to top 10 table

Best Old Timer Knives Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Apr 10, 2020

What do you do when you combine durability with quality materials? How about a 100-year-old knife brand that is highly touted as one of the best in the industry? Well, you get this list of the top ten Old Timer knives. We are particularly excited to share with you this quality list because Old Timer is a world-renowned knife brand with plenty of years of experience developing high-quality pocket knives. With that said, we took many aspects of Old Timer into consideration when compiling this list. More so, we added what customers were looking for in a quality knife. Whether you are an individual wanting a high-quality multi-use knife or an individual wanting a knife designed for wood carving, this list will have the knife for you. Therefore, without further wait, we are eager to share the best Old Timer Knives and what users can expect from this 100-year-old brand.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 16 hrs of research

icon
Old Timer 152OT
99/100 our score
Model
99
Materials
100
Durability
99.4
Size
99.3
Value
98.6
Old Timer 152OT
Why is it better?

High-quality knife manufacturer that is well trusted.

The blade is reliable and made from easy to clean and sharp stainless steel.

The knife features a lanyard hole so users can carry it easily.

The knife is secure and easy to hold.

Users think it is a great price for the knife.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Old Timer 152OT
Test Winner: Old Timer 152OT
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
23
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
31
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
16
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
45
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Model Materials Durability Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Model
99 %
Materials
100 %
Durability
99.4 %
Size
99.3 %
Value
98.6 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Model
97.5 %
Materials
97 %
Durability
96.3 %
Size
97 %
Value
96.9 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Model
95.8 %
Materials
94 %
Durability
95.8 %
Size
94 %
Value
93.7 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Model
92.2 %
Materials
91 %
Durability
90.3 %
Size
91 %
Value
90.7 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$18.74
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Model
88.3 %
Materials
87 %
Durability
87.2 %
Size
88 %
Value
87.7 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Model
86.2 %
Materials
86.1 %
Durability
85.3 %
Size
86 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Model
82.3 %
Materials
82 %
Durability
81.7 %
Size
81 %
Value
81.9 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$21.27
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Model
79.3 %
Materials
78.5 %
Durability
80 %
Size
79.4 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$19.09
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Model
76.3 %
Materials
75.4 %
Durability
76 %
Size
75.4 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$24.36
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.2
Model
74.3 %
Materials
73.9 %
Durability
73 %
Size
74 %
Value
72.6 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.12.20)
Amazon Link
$24.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Old Timer 152OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Old Timer 152OT
Amazon Link
Model
99
Materials
100
Durability
99.4
Size
99.3
Value
98.6
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$16.54
Pros:

High-quality knife manufacturer that is well trusted.

The blade is reliable and made from easy to clean and sharp stainless steel.

The knife features a lanyard hole so users can carry it easily.

The knife is secure and easy to hold.

Users think it is a great price for the knife.

Cons:

Users have mentioned the knife is very dull out of the box.

A well-built knife, whether for collection purposes or for personal use can last a really long time. This is an aspect of knife ownership that this manufacturer has taken into consideration when building every quality knife that they have. With that, we want to share the first knife on this list, a quality knife that users will enjoy. With a unique style, sturdy handle, and sharp edge, we want to talk about the first Old Time knife, the 152OT Sharpfinger, a wonderful piece of craftsmanship that users will thoroughly love and enjoy.

Durability
Durability is one of the most important aspects when it comes to a quality knife. No user wants to be using any specialty knife, whether outside or in a home and all of a sudden it snaps breaks or gets dull easily. With that, this manufacturer created an extremely durable knife that can withstand the test of time. This knife is made from a reliable blade from a High Carbon material. With that, it has a saw cut handle slab for more effective use.

Security
Another important aspect that users want in their knives is security; the security that the handle will be able to hold the weight and force that a user has when using it. With that, users can rest assured that the handle and the blade of this knife will not slip during use. With an authentic wooden style design, a high-intensity blade, and a quality manufacturing process, users can rest assured that what they are using is high quality and secure.

