to top 10 table

Best Reptile Heating Pads Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Jun 01, 2019

Let me take you back to 5th-grade science. Animals need heat in order to power their cells. Some animals are warm-blooded (exhibit A: Humans), and some are cold-blooded (exhibit A: killers...just kidding!).

Warm-blooded animals are (mostly) capable of producing and maintaining their own heat in a wide range of outside temperatures and thrive in what we would consider temperate environs. But reptiles are cold-blooded animals and they need a little help in this arena, even if the temperature doesn’t seem cold at all to you.

To give reptiles the heat that they need, you’ll have to provide primary as well as secondary heating sources to mirror their natural habitats. Primary sources mimic the sun (heat lamps, etc.) and secondary sources mimic heat spots like the reptile heating pads on this list. We’ve got different sizes and features here so you can find just the right pad for you.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
iPower
99.8/100 our score
Effectiveness
100
Materials
100
Size
99
Features
100
Value
100
iPower
Why is it better?

Great heat distribution

Extra-sticky

Great for small animals

Long power cord

Waterproof

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
iPower
Test Winner: iPower
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
24
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2200
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Effectiveness Materials Size Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
Effectiveness
100 %
Materials
100 %
Size
99 %
Features
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
$16.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Effectiveness
99 %
Materials
98 %
Size
99 %
Features
98 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
$32.08
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Effectiveness
98 %
Materials
97 %
Size
97 %
Features
99 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Effectiveness
95 %
Materials
95 %
Size
96 %
Features
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
$19.79
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Effectiveness
95 %
Materials
93 %
Size
95 %
Features
96 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Effectiveness
94 %
Materials
94 %
Size
93 %
Features
93 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Effectiveness
92 %
Materials
91 %
Size
93 %
Features
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
$13.88
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Effectiveness
91 %
Materials
92 %
Size
91 %
Features
91 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
$10.65
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Effectiveness
91 %
Materials
90 %
Size
90 %
Features
90 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Effectiveness
89 %
Materials
88 %
Size
94 %
Features
88 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.09.20)
Amazon Link
$12.99

10 Best Reptile Heating Pads

1. iPower

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
iPower
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
100
Materials
100
Size
99
Features
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.99
Pros:

Great heat distribution

Extra-sticky

Great for small animals

Long power cord

Waterproof

Cons:

Once you stick it, you can’t move it

The option from iPower is our favorite because it boasts a new and improved design that functions like never before. With higher quality materials and more uniform heat distribution, this product is the perfect addition for your pet’s aquarium. It is best intended for smaller animals, though it can also be used for germination.

Adheres to Tank Side
This product from iPower plugs into the wall and features 3M paper adhesive that is easily applicable to the side of your pet’s tank. The strong grip means better contact and more even heat distribution so your pet gets more heat from this product than others. Monitor your pet’s behavior and keep a lookout for their favorite spots. This is where you will want to stick the iPower.

Obviously, if your pet has sticky fingerpads and hangs out on the wall of its tank, you have more placement options. But otherwise, you’ll want to adhere the product to the bottom of the tank.

Best for Smaller Animals
The iPower is best intended for smaller animals. It measures 12 inches long and 8 inches wide. It’s a 16-watt appliance with a 6-foot power cord. Once plugged in, it will reach its max temperature in a couple of minutes. This product is also waterproof for extra safety precautions.

If this isn’t the size for you, iPower also offers products that are 4x7, 6x8, and 8x18.

Cost and Value
This option from iPower rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it’s super sticky for maximum heat distribution and because it heats up in no time.

2. Fluker's Heat Mat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Fluker's Heat Mat
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
99
Materials
98
Size
99
Features
98
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.08
Pros:

Great size

Can put on side or bottom of tank

Great heat distribution

Cons:

No adhesive on product

This option from Flukers is great for amphibians like frogs and reptiles like iguanas alike. It adheres evenly for great heat distribution and it is super easy to install. So whether your tank is large or small, this product is a great fit.

