to top 10 table

Best Marmot Jackets Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 09, 2019

A marmot is a member of the rodent family and is a social creature that lives in dense mountainous regions. What does this have to do with jackets, you ask? The 2 founding members of Marmot, Dave Huntley and Eric Reynolds, developed the Marmot Club while on a school expedition in Alaska. After this bonding experience, the two came back to California and began experimenting with and designing down coats and sleeping bags, and by 1974, they had a small brick and mortar business. Now, over 40 years later, Marmot is a leader in premium quality outdoor gear. From backpacks to camping tents, Marmot does it all. But its bread and butter continue to be their jackets. Specialize for all types of weather and function, there is a Marmot product for any outdoor scene you might find yourself in. Here’s our list of the ten best.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
PreCip
97.8/100 our score
Materials
98
Breathability
98
Insulation
95
Weather Resistance
98
Value
100
PreCip
Why is it better?

Lightweight and breathable NanoPro fabric

Easy to layer

Folds up into its own pouch

Seam Taped

Velcro straps

Drawstring hood that can roll up totally into the collar

DriClime chin guard

Armpit zippers

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
PreCip
Test Winner: PreCip
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
8
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1100
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Breathability Insulation Weather Resistance Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Materials
98 %
Breathability
98 %
Insulation
95 %
Weather Resistance
98 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Materials
98 %
Breathability
98 %
Insulation
95 %
Weather Resistance
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Materials
99 %
Breathability
98 %
Insulation
98 %
Weather Resistance
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Materials
100 %
Breathability
96 %
Insulation
96 %
Weather Resistance
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$139.97
See Deal
Amazon Link
$141.75
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Materials
99 %
Breathability
95 %
Insulation
99 %
Weather Resistance
96 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$184.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$285.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Materials
98 %
Breathability
97 %
Insulation
92 %
Weather Resistance
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$139.98
See Deal
Amazon Link
$189.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Materials
97 %
Breathability
90 %
Insulation
98 %
Weather Resistance
93 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$199.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$250.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Materials
95 %
Breathability
97 %
Insulation
90 %
Weather Resistance
97 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$172.46
Backcountry Link
$184.98
See Deal
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Materials
90 %
Breathability
90 %
Insulation
90 %
Weather Resistance
90 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Materials
98 %
Breathability
88 %
Insulation
98 %
Weather Resistance
98 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$234.97
See Deal
Amazon Link
$297.99

10 Best Marmot Jackets

1. PreCip

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
PreCip
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Breathability
98
Insulation
95
Weather Resistance
98
Value
100
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Lightweight and breathable NanoPro fabric

Easy to layer

Folds up into its own pouch

Seam Taped

Velcro straps

Drawstring hood that can roll up totally into the collar

DriClime chin guard

Armpit zippers

Cons:

Some reviewers report it runs small and wishing they had purchased a larger size (especially when layering).

The Men's PreCip is Marmot’s most popular and well-reviewed product. Great for use in the deep woods or city streets, the PreCip provides protection that can easily be layered.

Read more

Made from Proprietary NanoPro Fabric
The PreCip is super lightweight, weighing less than half a pound. It is made from Nylon (100%) and proprietary NanoPro breathable fabric. Reviewers report this option fitting true to size, and if you have an exceptionally long torso or arms, you can find the PreCip in a “tall” model. It’s worth noting that you may choose to use the PreCip as a top waterproofing layer during cold months, so you might want to consider getting a larger size than your standard clothes size so that your layers can fit comfortably underneath. When you’re not using it, it folds neatly into its own pouch. The PreCip comes in sizes Small-XX-L.

100% Seam Taped for Waterproofing
The proprietary NanoPro fabric that the PreCip is made out of is extremely breathable while offering waterproof protection at the same time, and all of the seams are seam taped for even more added waterproofing. This product offers up a good bit of wind protection as well. To really seal it off, there is a bottom button available and velcro straps on the wrists for a snugger fit. The hood is drawstring adjustable and can fully roll up into the collar, and the DriClime chin guard lining wicks moisture away from your neck and face to help keep you fresh. Plus, PitZips are there to keep your armpits fresh as well. And with 28 color options to choose from, you’re bound to find just the right color for you.

Cost and Value
The PreCip rings up at the low end of our price range. It competes super well with other similar options on the market, and especially well with other known brand names. It is durable and versatile so we love its value.