Cost And Value
As we take cost and value into consideration for this knife, users have to ask themselves if they plan on using it much or only on rare occasion. With that, users want to make sure that the design of the knife is comfortable on their hand and that the blade is well-designed for the intended purpose. Now, as far as the value, we can say this is one of the best-built knives out there. For the price, users will be pleasantly surprised at how affordable and comfortable this brand has made being able to use and access one of their knives.

2. Old Timer 7OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Old Timer 7OT
Amazon Link
Model
97.5
Materials
97
Durability
96.3
Size
97
Value
96.9
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

High-quality design that is simple and easy to use.

Trusted company with affordable price.

Unique saw cut handle design is appealing.

The brass look is very aesthetically pleasing.

The blade is strong and durable.

The convenient size makes it easy to carry.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the brass was stained out of the box.

This manufacturer is known for producing some of the most high quality and well-functioning knives. As we said above, users have to ask themselves if the knife is intended for outdoor or indoor use. More so, do users plan on displaying the knife? These are all important questions to ask. With that, we want to share one of the most durable and best-looking knives on this list. With a copper design, this is the Old Timer 7OT Cave Bear knife, a high-quality knife with plenty of functionality. Let’s look at two important points to take into consideration.

The Size
The size of a knife will also determine what an individual uses the knife for. In this instance, this small knife is perfectly designed for easy carry and individuals will appreciate the lightweight qualities of this really well-built knife. With that, users will appreciate that it folds and has a lock back blade so they can easily fold it, store it, and prevent any potential cuts or accidents when trying to take it out. With that, we highly recommend this quality knife for users that plan to travel or be outdoors a lot.

The Blade
The blade of this knife also includes two cool features that users will like and appreciate. First, it is designed and crafted from a high carbon stainless steel that is virtually indestructible. It is extremely strong and when sharpened properly, it can cut through anything. Back to the blade, it is a clip point blade that is very sharp and reliable. More so, the blade of the knife includes a nail pull, making it a perfect "around the house" kind of knife for crafty users.

Cost And Value
As we take cost and value into consideration, what users have to keep in mind when it comes to this particular knife is that is designed for small for certain uses, it includes a nail pull crevice, and it also folds for easy storing. With that, we believe it is priced according to market value. However, for the quality that this brand offers, we were surprised at how affordable it is. We highly recommend it as a perfect, well-designed pocket knife.

3. Old Timer 18OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Old Timer 18OT
Amazon Link
Model
95.8
Materials
94
Durability
95.8
Size
94
Value
93.7
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

A quality knife designed by a quality manufacturer.

One of the best-designed pocket knives to date.

The durable design is easy to hold and can withstand the test of time.

The knife features nickel bolsters and brass pins that are aesthetically pleasing.

The knife includes a secure locking device.

Quality materials were used when developing this knife.

Cons:

Minimal use only

As the next knife on this list, it seems we are going to keep up with the tradition of going small. This next folding knife offers a traditional design style while also being compact and very well built. We are eager to share the Old Timer 18OT Mighty Mite Stainless Steel Knife, a great folding knife for outdoor sports, hunting, or camping. If users want a quality folding knife, this is it and we are eager to share it with you. Let’s look at two points worth notating.

Traditional Design
The design of this particular knife takes its form from some of the most traditional looking pocket knives out there. This manufacturer wanted to bring back a design style that was aesthetically pleasing and also very useful to many consumers. With that, this design includes a saw cut handle and nickel silver bolsters. These design elements alongside a sturdy handle and a well-built and sharp blade make it the perfect outdoor knife for users that love to camp or go hunting.

Easy To Hold
Another aspect about pocket knives is that they are not as bulky or rigid as bigger more robust knives. For example, the small frame of this particular knife makes it easy for individuals to use it, hold it, and place it in their pocket. More so, the holding style mechanism allows users to fold it and store it without the potentiality of accidents occurring. Users will trust the well-built saw cut handle design and the strength and durability of the steel blade.

Cost And Value
Now, when it comes to cost and value when comparing this knife to the second knife on this list, this one is less pricey. However, it is because the design is a smaller frame design that is more traditional. Users will appreciate the quality of this knife, making it the perfect outdoor knife or around the house pocket knife. However, it is recommended that users do not expect to use this knife for everything, otherwise, it may dull quickly.