Great Size
The Fluker’s mat is the perfect size, and it’s actually a perfect square. It measures 11 inches long and 11 inches wide. It is ideally suited for small to medium-sized reptiles and amphibians and is certified safe to use.

Stick Anywhere
The Fluker’s mat is perfect for adhering to the side of your tank. To install, use duct tape or electrical tape--it does not come with its own adhesive. This product produces even heat along the mat. If you choose to install the pad on the bottom of the tank, Flukers has some advice.

Remember to leave a ventilation space between the tank and the piece of furniture that the take stands on. Flukers also warns against using this pad on the bottom of the tank if the tank has a heavy layer of substrate. Thicker layers will absorb the heat that is supposed to be going to your pet and it can also cause a fire hazard.

Cost and Value
The Fluker’s Mat rings up towards the top of our price range and we love its value because it distributes heat evenly and because it’s the perfect size for many different animals including slow-moving turtles and fruit-munching iguanas.

3. Sequoia Under Tank Mat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Sequoia Under Tank Mat
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
98
Materials
97
Size
97
Features
99
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Manually select your own temperature

Adheres to sides and bottom

Self-adhesive

Waterproof and easy to clean

Upgraded electronics

Cons:

Not the hottest mat out there

The Sequoia Under Tank mat is the first and only on our list the allows you to select your own temperature. That makes this an excellent choice for a wide variety of different animal species. This also means that you can adjust the temperature for your pet’s specific needs on a whim.

Personally Adjust Temperature Setting
With the Sequoia Under Tank mat, you can personally adjust the temperature setting to meet your unique needs. The temperature settings range from 32 degrees Fahrenheit to 95 degrees Fahrenheit. With this freedom, you can use this as your pet’s primary or secondary source of heat.

Improved Electronics
The Sequoia Under Tank mat features new and improved electronics. With high-grade nichrome heating wires and excellent PVC insulation, this product is both safe and effective. In fact, it is UL and CE approved for safety in the United States and in Europe, respectively.

This product is easy to clean because it is waterproof, and it operates on super low power. Simply wipe with a gentle cleaner. You can adhere this product underneath your tank or to the side of your tank, depending on your needs. It comes with its own adhesive.

Cost and Value
The Sequoia Under Tank mat rings up at the top of our price range and we love its value because it is the only product that allows you to select your own temperature. Plus, it has gotten an electronic makeover so it is super safe and efficient to use.

4. Zilla

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Zilla
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
95
Materials
95
Size
96
Features
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.79
Pros:

Helps to promote digestion

Sticks on side and bottom

Self-Adhering

Comes in multiple sizes

Great for tropical and desert animals

Cons:

Issues with stickiness

The Zilla Reptile Terrarium Heat Mats is great for tropical and desert arachnids, reptiles, and amphibians alike. With its own adhesive and even heating, it’s the perfect addition to any terrarium.

Comes in Many Size Options
The Zilla Reptile Terrarium Heat Mats come in multiple different size options. The small-sized mat measures 6 inches by 8 inches, the medium mat measures 8 inches by 12 inches, and the large mat measures 8 inches by 18 inches.

It is ideally suited for spiders, amphibians, and reptiles of the tropical and desert persuasion.

Self-Adhering
The Zilla Reptile Terrarium Heat Mats are self-adhering and can be placed on the side or bottom of your tank. They should be adhered only to flat surfaces for the best results. The Zilla is a heat source that is energy efficient, and it will help your pet to maintain its body temperature so that it can experience proper digestion and bodily functions.

Cost and Value
The Zilla Reptile Terrarium Heat Mat rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it is self-adhering and because it comes in multiple different sizes.