2. PreCip Lightweight

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
PreCip Lightweight
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Breathability
98
Insulation
95
Weather Resistance
98
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

NanoPro lets vapor escape and doesn’t let water in

Machine washable

Great fit for women with angel-wing movement technology

Can be easily layered

Drawstrings and velcro for personalized comfort

PitZips

DriClime chin guard

Rolls up into its own inside pouch

Cons:

Some complain it needs more insulation

Like the Men’s PreCip, the Women’s Precip is a best seller. With innovative technology that keeps water out while still remaining breathable, the PreCip is a must have for all of your watery outdoor adventures.

Read more

Tapered Fit for a Woman’s Body
The Women’s PreCip is made from a proprietary polyester blend called NanoPro that is extremely lightweight and provides protection from several different types precipitation. It is 100% machine washable. The PreCip has a tapered fit designed to flatter and hug a woman’s body. And the “Angel-Wing” motion technology built into the fabric will allow you to move with ease. It fits true to size and comes available from X-Smal to XX-Large, but remember, if you plan on layering the PreCip over other articles of clothing, you may want to consider getting a larger size than you normally would.

PitZips for Airflow
The NanoPro fabric and taped seams of the Precip provide incredible waterproofing to keep you dry, even when you’re being active. The pores in the fabric allow water vapor (think sweat) to leave while keeping larger water droplets from getting through to you. A drawstring at the hem, as well as velcro at the cuffs of the sleeves can be adjusted for maximum protection and comfort. And for added breathability, zippers in the armpits can be unzipped to allow more airflow. Plus, the DriClime fabric that lines the chin guard prevents chafing by wicking away moisture. The drawstring hood can be rolled up and zipped into the collar when you aren’t using it, and the whole PreCip can actually fold into its own inner pocket and be stored easily in your pack. It comes in over 15 fabulous colors to choose from.

Cost and Value
The Women’s PreCip is a great value and rings up at the low end of our price range. We love it because it’s waterproof and breathable and because it is super easy to layer and store when not in use.

3. Tullus Hoody

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Tullus Hoody
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Breathability
98
Insulation
98
Weather Resistance
97
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Down Defender fights moisture and prevents clumping for warmth in wet weather

Handwarmer, zipper pockets

Elastic at hood, sleeves, and bottom hem

Full coverage hood

Lightweight but warm

Machine washable

Cons:

Some reviewers mention that it can shed some of its feathers, especially when used in more active conditions.

The Tullus Hoody is designed to keep cozy-warm in damp and chilly weather. It locks out cold elements while locking in toasty comfort, and is a great option for everyday wear or for more serious chilly adventures.

Read more

600 Fill-Power Down
The Tullus Hoody packs in serious warmth while still being super lightweight--clocking in at less than 1 pound. Made from high-cire nylon (weighing only 1.4 ounces per yard) and packed with 600 fill-power genuine down, you will stay warm even when the weather turns nasty. And you can machine wash this product as well as set it to tumble dry. The Tullus Hoody has a regular fit with a straight hem and relaxed shoulders and comes in sizes Small-XX Large.

Even When Wet It Stays Warm
With 600 fill-power down (meaning that the feathers displace 600 meters cubed per each ounce), the Tullus Hoody will keep you warm without weighing you down. Treated with proprietary Down Defender, a treatment that helps to resist moisture which prevents clumping and encourages loft, the Tullus Hoody will stay warm even when wet unlike other down products on the market. Bound elastic on the large hood, sleeve cuffs, and bottom hem help to lock in warmth and keep you comfortable. Plus, handwarmer, zipper pockets will keep your fingers from freezing. Get this guy in any of 4 sweet colors.

Cost and Value
The Tullus Hoody rings up in the middle of our price range. We love this because of its Down Defender technology that keeps the lightweight down functional and warm even when wet, setting it apart from other down options on the market. And we always love a product that can be thrown in the washer and dryer.

4. Minimalist

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Minimalist
Amazon Link
Materials
100
Breathability
96
Insulation
96
Weather Resistance
97
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

GORE-TEX and Paclite Tec are lightweight and innovative, allowing breathability in waterproofing

Adjustable hood and sleeve cuffs

Pocket zippers to keep valuables dry

PitZips

Good for layering

Cons:

Some reviewers comment that this runs smalls, so you might consider ordering a size up especially if you intend in layering it.