4. Old Timer 8OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Old Timer 8OT
Amazon Link
Model
92.2
Materials
91
Durability
90.3
Size
91
Value
90.7
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.74
Pros:

High-quality design that users will appreciate.

Aesthetically pleasing knife style and design.

Boasts a traditional appeal that users really enjoy.

The blade is made from a durable and high-quality stainless steel.

Three-in-one design is the perfect fit for users that love to go hunting or camp.

A trusted brand with years of experience.

Cons:

Users have mentioned the finish is not as good as other knives from this brand.

Let’s talk about another quality knife that users will appreciate. This next well-designed knife is from the same brand, offering much of the same style as the above knife, except it has two exciting features. In fact, this knife is a multiple-folding knife with 3 different blades all for different uses. With that, we think of it as one of the most well -built knives that users can purchase today from this manufacturer that has multiple uses. Let’s talk about the Old Timer 8OT Senior Traditional Folding Knife. Here are two points worth considering.

Old Design Style
What makes this brand so unique and one of the best is that all of their knives include a traditional design style that makes them really appealing. This one includes a saw cut handle design and a foldable mechanism for all three different knives. With that, users will appreciate the quality of the handle and the blade. You cannot have old world charm and tradition without what made them such high quality in the first place!

3-in-1
If you are an individual that appreciates the quality design of a great knife, this is the pocket knife for you. First, it is easy to carry and lightweight, but secondly, it is designed for individuals that like quality and want multifunctionality. With that, the three different knife styles are a 3in clip point knife, a sheepsfoot style knife, and a spey blade. Therefore, if you are wanting to open up mail or use it in the wilderness, this is the perfect knife for all occasions.

Cost And Value
As far as cost and value, one would that that since there are three knives it would cost three times the size. Well, it does not! That is not even the best news. This knife is not only affordable, but it is also one of the best folding knives with multi-use that users can get from this brand. In fact, the quality of the knife has been touted as one of the best and users repeatedly give this product 4.5+ stars. What we can say, is that it is well-built, offers many uses, and users will feel confident when using this particular knife.

5. Old Timer 3OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Old Timer 3OT
Amazon Link
Model
88.3
Materials
87
Durability
87.2
Size
88
Value
87.7
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

An appealing style 

High-quality elements and design style.

Durable design that can withstand the test of time.

Users will appreciate the lightweight.

Foldable design for easy pocket carry.

Can virtually be taken anywhere.

Cons:

Users have mentioned the finish is not as good as other knives from this brand.

Since users mention that the fit and finish of the last folding knife is not as good as others from this brand, we want to bring to you one of the most appealing high-quality knives that this particular manufacturer offers. This next folding knife is high quality and designed for individuals that love the outdoors and want a professional or recreational knife. With that, let’s talk about the Old Timer 3OT Bearhead Lockback Folding Pocket Knife, a step towards a better-quality knife.

Fit And Finish
Now, this knife truly is a work of art. It is designed with some of the most durable and physically appealing materials in the industry. Not only that, but it is designed to withstand the test of time thanks to its high-quality shape, design, and appealing craftsmanship. For example, this knife includes a sawcut handle design as well as nickel silver bolsters. Now, as an added element of appeal, it also has a heat treated back spring and brass pins for a design element. Now that is one good looking pocket knife!

Durability
Now, as far as design alone, it is extremely appealing. However, what about the materials? Well, this manufacturer only focuses on creating high-quality products, therefore, it is expected that this knife would to have the manufacturing quality process that has made this brand so notorious. The most important aspect of the knife, the blade, is designed from a high-grade high carbon stainless steel that includes a drop point blade edge and a nail pull, for those pesky home projects. With this, users will appreciate the quality of the knife and its ability to withstand any challenge.

Cost And Value
When it comes to cost and value, what we can say is that this may be one of the best knives when it comes to aesthetic appeal for the price. I mean, it actually is cheaper than some of the knives of this list considering the design elements. With that in mind, users will still enjoy and tout the high-quality manufacturing process that went into making this particular knife. Lastly, it is designed to last the test of time and users will appreciate the durable design that this brand is known for.