5. SUDOTACK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
SUDOTACK
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
95
Materials
93
Size
95
Features
96
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Self-adhering

Works for tropical and desert animals

Sticks to sides and bottom

Easy to clean

Waterproof

Cons:

Not great under lots of substrate

The SUDOTACK mat is a great way for your tropical or desert pet to keep their body temperature up so that their bodies can function in a healthy way. With self-adhering tape and a smooth body, this product ensures that heat is distributed evenly so your pet can bask in safety.

Great Insulation
The SUDOTACK mat is a super durable option for your desert or tropical pet tank. It is double insulated and features a heating film to ensure that heat is distributed evenly. This serves to save energy and make sure that you’re getting the most out of your mat.

Waterproof
The SUDOTACK mat comes with its own adhesive so it is easy to install. Remember to clean the surface of the tank before sticking. You can adhere this product to the side or bottom of your tank depending on your pet’s needs.
This mat is also waterproof which means that it’s super easy to clean. But remember, this product should only be used on the outside of the tank.

This product measures 8 inches by 6 inches. It has a standard US plug. It is an 8-watt appliance.

Cost and Value
The SUDOTACK mat rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it is waterproof and easy to clean and install. Plus, it’s great for a wide variety of animals so it fulfills multiple needs.

6. Aiicioo Tank

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Aiicioo Tank
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
94
Materials
94
Size
93
Features
93
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Upgraded product

2-for-1 deal

Comes with rubber feet for bottom install

Can be applied to sides

Self-adhesive

Cons:

These get really hot

The Aiicioo Tank Heater has poured tons of research and development into their product to enact some serious improvements. With better adhesive and upgraded electronics, this product will not melt or separate from its adhesive.

Designed Specifically for Tank Bottoms
The Aiicioo Tank Heater was designed specifically to be applied to tank bottoms. This focus accounts for increased heat build-up underneath and the need to expel more heat to get through heavy substrates.

When purchasing this product, you will also receive a set of rubber feet that will ensure your mat doesn’t rest directly against a base and that it is able to access a sufficient amount of air flow.

That being said, the Aiicioo can also be adhered to the sides of your tank.

Can Serve as Primary or Secondary Heating Source
The Aiicioo Tank Heater is safe enough to be used around the clock, 24/7. It is strong enough to supply some pets with their primary heat source, while it will serve as a secondary heat source for those animals that require more fire.

When you make this purchase, you will receive two heating mats. Each mat measures 6 inches by 8 inches. Using both is great for a tank that is around 30 or 40 gallons. These are 8-watt appliances.

Cost and Value
The Aiicioo Tank Heater rings up towards the top of our price range and we love its value because you actually get 2 full mats for this price. Plus, Aiicioo has seriously upgraded their products and they come with a 1-year warranty.

7. VIVOSUN

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
VIVOSUN
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
92
Materials
91
Size
93
Features
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.88
Pros:

Great 3-year warranty

Adheres to sides and bottom

Self-adhering mat

Reaches a steady 104 degrees Fahrenheit

Comes in 2 different sizes

Cons:

Heat melts adhesive

The VIVOSUN mat is a nice option for pets that need consistency. This product delivers the same heat, hour after hour, without reaching dangerous temperatures and without cooling off. Plus, it comes with a stellar warranty that’s hard to beat.

Maintains Constant Temperature
The VIVOSUN mat is guaranteed to maintain a constant temperature. The mat reaches about 104 degrees Fahrenheit. It features a nichrome heating agent and is an 8-watt appliance. You can mount this product on the side or bottom of your tank. But remember to allow for ventilation under you take if you place the mat there.

The VIVOSUN comes with its own 3M adhesive.

Choose Between Sizes
This product comes available in 2 different sizes. The smaller size measures 6 by 8 inches and is intended to be used in 10-20 gallon tanks. The larger size measures 8 by 12 inches and is designed to be used in 30 to 40 gallon tanks.

Cost and Value
The VIVOSUN mat rings up in the middle of our price range and we like its value because it effectively maintains a steady temperature and because it comes with a 3-year warranty should your product become defective.