The Women’s Minimalist is made with GORE-TEX, so you know it's going to be breathable, waterproof, and long-lasting. Great for everyday wear and more serious adventures, the Minimalist will give you what you need.

Read more

Made Using GORE-TEX
GORE-TEX is a proprietary fabric with a membrane that prevents water and snow from entering while allowing smaller water vapors (and sweat) to escape. It is super lightweight, waterproof, and breathable, which is why Marmot partners with GORE-TEX so frequently when designing their products. GORE-TEX and Paclite Technology made from polyester and weighing only 3.6 ounces per yard, pair to make a lightweight yet effective product.

Adjustable Hood and Cuffs
The Minimalist is breathable while still being water and weatherproof. With 100% of the product being seam taped, you can rest assured that no watery leaks will get through. The hood is bungee, drawstring adjustable, and the velcro cuffs can be fitted specifically to your wrists. Plus, the pockets have zippers to keep your valuables dry and your hands warm. But if you’ve worked up too much heat inside, simply unzip the armpit zippers and enjoy some fast air circulation to cool you down. Choose between 10 different colors.

Cost and Value
The Women’s Minimalist rings up in the middle to high end of our price range and we love it because it partners with GORE-TEX for a product you know you can depend on.

5. Montreal Puffer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Montreal Puffer
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Breathability
95
Insulation
99
Weather Resistance
96
Value
90
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$285.00
Backcountry Link
$184.99
See Deal
Pros:

700 Fill-Power Down treated with Down Defender

Knee-length for ¾ body coverage

Removable zip hood and faux fur cuff

Fleece lined for luxurious comfort

Handwarmer pockets lined with micro-fleece

Internal pockets for belongings

Weatherproof and lightweight

Cons:

Some reviewers report that the bust runs small, so you might consider getting a larger size than your usual top size.

The Montreal Down Puffer is serious about keeping you warm. Great for city dwellers during those nasty, winter months, as well as serious cold-weather adventurers, the Down Puffer will have you looking amazing and feeling even better.

Read more

700 Fill-Power Down
The Down Puffer comes loaded with 700 Fill-Power Down that has been treated with Marmot’s proprietary Down Defender which serves to keep down dry and to prevent clumping. The coat goes all the way down to the knee, so it provides serious coverage to ¾ of the body. The interior of the Puffer is lined with fleece, giving it a luxurious feel. And for flair and fashion, the Puffer features a faux fur cuff to keep you feeling classy. The Puffer only weighs about 1 pound despite being a long coat, and comes in a regular fit with loose hem, straight waist, and dropped shoulder. Reviewers find the Puffer so comfy that they are reluctant to take it off, even indoors.

Zip-Off Faux Fur Cuff and Hood
The Puffer’s 700 Fill-Power down treated with Down Defender guarantees to keep you warm and dry. Plus, it is customizable for each user. You can zip off the hood or remove the faux fur cuff depending on your mood and outfit--and who doesn’t love switching up their look every now and then? The handwarmer pockets are lined with micro-fleece for added comfort while keeping your fingers and hands nice and toasty, and there are even handy interior pockets to store your personal items. Try this coat in any of 6 classic neutrals.

Cost and Value
The Down Puffer rings up at the top of our price range and we absolutely love its value because it provides tons of warm and waterproofing coverage that can be customized and stylized for each user.

6. Minimalist Lightweight

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Minimalist Lightweight
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Breathability
97
Insulation
92
Weather Resistance
95
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

GORE-TEX and Paclite tech

Water and windproof, yet breathable

Drawstring hood and hem

Velcro cuffs

Water-resistant chest and hand pockets

Cons:

Some reviewers mention that the sleeves on the Minimalist run long.

Let us count the reasons why we love the Men’s Minimalist. GORE-TEX and Paclite tech set the Minimalist apart and promise to deliver breathable protection whether your hiking wet trails or running to the subway during a summer downpour.

Read more

GORE-TEX and Paclite Technology
The Minimalist is exactly that. Made using super lightweight GORE-TEX and Paclite technologies with taped seams, the Minimalist is wind and waterproof yet breathable for your comfort. Paclite replaces the need for liners that are large and bulky. Thus, it has a regular fit with a straight hem and relaxed shoulder line and comes in sizes Small-XX Large.

