to top 10 table

The 10 Best Security Safes

last updated Feb 01, 2019

When it comes to your valuables, we fully understand why it is important to keep them safe. No individual ever knows exactly when an emergency will strike or worse, a home invasion. Therefore, it is crucial in times like today to stay safe, alert, informed, and most importantly protected.

We have compiled a list of the top 10 security safes available today. If you are an individual looking to protect your passport, cash, jewelry, or even store something as important as your legal documentation, a security safe is the best solution. The right safe is on this list for any individual and we are glad that we could not have just added our input but moved you towards a more secure way of living.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
AmazonBasics
98.5/100 our score
Size
99
Capacity
98
Protection
97
Weight
100
AmazonBasics
Why is it better?

With 1.2 Cubic feet of capacity, an individual can store jewelry, important documents, passports, and even large important books or a handgun.

The construction material ensures maximum protection and security.

The quality design includes reprogrammable digital access technology that can be overridden with the two keys that are included. Meaning, if an individual forgets their code, there are two keys available to open the safe.

The digital display easily displays the mode of the safe such as low battery, unlocked, and locked making it easy to understand.

Pry-resistant materials help secure all available in the case of emergencies such as a burglary. The pry-resistant materials include concealed door hinges, door bolts, and steel door.

2 well-constructed door bolts ensure maximum protection of all of a person’s valuables.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
AmazonBasics
Test Winner: AmazonBasics
Researched Sources
21
Researched Sources
Total Readers
17K
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
28
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
50
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Felician Gavrau:

Keeping your items safe and secure is important, especially when you have valuables and weapons. Our regular updates insures our readers that they can choose from the best products on the market today!

Sorting Options
Size Capacity Protection Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.5
Size
99%
Capacity
98%
Protection
97%
Weight
100%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$52.80
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Size
99%
Capacity
98%
Protection
97%
Weight
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$198.69
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Size
94%
Capacity
97%
Protection
98%
Weight
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$37.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Size
95%
Capacity
97%
Protection
94%
Weight
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$243.57
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Size
95%
Capacity
94%
Protection
93%
Weight
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$58.90
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Size
90%
Capacity
89%
Protection
92%
Weight
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$83.13
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.5
Size
88%
Capacity
89%
Protection
87%
Weight
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$186.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Size
86%
Capacity
87%
Protection
85%
Weight
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$159.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.5
Size
82%
Capacity
83%
Protection
84%
Weight
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
$37.48
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.5
Size
80%
Capacity
79%
Protection
82%
Weight
77%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.05.19)
In Depth Review Top 10
  • AmazonBasics
  • SentrySafe SFW123DSB
  • Paragon.24 CF
  • Viking Biometric Fingerprint
  • Pacsafe Portable Travel
  • SentrySafe
  • First Alert
  • Adir Office
  • Honeywell 6104
  • HomCom Two Shelf
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Security Safes

1. AmazonBasics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.5
AmazonBasics
Size
99
Capacity
98
Protection
97
Weight
100
best offer for today
$52.80
Pros:

With 1.2 Cubic feet of capacity, an individual can store jewelry, important documents, passports, and even large important books or a handgun.

The construction material ensures maximum protection and security.

The quality design includes reprogrammable digital access technology that can be overridden with the two keys that are included. Meaning, if an individual forgets their code, there are two keys available to open the safe.

The digital display easily displays the mode of the safe such as low battery, unlocked, and locked making it easy to understand.

Pry-resistant materials help secure all available in the case of emergencies such as a burglary. The pry-resistant materials include concealed door hinges, door bolts, and steel door.

2 well-constructed door bolts ensure maximum protection of all of a person’s valuables.

Cons:

Consumers mention that the number pad does not light up, which would be a big help.

Instructions can be confusing.     

When it comes to valuable products that are well built, well thought out and offer premium solutions, Amazon understands the importance of product design. With this in mind, we want to bring you the AmazonBasics security safe, a piece of ingenuity and design that ensures a person keeps their valuables in place, safe and secure at all times. With this in mind, if you are looking for a security safe that ensures peace of mind, this is it.