8. SunGrow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
SunGrow
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
91
Materials
92
Size
91
Features
91
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.65
Pros:

Can be installed on side or bottom

Can be used 24 hours a day

Comes with bonus feet for bottom install

Self-adhesive

Cased in rubber

Cons:

Doesn’t get super hot

The SunGrow Tank mat is an amazing option if you are looking for a secondary heat source for your tank. This item works well for temperate and tropical reptiles like hermit crabs, spiders, and snakes. Plus, it’s approved to be used around the clock.

Use All Day
The SunGrow Tank mat is approved to be used all day long. The heating element is made from nichrome and the product features a double insulated layer to ensure that even heating takes place throughout. The rubber casing makes sure that heating is safe.

Because the product is cased in rubber, the tank won’t overheat, the adhesive won’t melt, and your pet will enjoy a safe and comfortable sustained temperature.

Feet for Ventilation
The SunGrow Tank mat includes little bonus feet for ventilation if you decide to install the mat on the bottom of your pet’s tank. You, of course, can install the mat to the side of the tank without having to worry too much about ventilation and air flow.

This product measures 6 inches by 7 inches so it’s a great option for 10 to 20-gallon tanks.

Cost and Value
The SunGrow Tank mat rings up at the top of our price range but we like its value because it’s safe to be left on 24 hours a day and because it comes with bonus feet to ensure the product doesn’t overheat if you install in on the bottom of your tank.

9. Wuhostam

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Wuhostam
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
91
Materials
90
Size
90
Features
90
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Can go inside or outside the tank

Higher power at 14 watts

Water and moisture proof

Cons:

Doesn’t come with adhesive

The Wuhostam mat has a little bit more power than other products on our list at 14 watts (most of the products on our list are 8 watts). Plus, you can actually place this product on the inside of the tank without harming your pet.

Place Inside or Outside
The Wuhostam mat can be used inside or outside of your tank. If you use on the outside, you can adhere to the sides or bottom of the tank. Remember, if you adhere to the bottom, you will need to ensure that there is airflow to safeguard against fire hazards. This product does not come with its own adhesive layer.

You may also place this mat on the inside of your tank. If you choose to place it in the inside, make sure you put a layer of sand, mulch, or other substrate over it so that your pet is protected from being exposed to direct contact.

Moisture Proof
The Wuhostam mat is waterproof and moisture proof. That means it is safe to place inside the tank. But Wuhostam insists that you don’t submerge this product in water. A little splash here and there is totally fine, and this product can be cleaned with water as well, but submerging the mat could result in electric shortages and could cause a fire.

Cost and Value
The Wuhostam mat rings up at the bottom of our price range and we like its value because it is higher power than other products on our list and because it can be placed inside and outside of the tank.

10. Grocery House

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Grocery House
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
89
Materials
88
Size
94
Features
88
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Different size options

Different wattage options

Nichrome heating unit

Can be used 24 hours a day

Cons:

No self-adhesive

We close out our list with the Grocery House Reptile Heating Pad. This product is available in tons of different wattages and sizes so you are bound to be able to find just the right fit for you. Plus, this is the most inexpensive product on our list so you stand to save a buck as well.

Nichrome Heating Wire
This product gets its heat from the nichrome heating wire within. With rubber coating, your pet will get the heat that they need without getting scorched. You can leave this mat on 24 hours a day and it is powerful enough to serve as a primary heating source, though it functions equally as well as a secondary heating source.

You can adhere this mat to the side of the tank or underneath it, but it doesn’t come with its own adhesive layer.

Tons of Size and Wattage Options
You can pick this product up in a number of wattage and size options.

Choose between a 5 watter, a 7 watter, a 14 watter, or a 20 watter. The bigger the wattage, the more gallons per tank it can serve.