Water Resistant Chest Pocket
The GORE-TEX and Paclite design work to create a product that is wind and waterproof while still maintaining breathability. With a microporous membrane that keeps water out but lets water vapor escape, you’ll be able to stay dry without overheating. An adjustable, drawstring hood optimizes facial covering, and a drawstring hem and velcro cuffs keep the garment in place. We love the water-resistant chest pockets, as well as the zippers on the hand pockets to help to keep your belongings dry too. When not in use, the Minimalist is super easy to pack and store in your bag. Pick your favorite of 10 color options available.

Cost and Value
The Men’s Minimalist rings up in the middle of our price range. We love it because it is easy to pack, super lightweight, and waterproof--all while remaining breathable for your comfort.

7. Guides Down Hoody

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Guides Down Hoody
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Breathability
90
Insulation
98
Weather Resistance
93
Value
90
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

700 Fill-Power Down treated with Down Defender which allows the down to get wet

Machine washable

Super lightweight yet warm

Zip pockets

Adjustable hood and velcro cuffs

Easy to layer

Cons:

Reviewers mention that this runs a bit small, so you are advised to order a size up.

The Down Hoody Men’s Puffer is not as flashy and fashion-forward as the Women’s Puffer, but it does still supply the same warming comfort. And what’s more? It’s made right here in the USA.

Read more

Machine Washable
The Down Hoody Men’s Puffer is made from a double-weave of softshell polyester and stretchy elastane. This fabric is super lightweight, weighing only 7 ounces per yard. The shell is packed with 700 Fill-Power Down that has been treated with Down Defender. A polyester lining provides tons of warmth for your comfort. And if this bad boy gets dirty, simply throw it in your home washer and tumble dry. The Men’s Puffer has a regular fit with a straight hem and relaxed shoulder and can be ordered in sizes Small-XX Large.

Can Use Under a Mid-Weight Shell
700 Fill-Power Down treated by Down Defender means serious warmth that won’t weigh you down--even if it gets wet. Handwarmer pockets that zip, as well as adjustable velcro cuffs and elastic drawstring hood, allow you to customize your wearing experience for maximum warmth and comfort. You can use the Puffer on its own, or layer it under a mid-weight shell if headed into super harsh wintery conditions. The Men’s Puffer comes in 4 cool neutral colors.

Cost and Value
This product rings up at the top of our price range and we love it because it provides serious protection against winter elements and because it can also be layered for even more protection.

8. Essential

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Essential
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Breathability
97
Insulation
90
Weather Resistance
97
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Made with GORE-TEX and Paclite technology

Over-sized zipper pockets

PitZips

Breathable

Sealed Tape Seams

Drawstring hood

Velcro cuffs

Cons:

Reviewers report that the fit runs small, so they advise to order a size or two up.

The Marmot Essential is longer and offers more coverage than the PreCip option above. And with integrated GORE-TEX technology, the Essential will keep you super dry while still allowing your body to breath whether you're watching an outdoor sporting event in wet weather or doing some serious hiking.

Read more

Comes to the Mid-Thigh
The Essential is made of 100% plain-weave nylon that uses GORE-TEX and Paclite tech to provide ultra-lightweight protection from water and wind. It comes in a regular fit with a loose bottom hem, a straight waist, and a dropped shoulder line in sizes from X-Small to X-Large.

Large Pockets
The Essential is super breathable while providing ultimate water and windproof protection, thanks to GORE-TEX and Paclite tech. Taped seams add another layer of waterproofing and oversized hand pockets that zip help to keep your belongings inside dry. A drawstring hood and velcro sleeve cuffs allow you to adjust the fit so it’s just right for you. And if you get too toasty in there, you can unzip the zippers in either armpit for immediate airflow. Choose between 5 rich colors.

Cost and Value
The Essential rings up towards the top of our price range but it’s still loaded with value because it offers more coverage and is constructed with premium GORE-TEX technology.

9. Drop Line

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Drop Line
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Breathability
90
Insulation
90
Weather Resistance
90
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Lightweight yet warm

Great for layering and traveling

Pockets that zip

Media port breast pocket

Fleece that is soft and sweater-like

Flat-lock stitching and DriClime chin guard to prevent chafing

Cons:

Some reviewers reported pilling after multiple washes, so you are advised to wash gently and air dry or handwash.

The Drop Line is designed for movable comfort and warmth whether you’re going for an early morning jog or looking for a compact garment to pull out of your bag when traveling to colder climates.