6. Old Timer 158OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Old Timer 158OT
Amazon Link
Model
86.2
Materials
86.1
Durability
85.3
Size
86
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Quality specific purpose knife.

High-quality sawcut handle slab that offers great grip.

The knife is easy to hold and easy to use.

High-quality design and materials went into creating this knife.

A trusted brand with plenty of years of experience.

Very sharp out of the box.

Cons:

Users mention the gut hook could be better designed.

So, this next knife may be one of the most aesthetically pleasing while combining odd style into the mix. In fact, this knife is designed for a particular knife owner due to the design style. However, the quality of the knife stays the same and users will appreciate the design aesthetics that makes this a high-quality knife. With that said, we are eager to share with you the Old Time 58OT Guthook Skinner Full Tang Fixed Blade Knife, a high-quality knife that offers useful versatility and a sharp edge. Let’s look at two important points!

The Materials Used
As we have discussed, the materials that go into creating a quality knife will determine the longevity of the knife and the likelihood of it working properly. With that said, this manufacturer has created a quality knife that can withstand the test of time and due to the high carbon stainless steel design. With that, users can expect a sharp knife that can practically cut through anything.

The Lanyard Hole
Another important design element that went into creating this quality knife is a lanyard hole. This design concept makes it incredibly easy for users to never lose the knife. With a lanyard hole, an individual can easily place a lanyard through it and wrap it around his or her hand for better grip. With that said, a lanyard hole also gives the knife a more aesthetic and traditional design. Users tout and appreciate the craftsmanship and design that has gone to creating such quality knives.

Cost And Value
As we talk about cost and value, this knife may easily appear on a premiere hunting or camping catalog. However, it is actually priced as one of the most affordable knives that an individual can get today. With that said, users love and appreciate the quality of the knife for the price, making it one of the best knifes an individual can purpose. What we can say, is that we highly recommend it for a specific purpose where the gut hook is needed.

7. Old Timer 165OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Old Timer 165OT
Amazon Link
Model
82.3
Materials
82
Durability
81.7
Size
81
Value
81.9
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.27
Pros:

Priced to sell quick.

High-quality stainless steel design and materials.

High quality and sharp knife edge.

Aesthetically pleasing.

This brand has included a brown sheath to protect the knife.

Brass finger guard and traditional design elements.

Cons:

Users have mentioned that the knife is not the best for bushcraft.

It is time to introduce a different type of knife into the mix. This next quality knife from this brand may be one of the best for specific purposes such as recreational and professional use. With that, users can expect one of the finest blades and well-built grip handles in the industry. This next knife may be one of the most professional knives with a design element that makes it extremely appealing and easy to use. Knife enthusiasts will love the Old Time 165OT Woodsman Full Tang Fixed Blade Knife. Here are two reasons why.

The Handles
There are two incredibly important aspects when it comes to a quality knife that users need to look out for. These two elements are the quality of the handle and the material of the blade. The handle, being the area the user holds, needs to be made from durable materials that can handle a lot of hand pressure, especially if an individual is hunting with the knife. With that said, we can say that this quality knife passes the handle test. It is designed and made from a brown sawcut Delrin material that includes a brass finger guard. This type of design ensures maximum grip and durability during any situation.

The Blade
As the second and most important aspect of a quality knife, the blade is the part of the knife that will be making contact with an object. Therefore, users need to trust that the knife will be a high-quality knife blade that can withstand friction and pressure without dulling. With that in mind, we can say that the quality of this blade is superb. It is sharp straight out of the box and it is made from a High Carbon Stainless Steel with a clip point upswept design. This makes it the perfect blade for outdoor situations where it may be needed or a professional career.

Cost And Value
Now, as far as cost and value, this particular knife is sold in stores. However, this one is, in fact, cheaper online. With that said, users can expect a high-quality knife offering superb craftsmanship and quality. This allows for individuals to create trust with the knife manufacturer. More so, this brand has been highly touted for producing some of the most expert and high-quality knives in the industry today. With that in mind, we highly recommend it if you, as a knife collector or user, like the style of this knife. For the price, it is a steal!