Read more

Build Quality
When it comes to a safe, no part of the safe itself can be constructed of cheap materials when ensuring the maximum protection possible of one’s identity. Safes are mostly used to protect passports, money, important valuables and other items. Therefore, it is essential for it to have the toughest material. In this case, this particular safe is made from steel construction, ensuring an individual’s peace of mind.

Carpeted Floor
What is even more desirable about this safe is that no expense was left out when designing it. In fact, since the creators understand the importance and value of a safe, they ensured the safe had a plush interior to protect against valuable items such as jewelry and other important keep.= This safe, in particular, is made from a delicate carpet material to safeguard against possible damage or scratches to an individual’s items.

Cost and Value
When we talk about cost per value, it is important to take into account the solution of an item such as a safe. The real question is, can there be a price on security? We believe that the answer is no and for the reasonably low price that this safe cost, it is worth a lot more and extremely valuable considering that it protects and safeguards a person’s most treasured items. With this in mind, we believe this is a perfect start to our list.

2. SentrySafe SFW123DSB

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
SentrySafe SFW123DSB
Size
99
Capacity
98
Protection
97
Weight
96
best offer for today
$198.69
Pros:

Has US based customer service

ETL verified against, fire, flooding, and falls

Features secondary locking system

Has four locking bolts

Cons:

Handle made of plastic

Some complaints about price

This security safe is one of the most efficient ones in its class. Made of resistant steel, it is water and fireproof, making it ideal for keeping your most important valuables and documents safe. It features a trustworthy locking system which includes a combination dial and dual key lock. So, even if someone sees the combination, the thief can’t break the key lock.

Read more

Fireproof Features

SentrySafe SFW123DSB works great for protection for documents and valuables, including CDs and memory sticks that are stored inside against fires. Constructed from steel, it’s able to offer protection for up to an hour under extremely high temperatures of up to 1700°F.

ETL Verified

This is an ETL verified product. This means that it has been tested and ensured that it can provide protection against a 15-foot fall, fire, and full protection for up to 24 hours in case of a flood.

Cost and Value

This heavy-duty safe is a little expensive but well worth its cost. You can feel safe that your items will be protected under extreme circumstances and even offers a lifetime money back guarantee.

3. Paragon.24 CF

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Paragon.24 CF
Size
94
Capacity
97
Protection
98
Weight
96
best offer for today
$37.99
Pros:

Never make multiple copies again thanks to the digital; entry that is easy to read and understand.

The program is easy to use, operate, and the safe is easy to program your ideal key number.

The construction is made of steel and offers plenty of protection.

The predrilled holes inside the safe allow for proper anchoring.

Included are two free keys in the case that an individual forgets their pin number.

10-year limited warranty aids in the case the system breaks or the keys do not function properly.

Cons:

Too small to try and fit many items.

When it comes to compact security, this may be the perfect safe for an apartment owner or an individual wanting a small compact safe they can store anywhere such as their car or garage. This compact safe gives you the benefits and quality of a well-built digital safe with the security and assurance that all your items are protected. With that in mind, let’s dive in and get to know the Paragon Lock and Safe .24 CF Drawer Safe.

Read more

Digital Entry
Nothing is more secure and more beneficial than proper technology. The digital entry mechanism aids in ensuring that your items are well-stored and locked away in a tight and secure place. The digital entry eliminates the need to have to create multiple key copies and risking that they get in the wrong hands. Which brings us to the next point!

1/8 Mounting Plate
The mounting plate of this item is made from premium quality steel that ensures a robust and quality build. This safe manufacturer understands how important it is to many people to be able to safely protect and lock their items. With that said, the steel construction is pry-proof and allows for maximum security of an individual’s wallet, valuable, and more.

Cost and Value
Keeping your items safe with this well built and durable safe is made easy thanks to the creators. In fact, the value of this safe truly shines with the easy compact size. Perfect for one individual or a person living in an apartment, this safe allows for a person to safely protect their items in a way that ensures security. With a robust and trustworthy build, this brand gains peoples trust!

4. Viking Biometric Fingerprint

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Viking Biometric Fingerprint
Size
95
Capacity
97
Protection
94
Weight
96
best offer for today
$243.57
Pros:

The safe includes a fast unlocking mechanism to ensure no second is spared in the case of an emergency.

The safe includes a two-choice operation system. Meaning, you can either lock and unlock by fingerprint or by pin code.