Read more

Made from Sweater-Like Fleece
The Drop Line is made from lightweight 100-weight fleece that will wrap you up in the comfort of a sweater-like feel. With flat-lock stitching and a chin guard by DriClime that assists in wicking moisture from your face, you don’t have to worry about chafing during serious activity. It has a regular fit with a straight hem and a relaxed shoulder line and is available in sizes Small-XX Large.

Equipped with a Media Port
The Drop Line is lightweight but super warm, making it great for layering especially when traveling between temperatures. For added comfort and warmth, the Drop Line features pockets that zip as well as a media port pocket on the breast so you don’t have to worry about snagging those pesky headphone chords. Try this product in any 1 of 6 muted color schemes.

Cost and Value
The Drop Line rings up at the lower end of our price range and we love its value because it is super lightweight, comfortable, and warm and ideal for traveling with and layering.

10. Kristina

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
 Kristina
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Breathability
88
Insulation
98
Weather Resistance
98
Value
85
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$297.99
Backcountry Link
$234.97
See Deal
Pros:

Long sleeves and coat for added warmth

Handwarming zip pockets

Full front zipper with weather flaps

Internal easy-access pocket

Fully lined with fleece (including micro-fleece in the pockets)

3-panel hood and an adjustable collar for extra warmth

GORE-TEX technology and DWR finish that makes the coat water and windproof

700 fill-power with recycled down

Machine washable

Allows for full movements

Cons:

Some reviewers did not like the flare out at the bottom.

The Kristina is the holy grail of hardcore outerwear. It comes with a hefty price tag, but for good reason. It provides tons of warm, weatherproof protection with longer arms and body while still allowing for natural movements making it great for hiking and everyday use alike.

Read more

Made with Recycled Down Fill
The polyester GORE-TEX shell of the Kristina is durable, and water and windproof. The DWR finish ensures that water won’t penetrate the coat. It is made using recycled down fill that measures at 700 fill-power and features a quilted design to ensure that down stays in place and doesn’t clump together at the bottom and sleeves maintaining total body warmth. The inside of the Kristina is lined with fleece for added comfort and warmth. If it gets dirty or begins to smell, you can throw it in your household washer and tumble dry. The Kristina has a tapered, regular fit for women with a loose bottom hem that comes close to the knee, a dropped shoulder line, and straight waist in sizes from X-Small to X-Large.

Warmth In Motion
The Kristina hood has 3 panels and can be adjusted along with the collar to provide extra warmth when you want it. Sleeves run long on this coat for added protection and the internal gaiters lined with micro-fleece at the wrists allow for full, natural movements. The full zipper and storm guards in the front don’t play and the handwarmer pockets zip for added coziness. The Kristina also include an easy-access internal pocket for your valuables. GORE-TEX provides breathable warmth in the Kristina.

Cost and Value
The Kristina is the most expensive product on our list, but you get what you pay for. This is loaded with technology and provides serious comfort and warmth that you can rely on in even the harshest winter conditions. If you are looking for a coat that you can wear for years and years to come, then look no further.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When compiling our list, we did some serious research on the materials that go into their products.
GORE-TEX is a brand that Marmot frequently partners with and we are so happy they do! GORE-TEX and Paclite technology is a triple layer fabric that is semipermeable making it an amazingly durable and breathable fabric that still delivers top-notch water and weatherproofing. It keeps water and snow droplets out while also allowing smaller water vapor particles (and sweat) to escape so you can remain dry without suffocating inside. And did we mention how lightweight this fabric is? It is designed to be effective without weighing you down, making it great for backpacking and hiking and also super easy to pack and store.
Marmot’s own proprietary NanoPro fabric functions and performs similarly to GORE-TEX, providing a lightweight fabric that keeps you from getting wet while also letting steamy sweat escape.
The down that Marmot uses is sensibly sourced, and sometimes even recycled. It is extremely high-quality and lightweight and is treated with Down Defender which allows their down to get wet and keeps it from clumping. That means that you can throw their garments into your at home washing machine and even tumble dry them without ruining the quality of the down.
We also love the DriClime chin guard used in most of the options on this list. Designed to wick away moisture, thereby reducing chafing, the DriClime is a game changer in generally making the collar more comfortable.
And finally, the micro-fleece and fleece linings that Marmot uses are top notch, super cozy, and incredibly warm. We love that they line their pockets with micro-fleece to aid in keeping your hands warm, and we’re also crazy about their sweater-like fleece linings that take the comfort of their products to the next level.