8. Old Timer 24OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Old Timer 24OT
Amazon Link
Model
79.3
Materials
78.5
Durability
80
Size
79.4
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.09
Pros:

Woodworking knife for multiples uses.

Different blades that allow for individuals to get creative.

Perfect for recreational and personal use.

Compact design is easy to carry and easy to store.

Users tout the quality of this specific brand.

A trusted manufacturer with years of experience.

Cons:

Users have mentioned it is better for small woodworking tasks, not professional carving.

This next pocket knife is specifically designed for a certain type of user. As one of the best pocket knives for woodworking, we are eager to share another quality pocket knife that offers much of the same quality as the other ones we have talked about, but in a whole new way and style. Let’s talk about the Old Timer 24OT Splinter Carvin Traditional Pocket Knife, and what users can expect from this high-quality woodworking knife. Here are two important points to take into consideration!

Woodworking Blades
So, what is a woodworking knife? Well, a woodworking knife offers the same quality as many other knives, however, the blades are specifically designed for woodworking. With that in mind, users can expect that the knives are designed with a specific intention in mind. The blades that a user can expect from these pocket knives are a detail blade, a hook blade, straight gouge, and a v-scorp. With that said, the blades are made from a high carbon steel material that allows for a purposeful and high-quality cut.

Lightweight Pocket Knife
One of the best aspects that makes this a high-quality pocket knife is the design of it. Pocket knives are designed to be foldable, more for safety purposes than anything. However, they are also designed to be easily carried in where. Therefore, this manufacturer has created a pocket knife that was easy to carry and lightweight. Users will love its design, lightweight appeal, and foldable design that makes it one of the best compact knives available today.

Cost And Value
As we talk about cost and value for this particular knife, users have to keep into consideration that this knife is for an intended purpose. With that, we believe that the price of this knife only reflects the quality of the knife in the highest regard. Users will appreciate the affordable price and high quality. As one of the best woodworking knives, we highly recommend it and users will love the quality of the blades and the handle as well.

9. Old Timer 162OT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Old Timer 162OT
Amazon Link
Model
76.3
Materials
75.4
Durability
76
Size
75.4
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.36
Pros:

High-quality boot knife that users will enjoy.

The sheath is sturdy and a great addition to this knife.

Users will appreciate the sawcut handle slab.

The high carbon stainless steel is designed to last the test of time.

This knife is also lightweight and perfect for different occasions.

Priced to sell.

Cons:

Users have said the sheath can snap off and break easily if not careful.

Do you remember the days when people would hold and store knives in their boots? Maybe the last time you saw this was in a wild-western movie. Either way, we are eager to share this next knife which features high-quality materials with an exceptional design known as the ‘boot knife.’ This next knife is from the same manufacturer and users will love the sharp edge and high quality. Let’s talk about the Old Timer 162OT Boot Knife. Here's what users can expect:

Traditional Design
A book knife is known for being one of the most traditional knife designs out there. With that said, users will love the perfect design of this knife. The knife features a high carbon stainless steel blade known as a ‘spear point blade.’ With that, users can expect a sharp blade that is extremely high quality. More so, this knife is also made from a sawcut handle slab that also boasts aesthetically pleasing nickel silver bolsters. What users can expect is that the quality of the handle will be matched by the quality of the blade.

A Bonus
Now, another great aspect from this brand is from time to time they add a bonus into their purchase. For individuals that do not want to put this knife in their boot. This knife comes with a brown leather sheath that can easily be wrapped around the belt. The material of the sheath is extremely high quality and it is intended to last the test of time. With that, users can expect that the quality of the sheath will match the knife.

Cost And Value
As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular knife, we can say that it is priced fairly, like much of their other quality knives. Now, the value is worth it and for the fact that this knife also comes with a sheath, we can say it is practically a steal. Users will love the high-quality design and appreciate the aesthetically pleasing elements of this knife. Although rather simple, it is designed like a proper traditional boot knife.

10. Old Timer 8 OTB

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.2
Old Timer 8 OTB
Amazon Link
Model
74.3
Materials
73.9
Durability
73
Size
74
Value
72.6
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

High-quality knife with multiple uses.