The technology behind this safe is considered of the most premium quality included a motorized deadbolt locking system and pry-resistant deadbolt slots.

The safe comes with a seamless laser cut and a built-in LED light in the case you need to inside of it at night.

The carpeted flooring allows for an individual to safely keep items such as jewelry and important watches inside.

The versatile size can fit practically any home office, bedroom space, or even inside a closet.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the fingerprint scanner has had glitches.

The finger print scanner at times may not “remember” all 32 fingers.     

Now, this is a security safe that ensures maximum security in one clean and simple design. We are eager to share with you a safe straight from a movie. The Viking Security Safe with Biometric Safe Fingerprint is considered one of the most high-end safes in the industry. Yes, we said fingerprint, meaning fingerprint scanner! Of course, the company itself has years of experience and a trustworthy background. However, it is their innovative designs and products that make them an appealing safe brand to consider. Let’s talk about this fingerprint based safe.

Read more

Fingerprint Scanner
Now, imagine yourself buying a product straight from a movie. This particular well-built safe includes a fingerprint scanner. Yes, as you can use your own person fingerprint to open the safe. Now, that is not all! The fingerprint memory bank can remember up to 32 fingerprints. Which means, the whole family can have their fingerprint scanned to reach access to this safe. If not, just go ahead and scan all of your fingers, you will still need two more sets of hands to fill up the memory bank!

Steel Body
What may be considered more valuable and important than the safety measures of a safe may be the construction. In fact, the construction of this safe is built with emergencies in mind. The safe is made from 20mm solid steel that includes two locking bars that move into two insertion slots in the frame of the safe. With that said, the safe also includes other special features we have included in the pros.

Cost and Value
When considering cost per value, the value of having all of your items safe and secure cannot be measured. However, when it comes to measuring build quality, we can say that this safe is easily priced as one of the most tempting and competitive safes in the industry. In fact, this safe is priced to sell. The fact alone that it has a fingerprint scanner brings the value of the safe up a couple notches, don’t you think?

5. Pacsafe Portable Travel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Pacsafe Portable Travel
Size
95
Capacity
94
Protection
93
Weight
94
best offer for today
$58.90
Pros:

This anti-theft portable safe protects all valuables while you are on the go.

Two sizes makes it easy for an individual to pack what is most valuable for him or her. The sizes include a 5L bag and 12L bag.

The poly-canvas material is weaved into the design of this particular portable safe, ensuring maximum security.

The stainless steel cable means an individual can secure the safe in a hotel room, car, or any other important place.

The 12L portable safe can fit upto a 15-inch laptop, cameras, and other important items.

The lightweight portable safe weights between 1 pound to 2 pounds, depending on the size.

Cons:

The locking system is considered somewhat of a mediocre quality.

The instructions are hard to understand.   

We have discussed some of the most valuable and trustworthy safes in the industry today. However, what if an individual is a well-versed traveler or is looking to travel but wants to keep his or her belongings safe as well? Those safes before this one cannot be travel-friendly! But, here is a brand that is. Let’s talk about the Pacsafe Portable Travel Safe, a creation of ingenious design moving the world towards a safer future.

Read more

Design
The real question is, how can there be a portable travel safe? Well, this brand thought about all the world-be scenarios when it comes to traveling with a portable safe and the most important was having a safe that could not be broken into. This safe includes a specialty material known as, eXomesh stainless steel. This material prevents thief’s from breaking into the safe with an embedded poly canvas fabric that covers the whole entire safe 360-degrees. This level of protective design ensures that a person can travel with the safe and feel secure while doing so.

Fold Flats
What is even more cool about a portable travel safe is that even when the individual is not using it, they can take it on their travels. The design of this travel safe is built for it to fold flat when it is not in use. In fact, it can be easily packed into a luggage bag and secured using a stainless-steel wire mesh.

Cost and Value
The value of having a safe at home is unprecedented. But, who knew that an individual can essentially travel with a safe as well? In fact, a travel safe adds even more security and peace of mind while traveling. Take your ipad along, important documents such as passport or ID, and ensure that no thief will ever try to steal any of your items. With this travel safe portable safe we can ensure that the value is supreme and at a reasonably low cost, no person can go wrong taking this travel safe along for their backpacking trips or cruise vacations.