The 5 watter measures 14 centimeters by 15 centimeters. The 7 watter measures 15 centimeters by 28 centimeters. The 14 watter measures 28 centimeters by 28 centimeters, and the 20 watter measures 42 centimeters by 28 centimeters.

Cost and Value
The Grocery House mat rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we like its value because it comes in tons of different available sizes and wattages so that you can get just the right heat for your tank.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

When compiling this Ten Best List, we worked to make sure we feature items that are actually effective. When thinking about the effectiveness of each of the products on our list, we read tons of reviews to see how well each product works.

The heating pads that we feature on this list get hot and stay hot. All of them reach temperatures around 104 degrees Fahrenheit. Only one of the items on our list allows you to manually control the temperature.

Materials

Most of the products on our list are similarly made and feature the same core components.

All of the products on our list are powered through a standard home power outlet. We like products that have long cords so you have greater flexibility in placement.

Most of the products on our list feature a nichrome heating unit that works inside of the mat to distribute heat evenly. This type of feature is used in tons of different heating units and it is basically an alloy this is non-magnetic, wrapped in coils with charges running through it.

Most of our products are insulated and wrapped in rubber covers. Rubber is not an conductor of electricity so it keeps the internal elements of the pad safe from users.

All but a few of our products feature their own self-adhering layers. These are generally made by 3M. Once you remove the protective film, you will reveal a sticky layer that can be adhered to the side of your tank. These are not reusable adhesives. Once you stick them, they’re not going anywhere.

At least that’s the idea. A few of our products have gotten an upgrade because they used to get so hot that they melted the adhesive and fell off the cage. With better temperature distribution and higher-quality adhesives, this should no longer happen.

Size

Size was a major consideration when we were making this Ten Best List. Because reptiles cannot make their own heat, we have to help them out and provide this for them. But to that same point, we don’t want to provide too much heat, so getting the just right amount can be a tricky game.

In short, the larger a pad is, the more heat it gives off. The more heat a pad gives off, the more space there needs to be in a tank so it doesn’t become too hot.

If you have a 10 gallon or 20-gallon tank, you should look to purchase pads that are around 6 inches by 8 inches big. These are typically around 8 watts and can be left on all day.

If you have a 30 gallon or 40 gallon tank, you should look to order a pad that is around 8 inches by 12 inches big. While these may also be 8-watt appliances, they can have bigger wattages.

Again, we cannot stress enough how important it is to make sure you maintain the appropriate temperature in your pet’s tank. You may need to install a primary heat source like a heat lamp which gives off way more heat than any of the pads on our list and on the market.

You may not need to have a primary heat source in your tank and may instead just need a secondary heat source. If this is this case, you will likely want to be running this secondary heat source all day so make sure you get a product that is capable of sustaining 24-hour operation.

The best way to ensure that your pet is getting the right amount of heat is to do your research and to get a tank thermometer. All animals are different and require different things--far more than we can go into here. So read up on your pet and get all of their specs in order.

Then make sure you are maintaining the right environment by checking your tank thermometer frequently. Doing so will allow you to adjust temperatures accordingly so that your pet can live its healthiest life.

Features

The products on our list come packed with some pretty cool features.

To start, we love products that come with their own adhesives. Messing around with tape and other adhesives is just a pain. But we will say it is sort of limiting that once you stick the self-adhesives you cannot move them.

Other features we love include little buffer legs that you can attach to your pad if you choose to adhere it to the bottom of your tank. This will allow for airflow that helps to keep the base surface cool and the glass from cracking. It also helps to prevent potential fire hazards.

We also love an extra long cord, being able to set your own desired temperature, and having the option to place your pad inside of the tank as well as outside.

Value

The products on this list are packed with incredible value. They are all super inexpensive and fulfill incredibly critical roles in your pet’s life. They are easy to install, easy to use, and they work. Plus, some come with 2-for-1 deals and some come with great warranties.

