who entertain often or want to enjoy frozen treats at home on the regular, investing a little more money into a more powerful machine would make sense. This will give you the ability to crush enough ice at once to serve up treats for everyone. Commercial grade units can handle large volumes of ice at once, providing you with enough snow to meet the demands of commercial food service needs. The more powerful the motor in your machine, the higher its output of snow will be and as well as the pricetag.

Features

There a varierty of different features offered on these machines. Some of our favorites include kid-safe sensors which automatically cut out the blades when the hopper lid has been opened, preventing any accidents involving fingers and blades. Other great features are shelves which can hold your cones leaving you with two hands for preparation or built-in storage spaces to keep all your supplies on hand.

Size

When purchasing kitchen appliances size is always a consideration. If you are lucky enough to have a large kitchen with ample storage space, this may be less of a concern for you. However, for those people who live in condos or are short on storage, compact appliances are a must. The size of your unit will especially be a concern if you plan to display it on the countertop.

Value

Lets face it, an ice shaver is a great item to have on hand however it won't get as much use as other appliances such as toasters or blenders might. For this reason, you may not want to invest as much money into an item that is only used occasionally. We have included a wide range of items to suit every budget, from basic entry-level all the way up to professional grade. It is not necessasry to spend a fortune to get a good quality, reliable machine that will meet your needs.

Ease of Use

Another factor we considered when compiling our top-ten list was ease of use. We scrutinized reviews to find the most user-friendly machines when it comes to clean up and use. The more work a machine is to set-up and put away, the less likely you are to reach for it. All of the items we have featured are simple, easy to use and can be cleaned up in a matter of minutes.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Create Flavor Combos

Try freezing fruit juice, yogurt or almond milk into ice cubes to run through the ice shaver. This is a great way to create unique flavor combinations and create tasty treats without using syrup which may have artificial flavors and colors.

Adult-ify It

Snow cones aren't just for kids! You can use shaved ice to make all your favorite boozey blended ice drinks as well. Entertaining your guests poolside or at your next BBQ will be breeze when you can offer margaritas, pina coladas, bellinies and vodka slushies. Buy flavored syrups the same way you would for the childrens treats, but also add your favorite sprits and then give your cocktail a mix!

Other Factors to Consider

Color

If you plan to display your machine on a countertop or in a game or party room you may want to pick a unit that is visually appealing to you. While the color of your unit won't have a direct bearing on how well it shaves ice, it will affect how great it looks on display.

Drainage

Ice is made from water, and we all know what happens to ice when it melts. This can equal a big wet mess if your machine isn't equipped with proper drip trays and drainage tubes. Drainage is an important consideration in models with ice reservoirs, since you don't want the shaved snow sitting in a pile of water turning it into slush.

Style

If you plan to keep your machine out on display, why not check out one of the fun styles that made out list. We love the Nostalgia Company for creating functional products that also look great as well. There is a retro concession cart style that stands alone and doesn't require a table or countertop. Or a fun countertop design with retro styling that will take you right back to the ice cream shoppes and concessionaires of the past.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I clean my machine?

a:

Use a damp rag with a little bit of soap to wipe up any sticky areas. If your machine has a reservoir you want to make sure it is clear of ice and then dry it off inside with a dry cloth. Avoid using cleaning chemicals on any part of the machine that will come into contact with food.

q: Can I disassemble my machine to save space for storage?

a:

Some of the units we have featured can be disassembled to take up less space when stored in a cupboard or under the counter. Check the manufacturers specifications for details on individual products.

q: What is BPA?

a:

BPA stands for bisphenol A. It is a chemical found in hard plastics that can be harmful to humans with repeated exposure. Health experts recommend purchasing BPA-free plastics if they will be coming into contact with food or liquids.

q: Do the machines use standard outlets?

a:

Yes. All of the units we have featured run off of electricity powered through a standard outlet.

q: Does my machine require assembly?

a:

No. All the machines on our list come fully assembled. The most you will need to do is attach parts on machines that break down for easy storage. This can be done easily in a few seconds.