6. SentrySafe

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
SentrySafe
Size
90
Capacity
89
Protection
92
Weight
93
best offer for today
$83.13
Pros:

This home safe is easy to install, use, and offers plenty of storage for small items.

The simple interior means you can easily store and find the most important items you have.

The pry-resistant door with bolt down hardware makes it difficult for any unwanted person to open it.

The safe comes with two keys.

The price is competitive and low for a compact quality safe.

The safe is DOF certified so an individual can store a handgun for safe use.

Cons:

Very small safe, cannot store a lot of items.

Users wish it came with a keypad.    

Moving back towards a more simple design, this safe is meant for compact and simple use items. In fact, the safe serves as a simple and easy to store safe that anyone can put up on a shelf. So, if you are in the market for an easy to use and compact safe that offers plenty of security in a simple design, this may be the one. Let’s talk about the SentrySafe Security Safe, a step towards a simpler security route.

Read more

The Design
A safe is essentially use to protect and keep safe an individual’s most important items. Therefore, the design of this safe from this brand includes a carpeted floor to ensure no item is ever scratched. Actually, the safe itself is perfect for jewelry items, expensive watches, and other important valuables. Most importantly, the California DOJ has certified this safe for as a handgun storage safe, making it the perfect compact safe to keep a handgun in the case of emergencies.

Security Measures
This safe, unlike the other safes on this list, does not come with a digital locking system. However, this only adds to the classic and true feel of a safe. The safe is key access only, making it more difficult for unwanted people to get into it because they cannot guess the code. The safe comes with only two keys, therefore, it is essential to keep them in an easily accessible and safe location. Other than that, the safe also includes a bolt down kit, which means an individual can attach it to the wall, etc.

Cost and Value
This safe is known as one of the best compact and easy to use safes for its cost. With that said, the safe is simple and offers plenty of security in one small package. Not necessarily really big, it is priced as a perfect compact safe. With a great construction quality and design materials throughout, we believe the value matches the cost, which is significantly low compared to many other safes on this list.

7. First Alert

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.5
First Alert
Size
88
Capacity
89
Protection
87
Weight
86
best offer for today
$186.00
Pros:

Priced competitively for people wanting a quality built safe with plenty of security measures.

0.94 cubic feet of capacity offers plenty of space for a person to store and safe electronics, passports, and even a firearm.

The pry-proof hinges ensure that the safe will still stay locked even when bolted down.

The waterproof design means that no water can get inside the safe and damage the contents inside.

The adjustable shelf allows an individual to properly store their items.

2 emergency override keys are included so a person can unlock easily and effortlessly if they forget the combination.

Cons:

If dropped the corners might get damaged.

The locking mechanism is considered difficult to use by some people.   

We have covered basic safe design elements such as well built, durable, and of course digital locking system. However, we have not covered a fire-resistant and waterproof safe up until now. It is time to talk about the First Alert Waterproof and Fire-Resistant Safe, a combination of quality materials, specially designed elements, and durable construction that makes it the most have safe to protect against virtually all elements. If you are in the lookout for a quality safe that is built like a tank, this may be it. Let’s take two important points into consideration!

Read more

Construction
Why does a person buy a safe? Well, the answer is quite simple to ensure that their most important items are kept safe in a place that not anyone can reach. Therefore, the construction of a safe is what makes it the most important aspect. This safe we can safe comes with extremely durable and pry-resistant construction. It is crafted from a durable composite that features pry-proof hinges that put a burglar using a crowbar to shame. For additional security, the safe itself includes four live-locking deadbolts in the door.

Element Resistant
To prevent burglars is not the only aspect of a safe that an individual must take into consideration and this particular brand knows that. This is why they created a safe that is fire-resistant and waterproof. In fact, the safe is so secure that it can withstand 1700 degrees Fahrenheit for almost an hour while maintaining an internal temperature of about 300 degrees Fahrenheit. This is extremely surprising construction! However, it is the fact that the safe is waterproof that is even more beneficial. The safe itself features a waterproof seal and it is designed to float, in the case of flooding.