The pocket knife is easy to carry and easy to use.

Priced to sell.

The bone material is genuine and highly aesthetically pleasing.

A trusted brand with plenty of years of experience.

The knife is sharp.

Cons:

Some users do not like the sawcut handle due to slight imperfections.

We have come to the end of the road and as the last knife by this manufacturer on this list, we are eager to share with you a quality knife that users will tout ad appreciate. This next knife is known as one of the best in the industry for its intended purpose due to the materials that went into building it. Let’s talk about the Old Timer 8 OTB Sharp Genuine Bone Senior Knife and what users can expect from this quality knife today. Here are two important points!

Three Blades
Now, as we have discussed in some of the other knives, nothing is better than a multiple blade design. With that said, this knife is designed with three blades. The three blades include a spey blade, a sheepsfoot blade, and a clip point blade. More so, for those house projects that accidentally went wrong, this knife also includes a nail pull design. With that in mind, the blades are made from a high-grade high carbon stainless steel material that is mirror polished for a sleek and urban look.

Genuine Materials
Another aspect that is highly appealing about this particular knife is the material the handle of the knife is made from. Many of the knives we have talked about include wood, copper, or brass-finished style, but this one is made from genuine wood. This design element gives the knife a more traditional prehistoric type of look that only enhances the urban mirrored finished.

Cost And Value
As we take cost and value into consideration for this knife, we can say that the quality of the knife is really great for users wanting a three-blade pocket knife. Now, the pocket knife is also lightweight and foldable so users will appreciate the easy-to-carry design element that makes it a great pocket knife. The blades also lock into place, are sharp, and the knife itself is priced to sell. As the last knife on this list, we think we ended pretty well!

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Model

Now, no individual wants to have an odd looking knife. With that, we wanted to include the appearance as one of the most important aspects to look out for. The primary reason is that the aesthetic appearance of the blade is what first captivates an individual. More specifically, if the individual collects knives, the style and appearance will be very important.

With that, we wanted to share a wide variety of styles and appearances so individuals could pick out the best for him or her. Whether it was an all black blade with a saw cut handle or a real bone blade handle for a multi-use knife, the appearance says a lot about the knife and the individual holding it.

Materials

Of course, this would be on our list! We could not pick out the top ten best knives without thinking of the quality materials involved in creating them. With that said, we took into consideration that there would be many different materials involved in making something as important as a knife.

The reason materials are extremely important is because the material will add to the durability of a knife. If a knife is designed for looks only, individuals will notice a change in the material. However, most useful pocket knives include a powerful stainless-steel blade or other powerful and durable materials. Speaking of durability, let’s get to the next criterion.

Durability

To us, durability was another vital aspect of picking out the best pocket knife. The reason being is that quality and a durable knife will be able to withstand the test of time. As we have said before, nothing is worse than an individual buying a product and having it break within days or minutes of use. With that in mind, durability was important. Now, how do we determine durability?

Well, we determine durability by the materials of the knife, the build, and of course, what users are saying about that particular knife. Nothing is more important than the feedback from customers or individuals that have had the first-hand experience with a product.

Size

This may be considered a smaller and simpler criterion, but the size of the knife was really important to us. The reason is that we wanted a wide range of knives to consider in the top 10. With that said, the size is important because it will determine how an individual uses a knife. If the size of the knife blade is less than 5.0 then chances are that they are using it for a small project, protection, or as a simple project knife. However, bigger sizes may mean that an individual is either a collector or takes it out in nature, so we had to consider it a valuable criterion to take into consideration.

Value

Now, as the last criteria that we took into heavy consideration, cost and value were extremely important for us to determine the best Old Timer Knives. As we have said, we always try to balance the scales between value and cost and show a wide range of prices for individuals to consider. With that in mind, Old Timer is known for producing some of the best quality knives in the industry at a cost and price that individuals can afford. So, to determine cost and value, we had to look deeper at the benefits of each individual knife and how well it was constructed.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Model
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
The brand you choose is important

When it comes to pocket knives, the industry is filled with plenty of brands wanting to dominate the culture. With that, there are only a few companies that have become synonymous with the pocket-knife culture for their quality pocket knives and manufacturing process. A pocket knife is not only a collection, but it is also a tradition to many individuals and Old Timer has stayed true and honored that tradition with the many different knives that they offer.