Often times when there’s a product you have to have, they tend to be super expensive but that’s not the case here.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Clean Your Tank Before Sticking

We know you’ve used a sticker or decal before and the same rules apply here. Objects stick and adhesives work best when the item they are sticking to is clean.
The best way to ensure a surface is clean and ready for you to stick is to clean the area with alcohol. Take a paper towel, dish rag, or cotton ball and wipe down the entire side that you wish to adhere your mat to (P.S. You should be doing this semi-frequently to clean the outside of your tank anyway).
Once you’ve done this, wait for the entire surface to dry. Now you should have a surface that is squeaky clean and free from debris. Remember that once you’ve stuck your self-adhering mat you won’t be able to move it, so pick your placement wisely.
As we mentioned before, you’ll want to observe your pet’s behaviors and do a little research on your pet’s habits before selecting a spot. But after doing this you are totally good to go.

Turn Pad Off When Primary Heat Source is On

If you have a primary heat source in your tank that is on for part of the day, you do not need to run your secondary heat pads at the same time. In fact, this could cause the tank and your pet to overheat.
Instead, switch these on when you turn the primary heat source off so that even heat distribution remains in your tank.

Other Factors to Consider

Safety Hazards

We worked to make you aware of all of the safety hazard potentials in these products and how to prevent them. The most important being fire safety and awareness when installing these pads on the bottom of your tank.

You absolutely must leave ventilation space between the bottom of your tank and the surface that your tank is on (the table, dresser, cabinet, whatever). Doing so will ensure that air is moving underneath and that the pad, the glass, and your pet don’t get too hot.

Versatility

We love products on our list that can be used for many different animals. Most of the products you see here are ideal for desert and tropical reptiles and amphibians so you won’t have to look too hard for a specialized (and likely more expensive) pad.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I keep this turned on round-the-clock?

a:

Yes you can. Reptiles that require basking light will need heat lamps overhead during the day and will rely on heating pads in the evening. However, reptiles that don’t need basking light will solely rely on heating pads.

These pads are safe to be left on all day long, day after day. If you adhere your pad to the side of the tank, make sure it isn’t coming into contact with anything that might be flammable. If you’ve stuck the pad on the bottom of the tank, make sure you’ve elevated the tank so there is airflow between the pad and whatever surface the tank is on.

In other words, don’t sandwich the pad between a table and the tank without leaving space for air to move between. This could be a fire hazard.

q: What is a substrate?

a:

Substrate is the ground on which an animal lives. They bask, they eat, they grow there. Some reptiles require denser substrates with lots of bedding, while others prefer thinner layers. This is totally species based.

If your animal requires a dense substrate, then you are advised against placing your heating pad on the bottom of the cage. For one, the heat won’t carry through all of the layers so you won’t be getting what you could out of your product, and for two, this could cause a potential fire hazard. The more you know.

q: Can I put the heating pad inside the tank?

a:

We suggest no doing so for a few reasons. First of all, you don’t want to place any electronics or cords inside of the tank where your pet can get to them. While electronics are insulated, your pet may bite them or the insulation may wear away and they could electrocute your pet.

Additionally, placing the heating pad inside could cause it to come in direct contact with flammable items like mulch and wood. While it is okay for these items to be exposed to heat indirectly, direct heat can cause a bit of a problem.

Plus, Just like you typically place a textile between you and your own heating pad, your pet will need a similar buffer layer to ensure that their skin doesn’t burn. Placing your mat on the outside of the tank helps to keep your pet safe.

q: How do reptile heating pads work?

a:

These heat mats work just in the same way that human heating pads work. They have internal coils that heat up when electric currents run through them.

Sources

  1. Leslie Darling, WHY DO SNAKES & LIZARDS NEED HEAT?, Article
  2. Wikipedia Contributing Writers, Reptile, Encyclopedia Article
  3. Audrey Pavia, Ideal Heating For Your Reptiles, Article