Cost and Value
Once again, when taking cost per value into consideration when buying such an important item, it is vital to look at the construction quality. However, alone the fact that safe is fire resistant and waterproof showcases the superb construction materials used to create such a well-constructed safe. With that said, one would expect that a safe like this would cost hundreds, and it does not. The safe itself is priced reasonably so anyone wanting peace of mind and security can potentially afford it.

8. Adir Office

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Adir Office
Size
86
Capacity
87
Protection
85
Weight
84
best offer for today
$159.99
Pros:

Durable and sturdy built safe means a person can secure their belongings in a trustworthy way.

The programmable digital access system allows for a person to input their pin code and use it beyond that point. However, in the case of emergencies, it comes with two override keys.

With three choices of colors, an individual can also pick his or hers ideal size such as 1.25 cubic feet or 2.32 cubic feet.

This safe in particular is extremely easy to install with four bolts included so an individual can mount it to the wall.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the safes are bulky and really big without leaving much spacious room inside.

The electronic locking system sometimes locks for some individuals forcing them to override with the keys.  

Let’s talk about a brand that has made themselves known as a rebellious spirit company with urban objectives crating office supplies and equipment that solve real-world problems. This unique brand is now bringing us a safe that we can trust and feel secure about. The Adir Office Security Safe with digital lock is considered one of the most premier office safes known to date. This brand not only has built a quality safe but a way for people to gain peace of mind. Now, whether you are considering this safe for your office or at home, it is worth a look.

Read more

High-Quality Security
Of course, an individual buys a safe for the security purpose of it. With that said, no safe is better than a pry-resistant safe offering plenty of high-quality solutions. This safe in particular from this manufacturer offering an electronic locking system, two live door-bolts, and a pry-resistant steel door and concealed hinges. This means that no intruder is able to access the safe without a tough time ahead of them. Keeping the contents of the safe secure is this brand’s primary objective with this high-end security build.

Choice of Color
We would like to mention something that makes this brand unique. Although somewhat of a simple positive compared to other safes on this list, it is worth a notable mention. This safe in fact comes in two colors; red, white, and black. Meaning, an individual can get the style that they want that matches the area they will be placing it in. This comes in handy is a person is trying to get the safe to blend into a red wall or black clothes-filled closet.

Cost and Value
Taking cost per value into consideration is not just our concern, but this brand’s as well. In fact the cost per value for this unique item is evidently more notable than other safes in the industry. This safe can easily compete with high end safes out there, some which are on this list as well. With all of this in mind, we can say that the value of the safe is evident in the construction, design, and locking system.

9. Honeywell 6104

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.5
Honeywell 6104
Size
82
Capacity
83
Protection
84
Weight
81
best offer for today
$37.48
Pros:

The two-key entry system is easy to use and works well.

The outside shell protects against fires and it is designed with fire resistant insulation.

The foam padded floor ensures no items brakes in the case a person drops it.

The easy to carry handle means you can get up and take it with you wherever you go.

The double steel wall adds to the protective benefits of this safe.

The safe is durable and well-built from a very trustworthy company.

Cons:

Users mention that it feels more like a box you can lock than anything else.           

Users have mentioned that they have been able to open it with a screwdriver.

Following the last security safe, it’s time to talk about another even more simple safe that offers a well-built construction and a unique feature that only a couple safes on this list have. The Honeywell 6104 Fire Resistant Steel Security Safe is considered a premium and simple safe offering plenty of storage space for small items and a well-built construction that we have come to expect from this brand. Let’s talk about two unique features that make it worth your consideration.

Read more

Construction
Now, upon looking at the pictures of this safe it looks like a box with handles. Well, we can assure you it is more than that, it is in fact built for a double wall steel construction that includes a scratch resistant exterior coating, a powder coat finish, and even a foam padded floor to protect against your most important items. Other than that, the safe includes a carrying handle made from A-grade materials.

Key Lock
This safe, just like the last one, only comes with a key lock system. The reason for such a simple entry system is that the safe is considered a compact and simple to use safe. Therefore, a digital pad or other elements would minimize the ease of use and compact design. With that said, it comes with two keys to ensure that an individual can always unlock the safe.

Cost and Value
When it comes to cost per value this safe is well priced. It is considered one of the most simple and easy to use safes on this list. Much like the one before it, it is compact and perfect for storing small items such as keys, passport, and a couple of jewelry items. What it lacks for in technology it makes up for with durability. With this in mind, we believe that the cost is well priced for the design and security benefits of this safe.