Know what you want from the handle of your knife

Now, this is one of the aspects of a knife that we had to take into heavy consideration. When it comes to a quality knife, individuals should feel that the handle enhances the blade. More so, the handle should give the individual a feeling of trust with the knife. You see, without a proper handle design an individual will not get the best grip and in the case of emergencies, the grip is of complete importance.

Have some idea of what type of blade you actually need

As the second most important aspect of a knife, we knew we had to include the blade as a way of determining which knives would make the cut. Ha, get it? Cut! Well, all puns aside, the importance of the blade was that if an individual was to use it for its intended purpose, it needed to be strong, durable, and most importantly sharp. With that, another important aspect when it came to the quality of the blade was the design. The reason is that the design that makes up a blade can vary in size and style.

Other Factors to Consider

Protection

This one may be one of the most important aspects of a knife. How secure is it? Now, there is not much that we can do or say when it comes to knives that are not foldable. However, for a foldable pocket knife design, we had to take into consideration the quality of the security of the knife. A foldable pocket knife, for instance, is more likely going to be in someone’s pocket. With that, the security measures of the knife need to be well built to ensure the knife will lock in place when it is folded. With that said, the design needs to be of the best and strongest quality for the most and complete safety assurance for an individual.

Brand

As one of the best quality knives manufactures in the industry, this list was particularly fun to put together. The reason being is that Old Timer has long been known for developing some of the best knives in the industry. With that, we were eager to share these knives with you. So, which one was your favorite? Maybe it was the stealthy looking all steel pocket knife. Maybe, it was the traditional folding clip point blade knife. In any case, when a user buys an Old Timer knife, they are buying quality and peace of mind. Now, for us to come up with the best Old Timer knives we had to know exactly what we were looking for. Therefore, we compiled the next list in our phase of quality knives. We are eager to move this article to the criteria section. This is where our readers can get to know what we look for in our quality knives and what they can look for as well. With that said, we hope we have satisfied your desire for the best Old Timer knives and hope you engage with us by telling us, which one is the one you consider your next knife.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Does the knife come with a sheath?

a:

As we began to take frequently asked question into consideration, we realized that there was a trend when it came to including a sheath. We realized that knives that are foldable or pocket knives, do not come with a sheath. Knives that are on the list that come with a sheath are considered open knives. These knives are not intended to fold, they are intended to be concealed within a sheath. With that said, this was a question that we took into consideration when picking out the best knives for this list.

q: Is the knife corrosion resistant?

a:

This was another aspect that was incredibly important when picking out a knife. Corrosion happens when a knife is exposed to a lot of moisture or water, is not treated properly, or does not have a corrosion-resistant coating. With that said, this question was one of the most popular and individuals took into consideration when purchasing their knife whether or not it had a corrosion-resistant coating. Normally, an individual will be able to see or tell if a knife is corrosion resistant because it will be black coated or grey coated.

q: What is the handle made out of?

a:

This was one of the most frequently asked questions because individuals really take into consideration the material of the handle when picking out their knife. Obviously, style is important. However, the handle is as equally important if individuals plan to be using the knife often. With that said, many of the knives on the list have a specially designed and formulated handle that is meant to handle long-term wear and tear without hurting the individual's palm or hand. Another aspect of the handle as if it included screws or had some form of security measure that connects the blade to the handle.

q: What is the blade made from?

a:

This was another question that individuals asked often when it came to Old Timer knives. Now, what surprised us the most was that the blade of a knife can be made from different grades of the same material. Therefore, it is important when an individual shops around for a quality knife, that they take into consideration that the blade may be designed for different grades. The grade will determine the use and durability of the knife.

q: Does the knife come sharpened?

a:

As one of the last and most common frequently asked questions, individuals wanted to know if the knife came sharpened. Now, the reason for this was because individuals want to be able to use the knife right away and having a non-sharpened knife can easily ruin the excitement of buying a knife. More so, individuals may have to buy a knife-sharpening tool in the process.