Breathability

While breathability is probably not your main concern when looking for a down option as those are meant to lock warmth in, with the options on our list, we wanted to make sure that we featured products that were breathable. After all, just because it’s wet outside doesn’t mean it’s cold.
That’s why we highlight options made from NanoPro and GORE-TEX that are super lightweight and waterproof while also allowing sweat and vapor to escape from the inside out. And of course, we love jackets that have PitZips to help ventilate your coat and cool your body while still keeping you dry.

Insulation

If your winter cat doesn’t keep you warm, is it even your winter coa? We’ve found that it’s way trickier than it should be to find a coat that allows you to move while also keeping you from freezing to death.
A Christmas Story comes to mind when thinking about insulation. Poor Raliphie and his brother bundled up in snowsuits that constrict their movements so much, they practically walk around like robots without any coordination at all. It’s no wonder we’ve been looking for alternative winterwear that locks in heat while also allowing natural movements. But a lightweight option that sacrifices warmth is not what we’re after either.
That’s why we highlight products that are lightweight (some less than 1 pound) and seriously insulated using genuine, high-quality down and topped off with a fleece lining. These won’t bind your arms and movements and will also keep you cozy whether you’re using it at your everyday wear or for chilly outdoor adventures.

Weather Resistance

Weather resistance is obviously a major factor when purchasing these garments. We love all of the waterproof technology that goes into Marmot products through their NanoPro tech and GORE-TEX partnership. As mentioned before, these fabrics allow sweat to get out without letting water, wind, and snow get in. We also love that all of their waterproof garments come with tape sealed seams to ensure leaks don’t sneak in where panels are sewn together. And of course, we are wild about the Down Defender treatment of Marmot’s down coats as winter weather can turn icy, snowy, and wet without much warning. That means you won’t have to throw out your down garment or worry about layering to prevent your down from getting wet and ruined. These Marmots can stand up to moisture and maintain their quality.

Value

Value is always on our list of considerations. We highlight some of Marmot’s most inexpensive products that share features of their more expensive coats to provide a balance of budget and function. For example, NanoPro serves a similar function to GORE-TEX but is more inexpensive. You can see the difference in the costs of the items but unless you are in severe weather situations, you can probably get by with the NanoPro waterproofing.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Insulation
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Weather Resistance
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Follow Sizing Suggestions

We read thousands of reviews to ensure that our readers have a good idea about how each fits. If you’ve purchased a Marmot before, then you should be aware of their different sizing styles and making a selection will be easier. However, if this is your first Marmot, read their sizing chart and measure a similar garment that you currently have to make the best choice. Also, notice that many reviewers believe these run small, so you will probably want to order at least a size bigger and potentially two sizes bigger, especially if you’re planning on layering your coat.

Men’s and Women’s are Not Made the Same

These garments are made specifically with genders in mind because men and women are not typically shaped the same. Women’s coats have tapered waists that would cut off a man’s waist, and men’s coats have broader shoulders that would sag and stick out on a woman. Most of the options on our list come in men’s and women’s versions, so if you see something that isn’t in your gender, a quick search will likely turn up you the version you’re looking for.

Other Factors to Consider

Overall Fit

The overall fit of each product was important for us to consider. We highlight whether each product runs true to size and we also draw attention to the features of each product that allow you to adjust the fit just for you.
That’s why we love products that have velcro at the cuffs, drawstring or removable hoods, and drawstring bottom hems. That way, you can adjust the fit depending on your comfort and the elements.

Style

The overall fit of each product was important for us to consider. We highlight whether each product runs true to size and we also draw attention to the features of each product that allow you to adjust the fit just for you.
That’s why we love products that have velcro at the cuffs, drawstring or removable hoods, and drawstring bottom hems. That way, you can adjust the fit depending on your comfort and the elements.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I wash this?

a:

You can wash all of the jacks on our list, which is amazing! For best care, wash and dry gently and only when necessary.

q: Are the waterproof options meant for warmth?

a:

While the waterproof options on our list will keep out cold water, snow, and wind, they aren’t designed to be winter jackets. Use them instead as a top layer over cozier bottom layers to make a warm waterproof set.

q: What is recycled down?

a:

Recycled down is 600-700 fill-power pulled from bedding, cushions, and other down items that cannot be sold.

Sources

  1. Marmot, Homepage ,
  2. Wikipedia, Raincoat,
  3. REI, How to Choose Rainwear,