10. HomCom Two Shelf

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.5
HomCom Two Shelf
Size
80
Capacity
79
Protection
82
Weight
77
best offer for today
Pros:

17” thick solid steel safe that keeps any firearm, jewelry, or other valuable safe.

The heavy durty door bolts are .60” of heavy duty chrome steel door bolts that are pry-resistant.

The removable shelves offer added security space.

Remove the shelf to store extremely large items.

The compact size is perfect for easy storing of any item.

Two keys are included in case of emergencies.

Cons:

The interface feels outdated certain users have mentioned.

 The safe is considered cheap.

What is better than one? Two! This is true not only for money, cars, friends, and food. In fact, this safe adds more functionality by allowing a two-shelf design in the inside. If you are looking for a safe that offers plenty of usable storage in one simple design, this may be it. The HomCom Two Shelf Home Security Safe is a great and durable safe offering a lot of space and a big bang for your buck!

Read more

Compact
The compact design of this two-shelf safe adds to the extreme value that it offers. An individual can easily place this safe in his or her closet, in the garage or even store in inside a piece of furniture. The interior space is big enough to hold large items such as a tablet, a handgun, and even important paperwork. Adding to the compact design, an individual can even anchor this safe on the wall for added support and added peace of mind.

Digital Interface
What makes products like these so cool is that they seem straight out of a movie! This safe in itself offers a unique digital interface. The interface is easy to use, makes it easy to access your belongings and is simple to program. With that in mind, the interface has pin acceptance lights that indicate when it has been unlocked and locked.

Cost and Value
When taking cost into consideration for a product such as this it is vital to look at construction and technology. Of course, an individual wants to ensure their items are safe and secure and this compact two shelf safe does that. The safe itself is designed in a durable manner that is easy to use, install, and put in place. When looking at the cost, there are a couple safes for the same price that offer a bit more features. However, it is the two shelf design that makes this a safe to consider if you need a lot of space.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

When it comes to evaluating different markets and industries - there is always one defining characteristic. For example, when it comes to pants - it’s always the type of material that the manufacturer uses. When it comes to security safes, it’s all about the build quality. You see, you can clearly tell the difference between a high-quality safe and a low-quality safe by looking at the type of materials used to make it. So, this is precisely what we did. We wanted to ensure that any product that made our best in the class list was made from the very best materials. In this, we wanted to make sure that this material was also strong enough and durable enough to last for many years, in whatever conditions it might be subject to.

Features

When we began our evaluation process for the best security safes, one of the first pieces of criteria that we deemed important was the safety features built into the physical product. When you consider that the whole purpose of this product is to keep your most personal items safe - it should make sense that safety is of utmost concern. So, as we began to look at the entire market and each product we carefully looked at safety innovation.

We were intrigued to see how these companies were helping to ensure that their target audience belongings would be safe. What we can say about this list is that each brand took unique safety precautions to ensure you. Some companies chose to include digital locks - some included the typical key lock safe - whatever they chose, we can say, with confidence, there are not many other products that can compete with the quality of these safety features. If you are interested in the quality of safety features - before purchasing just any safe, take the time to cross-reference any claims with previous customers. Since they have direct experience with the product, they can shine the light for you.

Value

In our opinion, one of the most important matters that consumers must take into consideration when purchasing a product is the cost to value ratio. This is one of the best ways to ensure that you are receiving your money’s worth for a purchase. So, to figure this out, take the time to look at the individual price of each safe. It may prove best to write all of this information down. From there, compare and contrast the prices and keep note of the highest priced item and the lowest priced item. From there, look at the value of each product - this should help in drawing some strong conclusions regarding the price tag of a product. For this guide, we did this precise exercise is efforts to provide only the best products at the best prices.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Always do your research

As we have said earlier in this article, when we began to compare the many different security safes available for consumers, like yourself, we came to some strong conclusions. Primarily, we realized that the market is jam-packed with products for consumers to pick from. Now, while some may think that this is good - it’s actually counterproductive. Reason being, since consumers are inundated with options, they tend to simply make impulsive decisions, which typically is based on colors and design rather than features and value. As we all have experienced before, such purchases tend to lead to products that break quickly or are faulty from the beginning. Now, in efforts to help consumers like you, we took the time to perform a thorough and in-depth evaluation of the security safe industry. In this, we are proud to say, we were able to highlight the best products, which you read about today.

Now, before we were able to begin selecting products for this list - we needed to take the time to brainstorm a list of standards, recommendations, and criteria that could be used when evaluating products. Simply put - this helped us highlight good products, and eliminate the bad products. Now, because of this, each product on this list boasts immense value at some of the best prices you can find.

Always take quality into consideration

For the consumer, the only piece of advice that we have is to ensure they are getting the quality they desire and these safes do not disappoint. Never stress out about having your documents or valuables out in the open and take the step towards a more secure and safe future. With fire-resistant quality and keypad entry, the right safe is on this list for any individual and we are glad that we could not have just added our input but moved you towards a more secure way of living.

Other Factors to Consider

Style

In truth, consumers do tend to care about the design and color of a product, even if it’s safe that is hidden for the majority part of its use. Think about it: if you have the option to pick from a few different color options or design options for your security safe - it may intrigue you more than other standard colors. So, after we evaluated many different products based on build quality, safety features, and the cost to value - we began to look at the physical product and how it might appeal to consumers. In this, we noticed that many of the top-end security safes tend to have a stronger aesthetic appeal in comparison to cheaper products. While they might not come in a wide selection of colors - there is enough in the sleek design to capture a consumer’s attention. Do keep in mind, as far as design and color are concerned, you really will get what you pay for.

Advanced Features

Given the nature of security safes, one important criterion that we wanted to look out for was guarantees and warranties. These products are intended to keep an individual’s personal belongings safe - and, if it’s broken, how can it do this? So, as we began to poll the market and look at different products, one of the first things we would look for is how a company, whether they were industry-leading or not, would secure interested consumers. What we found was that many of these companies offered different degrees of guarantees and manufacturer’s warranties. In this, we highly advise taking the time to review each company’s qualifications for refunds or replacements prior to purchasing. This can help remove any headaches or stressful phone calls!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What happens if you lose your key or code to the security safe?
a:

This is a great question. If this happens to you - don’t beat yourself up as it happens to many people. Now, if you happen to forget your keycode or lost your key to enter the security safe, you will need to contact the manufacturer. Typically, they will charge a specific amount of money to ship a new key. Now, this is entirely dependent upon the company. There are some companies that will not offer that type of support. With that being said, to avoid any of these problems, we highly suggest writing your code down in a safe location that you can remember. Additionally, it may also prove beneficial to get a copy of the key from a local locksmith.

q: How do you know if a security safe is resistant to weather elements?
a:

The best way to tell whether a security safe is resistant to weather elements is to really look at the product description. While it would nice to think that all security safes are fire resistant and weather resistant, this is surely not the case. We highly suggest looking to ensure that the product is protected from the weather elements. Now, during our research, we found that some products are only protected in certain areas, such as the front plate. Try to find a product that offers maximum protection. It may prove beneficial to look at previous customer reviews to see what their thoughts are on the matter.

q: Can you fit a gun or weapon inside of the security safe?
a:

Yes! Given the nature of security safes, you should be able to fit an average-to-small sized gun or weapon inside of the safe. However, evidently, this is dependent upon the specific size of the gun and safe. To know for sure, take the time to study the measurement of a security safe that you are interested in - and compare that to the size of your gun or weapon. Additionally, take the time to see what the manufacturer has to say, and previous customers in their reviews.

q: If you forget your passcode and continually try to open the safe, will it lock you out?
a:

 It depends! While this may not be the answer you are looking for - it truly depends on the type of safe. There are some security safes that we featured today that do not even come with a keypad. This is a great question to verify with previous customers and the manufacturer themselves.

q: Can a security safe fit a laptop?
a:

 When people are traveling, they tend to want to bring a security safe with them. Now, in this, people are always wondering if they can fit a laptop inside of a security safe. In this, there is a large assortment of security safes, as we have discussed in this article, so there are products that can fit a laptop. However, it’s too difficult to say whether all security safes can. To figure out if your laptop can fit, take the time to review the measurements of a specific safe. See if it offers the width needed to fit a laptop.